Close

You are using Internet Explorer as a browser to visit Barcelo.com, and we trully recomend to use other browser in order to avoid troubles. If you prefer it, upload your browser versión to Internet Explorer 7 or newer by following the steps you will find in the “About” option inside Tools Configuration (upper right of your window)

If you wish, you can change language

Barceló Hotel Pool  Cabo de Gata
;
map

Map and location

Avenida Juegos de Casablanca, s/n. Urbanización El Toyo   04131 Retamar, Almería , Andalucía   España  


Places of Interest

4 km La Cañada, Almeria

800 m Alborán Golf Course

16.8 km Almeria Railway Station

10 km Cabo de Gata

Premios y Reconocimientos

Prizes and awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Barceló Cabo de Gata

4.5/5 Round Indicators
| 3868 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


Comments

Excellent

53% Complete

2057

Very good

33% Complete

1288

Average

9% Complete

364

Poor

2% Complete

112

Very poor

1% Complete

47

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    994frederickw Gravesend, United Kingdom. 02/20/2020 Couples

    “Dreadful ”

    We stayed at this hotel all inclusive for a month In jan/feb.It was obvious the Hotel only opened because they had an event on for Bmw. The hotel complex was nice. The only two things that were not good was the food and the bar service. The food at best was mediocre and at worst inedible. The standard of the food improved dramatically at weekends when the Spanish arrived.The bar service was practically non existent but I do not blame the staff not only did they have to tend bar but serve bar meals from the kitchen and carry out room service.We as saga guests were treated as second class citizens as none of the facilities or entertainment was open for most of our stay.

    Barceló Cabo de... B, Director General at Barcelo Cabo de Gata, responded to this review
     Dear Frederickw: We greatly appreciate the time you spent to review your recent experience in our hotel, at Barceló we always try to exceed guests' expectations and your comments will help our teams reaching that goal. We are really disappointed to read your comment, we do not share your opinion that we treat Saga users differently from the rest. Many of the clients traveling in this group remain in our facilities for more than a month and always enhance the friendliness of the staff. We hope you understand that the hotel combines different events, meetings and activities, and is not specific for a particular group. Thank you for your insights about your visit. We always look to improve, and your comments are crucial to our future success. Best Regards Rafael J. Jiménez General Manager Barceló Cabo de Gata

    Round Indicators
    salishac United Kingdom. 02/16/2020

    “Lovely Saga walking with best walk Leader a Jesus”

    Was at this holiday a couple of years ago with my husband on a walking holiday from Saga with the best Spanish walking leader Jesus Contraisis. Booked to go back to this hotel for a week in March on my own. Looking forward to the lovely food buffet and the lovely helpful staff. Also looking forward to the walk along the board walk. I might even try out the heated outdoor pool if warm enough.

    Barceló Cabo de... B, Director General at Barcelo Cabo de Gata, responded to this review
     Dear guest: Thank you very much for your comment. We hope to receive you soon so that you can fully enjoy our facilities and the surroundings. Best Regards Rafael J. Jiménez General Manager Barceló Cabo de Gata

    Round Indicators
    WiP Canton of Basel, Switzerland. 02/08/2020

    “If you like to golf (or not), this is the place”

    Located outside of America, on the beach, in a development created on the occasion of the Mediterranean Games in 2005, this modern hotel offers all that you expect from shoreline Barcelo home. Good, spacious rooms. A real plus for me: a machine at breakfast that lets you make real "freshly pressed orange juice" (even in Spain most hotel juices are not fresh). The nice public "Alborán" golf course is just "around the corner" (3 minute drive), a beach and promenade in front of the hotel. Positive also: the hotel as 2 Tesla "destination charger" ports, and two for other types of electric cars. Less good, in my view: slow internet/WiFi connection; the lobby bar-area is not very cozy (but note: I was there in local winter, in spring/summer/autumn guests would probably use the outside areas more.

    Barceló Cabo de... B, Director General at Barcelo Cabo de Gata, responded to this review
     Dear guest: We appreciate your detailed comment and kind words. Exactly as you indicate that we have a very complete breakfast, leisure areas and near the golf facilities in the area, in addition to electric chargers for the use of our customers. We hope you visit us again in summer time. Kind regards Rafael J. Jiménez General Manager Barcelo Cabo de Gata

    Round Indicators
    Jonesy777 Slough. 02/02/2020

    “Fantastic hotel”

    Stayed here in Aug 2019 as a family of 4 on a half baord basis (2 adults & 2 children). Calm, beautiful & Spanish. Well done Barcelo Cabo de gata. Location: 8 minutes from the airport and no noise whatsoever from the planes. Only a handful of flights a day. Can view the hotel upon landing and at the airport itself you can view the hotel from the outside viewing deck in departures. As we had a room with an airport view it also meant we could see our room from the airport while waiting to depart. Taxi to Almeria took 20 minutes and the bus coming back took 37 minutes. The hotel is the first on the drop offs and last for collection. You can access the beach from the rear of the hotel through a gate and the walk from this point to the waters edge is around 3 minutes. Nearest shop is in the hotel next door (one in the hotel doesn't sell food). Other than that it is a 5 minute walk left out of the hotel then right at the roundabout to a little shop called US Supermercado. Also on this road is a café type place. If you want a bigger supermarket then that is a good 10 minutes walk by turning right from the front of the hotel or left if going along the beach promenade. This will get you to a street called Paseo del toyo and here you will find Supremo supermacado and a handful of restaurants and bars. Fab ice cream place on the corner of this road facing the sea called Helados del deserto which is worth a trip to. If you walk from the hotel to the edge of the national park it will talk you about 13mins along the promenade. Along the way you will see a few seafood restaurants on the beach. Also along the way about 4 minutes from the hotel is an artificial lake which is surrounded by some restaurants but also tucked away in the corner is a trampoline, amusements, kart hire etc all for children (great in the evening and cheap too). You can hire large family size karts further along the promenade. El toyo itself is great and ideal for both a quiet family holiday or because of its flat terrain, promende and access to the national park its also ideal for the more active amongst us. Cycling, running, walking all seemed popular even in the August heat. The town does shut for a siesta so bear that in mind if leaving hotel for a wander around. Room: Massive room and ample space for the 4 of us. It had a large balcony looking out over the tennis court, carpark, airport, mountains and also a sea view which was stunning of a morning. Could also see Almeria itself from our room. We were on the top floor and this was great but i think any lower and you might have problems with the view as in the gardens some of the plants and trees were growing quite high so would block your view. No noise from the car park. Wodwork on the balcony is tired and needs attention. Only disappointment was that our neighbours smoked and that meant you couldnt sit out on the balcony or have the doors open for the smell of the cigarette smoke. Hotel: Beautiful hotel, spacious, well air conditioned and just a lovely place to spend your time in. Reception smelt amazing like some sort of wonderful fragrance. Food: Amazing choice and quality of both breakfast and dinner. The spanish omelette at breakfast.. I could have lived on them the whole holiday! The fresh fruit and choice of cakes and doughnuts at breakfast were a big hit with all the family. Dinner was a different theme each evening and there was show cooking outside on the terrace too. For lunch we either popped to the shop for crisps etc or we ate at the pool bar with the pizzas being especially nice. The staff from the restaurant would occassionally come round the pool giving out free samples of paella. Pools: Both the top and bottom pool (Pools have a tiered layout) were wade in ones particually suited to young families. The top pool would have aqua aerobics in the morning and the bottom pool water polo for the children in the late afternoon. The middle pool was deeper and more suited to proper swimming and was popular with the adults. The pools each open and shut at slighly different times from 9am to 8.30pm. Gated off when not in use,lifeguarded and very clean. More than enough sunbeds too (290ish). Baby pool is shallow however the hotel really needs to look into getting a canopy or some sort of shade over it as it was often too hot to be in that pool. Our tip is to have lunch pool side and make use of the siesta between 2.30-4pm ish because you literally get the pools to yourself!! Beach: Sandy but with no sun loungers or parasols it does get very hot. Clear, calm waters with lots of fish to see. Lifeguards on the beach. Entertainment: This was exceptionally good and a highlight of the holiday for our children. They especually loved Barcy the mascot. The entertainment was in Spanish but the entertainers really made an effort to get us involved and speaking English when needing too. The only real negative was that we felt we were not informed of everything that was taking place or avaliable. For example we didnt know that the white party ended with people going into the pool and the show cooking outside we discovered that a few days into our holiday by ourselves. Not sure if this was because we were half board and not all inclusive but it felt like most people knew but we didnt. I suspect some of it was that for a lot of people they were returning customers. Overall a fantastic hotel and we have already recommended it to people and yes we would go back but next time for longer and all inclusive.

    Barceló Cabo de... B, Director General at Barcelo Cabo de Gata, responded to this review
     Dear guest: We are delighted to read your comment and we assure you that it has been a pleasure to read all the recommendations that you have detailed to Tripadvisor users. We will convey your kind words to our entire team. It is fantastic to prove that we have fulfilled your expectations in the services that you detail. Opinions like yours indicate areas that allow an improvement and how we can move forward to achieve excellence in the service. We really hope you visit us again in a negar future. Kind regards Rafael J. Jiménez General Manager Barceló Cabo de Gata

    Round Indicators
    cdnsml Canada. 01/31/2020

    “Great Location, friendly staff and excellent value for $$”

    Overall, a good experience. The property is good . An excellent and large lobby where you can relax, which opens to the large pool area's. It is well kept and maintained, although compared to N American standards, the rooms feel a little dates, ie small TV and lots of Spanish tile. Lots of pools for you to use. Super close to the ocean with a great boardwalk for you to walk along. Breakfast buffer if included with your rate is excellent with good choices and good service. WIFI is fantastic and free, coverage is all over the hotel and the grounds, including the pools etc. I would highly recommend this property for your stay in the Almeria area. Note, its quiet in the winter months.

    Barceló Cabo de... B, Director General at Barcelo Cabo de Gata, responded to this review
     Dear Guest: Thank you so much for this lovely review, our entire team words really hard to make our Guest to feel at home. It was lovely to read your kind comment, We hope you choose us again when you visit the area. Kind regards Rafael J. Jiménez General Manager Barceló Cabo de Gata

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 20 2020
    • Gravesend, United Kingdom
    • Couples

    994frederickw

    “Dreadful ”


    We stayed at this hotel all inclusive for a month In jan/feb.It was obvious the Hotel only opened because they had an event on for Bmw. The hotel complex was nice. The only two things that were not good was the food and the bar service. The food at best was mediocre and at worst inedible. The standard of the food improved dramatically at weekends when the Spanish arrived.The bar service was practically non existent but I do not blame the staff not only did they have to tend bar but serve bar meals from the kitchen and carry out room service.We as saga guests were treated as second class citizens as none of the facilities or entertainment was open for most of our stay.


    Barceló Cabo de... B, Director General at Barcelo Cabo de Gata, responded to this review
    Dear Frederickw: We greatly appreciate the time you spent to review your recent experience in our hotel, at Barceló we always try to exceed guests' expectations and your comments will help our teams reaching that goal. We are really disappointed to read your comment, we do not share your opinion that we treat Saga users differently from the rest. Many of the clients traveling in this group remain in our facilities for more than a month and always enhance the friendliness of the staff. We hope you understand that the hotel combines different events, meetings and activities, and is not specific for a particular group. Thank you for your insights about your visit. We always look to improve, and your comments are crucial to our future success. Best Regards Rafael J. Jiménez General Manager Barceló Cabo de Gata

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 16 2020
    • United Kingdom

    salishac

    “Lovely Saga walking with best walk Leader a Jesus”


    Was at this holiday a couple of years ago with my husband on a walking holiday from Saga with the best Spanish walking leader Jesus Contraisis. Booked to go back to this hotel for a week in March on my own. Looking forward to the lovely food buffet and the lovely helpful staff. Also looking forward to the walk along the board walk. I might even try out the heated outdoor pool if warm enough.


    Barceló Cabo de... B, Director General at Barcelo Cabo de Gata, responded to this review
    Dear guest: Thank you very much for your comment. We hope to receive you soon so that you can fully enjoy our facilities and the surroundings. Best Regards Rafael J. Jiménez General Manager Barceló Cabo de Gata

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 8 2020
    • Canton of Basel, Switzerland

    WiP

    “If you like to golf (or not), this is the place”


    Located outside of America, on the beach, in a development created on the occasion of the Mediterranean Games in 2005, this modern hotel offers all that you expect from shoreline Barcelo home. Good, spacious rooms. A real plus for me: a machine at breakfast that lets you make real "freshly pressed orange juice" (even in Spain most hotel juices are not fresh). The nice public "Alborán" golf course is just "around the corner" (3 minute drive), a beach and promenade in front of the hotel. Positive also: the hotel as 2 Tesla "destination charger" ports, and two for other types of electric cars. Less good, in my view: slow internet/WiFi connection; the lobby bar-area is not very cozy (but note: I was there in local winter, in spring/summer/autumn guests would probably use the outside areas more.


    Barceló Cabo de... B, Director General at Barcelo Cabo de Gata, responded to this review
    Dear guest: We appreciate your detailed comment and kind words. Exactly as you indicate that we have a very complete breakfast, leisure areas and near the golf facilities in the area, in addition to electric chargers for the use of our customers. We hope you visit us again in summer time. Kind regards Rafael J. Jiménez General Manager Barcelo Cabo de Gata

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 2 2020
    • Slough

    Jonesy777

    “Fantastic hotel”


    Stayed here in Aug 2019 as a family of 4 on a half baord basis (2 adults & 2 children). Calm, beautiful & Spanish. Well done Barcelo Cabo de gata. Location: 8 minutes from the airport and no noise whatsoever from the planes. Only a handful of flights a day. Can view the hotel upon landing and at the airport itself you can view the hotel from the outside viewing deck in departures. As we had a room with an airport view it also meant we could see our room from the airport while waiting to depart. Taxi to Almeria took 20 minutes and the bus coming back took 37 minutes. The hotel is the first on the drop offs and last for collection. You can access the beach from the rear of the hotel through a gate and the walk from this point to the waters edge is around 3 minutes. Nearest shop is in the hotel next door (one in the hotel doesn't sell food). Other than that it is a 5 minute walk left out of the hotel then right at the roundabout to a little shop called US Supermercado. Also on this road is a café type place. If you want a bigger supermarket then that is a good 10 minutes walk by turning right from the front of the hotel or left if going along the beach promenade. This will get you to a street called Paseo del toyo and here you will find Supremo supermacado and a handful of restaurants and bars. Fab ice cream place on the corner of this road facing the sea called Helados del deserto which is worth a trip to. If you walk from the hotel to the edge of the national park it will talk you about 13mins along the promenade. Along the way you will see a few seafood restaurants on the beach. Also along the way about 4 minutes from the hotel is an artificial lake which is surrounded by some restaurants but also tucked away in the corner is a trampoline, amusements, kart hire etc all for children (great in the evening and cheap too). You can hire large family size karts further along the promenade. El toyo itself is great and ideal for both a quiet family holiday or because of its flat terrain, promende and access to the national park its also ideal for the more active amongst us. Cycling, running, walking all seemed popular even in the August heat. The town does shut for a siesta so bear that in mind if leaving hotel for a wander around. Room: Massive room and ample space for the 4 of us. It had a large balcony looking out over the tennis court, carpark, airport, mountains and also a sea view which was stunning of a morning. Could also see Almeria itself from our room. We were on the top floor and this was great but i think any lower and you might have problems with the view as in the gardens some of the plants and trees were growing quite high so would block your view. No noise from the car park. Wodwork on the balcony is tired and needs attention. Only disappointment was that our neighbours smoked and that meant you couldnt sit out on the balcony or have the doors open for the smell of the cigarette smoke. Hotel: Beautiful hotel, spacious, well air conditioned and just a lovely place to spend your time in. Reception smelt amazing like some sort of wonderful fragrance. Food: Amazing choice and quality of both breakfast and dinner. The spanish omelette at breakfast.. I could have lived on them the whole holiday! The fresh fruit and choice of cakes and doughnuts at breakfast were a big hit with all the family. Dinner was a different theme each evening and there was show cooking outside on the terrace too. For lunch we either popped to the shop for crisps etc or we ate at the pool bar with the pizzas being especially nice. The staff from the restaurant would occassionally come round the pool giving out free samples of paella. Pools: Both the top and bottom pool (Pools have a tiered layout) were wade in ones particually suited to young families. The top pool would have aqua aerobics in the morning and the bottom pool water polo for the children in the late afternoon. The middle pool was deeper and more suited to proper swimming and was popular with the adults. The pools each open and shut at slighly different times from 9am to 8.30pm. Gated off when not in use,lifeguarded and very clean. More than enough sunbeds too (290ish). Baby pool is shallow however the hotel really needs to look into getting a canopy or some sort of shade over it as it was often too hot to be in that pool. Our tip is to have lunch pool side and make use of the siesta between 2.30-4pm ish because you literally get the pools to yourself!! Beach: Sandy but with no sun loungers or parasols it does get very hot. Clear, calm waters with lots of fish to see. Lifeguards on the beach. Entertainment: This was exceptionally good and a highlight of the holiday for our children. They especually loved Barcy the mascot. The entertainment was in Spanish but the entertainers really made an effort to get us involved and speaking English when needing too. The only real negative was that we felt we were not informed of everything that was taking place or avaliable. For example we didnt know that the white party ended with people going into the pool and the show cooking outside we discovered that a few days into our holiday by ourselves. Not sure if this was because we were half board and not all inclusive but it felt like most people knew but we didnt. I suspect some of it was that for a lot of people they were returning customers. Overall a fantastic hotel and we have already recommended it to people and yes we would go back but next time for longer and all inclusive.


    Barceló Cabo de... B, Director General at Barcelo Cabo de Gata, responded to this review
    Dear guest: We are delighted to read your comment and we assure you that it has been a pleasure to read all the recommendations that you have detailed to Tripadvisor users. We will convey your kind words to our entire team. It is fantastic to prove that we have fulfilled your expectations in the services that you detail. Opinions like yours indicate areas that allow an improvement and how we can move forward to achieve excellence in the service. We really hope you visit us again in a negar future. Kind regards Rafael J. Jiménez General Manager Barceló Cabo de Gata

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • january 31 2020
    • Canada

    cdnsml

    “Great Location, friendly staff and excellent value for $$”


    Overall, a good experience. The property is good . An excellent and large lobby where you can relax, which opens to the large pool area's. It is well kept and maintained, although compared to N American standards, the rooms feel a little dates, ie small TV and lots of Spanish tile. Lots of pools for you to use. Super close to the ocean with a great boardwalk for you to walk along. Breakfast buffer if included with your rate is excellent with good choices and good service. WIFI is fantastic and free, coverage is all over the hotel and the grounds, including the pools etc. I would highly recommend this property for your stay in the Almeria area. Note, its quiet in the winter months.


    Barceló Cabo de... B, Director General at Barcelo Cabo de Gata, responded to this review
    Dear Guest: Thank you so much for this lovely review, our entire team words really hard to make our Guest to feel at home. It was lovely to read your kind comment, We hope you choose us again when you visit the area. Kind regards Rafael J. Jiménez General Manager Barceló Cabo de Gata

    Barceló Hotel Beach  Cabo de Gata

    Holidays on the seafront.

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in Costa Rica

    Select Costa Rica

    Hotels in Ecuador

    Select Ecuador

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Hotels in Germany

    Select Germany

    Hotels in Czech Republic

    Select Czech Republic

    Hotels in Portugal

    Select Portugal

    Hotels in Túnez

    Select Túnez

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z