Occidental Grand Cartagena Resort Hotel Pool

Occidental Cartagena

Texto: 44092 All Inclusive resort, with daily shuttles to Cartagena and direct access to a gorgeous beach on Colombia’s Caribbean coast. Anillo Vial Vía Manzanillo del mar Km. 4 | 985-Cartagena Colombia
+ 57 564 244 40 + 57 152 068 44
Occidental Cartagena Texto: 44092 4 out of 5 based on 1166 ratings. 1166 user reviews.
Occidental Cartagena reviewed by kezdolly on . Occidental not 4* So it's just as well this is all inclusive as there isn't anything else around without going into Cartagena central which is 20 mins by car. In saying the food and drinks on offer were very good... Rating: 3
map

Occidental Cartagena

Anillo Vial Vía Manzanillo del mar Km. 4   985-Cartagena Colombia  


Points of Interest

9 mi Rafael Núñez International Airport

5 min. In the bay of Manzanillo del Mar

Premios y Reconocimientos Prizes and Awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Occidental Cartagena

4.0/5 Round Indicators
| 1189 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


GUESTS’ SCORE

Excellent

38% Complete

452

Very good

37% Complete

442

Average

14% Complete

173

Poor

6% Complete

75

Very poor

3% Complete

47

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    Betsy D Washington, District of Columbia, United States. 06/06/2017 Family

    “Relaxing and a great value”

    We just came back from 3 nights at this hotel and had a lovely time. We came here after spending a few days in the Walled City to have some beach and relaxation time. Up front, I will say that the only thing keeping it from being 5 stars in my opinion is the noise you can hear between the rooms. It seriously sounds like the person in the next room is in the room with you. That's not really anything the hotel can "fix", per se, but it was a little tough because we had a 16 month old toddler with us and she definitely got woken up a few times but people yelling in the corridors or (oddly) singing karaoke in the next room at 2 AM... I get that people are there to have fun, but marginally better noise insulation would make this place perfect. That being said, everything else was great!! The staff is incredibly friendly (especially Andres at the front desk, who went out of his way for us). I speak good Spanish so the language barrier wasn't a problem, but I could see it being one for some folks, though I'm sure you could find someone who spoke English easily if you really needed it. The food was really good for an all-inclusive. Lots of options, variety, and very delicious. The toddler loved the ice cream available all afternoon mostly! The poor guys in the bar have to contend with some bees who like to fly around the sugary drinks, but the bees seemed relatively docile, and the bartenders can make great caipirinhas, so I was happy. Beach was gorgeous, waters were calm and warm. A wonderful, relaxing place! Thank you!

    , General Manager at Occidental Cartagena, responded to this review
     Dear Betsy From the general management and all the employees who Works at Hotel Estelar Grand Playa Manzanillo we would like to say thanks for your comments, they are valuable for us. We also want to be grateful for you taking some time to let us know about how nice was your experience with us. What its relate it to the noise inconvenient, we are working on contingent measures which help us to reduce the volume of the sound between rooms, this design can take a while but we are hoping to have as soon as will be possible. About the speaking languages of our employees, 60% of them speak a second language, and the other 40% is taking some courses to learn foreign languages and give to our guest a better service through an excellent knowledge on a new language. Once more we appreciate your remarks, it helps us to improve. We hope to have the chance to have you again and give you the best of our work. Sincerely, Alonso Giraldo General Manager Hotel ESTELAR Grand Playa Manzanillo by Occidental Hotels & Resorts

    Round Indicators
    StitchRN New York City, New York. 05/20/2017 Family

    “Good, but not American standard ”

    I give it a 3.5 stars. Cartagena is a vacation spot for South Americans. If you're looking for 4 stars hotel that is at par with American standards then you might want to consider Mexico. Overall, the hotel was clean, maintained, the people were helpful and friendly. Don't expect a bar with a large selection of liquors or to have various food selection during meal time at the buffet. The food and service was good. There are three a la carte restaurants, which requires you to make reservations the day of. This hotel is about 30 minutes (without traffic) from the old city. The hotel offers free shuttle services at different time intervals, last shuttle from the old city is at midnight. My family and I enjoyed the hotel. We took advantage of the shuttle and explored the old city.

    , General Manager at Occidental Cartagena, responded to this review
     Dear guess, From all the employees who Works at Hotel Estelar Grand Playa Manzanillo thanks for taking some time to let us know how was your experience with us and what can we do better to give to our guest a fully experience. Right now, we are glad to inform that our A&B department is working on a new selection and design to our menus for all of our restaurants, and give more variety to currently 15 cyclical menus. Add to this, our bars department is taking some courses related to drinks and cocktails. What it comes to the traffic things. We apologize for that because there is something that is goes out of our control, since is the local government the one who is behind the construction on the road because those are part of the improvement plan and ways from the city, but usually take just 30 minutes as you have said from the hotel to downtown. We offered to our guest the shuttle commute without any cost so they can use it to get to the historical city at the schedule they have set. We are glad to hear you and your family enjoys your staying with us. We hope to have the chance to have you again and give you the best of our work. Best regards, Alonso Giraldo General Manager Hotel ESTELAR Grand Playa Manzanillo by Occidental Hotels & Resorts

    Round Indicators
    bbunny3 Cartagena, Colombia. 05/17/2017 Friends getaway

    “Safe, relaxing oasis”

    CONTEXT: I am a 22-year-old American woman, and I went with a female friend to visit Cartagena for several days during May. We both have college student budgets and working knowledge of Spanish. OVERALL: We had a great experience here. The people were friendly, transportation was easy, and we felt like we could relax once we got back at the end of activities and sightseeing. PROS: - VERY SAFE--we felt very much at ease throughout the hotel and on the private beach. Staff are readily available and very attentive if you need anything. - Plenty of food/drink options--as Americans, we were a little wary of the water, but we didn't have any issues eating most of our meals at the hotel. There are a lot of options available for food and drinks; most aren't worth writing home about, but the all-inclusive option is worth it--filling, satisfactory, economical, and safe. - Beautiful views--the pools are gorgeous, and they overlook the sunset and parts of the beach. - Transportation--the hotel offers bus transport to and from the Old City throughout the day and evening, making it really convenient to get back and forth (the hotel is ~30 minutes' drive from the Old City). CONS: - Proximity to actual Cartagena--if you want to be in the thick of things, whether in the Old City (more touristy) or the modern city (more people and less navigable for foreigners), the Occidental is a little far. - Language--as with pretty much everywhere in Cartagena, there are very few people who speak English, because the vast majority of visitors are tourists from other Latin American countries. We had a few interactions in English, but we would've had a much harder time getting by without some basic Spanish phrases. - Cleanliness--there wasn't anything terribly gross or dirty about this place, but cleanliness standards here are different from those of American hotels. Expect a very basic room and setup, and don't eat anything that you think might've been out too long or something. Not too bad, just not the same as what we were used to in the States.

    , General Manager at Occidental Cartagena, responded to this review
     Dear Guest, From all the employees who Works at Hotel Estelar Grand Playa Manzanillo thanks for taking some time to let us know how well was your experience with us and what can we do better to give to our guest a fully experience. We are glad to know that we did give you a great time during your staying in the city. Right now, 60% of our staff speaks a second language, and the other 40% is taking some courses to learn foreign languages and give to our guest a better service through an excellent knowledge on a new language. We hope to have the chance to have you again and give you the best of our work. Best regards, Alonso Giraldo General Manager Hotel ESTELAR Grand Playa Manzanillo by Occidental Hotels & Resorts

    Round Indicators
    Raouf S Flint, Michigan. 05/15/2017 Family

    “2 Star with potential. Do not expect a lot & you will be happy”

    this is our 2nd return to the same hotel (03/2015), then 05/2017. - The small reception will give you the impression that the hotel is a not a lavage and 5 star as Barceló claims. It is not for sure a 5 or 4 or even 3 stars in my own ratings. The friendly front desk staff ( the only one that speaks any English), will accommodate to the best of their ability. The new Manager does not speak fluent English & does not understand it. Columbian are very warm people. Make sure you ask for Angie or Ednis Or Jennifer they are great. Definitely the property went down in my rating from service to amenities than 2 years ago. - Property= is located about 15 munites drive from the airport, with light traffic. Taxis run about $8 each way & they are plenty waiting. Always kept clean from the beach to the hallways, housekeeping is doing their job. Maintenance is very poor & undependable. Rooms are cleaned & done every day with fresh towels. Free WIFI, that is very pool on the beach - Beds = Mattresses are laid on a cement slab. all rooms are the same but it is worth paying extra to get a suite with ocean view. Rooms that have ocean front are 1301, 1401, 1501, 2301, 2401, 2501. We had both 1501& 2501. The suite Deluxe has 737 ft2. Plenty of room - Pools, 2 large. one quiet & the other has all the activities. Plenty of chairs, only few umbrellas. Not enough for the 192 rooms they claim they have. - Restaurants, 4 of them. within few steps of each other. Same cook, and the same kitchen provides all the foods. Mediterranean, Italian, buffet, then the steak house. Few limited menu in all but food taste good. Not enough workers. - 2 Bars, one per pool. They do not have the license to have one by the beach, so that is shut down now. Long walk back & forth to get water in the hot weather. - Nightly entertainment; very poor now & they do not speak any English. I will definitely go back. Do not pay a lot for the hotel & you will enjoy it.

    , General Manager at Occidental Cartagena, responded to this review
     Dear Raouf, From all the employees who Works at Hotel Estelar Grand Playa Manzanillo thanks for taking some time to let us know how was your experience with us and what can we do better to give to our guest a fully experience. About some facts that you mention before, we would like to cheer with you some information as a shown we really cares about our guest comfort and how much we work every day on their suggestion to provide them a better service. 60% of our staff speaks second language fluency; the other 40% is currently taking some courses to learn one different than the native. The hotel has made a few agreements with some institution so they can have access in an ease way to study and learn foreign languages. What it comes to our restaurants, we are glad to inform that our A&B department is working on a new selection and design to our menus for all of them, and give more variety to ours 15 cyclical menus. Add to this, our bars department is taking some courses related to drinks and cocktails too. Add to this, the beach bar is closed by now, not because we don’t have the license to put it work, it is because the hotel occupancy rate. To open it we must have a minimum among as a requirement to give the service. But since attend to our guest it’s a priority for us, we offer the bar service at the place that is located in the right side next to the pool, and near to the beach. We apologize if you feel it in a different way. Your suggest related to the shows and performances that are recreating in the night to entertain the guest, are already submit to the corresponding area for their knowledge so they can work on it. Right now, our dancers are working on new shows better thought out. Improve is something we do every day, because we want to give the best of our work and make feel our guest comfortable. We really hope have the chance to have you and your family again, so you can enjoy the improvement we are working on and as usual being attend by our friendly and dedicated staff. Best regards, Alonso Giraldo General Manager Hotel ESTELAR Grand Playa Manzanillo by Occidental Hotels & Resorts

    Round Indicators
    Canela57 Strongsville, Ohio, United States. 05/12/2017 Couples

    “Not great! ”

    My husband and I wanted to get away from the cold weather, have been curious about Colombia for a while now, so decided to take a trip to this beautiful country. Couldn't find an adult only all inclusive, therefore, we picked the Occidental in Cartagena. The ride to the hotel was interesting, there was a lot of road construction (lots of bridges), but it wasn't too bad. Once we got to the hotel, I was surprised to see how small it was, it even looked a little primitive. From my experience, the one good thing about our stay, was the staff. Most of them were very nice and helpful. The ladies working the spa were amazing, as well as the housekeeping staff. The food, had a lot to be desired, as well as the drinks. And the restaurants.... Well... (Besides having only three of them) were bad! The only one that was decent was the grill... And it seemed that they never had enough staff so we had to wait a long time for our dinners. I even had to go and get my own drinks at the bar, (if I wanted to have something to drink). The buffet for breakfast and lunch looked the same every day, boring.... I was annoyed at the fact that I had to wait in line every morning to make reservations for dinner to one of their "a la carte" restaurants, and some mornings the "concierge" wasn't available. When we checked in, we were told about the mini bar.... They supply you with two, TWO beers, one bottle of water, two colas and two other kind of sodas per day, and if you would like more than that, you'll have to pay extra for them, or go and get hem yourself at the bar. Never heard of that at an all inclusive hotel! They have two bars, one is located at the "quiet" pool, and closes at 5:00pm, although the pool closes at 8:00pm.... (The bartender at this pool was always missing, whether getting ice or something else he didn't have, or he was on his break), and the main bar, so if you are at the quiet pool after 5:00 pm, and want something to drink, you'll have to go all the way to the main bar and get it yourself. The entertainment was horrible! Not very entertaining at all! The guests were more entertaining than the staff. The rooms were clean, but they look very old, as well as the furniture. The bed, though, was very comfy. The beach was nice, very wide.... The vendors were around all the time, but if you told them you didn't want anything, they wouldn't bother you any more. Overall, it was an ok visit.

    , General Manager at Occidental Cartagena, responded to this review
     Dear Guest, First at all, greetings from all of the employees of our hotel, we really want you to know how much we appreciate your valuable remark about your staying with us; Comments like yours help us to improve the quality of the service that we offer. At the same time we are sorry to hear that your experience with us didn’t full fill your expectations. What its related to the food we are glad to inform we are working on the 15 cyclical menus we offer in the restaurants to diversify them and give more variety to our guest. The same goes for the bar and drinks part. We make the reservations system to put on schedule to our guest so we can give them a better service since those restaurants have at deadline to work. Our guest satisfactions is a priority for us, for that reason we put on scene a different show to them every night through our recreations department. They performance the main shows on Thursday and Saturday. Right now they are working on new performances to put on scene. Once again we apologize if some of our working systems made you feel unpleasant. We hope to have the chance to have you again and give you the best of our work. Sincerely, Alonso Giraldo General Manager Hotel ESTELAR Grand Playa Manzanillo by Occidental Hotels & Resorts

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • june 6 2017
    • Washington, District of Columbia, United States
    • Family

    Betsy D

    “Relaxing and a great value”


    We just came back from 3 nights at this hotel and had a lovely time. We came here after spending a few days in the Walled City to have some beach and relaxation time. Up front, I will say that the only thing keeping it from being 5 stars in my opinion is the noise you can hear between the rooms. It seriously sounds like the person in the next room is in the room with you. That's not really anything the hotel can "fix", per se, but it was a little tough because we had a 16 month old toddler with us and she definitely got woken up a few times but people yelling in the corridors or (oddly) singing karaoke in the next room at 2 AM... I get that people are there to have fun, but marginally better noise insulation would make this place perfect. That being said, everything else was great!! The staff is incredibly friendly (especially Andres at the front desk, who went out of his way for us). I speak good Spanish so the language barrier wasn't a problem, but I could see it being one for some folks, though I'm sure you could find someone who spoke English easily if you really needed it. The food was really good for an all-inclusive. Lots of options, variety, and very delicious. The toddler loved the ice cream available all afternoon mostly! The poor guys in the bar have to contend with some bees who like to fly around the sugary drinks, but the bees seemed relatively docile, and the bartenders can make great caipirinhas, so I was happy. Beach was gorgeous, waters were calm and warm. A wonderful, relaxing place! Thank you!


    , General Manager at Occidental Cartagena, responded to this review
    Dear Betsy From the general management and all the employees who Works at Hotel Estelar Grand Playa Manzanillo we would like to say thanks for your comments, they are valuable for us. We also want to be grateful for you taking some time to let us know about how nice was your experience with us. What its relate it to the noise inconvenient, we are working on contingent measures which help us to reduce the volume of the sound between rooms, this design can take a while but we are hoping to have as soon as will be possible. About the speaking languages of our employees, 60% of them speak a second language, and the other 40% is taking some courses to learn foreign languages and give to our guest a better service through an excellent knowledge on a new language. Once more we appreciate your remarks, it helps us to improve. We hope to have the chance to have you again and give you the best of our work. Sincerely, Alonso Giraldo General Manager Hotel ESTELAR Grand Playa Manzanillo by Occidental Hotels & Resorts

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • may 20 2017
    • New York City, New York
    • Family

    StitchRN

    “Good, but not American standard ”


    I give it a 3.5 stars. Cartagena is a vacation spot for South Americans. If you're looking for 4 stars hotel that is at par with American standards then you might want to consider Mexico. Overall, the hotel was clean, maintained, the people were helpful and friendly. Don't expect a bar with a large selection of liquors or to have various food selection during meal time at the buffet. The food and service was good. There are three a la carte restaurants, which requires you to make reservations the day of. This hotel is about 30 minutes (without traffic) from the old city. The hotel offers free shuttle services at different time intervals, last shuttle from the old city is at midnight. My family and I enjoyed the hotel. We took advantage of the shuttle and explored the old city.


    , General Manager at Occidental Cartagena, responded to this review
    Dear guess, From all the employees who Works at Hotel Estelar Grand Playa Manzanillo thanks for taking some time to let us know how was your experience with us and what can we do better to give to our guest a fully experience. Right now, we are glad to inform that our A&B department is working on a new selection and design to our menus for all of our restaurants, and give more variety to currently 15 cyclical menus. Add to this, our bars department is taking some courses related to drinks and cocktails. What it comes to the traffic things. We apologize for that because there is something that is goes out of our control, since is the local government the one who is behind the construction on the road because those are part of the improvement plan and ways from the city, but usually take just 30 minutes as you have said from the hotel to downtown. We offered to our guest the shuttle commute without any cost so they can use it to get to the historical city at the schedule they have set. We are glad to hear you and your family enjoys your staying with us. We hope to have the chance to have you again and give you the best of our work. Best regards, Alonso Giraldo General Manager Hotel ESTELAR Grand Playa Manzanillo by Occidental Hotels & Resorts

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • may 17 2017
    • Cartagena, Colombia
    • Friends getaway

    bbunny3

    “Safe, relaxing oasis”


    CONTEXT: I am a 22-year-old American woman, and I went with a female friend to visit Cartagena for several days during May. We both have college student budgets and working knowledge of Spanish. OVERALL: We had a great experience here. The people were friendly, transportation was easy, and we felt like we could relax once we got back at the end of activities and sightseeing. PROS: - VERY SAFE--we felt very much at ease throughout the hotel and on the private beach. Staff are readily available and very attentive if you need anything. - Plenty of food/drink options--as Americans, we were a little wary of the water, but we didn't have any issues eating most of our meals at the hotel. There are a lot of options available for food and drinks; most aren't worth writing home about, but the all-inclusive option is worth it--filling, satisfactory, economical, and safe. - Beautiful views--the pools are gorgeous, and they overlook the sunset and parts of the beach. - Transportation--the hotel offers bus transport to and from the Old City throughout the day and evening, making it really convenient to get back and forth (the hotel is ~30 minutes' drive from the Old City). CONS: - Proximity to actual Cartagena--if you want to be in the thick of things, whether in the Old City (more touristy) or the modern city (more people and less navigable for foreigners), the Occidental is a little far. - Language--as with pretty much everywhere in Cartagena, there are very few people who speak English, because the vast majority of visitors are tourists from other Latin American countries. We had a few interactions in English, but we would've had a much harder time getting by without some basic Spanish phrases. - Cleanliness--there wasn't anything terribly gross or dirty about this place, but cleanliness standards here are different from those of American hotels. Expect a very basic room and setup, and don't eat anything that you think might've been out too long or something. Not too bad, just not the same as what we were used to in the States.


    , General Manager at Occidental Cartagena, responded to this review
    Dear Guest, From all the employees who Works at Hotel Estelar Grand Playa Manzanillo thanks for taking some time to let us know how well was your experience with us and what can we do better to give to our guest a fully experience. We are glad to know that we did give you a great time during your staying in the city. Right now, 60% of our staff speaks a second language, and the other 40% is taking some courses to learn foreign languages and give to our guest a better service through an excellent knowledge on a new language. We hope to have the chance to have you again and give you the best of our work. Best regards, Alonso Giraldo General Manager Hotel ESTELAR Grand Playa Manzanillo by Occidental Hotels & Resorts

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • may 15 2017
    • Flint, Michigan
    • Family

    Raouf S

    “2 Star with potential. Do not expect a lot & you will be happy”


    this is our 2nd return to the same hotel (03/2015), then 05/2017. - The small reception will give you the impression that the hotel is a not a lavage and 5 star as Barceló claims. It is not for sure a 5 or 4 or even 3 stars in my own ratings. The friendly front desk staff ( the only one that speaks any English), will accommodate to the best of their ability. The new Manager does not speak fluent English & does not understand it. Columbian are very warm people. Make sure you ask for Angie or Ednis Or Jennifer they are great. Definitely the property went down in my rating from service to amenities than 2 years ago. - Property= is located about 15 munites drive from the airport, with light traffic. Taxis run about $8 each way & they are plenty waiting. Always kept clean from the beach to the hallways, housekeeping is doing their job. Maintenance is very poor & undependable. Rooms are cleaned & done every day with fresh towels. Free WIFI, that is very pool on the beach - Beds = Mattresses are laid on a cement slab. all rooms are the same but it is worth paying extra to get a suite with ocean view. Rooms that have ocean front are 1301, 1401, 1501, 2301, 2401, 2501. We had both 1501& 2501. The suite Deluxe has 737 ft2. Plenty of room - Pools, 2 large. one quiet & the other has all the activities. Plenty of chairs, only few umbrellas. Not enough for the 192 rooms they claim they have. - Restaurants, 4 of them. within few steps of each other. Same cook, and the same kitchen provides all the foods. Mediterranean, Italian, buffet, then the steak house. Few limited menu in all but food taste good. Not enough workers. - 2 Bars, one per pool. They do not have the license to have one by the beach, so that is shut down now. Long walk back & forth to get water in the hot weather. - Nightly entertainment; very poor now & they do not speak any English. I will definitely go back. Do not pay a lot for the hotel & you will enjoy it.


    , General Manager at Occidental Cartagena, responded to this review
    Dear Raouf, From all the employees who Works at Hotel Estelar Grand Playa Manzanillo thanks for taking some time to let us know how was your experience with us and what can we do better to give to our guest a fully experience. About some facts that you mention before, we would like to cheer with you some information as a shown we really cares about our guest comfort and how much we work every day on their suggestion to provide them a better service. 60% of our staff speaks second language fluency; the other 40% is currently taking some courses to learn one different than the native. The hotel has made a few agreements with some institution so they can have access in an ease way to study and learn foreign languages. What it comes to our restaurants, we are glad to inform that our A&B department is working on a new selection and design to our menus for all of them, and give more variety to ours 15 cyclical menus. Add to this, our bars department is taking some courses related to drinks and cocktails too. Add to this, the beach bar is closed by now, not because we don’t have the license to put it work, it is because the hotel occupancy rate. To open it we must have a minimum among as a requirement to give the service. But since attend to our guest it’s a priority for us, we offer the bar service at the place that is located in the right side next to the pool, and near to the beach. We apologize if you feel it in a different way. Your suggest related to the shows and performances that are recreating in the night to entertain the guest, are already submit to the corresponding area for their knowledge so they can work on it. Right now, our dancers are working on new shows better thought out. Improve is something we do every day, because we want to give the best of our work and make feel our guest comfortable. We really hope have the chance to have you and your family again, so you can enjoy the improvement we are working on and as usual being attend by our friendly and dedicated staff. Best regards, Alonso Giraldo General Manager Hotel ESTELAR Grand Playa Manzanillo by Occidental Hotels & Resorts

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • may 12 2017
    • Strongsville, Ohio, United States
    • Couples

    Canela57

    “Not great! ”


    My husband and I wanted to get away from the cold weather, have been curious about Colombia for a while now, so decided to take a trip to this beautiful country. Couldn't find an adult only all inclusive, therefore, we picked the Occidental in Cartagena. The ride to the hotel was interesting, there was a lot of road construction (lots of bridges), but it wasn't too bad. Once we got to the hotel, I was surprised to see how small it was, it even looked a little primitive. From my experience, the one good thing about our stay, was the staff. Most of them were very nice and helpful. The ladies working the spa were amazing, as well as the housekeeping staff. The food, had a lot to be desired, as well as the drinks. And the restaurants.... Well... (Besides having only three of them) were bad! The only one that was decent was the grill... And it seemed that they never had enough staff so we had to wait a long time for our dinners. I even had to go and get my own drinks at the bar, (if I wanted to have something to drink). The buffet for breakfast and lunch looked the same every day, boring.... I was annoyed at the fact that I had to wait in line every morning to make reservations for dinner to one of their "a la carte" restaurants, and some mornings the "concierge" wasn't available. When we checked in, we were told about the mini bar.... They supply you with two, TWO beers, one bottle of water, two colas and two other kind of sodas per day, and if you would like more than that, you'll have to pay extra for them, or go and get hem yourself at the bar. Never heard of that at an all inclusive hotel! They have two bars, one is located at the "quiet" pool, and closes at 5:00pm, although the pool closes at 8:00pm.... (The bartender at this pool was always missing, whether getting ice or something else he didn't have, or he was on his break), and the main bar, so if you are at the quiet pool after 5:00 pm, and want something to drink, you'll have to go all the way to the main bar and get it yourself. The entertainment was horrible! Not very entertaining at all! The guests were more entertaining than the staff. The rooms were clean, but they look very old, as well as the furniture. The bed, though, was very comfy. The beach was nice, very wide.... The vendors were around all the time, but if you told them you didn't want anything, they wouldn't bother you any more. Overall, it was an ok visit.


    , General Manager at Occidental Cartagena, responded to this review
    Dear Guest, First at all, greetings from all of the employees of our hotel, we really want you to know how much we appreciate your valuable remark about your staying with us; Comments like yours help us to improve the quality of the service that we offer. At the same time we are sorry to hear that your experience with us didn’t full fill your expectations. What its related to the food we are glad to inform we are working on the 15 cyclical menus we offer in the restaurants to diversify them and give more variety to our guest. The same goes for the bar and drinks part. We make the reservations system to put on schedule to our guest so we can give them a better service since those restaurants have at deadline to work. Our guest satisfactions is a priority for us, for that reason we put on scene a different show to them every night through our recreations department. They performance the main shows on Thursday and Saturday. Right now they are working on new performances to put on scene. Once again we apologize if some of our working systems made you feel unpleasant. We hope to have the chance to have you again and give you the best of our work. Sincerely, Alonso Giraldo General Manager Hotel ESTELAR Grand Playa Manzanillo by Occidental Hotels & Resorts

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

    to

      Incorrect dates
      Please enter valid dates

    NIGHTS

    (Optional dates)

    A discount or promotional code is a combination of letters and/or numbers that gives a discount on the normal rate. You can receive discount codes through special campaigns by being a my Barceló member, following us on social media or booking through Barcelo.com. 

    If you have a discount code, enter it when booking and you will receive a discount on your booking. The discount does not apply to the cost of extras. The maximum amount of accumulated discount will be 25% of the rate (although in certain hotels the maximum accumulated discount will be 20%). It is possible to combine a discount code and special discounts. Only one discount code per booking is permitted.

    Loading rates...
    The hotel does not have any rates allocated to it

    Best online price guaranteed

    If you find a better rate, we will top it.

    We will return the difference and we will also apply an additional 10% discount to the cost of the final booking. For more information...