Offer exclusive to bookings made through Barcelo.com

Get a free room upgrade, free Wi-Fi, room service, access to a private lounge and much more when you book our Royal Level* categories through Barcelo.com

*Valid for stays from 1 February to 31 December, 2017. Bookings made during the month of February. Restrictions apply. Cannot be combined with other promotions. Blackout and restricted room capacity may apply. Promotion valid for Royal Level Luxury rooms and Royal Level Junior Suites.

Hotel Beach Views  Occidental Grand Xcaret Resort

Resort Credit
Up to US$500 per room and stay in Resort Credit discount vouchers.*
* The Resort Credit discounts cannot be combined with other discounts, offers or promotions. Additional restrictions may apply. Valid until 31/12/2017.

Unlimited Xcaret Xperience
A package designed specially so that hotel guests can enjoy unlimited access to the Xcaret Park throughout their stay.

Royal Level: a boutique hotel within the hotel
Guests can enjoy a personalised service, VIP amenities, an exclusive swimming pool and hot tub, solarium with waiter service and much more. 

*Restrictions apply.

Royal Level at Occidental at Xcaret Destination

Texto: 33397 The most select part of this 5-star resort in Cancun, which includes admission to the Xcaret Park and many privileges. Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juárez Km. 282 | 77710 Riviera Maya, Quintana Roo | México
+ 52 984 871 540 0 + 52 984 871 5406
Royal Level at Occidental at Xcaret Destination Texto: 33397 4 out of 5 based on 11233 ratings. 11233 user reviews.
Royal Level at Occidental at Xcaret Destination reviewed by raven421 on . Didn't want to leave! Just got back from the Occidental Xcaret - no one from our group wanted to leave. The kids can't wait to go back! We stayed in Bldg 21 which was a great location -halfway to the restaurants and... Rating: 5
map

Royal Level at Occidental at Xcaret Destination

Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juárez Km. 282   77710 Riviera Maya, Quintana Roo   México  


Places of Interest

63.2 km  Cancun International Airport

5 mins. Playa del Carmen

Premios y Reconocimientos Prizes and awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Royal Level at Occidental at Xcaret Destination

4.0/5 Round Indicators
| 11245 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


GUESTS’ SCORE

Excellent

43% Complete

4909

Very good

32% Complete

3698

Average

12% Complete

1448

Poor

6% Complete

679

Very poor

4% Complete

511

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    Fierce-Spicy-Chilli London, United Kingdom. 02/22/2017 Couples

    “Decent hotel resort with plenty to do”

    My partner and I spent a week in the Occidental at Xcaret with unlimited use of the Xcaret Park, which is next to the hotel. The following is my summary (in no particular order) of the positives and negatives of the hotel resort. Positives: * Every member of the staff we have encountered was friendly, efficient and very helpful (and not doing it for the tips), they seemed genuinely happy in doing their jobs - this is by far the singularly most positive thing. * The quality, variety, and freshness of food and beverages in the buffet restaurant was exceptionally good. * Plenty of wildlife and plantation to be enjoyed within the hotel resort. * Guest room (we had a junior suite) was kept immaculate, the tea/coffee and mini bar were stocked up daily. * Plenty of sunbeds and towels. * Short taxi ride (160 pesos) into 5th Avenue, Playa de Carman where there are plenty of shops, restaurants and bars - good to visit for a change of scene. * Xcaret Park really close to the hotel and has plenty to offer, from dolphin encounter, snorkelling, underground river to the nightly show - particularly enjoyed the underground river, a great experience. * The whole resort is kept immaculate and very clean. * There were nightly entertainment at the theatre, the courtyard around the theatre was a nice place to enjoy a drink or to browse the stalls selling local crafts. Negatives: * The specialty restaurants were not of the standards expected. The sushi from the Asian restaurant was very bland, the whole grilled fish served up in the Seafood restaurant was not gutted (I have never been served a whole fish that has not been gutted) and was seriously overcooked as it was really tough, the lasagna in the Italian restaurant was over seasoned and was layered with tomato sauce instead of Béchamel sauce, the tiramisu was hard instead of soft. * Wifi - this was/is a bone of contention with many guests. you get one hour of free wifi per device per day in the lobby area. However, if you are a member of the Barcelo group (free to join) then wifi was meant to be complimentary. We showed them our Barcelo membership on check-in and was told that we didn't quality for complimentary wifi as we didn't book through Barcelo (we were not told this at the time of joining Barcelo). We then discussed this at Guest Services and the lady there was very supportive and undersatnding. She filed a report that evening and asked us to return in the morning. When we returned the next morning we were offered complimentary wifi for one device for the duration of our stay. I cannot emphasis enough on how helpful Guest Services was on this matter. * There were no sun umbrella around the main pool, however, sun umbrellas were available around the smaller pool in the "quiet" area. * The staff were keen to promote the "Royal" section of the resort, as such they would try and get you to sit through a 90 minute presentation in order to receive your free gift (this was meant to be given to every guest anyway), we were offered this opportunity several occasions, including on our day of departure and we have turned it down on each occasion. * The man-made beach was a bit disappointing (we visited a different resort in Riviera Maya 2 years ago and stayed on a beautiful stretch of natural beach). * It is a very big resort so plenty of walking/strolling so this needs to be bear in mind for people that's less mobile.
    Round Indicators
    55debM2015 Comber, Canada. 02/21/2017 Family

    “Beautiful property and great food!”

    We enjoyed our week at the Occidental very much! It is a beautiful property and we loved having the monkeys around swinging from the trees. We see everyone working so hard keeping the grounds clean and kept up and all with a smile and a greeting. The food was great! We really have nothing bad to say about the buffet or the 'a la carts'. No reservations were needed to any of the restaurants and they took you on first come first serve basis. We never waited for a table exempt at the Italian but it was only 15 mins. We also ate around 6-630 while it seemed most ate later so the wait was longer. It was nice not to need a reservation. The buffet food was very good and yes some food was cold but it is a buffet feeding many people. The food options were never empty and always lots to chose from. The wait staff was very friendly and polite always working so hard! You will not go hungry! One thing we were disappointed in was that you had to buy your special coffee at the coffee bar. It did not come with the all inclusive offerings. I did buy a frappacino one night while sitting in the lobby. You can get cuppacino and coffee in the buffet or restaurants just not in the lobby. As for the pools, they were wonderful! Always a chair to be found in one area or another. The beach area had plenty of chairs also but a little harder to find a chair in the shade unless you go early. There is an adult area further down at the water where there is a salt water pool surrounded by rock, being filled with the ocean waves which was a fun place to sit. If you like to snorkel the beach area is full of fish to see which the kids loved as well as us! If this resort had a better stretch of beach other than this inlet we would definitely give this hotel a 5* I did miss the option of a long stretch of beach to walk on ,but this inlet was nice too. The atmosphere and animals and friendly staff make up for what we missed. The proximity to Playa Del Carmen was excellent! Far enough from town and close enough for a taxi ride. (160 peso) We did not make to to the Xcaret park next door but this hotel has easy access to the park and that is a plus! Overall, this was a wonderful trip and we would stay at this resort again but in a different area of the property. We even thought about coming next year with all the family, including grandchildren!

    OccidentalatXcaret, Social Media Coordinator at Occidental at Xcaret Destination, responded to this review
     We appreciated your sincere and constructive comments. Please know that one of our main goals is to work on a daily basis to constantly improve our services and guest satisfaction. We would like to clarify that in our web site and brochures we do not sell the hotel as a beach resort. We specify we are focus on the jungle, the Xcaret Park and we that we have a handmade beach. The beach at our hotel, it has been constructed with the purpose of offering our guests a safe environment to swim and enjoy the underwater landscape that is natural to the area. Many families enjoy the beach as it is free from strong currents and large waves. I’m sorry that our beach did not fulfill your expectations. It was a pleasure to host your holiday and hopefully you will provide us an opportunity to host your holiday once again.

    Round Indicators
    ParadiseGuys Brantford, Canada. 02/21/2017 Friends getaway

    “Very nice resort”

    We have been to a few of the resorts in this area and found this hotel to be beautifully laid out with great walking paths through out. Food is exactly what a 4.5 star should have. Best thing about the ala cartes is that you do not have to make reservations, just go to the restaurant. I was disappointed that the coffee bar in the bottom lobby was not included in the "AI" price. (first time that has ever happened) I would definitely recommend this resort, as long as you are pool people. If a beach is important to you this is not the best resort to go to. There is some snorkeling to the right of the natural pool, but is a little difficult getting in and out. Also be cautious of going too far from the shoreline, as the current is strong. Overall the holiday was very enjoyable with friendly staff and good service.

    OccidentalatXcaret, Social Media Coordinator at Occidental at Xcaret Destination, responded to this review
     We appreciated your sincere and constructive comments. Please know that one of our main goals is to work on a daily basis to constantly improve our services and guest satisfaction. It was a pleasure to host your holiday and hopefully you will provide us an opportunity to host your holiday once again.

    Round Indicators
    sevenkitsmom South Saint Paul, Minnesota. 02/21/2017 Couples

    “Occidental Xcaret”

    Good resort. Good assortment of dining choices. You need to request top shelf liquor if you want a good mixed drink. Was disappointed in the extremely small beach. Would like to have a cheaper option (shorter stay) at Xcaret for those with physical limitations.

    OccidentalatXcaret, Social Media Coordinator at Occidental at Xcaret Destination, responded to this review
     We appreciated your comments. Please know that one of our main goals is to work on a daily basis to constantly improve our services and guest satisfaction. It was a pleasure to host your holiday and hopefully you will provide us an opportunity to host your holiday once again.

    Round Indicators
    leobardot2017 Houston. 02/21/2017 Couples

    “vacation”

    I was disappointed of the room, taking a shower was very uncomfortable the water could not be regulated to desired temperature it would switch from hot to cold. The location is very nice but limited beach access.

    OccidentalatXcaret, Social Media Coordinator at Occidental at Xcaret Destination, responded to this review
     I truly regret the inconveniences you had during your stay. We have carefully noted each point you mentioned in order to improve, we are always worried about our guest’s well-being and strive to make holidays at our property an unforgettable experience. Please accept our apologies for not living up to your expectations and thank you so much for taking the time to write this review as it give us the opportunity to improve

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 22 2017
    • London, United Kingdom
    • Couples

    Fierce-Spicy-Chilli

    “Decent hotel resort with plenty to do”


    My partner and I spent a week in the Occidental at Xcaret with unlimited use of the Xcaret Park, which is next to the hotel. The following is my summary (in no particular order) of the positives and negatives of the hotel resort. Positives: * Every member of the staff we have encountered was friendly, efficient and very helpful (and not doing it for the tips), they seemed genuinely happy in doing their jobs - this is by far the singularly most positive thing. * The quality, variety, and freshness of food and beverages in the buffet restaurant was exceptionally good. * Plenty of wildlife and plantation to be enjoyed within the hotel resort. * Guest room (we had a junior suite) was kept immaculate, the tea/coffee and mini bar were stocked up daily. * Plenty of sunbeds and towels. * Short taxi ride (160 pesos) into 5th Avenue, Playa de Carman where there are plenty of shops, restaurants and bars - good to visit for a change of scene. * Xcaret Park really close to the hotel and has plenty to offer, from dolphin encounter, snorkelling, underground river to the nightly show - particularly enjoyed the underground river, a great experience. * The whole resort is kept immaculate and very clean. * There were nightly entertainment at the theatre, the courtyard around the theatre was a nice place to enjoy a drink or to browse the stalls selling local crafts. Negatives: * The specialty restaurants were not of the standards expected. The sushi from the Asian restaurant was very bland, the whole grilled fish served up in the Seafood restaurant was not gutted (I have never been served a whole fish that has not been gutted) and was seriously overcooked as it was really tough, the lasagna in the Italian restaurant was over seasoned and was layered with tomato sauce instead of Béchamel sauce, the tiramisu was hard instead of soft. * Wifi - this was/is a bone of contention with many guests. you get one hour of free wifi per device per day in the lobby area. However, if you are a member of the Barcelo group (free to join) then wifi was meant to be complimentary. We showed them our Barcelo membership on check-in and was told that we didn't quality for complimentary wifi as we didn't book through Barcelo (we were not told this at the time of joining Barcelo). We then discussed this at Guest Services and the lady there was very supportive and undersatnding. She filed a report that evening and asked us to return in the morning. When we returned the next morning we were offered complimentary wifi for one device for the duration of our stay. I cannot emphasis enough on how helpful Guest Services was on this matter. * There were no sun umbrella around the main pool, however, sun umbrellas were available around the smaller pool in the "quiet" area. * The staff were keen to promote the "Royal" section of the resort, as such they would try and get you to sit through a 90 minute presentation in order to receive your free gift (this was meant to be given to every guest anyway), we were offered this opportunity several occasions, including on our day of departure and we have turned it down on each occasion. * The man-made beach was a bit disappointing (we visited a different resort in Riviera Maya 2 years ago and stayed on a beautiful stretch of natural beach). * It is a very big resort so plenty of walking/strolling so this needs to be bear in mind for people that's less mobile.


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 21 2017
    • Comber, Canada
    • Family

    55debM2015

    “Beautiful property and great food!”


    We enjoyed our week at the Occidental very much! It is a beautiful property and we loved having the monkeys around swinging from the trees. We see everyone working so hard keeping the grounds clean and kept up and all with a smile and a greeting. The food was great! We really have nothing bad to say about the buffet or the 'a la carts'. No reservations were needed to any of the restaurants and they took you on first come first serve basis. We never waited for a table exempt at the Italian but it was only 15 mins. We also ate around 6-630 while it seemed most ate later so the wait was longer. It was nice not to need a reservation. The buffet food was very good and yes some food was cold but it is a buffet feeding many people. The food options were never empty and always lots to chose from. The wait staff was very friendly and polite always working so hard! You will not go hungry! One thing we were disappointed in was that you had to buy your special coffee at the coffee bar. It did not come with the all inclusive offerings. I did buy a frappacino one night while sitting in the lobby. You can get cuppacino and coffee in the buffet or restaurants just not in the lobby. As for the pools, they were wonderful! Always a chair to be found in one area or another. The beach area had plenty of chairs also but a little harder to find a chair in the shade unless you go early. There is an adult area further down at the water where there is a salt water pool surrounded by rock, being filled with the ocean waves which was a fun place to sit. If you like to snorkel the beach area is full of fish to see which the kids loved as well as us! If this resort had a better stretch of beach other than this inlet we would definitely give this hotel a 5* I did miss the option of a long stretch of beach to walk on ,but this inlet was nice too. The atmosphere and animals and friendly staff make up for what we missed. The proximity to Playa Del Carmen was excellent! Far enough from town and close enough for a taxi ride. (160 peso) We did not make to to the Xcaret park next door but this hotel has easy access to the park and that is a plus! Overall, this was a wonderful trip and we would stay at this resort again but in a different area of the property. We even thought about coming next year with all the family, including grandchildren!


    OccidentalatXcaret, Social Media Coordinator at Occidental at Xcaret Destination, responded to this review
     We appreciated your sincere and constructive comments. Please know that one of our main goals is to work on a daily basis to constantly improve our services and guest satisfaction. We would like to clarify that in our web site and brochures we do not sell the hotel as a beach resort. We specify we are focus on the jungle, the Xcaret Park and we that we have a handmade beach. The beach at our hotel, it has been constructed with the purpose of offering our guests a safe environment to swim and enjoy the underwater landscape that is natural to the area. Many families enjoy the beach as it is free from strong currents and large waves. I’m sorry that our beach did not fulfill your expectations. It was a pleasure to host your holiday and hopefully you will provide us an opportunity to host your holiday once again.

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 21 2017
    • Brantford, Canada
    • Friends getaway

    ParadiseGuys

    “Very nice resort”


    We have been to a few of the resorts in this area and found this hotel to be beautifully laid out with great walking paths through out. Food is exactly what a 4.5 star should have. Best thing about the ala cartes is that you do not have to make reservations, just go to the restaurant. I was disappointed that the coffee bar in the bottom lobby was not included in the "AI" price. (first time that has ever happened) I would definitely recommend this resort, as long as you are pool people. If a beach is important to you this is not the best resort to go to. There is some snorkeling to the right of the natural pool, but is a little difficult getting in and out. Also be cautious of going too far from the shoreline, as the current is strong. Overall the holiday was very enjoyable with friendly staff and good service.


    OccidentalatXcaret, Social Media Coordinator at Occidental at Xcaret Destination, responded to this review
     We appreciated your sincere and constructive comments. Please know that one of our main goals is to work on a daily basis to constantly improve our services and guest satisfaction. It was a pleasure to host your holiday and hopefully you will provide us an opportunity to host your holiday once again.

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 21 2017
    • South Saint Paul, Minnesota
    • Couples

    sevenkitsmom

    “Occidental Xcaret”


    Good resort. Good assortment of dining choices. You need to request top shelf liquor if you want a good mixed drink. Was disappointed in the extremely small beach. Would like to have a cheaper option (shorter stay) at Xcaret for those with physical limitations.


    OccidentalatXcaret, Social Media Coordinator at Occidental at Xcaret Destination, responded to this review
     We appreciated your comments. Please know that one of our main goals is to work on a daily basis to constantly improve our services and guest satisfaction. It was a pleasure to host your holiday and hopefully you will provide us an opportunity to host your holiday once again.

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 21 2017
    • Houston
    • Couples

    leobardot2017

    “vacation”


    I was disappointed of the room, taking a shower was very uncomfortable the water could not be regulated to desired temperature it would switch from hot to cold. The location is very nice but limited beach access.


    OccidentalatXcaret, Social Media Coordinator at Occidental at Xcaret Destination, responded to this review
    I truly regret the inconveniences you had during your stay. We have carefully noted each point you mentioned in order to improve, we are always worried about our guest’s well-being and strive to make holidays at our property an unforgettable experience. Please accept our apologies for not living up to your expectations and thank you so much for taking the time to write this review as it give us the opportunity to improve

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

    to

      Incorrect dates
      Please enter valid dates

    NIGHTS

    (Optional dates)

    A discount or promotional code is a combination of letters and/or numbers that gives a discount on the normal rate. You can receive discount codes through special campaigns by being a my Barceló member, following us on social media or booking through Barcelo.com. 

    If you have a discount code, enter it when booking and you will receive a discount on your booking. The discount does not apply to the cost of extras. The maximum amount of the accumulated discount will be 25% off the rate (except for last rooms); it is possible to combine a discount code and special discounts. Only one discount code per booking is permitted.

    Loading rates...
    The hotel does not have any rates allocated to it

    Best online price guaranteed

    If you find a better rate, we will top it.

    We will return the difference and we will also apply an additional 10% discount to the cost of the final booking. For more information...