Barceló Hotel Restaurant Terrace Bávaro Palace Deluxe

Premium Level at Barceló Bávaro Palace

Texto: 5050 An exclusive spot on Bávaro Beach that offers guests luxury, comfort and elegance. Carretera Bávaro, Km. 1 | 23301 Bávaro, Higuey | PO Box 3177
+1 809 227 2356 +1 809 6867723
Premium Level at Barceló Bávaro Palace Texto: 5050 4 out of 5 based on 201 ratings. 201 user reviews.
Premium Level at Barceló Bávaro Palace reviewed by jawsgolf on . Our 18th time! Great as usual! I can't understand some of the negative reviews of this resort? The place is fantastic, and the beach is outstanding. This time my daughter and family stayed at the resort for a... Rating: 5
map

Premium Level at Barceló Bávaro Palace

Carretera Bávaro, Km. 1   23301 Bávaro, Higuey   PO Box 3177  


Places of Interest

17.8 km Punta Cana International Airport

The Lakes Golf Course (by P.B. Dye)

Premios y Reconocimientos Prizes and awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Premium Level at Barceló Bávaro Palace

4.0/5 Round Indicators
| 218 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


GUESTS’ SCORE

Excellent

56% Complete

124

Very good

20% Complete

44

Average

13% Complete

30

Poor

3% Complete

7

Very poor

5% Complete

13

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    zabeth-fl Florida. 06/21/2017 Family

    “Wow”

    Massive and beautiful resort . We were able to use the kids club and my son loved it . Lots of walking but you can ride their trolley to move to different parts of the resorts . Amazing service . The shops area is a great feature although their prices are skyrocketed. Love, love , love this resort .
    Round Indicators
    christensengw Cary, North Carolina. 06/12/2017 Family

    “Barcelo Bavaro Palace - Premium Level, Family Junior Suite”

    We spent a week in early June at the Barceló Bavaro Palace, room 5427. This is a 2-room suite with separate bedrooms for the kids (2 fulls) and adults (1 king). I recommend this room because it was centrally located and we did not have a long walk to the restaurants, pools, beach, Premium Level office, or shopping. The view is mostly of the courtyard of the U-shaped building but you can see the ocean. We did not spend much time in the room so the view was not so important. Private Jacuzzi tub on the balcony. Room was in good shape and very clean. The staff did a good job keeping everything tidy. Wi-Fi reception was spotty at best in the room and we had to have someone come and "fix" the TV a couple of times (they just jiggled some wires behind the TV and it magically came back on). Wi-Fi reception was better in other areas of the resort. Wi-Fi was included with Premium Level but must be paid for otherwise. The food and restaurants were good. Breakfast and lunch were at the buffet places and, as with most buffets, some things were very good while others not so much. There was quite a bit of variety so you'll always be able to find something you like. Dinner was also available at the buffets but we ate at 3 of the specialty restaurants, 2 times each. Reservations are needed at these places but we were able to make them before we arrived (Premium Level perk). We highly recommend Kyoto which is Japanese style hibachi prepared in front of you. Get the pork loin! The Santa Fe steakhouse was also good; the beef tenderloin was as good as any I've had. La Dolce Vita was the Italian place and also good. They did a nice setup for our 8 year old's birthday. There are other specialty places but we chose these 3 based on our kid's eating preferences. The sports bar (open 24 hrs) was very near our room and was a good place to just grab a quick drink or snack and chill out for a few minutes in an air-conditioned room. Mixed drinks were all good with plenty of top-shelf labels available. The only beer was Presidente pilsner which is also a good choice if you're looking for an easy-drinking option. The wines served at dinner were also good. They were certainly not premium bottles but they were also not "undrinkable" as described in some other reviews. And champagne was available at all times. We tipped a couple of dollars after each buffet meal and $5 after each dinner. Also a couple of bucks here and there for bartenders, pool attendants, etc. Bring lots of cash for this and other purchases. Some places onsite won't let you charge to your room. And there can be an extra tax on credit card purchases as well. The pools and beach were excellent. We had unlimited access to the Pirate's Island water park with Premium Level which almost made the extra cost worth it all by itself. Its pay-per-day otherwise. The two main pools were also big enough where we never felt cramped or crowded in. The beach was very clean with minimal seaweed (I saw crews out at 6 am cleaning the beach). Kayaks, paddle boards, sail boats, masks/snorkels, etc. all included. They have an onsite excursion office to arrange other trips which was convenient. We had a not so good experience with a snorkeling trip which we arranged on our own so be careful when booking excursions - check to make sure you're getting the trip you have in mind (see my review on Viator). There was an activity hut with Ping-Pong, board games, chess, bocce ball, etc. which helped pass the time. The grounds were impeccably maintained. Beautiful landscaping, very clean, and no garbage. All staff were at least cordial, if not friendly. I speak pretty good Spanish which likely helped. Check in/out were very smooth in the Premium Level office. They even have a mini snack buffet and drinks in the office for Premium guests. At the airport - make sure you buy your tourist cards online beforehand. We breezed through customs and immigration arriving (Sunday late afternoon) but it was busy when we left (Sat. late morning). I recommend Dominican Airport Transfers (DAT) to go from/to the airport. As cheap as a shared bus ride, faster, and much more pleasant. They were waiting for us with a clearly worded sign with our name when we came out of customs and were 15 min. early to take us back to PUJ when we left. All in all, a very good trip. We felt the Premium Level upgrade was worth the advantages, especially the room. The resort was not crowded during our time there but we were likely just before the busy summer season got in full swing.

    Javier C, Director General at Premium Level at Barcelo Bavaro Palace, responded to this review
     Dear Guest, We really appreciate that you share your positive experience in regards to your stay in our Barceló Bávaro Palace in the TripAdvisor. We have no words to express our happiness for such a great review, it looks like the whole team was able to be there whenever you needed, the level of service you have experienced is what we aim to, being able to accomplish this, encourage us to work harder in order to make this happen to every one of our guests. I will share this review with our staff; they need to be aware that their job is being noticed with a great result. We would like to express our gratitude for consider us the heaven on earth. We hope that when returning to the Dominican Republic, you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again at our resort. Sincerely, Javier Cordero Gilsanz General Manager Barcelo Bavaro Palace

    Round Indicators
    cbass1234 arkansas. 06/11/2017 Friends getaway

    “Don't waste your money at this resort!”

    I just got back yesterday from spending 6 nights/5days with 19 of my friends at the Barcelo Bavaro Premium level resort in Punta Cana. I rarely write reviews but I feel that I should share my experience at this resort because it was so bad! I will start with the pro's--our room had a beautiful ocean view. Now for the con's--the food is terrible even in the specialty restaurants which were included in our premium package. The only restaurant worth going to is Chez Gourmet and its average at best. I understand it can be challenging to provide good food when a restaurant is trying to feed the masses buffet style. There were fly's all over the food and that alone was enough to make me to steer clear of all of the buffet's for the week. Room service is served 24 hours a day and many of my friends chose that option all week. Beware pants and closed toed shoes are required for the men in the restaurants except for the buffet restaurants NO EXCEPTIONS! Several of the guys in our group did not realize this and were unable to eat at any of the specialty restaurants that they had paid for through the premium package. Needless to say this was a downer! I will say that the hotel is specific about the dress code in there information but I guess the guys missed the memo. There is a definite language barrier if you speak English. Very few of the staff members were able to communicate in English and many not all which was frustrating. I can speak a limited amount of Spanish and that was helpful, but for the most part it was a problem trying to get information and answers. The beach provided no umbrella's (even to rent) there were palm trees but they did not provide great shade, also there was no bar service on the beach. The pools were okay, but lots of children except in the adult pools. You need to get out early and put your towels down if you want to get chairs at any of the pools. The drinks at the bars were not good and for our group for those of that drank vodka it had a funny taste. Someone told us it was the plastic cups they used at the pools but I don't know if that is true. The drinks in the Premium private lounge were good so if you have that package I would recommend you get your drinks there as often as possible. The rooms were average. Several of my friends had difficulties with their televisions. We didn't and were able to get several American channels. Also, the rooms were warm. The thermostats could not be adjusted and the ceiling fan in the room over the bed only had one speed and it barely circulated any air. I always take my own small fan and it was a lifesaver! The casino at this resort is very small. It had about 3 black jack tables, 3 roulette tables, 3 poker tables and the rest slot machines. We stayed at the Hard Rock Resort in PC two years ago and their casino is MUCH better if you like to gamble! We had free passes to the bowling alley but I never used the tickets; however, some of our friends did who had teenage kids and they said that the staff there were so rude they walked out. Believe me when I say customer service is almost non-existent at this resort. I do not recommend this resort and our group has decided we will not be going back for another trip in Punta Cana. As I mentioned earlier, we stayed at the Hard Rock Resort in PC two years ago and if you have to choose between the two go with the Hard Rock. It was not super great either but for the most part a lot better than Barcelo Bavaro.

    Javier C, Director General at Premium Level at Barcelo Bavaro Palace, responded to this review
     Dear Guest, Firstly we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your impressions regarding your recent stay at our Barceló Bavaro Palace hotel. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and improve upon the service that we provide to our guests. Please, accept our sincere apologies for the situations that affected you and your while vacationing with us. I would like to apologize for uncommon situation in regards to the inconveniences you may have encountered; this is not representative of our overall service. Thank you very much for your valued time to make this review since the opinion of our guests is very important and assistance to us. It is a pleasure to know that you had a delightful stay. We regret not having met your expectations at all. We are sorry that we were not able to provide you a delightful stay as you deserved. We lament that you did not get a positive impression about our service levels, since we are recognized for high and excellent service levels. Sincerely, Javier Cordero Gilsanz General Manager Barcelo Bavaro Palace

    Round Indicators
    Estrella H Littleton, Colorado. 05/30/2017 Family

    “Great vacation!”

    We went for a family vacation/wedding. The wedding was fun and food was delicious, great weather. The resort was fantastic, employees are very friendly and always willing to assist you. The rooms were spacious with deck and a jacuzzi and great views for oceanfront rooms. Premium level is the way to go, it includes a few extras well worth the extra cost. Pools and beach were great!

    Javier C, Director General at Premium Level at Barcelo Bavaro Palace, responded to this review
     Dear Guest, Thank you very much for having chosen Barceló Bávaro Palace for your vacation and family celebration in Punta Cana. We appreciate the time you have taken to share this nice comment about your stay with us. We are glad that you and your family had a wonderful time in our little paradise and that our wonderful beach, which is one of the top ten beaches in the world, as well as our gastronomy was to your liking. It is a pleasure for us to know that you could enjoy all the facilities and the friendliness of our staff member. We would be pleased to welcome you again. Regards, Javier Cordero Gilsanz General Manager Barcelo Bavaro Palace

    Round Indicators
    splaak Stamford, Connecticut. 05/27/2017 Family

    “Barcelo is beautiful and Premium Club adds to vacation!”

    Our family of four visited DR to celebrate son's college graduation - all of us over 18, so basically an adults vacation. First, Premium Club was worth it for us, we stayed in a Jr. Family Suite in building 2 and the setup was perfect with 2 double beds for each 'kid' in separate room from our king. The two bathrooms a must, but you only get 1 mini-fridge, not two! Wifi, free throughout the resort with Premium Club was a little spotty in places, but we didn't have to congregate in the few areas with free wifi every day to catch up like others did. We were patient and realized we'd have to reconnect sometimes after moving around and the speed isn't like home. In addition to bottle of Dominican Rum, we also got 3 pints of flavored rums and were kept well stocked with beers after a couple tips to the staff! Beer at the bars is Presidente and far better than the cans. Make sure to take your own travel mugs, Bubba cups or something larger in size, whether you are drinking beer, mixed drinks, frozen drinks or what have you ... perfect for walks on the beach in the sun and for those areas that don't have regular waitress service. And, at the end of the beach day, you can fill up and have a nice drink back in your room while sitting in the hot tub and getting ready for dinner. Another plus of Premium Club is making your dinner reservations in advance via email - it was simple and very efficient. We reserved an a la carte for every night we were at Barceló and they were all good. The best restaurants were L'Comedie French Restaurant, Sante Fe Steakhouse and La Dolce Vita Italian. We also ate at the Kyoto Japanese Hibachi and while good, it's ordinary to have Hibachi for us, so it wasn't as special. At L'Comedie, we had several different apps, soup and meals but my son raved about the lamb chops. At Sante Fe we all enjoyed our meals, my husband didn't even have steak, but chose the Salmon and said it was very good! The buffets were good and if you have Premium you can visit the Barceló Beach resort which is adults only and they have a very nice lunch buffet that is less crowded, beach front and offers a change of pace to the regular buffet. As for activities, paddleboats and ping pong were a hit, the Aquarobics was fun and we spent an hour or so each evening in the casino or sports bar since Stanley Cup playoffs were on. 'Kids' went to the nightclub one evening, reports are it was good, but it's not for me! I can't complain about a single thing at the resort that mattered to us; we tried a show one night, but it wasn't so good and we left, but we weren't there for the entertainment and didn't have high expectations. The staff was very nice, attentive and although a few struggled with English, we eventually got enough Spanish words in to make ourselves understood. One good tip we got from a couple who shared our airport ride was to rent a cabana for $15 USD per day over in the adults pool near the Beach Shop, small water park. We did this two days we liked it so much!!!!

    Javier C, Director General at Premium Level at Barcelo Bavaro Palace, responded to this review
     Dear Guest, We appreciate that you share your positive experience in regards to your stay in our Barceló Bávaro Palace. Thank you very much for your valued time to make this review since the opinion of our guests is very important and assistance to us. It is a pleasure to know that you had a delightful stay. Our main goal it’s to have 100% satisfied clients, which go back home with the best of their memories, and we are sure we achieved with you. Thanks for remarking the names of our hard working staff that made your stay a delight; be assured that they all will be noticed about this mention. We also happy to know that everything our Resort offers were completely of your liking. We look forward to greet you all with open arms to our wonderful Caribbean paradise; our beloved Dominican Republic. Sincerely, Javier Cordero Gilsanz General Manager Barcelo Bavaro Palace

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • june 21 2017
    • Florida
    • Family

    zabeth-fl

    “Wow”


    Massive and beautiful resort . We were able to use the kids club and my son loved it . Lots of walking but you can ride their trolley to move to different parts of the resorts . Amazing service . The shops area is a great feature although their prices are skyrocketed. Love, love , love this resort .


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • june 12 2017
    • Cary, North Carolina
    • Family

    christensengw

    “Barcelo Bavaro Palace - Premium Level, Family Junior Suite”


    We spent a week in early June at the Barceló Bavaro Palace, room 5427. This is a 2-room suite with separate bedrooms for the kids (2 fulls) and adults (1 king). I recommend this room because it was centrally located and we did not have a long walk to the restaurants, pools, beach, Premium Level office, or shopping. The view is mostly of the courtyard of the U-shaped building but you can see the ocean. We did not spend much time in the room so the view was not so important. Private Jacuzzi tub on the balcony. Room was in good shape and very clean. The staff did a good job keeping everything tidy. Wi-Fi reception was spotty at best in the room and we had to have someone come and "fix" the TV a couple of times (they just jiggled some wires behind the TV and it magically came back on). Wi-Fi reception was better in other areas of the resort. Wi-Fi was included with Premium Level but must be paid for otherwise. The food and restaurants were good. Breakfast and lunch were at the buffet places and, as with most buffets, some things were very good while others not so much. There was quite a bit of variety so you'll always be able to find something you like. Dinner was also available at the buffets but we ate at 3 of the specialty restaurants, 2 times each. Reservations are needed at these places but we were able to make them before we arrived (Premium Level perk). We highly recommend Kyoto which is Japanese style hibachi prepared in front of you. Get the pork loin! The Santa Fe steakhouse was also good; the beef tenderloin was as good as any I've had. La Dolce Vita was the Italian place and also good. They did a nice setup for our 8 year old's birthday. There are other specialty places but we chose these 3 based on our kid's eating preferences. The sports bar (open 24 hrs) was very near our room and was a good place to just grab a quick drink or snack and chill out for a few minutes in an air-conditioned room. Mixed drinks were all good with plenty of top-shelf labels available. The only beer was Presidente pilsner which is also a good choice if you're looking for an easy-drinking option. The wines served at dinner were also good. They were certainly not premium bottles but they were also not "undrinkable" as described in some other reviews. And champagne was available at all times. We tipped a couple of dollars after each buffet meal and $5 after each dinner. Also a couple of bucks here and there for bartenders, pool attendants, etc. Bring lots of cash for this and other purchases. Some places onsite won't let you charge to your room. And there can be an extra tax on credit card purchases as well. The pools and beach were excellent. We had unlimited access to the Pirate's Island water park with Premium Level which almost made the extra cost worth it all by itself. Its pay-per-day otherwise. The two main pools were also big enough where we never felt cramped or crowded in. The beach was very clean with minimal seaweed (I saw crews out at 6 am cleaning the beach). Kayaks, paddle boards, sail boats, masks/snorkels, etc. all included. They have an onsite excursion office to arrange other trips which was convenient. We had a not so good experience with a snorkeling trip which we arranged on our own so be careful when booking excursions - check to make sure you're getting the trip you have in mind (see my review on Viator). There was an activity hut with Ping-Pong, board games, chess, bocce ball, etc. which helped pass the time. The grounds were impeccably maintained. Beautiful landscaping, very clean, and no garbage. All staff were at least cordial, if not friendly. I speak pretty good Spanish which likely helped. Check in/out were very smooth in the Premium Level office. They even have a mini snack buffet and drinks in the office for Premium guests. At the airport - make sure you buy your tourist cards online beforehand. We breezed through customs and immigration arriving (Sunday late afternoon) but it was busy when we left (Sat. late morning). I recommend Dominican Airport Transfers (DAT) to go from/to the airport. As cheap as a shared bus ride, faster, and much more pleasant. They were waiting for us with a clearly worded sign with our name when we came out of customs and were 15 min. early to take us back to PUJ when we left. All in all, a very good trip. We felt the Premium Level upgrade was worth the advantages, especially the room. The resort was not crowded during our time there but we were likely just before the busy summer season got in full swing.


    Javier C, Director General at Premium Level at Barcelo Bavaro Palace, responded to this review
    Dear Guest, We really appreciate that you share your positive experience in regards to your stay in our Barceló Bávaro Palace in the TripAdvisor. We have no words to express our happiness for such a great review, it looks like the whole team was able to be there whenever you needed, the level of service you have experienced is what we aim to, being able to accomplish this, encourage us to work harder in order to make this happen to every one of our guests. I will share this review with our staff; they need to be aware that their job is being noticed with a great result. We would like to express our gratitude for consider us the heaven on earth. We hope that when returning to the Dominican Republic, you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again at our resort. Sincerely, Javier Cordero Gilsanz General Manager Barcelo Bavaro Palace

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • june 11 2017
    • arkansas
    • Friends getaway

    cbass1234

    “Don't waste your money at this resort!”


    I just got back yesterday from spending 6 nights/5days with 19 of my friends at the Barcelo Bavaro Premium level resort in Punta Cana. I rarely write reviews but I feel that I should share my experience at this resort because it was so bad! I will start with the pro's--our room had a beautiful ocean view. Now for the con's--the food is terrible even in the specialty restaurants which were included in our premium package. The only restaurant worth going to is Chez Gourmet and its average at best. I understand it can be challenging to provide good food when a restaurant is trying to feed the masses buffet style. There were fly's all over the food and that alone was enough to make me to steer clear of all of the buffet's for the week. Room service is served 24 hours a day and many of my friends chose that option all week. Beware pants and closed toed shoes are required for the men in the restaurants except for the buffet restaurants NO EXCEPTIONS! Several of the guys in our group did not realize this and were unable to eat at any of the specialty restaurants that they had paid for through the premium package. Needless to say this was a downer! I will say that the hotel is specific about the dress code in there information but I guess the guys missed the memo. There is a definite language barrier if you speak English. Very few of the staff members were able to communicate in English and many not all which was frustrating. I can speak a limited amount of Spanish and that was helpful, but for the most part it was a problem trying to get information and answers. The beach provided no umbrella's (even to rent) there were palm trees but they did not provide great shade, also there was no bar service on the beach. The pools were okay, but lots of children except in the adult pools. You need to get out early and put your towels down if you want to get chairs at any of the pools. The drinks at the bars were not good and for our group for those of that drank vodka it had a funny taste. Someone told us it was the plastic cups they used at the pools but I don't know if that is true. The drinks in the Premium private lounge were good so if you have that package I would recommend you get your drinks there as often as possible. The rooms were average. Several of my friends had difficulties with their televisions. We didn't and were able to get several American channels. Also, the rooms were warm. The thermostats could not be adjusted and the ceiling fan in the room over the bed only had one speed and it barely circulated any air. I always take my own small fan and it was a lifesaver! The casino at this resort is very small. It had about 3 black jack tables, 3 roulette tables, 3 poker tables and the rest slot machines. We stayed at the Hard Rock Resort in PC two years ago and their casino is MUCH better if you like to gamble! We had free passes to the bowling alley but I never used the tickets; however, some of our friends did who had teenage kids and they said that the staff there were so rude they walked out. Believe me when I say customer service is almost non-existent at this resort. I do not recommend this resort and our group has decided we will not be going back for another trip in Punta Cana. As I mentioned earlier, we stayed at the Hard Rock Resort in PC two years ago and if you have to choose between the two go with the Hard Rock. It was not super great either but for the most part a lot better than Barcelo Bavaro.


    Javier C, Director General at Premium Level at Barcelo Bavaro Palace, responded to this review
    Dear Guest, Firstly we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your impressions regarding your recent stay at our Barceló Bavaro Palace hotel. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and improve upon the service that we provide to our guests. Please, accept our sincere apologies for the situations that affected you and your while vacationing with us. I would like to apologize for uncommon situation in regards to the inconveniences you may have encountered; this is not representative of our overall service. Thank you very much for your valued time to make this review since the opinion of our guests is very important and assistance to us. It is a pleasure to know that you had a delightful stay. We regret not having met your expectations at all. We are sorry that we were not able to provide you a delightful stay as you deserved. We lament that you did not get a positive impression about our service levels, since we are recognized for high and excellent service levels. Sincerely, Javier Cordero Gilsanz General Manager Barcelo Bavaro Palace

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • may 30 2017
    • Littleton, Colorado
    • Family

    Estrella H

    “Great vacation!”


    We went for a family vacation/wedding. The wedding was fun and food was delicious, great weather. The resort was fantastic, employees are very friendly and always willing to assist you. The rooms were spacious with deck and a jacuzzi and great views for oceanfront rooms. Premium level is the way to go, it includes a few extras well worth the extra cost. Pools and beach were great!


    Javier C, Director General at Premium Level at Barcelo Bavaro Palace, responded to this review
    Dear Guest, Thank you very much for having chosen Barceló Bávaro Palace for your vacation and family celebration in Punta Cana. We appreciate the time you have taken to share this nice comment about your stay with us. We are glad that you and your family had a wonderful time in our little paradise and that our wonderful beach, which is one of the top ten beaches in the world, as well as our gastronomy was to your liking. It is a pleasure for us to know that you could enjoy all the facilities and the friendliness of our staff member. We would be pleased to welcome you again. Regards, Javier Cordero Gilsanz General Manager Barcelo Bavaro Palace

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • may 27 2017
    • Stamford, Connecticut
    • Family

    splaak

    “Barcelo is beautiful and Premium Club adds to vacation!”


    Our family of four visited DR to celebrate son's college graduation - all of us over 18, so basically an adults vacation. First, Premium Club was worth it for us, we stayed in a Jr. Family Suite in building 2 and the setup was perfect with 2 double beds for each 'kid' in separate room from our king. The two bathrooms a must, but you only get 1 mini-fridge, not two! Wifi, free throughout the resort with Premium Club was a little spotty in places, but we didn't have to congregate in the few areas with free wifi every day to catch up like others did. We were patient and realized we'd have to reconnect sometimes after moving around and the speed isn't like home. In addition to bottle of Dominican Rum, we also got 3 pints of flavored rums and were kept well stocked with beers after a couple tips to the staff! Beer at the bars is Presidente and far better than the cans. Make sure to take your own travel mugs, Bubba cups or something larger in size, whether you are drinking beer, mixed drinks, frozen drinks or what have you ... perfect for walks on the beach in the sun and for those areas that don't have regular waitress service. And, at the end of the beach day, you can fill up and have a nice drink back in your room while sitting in the hot tub and getting ready for dinner. Another plus of Premium Club is making your dinner reservations in advance via email - it was simple and very efficient. We reserved an a la carte for every night we were at Barceló and they were all good. The best restaurants were L'Comedie French Restaurant, Sante Fe Steakhouse and La Dolce Vita Italian. We also ate at the Kyoto Japanese Hibachi and while good, it's ordinary to have Hibachi for us, so it wasn't as special. At L'Comedie, we had several different apps, soup and meals but my son raved about the lamb chops. At Sante Fe we all enjoyed our meals, my husband didn't even have steak, but chose the Salmon and said it was very good! The buffets were good and if you have Premium you can visit the Barceló Beach resort which is adults only and they have a very nice lunch buffet that is less crowded, beach front and offers a change of pace to the regular buffet. As for activities, paddleboats and ping pong were a hit, the Aquarobics was fun and we spent an hour or so each evening in the casino or sports bar since Stanley Cup playoffs were on. 'Kids' went to the nightclub one evening, reports are it was good, but it's not for me! I can't complain about a single thing at the resort that mattered to us; we tried a show one night, but it wasn't so good and we left, but we weren't there for the entertainment and didn't have high expectations. The staff was very nice, attentive and although a few struggled with English, we eventually got enough Spanish words in to make ourselves understood. One good tip we got from a couple who shared our airport ride was to rent a cabana for $15 USD per day over in the adults pool near the Beach Shop, small water park. We did this two days we liked it so much!!!!


    Javier C, Director General at Premium Level at Barcelo Bavaro Palace, responded to this review
    Dear Guest, We appreciate that you share your positive experience in regards to your stay in our Barceló Bávaro Palace. Thank you very much for your valued time to make this review since the opinion of our guests is very important and assistance to us. It is a pleasure to know that you had a delightful stay. Our main goal it’s to have 100% satisfied clients, which go back home with the best of their memories, and we are sure we achieved with you. Thanks for remarking the names of our hard working staff that made your stay a delight; be assured that they all will be noticed about this mention. We also happy to know that everything our Resort offers were completely of your liking. We look forward to greet you all with open arms to our wonderful Caribbean paradise; our beloved Dominican Republic. Sincerely, Javier Cordero Gilsanz General Manager Barcelo Bavaro Palace

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z