Barceló Hotel Views  Karmina Palace Deluxe
map

Barceló Karmina

Avenida Vista Hermosa, 13   28867 Manzanillo, Colima ,   México  


Places of Interest

32 km Manzanillo International Airport

20 km Manzanillo port

Premios y Reconocimientos Prizes and awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Barceló Karmina

4.0/5 Round Indicators
| 3623 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


GUESTS’ SCORE

Excellent

47% Complete

1716

Very good

32% Complete

1162

Average

11% Complete

419

Poor

5% Complete

199

Very poor

3% Complete

127

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    Christine M 05/21/2018 Family

    “Barcello Karmina is fantastic for families!”

    We stayed at the Barcelo Karmina for Xmas 2017 and Easter 2018. We returned because we had such a fantastic time over Christmas. The facility is beautiful, and great for kids. A special thanks to Zulema from the Barcy club. She is an excellent children’s facilitator. And to Jose Tarabay who provided excellent first aid to my daughter and who really runs a tight ship and makes you feel your children and the facility were well cared for. He still maintains a super friendly rapport with the kids and is an excellent liaison between the hotel and the guests. Spacious rooms, friendly staff and the ocean area is perfect for kids to learn to snorkel in as my daughter did. 5 stars all around and we will return.

    silviagalarza, Guest Experience Manager. at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this review
     Dear Christine M; Firstly we would like to thank you for choosing our Barceló Karmina hotel once again for your holidays and for sharing this wonderful feedback of your recent stay among us, it is indeed very rewarding to read that we keep on meeting all your holiday needs and wishes. On the other hand, we thank you for pointing out the kindness and enthusiasm of our staff, their friendliness and helpfulness being our hotels’ main strength we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us. We are also pleased to know that during your stay with us you were able to enjoy the comfort of our facilities, rooms and especially to practice snorkeling on our beach. We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Best regards, Guest Experience Manager.

    Round Indicators
    gjourneau Edmonton, Canada. 05/16/2018 Couples

    “Enjoyable”

    The hotel was beautiful. Friendly staff food was very good. 4 restaurant to choose from Very large rooms Family and adult pool areas Downfall no free wifi. Ocean was too rough to swim in I would go back

    silviagalarza, Guest Experience Manager. at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this review
     Dear gjourneau; Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent holiday experience among us, our main goal being to ensure we keep on delivering unforgettable holiday experiences to our guests, your comments are crucial in this process, therefore, we highly value your time and constructive critics. Again we thank you for this very kind review of our hotel and we look forward to serving you again in the future. Best regards, Guest Experience Manager.

    Round Indicators
    JBOttawa Ottawa. 05/11/2018 Couples

    “Very good, but”

    My review of Barcelo in Manzanillo Note the resort is over 20 years old My review is 3.5 to 4.2. Remember everyone has different views of what is important to them so hopefully my review while long, will give you a better idea of what you feel is important to you and thus be able to rate for yourself based on my comments. Overall Barcelo is a nice resort and I will probably return. I came to this resort as it the best resort in the area. Our priorities in coming here, Resort Dinning, swimming Walking the beach Shopping in town Ease of going to the local market Fine dinning at local restaurants. The local communities are Santiago and Salagua and both are very safe to leave the resort and walk the boulevard. The local bus is very easy the number one bus takes you downtown Manzanillo in 40 min and to the Saturday market in 10 min. Lots of excellent dinning 20 min walk from the hotel. This is a family resort and about half the people that stay here are locals. Construction, It is expected to be completed in November 2018, it was there but not annoying Food 3.8 to 4.2 House Cleaning 4.7 Room Décor and Beds 3.5 Liquor rating 2.5 Grounds 4.5 to 4.8 Pool arear 4.2 to 4.5 Beach 3.0 to 3.5 Food is the most important The main hot buffet is about 35 feet or 10 meters, and 80 percent Mexican food. The cold buffet is longer and has salads cold cuts and fruit They also had a grill area where the selections changed every day. They had three all cart dinning for which you only received 3 coupons for 7 nights. The Japanese was very good, the Mexican was very good with a view to die for, the Italian was not good. Buffet Breakfast was very good Lunch buffet was very good Dinner buffet was very good. Note the hot buffet is 80 percent Mexican food. Pork chops are fantastic, the beef is very tough. If you compare this to Cancun, then you will be disappointed My wife loves cappuccinos and they make really good ones at the buffet. For me it was very good overall rating 4.2 would be higher if you received 5 coupons or more for all cart dinning. Second most important is house cleaning House cleaning was very good, no complaints. The only odd thing is some maintenance people came into our room one morning and sprayed chemicals down the sink and toilet and shower drain. I asked the manger and he said it was for ants? It just seemed odd to me as we did not see any insects in the room. Rating 4.7 Room décor The rooms are very large and well used and need updating, water stain on the curtain and the chair and sofa where bad shape and old. Bed was hard. (Note the day we were leaving they were replacing the bed and screen Patio doors. As I said 50 percent locals use this hotel and many rooms you will see 6 to 8 in a room. So well used by families. Rooms are very spacious, I believe 90 percent of the rooms are ocean view. However they all look inward into the hotel grounds except one building on the east side. I recommend rooms 5020 to 5030 as they overlook the ocean but not the pool area, so much quieter. Updated, the day we left they were replacing all the beds on our floor. And you can watch the sunrise. Almost all the rooms are king beds Rating 3.5 to 4.2 My first day the air conditioning stopped working in the evening, I called the front desk and a maintenance man arrived within the hour. The problem was that the patio door had to be shut properly, as there was a trip switch. I felt embarrassed. Impressed with managements quick response. Recommendation to management have a sign on the door to the door closed. Note even though both doors where closed and locked, they had to slide over to trip the switch. Air conditioner is a bit noisy but does not run for hours, and keeps the room cool Rating for AC 4.8 Liquor, my wife and I are not big drinkers, however the wine was absolutely terrible. I like one glass of wine with my meal. They buy big jugs and then pour into bottles. To put into prospective I like yellow tail wine. The hard liquor at the pool was sub standard. I drank at the main bar in the lobby and it was very good. At the pool area I could not finish my drink. The beer was mostly warm. Recommendation to management, many times people came with their old glasses to be refilled. I think all glasses should be taken and cleaned. It’s unhealthy to refill someone’s glass from the beer spout again. Liquor rating 2.5 Hot water For three days we had no hot water, managements response was quick and impressive, they sent repair man and offered us three different rooms. All rooms were less quality than what we paid. I was talking to a person at the front desk and they said all the rooms in that building have hot water issues. The solution we were told leave the water running for 10to 12 min. And yes that worked. I personally like waking up to hot water. Rating hot water 2 Grounds The grounds were very well maintained and quite pleasant to walk around Rating 5 Pool area, kids pool, general pool and adult pool Lots of pool space and the music during the day is very load, but I believe all resorts are like that, adult pool is quiet. Overall 4.2 to 4.5 Beach This is a small beach Rating 3.0 to 3.5 Ocean swimming is a small area but the snorkelling is fantastic. The activities are very good with snorkelling, kayaking and motorized seado. There is a scuba diving available to book onsite with pick,up. I was Impressed with the diving. As I am a beginner I had to do a pool course the day before and then I dived with two tanks for $150. If you want to go to another area and snorkel it’s $45 and well worth the 45 min boat ride. Ocean swimming 3.6 but with the snorkelling 4.2 I prefer a larger beach and swimming area. Note sandy bottom to walk out from. Walking the beach, There is a stairwell which security allows you to pass and you can walk over 5km to the port, you can get off the beach at Wal mart and la Marina mall. Take the bus or taxi back. We walked. Great walking, big waves, swimming is not recommend here. Very few people on the beach maybe 20 to 40 over the 5 km at 10 in the morning. As we like to walk rating is a 4.5 to 5 Recommendation to management improve the stairway with a railing, also we had to wait 5 to 10 for a guard to open the gate, so a key card access would be great. Environment They recycle all the cans and bottles. They have a dispenser in the shower for soap and shampoo, while many people don’t like this, it a great help to the environment then all those Little shampoo bottles. Also split the garbage cans with recycling. Apart from the hot water rating is 4.7 Smoking I am surprised you are allowed to smoke on the grounds, it was annoying in the pool area. Entertainment The same group played a different act every night. They are actually very good. The sad part the music is extremely loud. To the point many people left after they started. My ears actual rung the next day. Recommendation to management turn the volume down by half. And purchase new speakers.

    silviagalarza, Guest Experience Manager. at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this review
     Dear JBOttawa: Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent holiday experience among us, our main goal being to ensure we keep on delivering unforgettable holiday experiences to our guests, your comments are crucial in this process, therefore, we highly value your time and constructive critics. At Barceló we know that meals are an important aspect of our guests' overall holiday experience in our hotels, this is why our team of Chefs prepares for each service a wide variety of delicacies to cater for all diet requirements and please the most demanding palates, we are therefore very pleased that we could satisfy yours. We thank you for pointing out the cleanliness of our installations, being fully aware that this is an aspect of primary importance for our guests to feel comfortable in our hotel, our housekeeping staff undertakes a thorough cleaning of our installations and rooms on a daily basis. We do apologize for the technical problems you encountered; there are absolutely no excuses for details to be overlooked as all rooms should be thoroughly checked on a daily basis. We will make sure that the procedure is being reinforced. Therefore, we are delighted to know that during your stay with us you will enjoy snorkeling on our beach and access to our side beach. We will take into account your recommendation for the volume of the music in the pool, on the other hand, thank you for mentioning that you enjoyed our activities. Once again we thank you for sharing this valuable feedback with us, please rest assured that the information you have provided will be used accordingly to enhance our future guests' experiences among us and we hope you will visit us again in the future. Best regards, Guest Experience Manager.

    Round Indicators
    jackieinairdrie Chestermere, Canada. 05/09/2018 Couples

    “Beautiful Resort”

    My boyfriend and I went to the Barcelo Karmina in April. We had an awesome time!! The service was excellent. Everyone was very friendly. The girls at the front desk really took good care of us. The room was really nice, comfortable and big. We did treat ourselves to the upgraded presidential suite on the last night and OMG...I haven't ever seen anything like it. It was like a 2 bedroom condo with 4 sliding on to this massive deck and huge private pool!!! I absolutely loved it...I never wanted to leave...EVER!! The grounds were beautiful, really nice pools...We very much enjoyed Fernando. He was always attentive to us, super nice, we would call him a friend. Food was good, Japanese a la carte was our favorite. Beach/Ocean area a little different than what we are used to, Access to the Ocean was through a secured gate and the beach was very quiet. We just want to Thank every one, who works at the Barcelo, for their hospitality. Everything was absolutely wonderful!!

    silviagalarza, Guest Experience Manager. at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this review
     Dear jackieinairdrie; Thank you for the great feedback of your recent holiday experience at our Barceló Karmina; guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that, we are happy our hotel and staff were able to meet all your needs during your stay. Thank you for the wonderful description of the Presidential Suite, it is our goal to provide our guests with spotless, attractive and spacious rooms and we are really happy to know you liked yours so much. Moreover, we thank you for your wonderful comments on service which of course have been shared with the entire team. It is always a great source of motivation for our staff to hear that our guests appreciated their services and attention to detail. Again we thank you for this wonderful review, it has been a pleasure for us to read and we look forward to serving you again soon. Best regards, Guest Experience Manager.

    Round Indicators
    Julie W Calgary, Alberta, Canada. 05/09/2018 Friends getaway

    “Terrible beach”

    We understand that the pacific side does not have the best beaches, but this beach was terrible. Actually hurt the feet to walk on. The food was not great either. The buffet was small and didn’t change much from day to day. The a la carte restaurants were better though. On a good note, the grounds were beautiful, lots of pools, and the rooms were massive. Lots of bars and good service. We absolutely loved the airport check in for the hotel! All resorts should do that...it was so slick! Other things to mention: Our friends did the upgrade and said it was worth it if you want premium alcohol. Bus ride was about 40 minutes. Tiny airport, so you may want to take snacks.

    silviagalarza, Guest Experience Manager. at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this review
     Dear Julie W; We greatly appreciate the time you spent to review your recent experience in our hotel, at Barceló Karmina we always strive to exceed guests' expectations and your comments will help our teams reaching that goal. Regarding our beach, we would like to tell you that although ours is not the most suitable because of its small size, we have access to the beach which is located right on the side of the Maya Theater where you can walk and exercise. Also, please note that the beach on the side of the Buda garden has access by a gate from the hotel and is a beach that runs along much of the coast. Once again, many thanks for your help to get to know the points where we can still improve the experiences of the ones that come to visit us and we truly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Manzanillo. Best regards, Guest Experience Manager.

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • may 21 2018
    • Family

    Christine M

    “Barcello Karmina is fantastic for families!”


    We stayed at the Barcelo Karmina for Xmas 2017 and Easter 2018. We returned because we had such a fantastic time over Christmas. The facility is beautiful, and great for kids. A special thanks to Zulema from the Barcy club. She is an excellent children’s facilitator. And to Jose Tarabay who provided excellent first aid to my daughter and who really runs a tight ship and makes you feel your children and the facility were well cared for. He still maintains a super friendly rapport with the kids and is an excellent liaison between the hotel and the guests. Spacious rooms, friendly staff and the ocean area is perfect for kids to learn to snorkel in as my daughter did. 5 stars all around and we will return.


    silviagalarza, Guest Experience Manager. at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this review
    Dear Christine M; Firstly we would like to thank you for choosing our Barceló Karmina hotel once again for your holidays and for sharing this wonderful feedback of your recent stay among us, it is indeed very rewarding to read that we keep on meeting all your holiday needs and wishes. On the other hand, we thank you for pointing out the kindness and enthusiasm of our staff, their friendliness and helpfulness being our hotels’ main strength we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us. We are also pleased to know that during your stay with us you were able to enjoy the comfort of our facilities, rooms and especially to practice snorkeling on our beach. We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Best regards, Guest Experience Manager.

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • may 16 2018
    • Edmonton, Canada
    • Couples

    gjourneau

    “Enjoyable”


    The hotel was beautiful. Friendly staff food was very good. 4 restaurant to choose from Very large rooms Family and adult pool areas Downfall no free wifi. Ocean was too rough to swim in I would go back


    silviagalarza, Guest Experience Manager. at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this review
    Dear gjourneau; Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent holiday experience among us, our main goal being to ensure we keep on delivering unforgettable holiday experiences to our guests, your comments are crucial in this process, therefore, we highly value your time and constructive critics. Again we thank you for this very kind review of our hotel and we look forward to serving you again in the future. Best regards, Guest Experience Manager.

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • may 11 2018
    • Ottawa
    • Couples

    JBOttawa

    “Very good, but”


    My review of Barcelo in Manzanillo Note the resort is over 20 years old My review is 3.5 to 4.2. Remember everyone has different views of what is important to them so hopefully my review while long, will give you a better idea of what you feel is important to you and thus be able to rate for yourself based on my comments. Overall Barcelo is a nice resort and I will probably return. I came to this resort as it the best resort in the area. Our priorities in coming here, Resort Dinning, swimming Walking the beach Shopping in town Ease of going to the local market Fine dinning at local restaurants. The local communities are Santiago and Salagua and both are very safe to leave the resort and walk the boulevard. The local bus is very easy the number one bus takes you downtown Manzanillo in 40 min and to the Saturday market in 10 min. Lots of excellent dinning 20 min walk from the hotel. This is a family resort and about half the people that stay here are locals. Construction, It is expected to be completed in November 2018, it was there but not annoying Food 3.8 to 4.2 House Cleaning 4.7 Room Décor and Beds 3.5 Liquor rating 2.5 Grounds 4.5 to 4.8 Pool arear 4.2 to 4.5 Beach 3.0 to 3.5 Food is the most important The main hot buffet is about 35 feet or 10 meters, and 80 percent Mexican food. The cold buffet is longer and has salads cold cuts and fruit They also had a grill area where the selections changed every day. They had three all cart dinning for which you only received 3 coupons for 7 nights. The Japanese was very good, the Mexican was very good with a view to die for, the Italian was not good. Buffet Breakfast was very good Lunch buffet was very good Dinner buffet was very good. Note the hot buffet is 80 percent Mexican food. Pork chops are fantastic, the beef is very tough. If you compare this to Cancun, then you will be disappointed My wife loves cappuccinos and they make really good ones at the buffet. For me it was very good overall rating 4.2 would be higher if you received 5 coupons or more for all cart dinning. Second most important is house cleaning House cleaning was very good, no complaints. The only odd thing is some maintenance people came into our room one morning and sprayed chemicals down the sink and toilet and shower drain. I asked the manger and he said it was for ants? It just seemed odd to me as we did not see any insects in the room. Rating 4.7 Room décor The rooms are very large and well used and need updating, water stain on the curtain and the chair and sofa where bad shape and old. Bed was hard. (Note the day we were leaving they were replacing the bed and screen Patio doors. As I said 50 percent locals use this hotel and many rooms you will see 6 to 8 in a room. So well used by families. Rooms are very spacious, I believe 90 percent of the rooms are ocean view. However they all look inward into the hotel grounds except one building on the east side. I recommend rooms 5020 to 5030 as they overlook the ocean but not the pool area, so much quieter. Updated, the day we left they were replacing all the beds on our floor. And you can watch the sunrise. Almost all the rooms are king beds Rating 3.5 to 4.2 My first day the air conditioning stopped working in the evening, I called the front desk and a maintenance man arrived within the hour. The problem was that the patio door had to be shut properly, as there was a trip switch. I felt embarrassed. Impressed with managements quick response. Recommendation to management have a sign on the door to the door closed. Note even though both doors where closed and locked, they had to slide over to trip the switch. Air conditioner is a bit noisy but does not run for hours, and keeps the room cool Rating for AC 4.8 Liquor, my wife and I are not big drinkers, however the wine was absolutely terrible. I like one glass of wine with my meal. They buy big jugs and then pour into bottles. To put into prospective I like yellow tail wine. The hard liquor at the pool was sub standard. I drank at the main bar in the lobby and it was very good. At the pool area I could not finish my drink. The beer was mostly warm. Recommendation to management, many times people came with their old glasses to be refilled. I think all glasses should be taken and cleaned. It’s unhealthy to refill someone’s glass from the beer spout again. Liquor rating 2.5 Hot water For three days we had no hot water, managements response was quick and impressive, they sent repair man and offered us three different rooms. All rooms were less quality than what we paid. I was talking to a person at the front desk and they said all the rooms in that building have hot water issues. The solution we were told leave the water running for 10to 12 min. And yes that worked. I personally like waking up to hot water. Rating hot water 2 Grounds The grounds were very well maintained and quite pleasant to walk around Rating 5 Pool area, kids pool, general pool and adult pool Lots of pool space and the music during the day is very load, but I believe all resorts are like that, adult pool is quiet. Overall 4.2 to 4.5 Beach This is a small beach Rating 3.0 to 3.5 Ocean swimming is a small area but the snorkelling is fantastic. The activities are very good with snorkelling, kayaking and motorized seado. There is a scuba diving available to book onsite with pick,up. I was Impressed with the diving. As I am a beginner I had to do a pool course the day before and then I dived with two tanks for $150. If you want to go to another area and snorkel it’s $45 and well worth the 45 min boat ride. Ocean swimming 3.6 but with the snorkelling 4.2 I prefer a larger beach and swimming area. Note sandy bottom to walk out from. Walking the beach, There is a stairwell which security allows you to pass and you can walk over 5km to the port, you can get off the beach at Wal mart and la Marina mall. Take the bus or taxi back. We walked. Great walking, big waves, swimming is not recommend here. Very few people on the beach maybe 20 to 40 over the 5 km at 10 in the morning. As we like to walk rating is a 4.5 to 5 Recommendation to management improve the stairway with a railing, also we had to wait 5 to 10 for a guard to open the gate, so a key card access would be great. Environment They recycle all the cans and bottles. They have a dispenser in the shower for soap and shampoo, while many people don’t like this, it a great help to the environment then all those Little shampoo bottles. Also split the garbage cans with recycling. Apart from the hot water rating is 4.7 Smoking I am surprised you are allowed to smoke on the grounds, it was annoying in the pool area. Entertainment The same group played a different act every night. They are actually very good. The sad part the music is extremely loud. To the point many people left after they started. My ears actual rung the next day. Recommendation to management turn the volume down by half. And purchase new speakers.


    silviagalarza, Guest Experience Manager. at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this review
    Dear JBOttawa: Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent holiday experience among us, our main goal being to ensure we keep on delivering unforgettable holiday experiences to our guests, your comments are crucial in this process, therefore, we highly value your time and constructive critics. At Barceló we know that meals are an important aspect of our guests' overall holiday experience in our hotels, this is why our team of Chefs prepares for each service a wide variety of delicacies to cater for all diet requirements and please the most demanding palates, we are therefore very pleased that we could satisfy yours. We thank you for pointing out the cleanliness of our installations, being fully aware that this is an aspect of primary importance for our guests to feel comfortable in our hotel, our housekeeping staff undertakes a thorough cleaning of our installations and rooms on a daily basis. We do apologize for the technical problems you encountered; there are absolutely no excuses for details to be overlooked as all rooms should be thoroughly checked on a daily basis. We will make sure that the procedure is being reinforced. Therefore, we are delighted to know that during your stay with us you will enjoy snorkeling on our beach and access to our side beach. We will take into account your recommendation for the volume of the music in the pool, on the other hand, thank you for mentioning that you enjoyed our activities. Once again we thank you for sharing this valuable feedback with us, please rest assured that the information you have provided will be used accordingly to enhance our future guests' experiences among us and we hope you will visit us again in the future. Best regards, Guest Experience Manager.

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • may 9 2018
    • Chestermere, Canada
    • Couples

    jackieinairdrie

    “Beautiful Resort”


    My boyfriend and I went to the Barcelo Karmina in April. We had an awesome time!! The service was excellent. Everyone was very friendly. The girls at the front desk really took good care of us. The room was really nice, comfortable and big. We did treat ourselves to the upgraded presidential suite on the last night and OMG...I haven't ever seen anything like it. It was like a 2 bedroom condo with 4 sliding on to this massive deck and huge private pool!!! I absolutely loved it...I never wanted to leave...EVER!! The grounds were beautiful, really nice pools...We very much enjoyed Fernando. He was always attentive to us, super nice, we would call him a friend. Food was good, Japanese a la carte was our favorite. Beach/Ocean area a little different than what we are used to, Access to the Ocean was through a secured gate and the beach was very quiet. We just want to Thank every one, who works at the Barcelo, for their hospitality. Everything was absolutely wonderful!!


    silviagalarza, Guest Experience Manager. at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this review
    Dear jackieinairdrie; Thank you for the great feedback of your recent holiday experience at our Barceló Karmina; guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that, we are happy our hotel and staff were able to meet all your needs during your stay. Thank you for the wonderful description of the Presidential Suite, it is our goal to provide our guests with spotless, attractive and spacious rooms and we are really happy to know you liked yours so much. Moreover, we thank you for your wonderful comments on service which of course have been shared with the entire team. It is always a great source of motivation for our staff to hear that our guests appreciated their services and attention to detail. Again we thank you for this wonderful review, it has been a pleasure for us to read and we look forward to serving you again soon. Best regards, Guest Experience Manager.

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • may 9 2018
    • Calgary, Alberta, Canada
    • Friends getaway

    Julie W

    “Terrible beach”


    We understand that the pacific side does not have the best beaches, but this beach was terrible. Actually hurt the feet to walk on. The food was not great either. The buffet was small and didn’t change much from day to day. The a la carte restaurants were better though. On a good note, the grounds were beautiful, lots of pools, and the rooms were massive. Lots of bars and good service. We absolutely loved the airport check in for the hotel! All resorts should do that...it was so slick! Other things to mention: Our friends did the upgrade and said it was worth it if you want premium alcohol. Bus ride was about 40 minutes. Tiny airport, so you may want to take snacks.


    silviagalarza, Guest Experience Manager. at Barcelo Karmina, responded to this review
    Dear Julie W; We greatly appreciate the time you spent to review your recent experience in our hotel, at Barceló Karmina we always strive to exceed guests' expectations and your comments will help our teams reaching that goal. Regarding our beach, we would like to tell you that although ours is not the most suitable because of its small size, we have access to the beach which is located right on the side of the Maya Theater where you can walk and exercise. Also, please note that the beach on the side of the Buda garden has access by a gate from the hotel and is a beach that runs along much of the coast. Once again, many thanks for your help to get to know the points where we can still improve the experiences of the ones that come to visit us and we truly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Manzanillo. Best regards, Guest Experience Manager.

    Aerial View of Barceló Hotel Karmina Palace Deluxe

    Barceló Karmina hotel, a paradise in Manzanillo.