Barceló Hotel deluxe room  Hamilton Menorca
map

Barceló Hamilton Menorca - Adults only

PS Santa Agueda, 6   07720 Es Castell, Menorca , Islas Baleares   España  


Places of Interest

8 km Mahon International Airport

9 km Cala Mesquida beach

10 km Punta Prima beach

3 km Port of Mahon

Premios y Reconocimientos Prizes and awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Barceló Hamilton Menorca - Adults only

4.0/5 Round Indicators
| 1610 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


GUESTS’ SCORE

Excellent

49% Complete

798

Very good

30% Complete

485

Average

12% Complete

204

Poor

5% Complete

81

Very poor

2% Complete

43

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    Sandy196238 Prestatyn, United Kingdom. 08/19/2018 Couples

    “Superb stay”

    We returned sat 18/08/18 following a weeks stay at this wonderful adults only hotel. The hotel is immaculate we had a superior sea view double which was a good size with everything you need coffee making facilities bottled water, safe , hairdryer, very large comfy bed excellent shower fridge and the housekeeping was fantastic. We were on B&B as we like to try the local restaurants the breakfast choice was extensive and the evening meal looked like a good choice. We would definitely go back AI as you get 50% off in the sky bar and all things not included even though we would still eat out most nights it would be worth it. The pools had lots of sunbeds available and the balanaise beds we rented twice a real treat with cava. The staff are so attentive friendly and helpful but so professional and not in your face. The sky bar was amazing you were always able to access the hot tubs and the strawberry pomadas we are missing already. Nicholas the entertainment guy was great and we engaged in some of the activities on offer.and watched the entertainment in the sky bar. The pool towels were really good quality and you got your deposit back when returned. The spa is very pleasant I would definitely recommend a massage again like the rest of the hotel very professional at all times. If there was one thing to make the hotel 100% perfect it would be to make it non smoking as people are not very thoughtful to people that don't smoke so although not the hotels fault it could be resolved by a non smoking policy. The guest relation guy was very helpful and always visible if required .Thanks Barcelo Hamilton we will return
    Round Indicators
    MarkLemon London, United Kingdom. 08/19/2018 Couples

    “Excellent hotel, let down by poor brand pricing policies.”

    Excellent hotel BUT 1) they cancelled my deposit on arrival, refunded it, then charged for the full stay. This is apparently a brand policy due to fraud, but I had three different explanations depending on which staff member was asked. Because of fees and Euro exchange rate, this could mean folks paying from a UK account could lose money. 2) The web clearly stated 'In room safe' yet despite paying Euro 250 per night for a superior room, they charged Euro 6 per night to use the in room safe. Shoddy practise I would not expect from a very cheap hotel. Plus a Euro 30 deposit - I asked why...can you take the safe out and lose it??!! Ridiculous. 3) I ran out of the in-room instant coffee sachets, and they weren't replaced when the room was cleaned, so I popped down to reception to be told - "Oh, its only free for the first day". Seriously? - they probably cost 5 cents each?
    Round Indicators
    chrcabral2018 08/15/2018 Couples

    “Forgetting about the basics: the room comes first”

    We asked for a new room since the one we initially got smelled like cigarettes (in a non-smoking hotel). On top of that, the furniture's leather was damaged and the wall above the bed was sticky with hair attached to it (no kidding). We got a second room the next day which was still smelling like tobacco (ventilation problem?) and still with a sticky wall (no comments), plus dust all over the night table. It is sad to see such a great chain like it's Barceló missing the basics about getting a room ready for a guest. The staff was nice to us and willing to solve the issue, but to me the problem was a lack of attention to the rooms and their state.

    Barceló H, Guest Experience Manager at Barcelo Hamilton Menorca, responded to this review
     Dear Mr. Cabral, We sincerely regret what you tell us, because all our intentions and work is dedicated uniquely and exclusively to satisfy the needs of our guests and make your stay something unique and unforgettable. Your comments will help us to improve I would like to inform you that the hotel refers to the non-smoking policy within the establishment, included in the rooms. This information is given to the guests on arrival, as well as to inform them through an indicative sign in the rooms. However, the hotel, despite having a smoke detector installed in the rooms, can not always control the behavior or attitude of the guest. We will do our best to improve on that. With regard to the state and comfort of the room, I would like to inform you that we have established very rigorous protocols so that the cleanliness of the room would be perfect at the entrance of our guests. Your comments have been shared to the department described so that events like those you have experienced do not happen again. We like to know that the incident, the reception team could have solved it efficiently, as all possible drawbacks we try to solve the best possible way for our guests to be happy with us. Once again we thank you for sharing this valuable feedback with us, please rest assured that the information you have provided will be used accordingly to enhance our future guests' experiences among us and we hope you will visit us again in the future. Best regards, Guest Experience Manager

    Round Indicators
    PaulaWr2017 Edinburgh, United Kingdom. 08/14/2018 Couples

    “Fantastic hotel!”

    Definitely worth a visit but please do not allow guests to play their own music at the pool/Jacuzzis & also please prohibit people from smoking in the Jacuzzis. Overall though we had an amazing week& would recommend staying
    Round Indicators
    FitzG995 London, United Kingdom. 08/13/2018 Couples

    “Perfect location, terrific hotel”

    Great staff, great service, very comfortable room with a view over the harbour. We liked everything about this hotel except the irritating piped muzac. a swimming pool doesn't need this mindless rubbish.

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • august 19 2018
    • Prestatyn, United Kingdom
    • Couples

    Sandy196238

    “Superb stay”


    We returned sat 18/08/18 following a weeks stay at this wonderful adults only hotel. The hotel is immaculate we had a superior sea view double which was a good size with everything you need coffee making facilities bottled water, safe , hairdryer, very large comfy bed excellent shower fridge and the housekeeping was fantastic. We were on B&B as we like to try the local restaurants the breakfast choice was extensive and the evening meal looked like a good choice. We would definitely go back AI as you get 50% off in the sky bar and all things not included even though we would still eat out most nights it would be worth it. The pools had lots of sunbeds available and the balanaise beds we rented twice a real treat with cava. The staff are so attentive friendly and helpful but so professional and not in your face. The sky bar was amazing you were always able to access the hot tubs and the strawberry pomadas we are missing already. Nicholas the entertainment guy was great and we engaged in some of the activities on offer.and watched the entertainment in the sky bar. The pool towels were really good quality and you got your deposit back when returned. The spa is very pleasant I would definitely recommend a massage again like the rest of the hotel very professional at all times. If there was one thing to make the hotel 100% perfect it would be to make it non smoking as people are not very thoughtful to people that don't smoke so although not the hotels fault it could be resolved by a non smoking policy. The guest relation guy was very helpful and always visible if required .Thanks Barcelo Hamilton we will return


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • august 19 2018
    • London, United Kingdom
    • Couples

    MarkLemon

    “Excellent hotel, let down by poor brand pricing policies.”


    Excellent hotel BUT 1) they cancelled my deposit on arrival, refunded it, then charged for the full stay. This is apparently a brand policy due to fraud, but I had three different explanations depending on which staff member was asked. Because of fees and Euro exchange rate, this could mean folks paying from a UK account could lose money. 2) The web clearly stated 'In room safe' yet despite paying Euro 250 per night for a superior room, they charged Euro 6 per night to use the in room safe. Shoddy practise I would not expect from a very cheap hotel. Plus a Euro 30 deposit - I asked why...can you take the safe out and lose it??!! Ridiculous. 3) I ran out of the in-room instant coffee sachets, and they weren't replaced when the room was cleaned, so I popped down to reception to be told - "Oh, its only free for the first day". Seriously? - they probably cost 5 cents each?


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • august 15 2018
    • Couples

    chrcabral2018

    “Forgetting about the basics: the room comes first”


    We asked for a new room since the one we initially got smelled like cigarettes (in a non-smoking hotel). On top of that, the furniture's leather was damaged and the wall above the bed was sticky with hair attached to it (no kidding). We got a second room the next day which was still smelling like tobacco (ventilation problem?) and still with a sticky wall (no comments), plus dust all over the night table. It is sad to see such a great chain like it's Barceló missing the basics about getting a room ready for a guest. The staff was nice to us and willing to solve the issue, but to me the problem was a lack of attention to the rooms and their state.


    Barceló H, Guest Experience Manager at Barcelo Hamilton Menorca, responded to this review
    Dear Mr. Cabral, We sincerely regret what you tell us, because all our intentions and work is dedicated uniquely and exclusively to satisfy the needs of our guests and make your stay something unique and unforgettable. Your comments will help us to improve I would like to inform you that the hotel refers to the non-smoking policy within the establishment, included in the rooms. This information is given to the guests on arrival, as well as to inform them through an indicative sign in the rooms. However, the hotel, despite having a smoke detector installed in the rooms, can not always control the behavior or attitude of the guest. We will do our best to improve on that. With regard to the state and comfort of the room, I would like to inform you that we have established very rigorous protocols so that the cleanliness of the room would be perfect at the entrance of our guests. Your comments have been shared to the department described so that events like those you have experienced do not happen again. We like to know that the incident, the reception team could have solved it efficiently, as all possible drawbacks we try to solve the best possible way for our guests to be happy with us. Once again we thank you for sharing this valuable feedback with us, please rest assured that the information you have provided will be used accordingly to enhance our future guests' experiences among us and we hope you will visit us again in the future. Best regards, Guest Experience Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • august 14 2018
    • Edinburgh, United Kingdom
    • Couples

    PaulaWr2017

    “Fantastic hotel!”


    Definitely worth a visit but please do not allow guests to play their own music at the pool/Jacuzzis & also please prohibit people from smoking in the Jacuzzis. Overall though we had an amazing week& would recommend staying


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • august 13 2018
    • London, United Kingdom
    • Couples

    FitzG995

    “Perfect location, terrific hotel”


    Great staff, great service, very comfortable room with a view over the harbour. We liked everything about this hotel except the irritating piped muzac. a swimming pool doesn't need this mindless rubbish.


    Barceló Hotel Bar  Hamilton Menorca

    An adults-only designer hotel overlooking the bay of Mahón

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in Costa Rica

    Select Costa Rica

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Panamá

    Select Panamá

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Hotels in Germany

    Select Germany

    Hotels in Turkey

    Select Turkey

    Hotels in Italy

    Select Italy

    Hotels in Portugal

    Select Portugal

    Hotels in United Arab Emirates

    Select United Arab Emirates

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

    to

      Incorrect dates
      Please enter valid dates

    NIGHTS

    (Optional dates)

    0 nights Selected

    A discount* or promotional code (also appears as “promo code”) is a combination of letters and/or numbers that gives a discount on the normal rate. If you have a discount code, enter it when booking and you will receive a discount on your booking. Once you have entered this code, the prices shown in step 1 of the booking process will already include the relevant discount. 

    The discount does not apply to prices on extras and/or extra services, neither does it apply to prices on last available rooms. You can only apply one discount code per booking which will only be valid at the time of making your booking.** 

    The maximum amount of accumulated discount will be at most 25% off the rate for hotels in Latin America and at most 20% off the rate for European and Mediterranean hotels. It is possible to combine a discount code with a special discount*** (discounts when you book multiple rooms, senior, resident, millennials, large families, etc.) and the discount for being a my Barceló client. 

    *Barceló reserves the right to accept the application of advertised discounts. 

    **The application of the discount code is not valid upon arrival at the hotel; the discount is only applicable at the time of booking. 

    ***The hotel will request to see valid official documents to verify compliance with the conditions for the discount codes and special discounts. In the event of not providing valid official documents or non-compliance, the hotel reserves the right to charge the amounts that were deducted from the original reservation.

    Loading rates...
    The hotel does not have any rates allocated to it

    Best rate
    guaranteed
    Plus

    Our double guarantee:

    If you find a better rate outside Barcelo.com, we’ll match it.

    The same applies even if you find a better rate on Barcelo.com after placing your booking.

    We’ll also give you an additional discount of up to 10% depending on the sort of booking For more information