Barceló Isla Cristina Hotel Pool

Occidental Isla Cristina

Texto: 36617 All-inclusive hotel with plenty to offer for the whole family close to one of the best beaches on the Costa de la Luz. C/ Doctor Delgado Carrasco, s/n | 21410 Isla Cristina, Huelva
+34 959 62 11 00 +34 959 330 228
Occidental Isla Cristina Texto: 36617 4 out of 5 based on 1997 ratings. 1997 user reviews.
Occidental Isla Cristina reviewed by Libertad G on . Great for the kids, nightmare for adults I spent the weekend and my kids loved the pool, the loud music, the nearest beach and activities. To us, it felt very pricey, we had bad quality food, poor service and poor hygiene around the pool... Rating: 3
map

Occidental Isla Cristina

C/ Doctor Delgado Carrasco, s/n   21410 Isla Cristina, Huelva  


Places of Interest

85 km Faro International Airport

10 - 18 km Islantilla + Isla Canela golf courses

650 m Punta de Caimán beach

1.5 km Playa Central

Premios y Reconocimientos Prizes and awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Occidental Isla Cristina

4.0/5 Round Indicators
| 2014 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


GUESTS’ SCORE

Excellent

43% Complete

876

Very good

37% Complete

746

Average

12% Complete

258

Poor

4% Complete

83

Very poor

2% Complete

51

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    Kelly D Oxfordshire. 11/12/2017 Couples

    “One of our best holidays”

    We visited this hotel in August after rekindling our relationship earlier in the year. Thank you to everyone for providing us with many happy memories. We throughly enjoyed our stay with you for many reasons including the daytime pool games, Delicious restaurant food and drink, friendly attentive reception team, bicycle hire, modern room with sea view and balcony. We enjoyed bicycle rides and walks to the fish market, the harbour ( to look at nature, fishing trip), walks into the town, visiting the salt baths, tiding on tuc-tucs, using the water sports along the beach to paddle board and rent a pedelo. We would recommend visiting this hotel if you are happy to explore yourself or relax next to the pool. There were 3 clean, warm pools, wifi, drinking water stations, Book hire, children's club, 3 bars. Thank you to everyone for our wonderful holiday! Newly engaged Paul and Kelly. Oxford, UK
    Round Indicators
    Libertad G 09/23/2017 Family

    “Great for the kids, nightmare for adults”

    I spent the weekend and my kids loved the pool, the loud music, the nearest beach and activities. To us, it felt very pricey, we had bad quality food, poor service and poor hygiene around the pool where most of people on 'all inclusive' regime keep drinking & eating leaving leftovers all around. For dinner we went out for dinner to Meson El Gato where we had delicious food. Fair to say that the room was spatious and the bed very confortable.
    Round Indicators
    davidwM4271MG Grimsby, United Kingdom. 09/16/2017 Couples

    “Occidental Isla Cristina.”

    Hotel very good, the room excellent, but for me, just falling short of four stars. The web site describes it as "Ideal for Families" which it is, and "Ideal for Couples" which it is not. The mainly Spanish guests with kids were having a wonderful time with Barcy, and thoroughly deserved too as the hotel staff worked tirelessly to keep the children entertained. As for my wife and I, we prefer a bit more peace and quiet so not for us. The buffet restaurant was noisy and the food was a bit samey and not very hot. No fault of the hotel, but the surrounding streets were paved with dog dirt and broken glass, much to our surprise.
    Round Indicators
    Miguel F 07/18/2017 Family

    “Humiliating experience”

    Shouldn't be the title of an evaluation but unfortunately this was exactly how we felt staying at this hotel. We know that when we arrive at a location of such a big multinational hotel chain guests are nothing but numbers and also everybody knows that occasionally things don't work well. And we also expect that customer care would be something else rather than just an advertising statement. But now what we definitely don't expect is to be completely ignored and even mocked by the hotel's staff including the hotel's manager - "yeah yeah we're so sorry we broke your sunglasses while treating you and your family as forth class guests (but than again that's the way portuguese people should expect to be treated in a spanish hotel, right?) so here you have some scratched, sandy, 2nd hand sunglasses as a token of our deepest apologies". A disappointing, sad, even depressing experience.

    HBIslaCristina, Director General at Occidental Isla Cristina, responded to this review
     Dear Miguel, We were very disappointed to read your experience during your stay in our Occidental Isla Cristina, whilst an apology will regrettably not alter the outcome of your experience on this occasion, please believe we do extend it with all sincerity. According to the hotel policy reserving sunbeds is not allowed. We do our best to ensure the following of this standard, especially during high occupancy when this happens more often. Our Security staff kept your things after you left them in the sunbeds, and anfortunately your sunglasses were broken. The management hotel contacted you to offer different solutions, but you refused to accept them. We offered you a pair of sunglasses with the same value or even give you the money back, but we could not reach an agreement. We are really sorry about that, and we tried to do our best to solve the situation. Please be assured that your comments will be taken into serious consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. Once again, thank you for your time and despite the issues you have raised following your stay, we hope that Occidental will remain an option for your next holiday and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future. Best regards, Marcos Alonso General Manager Occidental Isla Cristina

    Round Indicators
    markZ6873JJ 07/17/2017 Family

    “Great stay”

    We really enjoyed our stay in the Barcelo Isla Cristina, the check in/out were easy and we received a €90 gift card upon arrival for joining the Barcelo club online. The pool is pretty big and 1m deep throughout most of it so perfect for our 4 and 6 year old to play around in. There was also a smaller shallow pool for babies/toddlers. Our kids loved the mini club which was structured with different activities each day and also included all the children taking part in a show on stage in the evening. The evening entertainment was enjoyable every single night and was suitable for adults and children. The food was of a good quality and there a good variety throughout our week, also with the option of eating inside or outside on the terraza. The beach is around 200-300m but it wasn't crowded, there was a lifeguard, toilets and a couple of bars/restaurants. Parking was €12 a day underground at the hotel or you could park in the street by the hotel for free. Our room had a kitchen which was great as there's a Mercadona supermarket less than two minutes from the hotel. All in all a great hotel, great facilities, friendly staff, a fantastic mini club which allowed us to have a very enjoyable and stress free stay.

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • november 12 2017
    • Oxfordshire
    • Couples

    Kelly D

    “One of our best holidays”


    We visited this hotel in August after rekindling our relationship earlier in the year. Thank you to everyone for providing us with many happy memories. We throughly enjoyed our stay with you for many reasons including the daytime pool games, Delicious restaurant food and drink, friendly attentive reception team, bicycle hire, modern room with sea view and balcony. We enjoyed bicycle rides and walks to the fish market, the harbour ( to look at nature, fishing trip), walks into the town, visiting the salt baths, tiding on tuc-tucs, using the water sports along the beach to paddle board and rent a pedelo. We would recommend visiting this hotel if you are happy to explore yourself or relax next to the pool. There were 3 clean, warm pools, wifi, drinking water stations, Book hire, children's club, 3 bars. Thank you to everyone for our wonderful holiday! Newly engaged Paul and Kelly. Oxford, UK


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • september 23 2017
    • Family

    Libertad G

    “Great for the kids, nightmare for adults”


    I spent the weekend and my kids loved the pool, the loud music, the nearest beach and activities. To us, it felt very pricey, we had bad quality food, poor service and poor hygiene around the pool where most of people on 'all inclusive' regime keep drinking & eating leaving leftovers all around. For dinner we went out for dinner to Meson El Gato where we had delicious food. Fair to say that the room was spatious and the bed very confortable.


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • september 16 2017
    • Grimsby, United Kingdom
    • Couples

    davidwM4271MG

    “Occidental Isla Cristina.”


    Hotel very good, the room excellent, but for me, just falling short of four stars. The web site describes it as "Ideal for Families" which it is, and "Ideal for Couples" which it is not. The mainly Spanish guests with kids were having a wonderful time with Barcy, and thoroughly deserved too as the hotel staff worked tirelessly to keep the children entertained. As for my wife and I, we prefer a bit more peace and quiet so not for us. The buffet restaurant was noisy and the food was a bit samey and not very hot. No fault of the hotel, but the surrounding streets were paved with dog dirt and broken glass, much to our surprise.


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • july 18 2017
    • Family

    Miguel F

    “Humiliating experience”


    Shouldn't be the title of an evaluation but unfortunately this was exactly how we felt staying at this hotel. We know that when we arrive at a location of such a big multinational hotel chain guests are nothing but numbers and also everybody knows that occasionally things don't work well. And we also expect that customer care would be something else rather than just an advertising statement. But now what we definitely don't expect is to be completely ignored and even mocked by the hotel's staff including the hotel's manager - "yeah yeah we're so sorry we broke your sunglasses while treating you and your family as forth class guests (but than again that's the way portuguese people should expect to be treated in a spanish hotel, right?) so here you have some scratched, sandy, 2nd hand sunglasses as a token of our deepest apologies". A disappointing, sad, even depressing experience.


    HBIslaCristina, Director General at Occidental Isla Cristina, responded to this review
    Dear Miguel, We were very disappointed to read your experience during your stay in our Occidental Isla Cristina, whilst an apology will regrettably not alter the outcome of your experience on this occasion, please believe we do extend it with all sincerity. According to the hotel policy reserving sunbeds is not allowed. We do our best to ensure the following of this standard, especially during high occupancy when this happens more often. Our Security staff kept your things after you left them in the sunbeds, and anfortunately your sunglasses were broken. The management hotel contacted you to offer different solutions, but you refused to accept them. We offered you a pair of sunglasses with the same value or even give you the money back, but we could not reach an agreement. We are really sorry about that, and we tried to do our best to solve the situation. Please be assured that your comments will be taken into serious consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. Once again, thank you for your time and despite the issues you have raised following your stay, we hope that Occidental will remain an option for your next holiday and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future. Best regards, Marcos Alonso General Manager Occidental Isla Cristina

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • july 17 2017
    • Family

    markZ6873JJ

    “Great stay”


    We really enjoyed our stay in the Barcelo Isla Cristina, the check in/out were easy and we received a €90 gift card upon arrival for joining the Barcelo club online. The pool is pretty big and 1m deep throughout most of it so perfect for our 4 and 6 year old to play around in. There was also a smaller shallow pool for babies/toddlers. Our kids loved the mini club which was structured with different activities each day and also included all the children taking part in a show on stage in the evening. The evening entertainment was enjoyable every single night and was suitable for adults and children. The food was of a good quality and there a good variety throughout our week, also with the option of eating inside or outside on the terraza. The beach is around 200-300m but it wasn't crowded, there was a lifeguard, toilets and a couple of bars/restaurants. Parking was €12 a day underground at the hotel or you could park in the street by the hotel for free. Our room had a kitchen which was great as there's a Mercadona supermarket less than two minutes from the hotel. All in all a great hotel, great facilities, friendly staff, a fantastic mini club which allowed us to have a very enjoyable and stress free stay.


    Barceló Isla Cristina Hotel Children´s Play Park

    An all inclusive paradise by the sea

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

    to

      Incorrect dates
      Please enter valid dates

    NIGHTS

    (Optional dates)

    0 nights Selected

    A discount* or promotional code (also appears as “promo code”) is a combination of letters and/or numbers that gives a discount on the normal rate. If you have a discount code, enter it when booking and you will receive a discount on your booking. Once you have entered this code, the prices shown in step 1 of the booking process will already include the relevant discount. 

    The discount does not apply to prices on extras and/or extra services, neither does it apply to prices on last available rooms. You can only apply one discount code per booking which will only be valid at the time of making your booking.** 

    The maximum amount of accumulated discount will be at most 25% off the rate for hotels in Latin America and at most 20% off the rate for European and Mediterranean hotels. It is possible to combine a discount code with a special discount*** (discounts when you book multiple rooms, senior, resident, millennials, large families, etc.) and the discount for being a my Barceló client. 

    *Barceló reserves the right to accept the application of advertised discounts. 

    **The application of the discount code is not valid upon arrival at the hotel; the discount is only applicable at the time of booking. 

    ***The hotel will request to see valid official documents to verify compliance with the conditions for the discount codes and special discounts. In the event of not providing valid official documents or non-compliance, the hotel reserves the right to charge the amounts that were deducted from the original reservation.

    Loading rates...
    The hotel does not have any rates allocated to it

    Best online price guaranteed

    If you find a better rate, we will top it.

    We will return the difference and we will also apply an additional 10% discount to the cost of the final booking. For more information...