Quality certifications

At present the information customers have in order to know in advance the category of the hotels where they want to stay are the traditional stars. But to this respect it is necessary to consider that the awarding criteria vary much according to the countries. For that reason, to globally identify the category of their hotels, the international chains opt for brand segmentation, which in the case of Barceló Group would be, from higher to lower category, Barceló Premium, Barceló and Barceló Comfort.

Concerning the quality certifications awarded by international and independent audit companies, its objective is to guarantee potential customers that the hotels permanently keep the processes that ensure the provision of services with the quality established in their respective categories.

Logo Q de calidad turística

Check Safety First, the British consultants for quality, safety and food hygiene, carries out in the hotels of Barceló Group health and safety audits based on strict protocols and controls of over 250 points and made according to the directives of the World Health Organization (WHO). Its reports are a guarantee and a safety reference for great part of the agents which are part of the national and international tourism sector, specially for tour operator associations, like the International Federation of Tour Operators (IFTO) or for travel agent associations as important as the British ABTA or the American ASTA.

In 2007 Check Safety First awarded Barceló Group's hotel division the Crystal Prize to the world’s safest hotel chain, whereas some hotels of the group, like the Barceló Bávaro Casino (Dominican Republic) and the Mexican Barceló Cancun Beach and Barceló Huatulco Beach, received this award to the local safest hotels.

Hotels awarded the Q-mark certification

El hotel Barceló Old Town Praha (Praga, República Checa) ha sido reconocido con el certificado de gestión de calidad ISO 9001.

The quality certification more broadly used in Spain is the Q-mark for Tourism Quality. It is awarded by the Spanish Institute for Tourism Quality, which was established in 2000 by different tourism associations and companies with the support of the central and local administrations. At the present moment Barceló Hotels & Resorts is the privately owned hotel chain that has more hotels awarded the Q-mark certification, which are the following ones:

Barceló Ponent Playa (Mallorca)

Barceló Pueblo Park (Mallorca)

Barceló Costa Vasca (San Sebastián)

Barceló Fuerteventura (Fuerteventura)

Barceló Punta Umbría (Huelva)

Barceló Isla Canela (Huelva)

Barceló La Bobadilla (Granada)

Barceló Nervión (Bilbao)