Important notice for guests

Reservations made at hotels in Cuba will accept payment using Visa and MasterCard as long as they do not belong to a USA bank.

Card payments will incur a fee of 3% of the total booking (applies to all of Cuba). Payments will not be accepted using American Express (AMEX) cards.

Barceló Hotel Gastronomy Arenas Blancas

Barceló Arenas Blancas

Texto: 44838 Modern and exclusive hotel located in Varadero town centre, which is ideal for rest and relaxation. CR Las Américas, km.3 -Varadero, Cuba
+53 45 6144 99 +53 45 611 086
Barceló Arenas Blancas Texto: 44838 3.5 out of 5 based on 6453 ratings. 6453 user reviews.
Barceló Arenas Blancas reviewed by Brenzy B on . Barcelo Solymar - Resort is Fantastic We have been to Cuba 6 times. We love the people at this resort – the most valuable asset of any company is its people. Onay -at the restaurant reservation desk is much; much more to everyone he... Rating: 5
map

Barceló Arenas Blancas

CR Las Américas, km.3 -Varadero, Cuba  


Points of Interest

28 km Varadero Airport

4 km Varadero Golf Course

1 km Varadero

Premios y Reconocimientos Prizes and Awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Barceló Arenas Blancas

3.5/5 Round Indicators
| 6570 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


GUESTS’ SCORE

Excellent

22% Complete

1499

Very good

34% Complete

2298

Average

20% Complete

1316

Poor

12% Complete

794

Very poor

10% Complete

663

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    Dave D 02/24/2017 Family

    “Not Impressed for most part!”

    My wife and I and our 2 youngest children just returned yesterday from a week's stay at the Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort in Varadero Cuba. We have stayed in Cuba twice before and had a very enjoyable trip both times.(Cayo Coca and Holguin.) We were under the impression from travel agent we were getting a 2 bedroom Villa but when arrived were told the Arenas Blancas where we were booked had no Villas just the Solymar had villas. They said there were no villas available right then to move us over and had to put us in a room at the Blancas. Not a problem were not picky people so we go to room with envolope receiption gave us and theres no room cards in it so can't get in room. I returned to front desk to get cards then return to room which only has 1 king size bed for 4 of us. Back to front desk again. Then we get room with 2 single beds. Was told that was only room available that nite. Next day were told to go to Solymar to get villa .!st one has 2 single beds again. Told to come back at 1 there would be another villa with room for 4 people as people were checking out. Told at 1 to come back at 4. Told at 4 no rooms available. Next day at 9 were told to come back at 1 then 4. Finally get a villa at 4 go check it out has no working air conditioning . Back to front desk get another one has King bed upper floor and pull out on main level. My wife suggested they move another pull out in so they do and we finally have a room on Sunday that we can all sleep in.(we checked in Thursday nite) Friday morning I stubbed my big toe on a raised piece of concrete on one of the walkways. there are a lot of them around resort. I managed to hobble around for rest of week. Wednesday there was no water for most of afternoon and nite. The A La Carte Restaurants charge you extra for the better meals like Lobster and charge for drinks other than wine which i have never heard of before at an all inclusive. Also had to go to desk 3 times during stay because room card quit working (all 3). Most days there was 1 towel in room for 4 of us. This resort has a beautiful beach and layout . It needs some upgrading but overall is in decent shape . I don't think we will be back though. Dave & Marilyn Dew
    Round Indicators
    Shelby C 02/24/2017 Family

    “Beautiful people, beautiful Country.”

    Beautiful resort perfectly located in Varadero. Minutes from town and several great clubs. Beautiful people, amazing entertainment and animation staff. Adrian, Ariana and Korel were absolutely amazing and we will come back to visit them for sure. Food was good. Lozaro at the grill station in the Arena Blancas buffet was an absolute gem. The most amazing and clean beach ever with white sands and turquoise waters as far as the eye can see. Towels and laundry was definitely a little off and there was barely any wifi, but all together not many complaints. Our maid, Maidoly made sure that our room was clean and we were happy everyday of our stay. Would definitely visit again as I love the resort and the people in Cuba. If you prefer a quieter night, stay in Arena Blancas and if you like to party stay at Solymar but either way having full access to both resorts is a beautiful thing. I highly recommend.
    Round Indicators
    JamesMumford Toronto, Canada. 02/22/2017 Friends getaway

    “Great Experience overall”

    Food was good. I heard that the biggest complaint in Cuba was that the food was terrible. Barceló had great food in my opinion. I stuck to more of what I know, the chicken and pork from the fresh grill, rice, and tried different seafoods. The a la carte's were good, with lots of options. Beach was amazing. Pool was great. My complaints would go to check in. We were supposed to check in at 4pm (after getting to the hotel around noon), which was ok, that's the typical check in time. First we were told we would be in the same building as a couple of friends travelling with us, but when we went back we were told not anymore we had been moved. Once moved (its now 4pm) they told us our room wasn't ready, but should be in about 15-20 minutes tops. Went back after about 30 minutes, was ignored by the staff because our room still wasn't ready, once I talked to someone they ended up saying they were cleaning it now, so here's a key and it should be done when you get there. So we walked to our room, about 5 minutes from the front desk, and when we got there, there was still garbage on the floor, beds not changed, towels in the tub, just a dirty room. So we went back to the front desk, it was now approx. 5 pm, and told them. There was no hurry to try and get us into a room nothing like that. When our room was finally cleaned it was 6pm, 2 hrs after check in. No offers were made to help the situation, we finally received a bottle of rum cream on our last day at check out, (this was more so to do with our safe locking us out and having to wait an hr and a half for someone to fix it). It does sound like a large complaint, which it is, and I would have given the resort excellent had it not been for these mistakes.

    BarceloSmAb, Director General at Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort, responded to this review
     Dear JamesMumford, Thank you for sharing your experience with Tripadvisor readers. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Barceló Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort We appreciate your comment about our food and we work daily to provide a high quality service that distinguishes us. We are very sorry to know about the experiences you describe in your check-in, anyway we analyze your comments and you can be sure we are going to take the appropriate measures with the staff involved. We appreciate your recommendation and we welcome you back on your next trip to Varadero / Cuba. It will be a pleasure to receive you. Best regards, Juan Marqués General Manager

    Round Indicators
    Emelyn D Edmonton. 02/21/2017 Friends getaway

    “Lots of fun and lots to do”

    My friend and I stayed here for a week and had an excellent time. First the cons: We were booked at the Arenas resort initially, but when we arrived at 1:30 am, found ourselves in a handicapped equipped room. There was a shower head over the toilet, a weird little set of plastic half shower walls, with another shower head set halfway up the wall. There was no vanity to place our toiletries etc. The room had three beds and no coffee maker. I once stayed at a nunnery that had more amenities. The next morning, we immediately requested another room and were fortunately moved to the Solymer resort next door. What's funny is we met another set of friends from Vancouver who got the other handicapped room at the Arenas. They also requested another room and got moved within the same resort. The thing is, those rooms are completely unsuitable for use - even for those in wheelchairs. People in wheelchairs have toiletries, use hairdryers and drink coffee. Those rooms are pretty bad. We paid for those nights. Another con was the noise. Lots of heavy drinking from the young set. Fighting (swearing, verbal altercations) was pretty common. Even though our room faced away from the pool, the noise from the bar area was fairly loud. We had two separate sets of duelling neighbours, one who "attempted" an overdose (we are trained in risk assessment and she wasn't actually at physical risk, just drunk and mad and took two extra pills - still unpleasant and potentially dangerous) and the other set fighting and falling asleep with their TV on so loud that several people complained. Still, I'm a city girl, I wasn't really bothered, but my rural friend found a few nights difficult to sleep. Third con, if you're a clean freak, you might find maid service a bit spotty. But we would just left a note and our maid would take care of things. No ATM (keep reading for more info) or wifi. Last con, my Kindle was stolen at the Arenas store. I don't want to say staff took it because a customer may have entered in the 5 minutes I discovered it missing and returned. Still, they weren't very helpful. I reported the loss, but of course never got it back. Oh, well. Poop happens. Now for the good. And there's lots of good. In general, the staff is friendly. The maid we had, Marcela was kind, attentive and did her best. The buffet staff were great. I don't remember their names, but if you go, walk all the way to the back - and the two gentlemen who work the breakfast and lunch shift are amazing. They work so hard to make you feel special. The older man was so kind, sweet and attentive that when I hugged him goodbye, I nearly cried. Speaking of food, the food at the Solymer is pretty good. Count on the fish and chicken. Yum! The buns are always fresh and soft. I never went hungry. Coffee is fabulous anywhere in the resort, but the coffee bar at Arenas is the best for pretty coffee. Grab one and sit outside to enjoy the cool morning air. Nothing better. The animation teams are amazing and get people dancing, playing games, involved in contests and all kinds of things. It's fun just to watch while you sit by the pool. The pools are all clean, cool and there's several to choose from. We never had a problem getting a lounge chair even though it got pretty full. Make sure you bring a drink cup to avoid running to the bar every 5 minutes. Cuban resorts use tiny plastic cups that personally, I can empty in two swallows! The beach is great. Pretty clean, lots of chairs. There is also a tiny shop between the two resorts that has the cutest things. I bought this great little Cuban espresso machine that I haven't stopped using since I got home. Not only that, but the lady went above and beyond for me there. She deserves lots of business. The Solymer had a great little Cuban band that played nightly right around dinner time. It was nice to sit and have a Brasilian coffee and listen. I highly recommend the Brasilian coffee, btw. Or it was a five minute walk to the Beatles bar for classic rock in Varaderos. Lots of people from the resort would go there. The Havana Club is just outside Arenas and so is a cigar store. Keep walking deeper down the street for shops and a mini market. The nearest ATM is on 54 street, which is across from the park (St Joseph, in English) where you will find amazing piña coladas and a barbecue place where they do grilled lobster. Just listen for the music and you'll find this out of the way place. Remember the ATM because the resort does NOT have one, just a little bank with spotty wifi that may or may not be able to let you pull cash out on your credit card. And if you like to shop, make sure to visit the flea market. 10 CUCs by cab to go. Or you can take the bus for 5 CUCs (keep your ticket and you can ride all day). I really enjoyed this resort. The cons were minor and the pluses were huge. It was a pretty place. We would go again. Personally, we liked Cayo Santa Maria better because it feels more Cuban, but when we return to Varaderos, we will definitely return to this resort.

    BarceloSmAb, Director General at Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort, responded to this review
     Dear Emelyn D, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at Barceló Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort. We were delighted to read that you felt that this Barceló has a helpful staff ("They work so hard to make you feel special"), our entertainment ("The animation teams are amazing") and the location. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay ("I really enjoyed this resort"). It truly was a pleasure to have you in house with us. Thank you very much. Our only achievement and triumph here at Barceló Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort is to fully satisfy our guest and make memorable experience. My team and I thank you once again for your great comments and I personally look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Varadero. Best regards, Juan Marqués General Manager

    Round Indicators
    Gerry S 02/21/2017 Family

    “AVOID AVOID AVOID”

    Our stay was February 2017. We had 15 people in our group and all us were more than disappointed with this hotel. We read some of the negative reviews and took them in stride knowing we are the type of people who can make the best of anything. Don't be fooled, there is NO making the best of this hotel. The standards of this Barceló do not reach the standards of other Barceló's world wide. The rooms were disgusting with dirty floors that did not get regular cleaning regardless of how many times we asked our maid. The towels are not replaced, you get 2 towels at the start and nothing after that. At one point, my towel was so dirty, I threw it in the tub to be replaced, the maid took it out, folded it up and placed it back on the rack. The bathroom door fell on one of my daughters (hinges were rusted), when we spoke to the front desk they replied "there is nothing we can do". My daughter was ill one night and threw up on the bed skirt, this did not get replaced until I stripped the bed. When the bed skirt was removed, the box springs looked they retrieved them from the dump, they were so dirty with large holes. The hinges were also coming away from the box spring which my husband had to remove the staples so we did not get cut by them as we walked by. The walls were covered with old drink stains. Then the cockroaches came out. The stairs and elevators to the main lobby are dirty and never swept or mopped. Dawn W is right when she mentions the public washrooms, they are a disgrace. They stink of raw sewage are extremely dirty and constantly have no toilet paper, this includes the pool bar. The pool area is poorly maintained with broken tiles everywhere including on the bottom of the pool. There are cigarette butts all over the pool deck as well as used straws and cups. The pool deck and main lobby is constantly sticky from all the spilt drinks. The grounds are not maintained. Then there is the food - 9 out of 15 of us either vomited or had bad diarrhea, subpar to say the least but we were expecting this. On our last day we asked our maid for a fresh bottle of water and she refused to give it to us as we were checked out that day. We were not scheduled to leave our resort until midnight and we asked for water at 10:00am, unbelievable. I could go on and on but I think you get the gist. Save yourself a lot of money on a bad vacation and do NOT book this hotel.

    BarceloSmAb, Director General at Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort, responded to this review
     Dear Gerry S, Thank you for sharing your holiday review in Barceló Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort with TripAdvisor and us. As we can read, we didn't accomplish with your expectations and we would like to apologize. It's hard for us, reading other reviews, that you had a bad holiday. But we recommend you for the next time to contact with our Public Relations Departament, to maybe, solve some issues. Please, receive my most sincere apologies for all the problems you say you had in your room. We will transmit your remark to the housekeeping department to take carefully check all the areas that you remark. We have to tell you that your comments about our staff surprise us, because our greatest asset is the customer satisfaction and our philosophy so as to make customers feel at home: friendliness, service, and above all, a pleasant smile. Our staff work with us for years and normally carries out their daily work with great dedication. However, we will work on some of the issues you reported, to ensure the deliverance of a good performance, because it's very important to our business and our success depends on it. We can confirm you, that during your stay, there weren't any more cases of sickness with our customers. We have a log book for such cases. When we are aware that a client has diarrhea or vomiting we try to help them in everything they need: preparation of a specific diet, drinks, etc... Even if we have to bring meals to the room, we do it. We have a specific diet for these cases. We are refurbishing our buildings and our bungalows to supply our customers with the best of comfort. Our bungalows are being reformed. To finish, we want to inform you that all our efforts are to accomplish with all the family's expectations to have a great time in our Resort, we especially work for the children, because if the children enjoy their parents do it too. Without any further ado, we hope that you may give us another opportunity so that you may return home satisfied these time, after an unforgettable holiday. We take this opportunity to send you kind regards. Juan Marqués General Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 24 2017
    • Family

    Dave D

    “Not Impressed for most part!”


    My wife and I and our 2 youngest children just returned yesterday from a week's stay at the Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort in Varadero Cuba. We have stayed in Cuba twice before and had a very enjoyable trip both times.(Cayo Coca and Holguin.) We were under the impression from travel agent we were getting a 2 bedroom Villa but when arrived were told the Arenas Blancas where we were booked had no Villas just the Solymar had villas. They said there were no villas available right then to move us over and had to put us in a room at the Blancas. Not a problem were not picky people so we go to room with envolope receiption gave us and theres no room cards in it so can't get in room. I returned to front desk to get cards then return to room which only has 1 king size bed for 4 of us. Back to front desk again. Then we get room with 2 single beds. Was told that was only room available that nite. Next day were told to go to Solymar to get villa .!st one has 2 single beds again. Told to come back at 1 there would be another villa with room for 4 people as people were checking out. Told at 1 to come back at 4. Told at 4 no rooms available. Next day at 9 were told to come back at 1 then 4. Finally get a villa at 4 go check it out has no working air conditioning . Back to front desk get another one has King bed upper floor and pull out on main level. My wife suggested they move another pull out in so they do and we finally have a room on Sunday that we can all sleep in.(we checked in Thursday nite) Friday morning I stubbed my big toe on a raised piece of concrete on one of the walkways. there are a lot of them around resort. I managed to hobble around for rest of week. Wednesday there was no water for most of afternoon and nite. The A La Carte Restaurants charge you extra for the better meals like Lobster and charge for drinks other than wine which i have never heard of before at an all inclusive. Also had to go to desk 3 times during stay because room card quit working (all 3). Most days there was 1 towel in room for 4 of us. This resort has a beautiful beach and layout . It needs some upgrading but overall is in decent shape . I don't think we will be back though. Dave & Marilyn Dew


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 24 2017
    • Family

    Shelby C

    “Beautiful people, beautiful Country.”


    Beautiful resort perfectly located in Varadero. Minutes from town and several great clubs. Beautiful people, amazing entertainment and animation staff. Adrian, Ariana and Korel were absolutely amazing and we will come back to visit them for sure. Food was good. Lozaro at the grill station in the Arena Blancas buffet was an absolute gem. The most amazing and clean beach ever with white sands and turquoise waters as far as the eye can see. Towels and laundry was definitely a little off and there was barely any wifi, but all together not many complaints. Our maid, Maidoly made sure that our room was clean and we were happy everyday of our stay. Would definitely visit again as I love the resort and the people in Cuba. If you prefer a quieter night, stay in Arena Blancas and if you like to party stay at Solymar but either way having full access to both resorts is a beautiful thing. I highly recommend.


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 22 2017
    • Toronto, Canada
    • Friends getaway

    JamesMumford

    “Great Experience overall”


    Food was good. I heard that the biggest complaint in Cuba was that the food was terrible. Barceló had great food in my opinion. I stuck to more of what I know, the chicken and pork from the fresh grill, rice, and tried different seafoods. The a la carte's were good, with lots of options. Beach was amazing. Pool was great. My complaints would go to check in. We were supposed to check in at 4pm (after getting to the hotel around noon), which was ok, that's the typical check in time. First we were told we would be in the same building as a couple of friends travelling with us, but when we went back we were told not anymore we had been moved. Once moved (its now 4pm) they told us our room wasn't ready, but should be in about 15-20 minutes tops. Went back after about 30 minutes, was ignored by the staff because our room still wasn't ready, once I talked to someone they ended up saying they were cleaning it now, so here's a key and it should be done when you get there. So we walked to our room, about 5 minutes from the front desk, and when we got there, there was still garbage on the floor, beds not changed, towels in the tub, just a dirty room. So we went back to the front desk, it was now approx. 5 pm, and told them. There was no hurry to try and get us into a room nothing like that. When our room was finally cleaned it was 6pm, 2 hrs after check in. No offers were made to help the situation, we finally received a bottle of rum cream on our last day at check out, (this was more so to do with our safe locking us out and having to wait an hr and a half for someone to fix it). It does sound like a large complaint, which it is, and I would have given the resort excellent had it not been for these mistakes.


    BarceloSmAb, Director General at Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort, responded to this review
    Dear JamesMumford, Thank you for sharing your experience with Tripadvisor readers. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Barceló Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort We appreciate your comment about our food and we work daily to provide a high quality service that distinguishes us. We are very sorry to know about the experiences you describe in your check-in, anyway we analyze your comments and you can be sure we are going to take the appropriate measures with the staff involved. We appreciate your recommendation and we welcome you back on your next trip to Varadero / Cuba. It will be a pleasure to receive you. Best regards, Juan Marqués General Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 21 2017
    • Edmonton
    • Friends getaway

    Emelyn D

    “Lots of fun and lots to do”


    My friend and I stayed here for a week and had an excellent time. First the cons: We were booked at the Arenas resort initially, but when we arrived at 1:30 am, found ourselves in a handicapped equipped room. There was a shower head over the toilet, a weird little set of plastic half shower walls, with another shower head set halfway up the wall. There was no vanity to place our toiletries etc. The room had three beds and no coffee maker. I once stayed at a nunnery that had more amenities. The next morning, we immediately requested another room and were fortunately moved to the Solymer resort next door. What's funny is we met another set of friends from Vancouver who got the other handicapped room at the Arenas. They also requested another room and got moved within the same resort. The thing is, those rooms are completely unsuitable for use - even for those in wheelchairs. People in wheelchairs have toiletries, use hairdryers and drink coffee. Those rooms are pretty bad. We paid for those nights. Another con was the noise. Lots of heavy drinking from the young set. Fighting (swearing, verbal altercations) was pretty common. Even though our room faced away from the pool, the noise from the bar area was fairly loud. We had two separate sets of duelling neighbours, one who "attempted" an overdose (we are trained in risk assessment and she wasn't actually at physical risk, just drunk and mad and took two extra pills - still unpleasant and potentially dangerous) and the other set fighting and falling asleep with their TV on so loud that several people complained. Still, I'm a city girl, I wasn't really bothered, but my rural friend found a few nights difficult to sleep. Third con, if you're a clean freak, you might find maid service a bit spotty. But we would just left a note and our maid would take care of things. No ATM (keep reading for more info) or wifi. Last con, my Kindle was stolen at the Arenas store. I don't want to say staff took it because a customer may have entered in the 5 minutes I discovered it missing and returned. Still, they weren't very helpful. I reported the loss, but of course never got it back. Oh, well. Poop happens. Now for the good. And there's lots of good. In general, the staff is friendly. The maid we had, Marcela was kind, attentive and did her best. The buffet staff were great. I don't remember their names, but if you go, walk all the way to the back - and the two gentlemen who work the breakfast and lunch shift are amazing. They work so hard to make you feel special. The older man was so kind, sweet and attentive that when I hugged him goodbye, I nearly cried. Speaking of food, the food at the Solymer is pretty good. Count on the fish and chicken. Yum! The buns are always fresh and soft. I never went hungry. Coffee is fabulous anywhere in the resort, but the coffee bar at Arenas is the best for pretty coffee. Grab one and sit outside to enjoy the cool morning air. Nothing better. The animation teams are amazing and get people dancing, playing games, involved in contests and all kinds of things. It's fun just to watch while you sit by the pool. The pools are all clean, cool and there's several to choose from. We never had a problem getting a lounge chair even though it got pretty full. Make sure you bring a drink cup to avoid running to the bar every 5 minutes. Cuban resorts use tiny plastic cups that personally, I can empty in two swallows! The beach is great. Pretty clean, lots of chairs. There is also a tiny shop between the two resorts that has the cutest things. I bought this great little Cuban espresso machine that I haven't stopped using since I got home. Not only that, but the lady went above and beyond for me there. She deserves lots of business. The Solymer had a great little Cuban band that played nightly right around dinner time. It was nice to sit and have a Brasilian coffee and listen. I highly recommend the Brasilian coffee, btw. Or it was a five minute walk to the Beatles bar for classic rock in Varaderos. Lots of people from the resort would go there. The Havana Club is just outside Arenas and so is a cigar store. Keep walking deeper down the street for shops and a mini market. The nearest ATM is on 54 street, which is across from the park (St Joseph, in English) where you will find amazing piña coladas and a barbecue place where they do grilled lobster. Just listen for the music and you'll find this out of the way place. Remember the ATM because the resort does NOT have one, just a little bank with spotty wifi that may or may not be able to let you pull cash out on your credit card. And if you like to shop, make sure to visit the flea market. 10 CUCs by cab to go. Or you can take the bus for 5 CUCs (keep your ticket and you can ride all day). I really enjoyed this resort. The cons were minor and the pluses were huge. It was a pretty place. We would go again. Personally, we liked Cayo Santa Maria better because it feels more Cuban, but when we return to Varaderos, we will definitely return to this resort.


    BarceloSmAb, Director General at Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort, responded to this review
    Dear Emelyn D, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at Barceló Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort. We were delighted to read that you felt that this Barceló has a helpful staff ("They work so hard to make you feel special"), our entertainment ("The animation teams are amazing") and the location. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay ("I really enjoyed this resort"). It truly was a pleasure to have you in house with us. Thank you very much. Our only achievement and triumph here at Barceló Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort is to fully satisfy our guest and make memorable experience. My team and I thank you once again for your great comments and I personally look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Varadero. Best regards, Juan Marqués General Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 21 2017
    • Family

    Gerry S

    “AVOID AVOID AVOID”


    Our stay was February 2017. We had 15 people in our group and all us were more than disappointed with this hotel. We read some of the negative reviews and took them in stride knowing we are the type of people who can make the best of anything. Don't be fooled, there is NO making the best of this hotel. The standards of this Barceló do not reach the standards of other Barceló's world wide. The rooms were disgusting with dirty floors that did not get regular cleaning regardless of how many times we asked our maid. The towels are not replaced, you get 2 towels at the start and nothing after that. At one point, my towel was so dirty, I threw it in the tub to be replaced, the maid took it out, folded it up and placed it back on the rack. The bathroom door fell on one of my daughters (hinges were rusted), when we spoke to the front desk they replied "there is nothing we can do". My daughter was ill one night and threw up on the bed skirt, this did not get replaced until I stripped the bed. When the bed skirt was removed, the box springs looked they retrieved them from the dump, they were so dirty with large holes. The hinges were also coming away from the box spring which my husband had to remove the staples so we did not get cut by them as we walked by. The walls were covered with old drink stains. Then the cockroaches came out. The stairs and elevators to the main lobby are dirty and never swept or mopped. Dawn W is right when she mentions the public washrooms, they are a disgrace. They stink of raw sewage are extremely dirty and constantly have no toilet paper, this includes the pool bar. The pool area is poorly maintained with broken tiles everywhere including on the bottom of the pool. There are cigarette butts all over the pool deck as well as used straws and cups. The pool deck and main lobby is constantly sticky from all the spilt drinks. The grounds are not maintained. Then there is the food - 9 out of 15 of us either vomited or had bad diarrhea, subpar to say the least but we were expecting this. On our last day we asked our maid for a fresh bottle of water and she refused to give it to us as we were checked out that day. We were not scheduled to leave our resort until midnight and we asked for water at 10:00am, unbelievable. I could go on and on but I think you get the gist. Save yourself a lot of money on a bad vacation and do NOT book this hotel.


    BarceloSmAb, Director General at Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort, responded to this review
    Dear Gerry S, Thank you for sharing your holiday review in Barceló Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort with TripAdvisor and us. As we can read, we didn't accomplish with your expectations and we would like to apologize. It's hard for us, reading other reviews, that you had a bad holiday. But we recommend you for the next time to contact with our Public Relations Departament, to maybe, solve some issues. Please, receive my most sincere apologies for all the problems you say you had in your room. We will transmit your remark to the housekeeping department to take carefully check all the areas that you remark. We have to tell you that your comments about our staff surprise us, because our greatest asset is the customer satisfaction and our philosophy so as to make customers feel at home: friendliness, service, and above all, a pleasant smile. Our staff work with us for years and normally carries out their daily work with great dedication. However, we will work on some of the issues you reported, to ensure the deliverance of a good performance, because it's very important to our business and our success depends on it. We can confirm you, that during your stay, there weren't any more cases of sickness with our customers. We have a log book for such cases. When we are aware that a client has diarrhea or vomiting we try to help them in everything they need: preparation of a specific diet, drinks, etc... Even if we have to bring meals to the room, we do it. We have a specific diet for these cases. We are refurbishing our buildings and our bungalows to supply our customers with the best of comfort. Our bungalows are being reformed. To finish, we want to inform you that all our efforts are to accomplish with all the family's expectations to have a great time in our Resort, we especially work for the children, because if the children enjoy their parents do it too. Without any further ado, we hope that you may give us another opportunity so that you may return home satisfied these time, after an unforgettable holiday. We take this opportunity to send you kind regards. Juan Marqués General Manager

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

    to

      Incorrect dates
      Please enter valid dates

    NIGHTS

    (Optional dates)

    A discount or promotional code is a combination of letters and/or numbers that gives a discount on the normal rate. You can receive discount codes through special campaigns by being a my Barceló member, following us on social media or booking through Barcelo.com. 

    If you have a discount code, enter it when booking and you will receive a discount on your booking. The discount does not apply to the cost of extras. The maximum amount of the accumulated discount will be 25% off the rate (except for last rooms); it is possible to combine a discount code and special discounts. Only one discount code per booking is permitted.

    Loading rates...
    The hotel does not have any rates allocated to it

    Best online price guaranteed

    If you find a better rate, we will top it.

    We will return the difference and we will also apply an additional 10% discount to the cost of the final booking. For more information...