Reopening of the Occidental Punta Cana

The experience of staying in a completely renovated 5-star hotel means waking up every day on a fantastic coral beach and the marvellous sea at Bavaro Beach.

Guests can enjoy a wide range of cuisine and leisure activities and sports in the Dominican Republic.

Hotel Beach  Occidental Grand Punta Cana Resort

Occidental Punta Cana

Texto: 37168 The best range of water sports and leisure activities, with the famous Mangú nightclub, are all on offer at this resort in Punta Cana. Avda. España, S/N. Playa El Cortecito 23301 Punta Cana La Altagracia. República Dominicana
809 221 8787 809 221 8790
Occidental Punta Cana Texto: 37168 4 out of 5 based on 309 ratings. 309 user reviews.
Occidental Punta Cana reviewed by shawnlevy on . amazing staff the staff here are outstanding!! they all just want to make you happy and make sure you have a goo vacation. they are so friendly and make sure to be your friend by the 1st day!! and for the kids... Rating: 5
map

Occidental Punta Cana

Avda. España, S/N. Playa El Cortecito 23301 Punta Cana La Altagracia. República Dominicana  


Places of Interest

24.2 km Punta Cana International Airport

Right on the beachfront Beach

Premios y Reconocimientos Prizes and awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Occidental Punta Cana

4.0/5 Round Indicators
| 315 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


GUESTS’ SCORE

Excellent

46% Complete

147

Very good

21% Complete

67

Average

12% Complete

39

Poor

8% Complete

28

Very poor

11% Complete

37

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    blujacketsgrl Powell, Ohio. 02/24/2017 Family

    “Vacation in hell”

    If you are an American looking to book here I must warn that this is like a Red Roof, La Quinta or Motel 6. Run away from this place. My trip from hell began when I was charged 2X through Paypal for my reservation. I emailed the help desk and was told they could not assist but the front desk at the resort would be able to assist. They were sending an email to them and when I checked in they would assist me. NOT TRUE when i got to the hotel they made me pay a third time! I had to wait 2 days to talk to the "business office" and they would help me. They never did. I had to dispute the charges. When we got to our room we only had 2 bath towels although I was paying for 3 guest. When I asked for more towels I was told "later lady" What? I thought this was my vacation and I called the shots of when I could bath... The second day we received 1 hand towel. that was a fun day... The line at the front desk was a minimum of 30-minute wait. And, they were useless. Worst customer service ever. We only got water bottles every other day and only 1 large water bottle. The liquor was the lowest grade ever and when they had a good bottle they only opened 1 a day and when it was gone that was it for the day. It was also funny how it was always one of the bartenders birthdays. The tips are bigger I guess if it is your bday... Check out my pics of the "free mini bar" what a joke. We also purchase the wifi. OMG awful. It disconnected every 10 minutes and you had to enter the 6 digit password and the 6 digit user ID over and over again. I did talk to the weekend managers at the front desk and they did not care that I was not happy with my stay. They were rude and jerks. And if one more of their employees call me LADY i was going to scream. So rude...
    Round Indicators
    Julie O 02/24/2017 Friends getaway

    “Perfect!”

    What a perfect trip. This was my second time at the Grand Punta Cana Occidental and once again perfect! My friend and I stayed in the Royal section and what I will say it was the only way to go. The food was great at the restaurants and at the buffet. Our server in the buffet was Jaqueline Batia, she had outstanding customer service and always fast and efficient. The resort was newly renovated and everyone was a pleasure to deal with! I would go back.
    Round Indicators
    Meghan E 02/23/2017 Couples

    “Amazing resort”

    Beautiful rooms, perfect sized resorts. And awesome staff. The food is awesome , never got sick. All these people work so hard almost all the employees are bi lingual in many different languages. Clean, beautiful beaches. This place was definitely worth the extra 400$. Only complaint is after spending 1700$ to go there I could not even get wifi in the lobby for one day to tell my family i arrived safely. Only place I've ever stayed that does not offer free wifi in the lobby. And unless you pay for first class you will get to use either beach bar they are private. (Which they dont tell you beforehand)
    Round Indicators
    laheyk Sharbot Lake, Canada. 02/23/2017 Couples

    “Great Vacation in Punta Cana February 14-22, 2017”

    Traveled with as group of eight and experienced this really nice resort and its amenities. We stayed in building 22 (would recommend 21-26) and it was a beautiful, newly renovated room with frig, safe, lovely bathroom and very comfortable queen beds. The thermometer in the room regulated well and it was very clean. There was a continuous cleaning of the entire resort, including the bathrooms and grounds and the people who worked there were lovely; a smile and 'Hola" is all that you need to get a response in kind. The food went beyond our expectations and my husband and I didn't try anything that we didn't enjoy. The restaurants were a bit difficult to book, but the food in those that we did try was exceptional. The evening entertainment overall was very good. The beach was the most beautiful that I have seen and you could walk for a great distance (this resort is located in the middleof the 'arc'). There were few beach vendors that bothered us as this resort is set back a bit from the waterfront compared to the others. However, the vendors at the markets were quite aggressive, so if you can't handle that, don't go there. We figure that they are only trying to make a meagre living and it didn't bother us. Don't expect to comb the beach for shells and rocks-there were none, just flour/brown sugar-like beautiful sand and crystal aquamarine waters. They offer sea kayaks for use for free as well as small catamarans and lots of people were parasailing and taking rides in helicoptors overhead. It was a bit difficult to get served at the bars at times, but you had to get to know which one was least busy at specific times of the day to avoid line-ups. Would definitely recommend this resort as it exceeded our expectations in every way.
    Round Indicators
    shawnlevy Montreal, Canada. 02/22/2017 Family

    “amazing staff”

    the staff here are outstanding!! they all just want to make you happy and make sure you have a goo vacation. they are so friendly and make sure to be your friend by the 1st day!! and for the kids club, i have been here since i was a baby and the same lady ,esperanza,who knows me since i was small is so loving and caring! great hotel. i cant remember all the names of the people who were the animators when i was here but i do remember jorge, mariposa, ismael, chocolate, genesis perez ,olga, scobidu , alejandro, cuchi ,diva and everyone else. truly amazing

    Occidental_PC, Community Manager at Occidental Punta Cana, responded to this review
     Dear Shawnlevy, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are glad to know that you were satisfied with the quality of service you were offered during your stay with us. We also appreciate your recognition of the hard work and diligence of our staff members, Jorge, Mariposa, Ismael, Chocolate, Genesis Perez, Olga, Scooby Doo, Alejandro, Cuchi y Diva. We will share your kind words with them. We would like to have the opportunity show you how committed we are to our guests' satisfaction. Because of this, we truly hope you stay with us in the future so we can offer you an even better experience than your last. It was a pleasure serving you. Best Regards, Scarlett Acosta Community Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 24 2017
    • Powell, Ohio
    • Family

    blujacketsgrl

    “Vacation in hell”


    If you are an American looking to book here I must warn that this is like a Red Roof, La Quinta or Motel 6. Run away from this place. My trip from hell began when I was charged 2X through Paypal for my reservation. I emailed the help desk and was told they could not assist but the front desk at the resort would be able to assist. They were sending an email to them and when I checked in they would assist me. NOT TRUE when i got to the hotel they made me pay a third time! I had to wait 2 days to talk to the "business office" and they would help me. They never did. I had to dispute the charges. When we got to our room we only had 2 bath towels although I was paying for 3 guest. When I asked for more towels I was told "later lady" What? I thought this was my vacation and I called the shots of when I could bath... The second day we received 1 hand towel. that was a fun day... The line at the front desk was a minimum of 30-minute wait. And, they were useless. Worst customer service ever. We only got water bottles every other day and only 1 large water bottle. The liquor was the lowest grade ever and when they had a good bottle they only opened 1 a day and when it was gone that was it for the day. It was also funny how it was always one of the bartenders birthdays. The tips are bigger I guess if it is your bday... Check out my pics of the "free mini bar" what a joke. We also purchase the wifi. OMG awful. It disconnected every 10 minutes and you had to enter the 6 digit password and the 6 digit user ID over and over again. I did talk to the weekend managers at the front desk and they did not care that I was not happy with my stay. They were rude and jerks. And if one more of their employees call me LADY i was going to scream. So rude...


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 24 2017
    • Friends getaway

    Julie O

    “Perfect!”


    What a perfect trip. This was my second time at the Grand Punta Cana Occidental and once again perfect! My friend and I stayed in the Royal section and what I will say it was the only way to go. The food was great at the restaurants and at the buffet. Our server in the buffet was Jaqueline Batia, she had outstanding customer service and always fast and efficient. The resort was newly renovated and everyone was a pleasure to deal with! I would go back.


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 23 2017
    • Couples

    Meghan E

    “Amazing resort”


    Beautiful rooms, perfect sized resorts. And awesome staff. The food is awesome , never got sick. All these people work so hard almost all the employees are bi lingual in many different languages. Clean, beautiful beaches. This place was definitely worth the extra 400$. Only complaint is after spending 1700$ to go there I could not even get wifi in the lobby for one day to tell my family i arrived safely. Only place I've ever stayed that does not offer free wifi in the lobby. And unless you pay for first class you will get to use either beach bar they are private. (Which they dont tell you beforehand)


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 23 2017
    • Sharbot Lake, Canada
    • Couples

    laheyk

    “Great Vacation in Punta Cana February 14-22, 2017”


    Traveled with as group of eight and experienced this really nice resort and its amenities. We stayed in building 22 (would recommend 21-26) and it was a beautiful, newly renovated room with frig, safe, lovely bathroom and very comfortable queen beds. The thermometer in the room regulated well and it was very clean. There was a continuous cleaning of the entire resort, including the bathrooms and grounds and the people who worked there were lovely; a smile and 'Hola" is all that you need to get a response in kind. The food went beyond our expectations and my husband and I didn't try anything that we didn't enjoy. The restaurants were a bit difficult to book, but the food in those that we did try was exceptional. The evening entertainment overall was very good. The beach was the most beautiful that I have seen and you could walk for a great distance (this resort is located in the middleof the 'arc'). There were few beach vendors that bothered us as this resort is set back a bit from the waterfront compared to the others. However, the vendors at the markets were quite aggressive, so if you can't handle that, don't go there. We figure that they are only trying to make a meagre living and it didn't bother us. Don't expect to comb the beach for shells and rocks-there were none, just flour/brown sugar-like beautiful sand and crystal aquamarine waters. They offer sea kayaks for use for free as well as small catamarans and lots of people were parasailing and taking rides in helicoptors overhead. It was a bit difficult to get served at the bars at times, but you had to get to know which one was least busy at specific times of the day to avoid line-ups. Would definitely recommend this resort as it exceeded our expectations in every way.


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 22 2017
    • Montreal, Canada
    • Family

    shawnlevy

    “amazing staff”


    the staff here are outstanding!! they all just want to make you happy and make sure you have a goo vacation. they are so friendly and make sure to be your friend by the 1st day!! and for the kids club, i have been here since i was a baby and the same lady ,esperanza,who knows me since i was small is so loving and caring! great hotel. i cant remember all the names of the people who were the animators when i was here but i do remember jorge, mariposa, ismael, chocolate, genesis perez ,olga, scobidu , alejandro, cuchi ,diva and everyone else. truly amazing


    Occidental_PC, Community Manager at Occidental Punta Cana, responded to this review
    Dear Shawnlevy, Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are glad to know that you were satisfied with the quality of service you were offered during your stay with us. We also appreciate your recognition of the hard work and diligence of our staff members, Jorge, Mariposa, Ismael, Chocolate, Genesis Perez, Olga, Scooby Doo, Alejandro, Cuchi y Diva. We will share your kind words with them. We would like to have the opportunity show you how committed we are to our guests' satisfaction. Because of this, we truly hope you stay with us in the future so we can offer you an even better experience than your last. It was a pleasure serving you. Best Regards, Scarlett Acosta Community Manager

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

    to

      Incorrect dates
      Please enter valid dates

    NIGHTS

    (Optional dates)

    A discount or promotional code is a combination of letters and/or numbers that gives a discount on the normal rate. You can receive discount codes through special campaigns by being a my Barceló member, following us on social media or booking through Barcelo.com. 

    If you have a discount code, enter it when booking and you will receive a discount on your booking. The discount does not apply to the cost of extras. The maximum amount of the accumulated discount will be 25% off the rate (except for last rooms); it is possible to combine a discount code and special discounts. Only one discount code per booking is permitted.

    Loading rates...
    The hotel does not have any rates allocated to it

    Best online price guaranteed

    If you find a better rate, we will top it.

    We will return the difference and we will also apply an additional 10% discount to the cost of the final booking. For more information...