Important notice for guests

Bookings made at hotels in Cuba can be paid for using Visa and MasterCard, as long as the cards are not from American banks.

Payments with bank cards will be subject to a charge of 3% of the total cost of the booking (applies to all Cuba). American Express (AMEX) cards are not accepted.

Barceló Hotel Gastronomy Arenas Blancas

Barceló Arenas Blancas

Texto: 44838 Modern and exclusive hotel located in Varadero town centre, which is ideal for rest and relaxation. CR Las Américas, km.3 -Varadero, Cuba
+53 45 6144 99 +53 45 611 086
Barceló Arenas Blancas Texto: 44838 3.5 out of 5 based on 6453 ratings. 6453 user reviews.
Barceló Arenas Blancas reviewed by Brenzy B on . Barcelo Solymar - Resort is Fantastic We have been to Cuba 6 times. We love the people at this resort – the most valuable asset of any company is its people. Onay -at the restaurant reservation desk is much; much more to everyone he... Rating: 5
map

Barceló Arenas Blancas

CR Las Américas, km.3 -Varadero, Cuba  


Places of Interest

28 km Varadero Airport

4 km Varadero Golf Course

1 km Varadero

Premios y Reconocimientos Prizes and awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Barceló Arenas Blancas

3.5/5 Round Indicators
| 6552 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


GUESTS’ SCORE

Excellent

22% Complete

1497

Very good

34% Complete

2291

Average

20% Complete

1314

Poor

12% Complete

791

Very poor

10% Complete

659

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    redj_et_nick Montreal, Quebec. 02/20/2017 Couples

    “Almost paradise...”

    My husband and I stayed at the Barcelo Arenas Blancas for a week (10 to 17) and are absolutely charmed by the grounds. Situated near the city of Varadero, everything is close. Only regret: buffet terrible. Restaurants à la carte are good, and some even great. Would recommend.

    BarceloSmAb, Director General at Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort, responded to this review
     Dear redj_et_nick, Thank you for share your positive opinion about our Hotel whit the users of the Tripadvisor community. It is a great pleasure to read that you had a wonderful stay with us "almost paradise". All of the staff do the utmost to make our guests’ stay a memorable one. I regret that you found the buffet terrible. While we try very hard we are unfortunately not able to meet everybody’s taste.Our target groups are guests seeking a relaxing and quiet holidays paired with bespoke service and the highest quality of culinary delights. It is good to know that you enjoyed the offers of our restaurants "A la carta". Our Food & Beverage Manager and our Executive Chef have received your feedback and are working on improvements to guarantee our guest the best quality possible. We hope to welcome you back to also convince you from our buffet - service and offer. We look forward to serving you in the near future. Warm regards, Juan Marqués General Manager

    Round Indicators
    Tamara S 02/19/2017 Family

    “Large resort close to the main strip”

    My husband and I have been going here during Christmas and New Years with older (+20) and younger (Under 5) children for the past 5 years and we love it. It's close to the main road with many dining options and bar plus many souvenir shops. We stay in the bungalows because they are closer to the beach. The rooms could use a little tlc but who stays in their room when you have a beautiful beach with crystal clear water right there. Food is average for Cuba, I recommend the fresh pasta where you can choose you toppings and sauces. You should eat out a least twice as the restaurants are cheap with better food. Don't buy souvenirs at the resorts as they are over priced. They have a la cart restaurants on the resort but they are nothing special. The wifi is weak and only available in the lobby, when they have cards. The entertainment is great with exercises in the morning and vollyball, bingo by the pool in the afternoon to win a bottle of rum and shows nightly. If you stay at Arenas blancas you have access to everything at Solymar so check to see which one is cheaper as it doesn't really make a difference.

    BarceloSmAb, Director General at Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort, responded to this review
     Dear Tamara S, Thank you for sharing your experience with Tripadvisor readers. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Barceló Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort We appreciate your comment about our rooms, staff, food and we work daily to provide a high quality service that distinguishes us. We appreciate your recommendation and we welcome you back on your next trip to Varadero / Cuba. It will be a pleasure to receive you. Best regards, Juan Marqués General Manager

    Round Indicators
    Dawn W Fredericton, Canada. 02/19/2017 Family

    “So disappointed”

    We stayed on the Solymar side from Oct 22-29. This was my fifth stay at the resort, but hadn't been here since 2007. The standards have certainly dropped. The hotel is frequented by 20 year olds who want to party. We were kept up all night with poolside loud music, sat on a sofa covered in vomit in the lobby in the middle of the day, and had to step over a pile of feces just outside the elevator on the third floor of the hotel. The public washrooms are not maintained and are extremely dirty. I'm sure the hotel manager will respond with "you should have come to me with your issues"...and we did, to no avail. We went to guest services three times regarding the following issues: - no hot water in our room the entire week, and we were not offered another room even when we requested to move. - faulty AC in room blew warm air - drunken guests blasting music from Bluetooth speakers until the wee hours of the morning The lady we spoke to in guest services kept telling us the issues would be fixed, and that she made notes on our file, etc. We went back the next morning and another lady tells us there is nothing on our file. This hotel is a student flophouse. Not for families with young children. Save yourself the hassle and avoid this hotel.

    BarceloSmAb, Director General at Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort, responded to this review
     Dear Dawn W, Many thanks for sharing your experience with us. We regret to read that your fifth impression of the resort has not lived up to your expectations. First of all, we would like to apologize for that experience and that you did not feel adequately attended by our management. Since our main priority is to make our customers feel comfortable we regret your dissapointment with the room you stayed in. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience we caused you with the work being carried out for a few days in our establishment which is already finished. As we informed, these works were mainly due to a malfunction of hot water in a very specific area of the establishment. Sorry for all inconveniences and the misunderstanding about our guest service team reaction. We try to be very close to our guests and be able to help and answer any questions. We take very serious respect for our customers. We deeply regret the inconveniences caused by this issue. We will appreciate if you may reconsider to give us another opportunity to welcome you again, in order to provide you with our best service and recover your trust in our Resort. We remain at your disposal for any further assistance you may need. My e-mail: diralojamiento@resortsolymar.gca.tur.cu. Kind regards. Juan Marqués General Manager

    Round Indicators
    anne j Ottawa, Canada. 02/19/2017 Friends getaway

    “For smokers”

    Hotel is not very clean,we had a lot of ants in are room. Food is average and not a lot of choice limited bars and not very good for drinks. No screen on patio doors and there are a lot mosquitoes so bring bug repellent. Beach is very nice if you love to take long walks its beautiful. My mother was at Solymar 2 weeks before me and not any better.

    BarceloSmAb, Director General at Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort, responded to this review
     Dear anne j, Thank you very much for sharing your comments in Tripadvisor Community. I’m offering my sincerest apologies for all the inconvenience caused during you stay. We are sorry about the smoking experience you comment, until now we haven’t received any comment of customers smoking in not allowed areas, but know that we will stay abreast of that and take actions. As for cleaning, errors and omissions excepted, we received no comments despite being in constant contact with you. The cleanliness of the rooms and the hotel in general is one of our major standards. I can assure you that we are having a rigorous program of spraying for insects, to mitigate these, which sometimes are stimulated by our warm and humid climate. About ants in your room, during the check-in - you receive information about not bringing food to the room. It is important complies these recommendations, to avoid situations such as those described. Anyway, we have not registered any complaint in our Guest Service, which would have helped to make you enjoy a better stay among us. About the food and drinks, it is a shame we didn't fulfilled your expectations, even though Barceló Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort has 5 specialized Restaurants, 2 International Buffets and several Coffee Shops, to provide our cuisine with the major diversity. We feel the enormous need to show you that in our hotel thousands of clients enjoy of magnificent experiences in our facilities, and we want your return to be one of them. In spite of the above, I would like you to visit us again in a near future. We truly regret your review and hope this not deter you from choosing Barceló Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort one more time, for your next vacations. We remain at your disposal. Cordially, Juan Marqués General Manager

    Round Indicators
    NickMelanson Moncton, Canada. 02/19/2017 Couples

    “Nice centrally located resort”

    We stayed at this resort for one week from February 10th to February 17th. The hotel is located walking distance to local bars, restaurants and shopping. It's also on one of the best strip of beach in Varadero. The resort grounds and pools were beautiful. The beach is wide with white sand, turquoise water and lots of palapas and palm trees for shade. Room: We stayed in the Arenas Blancas section but also had access to all the amenities at the Solymar hotel. Initially we were given a room with two twin beds facing the street and noisy rooftop air-conditioners. The following day the front desk arranged to move us to a new room with a king bed and gorgeous pool view. The rooms were clean and appeared to be recently renovated. At one point we noticed that water was leaking from the ceiling next to the air-conditioner. We notified the front desk and no more than 5 minutes later a repair man showed up to fix it. Food: This resort offers 2 buffets and several a la carte restaurants. We tried the Mexican, oriental and Italian restaurants and all of them were good. The buffets however were very disappointing. We mostly ate at the Arenas Blancas buffet but when we tried the Solymar buffet we found it was equally bad. This was our 4th trip to Varadero so we didn't have high expectations but the food here was definitely the worst we've had in Cuba. Everything in the buffet was very bland and most dishes that should have been warm were cold. They really need to find a way to increase the food temperatures in the buffet. Towards the end of our vacation we craved a hot meal so we decided to go off resort. There are great local restaurants in Varadero many which are walking distance from the resort. Overall we enjoyed this resort and would likely stay here again. The resort was beautiful and staff was friendly and eager to please.

    BarceloSmAb, Director General at Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort, responded to this review
     Dear NickMelanson, Thank you all so much for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel with other travellers! We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay - "Overall we enjoyed this resort and would likely stay here again. The resort was beautiful and staff was friendly and eager to please" We are also very pleased to hear that the service offered by our staff met with your expectations. Be assured that we will pass your comments to them as they will be very happy to know that there effort is reflected in our guests ‘enjoyment. Allow us to apologize for not being able to meet your expectations with the buffets. Our Food & Beverage Manager and our Executive Chef have received your feedback and are working on improvements to guarantee our guest the best quality possible. We hope to see you again in the near future. Cordially, Juan Marqués General Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 20 2017
    • Montreal, Quebec
    • Couples

    redj_et_nick

    “Almost paradise...”


    My husband and I stayed at the Barcelo Arenas Blancas for a week (10 to 17) and are absolutely charmed by the grounds. Situated near the city of Varadero, everything is close. Only regret: buffet terrible. Restaurants à la carte are good, and some even great. Would recommend.


    BarceloSmAb, Director General at Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort, responded to this review
    Dear redj_et_nick, Thank you for share your positive opinion about our Hotel whit the users of the Tripadvisor community. It is a great pleasure to read that you had a wonderful stay with us "almost paradise". All of the staff do the utmost to make our guests’ stay a memorable one. I regret that you found the buffet terrible. While we try very hard we are unfortunately not able to meet everybody’s taste.Our target groups are guests seeking a relaxing and quiet holidays paired with bespoke service and the highest quality of culinary delights. It is good to know that you enjoyed the offers of our restaurants "A la carta". Our Food & Beverage Manager and our Executive Chef have received your feedback and are working on improvements to guarantee our guest the best quality possible. We hope to welcome you back to also convince you from our buffet - service and offer. We look forward to serving you in the near future. Warm regards, Juan Marqués General Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 19 2017
    • Family

    Tamara S

    “Large resort close to the main strip”


    My husband and I have been going here during Christmas and New Years with older (+20) and younger (Under 5) children for the past 5 years and we love it. It's close to the main road with many dining options and bar plus many souvenir shops. We stay in the bungalows because they are closer to the beach. The rooms could use a little tlc but who stays in their room when you have a beautiful beach with crystal clear water right there. Food is average for Cuba, I recommend the fresh pasta where you can choose you toppings and sauces. You should eat out a least twice as the restaurants are cheap with better food. Don't buy souvenirs at the resorts as they are over priced. They have a la cart restaurants on the resort but they are nothing special. The wifi is weak and only available in the lobby, when they have cards. The entertainment is great with exercises in the morning and vollyball, bingo by the pool in the afternoon to win a bottle of rum and shows nightly. If you stay at Arenas blancas you have access to everything at Solymar so check to see which one is cheaper as it doesn't really make a difference.


    BarceloSmAb, Director General at Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort, responded to this review
    Dear Tamara S, Thank you for sharing your experience with Tripadvisor readers. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Barceló Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort We appreciate your comment about our rooms, staff, food and we work daily to provide a high quality service that distinguishes us. We appreciate your recommendation and we welcome you back on your next trip to Varadero / Cuba. It will be a pleasure to receive you. Best regards, Juan Marqués General Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 19 2017
    • Fredericton, Canada
    • Family

    Dawn W

    “So disappointed”


    We stayed on the Solymar side from Oct 22-29. This was my fifth stay at the resort, but hadn't been here since 2007. The standards have certainly dropped. The hotel is frequented by 20 year olds who want to party. We were kept up all night with poolside loud music, sat on a sofa covered in vomit in the lobby in the middle of the day, and had to step over a pile of feces just outside the elevator on the third floor of the hotel. The public washrooms are not maintained and are extremely dirty. I'm sure the hotel manager will respond with "you should have come to me with your issues"...and we did, to no avail. We went to guest services three times regarding the following issues: - no hot water in our room the entire week, and we were not offered another room even when we requested to move. - faulty AC in room blew warm air - drunken guests blasting music from Bluetooth speakers until the wee hours of the morning The lady we spoke to in guest services kept telling us the issues would be fixed, and that she made notes on our file, etc. We went back the next morning and another lady tells us there is nothing on our file. This hotel is a student flophouse. Not for families with young children. Save yourself the hassle and avoid this hotel.


    BarceloSmAb, Director General at Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort, responded to this review
    Dear Dawn W, Many thanks for sharing your experience with us. We regret to read that your fifth impression of the resort has not lived up to your expectations. First of all, we would like to apologize for that experience and that you did not feel adequately attended by our management. Since our main priority is to make our customers feel comfortable we regret your dissapointment with the room you stayed in. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience we caused you with the work being carried out for a few days in our establishment which is already finished. As we informed, these works were mainly due to a malfunction of hot water in a very specific area of the establishment. Sorry for all inconveniences and the misunderstanding about our guest service team reaction. We try to be very close to our guests and be able to help and answer any questions. We take very serious respect for our customers. We deeply regret the inconveniences caused by this issue. We will appreciate if you may reconsider to give us another opportunity to welcome you again, in order to provide you with our best service and recover your trust in our Resort. We remain at your disposal for any further assistance you may need. My e-mail: diralojamiento@resortsolymar.gca.tur.cu. Kind regards. Juan Marqués General Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 19 2017
    • Ottawa, Canada
    • Friends getaway

    anne j

    “For smokers”


    Hotel is not very clean,we had a lot of ants in are room. Food is average and not a lot of choice limited bars and not very good for drinks. No screen on patio doors and there are a lot mosquitoes so bring bug repellent. Beach is very nice if you love to take long walks its beautiful. My mother was at Solymar 2 weeks before me and not any better.


    BarceloSmAb, Director General at Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort, responded to this review
    Dear anne j, Thank you very much for sharing your comments in Tripadvisor Community. I’m offering my sincerest apologies for all the inconvenience caused during you stay. We are sorry about the smoking experience you comment, until now we haven’t received any comment of customers smoking in not allowed areas, but know that we will stay abreast of that and take actions. As for cleaning, errors and omissions excepted, we received no comments despite being in constant contact with you. The cleanliness of the rooms and the hotel in general is one of our major standards. I can assure you that we are having a rigorous program of spraying for insects, to mitigate these, which sometimes are stimulated by our warm and humid climate. About ants in your room, during the check-in - you receive information about not bringing food to the room. It is important complies these recommendations, to avoid situations such as those described. Anyway, we have not registered any complaint in our Guest Service, which would have helped to make you enjoy a better stay among us. About the food and drinks, it is a shame we didn't fulfilled your expectations, even though Barceló Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort has 5 specialized Restaurants, 2 International Buffets and several Coffee Shops, to provide our cuisine with the major diversity. We feel the enormous need to show you that in our hotel thousands of clients enjoy of magnificent experiences in our facilities, and we want your return to be one of them. In spite of the above, I would like you to visit us again in a near future. We truly regret your review and hope this not deter you from choosing Barceló Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort one more time, for your next vacations. We remain at your disposal. Cordially, Juan Marqués General Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 19 2017
    • Moncton, Canada
    • Couples

    NickMelanson

    “Nice centrally located resort”


    We stayed at this resort for one week from February 10th to February 17th. The hotel is located walking distance to local bars, restaurants and shopping. It's also on one of the best strip of beach in Varadero. The resort grounds and pools were beautiful. The beach is wide with white sand, turquoise water and lots of palapas and palm trees for shade. Room: We stayed in the Arenas Blancas section but also had access to all the amenities at the Solymar hotel. Initially we were given a room with two twin beds facing the street and noisy rooftop air-conditioners. The following day the front desk arranged to move us to a new room with a king bed and gorgeous pool view. The rooms were clean and appeared to be recently renovated. At one point we noticed that water was leaking from the ceiling next to the air-conditioner. We notified the front desk and no more than 5 minutes later a repair man showed up to fix it. Food: This resort offers 2 buffets and several a la carte restaurants. We tried the Mexican, oriental and Italian restaurants and all of them were good. The buffets however were very disappointing. We mostly ate at the Arenas Blancas buffet but when we tried the Solymar buffet we found it was equally bad. This was our 4th trip to Varadero so we didn't have high expectations but the food here was definitely the worst we've had in Cuba. Everything in the buffet was very bland and most dishes that should have been warm were cold. They really need to find a way to increase the food temperatures in the buffet. Towards the end of our vacation we craved a hot meal so we decided to go off resort. There are great local restaurants in Varadero many which are walking distance from the resort. Overall we enjoyed this resort and would likely stay here again. The resort was beautiful and staff was friendly and eager to please.


    BarceloSmAb, Director General at Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort, responded to this review
    Dear NickMelanson, Thank you all so much for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel with other travellers! We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay - "Overall we enjoyed this resort and would likely stay here again. The resort was beautiful and staff was friendly and eager to please" We are also very pleased to hear that the service offered by our staff met with your expectations. Be assured that we will pass your comments to them as they will be very happy to know that there effort is reflected in our guests ‘enjoyment. Allow us to apologize for not being able to meet your expectations with the buffets. Our Food & Beverage Manager and our Executive Chef have received your feedback and are working on improvements to guarantee our guest the best quality possible. We hope to see you again in the near future. Cordially, Juan Marqués General Manager

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

    to

      Incorrect dates
      Please enter valid dates

    NIGHTS

    (Optional dates)

    A discount or promotional code is a combination of letters and/or numbers that gives a discount on the normal rate. You can receive discount codes through special campaigns by being a my Barceló member, following us on social media or booking through Barcelo.com. 

    If you have a discount code, enter it when booking and you will receive a discount on your booking. The discount does not apply to the cost of extras. The maximum amount of the accumulated discount will be 25% off the rate (except for last rooms); it is possible to combine a discount code and special discounts. Only one discount code per booking is permitted.

    Loading rates...
    The hotel does not have any rates allocated to it

    Best online price guaranteed

    If you find a better rate, we will top it.

    We will return the difference and we will also apply an additional 10% discount to the cost of the final booking. For more information...