Facade of the Barceló Mexico Reforma hotel

Barceló México Reforma

Texto: 112245 Five-star hotel in the centre of Mexico City. Paseo de la Reforma, 1 | 06030 | Ciudad de México | Col. Tabacalera || México
+52 5551285000 *
Barceló México Reforma Texto: 112245 4 out of 5 based on 1186 ratings. 1186 user reviews.
Barceló México Reforma reviewed by beeloverbeecuz on . Barcelo Birthday Treat I came for my birthday and left happy! The staff was superior in making sure my stay with them was memorable. I had read earlier they did not have real coffee in the rooms...Not true. Jesus always... Rating: 5
map

Barceló México Reforma

Paseo de la Reforma, 1   06030   Ciudad de México   Col. Tabacalera     México  


Places of Interest

12.7 km Mexico City International Airport (MEX)

3.4 km Zócalo – Plaza of the Constitution

6.5 km Soumaya Museum

3.6 km Cathedral

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Barceló México Reforma

4.0/5 Round Indicators
| 1190 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


GUESTS’ SCORE

Excellent

54% Complete

646

Very good

27% Complete

333

Average

9% Complete

116

Poor

3% Complete

39

Very poor

4% Complete

56

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    beeloverbeecuz Bellingham, Washington. 05/10/2018 Solo travel

    “Barcelo Birthday Treat”

    I came for my birthday and left happy! The staff was superior in making sure my stay with them was memorable. I had read earlier they did not have real coffee in the rooms...Not true. Jesus always took care that everything was going well. Alberto Cuadros , the Chef Concierge and his staff answered every question and if they did not know they found the answer.

    Fernando R, Gerente at Barcelo Mexico Reforma, responded to this review
     Dear beeloverbeecuz, Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at Barceló México Reforma. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience. We will share your comments with Alberto and Jesus, they will be delighted to hear from you. Looking forward to welcoming you back very soon! Fernando Romero Quality Manager

    Round Indicators
    Arthur M Jacksonville, Florida. 05/09/2018 Solo travel

    “GREAT HOTEL, BUT SOME STAFF DISHONEST”

    I recently stayed at the Barcelo Mexico Reforma as part of a Gate 1 tour and one day extra on my own. First, the positive. The hotel is really grand and beautiful. If you are into small or funky hotels, the Barcelo is not for you. The rooms are huge, especially the bathroom. It is clean and the air conditioner keeps the room very cool. The employees for the most part were very nice and professional. Extra props to the male employee in the Business Office (he worked on May 3) who printed out my airline boarding pass and the trainer and trainee who work in the currency exchange office. All were very courteous and professional. So why the poor review? One reason was the maintenance man who came up to turn on my air conditioner and was a smart alec, More importantly, the Barcelo Mexico Reforma is the only place during my 12 day Mexico trip that ripped me off. I had inquired with the conceirge department, about taxi fare to a specific address. The employee quoted me a set price of $140 pesos which is about $8-$9 depending on your exchange rate. I thought that was kind of high, since this location was less than 2 miles away. I stated I thought that was kind of high and I would inquire what a taxi off the street would charge me. He stated that the fare would be EXACTLY THE SAME, but it was not safe. THEIR taxis provide the best service for the same price. So I used THEIR taxi, paid the fare plus tip. However, I had to use a taxi off the street to come back. I got into the taxi and asked how much it would be. He pointed to the meter and stated something in Spanish. At that point, I was worried what the fare would be. In a mere few minutes, we were back to the hotel. Which was confusing, since the Barcelo Taxi took alot longer to reach my destination(Same traffic also). To my surprise, the fare was only 20 pesos. Which depending on your exchange rate, is about $1.20. What a difference in the fares!! I was furious. I asked to speak to a Manager and at first was given the runaround. Keeping my insistence, I finally got to speak to a Manager. I told him about the situation and told him I did not appreciate his employee LYING to me about the fare. His first excuse was that it was miscommunication on his employee's part. I stated there was no miscommunication. Then he went the route that the taxis were a separate company and that the Barcelo had no control on what they charged. Then I asked then why did your employee keep referring to the taxis as OUR taxis. He started making an excuse for that. At that point, I knew I was not going to get anywhere with him, waved my hand in disgust and walked away. He could have resolved this issue two ways. Refund the difference ($7-$8) in either a refund or even a drink at the bar. Or, which I would respect more, admit what the hotel is doing and own it. When I was walking away, I thought to myself, I will probably not get my early flight wake up call. Guess what? I didn't. Thank goodness, I kept myself up at 2:30 in the morning or I would have possibly missed my flight. When I mentioned this at check out, they checked, and insisted I received it. I told them I was up since 2:30 am, no wake up call was placed. More dishonesty. In closing, this is really a nice hotel, but be very leery of some of their deceptive practices. If the Quality Manager responds to this with his typical BS, the only way he can resolve these issues is to mail me a refund or at least OWN your hotel's deceitful ways.

    Fernando R, Gerente at Barcelo Mexico Reforma, responded to this review
     Dear Arthur M, Although we sincerely regret your disappointment with your stay in our Barceló México Reforma, we would like to thank you for sharing your comments as it will help us to identify areas of concern and act immediately in order to enhance our future guests' experience among us. We sincerely regret what happened during your last visit regarding the executive taxi service. We would like to inform you that we are currently looking into the inconveniences that you experienced. As you were told by our staff, the executive taxis are a third part company and because of security we always recommend this service they also have an specific rate according to the miles between the hotel and the destination, we do understad that we must told you the rate and the difference between the prices for an outside cab and the exceutive taxis because they are not the same and you could look ahead wich service you prefer. We do apologize as well for not to be able to call you for your wake up call, be sure that we will take action to this matter. I do hope you will consider staying with us again. Please do email me directly at mexicoreforma.calidad@barcelo.com at your earliest convenience as I would like to discuss how can we compensate you. Your comfort and satisfaction are our top priorities. Please rest assured that we are taking all this feedback most seriously. Looking forward to hear form you. Fernando Romero Quality Manager

    Round Indicators
    Guillermo A 05/08/2018 Friends getaway

    “Hotel Barcelo”

    Excellent hotel, great location, great service!!!! I will stay here over and over. Highly recommended, friendly staff, all services open early , ATM in lobby , money exchange and more. Paseo de la reforma near business district.

    Fernando R, Gerente at Barcelo Mexico Reforma, responded to this review
     Dear Guillermo A, Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our Barceló hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations. Looking forward to welcoming you back very soon! Fernando Romero Quality Manager

    Round Indicators
    dperez123 Brooklyn, New York. 05/05/2018 Solo travel

    “Impressed with service”

    Personally, I prefer small boutique hotels, but this place was offering an awesome deal on a premium level suite. This hotel is smack in the middle of Paseo de la Reforma facing the Caballito sculpture (see picture). As a traveler with mobility issues, I usually call the hotel in advance to make sure everything is accessible. The hotel concierge made airport transfer reservations for me at a very reasonable price (~$70 round trip). Upon my arrival, I was met at the front by Francisco who took my bags and escorted me around the front steps to an gently sloping ramp to access the hotel - lots of steps to get to the lobby, but there are ramps or elevators that help with access. The hotel is gigantic (more geared towards conferences and conventions - see pics). Not much charm in the decor and all rooms are accessed by open hallways that face the interior of the hotel (so you get sunlight and a cool view of how vast the building is, but not so private). The reception desk experience was unremarkable- the ladies that staff the desk are more transaction oriented than trying to create a guest experience. However, the concierge staff, especially Francisco, were amazing! For example, every time that I was in the lobby, Francisco came by and asked me if I needed anything. He scored me a table at the busy Sonora Grill restaurant next door during peak lunch hour. He also made sure that I didn’t have to carry a bag or walk long distances at any time. Frankly, I was spoiled beyond belief. Gabriel at the Premium Level guest lounge was another standout. The minute he saw me hobbling in, he got me an easy-access table and proceeded to make me a plate from the buffet breakfast. By the way, the premium level lounge is worth the extra pesos and the view from the 12th floor was spectacular. Manuel was also another standout in the same lounge. The hotel’s location is super safe and convenient to most of the city’s main attractions. My suite (1115) had excellent views of the plaza and the mountains (which you can see during clear days). See pics. The living room is smallish and nothing to boast about, but the bedroom was large and had a sizable closet and a cool partition between the desk area and the bed. The bed itself was super comfy and I loved that there were plenty of charging stations for electronics (next to the bed!). Additionally, I give big kudos for putting light switches for the room at arm’s length from the bed - super convenient (plus the dimmers were a nice touch). The bathroom was very large by suite standards: enclosed toilet, separate tub (room for 1) and shower (nice Spanish tiles) and two large sinks with plenty of space. Overall, pleasantly surprised and I hope Barcelo can make this reincarnation of Crystal and Melia work for them. would definitely come back!

    Fernando R, Gerente at Barcelo Mexico Reforma, responded to this review
     Dear dperez123, Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent holiday experience among us, our main goal being to ensure we keep on delivering unforgettable holiday experiences to our guests, your comments are crucial in this process therefore we highly value your time and constructive critics. Again we thank you for this very kind review of our hotel and we look forward to serving you again in the future. Fernando Romero Quality Manager

    Round Indicators
    Miguel L 05/02/2018 Business

    “Super Stay at Barcelo Reform”

    Completely recommended, super clean rooms, excellent staff, rate! the best, service to the room very good. Also the bar in the lower part super service excellent service by Abraham. The food of all the restaurants excellent definitely a place to return.

    Fernando R, Gerente at Barcelo Mexico Reforma, responded to this review
     Dear Miguel L, Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at Barceló México Reforma. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience.  Fernando Romero Quality Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • may 10 2018
    • Bellingham, Washington
    • Solo travel

    beeloverbeecuz

    “Barcelo Birthday Treat”


    I came for my birthday and left happy! The staff was superior in making sure my stay with them was memorable. I had read earlier they did not have real coffee in the rooms...Not true. Jesus always took care that everything was going well. Alberto Cuadros , the Chef Concierge and his staff answered every question and if they did not know they found the answer.


    Fernando R, Gerente at Barcelo Mexico Reforma, responded to this review
    Dear beeloverbeecuz, Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at Barceló México Reforma. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience. We will share your comments with Alberto and Jesus, they will be delighted to hear from you. Looking forward to welcoming you back very soon! Fernando Romero Quality Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • may 9 2018
    • Jacksonville, Florida
    • Solo travel

    Arthur M

    “GREAT HOTEL, BUT SOME STAFF DISHONEST”


    I recently stayed at the Barcelo Mexico Reforma as part of a Gate 1 tour and one day extra on my own. First, the positive. The hotel is really grand and beautiful. If you are into small or funky hotels, the Barcelo is not for you. The rooms are huge, especially the bathroom. It is clean and the air conditioner keeps the room very cool. The employees for the most part were very nice and professional. Extra props to the male employee in the Business Office (he worked on May 3) who printed out my airline boarding pass and the trainer and trainee who work in the currency exchange office. All were very courteous and professional. So why the poor review? One reason was the maintenance man who came up to turn on my air conditioner and was a smart alec, More importantly, the Barcelo Mexico Reforma is the only place during my 12 day Mexico trip that ripped me off. I had inquired with the conceirge department, about taxi fare to a specific address. The employee quoted me a set price of $140 pesos which is about $8-$9 depending on your exchange rate. I thought that was kind of high, since this location was less than 2 miles away. I stated I thought that was kind of high and I would inquire what a taxi off the street would charge me. He stated that the fare would be EXACTLY THE SAME, but it was not safe. THEIR taxis provide the best service for the same price. So I used THEIR taxi, paid the fare plus tip. However, I had to use a taxi off the street to come back. I got into the taxi and asked how much it would be. He pointed to the meter and stated something in Spanish. At that point, I was worried what the fare would be. In a mere few minutes, we were back to the hotel. Which was confusing, since the Barcelo Taxi took alot longer to reach my destination(Same traffic also). To my surprise, the fare was only 20 pesos. Which depending on your exchange rate, is about $1.20. What a difference in the fares!! I was furious. I asked to speak to a Manager and at first was given the runaround. Keeping my insistence, I finally got to speak to a Manager. I told him about the situation and told him I did not appreciate his employee LYING to me about the fare. His first excuse was that it was miscommunication on his employee's part. I stated there was no miscommunication. Then he went the route that the taxis were a separate company and that the Barcelo had no control on what they charged. Then I asked then why did your employee keep referring to the taxis as OUR taxis. He started making an excuse for that. At that point, I knew I was not going to get anywhere with him, waved my hand in disgust and walked away. He could have resolved this issue two ways. Refund the difference ($7-$8) in either a refund or even a drink at the bar. Or, which I would respect more, admit what the hotel is doing and own it. When I was walking away, I thought to myself, I will probably not get my early flight wake up call. Guess what? I didn't. Thank goodness, I kept myself up at 2:30 in the morning or I would have possibly missed my flight. When I mentioned this at check out, they checked, and insisted I received it. I told them I was up since 2:30 am, no wake up call was placed. More dishonesty. In closing, this is really a nice hotel, but be very leery of some of their deceptive practices. If the Quality Manager responds to this with his typical BS, the only way he can resolve these issues is to mail me a refund or at least OWN your hotel's deceitful ways.


    Fernando R, Gerente at Barcelo Mexico Reforma, responded to this review
    Dear Arthur M, Although we sincerely regret your disappointment with your stay in our Barceló México Reforma, we would like to thank you for sharing your comments as it will help us to identify areas of concern and act immediately in order to enhance our future guests' experience among us. We sincerely regret what happened during your last visit regarding the executive taxi service. We would like to inform you that we are currently looking into the inconveniences that you experienced. As you were told by our staff, the executive taxis are a third part company and because of security we always recommend this service they also have an specific rate according to the miles between the hotel and the destination, we do understad that we must told you the rate and the difference between the prices for an outside cab and the exceutive taxis because they are not the same and you could look ahead wich service you prefer. We do apologize as well for not to be able to call you for your wake up call, be sure that we will take action to this matter. I do hope you will consider staying with us again. Please do email me directly at mexicoreforma.calidad@barcelo.com at your earliest convenience as I would like to discuss how can we compensate you. Your comfort and satisfaction are our top priorities. Please rest assured that we are taking all this feedback most seriously. Looking forward to hear form you. Fernando Romero Quality Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • may 8 2018
    • Friends getaway

    Guillermo A

    “Hotel Barcelo”


    Excellent hotel, great location, great service!!!! I will stay here over and over. Highly recommended, friendly staff, all services open early , ATM in lobby , money exchange and more. Paseo de la reforma near business district.


    Fernando R, Gerente at Barcelo Mexico Reforma, responded to this review
    Dear Guillermo A, Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our Barceló hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations. Looking forward to welcoming you back very soon! Fernando Romero Quality Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • may 5 2018
    • Brooklyn, New York
    • Solo travel

    dperez123

    “Impressed with service”


    Personally, I prefer small boutique hotels, but this place was offering an awesome deal on a premium level suite. This hotel is smack in the middle of Paseo de la Reforma facing the Caballito sculpture (see picture). As a traveler with mobility issues, I usually call the hotel in advance to make sure everything is accessible. The hotel concierge made airport transfer reservations for me at a very reasonable price (~$70 round trip). Upon my arrival, I was met at the front by Francisco who took my bags and escorted me around the front steps to an gently sloping ramp to access the hotel - lots of steps to get to the lobby, but there are ramps or elevators that help with access. The hotel is gigantic (more geared towards conferences and conventions - see pics). Not much charm in the decor and all rooms are accessed by open hallways that face the interior of the hotel (so you get sunlight and a cool view of how vast the building is, but not so private). The reception desk experience was unremarkable- the ladies that staff the desk are more transaction oriented than trying to create a guest experience. However, the concierge staff, especially Francisco, were amazing! For example, every time that I was in the lobby, Francisco came by and asked me if I needed anything. He scored me a table at the busy Sonora Grill restaurant next door during peak lunch hour. He also made sure that I didn’t have to carry a bag or walk long distances at any time. Frankly, I was spoiled beyond belief. Gabriel at the Premium Level guest lounge was another standout. The minute he saw me hobbling in, he got me an easy-access table and proceeded to make me a plate from the buffet breakfast. By the way, the premium level lounge is worth the extra pesos and the view from the 12th floor was spectacular. Manuel was also another standout in the same lounge. The hotel’s location is super safe and convenient to most of the city’s main attractions. My suite (1115) had excellent views of the plaza and the mountains (which you can see during clear days). See pics. The living room is smallish and nothing to boast about, but the bedroom was large and had a sizable closet and a cool partition between the desk area and the bed. The bed itself was super comfy and I loved that there were plenty of charging stations for electronics (next to the bed!). Additionally, I give big kudos for putting light switches for the room at arm’s length from the bed - super convenient (plus the dimmers were a nice touch). The bathroom was very large by suite standards: enclosed toilet, separate tub (room for 1) and shower (nice Spanish tiles) and two large sinks with plenty of space. Overall, pleasantly surprised and I hope Barcelo can make this reincarnation of Crystal and Melia work for them. would definitely come back!


    Fernando R, Gerente at Barcelo Mexico Reforma, responded to this review
    Dear dperez123, Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent holiday experience among us, our main goal being to ensure we keep on delivering unforgettable holiday experiences to our guests, your comments are crucial in this process therefore we highly value your time and constructive critics. Again we thank you for this very kind review of our hotel and we look forward to serving you again in the future. Fernando Romero Quality Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • may 2 2018
    • Business

    Miguel L

    “Super Stay at Barcelo Reform”


    Completely recommended, super clean rooms, excellent staff, rate! the best, service to the room very good. Also the bar in the lower part super service excellent service by Abraham. The food of all the restaurants excellent definitely a place to return.


    Fernando R, Gerente at Barcelo Mexico Reforma, responded to this review
    Dear Miguel L, Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at Barceló México Reforma. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience.  Fernando Romero Quality Manager

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

    to

      Incorrect dates
      Please enter valid dates

    NIGHTS

    (Optional dates)

    0 nights Selected

    A discount* or promotional code (also appears as “promo code”) is a combination of letters and/or numbers that gives a discount on the normal rate. If you have a discount code, enter it when booking and you will receive a discount on your booking. Once you have entered this code, the prices shown in step 1 of the booking process will already include the relevant discount. 

    The discount does not apply to prices on extras and/or extra services, neither does it apply to prices on last available rooms. You can only apply one discount code per booking which will only be valid at the time of making your booking.** 

    The maximum amount of accumulated discount will be at most 25% off the rate for hotels in Latin America and at most 20% off the rate for European and Mediterranean hotels. It is possible to combine a discount code with a special discount*** (discounts when you book multiple rooms, senior, resident, millennials, large families, etc.) and the discount for being a my Barceló client. 

    *Barceló reserves the right to accept the application of advertised discounts. 

    **The application of the discount code is not valid upon arrival at the hotel; the discount is only applicable at the time of booking. 

    ***The hotel will request to see valid official documents to verify compliance with the conditions for the discount codes and special discounts. In the event of not providing valid official documents or non-compliance, the hotel reserves the right to charge the amounts that were deducted from the original reservation.

    Loading rates...
    The hotel does not have any rates allocated to it

    Best online price guaranteed

    If you find a better rate, we will top it.

    We will return the difference and we will also apply an additional 10% discount to the cost of the final booking. For more information...

    ;