Exclusive offer when you book on Barcelo.com

Receive an additional 15% discount* on our superior-category and recently refurbished Deluxe room by entering this exclusive code when you make your booking: BXCARET.

*Cannot be combined with the following offers: Flash Sale, Last Minute, Happy Days, Happy Nights, Happy Weekends or Last Rooms. Valid for stays from December 1 to 31, 2017 (Except on February 20, and 24 to 26, 2017). Discount valid for Junior Suites, Royal Level Luxury rooms, Royal Level Suites, Royal Level Junior Suites and Royal Level Master Suites.

Hotel Beach Views  Occidental Grand Xcaret Resort

Resort Credit
Up to US$500 per room and stay in Resort Credit discount vouchers.*
* The Resort Credit discounts cannot be combined with other discounts, offers or promotions. Additional restrictions may apply. Valid until 31/12/2017.

Unlimited Xcaret Xperience
A package designed specially so that hotel guests can enjoy unlimited access to the Xcaret Park throughout their stay.

Transport to the theme parks included 
The Occidental Grand Xcaret offers a transport service from the hotel to the Xplor, Xplor Fuego and Xenses Parks.*
*Entrance tickets not included, restrictions apply

Royal Level at Occidental at Xcaret Destination

Texto: 33397 Admission to the Xcaret Park and an infinite number of other perks are what sets this 5-star resort apart from the rest. Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juárez Km. 282 | 77710 Riviera Maya, Quintana Roo | México
+ 52 984 871 540 0 + 52 984 871 5406
Royal Level at Occidental at Xcaret Destination Texto: 33397 4 out of 5 based on 11010 ratings. 11010 user reviews.
Royal Level at Occidental at Xcaret Destination reviewed by OGGlobalG on . Active All-Inclusive resort- lots of walking If you are looking for a relaxing tropical resort and access to many activities, look no further. Adjacent to Xcaret, this all-inclusive resort has amazing pools, private cove with beach, and easy... Rating: 4
map

Royal Level at Occidental at Xcaret Destination

Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juárez Km. 282   77710 Riviera Maya, Quintana Roo   México  


Points of Interest

39 mi  Cancun International Airport

5 min. Playa del Carmen

Premios y Reconocimientos Prizes and Awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Royal Level at Occidental at Xcaret Destination

4.0/5 Round Indicators
| 11073 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


GUESTS’ SCORE

Excellent

43% Complete

4844

Very good

32% Complete

3632

Average

12% Complete

1422

Poor

6% Complete

669

Very poor

4% Complete

506

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    178claytond Saskatoon. 01/22/2017 Family

    “Disappointed😟”

    could not use lagoon. It smelt awful. Walked down around ocean garbage everywhere. Not a lot of variety at buffet. have been at the resort 3 times everything is going downhill. Not a lot of great service.
    Round Indicators
    88rosalie Happy Valley-Goose Bay, Canada. 01/21/2017 Couples

    “Beautiful resort, small beach”

    Huge resort with loads of things to do including a large park next door. Staff were great, food was great with large selection, although personally I found the Mexican spices a little overpowering. I ate something that made me extremely ill for 3 straight days which led me to the on-site hospital... $500 later I had an assessment and antibiotics. Be careful of raw fruit and meat (check the burgers). Beach is a man made little inlet with soft sand, as the rest of the area is rocky. Many Mayan ruins locations; some on the resort and some via excursions. The little beach is still good for snorkeling with lots of little fish to see. Overall a good experience except for getting sick.
    Round Indicators
    Mike D 01/20/2017 Couples

    “The Best of Both Worlds”

    Stayed Dec 6th -10th. We had never been to Mexico before but found a great all-inclusive rate for this hotel so we gave it a shot. We picked this hotel in particular due to the location and recent reviews. We saw that the hotel was recently under new management and undergoing a complete renovation. The reviews mentioned the renovations were scheduled to be complete before our travel dates so pick this one. We wanted something that still felt like the beach but also had the jungle wildlife/Mayan Ruins. Overall we were very impressed with this resort. It truly was the best of both worlds if you are looking to experience Mayan jungle and still have a beachfront resort. As part of our package we purchased the shuttle ride from the airport in Cancun to the resort. It’s well worth the $30 a person to not have to worry about rentals or finding your own cab. It was about a 45-minute ride to the resort but you get to see everything on the way to the resort. We dropped off other travelers along the way at different resorts and to be honest some of the ones that were double what we paid looked old and rundown. I was a little apprehensive after seeing some of the other resorts but once we got to the Occidental I was very impressed. The resort itself is set in the jungle connected to the Xcaret wildlife park. When we pulled up everything was beautifully renovated. The Lobby is massive and open to the outdoors. We travelled prior to Christmas so the lobby was decorated for the holidays with a large Christmas tree in the middle. The lobby overlooks multiple seating areas and shops with a river running through the resort grounds. The river actually runs directly into the Xcaret park. If you buy passes to the park you can take the water shuttle directly from the lobby. We ended up getting to the resort prior to check in time but check in was a breeze and were given a room in building 12 which connects directly to the lobby. The majority of the rooms at the time of stay had all been recently renovated. The building across from us was still having work done but overall the rooms were clean and renovated. The walk-in shower was very nice. There is also a mini fridge in the room that is stocked with a few waters and beers daily. My only minor complaints about the room were that the hot water in the shower was not very hot and the A/C unit didn’t seem to get very cold on full. We did mention it to the front desk and they took a look but it seemed to fluctuate daily no matter what. Not a deal breaker at all but something worth noting. I do suggest that you check with the front desk prior to travel to confirm your room type. I had booked under the assumption that I would have a king bed room but was told on check in that it is based on availability at check in. They gave us a 2-queen bed room for the first night due to the rest of the rooms being full but were able to switch us the second night. The resort is sprawling with plenty to do for all ages. Built into the jungle you can walk the grounds and see everything from monkeys to parrots and flamingos. There are also a few Mayan ruins directly on the grounds that you can investigate. There are 3 main pools and a beautiful man made beach area. My favorite was the pool with the swim up bar. There is also a beautiful adults-only salt water pool out past the beach that overlooks the ocean. It is built into the sea wall. In the beach area the lagoon is filled with all types of fish that you can snorkel and swim with. Food: Overall I was pretty impressed with the food for an all-inclusive resort. I have also stayed at an all inclusive in Aruba and this food was much better. They have different themed restaurants for dinner located off of the lobby. They range from a steakhouse, Italian, Oriental, to Mexican. There was also a seafood restaurant that overlooks the ocean at the beach but unfortunately it was closed for renovations when we stayed. I highly recommend trying the steakhouse the filet honestly rivaled some steakhouses from home. We never had an issue getting a table at any of the restaurants. My only complaint ironically is that the Mexican restaurant in Mexico was sub par. If you want authentic food take the 10 min cab to downtown Playa Del Carmen. There are also your standard buffets throughout the resort along with Paco’s Tacos located above most of the restaurants. If you are going to choose a buffet I highly suggest going to the indoor one off of the main lobby. We tried the one over the swim up bar and I think they need to work on refrigeration. All the food looked like it was sitting out for a while in the 90+ degree weather. Paco’s Tacos is a little outdoor seating area where you can order tacos and mini pizzas. The pizza was great but I don’t understand why this is a seated restaurant only. You should be able just walk up and order a pizza to take to the room. They do not allow you to leave. Other resorts have a place where you can just walk up and get food to go to the room. Staff: The staff was excellent from housekeeping to the front desk and bartenders. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Diana at the spa was excellent. The front desk was very helpful with addressing any issues that came up. They even sent up a free bottle of tequila when they forgot to refill the waters. Diego in the sports bar was our favorite. He will make you anything you want. My only complaint is how much the staff tries to push setting up a meeting for the timeshare repeatedly. The second day we where there I was woken at 8am by a call from the desk saying a shuttle was waiting to take me to breakfast. I asked what it was because I did not set up a breakfast -- of course it was the timeshare presentation. I don't appreciate being woken in the morning the be tricked into breakfast... If you say no they leave you alone but just worth noting. There is so much to do at the resort that we couldn’t fit it all in our 5 days. We did want to explore outside the resort so we took a day trip to Playa Del Carmen. Many people are hesitant to leave the resort but I felt completely safe even with limited Spanish. The downtown beach is beautiful. If you get a chance, go visit Octopus the bartender at Senor Frogs – you will not be disappointed. We both loved Mexico and can’t wait to go back!

    OccidentalatXcaret, Social Media Coordinator at Occidental at Xcaret Destination, responded to this review
     We would like to thank you for choosing Occidental at Xcaret Destination as your holiday destination during your visit to Riviera Maya. We are delighted to read, that we were up to par to your standards. We thank you for your feedback, which shall serve as a further source of inspiration for us to achieve higher standards of hospitality excellence. We hope to have the pleasure to host you again.

    Round Indicators
    Carl S 01/19/2017 Family

    “Great Experience!!”

    We had a great time at this resort!! The employees were very friendly and helpful!! I would recommend this hotel to others that are looking to get away for a week or two. Rigoberto Pepez stood out the most during our stay. Everytime that me and my family ate at Paco Tacos he treated us as if he had known us for years! I loved this resort!

    OccidentalatXcaret, Social Media Coordinator at Occidental at Xcaret Destination, responded to this review
     It gives me a great pride to know that our staffs are commended for their kindness and professionalism. I will share your comments with the team, I am sure that this will serve as an encouragement to our staffs as we constantly strive to provide consistent quality of service to our guests.

    Round Indicators
    sumwunhu Toronto, Canada. 01/19/2017 Couples

    “Went Home Early”

    Second trip to this property - we'd been really looking forward to returning after a first great experience about four years ago. Unfortunately, - the food was terrible. They're trying to do too many things and not doing them well. What are those strange slimy little meat patties in that brown sauce? How can they serve unripe pineapple day after day?? There were too many people walking around looking lost with nothing but bananas and dinner rolls on their plates for me to think I was the only one feeling this way. - the drinks weren't consistent. Some of their bartenders think freepour means "triple." Gross and wasteful. - the Beige Shirts in the building lobbies are the time-share guys. Apparently they're not trained to respond to guest concerns or make your stay more comfortable, just to get you to sign up for the time-share tour. They are insistent and keep trying and will even shout up to you on your balcony if they spot you up there. - there's beginning to be a strong septic odour in some areas on the property. The resort itself is beautifully laid out with lush jungle and lots of wildlife. The grounds are well-maintained and the staff work very hard. If you stash bananas from the buffet you can use them to lure coatis and monkeys in for a closer look, although the signs say you should not do this. I have rated this property as Poor overall because when you stay at an all-in resort the food has to be at least decent. The food was so bad we ended up feeling hungry all the time and just went home early.

    OccidentalatXcaret, Social Media Coordinator at Occidental at Xcaret Destination, responded to this review
     I truly regret the inconveniences you had during their stay. We have carefully noted each point you mentioned in order to improve, we are always worried about our guest’s well-being and strive to make holidays at our property an unforgettable experience. Please accept our apologies for not living up to your expectations and thank you so much for taking the time to write this review as it give us the opportunity to improve.

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • january 22 2017
    • Saskatoon
    • Family

    178claytond

    “Disappointed😟”


    could not use lagoon. It smelt awful. Walked down around ocean garbage everywhere. Not a lot of variety at buffet. have been at the resort 3 times everything is going downhill. Not a lot of great service.


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • january 21 2017
    • Happy Valley-Goose Bay, Canada
    • Couples

    88rosalie

    “Beautiful resort, small beach”


    Huge resort with loads of things to do including a large park next door. Staff were great, food was great with large selection, although personally I found the Mexican spices a little overpowering. I ate something that made me extremely ill for 3 straight days which led me to the on-site hospital... $500 later I had an assessment and antibiotics. Be careful of raw fruit and meat (check the burgers). Beach is a man made little inlet with soft sand, as the rest of the area is rocky. Many Mayan ruins locations; some on the resort and some via excursions. The little beach is still good for snorkeling with lots of little fish to see. Overall a good experience except for getting sick.


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • january 20 2017
    • Couples

    Mike D

    “The Best of Both Worlds”


    Stayed Dec 6th -10th. We had never been to Mexico before but found a great all-inclusive rate for this hotel so we gave it a shot. We picked this hotel in particular due to the location and recent reviews. We saw that the hotel was recently under new management and undergoing a complete renovation. The reviews mentioned the renovations were scheduled to be complete before our travel dates so pick this one. We wanted something that still felt like the beach but also had the jungle wildlife/Mayan Ruins. Overall we were very impressed with this resort. It truly was the best of both worlds if you are looking to experience Mayan jungle and still have a beachfront resort. As part of our package we purchased the shuttle ride from the airport in Cancun to the resort. It’s well worth the $30 a person to not have to worry about rentals or finding your own cab. It was about a 45-minute ride to the resort but you get to see everything on the way to the resort. We dropped off other travelers along the way at different resorts and to be honest some of the ones that were double what we paid looked old and rundown. I was a little apprehensive after seeing some of the other resorts but once we got to the Occidental I was very impressed. The resort itself is set in the jungle connected to the Xcaret wildlife park. When we pulled up everything was beautifully renovated. The Lobby is massive and open to the outdoors. We travelled prior to Christmas so the lobby was decorated for the holidays with a large Christmas tree in the middle. The lobby overlooks multiple seating areas and shops with a river running through the resort grounds. The river actually runs directly into the Xcaret park. If you buy passes to the park you can take the water shuttle directly from the lobby. We ended up getting to the resort prior to check in time but check in was a breeze and were given a room in building 12 which connects directly to the lobby. The majority of the rooms at the time of stay had all been recently renovated. The building across from us was still having work done but overall the rooms were clean and renovated. The walk-in shower was very nice. There is also a mini fridge in the room that is stocked with a few waters and beers daily. My only minor complaints about the room were that the hot water in the shower was not very hot and the A/C unit didn’t seem to get very cold on full. We did mention it to the front desk and they took a look but it seemed to fluctuate daily no matter what. Not a deal breaker at all but something worth noting. I do suggest that you check with the front desk prior to travel to confirm your room type. I had booked under the assumption that I would have a king bed room but was told on check in that it is based on availability at check in. They gave us a 2-queen bed room for the first night due to the rest of the rooms being full but were able to switch us the second night. The resort is sprawling with plenty to do for all ages. Built into the jungle you can walk the grounds and see everything from monkeys to parrots and flamingos. There are also a few Mayan ruins directly on the grounds that you can investigate. There are 3 main pools and a beautiful man made beach area. My favorite was the pool with the swim up bar. There is also a beautiful adults-only salt water pool out past the beach that overlooks the ocean. It is built into the sea wall. In the beach area the lagoon is filled with all types of fish that you can snorkel and swim with. Food: Overall I was pretty impressed with the food for an all-inclusive resort. I have also stayed at an all inclusive in Aruba and this food was much better. They have different themed restaurants for dinner located off of the lobby. They range from a steakhouse, Italian, Oriental, to Mexican. There was also a seafood restaurant that overlooks the ocean at the beach but unfortunately it was closed for renovations when we stayed. I highly recommend trying the steakhouse the filet honestly rivaled some steakhouses from home. We never had an issue getting a table at any of the restaurants. My only complaint ironically is that the Mexican restaurant in Mexico was sub par. If you want authentic food take the 10 min cab to downtown Playa Del Carmen. There are also your standard buffets throughout the resort along with Paco’s Tacos located above most of the restaurants. If you are going to choose a buffet I highly suggest going to the indoor one off of the main lobby. We tried the one over the swim up bar and I think they need to work on refrigeration. All the food looked like it was sitting out for a while in the 90+ degree weather. Paco’s Tacos is a little outdoor seating area where you can order tacos and mini pizzas. The pizza was great but I don’t understand why this is a seated restaurant only. You should be able just walk up and order a pizza to take to the room. They do not allow you to leave. Other resorts have a place where you can just walk up and get food to go to the room. Staff: The staff was excellent from housekeeping to the front desk and bartenders. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Diana at the spa was excellent. The front desk was very helpful with addressing any issues that came up. They even sent up a free bottle of tequila when they forgot to refill the waters. Diego in the sports bar was our favorite. He will make you anything you want. My only complaint is how much the staff tries to push setting up a meeting for the timeshare repeatedly. The second day we where there I was woken at 8am by a call from the desk saying a shuttle was waiting to take me to breakfast. I asked what it was because I did not set up a breakfast -- of course it was the timeshare presentation. I don't appreciate being woken in the morning the be tricked into breakfast... If you say no they leave you alone but just worth noting. There is so much to do at the resort that we couldn’t fit it all in our 5 days. We did want to explore outside the resort so we took a day trip to Playa Del Carmen. Many people are hesitant to leave the resort but I felt completely safe even with limited Spanish. The downtown beach is beautiful. If you get a chance, go visit Octopus the bartender at Senor Frogs – you will not be disappointed. We both loved Mexico and can’t wait to go back!


    OccidentalatXcaret, Social Media Coordinator at Occidental at Xcaret Destination, responded to this review
    We would like to thank you for choosing Occidental at Xcaret Destination as your holiday destination during your visit to Riviera Maya. We are delighted to read, that we were up to par to your standards. We thank you for your feedback, which shall serve as a further source of inspiration for us to achieve higher standards of hospitality excellence. We hope to have the pleasure to host you again.

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • january 19 2017
    • Family

    Carl S

    “Great Experience!!”


    We had a great time at this resort!! The employees were very friendly and helpful!! I would recommend this hotel to others that are looking to get away for a week or two. Rigoberto Pepez stood out the most during our stay. Everytime that me and my family ate at Paco Tacos he treated us as if he had known us for years! I loved this resort!


    OccidentalatXcaret, Social Media Coordinator at Occidental at Xcaret Destination, responded to this review
    It gives me a great pride to know that our staffs are commended for their kindness and professionalism. I will share your comments with the team, I am sure that this will serve as an encouragement to our staffs as we constantly strive to provide consistent quality of service to our guests.

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • january 19 2017
    • Toronto, Canada
    • Couples

    sumwunhu

    “Went Home Early”


    Second trip to this property - we'd been really looking forward to returning after a first great experience about four years ago. Unfortunately, - the food was terrible. They're trying to do too many things and not doing them well. What are those strange slimy little meat patties in that brown sauce? How can they serve unripe pineapple day after day?? There were too many people walking around looking lost with nothing but bananas and dinner rolls on their plates for me to think I was the only one feeling this way. - the drinks weren't consistent. Some of their bartenders think freepour means "triple." Gross and wasteful. - the Beige Shirts in the building lobbies are the time-share guys. Apparently they're not trained to respond to guest concerns or make your stay more comfortable, just to get you to sign up for the time-share tour. They are insistent and keep trying and will even shout up to you on your balcony if they spot you up there. - there's beginning to be a strong septic odour in some areas on the property. The resort itself is beautifully laid out with lush jungle and lots of wildlife. The grounds are well-maintained and the staff work very hard. If you stash bananas from the buffet you can use them to lure coatis and monkeys in for a closer look, although the signs say you should not do this. I have rated this property as Poor overall because when you stay at an all-in resort the food has to be at least decent. The food was so bad we ended up feeling hungry all the time and just went home early.


    OccidentalatXcaret, Social Media Coordinator at Occidental at Xcaret Destination, responded to this review
    I truly regret the inconveniences you had during their stay. We have carefully noted each point you mentioned in order to improve, we are always worried about our guest’s well-being and strive to make holidays at our property an unforgettable experience. Please accept our apologies for not living up to your expectations and thank you so much for taking the time to write this review as it give us the opportunity to improve.

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

    to

      Incorrect dates
      Please enter valid dates

    NIGHTS

    (Optional dates)

    A discount or promotional code is a combination of letters and/or numbers that gives a discount on the normal rate. You can receive discount codes through special campaigns by being a my Barceló member, following us on social media or booking through Barcelo.com. 

    If you have a discount code, enter it when booking and you will receive a discount on your booking. The discount does not apply to the cost of extras. The maximum amount of the accumulated discount will be 25% off the rate (except for last rooms); it is possible to combine a discount code and special discounts. Only one discount code per booking is permitted.

    Loading rates...
    The hotel does not have any rates allocated to it

    Best online rate guaranteed

    If you find a better rate, we will top it.

    We will return the difference and we will also apply an additional 10% discount to the cost of the final booking. For more information...