Barceló Hotel Gastronomy Arenas Blancas

Barceló Arenas Blancas

Texto: 44838 Modern and exclusive hotel located in Varadero town centre, which is ideal for rest and relaxation. CR Las Américas, km.3 -Varadero, Cuba
+53 45 6144 99 +53 45 611 086
Barceló Arenas Blancas Texto: 44838 3.5 out of 5 based on 6765 ratings. 6765 user reviews.
Barceló Arenas Blancas reviewed by Cuddles74 on . Not worth the money We stayed at Barcelo Solymar from April 15-22 and hated it. It was my husbands first time to Cuba and he will never go again. We stayed in room 1146 and the pillows smelled & was stained,the patio... Rating: 2
map

Barceló Arenas Blancas

CR Las Américas, km.3 -Varadero, Cuba  


Places of Interest

28 km Varadero Airport

4 km Varadero Golf Course

1 km Varadero

Premios y Reconocimientos Prizes and awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Barceló Arenas Blancas

3.5/5 Round Indicators
| 6759 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


GUESTS’ SCORE

Excellent

22% Complete

1532

Very good

35% Complete

2383

Average

20% Complete

1353

Poor

12% Complete

813

Very poor

10% Complete

678

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    smrbrz Seattle, Washington. 04/21/2017 Family

    “Nice stay, better than expected!”

    Being a tripadvisor regular, I poured through all the reviews before choosing a hotel in Varadero. I wanted to be on a nice beach, a good pool and walking distance to town. I read all the good and bad and knew to not take all the reviews with a grain of salt. We (myself, husband and 13 yr old daughter) are not an All Inclusive type of travelers( this was our first time) and typically prefer smaller boutique type of hotels. I found a pretty good deal on a bungalow suite and liked the fact of being closer to the water (we love the beach) without being way up in the hotel. I set pretty low expectations and was pleasantly surprised by the resort, rooms and the food. It is a new experience for us traveling to Cuba and yes, things are just a little different. Room: We ended up with a very nice Bungalow suite about as close to the water as you can get. Yes, the units are older but quite large and lots of space for 3. 2 bathrooms was deluxe! I hesitate to point out a few oddities without sounding like a persnickety "American" traveler but simply providing my opinion on a few things I found "different". There is somewhat of a kitchenette in the unit but it lacks any usefulness as it is just a sink, a cupboard and countertop. There was a small fridge but it was located upstairs in the bedroom(?). It was really nice to have the fridge restocked daily with water, beer and soda! The beds were a little hard for my liking, but ok for 2. Bathrooms were good sized and had a decent shower. OK, what is up with Cuba and towels in general? The bath towels were on the very small side, they are hand towels. We all had to laugh at my tall husband trying to cover himself with one after showering. The beach towels were nice and good sized but again you would they are very well guarded. Also, there aren't any washcloths in Cuba it seems (good idea to bring a few). Great A/C in the unit and hot water was plentiful. Would have loved a coffee pot :) Resort: Yes, the resort could definitely use some remodeling and TLC. Its a product of the 90's for sure with its pink and green decor. It definitely was not what I typically see at Mexican resorts (of the same age) where things are meticulously maintained but being a first timer in Cuba and reading the reviews, it was what I had expected it to be. The pool are was nice and we enjoyed the pool bar. Cleaning Staff: Special mention of our cleaning gal "Aliuska". She was so nice and friendly and I really enjoyed talking to her. With my limited spanish and her better english we were able to have a conversation. I really enjoyed talking with her and wished I could have had more to learn more about her life. She did a fantastic job cleaning our place. Another mentions for the nice staff at the hotel. One of the managers Miguel Angel walked by our place a few times and asked how our stay was. He was so friendly and welcoming. We had been upgraded to the bungalow suite to our surprise. Food: Ok again having never been to an AI the food was way better than what I thought it would be. Im not sure what else people expect of a buffet open for many hours. There was plenty to choose from. Yes, it was a little odd that the food wasn't warmer but overall we were quite content. We did end up making reservations for the Mexican restaurant an the Don Quixote restaurant which we found quite nice and enjoyable. We liked the feel of the Caribe outdoor buffet much more than being inside. * At check in I was told about the reservations at the restaurant but no mention of how to go about these reservations. I had even asked if I make them at each restaurant and the gal said yes. We called after we checked in and were told that you make them at the reservations desk in the lobby between 9-4. I would have dont that when we arrived if I had known. Again, this could be just a mistake as a rookie all inclusive guest :) Drinks: Ok, this was my favorite part. Sure, I would love another pina colada or mojito! We loved spending time at the lobby bar, pool bar and especially the beach bar. It was fun for my daughter to go order the "virgin" pina colada whenever she wanted. * Another rookie move, now I know why people always have those big "bubba mugs"! They are a must at all inclusive places if you dont want to carry around those little 8-10 plastic cups they have. I ended up buying 2 of those big bamboo havana club mugs they sell in the hallway. They didn't stay cold but did the trick and gave us a little souvenir to bring home. unfortunately my sunglasses disappeared (that I have had for years) while buying these from the unhappy vendors that work in the hallway :( Beach: The absolute best part of the resort simply by nature! What a beautiful stretch of beach and the water was so clear and turquoise! We spent all of our time here. A couple things I just dont get, the trash and cigarette butts! Just something Im not used to and it didn't really bother us, just couldn't quite understand it. The hotel provides garbage cans everywhere yet there still tons of cigarette butts everywhere. It seems (from what I have read) other hotels rake these up but not at this location. The palapa umbrellas could use a little work too. My husband is a "kiter" and went kiteboarding rented from the guys down the beach and had a great time! All in all we really loved the beach, the water toys and did I mention the bar :) Internet: the cards are only 1.5 CUC and purchased at the lobby desk. It worked just fine for my husband to catch up on a few quick work emails and to check things at home. Town: just a few walkable blocks away. Shopped for trinkets and enjoyed the Beatles bar one night.
    Round Indicators
    DanielNieves426 Bronx, New York. 04/20/2017 Family

    “Don't bother!”

    Roaches in the room. Broken doors. Missing locks. Missing shower door. AC not working. What a dump! We hated that we even gave this hotel a chance. The hotel made us want to leave Cuba altogether. Everything about this hotel is bad. There were so many people complaining.

    BarceloSmAb, Director General at Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort, responded to this review
     Dear DanielNieves426, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor. We accept all feedback either good or constructive in a positive manner!. I do apologise that you left disappointed with your stay. It is always worth reporting any concerns or problems during your stay so that they can be rectified at the time rather than you leaving unhappy and we have the opportunity to resolve any problems whilst you are here with us. I do hope that your experience has not put you off considering Barceló Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort for a return visit, hopefully we will be able to better cater for your needs and you will see the improvements we are making throughout the hotel. Kind Regards Juan Marqués General Manager diralojamiento@resortsolymar.gca.tur.cu

    Round Indicators
    sergechagnon51 Montreal, Quebec. 04/20/2017 Solo travel

    “respect”

    they don't respect her repetitive client and her representant no worry about you if you don't buy a tour the best area too find them is on the bar drinking a beer on a coffe cup like this nobody can't see that is a beer

    BarceloSmAb, Director General at Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort, responded to this review
     Dear sergechagnon51, Thank you for taking time to share your feedback with us. I was extremely disappointed to find out that your stay was marred by questions about "the representant" and would like to assure you that this is not indicative of our usual standards. I would highly appreciate if you could contact me directly on diralojamiento@resortsolymar.gca.tur.cu with details of your stay, so that I could address your feedback. I sincerely hope to hear back from you and for you to stay with us again next year. Yours sincerely, Juan Marqués General Manager

    Round Indicators
    April F 04/20/2017 Friends getaway

    “Nice resort ”

    Nice resort no swim up bar but I was ok with that. I lid in the sun the whole time :) staff was friendly and resort was clean. Maids always cleaning the bathroom and the lobby and the main walkways. Gardeners always doing something. Pool entertainment was nice during the day. Night entertainment was nice but we never knew what was happening and where :( maybe my fault I'm not sure. We had no hot water the first two days. Apparently we were complaining to the wrong department :/ we upgraded to the bungalows. Smelled like mildew. No bugs :) the resort had a small flee market set up in the hall lobby. Which was nice. And three other stores. George was a bar tender at the main pool at Barcelo he was nice. The girls at the reception desk were friendly.

    BarceloSmAb, Director General at Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort, responded to this review
     Dear April F, Thank you for your review, we are very grateful and all of your comments have been passed onto the appropriate team. I am sorry to hear your visit to us was a little disappointing. All feedback is valuable and I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for all your comments and feedback, something we encourage our guests and visitors alike to do more of so that we know how and where to improve. I hope we can look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Warm regards, Juan Marqués General Manager

    Round Indicators
    Teejay N New York City, New York. 04/19/2017 Friends getaway

    “Antiquated ”

    We arrived on 4/11/17. We wereplaced in a double bed, ocean view, balcony room. There were cockroachs & crumbs in the room, the balcony door was extremely hard to open & the ac was not working. Upon complaining, we were moved in another room with only 1 king bed. The balcony didn't have a handle to open/close door. Most importantly. Lata at night, we noticed that the tub was missing 1 of the two sliding doors. Their bathtub is 24" high. I'm 5'.3" & have a left drop foot. The tub is not flat. I was petrified of falling. I took my shower, the bathroom was full of water. The following day I complained about my safety with the shower & requested a handicap room rather than a regular room as was promised to us the night before. This room was dirty, air condition did not work, the bathroom was dirty. A television panel on the wall revealed that the original tv was removed. Another tv placed on the dresser did not work. Our ears went on deaf ears. It was a nightmare.

    BarceloSmAb, Director General at Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort, responded to this review
     Dear Teejay N, Thank you for your review and I am so sorry on this occasion we did not live up to your expectations in our Resort. I would have welcomed the opportunity to meet with you during your stay to discuss your comments and hopefully of reached a satisfactory solution but I was unaware of your concerns. I will of course discuss your comments with the Reception Manager and the Housekeeper / Supervisors. We are sorry to read about the issue you had with the room, we will be getting our maintenance team to take another look as soon as possible. We would also like to point out that we are aware that some of our rooms are starting to show some signs of age and for this reason we are currently in the process of gradually refurbishing our rooms. Even, we are currently undergoing a major refurbishment through out the building which will be completed over the next 3 months. I hope your experience does not deter you from visiting us again in the future. I hope we can look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Warm regards, Juan Marqués General Manager diralojamiento@resortsolymar.gca.tur.cu

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • april 21 2017
    • Seattle, Washington
    • Family

    smrbrz

    “Nice stay, better than expected!”


    Being a tripadvisor regular, I poured through all the reviews before choosing a hotel in Varadero. I wanted to be on a nice beach, a good pool and walking distance to town. I read all the good and bad and knew to not take all the reviews with a grain of salt. We (myself, husband and 13 yr old daughter) are not an All Inclusive type of travelers( this was our first time) and typically prefer smaller boutique type of hotels. I found a pretty good deal on a bungalow suite and liked the fact of being closer to the water (we love the beach) without being way up in the hotel. I set pretty low expectations and was pleasantly surprised by the resort, rooms and the food. It is a new experience for us traveling to Cuba and yes, things are just a little different. Room: We ended up with a very nice Bungalow suite about as close to the water as you can get. Yes, the units are older but quite large and lots of space for 3. 2 bathrooms was deluxe! I hesitate to point out a few oddities without sounding like a persnickety "American" traveler but simply providing my opinion on a few things I found "different". There is somewhat of a kitchenette in the unit but it lacks any usefulness as it is just a sink, a cupboard and countertop. There was a small fridge but it was located upstairs in the bedroom(?). It was really nice to have the fridge restocked daily with water, beer and soda! The beds were a little hard for my liking, but ok for 2. Bathrooms were good sized and had a decent shower. OK, what is up with Cuba and towels in general? The bath towels were on the very small side, they are hand towels. We all had to laugh at my tall husband trying to cover himself with one after showering. The beach towels were nice and good sized but again you would they are very well guarded. Also, there aren't any washcloths in Cuba it seems (good idea to bring a few). Great A/C in the unit and hot water was plentiful. Would have loved a coffee pot :) Resort: Yes, the resort could definitely use some remodeling and TLC. Its a product of the 90's for sure with its pink and green decor. It definitely was not what I typically see at Mexican resorts (of the same age) where things are meticulously maintained but being a first timer in Cuba and reading the reviews, it was what I had expected it to be. The pool are was nice and we enjoyed the pool bar. Cleaning Staff: Special mention of our cleaning gal "Aliuska". She was so nice and friendly and I really enjoyed talking to her. With my limited spanish and her better english we were able to have a conversation. I really enjoyed talking with her and wished I could have had more to learn more about her life. She did a fantastic job cleaning our place. Another mentions for the nice staff at the hotel. One of the managers Miguel Angel walked by our place a few times and asked how our stay was. He was so friendly and welcoming. We had been upgraded to the bungalow suite to our surprise. Food: Ok again having never been to an AI the food was way better than what I thought it would be. Im not sure what else people expect of a buffet open for many hours. There was plenty to choose from. Yes, it was a little odd that the food wasn't warmer but overall we were quite content. We did end up making reservations for the Mexican restaurant an the Don Quixote restaurant which we found quite nice and enjoyable. We liked the feel of the Caribe outdoor buffet much more than being inside. * At check in I was told about the reservations at the restaurant but no mention of how to go about these reservations. I had even asked if I make them at each restaurant and the gal said yes. We called after we checked in and were told that you make them at the reservations desk in the lobby between 9-4. I would have dont that when we arrived if I had known. Again, this could be just a mistake as a rookie all inclusive guest :) Drinks: Ok, this was my favorite part. Sure, I would love another pina colada or mojito! We loved spending time at the lobby bar, pool bar and especially the beach bar. It was fun for my daughter to go order the "virgin" pina colada whenever she wanted. * Another rookie move, now I know why people always have those big "bubba mugs"! They are a must at all inclusive places if you dont want to carry around those little 8-10 plastic cups they have. I ended up buying 2 of those big bamboo havana club mugs they sell in the hallway. They didn't stay cold but did the trick and gave us a little souvenir to bring home. unfortunately my sunglasses disappeared (that I have had for years) while buying these from the unhappy vendors that work in the hallway :( Beach: The absolute best part of the resort simply by nature! What a beautiful stretch of beach and the water was so clear and turquoise! We spent all of our time here. A couple things I just dont get, the trash and cigarette butts! Just something Im not used to and it didn't really bother us, just couldn't quite understand it. The hotel provides garbage cans everywhere yet there still tons of cigarette butts everywhere. It seems (from what I have read) other hotels rake these up but not at this location. The palapa umbrellas could use a little work too. My husband is a "kiter" and went kiteboarding rented from the guys down the beach and had a great time! All in all we really loved the beach, the water toys and did I mention the bar :) Internet: the cards are only 1.5 CUC and purchased at the lobby desk. It worked just fine for my husband to catch up on a few quick work emails and to check things at home. Town: just a few walkable blocks away. Shopped for trinkets and enjoyed the Beatles bar one night.


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • april 20 2017
    • Bronx, New York
    • Family

    DanielNieves426

    “Don't bother!”


    Roaches in the room. Broken doors. Missing locks. Missing shower door. AC not working. What a dump! We hated that we even gave this hotel a chance. The hotel made us want to leave Cuba altogether. Everything about this hotel is bad. There were so many people complaining.


    BarceloSmAb, Director General at Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort, responded to this review
    Dear DanielNieves426, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor. We accept all feedback either good or constructive in a positive manner!. I do apologise that you left disappointed with your stay. It is always worth reporting any concerns or problems during your stay so that they can be rectified at the time rather than you leaving unhappy and we have the opportunity to resolve any problems whilst you are here with us. I do hope that your experience has not put you off considering Barceló Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort for a return visit, hopefully we will be able to better cater for your needs and you will see the improvements we are making throughout the hotel. Kind Regards Juan Marqués General Manager diralojamiento@resortsolymar.gca.tur.cu

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • april 20 2017
    • Montreal, Quebec
    • Solo travel

    sergechagnon51

    “respect”


    they don't respect her repetitive client and her representant no worry about you if you don't buy a tour the best area too find them is on the bar drinking a beer on a coffe cup like this nobody can't see that is a beer


    BarceloSmAb, Director General at Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort, responded to this review
    Dear sergechagnon51, Thank you for taking time to share your feedback with us. I was extremely disappointed to find out that your stay was marred by questions about "the representant" and would like to assure you that this is not indicative of our usual standards. I would highly appreciate if you could contact me directly on diralojamiento@resortsolymar.gca.tur.cu with details of your stay, so that I could address your feedback. I sincerely hope to hear back from you and for you to stay with us again next year. Yours sincerely, Juan Marqués General Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • april 20 2017
    • Friends getaway

    April F

    “Nice resort ”


    Nice resort no swim up bar but I was ok with that. I lid in the sun the whole time :) staff was friendly and resort was clean. Maids always cleaning the bathroom and the lobby and the main walkways. Gardeners always doing something. Pool entertainment was nice during the day. Night entertainment was nice but we never knew what was happening and where :( maybe my fault I'm not sure. We had no hot water the first two days. Apparently we were complaining to the wrong department :/ we upgraded to the bungalows. Smelled like mildew. No bugs :) the resort had a small flee market set up in the hall lobby. Which was nice. And three other stores. George was a bar tender at the main pool at Barcelo he was nice. The girls at the reception desk were friendly.


    BarceloSmAb, Director General at Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort, responded to this review
    Dear April F, Thank you for your review, we are very grateful and all of your comments have been passed onto the appropriate team. I am sorry to hear your visit to us was a little disappointing. All feedback is valuable and I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for all your comments and feedback, something we encourage our guests and visitors alike to do more of so that we know how and where to improve. I hope we can look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Warm regards, Juan Marqués General Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • april 19 2017
    • New York City, New York
    • Friends getaway

    Teejay N

    “Antiquated ”


    We arrived on 4/11/17. We wereplaced in a double bed, ocean view, balcony room. There were cockroachs & crumbs in the room, the balcony door was extremely hard to open & the ac was not working. Upon complaining, we were moved in another room with only 1 king bed. The balcony didn't have a handle to open/close door. Most importantly. Lata at night, we noticed that the tub was missing 1 of the two sliding doors. Their bathtub is 24" high. I'm 5'.3" & have a left drop foot. The tub is not flat. I was petrified of falling. I took my shower, the bathroom was full of water. The following day I complained about my safety with the shower & requested a handicap room rather than a regular room as was promised to us the night before. This room was dirty, air condition did not work, the bathroom was dirty. A television panel on the wall revealed that the original tv was removed. Another tv placed on the dresser did not work. Our ears went on deaf ears. It was a nightmare.


    BarceloSmAb, Director General at Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort, responded to this review
    Dear Teejay N, Thank you for your review and I am so sorry on this occasion we did not live up to your expectations in our Resort. I would have welcomed the opportunity to meet with you during your stay to discuss your comments and hopefully of reached a satisfactory solution but I was unaware of your concerns. I will of course discuss your comments with the Reception Manager and the Housekeeper / Supervisors. We are sorry to read about the issue you had with the room, we will be getting our maintenance team to take another look as soon as possible. We would also like to point out that we are aware that some of our rooms are starting to show some signs of age and for this reason we are currently in the process of gradually refurbishing our rooms. Even, we are currently undergoing a major refurbishment through out the building which will be completed over the next 3 months. I hope your experience does not deter you from visiting us again in the future. I hope we can look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Warm regards, Juan Marqués General Manager diralojamiento@resortsolymar.gca.tur.cu

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

    to

      Incorrect dates
      Please enter valid dates

    NIGHTS

    (Optional dates)

    A discount or promotional code is a combination of letters and/or numbers that gives a discount on the normal rate. You can receive discount codes through special campaigns by being a my Barceló member, following us on social media or booking through Barcelo.com. 

    If you have a discount code, enter it when booking and you will receive a discount on your booking. The discount does not apply to the cost of extras. The maximum amount of the accumulated discount will be 25% off the rate (except for last rooms); it is possible to combine a discount code and special discounts. Only one discount code per booking is permitted.

    Loading rates...
    The hotel does not have any rates allocated to it

    Best online price guaranteed

    If you find a better rate, we will top it.

    We will return the difference and we will also apply an additional 10% discount to the cost of the final booking. For more information...