Close

You are using Internet Explorer as a browser to visit Barcelo.com, and we trully recomend to use other browser in order to avoid troubles. If you prefer it, upload your browser versión to Internet Explorer 7 or newer by following the steps you will find in the “About” option inside Tools Configuration (upper right of your window)

If you wish, you can change language

Barceló Monasterio de Boltaña Hotel Pool
;
map

Map and location

Afueras, s/n   22340 Boltaña, Huesca , Aragón   España  


Places of Interest

110 km Huesca Airport

99 km Huesca Railway Station

108 km Huesca Exhibition Centre

6 km Ainsa, Medieval City

Premios y Reconocimientos

Prizes and awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Barceló Monasterio de Boltaña

4.0/5 Round Indicators
| 3042 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


Comments

Excellent

50% Complete

1534

Very good

30% Complete

924

Average

12% Complete

366

Poor

4% Complete

134

Very poor

2% Complete

87

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    paul658 london. 09/19/2019

    “4 stars objectively, but with art problems and why it fails in its claim that's its 5 stars”

    WHATS 5 STARS ? * Rooms - very pretty and very good. * The building itself and its original character (although the owners made a mess of the styling destroying the harmony - more on that later) * dining room * service and friendly personnel WHATS NOT 5 STARS... * SPA is small and not worth the price at all, as you will be paying 23 euros as a guest plus 4 euros for head cover if you don't bring your own. * POOL gets closed on the 14th of September. We have been there for 3 days and it was 30 degrees each day. There were 20 people sitting around the pool on lounge chairs just waiting to jump in. Seriously - which 5 star hotel closes its main pool on the 14th of Sept while its still summer ? Quite frankly - unacceptable at this level. * BREAKFAST - 12 Euros per person for a breakfast which is no more then 4 stars. Its basically just purchased meat, cheese, muesli, bread, dairy and that's it. There is no art of preparation or any fancy chef inventions that you will find in a 5 star breakfast and you will not find anything 'expensive' either - not even salmon in this menu. If you were to compare it to a breakfast in a resort style accommodation in canary islands for example, then this would be somewhere around 3.5 stars. So, the breakfast is a disappointment. My guess is that most people stay in this hotel for a day or two passing by on their tour, so, the hotel does not care - but in that case, the price should reflect the quality. You won't go hungry, but if you have expected a 5 star breakfast, get a ready for a huge disappointment. * Why is the breakfast in a rather gloomy cellar instead of the incredibly pretty restaurant ? Whatever the reason, its not possible to enjoy the breakfast in a cellar with no natural light. * There is not much to do in the hotel. Its just a hotel but the area around the hotel has not been cultivated. There is so much potential there, and yet, all you get is a few chairs, some synthetic grass and that's about it. HOTEL CHARACTER - THIS IS JUST WRONG... The hotel decorator made a total mess of the decorations. How can you have a STUNNING medieval monastery building and then decorate it with Polynesian / Rapa Nui statues, sculptures, artefacts while at the same time attempt to match it up with modern abstract paintings ? What does a medieval spanish culture got to do with rapa nui gods ? Is it really that difficult to create something local and authentic ? King Alfonso of Aragon left a huge legacy of Templar history and this is what this place should be showing - its proud spanish and medieval history and not Polynesian statues - some of them are just scary and ugly to be honest - please, see the photos for yourself. So, in my opinion , as much as I like polynesian culture, this is just wrong and it needs to be addressed.

    GM-Monasterio, Director General at Barcelo Monasterio de Boltana, responded to this review
     Dear guest, We greatly appreciate the time spent reviewing your recent experience at our hotel, at Barceló we always strive to exceed the expectations of our customers. Your comment will help our team achieve that goal. In particular, I am very pleased that you had a chance to truly enjoy our warm hospitality. We do pride ourselves in providing personalized service to meet the individual requirements of our guests.  We do our utmost to ensure that our guests can enjoy an enriching dining expérience in an unrivaled setting and with an excellent service. Our restaurant team will continue working to surprise you with delicious international and local dishes on your next visit. Our pool service is 100% confirmed in the months of July and August, When we are in the Pyrenees area, in June and September the temperature changes from one day to another, are very variable, we apologize, for the inconvenience, that the closure of the service may have cause them. We are sorry to read your dissatisfaction about the design in our hotel, We hope this does not prevent you from staying with us again and we hope to receive you again in a future a more positive experience, just as it should have been. Sincerely, The direction Barceló Monastery of Boltaña

    Round Indicators
    Monophoto-1 Saratoga Springs, New York. 09/17/2019 Friends getaway

    “Big and modern”

    Spacious rooms, enormous breakfast, beautiful old architecture with a modern touch. Lots of laydown space on the bath? And the shower was not too complicated Large dining room - we had a group dinner that was very good.
    Round Indicators
    janicepinterics Salt Lake City, Utah. 09/14/2019 Friends getaway

    “Lovely location and rooms - poor service in restaurant”

    The location and rooms are lovely. However, the fellow who took our food and wine order during dinner seemed to dislike Americans. He assumed I wanted my steak cooked medium and I corrected him ordering it medium rare. He didn’t seem to listen so I repeated myself. It came out over cooked- I returned it. It came out rare but a very poor quality. He was quite dismissive and condescending. It was a disappointing experience.

    GM-Monasterio, Director General at Barcelo Monasterio de Boltana, responded to this review
     Dear guest, We greatly appreciate the time spent reviewing your recent experience at our hotel, at Barceló we always strive to exceed the expectations of our customers. Your comment will help our team achieve that goal. At Barcelo we always strive to make meals one of the best experiences among us and we truly regret your disappointment with our menu and although it has been studied so as to guarantee a varied assortment of dishes prepared with local products to please the most demanding palates, we will not fail to share your comments with our Executive Chef for information and further revision. We hope this does not prevent you from staying with us again and we hope to receive you again in a future a more positive experience, just as it should have been. Sincerely, The direction Barceló Monastery of Boltaña

    Round Indicators
    JohnnysGoodLifeTips Plano, Texas. 09/09/2019 Family

    “Amazing stay in the Pyrenees ”

    Amazing hotel in a renovated monastery The spa was good although I expected the water to be warmer Massage was great Beautiful pool Really good breakfast for 12€ Complimentary champagne in lobby and at breakfast Great location in the Pyrenees near Ainsa

    GM-Monasterio, Director General at Barcelo Monasterio de Boltana, responded to this review
     Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Moreover we are glad you enjoyed the beauty of our pool area as well as the comfort of our sunbeds It is also good to know that you enjoyed the many culinary delights prepared by our professional Chefs who always strive to offer a wide variety of typical delights in order to please all palates and we thank you for letting us know that we could conquer yours. We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Regards, Barceló Monasterio de Boltaña

    Round Indicators
    BenjaminBKK1 08/04/2019 Family

    “Physique is nice but the service needs improvement”

    beautiful setting. Needs more staff, waiters aren't the friendliest bunch to say the least. Breakfast is very very understaffed and is definitely sub standard for a 5 star hotel. And lets not even begin talking about dinner... Honestly, much potential, a pity. Rooms are quite nice, standard business hotel rooms.

    GM-Monasterio, Manager at Barcelo Monasterio de Boltana, responded to this review
     Dear guest, We appreciate you reaching out on Tripadvisor to notify us of your concerns related to your recent stay at our Barceló Monasterio de Boltaña hotel. Please be assured your comments regarding the service you received during mealtimes has been discussed with our Maître so as to prevent these kind of situations to reoccur in the future and we sincerely apologize for failing to meet your expectations on this occasion. With regard to the number of staff members for the service, we are pleased to inform you that these ratios were calculated using studies based on our occupancy, average stay, rates and other data. We appreciate your feedback and will take it into consideration. Moreover, we would like to thank you for pointing out the setting and our rooms. As a close-knit team, we are collectively committed to providing our guests with a superb experience. Our reputation and high return guest ratio attests that we usually get it right, so it is distressing not to have been able to in your case, for which we again apologize.  Best regards, The Hotel Management.

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • september 19 2019
    • london

    paul658

    “4 stars objectively, but with art problems and why it fails in its claim that's its 5 stars”


    WHATS 5 STARS ? * Rooms - very pretty and very good. * The building itself and its original character (although the owners made a mess of the styling destroying the harmony - more on that later) * dining room * service and friendly personnel WHATS NOT 5 STARS... * SPA is small and not worth the price at all, as you will be paying 23 euros as a guest plus 4 euros for head cover if you don't bring your own. * POOL gets closed on the 14th of September. We have been there for 3 days and it was 30 degrees each day. There were 20 people sitting around the pool on lounge chairs just waiting to jump in. Seriously - which 5 star hotel closes its main pool on the 14th of Sept while its still summer ? Quite frankly - unacceptable at this level. * BREAKFAST - 12 Euros per person for a breakfast which is no more then 4 stars. Its basically just purchased meat, cheese, muesli, bread, dairy and that's it. There is no art of preparation or any fancy chef inventions that you will find in a 5 star breakfast and you will not find anything 'expensive' either - not even salmon in this menu. If you were to compare it to a breakfast in a resort style accommodation in canary islands for example, then this would be somewhere around 3.5 stars. So, the breakfast is a disappointment. My guess is that most people stay in this hotel for a day or two passing by on their tour, so, the hotel does not care - but in that case, the price should reflect the quality. You won't go hungry, but if you have expected a 5 star breakfast, get a ready for a huge disappointment. * Why is the breakfast in a rather gloomy cellar instead of the incredibly pretty restaurant ? Whatever the reason, its not possible to enjoy the breakfast in a cellar with no natural light. * There is not much to do in the hotel. Its just a hotel but the area around the hotel has not been cultivated. There is so much potential there, and yet, all you get is a few chairs, some synthetic grass and that's about it. HOTEL CHARACTER - THIS IS JUST WRONG... The hotel decorator made a total mess of the decorations. How can you have a STUNNING medieval monastery building and then decorate it with Polynesian / Rapa Nui statues, sculptures, artefacts while at the same time attempt to match it up with modern abstract paintings ? What does a medieval spanish culture got to do with rapa nui gods ? Is it really that difficult to create something local and authentic ? King Alfonso of Aragon left a huge legacy of Templar history and this is what this place should be showing - its proud spanish and medieval history and not Polynesian statues - some of them are just scary and ugly to be honest - please, see the photos for yourself. So, in my opinion , as much as I like polynesian culture, this is just wrong and it needs to be addressed.


    GM-Monasterio, Director General at Barcelo Monasterio de Boltana, responded to this review
    Dear guest, We greatly appreciate the time spent reviewing your recent experience at our hotel, at Barceló we always strive to exceed the expectations of our customers. Your comment will help our team achieve that goal. In particular, I am very pleased that you had a chance to truly enjoy our warm hospitality. We do pride ourselves in providing personalized service to meet the individual requirements of our guests.  We do our utmost to ensure that our guests can enjoy an enriching dining expérience in an unrivaled setting and with an excellent service. Our restaurant team will continue working to surprise you with delicious international and local dishes on your next visit. Our pool service is 100% confirmed in the months of July and August, When we are in the Pyrenees area, in June and September the temperature changes from one day to another, are very variable, we apologize, for the inconvenience, that the closure of the service may have cause them. We are sorry to read your dissatisfaction about the design in our hotel, We hope this does not prevent you from staying with us again and we hope to receive you again in a future a more positive experience, just as it should have been. Sincerely, The direction Barceló Monastery of Boltaña

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • september 17 2019
    • Saratoga Springs, New York
    • Friends getaway

    Monophoto-1

    “Big and modern”


    Spacious rooms, enormous breakfast, beautiful old architecture with a modern touch. Lots of laydown space on the bath? And the shower was not too complicated Large dining room - we had a group dinner that was very good.


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • september 14 2019
    • Salt Lake City, Utah
    • Friends getaway

    janicepinterics

    “Lovely location and rooms - poor service in restaurant”


    The location and rooms are lovely. However, the fellow who took our food and wine order during dinner seemed to dislike Americans. He assumed I wanted my steak cooked medium and I corrected him ordering it medium rare. He didn’t seem to listen so I repeated myself. It came out over cooked- I returned it. It came out rare but a very poor quality. He was quite dismissive and condescending. It was a disappointing experience.


    GM-Monasterio, Director General at Barcelo Monasterio de Boltana, responded to this review
    Dear guest, We greatly appreciate the time spent reviewing your recent experience at our hotel, at Barceló we always strive to exceed the expectations of our customers. Your comment will help our team achieve that goal. At Barcelo we always strive to make meals one of the best experiences among us and we truly regret your disappointment with our menu and although it has been studied so as to guarantee a varied assortment of dishes prepared with local products to please the most demanding palates, we will not fail to share your comments with our Executive Chef for information and further revision. We hope this does not prevent you from staying with us again and we hope to receive you again in a future a more positive experience, just as it should have been. Sincerely, The direction Barceló Monastery of Boltaña

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • september 9 2019
    • Plano, Texas
    • Family

    JohnnysGoodLifeTips

    “Amazing stay in the Pyrenees ”


    Amazing hotel in a renovated monastery The spa was good although I expected the water to be warmer Massage was great Beautiful pool Really good breakfast for 12€ Complimentary champagne in lobby and at breakfast Great location in the Pyrenees near Ainsa


    GM-Monasterio, Director General at Barcelo Monasterio de Boltana, responded to this review
    Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Moreover we are glad you enjoyed the beauty of our pool area as well as the comfort of our sunbeds It is also good to know that you enjoyed the many culinary delights prepared by our professional Chefs who always strive to offer a wide variety of typical delights in order to please all palates and we thank you for letting us know that we could conquer yours. We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Regards, Barceló Monasterio de Boltaña

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • august 4 2019
    • Family

    BenjaminBKK1

    “Physique is nice but the service needs improvement”


    beautiful setting. Needs more staff, waiters aren't the friendliest bunch to say the least. Breakfast is very very understaffed and is definitely sub standard for a 5 star hotel. And lets not even begin talking about dinner... Honestly, much potential, a pity. Rooms are quite nice, standard business hotel rooms.


    GM-Monasterio, Manager at Barcelo Monasterio de Boltana, responded to this review
    Dear guest, We appreciate you reaching out on Tripadvisor to notify us of your concerns related to your recent stay at our Barceló Monasterio de Boltaña hotel. Please be assured your comments regarding the service you received during mealtimes has been discussed with our Maître so as to prevent these kind of situations to reoccur in the future and we sincerely apologize for failing to meet your expectations on this occasion. With regard to the number of staff members for the service, we are pleased to inform you that these ratios were calculated using studies based on our occupancy, average stay, rates and other data. We appreciate your feedback and will take it into consideration. Moreover, we would like to thank you for pointing out the setting and our rooms. As a close-knit team, we are collectively committed to providing our guests with a superb experience. Our reputation and high return guest ratio attests that we usually get it right, so it is distressing not to have been able to in your case, for which we again apologize.  Best regards, The Hotel Management.

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in Costa Rica

    Select Costa Rica

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Hotels in Germany

    Select Germany

    Hotels in Turkey

    Select Turkey

    Hotels in Czech Republic

    Select Czech Republic

    Hotels in Portugal

    Select Portugal

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

    to

      Incorrect dates
      Please enter valid dates

    NIGHTS

    (Optional dates)

    0 nights Selected
    1 night Selected

    A discount* or promotional code (also appears as “promo code”) is a combination of letters and/or numbers that can be used to add a discount to the normal rate. If you have a discount code, enter it when booking and you will receive a discount. Once you have entered this code, the prices shown in step 1 of the booking process will take into account the discount. 

    The discount does not apply to supplements and/or additional services, nor to prices on last available rooms. You can only apply one discount code per booking, which will only be valid at the time of booking.** 

    The maximum amount of accumulated discount may be up to 20% off the booking rate. It is possible to combine a discount code with a special discount** (for example multiple room, senior, resident, millennials,or large family bookings) and your my Barceló discount. 

    *Barceló reserves the right to accept the application of advertised discounts. 

    **The discount code is not valid on arrival at the hotel, only at the time of booking. 

    ***At check-in, the hotel will request valid official documents in order to verify compliance with the terms and conditions of the discount codes and special discounts. In the event of a failure to provide such documents or meet the conditions, the hotel reserves the right to charge for the amounts that were deducted at time of booking.

    Loading rates...
    The hotel does not have any rates allocated to it

    Best rate
    guaranteed
    Plus

    Our double guarantee:

    If you find a better rate outside Barcelo.com, we’ll match it.

    The same applies even if you find a better rate on Barcelo.com after placing your booking.

    For more information