Close

You are using Internet Explorer as a browser to visit Barcelo.com, and we trully recomend to use other browser in order to avoid troubles. If you prefer it, upload your browser versión to Internet Explorer 7 or newer by following the steps you will find in the “About” option inside Tools Configuration (upper right of your window)

Vistas del hotel Occidental Tamarindo
;
map

Map and location

Playa Langosta   50309 Guanacaste, Tamarindo ,   Costa rica  


Points of Interest

43 mi Daniel Oduber Quirós International Airport

711 yards Langosta Beach

10 mi Hacienda Pinilla Golf Club

Premios y Reconocimientos

Prizes and Awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Occidental Tamarindo

4.0/5 Round Indicators
| 3556 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


Comments

Excellent

41% Complete

1480

Very good

29% Complete

1057

Average

16% Complete

574

Poor

6% Complete

234

Very poor

5% Complete

211

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    ldunna971956 08/28/2019 Couples

    “Good and bad”

    Room was spacious and clean. Nice beds. Quiet ac unit. Cleaned daily. Buffet was good. Fresh fruit and salad ingredients daily. Great coffee. Grill items available for lunch and dinner. Omelettes available for breakfast. I WILL NEVER stay at this hotel again. VERY loud music and dance lessons, continuously. Could not escape it so I could enjoy pool area or beach. Even employees complained to me when I question it. A couple of the staff members very friendly, most were not.

    Barcelo L, recepción at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this review
     Good afternoon, We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future. Regards, Martin Guerrero Managing Director Occidental Tamarindo

    Round Indicators
    Sinthu G 08/26/2019 Family

    “great time in costa Rica”

    I read the reviews before our trip and I was pretty nervous. After arriving here I realized people just complain about anything and everything. If you had major issues I totally understand but some of these reviews are from people who make small issues a huge deal. Pros: the staff are beyond amazing and super friendly. we stayed in the 1000's area rooms and no complains. there are doing minor renos such as roof, steps and maybe a update to the rooms would be good. entertainment term is great and do have kids shows and family show after that swiss travel in the lobby is expensive don't book excursions there, the lady by the pool for tours was the cheaper options. things to fix: wifi service only in the lobby, some part of the pool area and sometimes in the room. the food is okay but good selection of desserts. The need to add more live cook selections and more main food options kids club was only active from Friday-sunday when more guest arrive the resort is busy from friday-Monday but we always got seats and service in the buffet we made a desposit with the guy that sells tours at the beach (he always has a hat on) we couldn't go on the tour and had to cancel the day before because our daughter wasn't feeling well. he said he would return the deposit and we saw him couple of days after and spoke to him about returning it and he said he would and he never did. please don't book anything with him he isn't honest and he is overpriced

    Barcelo L, recepción at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this review
     Good afternoon, Thank you again for this heartwarming review of your stay with us, we look forward to your next visit. Regards, Martin Guerrero Managing Director Occidental Tamarindo

    Round Indicators
    Aaa123cr 08/26/2019 Friends getaway

    “Very bad service”

    I went with my friends and we had tons of issues. The people at the hotel had very bad manners when treating customers, except for the ones that cleaned the rooms that were really lovely. The food was ok, nothing great at all. On one occasion, there was no space for eating dinner at the restaurant and they couldn’t resolve the issue, etc.

    Barcelo L, recepción at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this review
     Good morning, Please be assured that your comments will be taken into serious consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. Once again, thank you for your time and despite the issues you have raised following your stay, we hope that Barceló will remain an option for your next holiday and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future. Regards, Martin Guerrero Managing Director Occidental Tamarindo

    Round Indicators
    adelgafo2019 Bratislava, Slovakia. 08/25/2019 Family

    “2 night stay wit family”

    Bad road conditions to access the hotel, staff at reception did not make you feel welcomed at all, he was rushing us to leave. Had to driv back after ck in to park the car in a location on the other side of the hotel, had to cross the whole hotel to access the parking lot without any assistance from staff. Superior type of room was clearly outdated and deteriorated. Doors to terrace and main door in very bad conditions, no security lock in the door. Had staff and people walking, eating and drinking in our terrace all the time. Food quality below average, empty glasses everywhere. Animation staff wasn't able to communicate fluently in English. No wifi outside reception area and had to go to reception and ask for a password because the telephone in the room didn't work. With so many nice options in Tamarindo, I would not recommend this hotel.

    Barcelo L, recepción at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this review
     Good afternoon, Once again we thank you for sharing this valuable feedback with us, please rest assured that the information you have provided will be used accordingly to enhance our future guests' experiences among us and we hope you will visit us again in the future. Regards, Martin Guerrero Managing Director Occidental Tamarindo

    Round Indicators
    Monica C 08/24/2019

    “Great Location and Property”

    Traveling with a large group and stayed for four nights. The all-inclusive feature is great because it accommodates for a diverse group of people who have different dietary wants and needs. We did the buffet and has great offering for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Also they had a snack bar that was good throughout the day. Another nice feature is the nightly entertainment and the daily activities which made it really fun - zumba, aqua aerobics, beach volleybal, darts to latin dance were all offered up enthusiastically by the resort staff. Service was great - could not say enough about how professional and helpful all of the hotel staff were. The pool and beach on-site are great and convenient. You can walk into the main town of Tamarindo or just take a quick taxi over there. Very convenient location of staying close to where all the shops and restaurants are but still being away and in your own private resort. The one caveat is that you have to pay for wifi - it is not free. Aside from that - this was a nice, relaxing stay.

    Barcelo L, recepción at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this review
     Good afternoon, Again we thank you for this wonderful review, it has been a pleasure for us to read and we look forward to serving you again soon Regards, Martin Guerrero Managing Director Occidental Tamarindo

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • august 28 2019
    • Couples

    ldunna971956

    “Good and bad”


    Room was spacious and clean. Nice beds. Quiet ac unit. Cleaned daily. Buffet was good. Fresh fruit and salad ingredients daily. Great coffee. Grill items available for lunch and dinner. Omelettes available for breakfast. I WILL NEVER stay at this hotel again. VERY loud music and dance lessons, continuously. Could not escape it so I could enjoy pool area or beach. Even employees complained to me when I question it. A couple of the staff members very friendly, most were not.


    Barcelo L, recepción at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this review
    Good afternoon, We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future. Regards, Martin Guerrero Managing Director Occidental Tamarindo

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • august 26 2019
    • Family

    Sinthu G

    “great time in costa Rica”


    I read the reviews before our trip and I was pretty nervous. After arriving here I realized people just complain about anything and everything. If you had major issues I totally understand but some of these reviews are from people who make small issues a huge deal. Pros: the staff are beyond amazing and super friendly. we stayed in the 1000's area rooms and no complains. there are doing minor renos such as roof, steps and maybe a update to the rooms would be good. entertainment term is great and do have kids shows and family show after that swiss travel in the lobby is expensive don't book excursions there, the lady by the pool for tours was the cheaper options. things to fix: wifi service only in the lobby, some part of the pool area and sometimes in the room. the food is okay but good selection of desserts. The need to add more live cook selections and more main food options kids club was only active from Friday-sunday when more guest arrive the resort is busy from friday-Monday but we always got seats and service in the buffet we made a desposit with the guy that sells tours at the beach (he always has a hat on) we couldn't go on the tour and had to cancel the day before because our daughter wasn't feeling well. he said he would return the deposit and we saw him couple of days after and spoke to him about returning it and he said he would and he never did. please don't book anything with him he isn't honest and he is overpriced


    Barcelo L, recepción at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this review
    Good afternoon, Thank you again for this heartwarming review of your stay with us, we look forward to your next visit. Regards, Martin Guerrero Managing Director Occidental Tamarindo

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • august 26 2019
    • Friends getaway

    Aaa123cr

    “Very bad service”


    I went with my friends and we had tons of issues. The people at the hotel had very bad manners when treating customers, except for the ones that cleaned the rooms that were really lovely. The food was ok, nothing great at all. On one occasion, there was no space for eating dinner at the restaurant and they couldn’t resolve the issue, etc.


    Barcelo L, recepción at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this review
    Good morning, Please be assured that your comments will be taken into serious consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. Once again, thank you for your time and despite the issues you have raised following your stay, we hope that Barceló will remain an option for your next holiday and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future. Regards, Martin Guerrero Managing Director Occidental Tamarindo

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • august 25 2019
    • Bratislava, Slovakia
    • Family

    adelgafo2019

    “2 night stay wit family”


    Bad road conditions to access the hotel, staff at reception did not make you feel welcomed at all, he was rushing us to leave. Had to driv back after ck in to park the car in a location on the other side of the hotel, had to cross the whole hotel to access the parking lot without any assistance from staff. Superior type of room was clearly outdated and deteriorated. Doors to terrace and main door in very bad conditions, no security lock in the door. Had staff and people walking, eating and drinking in our terrace all the time. Food quality below average, empty glasses everywhere. Animation staff wasn't able to communicate fluently in English. No wifi outside reception area and had to go to reception and ask for a password because the telephone in the room didn't work. With so many nice options in Tamarindo, I would not recommend this hotel.


    Barcelo L, recepción at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this review
    Good afternoon, Once again we thank you for sharing this valuable feedback with us, please rest assured that the information you have provided will be used accordingly to enhance our future guests' experiences among us and we hope you will visit us again in the future. Regards, Martin Guerrero Managing Director Occidental Tamarindo

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • august 24 2019

    Monica C

    “Great Location and Property”


    Traveling with a large group and stayed for four nights. The all-inclusive feature is great because it accommodates for a diverse group of people who have different dietary wants and needs. We did the buffet and has great offering for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Also they had a snack bar that was good throughout the day. Another nice feature is the nightly entertainment and the daily activities which made it really fun - zumba, aqua aerobics, beach volleybal, darts to latin dance were all offered up enthusiastically by the resort staff. Service was great - could not say enough about how professional and helpful all of the hotel staff were. The pool and beach on-site are great and convenient. You can walk into the main town of Tamarindo or just take a quick taxi over there. Very convenient location of staying close to where all the shops and restaurants are but still being away and in your own private resort. The one caveat is that you have to pay for wifi - it is not free. Aside from that - this was a nice, relaxing stay.


    Barcelo L, recepción at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this review
    Good afternoon, Again we thank you for this wonderful review, it has been a pleasure for us to read and we look forward to serving you again soon Regards, Martin Guerrero Managing Director Occidental Tamarindo

    Vistas aéreas del hotel Occidental Tamarindo

    Where dreams come true

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in El Salvador

    Select El Salvador

    Hotels in Costa Rica

    Select Costa Rica

    Hotels in Ecuador

    Select Ecuador

    Hotels in Guatemala

    Select Guatemala

    Hotels in Nicaragua

    Select Nicaragua

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Aruba

    Select Aruba

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Hotels in Germany

    Select Germany

    Hotels in Bulgaria

    Select Bulgaria

    Hotels in Italy

    Select Italy

    Hotels in Greece

    Select Greece

    Hotels in Portugal

    Select Portugal

    Hotels in Hungria

    Select Hungria

    Hotels in Morocco

    Select Morocco

    Hotels in Egypt

    Select Egypt

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

    to

      Incorrect dates
      Please enter valid dates

    NIGHTS

    (Optional dates)

    0 nights Selected
    1 night Selected

    A discount* or promotional code (also appears as “promo code”) is a combination of letters and/or numbers that can be used to add a discount to the normal rate. If you have a discount code, enter it when booking and you will receive a discount. Once you have entered this code, the prices shown in step 1 of the booking process will take into account the discount. 

    The discount does not apply to supplements and/or additional services, nor to prices on last available rooms. You can only apply one discount code per booking, which will only be valid at the time of booking.** 

    The maximum amount of accumulated discount may be up to 20% off the booking rate. It is possible to combine a discount code with a special discount** (for example multiple room, senior, resident, millennials,or large family bookings) and your my Barceló discount. 

    *Barceló reserves the right to accept the application of advertised discounts. 

    **The discount code is not valid on arrival at the hotel, only at the time of booking. 

    ***At check-in, the hotel will request valid official documents in order to verify compliance with the terms and conditions of the discount codes and special discounts. In the event of a failure to provide such documents or meet the conditions, the hotel reserves the right to charge for the amounts that were deducted at time of booking.

    Loading rates...
    The hotel does not have any rates allocated to it

    Best rate
    guaranteed
    Plus

    Our double guarantee:

    If you find a better rate outside Barcelo.com, we’ll match it.

    The same applies even if you find a better rate on Barcelo.com after placing your booking.

    For more information