Barceló Hotel Restaurant Terrace Bávaro Palace Deluxe

Premium Level at Barceló Bávaro Palace

Texto: 5050 An exclusive spot on Bávaro Beach that offers guests luxury, comfort and elegance. Carretera Bávaro, Km. 1 | 23301 Bávaro, Higuey | PO Box 3177
+1 809 227 2356 +1 809 6867723
Premium Level at Barceló Bávaro Palace Texto: 5050 4 out of 5 based on 221 ratings. 221 user reviews.
Premium Level at Barceló Bávaro Palace reviewed by Nina P on . Honeymoom Trip Very Disappointed. We stayed here for our honeymoon on the premium level ocean fron room. When we booked, we told them we were honeymooning which comes with a package that includes t shirts, wine in... Rating: 2
map

Premium Level at Barceló Bávaro Palace

Carretera Bávaro, Km. 1   23301 Bávaro, Higuey   PO Box 3177  


Places of Interest

17.8 km Punta Cana International Airport

The Lakes Golf Course (by P.B. Dye)

Premios y Reconocimientos Prizes and awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Premium Level at Barceló Bávaro Palace

4.0/5 Round Indicators
| 223 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


GUESTS’ SCORE

Excellent

57% Complete

128

Very good

20% Complete

45

Average

13% Complete

30

Poor

3% Complete

8

Very poor

5% Complete

13

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    Nina P 07/08/2017 Couples

    “Honeymoom Trip”

    Very Disappointed. We stayed here for our honeymoon on the premium level ocean fron room. When we booked, we told them we were honeymooning which comes with a package that includes t shirts, wine in room, breakfast delivered day after etc. Never once did they acknowledge that we were honeymooners. Even during check in, my husband asked if they needed to see our marriage license to confirm and the lady in the private check in for club members said no, that it is not necessary. We even called down the next day to ask about our honeymoon breakfast that was supposed to be included and the lady said they would send someone up but no one ever came. We never received anything special in regards to our honeymoon. Also the room was small and fridge was never cold. Lastly the food at the resort is way to salty especially at the French and seafood restaurant. We enjoyed food at the buffet more than the restaurants that require reservations. The only thing good are the fruits. We also enjoyed the cocktails that were made at Carrey Lobby Bar. Overall staff was efficient but not friendly toward us. They seem to cater more to customers who speak Spanish. Not a great vacation and probably would not come back for the amount that we paid to stay on the premium level with an ocean front room.

    Javier C, Director General at Premium Level at Barcelo Bavaro Palace, responded to this review
     Dear Guest, Although we sincerely regret your disappointment with your stay in our Barceló Bavaro Palace, we would like to thank you for sharing your comments as it will help us to identify areas of concern and act immediately so as to enhance our future guests' experience among us. We are sorry that your honeymoon did not turn out as you expected we are very sorry of not having achieved your satisfaction and we apologize if you perceived lack of attention from our part. I can assure you that it was never our intention, on the contrary our personnel is trained to accomplish our guests' requirements and needs as much as we can. We extend our sincere apologies if this was not the case. We kindly ask you to get in contact with us when planning your next vacation; it would be our pleasure to help you, giving assistance prior arrival, and mend the bad moment you had. There would be no biggest reward than to have the opportunity to welcome you and your family once again. Kind Regards, Javier Cordero Gilsanz General Manager at Barceló Bávaro Palace

    Round Indicators
    Vince K Atlanta, Georgia. 07/05/2017 Friends getaway

    “Barcelo Bavaro Palace - 3rd Stay”

    I've been to the Barcelo Palace 3 times, most recently in June, 2017. I obviously like it, or I wouldn't have returned again and again. It's not perfect, but it's definitely a great resort and worth consideration. There's an adults-only side, and a kid-friendly side. The kid-friendly side looks like it is a few years newer, and has some room categories that aren't offered on the adults-only side. You can't go wrong either way - I recommend reviewing all the room categories before deciding on the adults-only part of the resort. Here's my take on what's good and what could be improved..... THE GOOD For the price, it's a great resort. It's an all-inclusive, and you truly don't have to leave the resort for anything. There are paid excursions, or you can leave and explore on your own, but this is my "go relax at the beach and don't worry about ANYTHING" place, so I'm very happy just to stay "on campus" for the entire time. The price is fair - not inexpensive - but you get what you pay for. The "Premium Level" service is a worthwhile upgrade. It gets you an oceanfront room with an amazing view of a beautiful beachfront, wifi access (see below), access to a couple of extra restaurants, and most of all access to the Premium Level concierge lounge and staff. The Premium Level staff are attentive, helpful, and will do just about anything to make your stay more pleasant. A special callout to Ms. Santana - the Premium Level manager - who keeps her staff on top of their game. These guys are busy ALL the time, and really do an exceptional job of attending to all the guest's needs. Additional callouts for Johanna P., Dominga R., Elvis (yes, really), and most especially to Sandra S. Each of these Premium Level employees have gone above and beyond to make our stay(s) truly unforgettable each time, and they are a big part of the reason we've booked this hotel 3 times, and will likely return again. WHAT COULD BE BETTER The food... The buffets are usually good, and if you get something freshly cooked-to-order, it's usually VERY good. The restaurants vary widely. My favorites are Mexico Lindo and Chez Gourmet - they are both outstanding. Coral (seafood restaurant) is awful - the service is terrible and the food is marginal at best (and that's being generous). The other restaurants are about what you would expect - acceptable and good, but not great. The wifi is very spotty. For a 4-star resort in 2017, one expects to have adequate wifi service everywhere on the resort property. This last stay (June, 2017), the wifi was largely unusable in our room - it would connect, then drop within 60-90 SECONDS. We called and logged several complaints, but it never got any better. It's been bad on past stays as well, so this is a long-term problem that needs some attention. The wifi was no better at the beach near our room, and only marginally better by the big pool. We ventured down to the adults-only pool one day and the wifi seemed to be working just fine. At the end of the day, I can live without being connected for a few days, but for the price and for the "level" of this resort, the wifi just needs to work. OTHER STUFF TO KNOW I agree with some of the other reviews regarding the excursions - the ones offered by the resort are just average, and feel very "touristy". The best resort-offered excursion IMHO is the helicopter tour to Saona. I did this in 2016, and it was my first time in a helicopter. I was a little apprehensive about the whole thing, but it turned out to be a really cool and beautiful experience. If you choose this excursion, I recommend going in the morning (it gets really hot later in the day), and definitely don't eat any food or drink anything that isn't bottled/canned. Two of us got food poisoning from the lunch we ate on this excursion, so eat/drink at your own risk! (Note: The food was NOT prepared by or provided by Barcelo - we had no food issues while on the resort.) Excursions, part deux: I'm a SCUBA diver and wound up booking my own dive trip through a dive shop along the south shore of the island in 2016. I worked with the hotel staff to hire an off-duty taxi driver for the day ($90) and had a really fun day of diving and also was able to see some of the countryside and towns between the resort and the dive shop. We had a wifi hotspot in our minivan - kind of an ironic twist that we had to leave the resort to get connectivity :-). I highly recommend doing your own tour if you are a little adventurous and want to get off the resort for a day. As noted above, spring for the Premium Level upgrade if your wallet can take the hit. It's definitely worth it - the Premium Level lounge is clean, offers all day drinks/snacks (without the crowd), and the staff there are exceptional. Again, the Premium Level staff are a primary reason I keep coming back to Barcelo Bavaro Palace. Bring an insulated cup of some sort for your drinks. Ice melts in <2 min without an insulated mug! Bring some tip dollars. It's not required or even expected and there's NEVER any pressure for tips. But it really makes their day to get a buck here and there when good service is received. The staff are very appreciative. Bring some good walking shoes. The resort is HUGE and you will likely wind up doing some walking! All good if you need to get your steps in, and there is also a trolley that does a continuous loop around the entire resort if you can't or just don't want to walk. And finally, don't miss the water park and putt-putt course. It's on the way to the golf course on the back side of the property - a short-ish walk from the main check-in area. Overall, I give the Barcelo Bavaro Palace a big thumbs-up! For a resort of this size and scale, it's amazing how immaculately kept the grounds and the beaches are. There's a small army of staff there trimming, raking, painting, sweeping, cleaning or just there to offer service. It's a beautiful full-service resort with an amazing beach and a relaxing environment. Now if they could only figure out the wifi.......

    Javier C, Director General at Premium Level at Barcelo Bavaro Palace, responded to this review
     Dear guest, Warm greetings on behalf of all the team working at our Barceló Bávaro Palace. We would like to thank you for taking the time to send us your comments in regards to your experience in our Barceló Bávaro Palace. Thank you so much, I really appreciate that you contact us to let us know that you had a delightful holiday since there is no biggest reward for us than know that you are now safe back home and that you had a wonderful time during your last visit. Comments such as yours, it is what definitely strengthens our philosophy of seeking the highest level of service excellence, thanks to an arduous team work, devotion and commitment of each member of our Staff. We really appreciate your preference and for having chosen our chain Barceló Hotels & Resorts for your last holiday. We hope that your experience with us stays as a special memory and that come many more visits from your part. Thank you very much for your comments about our service and we appreciate in fact to know that your vacation was memorable. We hope to host you in our property soon! Sincerely, Javier Cordero Gilsanz, General Manager at Barceló Bávaro Palace.

    Round Indicators
    zabeth-fl Florida. 06/21/2017 Family

    “Wow”

    Massive and beautiful resort . We were able to use the kids club and my son loved it . Lots of walking but you can ride their trolley to move to different parts of the resorts . Amazing service . The shops area is a great feature although their prices are skyrocketed. Love, love , love this resort .

    Javier C, Director General at Premium Level at Barcelo Bavaro Palace, responded to this review
     Dear Guest, Thank you for having chosen Barceló Bávaro Palace for your vacations and for taking the time to share your impressions about your stay with us. We are glad that we were able to provide you and your family a delightful stay and a wonderful time with us. It is a pleasure for us to know that our beautiful beach, pools and kid`s area were to your liking. We are glad to read your nice review because this is the best way to motivate our human team to continuous in our effort to reinforce the level of service and satisfaction in our guests. Sincerely, Javier Cordero Gilsanz General Manager at Barceló Bávaro Palace.

    Round Indicators
    christensengw Cary, North Carolina. 06/12/2017 Family

    “Barcelo Bavaro Palace - Premium Level, Family Junior Suite”

    We spent a week in early June at the Barceló Bavaro Palace, room 5427. This is a 2-room suite with separate bedrooms for the kids (2 fulls) and adults (1 king). I recommend this room because it was centrally located and we did not have a long walk to the restaurants, pools, beach, Premium Level office, or shopping. The view is mostly of the courtyard of the U-shaped building but you can see the ocean. We did not spend much time in the room so the view was not so important. Private Jacuzzi tub on the balcony. Room was in good shape and very clean. The staff did a good job keeping everything tidy. Wi-Fi reception was spotty at best in the room and we had to have someone come and "fix" the TV a couple of times (they just jiggled some wires behind the TV and it magically came back on). Wi-Fi reception was better in other areas of the resort. Wi-Fi was included with Premium Level but must be paid for otherwise. The food and restaurants were good. Breakfast and lunch were at the buffet places and, as with most buffets, some things were very good while others not so much. There was quite a bit of variety so you'll always be able to find something you like. Dinner was also available at the buffets but we ate at 3 of the specialty restaurants, 2 times each. Reservations are needed at these places but we were able to make them before we arrived (Premium Level perk). We highly recommend Kyoto which is Japanese style hibachi prepared in front of you. Get the pork loin! The Santa Fe steakhouse was also good; the beef tenderloin was as good as any I've had. La Dolce Vita was the Italian place and also good. They did a nice setup for our 8 year old's birthday. There are other specialty places but we chose these 3 based on our kid's eating preferences. The sports bar (open 24 hrs) was very near our room and was a good place to just grab a quick drink or snack and chill out for a few minutes in an air-conditioned room. Mixed drinks were all good with plenty of top-shelf labels available. The only beer was Presidente pilsner which is also a good choice if you're looking for an easy-drinking option. The wines served at dinner were also good. They were certainly not premium bottles but they were also not "undrinkable" as described in some other reviews. And champagne was available at all times. We tipped a couple of dollars after each buffet meal and $5 after each dinner. Also a couple of bucks here and there for bartenders, pool attendants, etc. Bring lots of cash for this and other purchases. Some places onsite won't let you charge to your room. And there can be an extra tax on credit card purchases as well. The pools and beach were excellent. We had unlimited access to the Pirate's Island water park with Premium Level which almost made the extra cost worth it all by itself. Its pay-per-day otherwise. The two main pools were also big enough where we never felt cramped or crowded in. The beach was very clean with minimal seaweed (I saw crews out at 6 am cleaning the beach). Kayaks, paddle boards, sail boats, masks/snorkels, etc. all included. They have an onsite excursion office to arrange other trips which was convenient. We had a not so good experience with a snorkeling trip which we arranged on our own so be careful when booking excursions - check to make sure you're getting the trip you have in mind (see my review on Viator). There was an activity hut with Ping-Pong, board games, chess, bocce ball, etc. which helped pass the time. The grounds were impeccably maintained. Beautiful landscaping, very clean, and no garbage. All staff were at least cordial, if not friendly. I speak pretty good Spanish which likely helped. Check in/out were very smooth in the Premium Level office. They even have a mini snack buffet and drinks in the office for Premium guests. At the airport - make sure you buy your tourist cards online beforehand. We breezed through customs and immigration arriving (Sunday late afternoon) but it was busy when we left (Sat. late morning). I recommend Dominican Airport Transfers (DAT) to go from/to the airport. As cheap as a shared bus ride, faster, and much more pleasant. They were waiting for us with a clearly worded sign with our name when we came out of customs and were 15 min. early to take us back to PUJ when we left. All in all, a very good trip. We felt the Premium Level upgrade was worth the advantages, especially the room. The resort was not crowded during our time there but we were likely just before the busy summer season got in full swing.

    Javier C, Director General at Premium Level at Barcelo Bavaro Palace, responded to this review
     Dear Guest, We really appreciate that you share your positive experience in regards to your stay in our Barceló Bávaro Palace in the TripAdvisor. We have no words to express our happiness for such a great review, it looks like the whole team was able to be there whenever you needed, the level of service you have experienced is what we aim to, being able to accomplish this, encourage us to work harder in order to make this happen to every one of our guests. I will share this review with our staff; they need to be aware that their job is being noticed with a great result. We would like to express our gratitude for consider us the heaven on earth. We hope that when returning to the Dominican Republic, you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again at our resort. Sincerely, Javier Cordero Gilsanz General Manager Barcelo Bavaro Palace

    Round Indicators
    cbass1234 arkansas. 06/11/2017 Friends getaway

    “Don't waste your money at this resort!”

    I just got back yesterday from spending 6 nights/5days with 19 of my friends at the Barcelo Bavaro Premium level resort in Punta Cana. I rarely write reviews but I feel that I should share my experience at this resort because it was so bad! I will start with the pro's--our room had a beautiful ocean view. Now for the con's--the food is terrible even in the specialty restaurants which were included in our premium package. The only restaurant worth going to is Chez Gourmet and its average at best. I understand it can be challenging to provide good food when a restaurant is trying to feed the masses buffet style. There were fly's all over the food and that alone was enough to make me to steer clear of all of the buffet's for the week. Room service is served 24 hours a day and many of my friends chose that option all week. Beware pants and closed toed shoes are required for the men in the restaurants except for the buffet restaurants NO EXCEPTIONS! Several of the guys in our group did not realize this and were unable to eat at any of the specialty restaurants that they had paid for through the premium package. Needless to say this was a downer! I will say that the hotel is specific about the dress code in there information but I guess the guys missed the memo. There is a definite language barrier if you speak English. Very few of the staff members were able to communicate in English and many not all which was frustrating. I can speak a limited amount of Spanish and that was helpful, but for the most part it was a problem trying to get information and answers. The beach provided no umbrella's (even to rent) there were palm trees but they did not provide great shade, also there was no bar service on the beach. The pools were okay, but lots of children except in the adult pools. You need to get out early and put your towels down if you want to get chairs at any of the pools. The drinks at the bars were not good and for our group for those of that drank vodka it had a funny taste. Someone told us it was the plastic cups they used at the pools but I don't know if that is true. The drinks in the Premium private lounge were good so if you have that package I would recommend you get your drinks there as often as possible. The rooms were average. Several of my friends had difficulties with their televisions. We didn't and were able to get several American channels. Also, the rooms were warm. The thermostats could not be adjusted and the ceiling fan in the room over the bed only had one speed and it barely circulated any air. I always take my own small fan and it was a lifesaver! The casino at this resort is very small. It had about 3 black jack tables, 3 roulette tables, 3 poker tables and the rest slot machines. We stayed at the Hard Rock Resort in PC two years ago and their casino is MUCH better if you like to gamble! We had free passes to the bowling alley but I never used the tickets; however, some of our friends did who had teenage kids and they said that the staff there were so rude they walked out. Believe me when I say customer service is almost non-existent at this resort. I do not recommend this resort and our group has decided we will not be going back for another trip in Punta Cana. As I mentioned earlier, we stayed at the Hard Rock Resort in PC two years ago and if you have to choose between the two go with the Hard Rock. It was not super great either but for the most part a lot better than Barcelo Bavaro.

    Javier C, Director General at Premium Level at Barcelo Bavaro Palace, responded to this review
     Dear Guest, Firstly we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your impressions regarding your recent stay at our Barceló Bavaro Palace hotel. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and improve upon the service that we provide to our guests. Please, accept our sincere apologies for the situations that affected you and your while vacationing with us. I would like to apologize for uncommon situation in regards to the inconveniences you may have encountered; this is not representative of our overall service. Thank you very much for your valued time to make this review since the opinion of our guests is very important and assistance to us. It is a pleasure to know that you had a delightful stay. We regret not having met your expectations at all. We are sorry that we were not able to provide you a delightful stay as you deserved. We lament that you did not get a positive impression about our service levels, since we are recognized for high and excellent service levels. Sincerely, Javier Cordero Gilsanz General Manager Barcelo Bavaro Palace

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • july 8 2017
    • Couples

    Nina P

    “Honeymoom Trip”


    Very Disappointed. We stayed here for our honeymoon on the premium level ocean fron room. When we booked, we told them we were honeymooning which comes with a package that includes t shirts, wine in room, breakfast delivered day after etc. Never once did they acknowledge that we were honeymooners. Even during check in, my husband asked if they needed to see our marriage license to confirm and the lady in the private check in for club members said no, that it is not necessary. We even called down the next day to ask about our honeymoon breakfast that was supposed to be included and the lady said they would send someone up but no one ever came. We never received anything special in regards to our honeymoon. Also the room was small and fridge was never cold. Lastly the food at the resort is way to salty especially at the French and seafood restaurant. We enjoyed food at the buffet more than the restaurants that require reservations. The only thing good are the fruits. We also enjoyed the cocktails that were made at Carrey Lobby Bar. Overall staff was efficient but not friendly toward us. They seem to cater more to customers who speak Spanish. Not a great vacation and probably would not come back for the amount that we paid to stay on the premium level with an ocean front room.


    Javier C, Director General at Premium Level at Barcelo Bavaro Palace, responded to this review
    Dear Guest, Although we sincerely regret your disappointment with your stay in our Barceló Bavaro Palace, we would like to thank you for sharing your comments as it will help us to identify areas of concern and act immediately so as to enhance our future guests' experience among us. We are sorry that your honeymoon did not turn out as you expected we are very sorry of not having achieved your satisfaction and we apologize if you perceived lack of attention from our part. I can assure you that it was never our intention, on the contrary our personnel is trained to accomplish our guests' requirements and needs as much as we can. We extend our sincere apologies if this was not the case. We kindly ask you to get in contact with us when planning your next vacation; it would be our pleasure to help you, giving assistance prior arrival, and mend the bad moment you had. There would be no biggest reward than to have the opportunity to welcome you and your family once again. Kind Regards, Javier Cordero Gilsanz General Manager at Barceló Bávaro Palace

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • july 5 2017
    • Atlanta, Georgia
    • Friends getaway

    Vince K

    “Barcelo Bavaro Palace - 3rd Stay”


    I've been to the Barcelo Palace 3 times, most recently in June, 2017. I obviously like it, or I wouldn't have returned again and again. It's not perfect, but it's definitely a great resort and worth consideration. There's an adults-only side, and a kid-friendly side. The kid-friendly side looks like it is a few years newer, and has some room categories that aren't offered on the adults-only side. You can't go wrong either way - I recommend reviewing all the room categories before deciding on the adults-only part of the resort. Here's my take on what's good and what could be improved..... THE GOOD For the price, it's a great resort. It's an all-inclusive, and you truly don't have to leave the resort for anything. There are paid excursions, or you can leave and explore on your own, but this is my "go relax at the beach and don't worry about ANYTHING" place, so I'm very happy just to stay "on campus" for the entire time. The price is fair - not inexpensive - but you get what you pay for. The "Premium Level" service is a worthwhile upgrade. It gets you an oceanfront room with an amazing view of a beautiful beachfront, wifi access (see below), access to a couple of extra restaurants, and most of all access to the Premium Level concierge lounge and staff. The Premium Level staff are attentive, helpful, and will do just about anything to make your stay more pleasant. A special callout to Ms. Santana - the Premium Level manager - who keeps her staff on top of their game. These guys are busy ALL the time, and really do an exceptional job of attending to all the guest's needs. Additional callouts for Johanna P., Dominga R., Elvis (yes, really), and most especially to Sandra S. Each of these Premium Level employees have gone above and beyond to make our stay(s) truly unforgettable each time, and they are a big part of the reason we've booked this hotel 3 times, and will likely return again. WHAT COULD BE BETTER The food... The buffets are usually good, and if you get something freshly cooked-to-order, it's usually VERY good. The restaurants vary widely. My favorites are Mexico Lindo and Chez Gourmet - they are both outstanding. Coral (seafood restaurant) is awful - the service is terrible and the food is marginal at best (and that's being generous). The other restaurants are about what you would expect - acceptable and good, but not great. The wifi is very spotty. For a 4-star resort in 2017, one expects to have adequate wifi service everywhere on the resort property. This last stay (June, 2017), the wifi was largely unusable in our room - it would connect, then drop within 60-90 SECONDS. We called and logged several complaints, but it never got any better. It's been bad on past stays as well, so this is a long-term problem that needs some attention. The wifi was no better at the beach near our room, and only marginally better by the big pool. We ventured down to the adults-only pool one day and the wifi seemed to be working just fine. At the end of the day, I can live without being connected for a few days, but for the price and for the "level" of this resort, the wifi just needs to work. OTHER STUFF TO KNOW I agree with some of the other reviews regarding the excursions - the ones offered by the resort are just average, and feel very "touristy". The best resort-offered excursion IMHO is the helicopter tour to Saona. I did this in 2016, and it was my first time in a helicopter. I was a little apprehensive about the whole thing, but it turned out to be a really cool and beautiful experience. If you choose this excursion, I recommend going in the morning (it gets really hot later in the day), and definitely don't eat any food or drink anything that isn't bottled/canned. Two of us got food poisoning from the lunch we ate on this excursion, so eat/drink at your own risk! (Note: The food was NOT prepared by or provided by Barcelo - we had no food issues while on the resort.) Excursions, part deux: I'm a SCUBA diver and wound up booking my own dive trip through a dive shop along the south shore of the island in 2016. I worked with the hotel staff to hire an off-duty taxi driver for the day ($90) and had a really fun day of diving and also was able to see some of the countryside and towns between the resort and the dive shop. We had a wifi hotspot in our minivan - kind of an ironic twist that we had to leave the resort to get connectivity :-). I highly recommend doing your own tour if you are a little adventurous and want to get off the resort for a day. As noted above, spring for the Premium Level upgrade if your wallet can take the hit. It's definitely worth it - the Premium Level lounge is clean, offers all day drinks/snacks (without the crowd), and the staff there are exceptional. Again, the Premium Level staff are a primary reason I keep coming back to Barcelo Bavaro Palace. Bring an insulated cup of some sort for your drinks. Ice melts in <2 min without an insulated mug! Bring some tip dollars. It's not required or even expected and there's NEVER any pressure for tips. But it really makes their day to get a buck here and there when good service is received. The staff are very appreciative. Bring some good walking shoes. The resort is HUGE and you will likely wind up doing some walking! All good if you need to get your steps in, and there is also a trolley that does a continuous loop around the entire resort if you can't or just don't want to walk. And finally, don't miss the water park and putt-putt course. It's on the way to the golf course on the back side of the property - a short-ish walk from the main check-in area. Overall, I give the Barcelo Bavaro Palace a big thumbs-up! For a resort of this size and scale, it's amazing how immaculately kept the grounds and the beaches are. There's a small army of staff there trimming, raking, painting, sweeping, cleaning or just there to offer service. It's a beautiful full-service resort with an amazing beach and a relaxing environment. Now if they could only figure out the wifi.......


    Javier C, Director General at Premium Level at Barcelo Bavaro Palace, responded to this review
    Dear guest, Warm greetings on behalf of all the team working at our Barceló Bávaro Palace. We would like to thank you for taking the time to send us your comments in regards to your experience in our Barceló Bávaro Palace. Thank you so much, I really appreciate that you contact us to let us know that you had a delightful holiday since there is no biggest reward for us than know that you are now safe back home and that you had a wonderful time during your last visit. Comments such as yours, it is what definitely strengthens our philosophy of seeking the highest level of service excellence, thanks to an arduous team work, devotion and commitment of each member of our Staff. We really appreciate your preference and for having chosen our chain Barceló Hotels & Resorts for your last holiday. We hope that your experience with us stays as a special memory and that come many more visits from your part. Thank you very much for your comments about our service and we appreciate in fact to know that your vacation was memorable. We hope to host you in our property soon! Sincerely, Javier Cordero Gilsanz, General Manager at Barceló Bávaro Palace.

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • june 21 2017
    • Florida
    • Family

    zabeth-fl

    “Wow”


    Massive and beautiful resort . We were able to use the kids club and my son loved it . Lots of walking but you can ride their trolley to move to different parts of the resorts . Amazing service . The shops area is a great feature although their prices are skyrocketed. Love, love , love this resort .


    Javier C, Director General at Premium Level at Barcelo Bavaro Palace, responded to this review
    Dear Guest, Thank you for having chosen Barceló Bávaro Palace for your vacations and for taking the time to share your impressions about your stay with us. We are glad that we were able to provide you and your family a delightful stay and a wonderful time with us. It is a pleasure for us to know that our beautiful beach, pools and kid`s area were to your liking. We are glad to read your nice review because this is the best way to motivate our human team to continuous in our effort to reinforce the level of service and satisfaction in our guests. Sincerely, Javier Cordero Gilsanz General Manager at Barceló Bávaro Palace.

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • june 12 2017
    • Cary, North Carolina
    • Family

    christensengw

    “Barcelo Bavaro Palace - Premium Level, Family Junior Suite”


    We spent a week in early June at the Barceló Bavaro Palace, room 5427. This is a 2-room suite with separate bedrooms for the kids (2 fulls) and adults (1 king). I recommend this room because it was centrally located and we did not have a long walk to the restaurants, pools, beach, Premium Level office, or shopping. The view is mostly of the courtyard of the U-shaped building but you can see the ocean. We did not spend much time in the room so the view was not so important. Private Jacuzzi tub on the balcony. Room was in good shape and very clean. The staff did a good job keeping everything tidy. Wi-Fi reception was spotty at best in the room and we had to have someone come and "fix" the TV a couple of times (they just jiggled some wires behind the TV and it magically came back on). Wi-Fi reception was better in other areas of the resort. Wi-Fi was included with Premium Level but must be paid for otherwise. The food and restaurants were good. Breakfast and lunch were at the buffet places and, as with most buffets, some things were very good while others not so much. There was quite a bit of variety so you'll always be able to find something you like. Dinner was also available at the buffets but we ate at 3 of the specialty restaurants, 2 times each. Reservations are needed at these places but we were able to make them before we arrived (Premium Level perk). We highly recommend Kyoto which is Japanese style hibachi prepared in front of you. Get the pork loin! The Santa Fe steakhouse was also good; the beef tenderloin was as good as any I've had. La Dolce Vita was the Italian place and also good. They did a nice setup for our 8 year old's birthday. There are other specialty places but we chose these 3 based on our kid's eating preferences. The sports bar (open 24 hrs) was very near our room and was a good place to just grab a quick drink or snack and chill out for a few minutes in an air-conditioned room. Mixed drinks were all good with plenty of top-shelf labels available. The only beer was Presidente pilsner which is also a good choice if you're looking for an easy-drinking option. The wines served at dinner were also good. They were certainly not premium bottles but they were also not "undrinkable" as described in some other reviews. And champagne was available at all times. We tipped a couple of dollars after each buffet meal and $5 after each dinner. Also a couple of bucks here and there for bartenders, pool attendants, etc. Bring lots of cash for this and other purchases. Some places onsite won't let you charge to your room. And there can be an extra tax on credit card purchases as well. The pools and beach were excellent. We had unlimited access to the Pirate's Island water park with Premium Level which almost made the extra cost worth it all by itself. Its pay-per-day otherwise. The two main pools were also big enough where we never felt cramped or crowded in. The beach was very clean with minimal seaweed (I saw crews out at 6 am cleaning the beach). Kayaks, paddle boards, sail boats, masks/snorkels, etc. all included. They have an onsite excursion office to arrange other trips which was convenient. We had a not so good experience with a snorkeling trip which we arranged on our own so be careful when booking excursions - check to make sure you're getting the trip you have in mind (see my review on Viator). There was an activity hut with Ping-Pong, board games, chess, bocce ball, etc. which helped pass the time. The grounds were impeccably maintained. Beautiful landscaping, very clean, and no garbage. All staff were at least cordial, if not friendly. I speak pretty good Spanish which likely helped. Check in/out were very smooth in the Premium Level office. They even have a mini snack buffet and drinks in the office for Premium guests. At the airport - make sure you buy your tourist cards online beforehand. We breezed through customs and immigration arriving (Sunday late afternoon) but it was busy when we left (Sat. late morning). I recommend Dominican Airport Transfers (DAT) to go from/to the airport. As cheap as a shared bus ride, faster, and much more pleasant. They were waiting for us with a clearly worded sign with our name when we came out of customs and were 15 min. early to take us back to PUJ when we left. All in all, a very good trip. We felt the Premium Level upgrade was worth the advantages, especially the room. The resort was not crowded during our time there but we were likely just before the busy summer season got in full swing.


    Javier C, Director General at Premium Level at Barcelo Bavaro Palace, responded to this review
    Dear Guest, We really appreciate that you share your positive experience in regards to your stay in our Barceló Bávaro Palace in the TripAdvisor. We have no words to express our happiness for such a great review, it looks like the whole team was able to be there whenever you needed, the level of service you have experienced is what we aim to, being able to accomplish this, encourage us to work harder in order to make this happen to every one of our guests. I will share this review with our staff; they need to be aware that their job is being noticed with a great result. We would like to express our gratitude for consider us the heaven on earth. We hope that when returning to the Dominican Republic, you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again at our resort. Sincerely, Javier Cordero Gilsanz General Manager Barcelo Bavaro Palace

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • june 11 2017
    • arkansas
    • Friends getaway

    cbass1234

    “Don't waste your money at this resort!”


    I just got back yesterday from spending 6 nights/5days with 19 of my friends at the Barcelo Bavaro Premium level resort in Punta Cana. I rarely write reviews but I feel that I should share my experience at this resort because it was so bad! I will start with the pro's--our room had a beautiful ocean view. Now for the con's--the food is terrible even in the specialty restaurants which were included in our premium package. The only restaurant worth going to is Chez Gourmet and its average at best. I understand it can be challenging to provide good food when a restaurant is trying to feed the masses buffet style. There were fly's all over the food and that alone was enough to make me to steer clear of all of the buffet's for the week. Room service is served 24 hours a day and many of my friends chose that option all week. Beware pants and closed toed shoes are required for the men in the restaurants except for the buffet restaurants NO EXCEPTIONS! Several of the guys in our group did not realize this and were unable to eat at any of the specialty restaurants that they had paid for through the premium package. Needless to say this was a downer! I will say that the hotel is specific about the dress code in there information but I guess the guys missed the memo. There is a definite language barrier if you speak English. Very few of the staff members were able to communicate in English and many not all which was frustrating. I can speak a limited amount of Spanish and that was helpful, but for the most part it was a problem trying to get information and answers. The beach provided no umbrella's (even to rent) there were palm trees but they did not provide great shade, also there was no bar service on the beach. The pools were okay, but lots of children except in the adult pools. You need to get out early and put your towels down if you want to get chairs at any of the pools. The drinks at the bars were not good and for our group for those of that drank vodka it had a funny taste. Someone told us it was the plastic cups they used at the pools but I don't know if that is true. The drinks in the Premium private lounge were good so if you have that package I would recommend you get your drinks there as often as possible. The rooms were average. Several of my friends had difficulties with their televisions. We didn't and were able to get several American channels. Also, the rooms were warm. The thermostats could not be adjusted and the ceiling fan in the room over the bed only had one speed and it barely circulated any air. I always take my own small fan and it was a lifesaver! The casino at this resort is very small. It had about 3 black jack tables, 3 roulette tables, 3 poker tables and the rest slot machines. We stayed at the Hard Rock Resort in PC two years ago and their casino is MUCH better if you like to gamble! We had free passes to the bowling alley but I never used the tickets; however, some of our friends did who had teenage kids and they said that the staff there were so rude they walked out. Believe me when I say customer service is almost non-existent at this resort. I do not recommend this resort and our group has decided we will not be going back for another trip in Punta Cana. As I mentioned earlier, we stayed at the Hard Rock Resort in PC two years ago and if you have to choose between the two go with the Hard Rock. It was not super great either but for the most part a lot better than Barcelo Bavaro.


    Javier C, Director General at Premium Level at Barcelo Bavaro Palace, responded to this review
    Dear Guest, Firstly we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your impressions regarding your recent stay at our Barceló Bavaro Palace hotel. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and improve upon the service that we provide to our guests. Please, accept our sincere apologies for the situations that affected you and your while vacationing with us. I would like to apologize for uncommon situation in regards to the inconveniences you may have encountered; this is not representative of our overall service. Thank you very much for your valued time to make this review since the opinion of our guests is very important and assistance to us. It is a pleasure to know that you had a delightful stay. We regret not having met your expectations at all. We are sorry that we were not able to provide you a delightful stay as you deserved. We lament that you did not get a positive impression about our service levels, since we are recognized for high and excellent service levels. Sincerely, Javier Cordero Gilsanz General Manager Barcelo Bavaro Palace

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z