Important notice for guests

Bookings made at hotels in Cuba can be paid for using Visa and MasterCard, as long as the cards are not from American banks.

Payments with bank cards will be subject to a charge of 3% of the total cost of the booking (applies to all Cuba). American Express (AMEX) cards are not accepted.

Barceló Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort Hotel Pool Views

Barceló Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort

Texto: 44944 Cuba’s charm and essence is brimming at this unrivalled resort on Varadero Beach. Carretera Las Américas, Km. 3 | Varadero
+53 45 614499 +53 45 611086
Barceló Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort Texto: 44944 3.5 out of 5 based on 6559 ratings. 6559 user reviews.
Barceló Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort reviewed by JamesMumford on . Great Experience overall Food was good. I heard that the biggest complaint in Cuba was that the food was terrible. Barceló had great food in my opinion. I stuck to more of what I know, the chicken and pork from the fresh... Rating: 4
map

Barceló Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort

Carretera Las Américas, Km. 3   Varadero  


Places of Interest

28 km Varadero Airport

4 km Varadero Golf Course

1 km Varadero

Premios y Reconocimientos Prizes and awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Barceló Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort

3.5/5 Round Indicators
| 6568 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


GUESTS’ SCORE

Excellent

22% Complete

1498

Very good

34% Complete

2297

Average

20% Complete

1316

Poor

12% Complete

794

Very poor

10% Complete

663

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    JamesMumford Toronto, Canada. 02/22/2017 Friends getaway

    “Great Experience overall”

    Food was good. I heard that the biggest complaint in Cuba was that the food was terrible. Barceló had great food in my opinion. I stuck to more of what I know, the chicken and pork from the fresh grill, rice, and tried different seafoods. The a la carte's were good, with lots of options. Beach was amazing. Pool was great. My complaints would go to check in. We were supposed to check in at 4pm (after getting to the hotel around noon), which was ok, that's the typical check in time. First we were told we would be in the same building as a couple of friends travelling with us, but when we went back we were told not anymore we had been moved. Once moved (its now 4pm) they told us our room wasn't ready, but should be in about 15-20 minutes tops. Went back after about 30 minutes, was ignored by the staff because our room still wasn't ready, once I talked to someone they ended up saying they were cleaning it now, so here's a key and it should be done when you get there. So we walked to our room, about 5 minutes from the front desk, and when we got there, there was still garbage on the floor, beds not changed, towels in the tub, just a dirty room. So we went back to the front desk, it was now approx. 5 pm, and told them. There was no hurry to try and get us into a room nothing like that. When our room was finally cleaned it was 6pm, 2 hrs after check in. No offers were made to help the situation, we finally received a bottle of rum cream on our last day at check out, (this was more so to do with our safe locking us out and having to wait an hr and a half for someone to fix it). It does sound like a large complaint, which it is, and I would have given the resort excellent had it not been for these mistakes.

    BarceloSmAb, Director General at Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort, responded to this review
     Dear JamesMumford, Thank you for sharing your experience with Tripadvisor readers. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Barceló Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort We appreciate your comment about our food and we work daily to provide a high quality service that distinguishes us. We are very sorry to know about the experiences you describe in your check-in, anyway we analyze your comments and you can be sure we are going to take the appropriate measures with the staff involved. We appreciate your recommendation and we welcome you back on your next trip to Varadero / Cuba. It will be a pleasure to receive you. Best regards, Juan Marqués General Manager

    Round Indicators
    Emelyn D Edmonton. 02/21/2017 Friends getaway

    “Lots of fun and lots to do”

    My friend and I stayed here for a week and had an excellent time. First the cons: We were booked at the Arenas resort initially, but when we arrived at 1:30 am, found ourselves in a handicapped equipped room. There was a shower head over the toilet, a weird little set of plastic half shower walls, with another shower head set halfway up the wall. There was no vanity to place our toiletries etc. The room had three beds and no coffee maker. I once stayed at a nunnery that had more amenities. The next morning, we immediately requested another room and were fortunately moved to the Solymer resort next door. What's funny is we met another set of friends from Vancouver who got the other handicapped room at the Arenas. They also requested another room and got moved within the same resort. The thing is, those rooms are completely unsuitable for use - even for those in wheelchairs. People in wheelchairs have toiletries, use hairdryers and drink coffee. Those rooms are pretty bad. We paid for those nights. Another con was the noise. Lots of heavy drinking from the young set. Fighting (swearing, verbal altercations) was pretty common. Even though our room faced away from the pool, the noise from the bar area was fairly loud. We had two separate sets of duelling neighbours, one who "attempted" an overdose (we are trained in risk assessment and she wasn't actually at physical risk, just drunk and mad and took two extra pills - still unpleasant and potentially dangerous) and the other set fighting and falling asleep with their TV on so loud that several people complained. Still, I'm a city girl, I wasn't really bothered, but my rural friend found a few nights difficult to sleep. Third con, if you're a clean freak, you might find maid service a bit spotty. But we would just left a note and our maid would take care of things. No ATM (keep reading for more info) or wifi. Last con, my Kindle was stolen at the Arenas store. I don't want to say staff took it because a customer may have entered in the 5 minutes I discovered it missing and returned. Still, they weren't very helpful. I reported the loss, but of course never got it back. Oh, well. Poop happens. Now for the good. And there's lots of good. In general, the staff is friendly. The maid we had, Marcela was kind, attentive and did her best. The buffet staff were great. I don't remember their names, but if you go, walk all the way to the back - and the two gentlemen who work the breakfast and lunch shift are amazing. They work so hard to make you feel special. The older man was so kind, sweet and attentive that when I hugged him goodbye, I nearly cried. Speaking of food, the food at the Solymer is pretty good. Count on the fish and chicken. Yum! The buns are always fresh and soft. I never went hungry. Coffee is fabulous anywhere in the resort, but the coffee bar at Arenas is the best for pretty coffee. Grab one and sit outside to enjoy the cool morning air. Nothing better. The animation teams are amazing and get people dancing, playing games, involved in contests and all kinds of things. It's fun just to watch while you sit by the pool. The pools are all clean, cool and there's several to choose from. We never had a problem getting a lounge chair even though it got pretty full. Make sure you bring a drink cup to avoid running to the bar every 5 minutes. Cuban resorts use tiny plastic cups that personally, I can empty in two swallows! The beach is great. Pretty clean, lots of chairs. There is also a tiny shop between the two resorts that has the cutest things. I bought this great little Cuban espresso machine that I haven't stopped using since I got home. Not only that, but the lady went above and beyond for me there. She deserves lots of business. The Solymer had a great little Cuban band that played nightly right around dinner time. It was nice to sit and have a Brasilian coffee and listen. I highly recommend the Brasilian coffee, btw. Or it was a five minute walk to the Beatles bar for classic rock in Varaderos. Lots of people from the resort would go there. The Havana Club is just outside Arenas and so is a cigar store. Keep walking deeper down the street for shops and a mini market. The nearest ATM is on 54 street, which is across from the park (St Joseph, in English) where you will find amazing piña coladas and a barbecue place where they do grilled lobster. Just listen for the music and you'll find this out of the way place. Remember the ATM because the resort does NOT have one, just a little bank with spotty wifi that may or may not be able to let you pull cash out on your credit card. And if you like to shop, make sure to visit the flea market. 10 CUCs by cab to go. Or you can take the bus for 5 CUCs (keep your ticket and you can ride all day). I really enjoyed this resort. The cons were minor and the pluses were huge. It was a pretty place. We would go again. Personally, we liked Cayo Santa Maria better because it feels more Cuban, but when we return to Varaderos, we will definitely return to this resort.

    BarceloSmAb, Director General at Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort, responded to this review
     Dear Emelyn D, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at Barceló Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort. We were delighted to read that you felt that this Barceló has a helpful staff ("They work so hard to make you feel special"), our entertainment ("The animation teams are amazing") and the location. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay ("I really enjoyed this resort"). It truly was a pleasure to have you in house with us. Thank you very much. Our only achievement and triumph here at Barceló Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort is to fully satisfy our guest and make memorable experience. My team and I thank you once again for your great comments and I personally look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Varadero. Best regards, Juan Marqués General Manager

    Round Indicators
    Gerry S 02/21/2017 Family

    “AVOID AVOID AVOID”

    Our stay was February 2017. We had 15 people in our group and all us were more than disappointed with this hotel. We read some of the negative reviews and took them in stride knowing we are the type of people who can make the best of anything. Don't be fooled, there is NO making the best of this hotel. The standards of this Barceló do not reach the standards of other Barceló's world wide. The rooms were disgusting with dirty floors that did not get regular cleaning regardless of how many times we asked our maid. The towels are not replaced, you get 2 towels at the start and nothing after that. At one point, my towel was so dirty, I threw it in the tub to be replaced, the maid took it out, folded it up and placed it back on the rack. The bathroom door fell on one of my daughters (hinges were rusted), when we spoke to the front desk they replied "there is nothing we can do". My daughter was ill one night and threw up on the bed skirt, this did not get replaced until I stripped the bed. When the bed skirt was removed, the box springs looked they retrieved them from the dump, they were so dirty with large holes. The hinges were also coming away from the box spring which my husband had to remove the staples so we did not get cut by them as we walked by. The walls were covered with old drink stains. Then the cockroaches came out. The stairs and elevators to the main lobby are dirty and never swept or mopped. Dawn W is right when she mentions the public washrooms, they are a disgrace. They stink of raw sewage are extremely dirty and constantly have no toilet paper, this includes the pool bar. The pool area is poorly maintained with broken tiles everywhere including on the bottom of the pool. There are cigarette butts all over the pool deck as well as used straws and cups. The pool deck and main lobby is constantly sticky from all the spilt drinks. The grounds are not maintained. Then there is the food - 9 out of 15 of us either vomited or had bad diarrhea, subpar to say the least but we were expecting this. On our last day we asked our maid for a fresh bottle of water and she refused to give it to us as we were checked out that day. We were not scheduled to leave our resort until midnight and we asked for water at 10:00am, unbelievable. I could go on and on but I think you get the gist. Save yourself a lot of money on a bad vacation and do NOT book this hotel.

    BarceloSmAb, Director General at Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort, responded to this review
     Dear Gerry S, Thank you for sharing your holiday review in Barceló Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort with TripAdvisor and us. As we can read, we didn't accomplish with your expectations and we would like to apologize. It's hard for us, reading other reviews, that you had a bad holiday. But we recommend you for the next time to contact with our Public Relations Departament, to maybe, solve some issues. Please, receive my most sincere apologies for all the problems you say you had in your room. We will transmit your remark to the housekeeping department to take carefully check all the areas that you remark. We have to tell you that your comments about our staff surprise us, because our greatest asset is the customer satisfaction and our philosophy so as to make customers feel at home: friendliness, service, and above all, a pleasant smile. Our staff work with us for years and normally carries out their daily work with great dedication. However, we will work on some of the issues you reported, to ensure the deliverance of a good performance, because it's very important to our business and our success depends on it. We can confirm you, that during your stay, there weren't any more cases of sickness with our customers. We have a log book for such cases. When we are aware that a client has diarrhea or vomiting we try to help them in everything they need: preparation of a specific diet, drinks, etc... Even if we have to bring meals to the room, we do it. We have a specific diet for these cases. We are refurbishing our buildings and our bungalows to supply our customers with the best of comfort. Our bungalows are being reformed. To finish, we want to inform you that all our efforts are to accomplish with all the family's expectations to have a great time in our Resort, we especially work for the children, because if the children enjoy their parents do it too. Without any further ado, we hope that you may give us another opportunity so that you may return home satisfied these time, after an unforgettable holiday. We take this opportunity to send you kind regards. Juan Marqués General Manager

    Round Indicators
    michaelaS4251EM Val David, Quebec. 02/21/2017 Couples

    “The best ever!!”

    Arenas Blancas has been our favourite destination for the past seven years. The staff is unbelievably proeffsional and caring. We are treated like family and are welcomed back each year. The htoel and its amenities are perfect for us.

    BarceloSmAb, Director General at Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort, responded to this review
     Dear michaelaS4251EM, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort. We were very pleased to read that your stay was "The best ever" and found every member of our team to be ¨The staff is unbelievably proeffsional and caring¨. It truly was a pleasure to personally take care of you and your family. Thank you very much! My team and I thank you once again for your great comments and I personally look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Varadero. Best regards, Juan Marqués General Manager

    Round Indicators
    Emily C San Francisco, California. 02/21/2017 Friends getaway

    “Awful Food, Bad Service”

    Food was across-the-board terrible -- buffets and the a la carte Spanish restaurant we went to. Often the hot food was cold and just flavorless or too salty. Really there was no balance. The meats were tough. Even a simple sandwich from the cafe was disgusting somehow. The most I can say about any of the food (besides the ice cream) was that it was edible. As far as service goes, it was horrendous. Nothing was explained to us when we checked in -- where we could eat, how we could book our a la carte dinner, etc. When I asked for help any other time, it really depended on who was helping me. Some people at the front desk were completely unprofessional and unhelpful. Others were a little kinder but mostly offered about the same amount of assistance. The place was completely disorganized. I paid for late checkout and they insisted that I hadn't and we were locked out of our rooms. Eventually the woman arguing with me at the counter called her manager and realized she was wrong, but basically wasted half an hour of my time. More or less, 1/3 of the time I was there was dealing with the disorganization and incompetence of the staff. On top of all this, my friend hurt her knee badly the first night we got there and the staff were completely unhelpful. For one, they didn't have any bandages bigger than a small bandaid. Also, when we got locked out of our bungalow because of the situation with the late checkout, an employee refused to help her even though she was clearly injured and having trouble walking. Basically 90% of the people who work there hate their jobs and their lives and want you to know it. I'm not a high maintenance person and I don't expect rooms to be spotless or employees to be begging to serve you or even rooms to be cleaned every day, but when you need assistance -- and as Americans traveling in Cuba, you will need it -- the staff at Barcelo Solymar will only be a source of serious frustration. I would absolutely not recommend staying here. I will say that the beach was nice, but there are also lots of beautiful beaches in the world where you don't have to suffer through nearly non-existent service and terrible food.

    BarceloSmAb, Director General at Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort, responded to this review
     Dear Emily C, I am sorry to hear that your stay at the hotel did not meet your expectations. I have been reading and reading your review many times and every single time I read it, I feel so sorry that we did not manage to make your stay wonderful. Unfortunately, on your case I really cannot believe and understand that you are reviewing in such a negative way only the bad points. Well, your perspective of the points. I am so sorry to read your comment about the place is disorganized, the most important it’s that mostly of our guest that have decided to stay at our hotel are saying completely the opposite. Regarding all other aspects like our staff or even other points you are commenting I don’t really feel I can answer you, because I am pretty sure that you understand that this is a subjective well-being and you only wanted to do a bad review to us. As General Manager I am really proud of my staff and I can assure you they provide all their best to achieve guests satisfaction, and they will continue to do so. Allow me to tell that what happened in your room with the late check out was an isolated event. I may think perhaps there was a miscommunication for which I excuse us. We regret your comment about the food and the service. Everyday, we have 2 International Buffets (Solymar and Arenas Blancas). Additionally, 5 gastronomic restaurants 'A la Carta' were projected to be intimate and with reduced number of tables to offer a special menu and private ambience to our guests - we are really sorry that you could not enjoy it....in any case, I have already spoken with the Chefs about your bad experience. I am confident in saying that our team is happy to serve every guest. For me, it is one of the most important factors in our role to be as warm and welcoming to everyone. We pride ourselves in having been consistently recognized for our service, including TripAdvisor, as evident in our other reviews. I would like to end up my letter to you expressing once again my apologize and making you understand that this is a Resort done of people that are working every day very hard in order to satisfy all our Guest and that all feedback are of a great importance to us. A real feedback once in house would have been important for us. Please, if you decide to come back with us and give us another chance, I kindly ask you to let me know directly in advance, we will do our best for you to have another nice and enjoyable experience. With my Best Regards, Juan Marqués General Manager diralojamiento@resortsolymar.gca.tur.cu

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 22 2017
    • Toronto, Canada
    • Friends getaway

    JamesMumford

    “Great Experience overall”


    Food was good. I heard that the biggest complaint in Cuba was that the food was terrible. Barceló had great food in my opinion. I stuck to more of what I know, the chicken and pork from the fresh grill, rice, and tried different seafoods. The a la carte's were good, with lots of options. Beach was amazing. Pool was great. My complaints would go to check in. We were supposed to check in at 4pm (after getting to the hotel around noon), which was ok, that's the typical check in time. First we were told we would be in the same building as a couple of friends travelling with us, but when we went back we were told not anymore we had been moved. Once moved (its now 4pm) they told us our room wasn't ready, but should be in about 15-20 minutes tops. Went back after about 30 minutes, was ignored by the staff because our room still wasn't ready, once I talked to someone they ended up saying they were cleaning it now, so here's a key and it should be done when you get there. So we walked to our room, about 5 minutes from the front desk, and when we got there, there was still garbage on the floor, beds not changed, towels in the tub, just a dirty room. So we went back to the front desk, it was now approx. 5 pm, and told them. There was no hurry to try and get us into a room nothing like that. When our room was finally cleaned it was 6pm, 2 hrs after check in. No offers were made to help the situation, we finally received a bottle of rum cream on our last day at check out, (this was more so to do with our safe locking us out and having to wait an hr and a half for someone to fix it). It does sound like a large complaint, which it is, and I would have given the resort excellent had it not been for these mistakes.


    BarceloSmAb, Director General at Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort, responded to this review
    Dear JamesMumford, Thank you for sharing your experience with Tripadvisor readers. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Barceló Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort We appreciate your comment about our food and we work daily to provide a high quality service that distinguishes us. We are very sorry to know about the experiences you describe in your check-in, anyway we analyze your comments and you can be sure we are going to take the appropriate measures with the staff involved. We appreciate your recommendation and we welcome you back on your next trip to Varadero / Cuba. It will be a pleasure to receive you. Best regards, Juan Marqués General Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 21 2017
    • Edmonton
    • Friends getaway

    Emelyn D

    “Lots of fun and lots to do”


    My friend and I stayed here for a week and had an excellent time. First the cons: We were booked at the Arenas resort initially, but when we arrived at 1:30 am, found ourselves in a handicapped equipped room. There was a shower head over the toilet, a weird little set of plastic half shower walls, with another shower head set halfway up the wall. There was no vanity to place our toiletries etc. The room had three beds and no coffee maker. I once stayed at a nunnery that had more amenities. The next morning, we immediately requested another room and were fortunately moved to the Solymer resort next door. What's funny is we met another set of friends from Vancouver who got the other handicapped room at the Arenas. They also requested another room and got moved within the same resort. The thing is, those rooms are completely unsuitable for use - even for those in wheelchairs. People in wheelchairs have toiletries, use hairdryers and drink coffee. Those rooms are pretty bad. We paid for those nights. Another con was the noise. Lots of heavy drinking from the young set. Fighting (swearing, verbal altercations) was pretty common. Even though our room faced away from the pool, the noise from the bar area was fairly loud. We had two separate sets of duelling neighbours, one who "attempted" an overdose (we are trained in risk assessment and she wasn't actually at physical risk, just drunk and mad and took two extra pills - still unpleasant and potentially dangerous) and the other set fighting and falling asleep with their TV on so loud that several people complained. Still, I'm a city girl, I wasn't really bothered, but my rural friend found a few nights difficult to sleep. Third con, if you're a clean freak, you might find maid service a bit spotty. But we would just left a note and our maid would take care of things. No ATM (keep reading for more info) or wifi. Last con, my Kindle was stolen at the Arenas store. I don't want to say staff took it because a customer may have entered in the 5 minutes I discovered it missing and returned. Still, they weren't very helpful. I reported the loss, but of course never got it back. Oh, well. Poop happens. Now for the good. And there's lots of good. In general, the staff is friendly. The maid we had, Marcela was kind, attentive and did her best. The buffet staff were great. I don't remember their names, but if you go, walk all the way to the back - and the two gentlemen who work the breakfast and lunch shift are amazing. They work so hard to make you feel special. The older man was so kind, sweet and attentive that when I hugged him goodbye, I nearly cried. Speaking of food, the food at the Solymer is pretty good. Count on the fish and chicken. Yum! The buns are always fresh and soft. I never went hungry. Coffee is fabulous anywhere in the resort, but the coffee bar at Arenas is the best for pretty coffee. Grab one and sit outside to enjoy the cool morning air. Nothing better. The animation teams are amazing and get people dancing, playing games, involved in contests and all kinds of things. It's fun just to watch while you sit by the pool. The pools are all clean, cool and there's several to choose from. We never had a problem getting a lounge chair even though it got pretty full. Make sure you bring a drink cup to avoid running to the bar every 5 minutes. Cuban resorts use tiny plastic cups that personally, I can empty in two swallows! The beach is great. Pretty clean, lots of chairs. There is also a tiny shop between the two resorts that has the cutest things. I bought this great little Cuban espresso machine that I haven't stopped using since I got home. Not only that, but the lady went above and beyond for me there. She deserves lots of business. The Solymer had a great little Cuban band that played nightly right around dinner time. It was nice to sit and have a Brasilian coffee and listen. I highly recommend the Brasilian coffee, btw. Or it was a five minute walk to the Beatles bar for classic rock in Varaderos. Lots of people from the resort would go there. The Havana Club is just outside Arenas and so is a cigar store. Keep walking deeper down the street for shops and a mini market. The nearest ATM is on 54 street, which is across from the park (St Joseph, in English) where you will find amazing piña coladas and a barbecue place where they do grilled lobster. Just listen for the music and you'll find this out of the way place. Remember the ATM because the resort does NOT have one, just a little bank with spotty wifi that may or may not be able to let you pull cash out on your credit card. And if you like to shop, make sure to visit the flea market. 10 CUCs by cab to go. Or you can take the bus for 5 CUCs (keep your ticket and you can ride all day). I really enjoyed this resort. The cons were minor and the pluses were huge. It was a pretty place. We would go again. Personally, we liked Cayo Santa Maria better because it feels more Cuban, but when we return to Varaderos, we will definitely return to this resort.


    BarceloSmAb, Director General at Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort, responded to this review
    Dear Emelyn D, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at Barceló Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort. We were delighted to read that you felt that this Barceló has a helpful staff ("They work so hard to make you feel special"), our entertainment ("The animation teams are amazing") and the location. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay ("I really enjoyed this resort"). It truly was a pleasure to have you in house with us. Thank you very much. Our only achievement and triumph here at Barceló Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort is to fully satisfy our guest and make memorable experience. My team and I thank you once again for your great comments and I personally look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Varadero. Best regards, Juan Marqués General Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 21 2017
    • Family

    Gerry S

    “AVOID AVOID AVOID”


    Our stay was February 2017. We had 15 people in our group and all us were more than disappointed with this hotel. We read some of the negative reviews and took them in stride knowing we are the type of people who can make the best of anything. Don't be fooled, there is NO making the best of this hotel. The standards of this Barceló do not reach the standards of other Barceló's world wide. The rooms were disgusting with dirty floors that did not get regular cleaning regardless of how many times we asked our maid. The towels are not replaced, you get 2 towels at the start and nothing after that. At one point, my towel was so dirty, I threw it in the tub to be replaced, the maid took it out, folded it up and placed it back on the rack. The bathroom door fell on one of my daughters (hinges were rusted), when we spoke to the front desk they replied "there is nothing we can do". My daughter was ill one night and threw up on the bed skirt, this did not get replaced until I stripped the bed. When the bed skirt was removed, the box springs looked they retrieved them from the dump, they were so dirty with large holes. The hinges were also coming away from the box spring which my husband had to remove the staples so we did not get cut by them as we walked by. The walls were covered with old drink stains. Then the cockroaches came out. The stairs and elevators to the main lobby are dirty and never swept or mopped. Dawn W is right when she mentions the public washrooms, they are a disgrace. They stink of raw sewage are extremely dirty and constantly have no toilet paper, this includes the pool bar. The pool area is poorly maintained with broken tiles everywhere including on the bottom of the pool. There are cigarette butts all over the pool deck as well as used straws and cups. The pool deck and main lobby is constantly sticky from all the spilt drinks. The grounds are not maintained. Then there is the food - 9 out of 15 of us either vomited or had bad diarrhea, subpar to say the least but we were expecting this. On our last day we asked our maid for a fresh bottle of water and she refused to give it to us as we were checked out that day. We were not scheduled to leave our resort until midnight and we asked for water at 10:00am, unbelievable. I could go on and on but I think you get the gist. Save yourself a lot of money on a bad vacation and do NOT book this hotel.


    BarceloSmAb, Director General at Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort, responded to this review
    Dear Gerry S, Thank you for sharing your holiday review in Barceló Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort with TripAdvisor and us. As we can read, we didn't accomplish with your expectations and we would like to apologize. It's hard for us, reading other reviews, that you had a bad holiday. But we recommend you for the next time to contact with our Public Relations Departament, to maybe, solve some issues. Please, receive my most sincere apologies for all the problems you say you had in your room. We will transmit your remark to the housekeeping department to take carefully check all the areas that you remark. We have to tell you that your comments about our staff surprise us, because our greatest asset is the customer satisfaction and our philosophy so as to make customers feel at home: friendliness, service, and above all, a pleasant smile. Our staff work with us for years and normally carries out their daily work with great dedication. However, we will work on some of the issues you reported, to ensure the deliverance of a good performance, because it's very important to our business and our success depends on it. We can confirm you, that during your stay, there weren't any more cases of sickness with our customers. We have a log book for such cases. When we are aware that a client has diarrhea or vomiting we try to help them in everything they need: preparation of a specific diet, drinks, etc... Even if we have to bring meals to the room, we do it. We have a specific diet for these cases. We are refurbishing our buildings and our bungalows to supply our customers with the best of comfort. Our bungalows are being reformed. To finish, we want to inform you that all our efforts are to accomplish with all the family's expectations to have a great time in our Resort, we especially work for the children, because if the children enjoy their parents do it too. Without any further ado, we hope that you may give us another opportunity so that you may return home satisfied these time, after an unforgettable holiday. We take this opportunity to send you kind regards. Juan Marqués General Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 21 2017
    • Val David, Quebec
    • Couples

    michaelaS4251EM

    “The best ever!!”


    Arenas Blancas has been our favourite destination for the past seven years. The staff is unbelievably proeffsional and caring. We are treated like family and are welcomed back each year. The htoel and its amenities are perfect for us.


    BarceloSmAb, Director General at Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort, responded to this review
    Dear michaelaS4251EM, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort. We were very pleased to read that your stay was "The best ever" and found every member of our team to be ¨The staff is unbelievably proeffsional and caring¨. It truly was a pleasure to personally take care of you and your family. Thank you very much! My team and I thank you once again for your great comments and I personally look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Varadero. Best regards, Juan Marqués General Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 21 2017
    • San Francisco, California
    • Friends getaway

    Emily C

    “Awful Food, Bad Service”


    Food was across-the-board terrible -- buffets and the a la carte Spanish restaurant we went to. Often the hot food was cold and just flavorless or too salty. Really there was no balance. The meats were tough. Even a simple sandwich from the cafe was disgusting somehow. The most I can say about any of the food (besides the ice cream) was that it was edible. As far as service goes, it was horrendous. Nothing was explained to us when we checked in -- where we could eat, how we could book our a la carte dinner, etc. When I asked for help any other time, it really depended on who was helping me. Some people at the front desk were completely unprofessional and unhelpful. Others were a little kinder but mostly offered about the same amount of assistance. The place was completely disorganized. I paid for late checkout and they insisted that I hadn't and we were locked out of our rooms. Eventually the woman arguing with me at the counter called her manager and realized she was wrong, but basically wasted half an hour of my time. More or less, 1/3 of the time I was there was dealing with the disorganization and incompetence of the staff. On top of all this, my friend hurt her knee badly the first night we got there and the staff were completely unhelpful. For one, they didn't have any bandages bigger than a small bandaid. Also, when we got locked out of our bungalow because of the situation with the late checkout, an employee refused to help her even though she was clearly injured and having trouble walking. Basically 90% of the people who work there hate their jobs and their lives and want you to know it. I'm not a high maintenance person and I don't expect rooms to be spotless or employees to be begging to serve you or even rooms to be cleaned every day, but when you need assistance -- and as Americans traveling in Cuba, you will need it -- the staff at Barcelo Solymar will only be a source of serious frustration. I would absolutely not recommend staying here. I will say that the beach was nice, but there are also lots of beautiful beaches in the world where you don't have to suffer through nearly non-existent service and terrible food.


    BarceloSmAb, Director General at Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort, responded to this review
    Dear Emily C, I am sorry to hear that your stay at the hotel did not meet your expectations. I have been reading and reading your review many times and every single time I read it, I feel so sorry that we did not manage to make your stay wonderful. Unfortunately, on your case I really cannot believe and understand that you are reviewing in such a negative way only the bad points. Well, your perspective of the points. I am so sorry to read your comment about the place is disorganized, the most important it’s that mostly of our guest that have decided to stay at our hotel are saying completely the opposite. Regarding all other aspects like our staff or even other points you are commenting I don’t really feel I can answer you, because I am pretty sure that you understand that this is a subjective well-being and you only wanted to do a bad review to us. As General Manager I am really proud of my staff and I can assure you they provide all their best to achieve guests satisfaction, and they will continue to do so. Allow me to tell that what happened in your room with the late check out was an isolated event. I may think perhaps there was a miscommunication for which I excuse us. We regret your comment about the food and the service. Everyday, we have 2 International Buffets (Solymar and Arenas Blancas). Additionally, 5 gastronomic restaurants 'A la Carta' were projected to be intimate and with reduced number of tables to offer a special menu and private ambience to our guests - we are really sorry that you could not enjoy it....in any case, I have already spoken with the Chefs about your bad experience. I am confident in saying that our team is happy to serve every guest. For me, it is one of the most important factors in our role to be as warm and welcoming to everyone. We pride ourselves in having been consistently recognized for our service, including TripAdvisor, as evident in our other reviews. I would like to end up my letter to you expressing once again my apologize and making you understand that this is a Resort done of people that are working every day very hard in order to satisfy all our Guest and that all feedback are of a great importance to us. A real feedback once in house would have been important for us. Please, if you decide to come back with us and give us another chance, I kindly ask you to let me know directly in advance, we will do our best for you to have another nice and enjoyable experience. With my Best Regards, Juan Marqués General Manager diralojamiento@resortsolymar.gca.tur.cu

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

    to

      Incorrect dates
      Please enter valid dates

    NIGHTS

    (Optional dates)

    A discount or promotional code is a combination of letters and/or numbers that gives a discount on the normal rate. You can receive discount codes through special campaigns by being a my Barceló member, following us on social media or booking through Barcelo.com. 

    If you have a discount code, enter it when booking and you will receive a discount on your booking. The discount does not apply to the cost of extras. The maximum amount of the accumulated discount will be 25% off the rate (except for last rooms); it is possible to combine a discount code and special discounts. Only one discount code per booking is permitted.

    Loading rates...
    The hotel does not have any rates allocated to it

    Best online price guaranteed

    If you find a better rate, we will top it.

    We will return the difference and we will also apply an additional 10% discount to the cost of the final booking. For more information...