Close

You are using Internet Explorer as a browser to visit Barcelo.com, and we trully recomend to use other browser in order to avoid troubles. If you prefer it, upload your browser versión to Internet Explorer 7 or newer by following the steps you will find in the “About” option inside Tools Configuration (upper right of your window)

If you wish, you can change language

Barceló San José Palacio Hotel Restaurant
;
map

Map and location

Residencial El Robledal, La Uruca, 4581150   10107 San José de Costa Rica ,   Costa Rica  


Places of Interest

14.3 km Juan Santamaría International Airport

180 km Playa Tambor

262 km Langosta Beach

11 km Valle del Sol Golf Course

Premios y Reconocimientos

Prizes and awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Barceló San José

4.0/5 Round Indicators
| 2261 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


Comments

Excellent

40% Complete

905

Very good

33% Complete

754

Average

16% Complete

370

Poor

5% Complete

120

Very poor

4% Complete

112

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    oaklandsroad 08/19/2019 Family

    “Family holiday”

    Overall rating for this hotel was Average. It's the little things that count and is the difference between average and excellent, unfortunately the hotel didn't manage to exceed in this. However value for money was good. Rooms are clean and comfy. Staff could have been a bit more accomodating.

    Channel M, Director General at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review
     Dear Guest In Barceló we strongly believe that there is always room for improvement and your comments will assist our team in their continuous efforts aimed at meeting our guests' expectations, therefore we greatly appreciate the time you took out of your day to share your constructive critics. We are also very pleased to read your complété satisfaction with the comfort of the room we accommodated you in and are grateful for your highlight on the beauty of our accommodations aimed at guaranteeing a memorable stay in our hotel. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certaily look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed your expectations in a not too distant future. Best regards, Carlos Ruíz, Director

    Round Indicators
    Sebelem Rio de Janeiro, RJ. 08/18/2019 Family

    “A pleasant stay”

    The staff are very kind, except for one of the ladies at the reception. It is an extremely comfortable hotel with pleasant service and a warm welcome, including the fruit basket offered by me being a VIP customer. It has a good breakfast. The decoration of the common areas and the rooms are very beautifull. The only problema is about the wi-fe ate the rooms, where the signal is too weak.

    Channel M, Director General at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review
     Dear Guest We greatly appreciate the time you spent to review your recent experience in our hotel, at Barceló San José we always strive to exceed guests' expectations and your comments will help our teams reaching that goal. We also greatly appreciate your comments on the quality and variety of our buffets because our talented team of Chefs strive to ensure a wide variety of both local and international delicacies for each service to please all palates, it is indeed very rewarding to read that we were able to conquer yours. The access to our Wifi service may be slower during peak hours when many guests login to our network, nevertheless we will pass on your comments to our techincal department for revision and improvement. Thank you again for this heartwarming review of your stay with us, we look forward to your next visit. Best regards, Carlos Ruíz, Director

    Round Indicators
    jubileeinvestments Las Vegas, Nevada. 08/16/2019 Business

    “PURA VIDA”

    This hotel is absolutely THE BEST in San Jose! I have been coming here since 2006 and consider it to be my second home. Everything about the Barcelo is AMAZING!!!! Safety, cleanliness, delicious buffets, English speaking 24 hour customer service, gift shop, pool, gym, spa, lounge and more is EXCELLENT.

    Channel M, Director General at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review
     Dear Guest Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our Barceló San José hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations. Best regards, Carlos Ruíz, Director

    Round Indicators
    Joe B Waterford, Ireland. 08/15/2019

    “City Hotel”

    This hotel is in a great location and the hotel itself is lovely. A beautiful pool and the pool bar is excellent which has a great service. The barman (sorry didn't catch you name) was very good and attentive and never failed to provide a great service. The breakfast is superb and the breakfast room is lovely. I would find it difficult to fault this hotel but perhaps the Tour Desk could be a bit better organised...there were very few leaflets and I really didn't find the person on the desk very helpful considering the tours are quite expensive. One trip I went on (Hanging Bridges of San Luis) had the hallmarks of a great trip.....collected in the lobby, taken to San Luis, trek around the Hanging Bridges, Lunch and back to the hotel in the early afternoon. In reality, when we got to the bridges, the guide said the best time to see any animals was first thing in the morning so we walked around and saw NO animals, ended up having such an early lunch that we were back in the hotel by 11:30...this has to be the most expensive waste of time ever and I would not advise anyone to do this trip unless the tour company reconsiders it's timings.

    Channel M, Director General at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review
     Dear Guest We greatly appreciate the time you spent to review your recent experience in our hotel, at Barceló we always strive to exceed guests' expectations and your comments will help our teams reaching that goal. Best regards, Carlos Ruíz, Director

    Round Indicators
    510feder Vienna, Austria. 08/11/2019

    “Worst barcelo in the world ”

    We booked a rafting activity on pacuare river with the hotel, priced in 119$ per person, and we did a transaction, receiving a notification by the bank of having done it for the full amount. Once in the hotel, they made us pay 40$ extra with the allegation of not having received the full amount. Moreover, rooms are old fashioned with wet odor, TV remote didn’t work, and no one answered when calling reception by the phone. I would strongly advice avoiding a similar experience in Barcelo San José

    Channel M, Director General at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review
     Dear Guest We are really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the experience in our hotel to the fullest as we strive to make each stay with us an unforgettable one. Discussions involving the respective team members and management have taken place to review your comments, and we would like to assure you that all of your concerns will be addressed and attended to. Best regards, Carlos Ruíz, Director

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • august 19 2019
    • Family

    oaklandsroad

    “Family holiday”


    Overall rating for this hotel was Average. It's the little things that count and is the difference between average and excellent, unfortunately the hotel didn't manage to exceed in this. However value for money was good. Rooms are clean and comfy. Staff could have been a bit more accomodating.


    Channel M, Director General at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review
    Dear Guest In Barceló we strongly believe that there is always room for improvement and your comments will assist our team in their continuous efforts aimed at meeting our guests' expectations, therefore we greatly appreciate the time you took out of your day to share your constructive critics. We are also very pleased to read your complété satisfaction with the comfort of the room we accommodated you in and are grateful for your highlight on the beauty of our accommodations aimed at guaranteeing a memorable stay in our hotel. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certaily look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed your expectations in a not too distant future. Best regards, Carlos Ruíz, Director

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • august 18 2019
    • Rio de Janeiro, RJ
    • Family

    Sebelem

    “A pleasant stay”


    The staff are very kind, except for one of the ladies at the reception. It is an extremely comfortable hotel with pleasant service and a warm welcome, including the fruit basket offered by me being a VIP customer. It has a good breakfast. The decoration of the common areas and the rooms are very beautifull. The only problema is about the wi-fe ate the rooms, where the signal is too weak.


    Channel M, Director General at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review
    Dear Guest We greatly appreciate the time you spent to review your recent experience in our hotel, at Barceló San José we always strive to exceed guests' expectations and your comments will help our teams reaching that goal. We also greatly appreciate your comments on the quality and variety of our buffets because our talented team of Chefs strive to ensure a wide variety of both local and international delicacies for each service to please all palates, it is indeed very rewarding to read that we were able to conquer yours. The access to our Wifi service may be slower during peak hours when many guests login to our network, nevertheless we will pass on your comments to our techincal department for revision and improvement. Thank you again for this heartwarming review of your stay with us, we look forward to your next visit. Best regards, Carlos Ruíz, Director

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • august 16 2019
    • Las Vegas, Nevada
    • Business

    jubileeinvestments

    “PURA VIDA”


    This hotel is absolutely THE BEST in San Jose! I have been coming here since 2006 and consider it to be my second home. Everything about the Barcelo is AMAZING!!!! Safety, cleanliness, delicious buffets, English speaking 24 hour customer service, gift shop, pool, gym, spa, lounge and more is EXCELLENT.


    Channel M, Director General at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review
    Dear Guest Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our Barceló San José hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations. Best regards, Carlos Ruíz, Director

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • august 15 2019
    • Waterford, Ireland

    Joe B

    “City Hotel”


    This hotel is in a great location and the hotel itself is lovely. A beautiful pool and the pool bar is excellent which has a great service. The barman (sorry didn't catch you name) was very good and attentive and never failed to provide a great service. The breakfast is superb and the breakfast room is lovely. I would find it difficult to fault this hotel but perhaps the Tour Desk could be a bit better organised...there were very few leaflets and I really didn't find the person on the desk very helpful considering the tours are quite expensive. One trip I went on (Hanging Bridges of San Luis) had the hallmarks of a great trip.....collected in the lobby, taken to San Luis, trek around the Hanging Bridges, Lunch and back to the hotel in the early afternoon. In reality, when we got to the bridges, the guide said the best time to see any animals was first thing in the morning so we walked around and saw NO animals, ended up having such an early lunch that we were back in the hotel by 11:30...this has to be the most expensive waste of time ever and I would not advise anyone to do this trip unless the tour company reconsiders it's timings.


    Channel M, Director General at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review
    Dear Guest We greatly appreciate the time you spent to review your recent experience in our hotel, at Barceló we always strive to exceed guests' expectations and your comments will help our teams reaching that goal. Best regards, Carlos Ruíz, Director

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • august 11 2019
    • Vienna, Austria

    510feder

    “Worst barcelo in the world ”


    We booked a rafting activity on pacuare river with the hotel, priced in 119$ per person, and we did a transaction, receiving a notification by the bank of having done it for the full amount. Once in the hotel, they made us pay 40$ extra with the allegation of not having received the full amount. Moreover, rooms are old fashioned with wet odor, TV remote didn’t work, and no one answered when calling reception by the phone. I would strongly advice avoiding a similar experience in Barcelo San José


    Channel M, Director General at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review
    Dear Guest We are really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the experience in our hotel to the fullest as we strive to make each stay with us an unforgettable one. Discussions involving the respective team members and management have taken place to review your comments, and we would like to assure you that all of your concerns will be addressed and attended to. Best regards, Carlos Ruíz, Director

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in Costa Rica

    Select Costa Rica

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Hotels in Germany

    Select Germany

    Hotels in Turkey

    Select Turkey

    Hotels in Czech Republic

    Select Czech Republic

    Hotels in Portugal

    Select Portugal

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z