Barceló Hotel Gastronomy Arenas Blancas

Barceló Arenas Blancas

Texto: 44838 Modern and exclusive hotel located in the center of the city of Varadero, ideal for rest and relaxation. Calle 64 y final | Varadero, Matanzas | Cuba
+53 45 6144 99 +53 45 611 086
Barceló Arenas Blancas Texto: 44838 3.5 out of 5 based on 7026 ratings. 7026 user reviews.
Barceló Arenas Blancas reviewed by CollinsA14 on . Wouldn't Go Back Adversited as a Luxury barcelo hotel recommended by Sunwing. People from our group have stayed here before and said it was a totally different experience before with the hotel cleanliness and upkeep... Rating: 1
map

Barceló Arenas Blancas

Calle 64 y final   Varadero, Matanzas   Cuba  


Points of Interest

3 mi Varadero Airport

2.5 mi Varadero golf course

0.6 miles Varadero

Premios y Reconocimientos Prizes and Awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Barceló Arenas Blancas

3.5/5 Round Indicators
| 7069 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


GUESTS’ SCORE

Excellent

22% Complete

1586

Very good

35% Complete

2484

Average

19% Complete

1400

Poor

12% Complete

864

Very poor

10% Complete

735

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    Ashot E 08/17/2017 Family

    “do not stay there, please stay away”

    I have been in Cuba too many times to count at this point. Love being in Cuba very much, best beaches, people. Stayed at Barcelo Solymar with family, two adults and four kids. Definitely will not go back to Solymar and any Barcelo hotel, or probably Varadero in general. Be honest, I have never written a review, but this hotel is so bad that I just felt I had a duty to warn fellow travelers to stay away from this place, especially when traveling with young family. I think this hotel has significant management issues. Level of available services, space and personnel is totally insufficient to the number of people they are booking and trying to serve. Personnel is overworked and therefore indifferent, sometimes just plain rude. Pools are literally green because of algae and sediment on the bottom. It is well known and commented that one does not go to Cuba for good food, but this hotel takes this idea to a totally new level. First you need to wait to find a table to sit, after you have to wait again just to find plates, and after that good luck standing long lines and finding anything decent to eat. Wait times are so long and frustrating that people clean their own tables, eat standing or just leave. This was by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed, Barcelo chain should be ashamed.

    BarceloSmAb, Director General at Barcelo Solymar, responded to this review
     Dear Ashot E, Please know that we are disappointed you didn't get the vacation with your family you expected. On behalf of our hotel staff we would like to deeply apologize for the inconveniences you had experienced during your stay. We want to do all we can to better our hotel in all ways possible. This review will be shared with all department managers to ensure change for the better. The satisfaction of our guests is incredibly important and we are truly sorry you were disappointed in your experience. Hopefully you and your family were able to enjoy the beautiful Varadero beach area while you were here. Thank you again, for taking the time to give us feedback in order to give a chance to better our property. We hope you have a great day. Juan Marqués General Manager diralojamiento@resortsolymar.gca.tur.cu

    Round Indicators
    danieljcramer Edmonton, Canada. 08/17/2017 Couples

    “Linda Mar Restaurant”

    Friends and I stayed in the hotel in June and ate at the Linda Mar almost nightly. Although the room is older, it is well air conditioned and large enough to cater to the many guests who visit three times a day. Dress code is casual although gentlemen may not wear sleeveless shirts during the supper sitting. There are lots of great staff on hand to handle drink orders and any special items you may need, wine bottle service is very well priced and we found that the staff were always friendly and helpful, even when busy. Once they got to know us, they were quick to invite us to a seat and always brought what they remembered we liked to order. Their friendly service is quite unlike my experiences on cruise ships or in Mexico, much more enthusiastic and fun. Although we had been warned that the food was very bland in Cuba, and that they lacked basic condiments, that was not the case. Linda Mar serves a wide variety of food, pasta, seafood, soups, salads, fruits, deserts. The food is certainly different than what you might expect on a cruise ship or Canadian style buffet; not as many prepared dishes, no lasagna, casseroles, or complex baked dishes. Instead look for lots of basic foods, beans, rice, pasta, burgers, fries, vegetables, chicken in sauce, fish, seafood, beef, (we even had rabbit!) and plan to visit the whole restaurant as you plan to fill your plate! They have lots of familiar condiments and some great local ones. My guests and I found the best tasting, and freshest dishes to be had at the several chef's grills around the restaurant. Here you could request seared fish, tossed pan-seared pasta, shrimps, lobsters, and grilled steak or burgers. As these specialties changed daily, we found asking the chefs about what's available to be very helpful. Of particular note is a local white fish (we snorkeled through hundreds!) that is delicious, pan fried, lightly in butter. Add to that some sides from the buffet, and a healthy serving of fresh fruit, and you're all good. Because the Linda Mar serves so many guests each day, the buffet is quickly destroyed by an onslaught of hungry people. Staff refill everything on an ongoing basis but the presentation is nicest when they open so I have included some pics.

    BarceloSmAb, Director General at Barcelo Solymar, responded to this review
     Dear danieljcramer, Thank you so much for your terrific review! We are happy to hear that your experience was so positive and our staff truly appreciates the kind words. All of us try to deliver a great stay for all of our guests. Our staff gets to see all of our reviews as they are posted, and I know they will be encouraged that you mentioned their efforts and hospitality! Thank you again for choosing to stay with us, we look forward to having you back soon! Juan Marqués General Manager diralojamiento@resortsolymar.gca.tur.cu

    Round Indicators
    JackiBoz Whitby, Canada. 08/17/2017 Family

    “may 2017 barcelo visit”

    went for a five day visit with my teenager (17) and parent(72) was pleasantly surprised - yes the hotel is a little older and our rooms in the hotel were like retro hunter green tiles, red walls and a bidet that was rusted and no one knew what it was cause if you turned it on it would have shot straight up like a water pistol ! fancy aside- food was great, people great, lobby with all its foliage beautiful bed was hard but comfy for me-- towels are a huge issue!!!!! pack some to save stress and pack face clothes-- disposable from dollar store yes a bit of a party hotel - but here was plenty of ages from young to old so did not feel out of place large resort -- plenty of restaurant options-- not all fabulous but not bad to write a negative review Luis is the main dining area ( buffet) looked after the 3 of us nicely almost every day he was wonderful wine there is the best I have had in the Caribbean and coffee - better than Jamaica, Bahamas, Dominican beach stunning beach sports guys awesome ( cant remember his name- maybe Miguel) we had a driver take us to a local restaurant we could walk in to Veradero we took a day tour HIGHLY recommend to Havana with Tropicana night show - good weather amazing decent value for the money , great location , drinks good -- wifi pain - but can do in lobby not very expensive but no wifi throughout like every other country-- vacation and enjoy cant complain - just about towels-- all kinds and sizes - the little condo styles around the property are being nicely refreshed and look good and well kept

    BarceloSmAb, Director General at Barcelo Solymar, responded to this review
     Dear JackiBoz, Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. I am happy to hear you found the Barceló Solymar Arenas Blancas to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future. At Barceló Solymar Arenas Blancas, we promise to do whatever it takes to ensure you are satisfied. You Can Count On Us. Guaranteed. Warm Regards, Juan Marqués General Manager diralojamiento@resortsolymar.gca.tur.cu

    Round Indicators
    Ann-Sophie O 08/17/2017 Family

    “JUST DON'T !!”

    I was supposed to stay their for a week at the end of August but after my mom went 2 weeks ago I am so glad that a change for another hotel. Usually I don't really write reviews about hotels, I feel like some people really exaggerated, but this time people have to know because every complaint that are written on this site are true. I went to Cuba more times than i can count. I know that the food is not the best and that this hotel is cheaper than the others. However I went there with my mom 5 years ago and I cannot even believe that this hotel is still rated as a 4.5 -4 stars. Like seriously it's a joke !! So let's start -ALL pools are broken and just by the color of the water this is definitely not a 2 weeks problem -More than half of the rooms don't have a working A/C -Food is terrible. We even had to bring my mom to the hospital after her stay because she was really sick. She contracted a bacteria that usually lives in food that is not fresh -The shower door was broken -The room was very dirty and again, it was not a 1-2 weeks of negligence -No clean towels in the room when she arrives (took 2 days) -She only had one sheet for her bed and even when she called client services they didn't brought any. She had to cover her self with beach towels Like I don't know much about the "hotel business" but i traveled enough to know that this is not even closed from a 4 stars hotel. Also, if you pay for a view I strongly suggest you call your travel agency now since there is a huge construction site in front of the hotel and there's a lot of construction at the hotel as well. In sum, I strongly suggest to everyone to not go there ... we work so hard to pay ourselves vacation and I find it pretty frustrating when you were been told that you paid for a 4-4.5 stars and you arrived to this ... It's insulting. I don't know who the manager is but seriously OPEN YOUR EYES

    BarceloSmAb, Director General at Barcelo Solymar, responded to this review
     Dear Ann-Sophie O, Thank you for the feedback about your recent stay. We are very sorry your experience did not offer you the quality of service you deserve. Our Cuban-team works very hard to exceed expectations every day. We strive to give exceptional service every day, for every guest. Really sorry, we did have a problem with our pool but that has been resolved. We would also like to point out that we are aware that some of our rooms are starting to show some signs of age and for this reason we are currently in the process of gradually refurbishing our bungalows. What upsets me most is the service that you received. It is not what we aim for and serves as a reminder that training and staff management never ends. My housekeeper have been informed of your complaints and the issues are being addressed. I am so sorry that we fell short in delivering a wonderful experience. We would like to have the opportunity to right our wrongs. We do hope that you will reconsider another stay with us in the future. Please feel free to contact us in advance, we will be happy to receive you personally. Warm regards, Juan Marqués General Manager diralojamiento@resortsolymar.gca.tur.cu

    Round Indicators
    Dave0100000 Guelph, Canada. 08/15/2017 Couples

    “Air Conditioning Nightmare!”

    We travel to Cuba 3 times per year and been to Solymar/Arenas Blancas 3 times. We understand the hardships and that things are not always in supply. Barcelo does a great job with the food, and the property.The room is another story..My wife has COPD ,so I contacted the hotel a few weeks before arriving . The Manager responded that it would be no problem and that we would have a memorable experience. After arriving, the Bungalow looked really nice inside but the air conditioning was not working so after 2 days they moved us to another. This one worked for about 4 hours then quit and we slept with the doors and windows open to get some cooler air. I can sleep through most noise ,especially with windows closed but this was impossible. There are people that have no regard for others at night. Yelling and some arguing and screaming at the top of their lungs.There was one man that could not handle his alcohol, bullying a person with them, his friend, wife I don't know. I'm 7th degree Master in Taekwondo and for the first time ever, outside the ring. I wanted to teach a bully a lesson. Thank you Solymar for letting us see the ugly side of your night life. Finally after 4 days we are given a room in the Main Hotel that had A/C but no hot water, which is nothing to compare to 33 C, sleeping in room with 29 at night . We won't be back. I have been to Barcelo Tucancun in Mexico 5 times and never anything like this.

    BarceloSmAb, Director General at Barcelo Solymar, responded to this review
     Dear Dave0100000, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We always appreciate feedback from our guests and your satisfaction is extremely important to us. We understand your frustrations and we are sorry to hear noise disrupted your sleep. Also, we apologize that we were not able to immediately accommodate you with a different guest room. We have addressed these issues with our team so that we can enhance our guests' experience and we hope you will consider staying with us in the future. We genuinely appreciate the time you took out of your day to inform us of the inadequacies you experienced during your stay and we sincerely hope that you will allow us another opportunity to demonstrate our true level of hospitality and interest in serving you properly. Once again, thank you for your visit and "constructive" critics, we hope that you had a nice journey back home and to have the pleasure of serving you again in our hotels worldwide ensuring you in advance of our best intentions at all times. Juan Marqués General Manager diralojamiento@resortsolymar.gca.tur.cu

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • august 17 2017
    • Family

    Ashot E

    “do not stay there, please stay away”


    I have been in Cuba too many times to count at this point. Love being in Cuba very much, best beaches, people. Stayed at Barcelo Solymar with family, two adults and four kids. Definitely will not go back to Solymar and any Barcelo hotel, or probably Varadero in general. Be honest, I have never written a review, but this hotel is so bad that I just felt I had a duty to warn fellow travelers to stay away from this place, especially when traveling with young family. I think this hotel has significant management issues. Level of available services, space and personnel is totally insufficient to the number of people they are booking and trying to serve. Personnel is overworked and therefore indifferent, sometimes just plain rude. Pools are literally green because of algae and sediment on the bottom. It is well known and commented that one does not go to Cuba for good food, but this hotel takes this idea to a totally new level. First you need to wait to find a table to sit, after you have to wait again just to find plates, and after that good luck standing long lines and finding anything decent to eat. Wait times are so long and frustrating that people clean their own tables, eat standing or just leave. This was by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed, Barcelo chain should be ashamed.


    BarceloSmAb, Director General at Barcelo Solymar, responded to this review
    Dear Ashot E, Please know that we are disappointed you didn't get the vacation with your family you expected. On behalf of our hotel staff we would like to deeply apologize for the inconveniences you had experienced during your stay. We want to do all we can to better our hotel in all ways possible. This review will be shared with all department managers to ensure change for the better. The satisfaction of our guests is incredibly important and we are truly sorry you were disappointed in your experience. Hopefully you and your family were able to enjoy the beautiful Varadero beach area while you were here. Thank you again, for taking the time to give us feedback in order to give a chance to better our property. We hope you have a great day. Juan Marqués General Manager diralojamiento@resortsolymar.gca.tur.cu

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • august 17 2017
    • Edmonton, Canada
    • Couples

    danieljcramer

    “Linda Mar Restaurant”


    Friends and I stayed in the hotel in June and ate at the Linda Mar almost nightly. Although the room is older, it is well air conditioned and large enough to cater to the many guests who visit three times a day. Dress code is casual although gentlemen may not wear sleeveless shirts during the supper sitting. There are lots of great staff on hand to handle drink orders and any special items you may need, wine bottle service is very well priced and we found that the staff were always friendly and helpful, even when busy. Once they got to know us, they were quick to invite us to a seat and always brought what they remembered we liked to order. Their friendly service is quite unlike my experiences on cruise ships or in Mexico, much more enthusiastic and fun. Although we had been warned that the food was very bland in Cuba, and that they lacked basic condiments, that was not the case. Linda Mar serves a wide variety of food, pasta, seafood, soups, salads, fruits, deserts. The food is certainly different than what you might expect on a cruise ship or Canadian style buffet; not as many prepared dishes, no lasagna, casseroles, or complex baked dishes. Instead look for lots of basic foods, beans, rice, pasta, burgers, fries, vegetables, chicken in sauce, fish, seafood, beef, (we even had rabbit!) and plan to visit the whole restaurant as you plan to fill your plate! They have lots of familiar condiments and some great local ones. My guests and I found the best tasting, and freshest dishes to be had at the several chef's grills around the restaurant. Here you could request seared fish, tossed pan-seared pasta, shrimps, lobsters, and grilled steak or burgers. As these specialties changed daily, we found asking the chefs about what's available to be very helpful. Of particular note is a local white fish (we snorkeled through hundreds!) that is delicious, pan fried, lightly in butter. Add to that some sides from the buffet, and a healthy serving of fresh fruit, and you're all good. Because the Linda Mar serves so many guests each day, the buffet is quickly destroyed by an onslaught of hungry people. Staff refill everything on an ongoing basis but the presentation is nicest when they open so I have included some pics.


    BarceloSmAb, Director General at Barcelo Solymar, responded to this review
    Dear danieljcramer, Thank you so much for your terrific review! We are happy to hear that your experience was so positive and our staff truly appreciates the kind words. All of us try to deliver a great stay for all of our guests. Our staff gets to see all of our reviews as they are posted, and I know they will be encouraged that you mentioned their efforts and hospitality! Thank you again for choosing to stay with us, we look forward to having you back soon! Juan Marqués General Manager diralojamiento@resortsolymar.gca.tur.cu

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • august 17 2017
    • Whitby, Canada
    • Family

    JackiBoz

    “may 2017 barcelo visit”


    went for a five day visit with my teenager (17) and parent(72) was pleasantly surprised - yes the hotel is a little older and our rooms in the hotel were like retro hunter green tiles, red walls and a bidet that was rusted and no one knew what it was cause if you turned it on it would have shot straight up like a water pistol ! fancy aside- food was great, people great, lobby with all its foliage beautiful bed was hard but comfy for me-- towels are a huge issue!!!!! pack some to save stress and pack face clothes-- disposable from dollar store yes a bit of a party hotel - but here was plenty of ages from young to old so did not feel out of place large resort -- plenty of restaurant options-- not all fabulous but not bad to write a negative review Luis is the main dining area ( buffet) looked after the 3 of us nicely almost every day he was wonderful wine there is the best I have had in the Caribbean and coffee - better than Jamaica, Bahamas, Dominican beach stunning beach sports guys awesome ( cant remember his name- maybe Miguel) we had a driver take us to a local restaurant we could walk in to Veradero we took a day tour HIGHLY recommend to Havana with Tropicana night show - good weather amazing decent value for the money , great location , drinks good -- wifi pain - but can do in lobby not very expensive but no wifi throughout like every other country-- vacation and enjoy cant complain - just about towels-- all kinds and sizes - the little condo styles around the property are being nicely refreshed and look good and well kept


    BarceloSmAb, Director General at Barcelo Solymar, responded to this review
    Dear JackiBoz, Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. I am happy to hear you found the Barceló Solymar Arenas Blancas to your liking. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future. At Barceló Solymar Arenas Blancas, we promise to do whatever it takes to ensure you are satisfied. You Can Count On Us. Guaranteed. Warm Regards, Juan Marqués General Manager diralojamiento@resortsolymar.gca.tur.cu

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • august 17 2017
    • Family

    Ann-Sophie O

    “JUST DON'T !!”


    I was supposed to stay their for a week at the end of August but after my mom went 2 weeks ago I am so glad that a change for another hotel. Usually I don't really write reviews about hotels, I feel like some people really exaggerated, but this time people have to know because every complaint that are written on this site are true. I went to Cuba more times than i can count. I know that the food is not the best and that this hotel is cheaper than the others. However I went there with my mom 5 years ago and I cannot even believe that this hotel is still rated as a 4.5 -4 stars. Like seriously it's a joke !! So let's start -ALL pools are broken and just by the color of the water this is definitely not a 2 weeks problem -More than half of the rooms don't have a working A/C -Food is terrible. We even had to bring my mom to the hospital after her stay because she was really sick. She contracted a bacteria that usually lives in food that is not fresh -The shower door was broken -The room was very dirty and again, it was not a 1-2 weeks of negligence -No clean towels in the room when she arrives (took 2 days) -She only had one sheet for her bed and even when she called client services they didn't brought any. She had to cover her self with beach towels Like I don't know much about the "hotel business" but i traveled enough to know that this is not even closed from a 4 stars hotel. Also, if you pay for a view I strongly suggest you call your travel agency now since there is a huge construction site in front of the hotel and there's a lot of construction at the hotel as well. In sum, I strongly suggest to everyone to not go there ... we work so hard to pay ourselves vacation and I find it pretty frustrating when you were been told that you paid for a 4-4.5 stars and you arrived to this ... It's insulting. I don't know who the manager is but seriously OPEN YOUR EYES


    BarceloSmAb, Director General at Barcelo Solymar, responded to this review
    Dear Ann-Sophie O, Thank you for the feedback about your recent stay. We are very sorry your experience did not offer you the quality of service you deserve. Our Cuban-team works very hard to exceed expectations every day. We strive to give exceptional service every day, for every guest. Really sorry, we did have a problem with our pool but that has been resolved. We would also like to point out that we are aware that some of our rooms are starting to show some signs of age and for this reason we are currently in the process of gradually refurbishing our bungalows. What upsets me most is the service that you received. It is not what we aim for and serves as a reminder that training and staff management never ends. My housekeeper have been informed of your complaints and the issues are being addressed. I am so sorry that we fell short in delivering a wonderful experience. We would like to have the opportunity to right our wrongs. We do hope that you will reconsider another stay with us in the future. Please feel free to contact us in advance, we will be happy to receive you personally. Warm regards, Juan Marqués General Manager diralojamiento@resortsolymar.gca.tur.cu

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • august 15 2017
    • Guelph, Canada
    • Couples

    Dave0100000

    “Air Conditioning Nightmare!”


    We travel to Cuba 3 times per year and been to Solymar/Arenas Blancas 3 times. We understand the hardships and that things are not always in supply. Barcelo does a great job with the food, and the property.The room is another story..My wife has COPD ,so I contacted the hotel a few weeks before arriving . The Manager responded that it would be no problem and that we would have a memorable experience. After arriving, the Bungalow looked really nice inside but the air conditioning was not working so after 2 days they moved us to another. This one worked for about 4 hours then quit and we slept with the doors and windows open to get some cooler air. I can sleep through most noise ,especially with windows closed but this was impossible. There are people that have no regard for others at night. Yelling and some arguing and screaming at the top of their lungs.There was one man that could not handle his alcohol, bullying a person with them, his friend, wife I don't know. I'm 7th degree Master in Taekwondo and for the first time ever, outside the ring. I wanted to teach a bully a lesson. Thank you Solymar for letting us see the ugly side of your night life. Finally after 4 days we are given a room in the Main Hotel that had A/C but no hot water, which is nothing to compare to 33 C, sleeping in room with 29 at night . We won't be back. I have been to Barcelo Tucancun in Mexico 5 times and never anything like this.


    BarceloSmAb, Director General at Barcelo Solymar, responded to this review
    Dear Dave0100000, Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We always appreciate feedback from our guests and your satisfaction is extremely important to us. We understand your frustrations and we are sorry to hear noise disrupted your sleep. Also, we apologize that we were not able to immediately accommodate you with a different guest room. We have addressed these issues with our team so that we can enhance our guests' experience and we hope you will consider staying with us in the future. We genuinely appreciate the time you took out of your day to inform us of the inadequacies you experienced during your stay and we sincerely hope that you will allow us another opportunity to demonstrate our true level of hospitality and interest in serving you properly. Once again, thank you for your visit and "constructive" critics, we hope that you had a nice journey back home and to have the pleasure of serving you again in our hotels worldwide ensuring you in advance of our best intentions at all times. Juan Marqués General Manager diralojamiento@resortsolymar.gca.tur.cu

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

    to

      Incorrect dates
      Please enter valid dates

    NIGHTS

    (Optional dates)

    A discount* or promotional code (also appears as “promo code”) is a combination of letters and/or numbers that gives a discount on the normal rate. If you have a discount code, enter it when booking and you will receive a discount on your booking. Once you have entered this code, the prices shown in step 1 of the booking process will already include the relevant discount. 

    The discount does not apply to prices on extras and/or extra services, neither does it apply to prices on last available rooms. You can only apply one discount code per booking which will only be valid at the time of making your booking.** 

    The maximum amount of accumulated discount will be at most 25% off the rate for hotels in Latin America and at most 20% off the rate for European and Mediterranean hotels. It is possible to combine a discount code with a special discount*** (discounts when you book multiple rooms, senior, resident, millennials, large families, etc.) and the discount for being a my Barceló client. 

    *Barceló reserves the right to accept the application of advertised discounts. 

    **The application of the discount code is not valid upon arrival at the hotel; the discount is only applicable at the time of booking. 

    ***The hotel will request to see valid official documents to verify compliance with the conditions for the discount codes and special discounts. In the event of not providing valid official documents or non-compliance, the hotel reserves the right to charge the amounts that were deducted from the original reservation.

    Loading rates...
    The hotel does not have any rates allocated to it

    Best online price guaranteed

    If you find a better rate, we will top it.

    We will return the difference and we will also apply an additional 10% discount to the cost of the final booking. For more information...