Hotel Beach Views  Occidental Grand Xcaret Resort

Royal Level at Occidental at Xcaret Destination

Texto: 33397 The most select part of this 5-star resort in Cancun, which includes admission to the Xcaret Park and many privileges. Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juárez Km. 282 | 77710 | Riviera Maya, Quintana Roo || México
+ 52 984 871 540 0 + 52 984 871 5406
Royal Level at Occidental at Xcaret Destination Texto: 33397 4 out of 5 based on 13815 ratings. 13815 user reviews.
Royal Level at Occidental at Xcaret Destination reviewed by angelinanoc on . Do not buy a time share Depending on what you get, you save maybe 300 dollars per person. Plus, the service is the same and the sales tactics unethical and brutal. I bought the time share back in 2015 and wasn't able to use... Rating: 1
map

Royal Level at Occidental at Xcaret Destination

Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juárez Km. 282   77710   Riviera Maya, Quintana Roo     México  


Places of Interest

63.2 km  Cancun International Airport

5 min. Playa del Carmen

58 km Tulum

41 km Xel há

Premios y Reconocimientos Prizes and awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Royal Level at Occidental at Xcaret Destination

4.0/5 Round Indicators
| 13868 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


GUESTS’ SCORE

Excellent

45% Complete

6278

Very good

31% Complete

4413

Average

12% Complete

1744

Poor

5% Complete

812

Very poor

4% Complete

621

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    14gojetsgo 02/16/2018 Couples

    “Another amazing time 💜”

    Second time at this resort and STILL not disappointed! Great views, tons of wildlife. AMAZING people! Otilio at the buffet, Luis and Alfredo at lobby bar, Miguel at swim up, and Alma make the trip! The staff are so friendly and always willing to help. They worked day and night (literally) to try to fix up the lagoon (neighbouring hotel dumped a bunch of sand for their beach and it ended up stopping the water flow from ocean) but they allowed people to be on the ocean beach which some people liked better. Lots of walking, which we loved to walk off all the food and booze! They do have little carts going around picking up people if you do get tired of walking.Great alcohol selection and restaurants for everyone. Rooms were clean and fridge was stocked. Can’t say enough great things about this place. Quick taxi ride to Playa del Carmen, and central to some good day trips. If you get the chance, GO!
    Round Indicators
    stoonfriend Saskatoon. 02/16/2018 Family

    “Very clean”

    Rooms- Some of the reviews I was reading before I left, I thought I should upgrade to the Royal level but I am glad I did not. All of our rooms were extremely clean and no problems. I would suggest a pool view and not be looking at the river that runs through the resort. Breakfast- We went every morning to the restaurant by the ocean and very much enjoyed it. Lunch- We ate at the swim up bar restaurant and they have the most AMAZING chicken wings and the food was always hot. Supper- We ate alot at the buffet as it had something for everyone in our group. We did eat at the Italian 1 night and yes they are very strict on the dress code for men. Long pants and closed shoes but woman can wear open toe and don't need to make any reservations for any of the restaurants. Food was alright. The resort is very big and lots of walking, which is good because you always over eat on holidays. There is lots of choices to lay by 1 of the pools. We found the cleanest pool was the one that was partly used by members.Pools were cold but you got used to them fairly quick when it is hot out. We did not have to go down early hours in the morning to reserve chairs either which was a nice treat. The lagoon that they have by the beach is so beautiful but too bad no one could use it as it smells bad. Very limited space by the beach to sit down there. Shows on the stage were ok but we really enjoyed the music in the lobby. 1 night they had a rock band with a female singing cover songs, amazing! Watch out for the time share people sitting in each of the buildings.I personally would not go back because I like to see the beach from where ever I am on the resort and to enjoy a large beach to sit on. I would recommend this hotel as it is clean and very friendly.
    Round Indicators
    DillyKent Kent. 02/15/2018 Couples

    “Amazing Place!”

    We went for two weeks Over Xmas and new year period. Unfortunately we had a virus that most English people had so was on antibiotics etc just before we went so it did restrict us. But I can really reccommend this fabulous place. So much to do and see. All the animals, it was lovely! The Eco park which was attached to the place was beautiful. Just wish we were well enough to really enjoy it. Plenty of entertainment and things to do. Lots of restaurants...only thing was if you were there for two weeks the food did get a little bit repetitive as the restaurants didn't change their menus. Don't get talked into going to see about the time share places.....

    OccidentalatXcaret, Social Media & Customer Care Coordinator at Occidental at Xcaret Destination, responded to this review
     Dear DillyKent, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback on your recent experience at Occidental at Xcaret Destination. Our goal is to serve all our guests with the highest level of service and satisfaction. We are always concerned about guests’ wellbeing and strive to make their holiday an unforgettable experience. We loved how in a few words you described the incredible experience. We do our very best to ensure our guests are taken care of, from the moment they arrive until the time of departure. We would like to express our most sincere gratefulness for your kind words about the service you received. We appreciated your sincere and constructive comments. Please know that one of our main goals is to work on a daily basis to constantly improve our services and guest satisfaction. We hope to have the pleasure to host you again. Regards.

    Round Indicators
    Rachel C 02/15/2018 Family

    “2 week Winter Holiday”

    We booked this holiday as a package through Blue Bay Travel it was a Thomas Cook Package Holiday We traveled as a group of 7 to celebrate 2 birthdays. On check in we stipulated we required rooms close together in the same block, when we got to the rooms we were allocated the wrong room and had to swap about ourselves. The block concierge did a disappearing act so we were just left to it! No idea how to get to anywhere but found the main buffet restaurant eventually! The positives of this hotel is the animals that live here they were a joy to see and be among, such a shame that Americans cannot read the signs and choose to entice the animals with food from the buffets, before long someone will be bit - shame that staff don't enforce this rule to the dim tourists! The negatives namely the 'bog' they refer to as the beach - green with algae and seaweed and having a deep smell of sewage which spoils your day there. How anyone can use it is beyond me - I wouldn't let my kids play anywhere near it but some did.We were told many different stories as to why the sea no longer comes in to the man made bay, namely; earthquake, workmen dumping sand and storms. So just be prepared not to swim in it! Although this last weekend workmen were digging a trench to try and resolve the issues so therefore cordoning off part of the new beach! The food. Cold and salty - nothing was hot unless you had it cooked fresh (like an omelette) The specialty restaurants were not any better and just tried to be extra special by giving you the a la carte experience! Basically small portions of something you could find in the buffet all made fancy with a few chosen leaves. The main buffet is by far the worst! its so cold with the air con running you need a coat its very noisy and not all a pleasant dinning experience! The beach buffet is the better choice for breakfast and you can enjoy without the air con experience! the bacon sometimes is grilled to death so inedible. The pool bar for lunch was our favorite as we had Ortilio (hope I have spelled his name correctly) the waiter who was always helpful and polite a credit to this restaurant! Although after two weeks of the same lunch every day it got boring - please change your menus occasionally. Drinks are acceptable some barman do a better job than others with the cocktails but be aware frozen drinks do not come with straws (bring your own) Oh and why have a coffee shop that charges in the lobby?? Our room was great the bed very comfortable and the shower was great! we had a pool view and a great maid Rosalinda (block 20 room 106) you could really tell when she had a day off! she looked after the room impeccably and made an extra effort when it was my birthday to decorate beautifully! it was the only special thing the hotel did - no fruit, no flowers and certainly no champagne! We had noisy neighbors but that is always expected in a hotel - why put a screaming baby in between two adult only rooms is beyond me but that is what they did to us! Tours we booked with Ortiz in reception who was excellent - all tours were put on the room, but when we came to check out one room had been charged for a tour that we did not book obviously an error on the agents part but it took almost 2 hours to sort out and the receptionist was completely useless!! so please be aware when booking a trip check your room bill as soon as possible. We did chichen itza and Tulum both totally awesome days and then decided to book the park next door which was a fabulous day! shame that Barcelo now charge guests - this used to be free to guests of the hotel. We had a couple of items stolen by the pool it was reported to guest services but I never had a response or acknowledgment - very disappointing and upsetting Overall the staff work hard but some points need to be addressed mainly the food the terrible WI-Fi you hardly get 10 mins a day on the free Wi-Fi in reception this day an age it should be included with so many people relying it for communication. The location and staff is great the beach and food is not good.

    OccidentalatXcaret, Social Media & Customer Care Coordinator at Occidental at Xcaret Destination, responded to this review
     Hi Rachel, We would like to clarify that in our web site and brochures we do not sell the hotel as a beach resort. We specify we are focus on the jungle, the Xcaret Park. The caleta is not available right now because of natural reasons the ocean brought a sandbank at the entrance getting all the water and seaweed stucked but for the same natural reasons we do now have a beautiful sandy beach instead. We do not know how long the beach will be available, but at the moment, you will be able to enjoy it and of course our services will continue the same. We are working hard to recover our beautiful caleta but you will enjoy the beach meanwhile. We are sorry to read that you did not enjoy our culinary offerings at the resort. We have five specialty restaurants that do not require reservations. They include the steak house, the Mexican gourmet restaurant, the Mediterranean restaurant, the oriental restaurant and our seafood restaurant. They are all hugely popular with guests, often receiving great feedback. Our main buffet is quite popular as well, since we change the theme every night. Our beach club restaurant, snack bar, Paco’s Tacos and La Piazza are popular for snacks. It surprises me to hear that you did not enjoy food from any of these places. I will share your comments with the Food & Beverage Manager immediately. I do apologize for the annoyance the noise caused you, but we are a familiar resort, however, we are always pleased to accommodate guest in another area if requested. Please accept our apologies for the lack of service, I never like to read such comments nevertheless I appreciate your honest opinions and this will assist us to ensure we maintain focused on providing only the very best to our guests. the problem was directly with your travel agent and they do not stay in the resort all the time so it took us time to find them out of the property to clarify this situation. Please be aware that in the Check-in card you signed, you agreed with our terms and conditions, that the hotel is not responsible of value objects and money outside the room or sabfe box. Regarding your comments about the Wi-Fi, Kubi is our new supplier, they offer 1 hour per person free at the main lobby which is really good improvement for our guests, the WiFi is also available at the rooms and other areas but with an extra fee, however, we cannot control the prices. I’m very sorry to hear about your disappointing experience at Occidental at Xcaret Destination. We pride ourselves on providing guests with amazing and memorable vacations, offering high quality service, and we regret that this is not what you experienced.

    Round Indicators
    mark a 02/15/2018 Couples

    “This hotel is not a five star . The only free WiFi is for one hour per day and you have to be in the lobby to use it.”

    This hotel is not a five star .The Wi-Fi is only free for one hour per day and you have to be in the lobby to use it .The person at the resption don't know his name the fat one was very rude and unhelpful we were kept waiting for Four hours for a room when our flight was delayed for 45 hours

    OccidentalatXcaret, Social Media & Customer Care Coordinator at Occidental at Xcaret Destination, responded to this review
     Dear mark a, Regarding your comments about the Wi-Fi, Kubi is our new supplier, they offer 1 hour per person free at the main lobby which is really good improvement for our guests, the WiFi is also available at the rooms and other areas but with an extra fee, however, we cannot control the prices. Please accept our apologies for the lack of service, I never like to read such comments nevertheless I appreciate your honest opinions and this will assist us to ensure we maintain focused on providing only the very best to our guests. All comments have been addressed and I can assure you that immediate improvements have been made. Regards.

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 16 2018
    • Couples

    14gojetsgo

    “Another amazing time 💜”


    Second time at this resort and STILL not disappointed! Great views, tons of wildlife. AMAZING people! Otilio at the buffet, Luis and Alfredo at lobby bar, Miguel at swim up, and Alma make the trip! The staff are so friendly and always willing to help. They worked day and night (literally) to try to fix up the lagoon (neighbouring hotel dumped a bunch of sand for their beach and it ended up stopping the water flow from ocean) but they allowed people to be on the ocean beach which some people liked better. Lots of walking, which we loved to walk off all the food and booze! They do have little carts going around picking up people if you do get tired of walking.Great alcohol selection and restaurants for everyone. Rooms were clean and fridge was stocked. Can’t say enough great things about this place. Quick taxi ride to Playa del Carmen, and central to some good day trips. If you get the chance, GO!


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 16 2018
    • Saskatoon
    • Family

    stoonfriend

    “Very clean”


    Rooms- Some of the reviews I was reading before I left, I thought I should upgrade to the Royal level but I am glad I did not. All of our rooms were extremely clean and no problems. I would suggest a pool view and not be looking at the river that runs through the resort. Breakfast- We went every morning to the restaurant by the ocean and very much enjoyed it. Lunch- We ate at the swim up bar restaurant and they have the most AMAZING chicken wings and the food was always hot. Supper- We ate alot at the buffet as it had something for everyone in our group. We did eat at the Italian 1 night and yes they are very strict on the dress code for men. Long pants and closed shoes but woman can wear open toe and don't need to make any reservations for any of the restaurants. Food was alright. The resort is very big and lots of walking, which is good because you always over eat on holidays. There is lots of choices to lay by 1 of the pools. We found the cleanest pool was the one that was partly used by members.Pools were cold but you got used to them fairly quick when it is hot out. We did not have to go down early hours in the morning to reserve chairs either which was a nice treat. The lagoon that they have by the beach is so beautiful but too bad no one could use it as it smells bad. Very limited space by the beach to sit down there. Shows on the stage were ok but we really enjoyed the music in the lobby. 1 night they had a rock band with a female singing cover songs, amazing! Watch out for the time share people sitting in each of the buildings.I personally would not go back because I like to see the beach from where ever I am on the resort and to enjoy a large beach to sit on. I would recommend this hotel as it is clean and very friendly.


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 15 2018
    • Kent
    • Couples

    DillyKent

    “Amazing Place!”


    We went for two weeks Over Xmas and new year period. Unfortunately we had a virus that most English people had so was on antibiotics etc just before we went so it did restrict us. But I can really reccommend this fabulous place. So much to do and see. All the animals, it was lovely! The Eco park which was attached to the place was beautiful. Just wish we were well enough to really enjoy it. Plenty of entertainment and things to do. Lots of restaurants...only thing was if you were there for two weeks the food did get a little bit repetitive as the restaurants didn't change their menus. Don't get talked into going to see about the time share places.....


    OccidentalatXcaret, Social Media & Customer Care Coordinator at Occidental at Xcaret Destination, responded to this review
    Dear DillyKent, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback on your recent experience at Occidental at Xcaret Destination. Our goal is to serve all our guests with the highest level of service and satisfaction. We are always concerned about guests’ wellbeing and strive to make their holiday an unforgettable experience. We loved how in a few words you described the incredible experience. We do our very best to ensure our guests are taken care of, from the moment they arrive until the time of departure. We would like to express our most sincere gratefulness for your kind words about the service you received. We appreciated your sincere and constructive comments. Please know that one of our main goals is to work on a daily basis to constantly improve our services and guest satisfaction. We hope to have the pleasure to host you again. Regards.

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 15 2018
    • Family

    Rachel C

    “2 week Winter Holiday”


    We booked this holiday as a package through Blue Bay Travel it was a Thomas Cook Package Holiday We traveled as a group of 7 to celebrate 2 birthdays. On check in we stipulated we required rooms close together in the same block, when we got to the rooms we were allocated the wrong room and had to swap about ourselves. The block concierge did a disappearing act so we were just left to it! No idea how to get to anywhere but found the main buffet restaurant eventually! The positives of this hotel is the animals that live here they were a joy to see and be among, such a shame that Americans cannot read the signs and choose to entice the animals with food from the buffets, before long someone will be bit - shame that staff don't enforce this rule to the dim tourists! The negatives namely the 'bog' they refer to as the beach - green with algae and seaweed and having a deep smell of sewage which spoils your day there. How anyone can use it is beyond me - I wouldn't let my kids play anywhere near it but some did.We were told many different stories as to why the sea no longer comes in to the man made bay, namely; earthquake, workmen dumping sand and storms. So just be prepared not to swim in it! Although this last weekend workmen were digging a trench to try and resolve the issues so therefore cordoning off part of the new beach! The food. Cold and salty - nothing was hot unless you had it cooked fresh (like an omelette) The specialty restaurants were not any better and just tried to be extra special by giving you the a la carte experience! Basically small portions of something you could find in the buffet all made fancy with a few chosen leaves. The main buffet is by far the worst! its so cold with the air con running you need a coat its very noisy and not all a pleasant dinning experience! The beach buffet is the better choice for breakfast and you can enjoy without the air con experience! the bacon sometimes is grilled to death so inedible. The pool bar for lunch was our favorite as we had Ortilio (hope I have spelled his name correctly) the waiter who was always helpful and polite a credit to this restaurant! Although after two weeks of the same lunch every day it got boring - please change your menus occasionally. Drinks are acceptable some barman do a better job than others with the cocktails but be aware frozen drinks do not come with straws (bring your own) Oh and why have a coffee shop that charges in the lobby?? Our room was great the bed very comfortable and the shower was great! we had a pool view and a great maid Rosalinda (block 20 room 106) you could really tell when she had a day off! she looked after the room impeccably and made an extra effort when it was my birthday to decorate beautifully! it was the only special thing the hotel did - no fruit, no flowers and certainly no champagne! We had noisy neighbors but that is always expected in a hotel - why put a screaming baby in between two adult only rooms is beyond me but that is what they did to us! Tours we booked with Ortiz in reception who was excellent - all tours were put on the room, but when we came to check out one room had been charged for a tour that we did not book obviously an error on the agents part but it took almost 2 hours to sort out and the receptionist was completely useless!! so please be aware when booking a trip check your room bill as soon as possible. We did chichen itza and Tulum both totally awesome days and then decided to book the park next door which was a fabulous day! shame that Barcelo now charge guests - this used to be free to guests of the hotel. We had a couple of items stolen by the pool it was reported to guest services but I never had a response or acknowledgment - very disappointing and upsetting Overall the staff work hard but some points need to be addressed mainly the food the terrible WI-Fi you hardly get 10 mins a day on the free Wi-Fi in reception this day an age it should be included with so many people relying it for communication. The location and staff is great the beach and food is not good.


    OccidentalatXcaret, Social Media & Customer Care Coordinator at Occidental at Xcaret Destination, responded to this review
    Hi Rachel, We would like to clarify that in our web site and brochures we do not sell the hotel as a beach resort. We specify we are focus on the jungle, the Xcaret Park. The caleta is not available right now because of natural reasons the ocean brought a sandbank at the entrance getting all the water and seaweed stucked but for the same natural reasons we do now have a beautiful sandy beach instead. We do not know how long the beach will be available, but at the moment, you will be able to enjoy it and of course our services will continue the same. We are working hard to recover our beautiful caleta but you will enjoy the beach meanwhile. We are sorry to read that you did not enjoy our culinary offerings at the resort. We have five specialty restaurants that do not require reservations. They include the steak house, the Mexican gourmet restaurant, the Mediterranean restaurant, the oriental restaurant and our seafood restaurant. They are all hugely popular with guests, often receiving great feedback. Our main buffet is quite popular as well, since we change the theme every night. Our beach club restaurant, snack bar, Paco’s Tacos and La Piazza are popular for snacks. It surprises me to hear that you did not enjoy food from any of these places. I will share your comments with the Food & Beverage Manager immediately. I do apologize for the annoyance the noise caused you, but we are a familiar resort, however, we are always pleased to accommodate guest in another area if requested. Please accept our apologies for the lack of service, I never like to read such comments nevertheless I appreciate your honest opinions and this will assist us to ensure we maintain focused on providing only the very best to our guests. the problem was directly with your travel agent and they do not stay in the resort all the time so it took us time to find them out of the property to clarify this situation. Please be aware that in the Check-in card you signed, you agreed with our terms and conditions, that the hotel is not responsible of value objects and money outside the room or sabfe box. Regarding your comments about the Wi-Fi, Kubi is our new supplier, they offer 1 hour per person free at the main lobby which is really good improvement for our guests, the WiFi is also available at the rooms and other areas but with an extra fee, however, we cannot control the prices. I’m very sorry to hear about your disappointing experience at Occidental at Xcaret Destination. We pride ourselves on providing guests with amazing and memorable vacations, offering high quality service, and we regret that this is not what you experienced.

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 15 2018
    • Couples

    mark a

    “This hotel is not a five star . The only free WiFi is for one hour per day and you have to be in the lobby to use it.”


    This hotel is not a five star .The Wi-Fi is only free for one hour per day and you have to be in the lobby to use it .The person at the resption don't know his name the fat one was very rude and unhelpful we were kept waiting for Four hours for a room when our flight was delayed for 45 hours


    OccidentalatXcaret, Social Media & Customer Care Coordinator at Occidental at Xcaret Destination, responded to this review
    Dear mark a, Regarding your comments about the Wi-Fi, Kubi is our new supplier, they offer 1 hour per person free at the main lobby which is really good improvement for our guests, the WiFi is also available at the rooms and other areas but with an extra fee, however, we cannot control the prices. Please accept our apologies for the lack of service, I never like to read such comments nevertheless I appreciate your honest opinions and this will assist us to ensure we maintain focused on providing only the very best to our guests. All comments have been addressed and I can assure you that immediate improvements have been made. Regards.

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z