Barceló Montecastillo Golf Hotel Golf Course

Barceló Montecastillo Golf

Texto: 40070 A spectacular hotel that has recently been refurbished, surrounded by a magnificent natural environment and a 19th century castle. AV De Montecastillo, Ctra. Jerez - Arcos, Km. 6 | 11406 Jerez de la Frontera, Cádiz
+34 956 151 200 +34 956 151 209
Barceló Montecastillo Golf Texto: 40070 4.5 out of 5 based on 1418 ratings. 1418 user reviews.
Barceló Montecastillo Golf reviewed by Roaders on . Far below standard expected for 5 star hotel Most staff rude, inattentive, slow or a combination. Room was clean and quite big but headboard that banged against wall whenever I turned over in bed and poor pillows led to a poor night's sleep and... Rating: 2
map

Barceló Montecastillo Golf

AV De Montecastillo, Ctra. Jerez - Arcos, Km. 6   11406 Jerez de la Frontera, Cádiz  


Places of Interest

15.2 km Jerez Airport

26 km Puerto de Santa María

12 km Jerez Railway Station

44.3 km Port of Cadiz Bay

Premios y Reconocimientos Prizes and awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Barceló Montecastillo Golf

4.5/5 Round Indicators
| 1419 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


GUESTS’ SCORE

Excellent

60% Complete

862

Very good

28% Complete

409

Average

6% Complete

95

Poor

2% Complete

38

Very poor

1% Complete

16

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    Roaders London. 09/12/2017 Friends getaway

    “Far below standard expected for 5 star hotel”

    Most staff rude, inattentive, slow or a combination. Room was clean and quite big but headboard that banged against wall whenever I turned over in bed and poor pillows led to a poor night's sleep and a sore neck. Bar closed at midnight with no warning and our party of 50 people that only started eating at 8:30 then had no drinks for the rest of the night. After 20 minutes of complaining reluctantly one bar man came out to take one last drinks order. Pool not open at 11:00 Am (see picture) Very limited food options and limited serving hours.

    César G, Director General at Barcelo Montecastillo Golf, responded to this review
     Dear customer, Although we are quite surprised and dismayed by the content of your review regarding your holiday at our Barceló Montecastillo Golf, please rest assured that your comments have been taken onboard and revised by the entire Management team, however we would like to take this opportunity to clarify certain aspects of your review as a simple matter of exactness of the information reported. It is with great concern that we read your comments about our staff mostly because their service has been praised many times for their professionalism yet genuine friendliness and we assure you that what you described is not the norm for us. The good work of all our employees, is the main reason why many customers visit us year after year. Even if in all our common areas, we have exposed the information with the service schedules, we regret the inconveniences due to the communication mistake about the bar’s schedule. We take the opportunity to inform you that the hotel offers the possibility of hiring a free bar service with special conditions for groups. For a future occasion, don´t hesitate to consult us and we will offer you all the information. Regarding to the food and beverage service, we offer buffet and a la carte restaurant and a wide variety of snacks to consume at any time of the day. We also offer room service 24 hours. Thank you again for your visit and constructuve critics, our primary goal being to assure our guests feel comfortable and fully enjoy their visits, we are eager to regain your confidence during another occasion if you gave us that chance Sincerely, César Gómez Director General Barceló Montecastillo Resort Carretera Arcos Km 9 (junto al circuito) | 11406 Jerez de la Frontera | Cádiz | España Tel. +34 956 151 200 | Fax. +34 956 151 209

    Round Indicators
    BarbaraKralingen Nederland. 09/12/2017 Family

    “Third time is not a charm”

    We arrived early september for a 10 day holiday. It was our third year in a row and we kept coming back because we loved it here. But the risk of going back to the same place is that things change. And as we experienced: not nessecarily for the better. One example: It's 10.00 am, hot as hell and I am lying by a closed pool. Really closed, as in they put nets around the swimming area. Because they decided in all their wisdom that from this year the Pools open at 11.00. So we finish breakfast around 9, and then you have to wait for 2 hours in your room until you can go have a swim. With a kid. Second change is you can no longer eat lunch at the hotelbar (and hotelbar-terrace). Where it always was great because of the many trees that keep you cool. You now have to eat a light lunch at the castle terrace where it is 40 degrees at lunchtime and the sun is burning right through the parasols. And there are other small things: they no longer bring your tea and coffee to the table at breakfast. It's not that I am such a snob that I can't get my own tea, but it just used to be different. They also changed the starting time for dinner from 7 to 7.30 (again: with a kid not convenient) I really don't know which smartpants woke up one day and thought: Well! I have such good ideas for this hotel! But my advice is: stop having ideas and change things back the way they were, because everything was perfect here and why change a winning team... We really don't know if there is gonna be a 4-th time at this point Sorry guys, that I couldn't be more positieve
    Round Indicators
    MWCouple 09/11/2017 Couples

    “Fantastic breakfast not worth booking directly through hotel telephone line. Booking websites give better offers”

    Great breakfast but offers for the hotel are better through booking websites and not directly through their customer service lines...which is strange if they want people to book with them directly. Also never had problems booking a double room through comparison sites but when booking through hotel phone line I was allocated to a twin room despite booking a double. Also hotels phone line staff did not speak English...
    Round Indicators
    charlesrobertn Edinburgh, United Kingdom. 09/10/2017 Friends getaway

    “Golf tour 2017”

    If you want a value for money golf trip Barcelo Montecastillo must definitely be considered. Enjoy a very relaxing atmosphere with the golf course on your door step. The locker room takes care of your golf clubs and the hiring of a buggy is a must unless you are fit and can stand the heat. The course length is good but there is a fair amount of travelling between greens and the next tee. Ensure the greens are not being sanded during your stay.
    Round Indicators
    Mark D London, United Kingdom. 09/10/2017 Family

    “Nice golf resort, service rather clunky”

    We stayed for a few days after a city break in Seville. It's a nice golf resort with a lovely course. I'm not much of a golfer but it was great to play in the middle of the day as the course was empty. The rooms are nice but the service in the bar and restaurant is a bit clunky, almost like they don't know what to do at times. Certainly not 5 star standard that's for sure.

    César G, General Manager at Barcelo Montecastillo Golf, responded to this review
     Dear guest, We are sincerely grateful for the time you spent to share your comments on your recent stay in our Barceló Montecastillo Golf hotel, your review will certainly assist in to keep on improving the quality of our services for our valued guests. Although your comments regarding the bar service do not seem to quite match with the usual feedback that we receive. Please, be assured your remark has been discussed with our Maître to avoid this kind of situations in the future and we do apologize for failing to meet your expectations on this occasion. Finally, we would like to thank you for your kind comments of the golf course. We are thrilled to read you enjoyed our challenging layout and we would be very pleased to welcome you back on your next golf trip. Sincerely, César Gómez General Manager Barceló Montecastillo Resort Carretera Arcos Km 9 (junto al circuito) | 11406 Jerez de la Frontera | Cádiz | España Tel. +34 956 151 200 | Fax. +34 956 151 209

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • september 12 2017
    • London
    • Friends getaway

    Roaders

    “Far below standard expected for 5 star hotel”


    Most staff rude, inattentive, slow or a combination. Room was clean and quite big but headboard that banged against wall whenever I turned over in bed and poor pillows led to a poor night's sleep and a sore neck. Bar closed at midnight with no warning and our party of 50 people that only started eating at 8:30 then had no drinks for the rest of the night. After 20 minutes of complaining reluctantly one bar man came out to take one last drinks order. Pool not open at 11:00 Am (see picture) Very limited food options and limited serving hours.


    César G, Director General at Barcelo Montecastillo Golf, responded to this review
    Dear customer, Although we are quite surprised and dismayed by the content of your review regarding your holiday at our Barceló Montecastillo Golf, please rest assured that your comments have been taken onboard and revised by the entire Management team, however we would like to take this opportunity to clarify certain aspects of your review as a simple matter of exactness of the information reported. It is with great concern that we read your comments about our staff mostly because their service has been praised many times for their professionalism yet genuine friendliness and we assure you that what you described is not the norm for us. The good work of all our employees, is the main reason why many customers visit us year after year. Even if in all our common areas, we have exposed the information with the service schedules, we regret the inconveniences due to the communication mistake about the bar’s schedule. We take the opportunity to inform you that the hotel offers the possibility of hiring a free bar service with special conditions for groups. For a future occasion, don´t hesitate to consult us and we will offer you all the information. Regarding to the food and beverage service, we offer buffet and a la carte restaurant and a wide variety of snacks to consume at any time of the day. We also offer room service 24 hours. Thank you again for your visit and constructuve critics, our primary goal being to assure our guests feel comfortable and fully enjoy their visits, we are eager to regain your confidence during another occasion if you gave us that chance Sincerely, César Gómez Director General Barceló Montecastillo Resort Carretera Arcos Km 9 (junto al circuito) | 11406 Jerez de la Frontera | Cádiz | España Tel. +34 956 151 200 | Fax. +34 956 151 209

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • september 12 2017
    • Nederland
    • Family

    BarbaraKralingen

    “Third time is not a charm”


    We arrived early september for a 10 day holiday. It was our third year in a row and we kept coming back because we loved it here. But the risk of going back to the same place is that things change. And as we experienced: not nessecarily for the better. One example: It's 10.00 am, hot as hell and I am lying by a closed pool. Really closed, as in they put nets around the swimming area. Because they decided in all their wisdom that from this year the Pools open at 11.00. So we finish breakfast around 9, and then you have to wait for 2 hours in your room until you can go have a swim. With a kid. Second change is you can no longer eat lunch at the hotelbar (and hotelbar-terrace). Where it always was great because of the many trees that keep you cool. You now have to eat a light lunch at the castle terrace where it is 40 degrees at lunchtime and the sun is burning right through the parasols. And there are other small things: they no longer bring your tea and coffee to the table at breakfast. It's not that I am such a snob that I can't get my own tea, but it just used to be different. They also changed the starting time for dinner from 7 to 7.30 (again: with a kid not convenient) I really don't know which smartpants woke up one day and thought: Well! I have such good ideas for this hotel! But my advice is: stop having ideas and change things back the way they were, because everything was perfect here and why change a winning team... We really don't know if there is gonna be a 4-th time at this point Sorry guys, that I couldn't be more positieve


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • september 11 2017
    • Couples

    MWCouple

    “Fantastic breakfast not worth booking directly through hotel telephone line. Booking websites give better offers”


    Great breakfast but offers for the hotel are better through booking websites and not directly through their customer service lines...which is strange if they want people to book with them directly. Also never had problems booking a double room through comparison sites but when booking through hotel phone line I was allocated to a twin room despite booking a double. Also hotels phone line staff did not speak English...


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • september 10 2017
    • Edinburgh, United Kingdom
    • Friends getaway

    charlesrobertn

    “Golf tour 2017”


    If you want a value for money golf trip Barcelo Montecastillo must definitely be considered. Enjoy a very relaxing atmosphere with the golf course on your door step. The locker room takes care of your golf clubs and the hiring of a buggy is a must unless you are fit and can stand the heat. The course length is good but there is a fair amount of travelling between greens and the next tee. Ensure the greens are not being sanded during your stay.


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • september 10 2017
    • London, United Kingdom
    • Family

    Mark D

    “Nice golf resort, service rather clunky”


    We stayed for a few days after a city break in Seville. It's a nice golf resort with a lovely course. I'm not much of a golfer but it was great to play in the middle of the day as the course was empty. The rooms are nice but the service in the bar and restaurant is a bit clunky, almost like they don't know what to do at times. Certainly not 5 star standard that's for sure.


    César G, General Manager at Barcelo Montecastillo Golf, responded to this review
    Dear guest, We are sincerely grateful for the time you spent to share your comments on your recent stay in our Barceló Montecastillo Golf hotel, your review will certainly assist in to keep on improving the quality of our services for our valued guests. Although your comments regarding the bar service do not seem to quite match with the usual feedback that we receive. Please, be assured your remark has been discussed with our Maître to avoid this kind of situations in the future and we do apologize for failing to meet your expectations on this occasion. Finally, we would like to thank you for your kind comments of the golf course. We are thrilled to read you enjoyed our challenging layout and we would be very pleased to welcome you back on your next golf trip. Sincerely, César Gómez General Manager Barceló Montecastillo Resort Carretera Arcos Km 9 (junto al circuito) | 11406 Jerez de la Frontera | Cádiz | España Tel. +34 956 151 200 | Fax. +34 956 151 209

    Barceló Montecastillo Golf Hotel Views
    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z