Close

You are using Internet Explorer as a browser to visit Barcelo.com, and we trully recomend to use other browser in order to avoid troubles. If you prefer it, upload your browser versión to Internet Explorer 7 or newer by following the steps you will find in the “About” option inside Tools Configuration (upper right of your window)

Aerial View of Barceló Hotel Punta Cana
;
map

Map and location

Carretera Macao, S/N, Playa Arena Gorda   23301 Punta Cana La Altagracia ,   República Dominicana  


Points of Interest

18 mi Punta Cana International Airport

9 mi Macao Beach

Premios y Reconocimientos

Prizes and Awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Occidental Caribe

4.0/5 Round Indicators
| 12252 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


Comments

Excellent

38% Complete

4752

Very good

28% Complete

3467

Average

15% Complete

1943

Poor

8% Complete

1096

Very poor

8% Complete

995

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    smileatme77 Toronto. 08/17/2019

    “Great weather, great price.”

    Travelled on June 24th for one week 6 adults and 5yr old child. Beautiful beach, grounds always clean and everyone that worked there were great. We ate at all restaurants except the French one. They were all delicious. You do need to reserve a table first thing in the morning and you can go as more than once. Lunch at the pizza and the mexican is a must as well. Breakfast at the buffet you cant go wrong. But unfortuneatly for lunch and dinner we didn't like it. Our rooms were standard which we dont mind at all BUT we were able to hear our neighbours so clearly as if they were in the same room. As well you can hear people in the hall. our room was next to the Riu so we heard them partying during the day and at night. Kids pool was great. The swimming pool next to it was not overly crowded and water was so hot.The only thing that bothered us was that there was no washrooms outside and you would need to go in the lobby to use the restrooms which I didnt see many doing. The entertainment at night is the same at other resort Michael Jackson, karaoke, etc. The casino is small. My young adult daughter said the club at the resort was great. We purchased a SIM card at the resort and we got great reception. Would I go to this resort again or recommend it. No.

    Marcos C, Director General at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review
     Dear guest, We greatly appreciate the time you spent to review your recent experience in our hotel, at Barceló we always strive to exceed guests' expectations and your comments will help our teams reaching that goal. Please receive our most sincere apologies for not fulfilling your expectations regarding our gastronomy and all-inclusive service. The involved departments have been informed about your comments and we are sure they will help us to improve. We work very hard, striving to surpass guest expectations and your review has stimulated us to continue endeavor to achieve your satisfaction if you decide to honor us with a new visit. You can be sure that your comments will be taken into consideration and that they will help us improve our services. Once again, thank you for your time and despite the problems arising during your stay, we hope that Occidental Caribe will continue to be an option for your next vacation and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future. Regards, Director Occidental Caribe

    Round Indicators
    FrequentFlyer9191 08/16/2019 Couples

    “RUN AWAY, AND DON'T LOOK BACK”

    The front desk staff who checked me in were delightful. I was handed my access card and given instructions on how to find the room. I then proceeded to get settled in. When I entered the room I was greeted by the damp, stomaching turning smell of mold and mildew. My girlfriend and I both looked at each other in disgust. In addition to the fragrant scent, perfuming the room, we found that everything was as damp as if it had just rained inside. After 5 minutes of search I found the culprit of the offending odour... green mold growing inside the A/C vent. I promptly took photos of the mold and the impressive build up of dust in the air return and made my way down to the front desk. After showing the staff the photos of the mold and dust build up, they said next to nothing and started to program a second key card. They told us we were moving into another room. We made our way over and as soon as we opened the door we started melting. The AC was set to 20 degrees celsius, but the room was maintaining a balmy 26.5 degrees. We then went down to advise the front desk that the AC was not working and that we were requesting a refund in full. The staff member went back to talk to, who appeared to be a manager. She then came over and started programming a third key card. To which I quickly interrupted to tell her we weren't going to try a third room. After much disappointment the manager began the process of refunding my credit card and had me fill out a sheet of why I wanted to leave early. I then made my way to The Westin and had an amazing experience, I can't say enough good things about the staff, food, room quality, and other amenities. TLDR: Take your hard earned money, and valuable vacation time off of work, and go somewhere else. Anywhere else. Literally... anywhere else.

    Marcos C, Director General at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review
     Dear guest, We greatly appreciate the time you spent to review your recent experience in our hotel, at Barceló we always strive to exceed guests' expectations and your comments will help our teams reaching that goal. We were most concerned to read your remarks on the service you expérienced whilst staying among us, mostly because your comments do not reflect the usual standard of service we strive to ensure for our guests, nevertheless please rest assured that your review will be shared with our head of departments for information and further revision. You can be sure that your comments will be taken into consideration and that they will help us improve our services. Once again, thank you for your time and despite the problems arising during your stay, we hope that Occidental Caribe will continue to be an option for your next vacation and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future. Regards, Director Occidental Caribe

    Round Indicators
    Yuri B 08/15/2019 Family

    “Disappointed”

    My family and I planned this vacation months in advance and decided to stay at this hotel in spite of all the negative reviews we read. We booked our reservation directly through them over the phone ( we made specific request given that we were traveling with 3 small children and none of our request were granted e.g a crib for the baby). We were a party of 9 people and booked 2 rooms ( one of the rooms was a family suite) and when we got to our room ( family suite) we were very disappointed. Our room was super dirty. There was dust everywhere, the bathroom was nasty all over with a broken doorknob and there was water leaking from underneath the king size bed ( it also smell bad). After a trip to the reception and several phone calls they sent a handyman to fix the broken doorknob and mopped the water coming from underneath the bed. The water kept coming from underneath the bed and we couldn’t go the sleep because the bedsheets were so dirty so we demanded to be moved to a different room. Once we got to the “new room” it wasn’t much different from the previous room but we had to stay there given the it was super late ( 1:00 am) and the kids were super sleepy. All in all, we enjoyed the beach and the pools and the food was ok (not the best but you can always find something to eat since they have a lot of varieties). They need to upgrade the rooms because they look old and tired. We are planning to return to Punta Cana but we definitely will not be staying at this hotel.

    Marcos C, Director General at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review
     Dear guest, We are really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the experience in our hotel to the fullest as we strive to make each stay with us an unforgettable one. Discussions involving the respective team members and management have taken place to review your comments, and we would like to assure you that all of your concerns will be addressed and attended to. We were most concerned to read your remarks on the service you expérienced whilst staying among us, mostly because your comments do not reflect the usual standard of service we strive to ensure for our guests, nevertheless please rest assured that your review will be shared with our head of departments for information and further revision. You can be sure that your comments will be taken into consideration and that they will help us improve our services. Once again, thank you for your time and despite the problems arising during your stay, we hope that Occidental Caribe will continue to be an option for your next vacation and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future. Regards, Director Occidental Caribe

    Round Indicators
    luluMH87 Elizabeth, New Jersey. 08/14/2019

    “paradise”

    The HK is excellent. In the bathroom you can find not only basics hygiene products, but razor also (in case you missed your duties lol). Very big, buffet can vary, too many vegeterian options... i wanted meat! Everything is included, except the extreme sports. You can also use the gym without paying anything. Every night there's a dancing show. Special mention to Bianca (front desk), such a nice and pacient girl, she acquitted our doubts and remember to schedule our alarm and to Juan (bar), wonderful drinks and good service!

    Marcos C, Director General at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review
     Dear Guest, Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at Occidental Caribe. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience.  It is also good to know that you enjoyed the many culinary delights prepared by our professional Chefs who always strive to offer a wide variety of typical delights in order to please all palates and we thank you for letting us know that we could conquer yours. We look forward to your next visit. Best Regards Director Occidental Caribe

    Round Indicators
    Siadely R 08/13/2019 Family

    “Unfriendly staff”

    The hotel is a little outdated but it still pretty. The serving staff were not that friendly. They seem to be understaff in the Buffett which it made it hard to just get utensils and water. The food is basic. The staff seems to do whatever they want in this hotel. They will be in the Buffett walking out with food. They were taking up all the equipment in the gym. They need to provide training on hospitality. The pool was very good.

    Marcos C, Director General at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review
     Dear guest, Lamentamos mucho que no haya disfrutado al máximo la experiencia en nuestro hotel, ya que nos esforzamos para que cada estadía con nosotros sea inolvidable. Se han llevado a cabo discusiones con los miembros del equipo y la administración respectivos para revisar sus comentarios, y nos gustaría asegurarle que todas sus inquietudes se abordarán y atenderán. Leemos con gran preocupación sus comentarios sobre nuestro personal, ya que, debido a su servicio, han sido elogiados repetidas veces por su profesionalidad y amabilidad, por lo que lo que usted escribe no es habitual para nosotros. Apreciamos que haya tomado el tiempo para relatarnos su experiencia personal y le aseguramos que su opinión sera transmitida a todos los jefes de departamento para la evaluación y posterior toma de decisiones que sean necesarias. Puede estar seguro de que sus comentarios serán tomados en consideración y que nos ayudarán a mejorar nuestros servicios. Una vez más, gracias por su tiempo y a pesar de los problemas surgidos en su estancia, esperamos que Occidental Caribe siga siendo una opción para sus próximas vacaciones y que tengamos la oportunidad de restaurar su fe en nuestra empresa en un futuro próximo. Saludos cordiales, Director Occidental Caribe

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • august 17 2019
    • Toronto

    smileatme77

    “Great weather, great price.”


    Travelled on June 24th for one week 6 adults and 5yr old child. Beautiful beach, grounds always clean and everyone that worked there were great. We ate at all restaurants except the French one. They were all delicious. You do need to reserve a table first thing in the morning and you can go as more than once. Lunch at the pizza and the mexican is a must as well. Breakfast at the buffet you cant go wrong. But unfortuneatly for lunch and dinner we didn't like it. Our rooms were standard which we dont mind at all BUT we were able to hear our neighbours so clearly as if they were in the same room. As well you can hear people in the hall. our room was next to the Riu so we heard them partying during the day and at night. Kids pool was great. The swimming pool next to it was not overly crowded and water was so hot.The only thing that bothered us was that there was no washrooms outside and you would need to go in the lobby to use the restrooms which I didnt see many doing. The entertainment at night is the same at other resort Michael Jackson, karaoke, etc. The casino is small. My young adult daughter said the club at the resort was great. We purchased a SIM card at the resort and we got great reception. Would I go to this resort again or recommend it. No.


    Marcos C, Director General at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review
    Dear guest, We greatly appreciate the time you spent to review your recent experience in our hotel, at Barceló we always strive to exceed guests' expectations and your comments will help our teams reaching that goal. Please receive our most sincere apologies for not fulfilling your expectations regarding our gastronomy and all-inclusive service. The involved departments have been informed about your comments and we are sure they will help us to improve. We work very hard, striving to surpass guest expectations and your review has stimulated us to continue endeavor to achieve your satisfaction if you decide to honor us with a new visit. You can be sure that your comments will be taken into consideration and that they will help us improve our services. Once again, thank you for your time and despite the problems arising during your stay, we hope that Occidental Caribe will continue to be an option for your next vacation and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future. Regards, Director Occidental Caribe

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • august 16 2019
    • Couples

    FrequentFlyer9191

    “RUN AWAY, AND DON'T LOOK BACK”


    The front desk staff who checked me in were delightful. I was handed my access card and given instructions on how to find the room. I then proceeded to get settled in. When I entered the room I was greeted by the damp, stomaching turning smell of mold and mildew. My girlfriend and I both looked at each other in disgust. In addition to the fragrant scent, perfuming the room, we found that everything was as damp as if it had just rained inside. After 5 minutes of search I found the culprit of the offending odour... green mold growing inside the A/C vent. I promptly took photos of the mold and the impressive build up of dust in the air return and made my way down to the front desk. After showing the staff the photos of the mold and dust build up, they said next to nothing and started to program a second key card. They told us we were moving into another room. We made our way over and as soon as we opened the door we started melting. The AC was set to 20 degrees celsius, but the room was maintaining a balmy 26.5 degrees. We then went down to advise the front desk that the AC was not working and that we were requesting a refund in full. The staff member went back to talk to, who appeared to be a manager. She then came over and started programming a third key card. To which I quickly interrupted to tell her we weren't going to try a third room. After much disappointment the manager began the process of refunding my credit card and had me fill out a sheet of why I wanted to leave early. I then made my way to The Westin and had an amazing experience, I can't say enough good things about the staff, food, room quality, and other amenities. TLDR: Take your hard earned money, and valuable vacation time off of work, and go somewhere else. Anywhere else. Literally... anywhere else.


    Marcos C, Director General at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review
    Dear guest, We greatly appreciate the time you spent to review your recent experience in our hotel, at Barceló we always strive to exceed guests' expectations and your comments will help our teams reaching that goal. We were most concerned to read your remarks on the service you expérienced whilst staying among us, mostly because your comments do not reflect the usual standard of service we strive to ensure for our guests, nevertheless please rest assured that your review will be shared with our head of departments for information and further revision. You can be sure that your comments will be taken into consideration and that they will help us improve our services. Once again, thank you for your time and despite the problems arising during your stay, we hope that Occidental Caribe will continue to be an option for your next vacation and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future. Regards, Director Occidental Caribe

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • august 15 2019
    • Family

    Yuri B

    “Disappointed”


    My family and I planned this vacation months in advance and decided to stay at this hotel in spite of all the negative reviews we read. We booked our reservation directly through them over the phone ( we made specific request given that we were traveling with 3 small children and none of our request were granted e.g a crib for the baby). We were a party of 9 people and booked 2 rooms ( one of the rooms was a family suite) and when we got to our room ( family suite) we were very disappointed. Our room was super dirty. There was dust everywhere, the bathroom was nasty all over with a broken doorknob and there was water leaking from underneath the king size bed ( it also smell bad). After a trip to the reception and several phone calls they sent a handyman to fix the broken doorknob and mopped the water coming from underneath the bed. The water kept coming from underneath the bed and we couldn’t go the sleep because the bedsheets were so dirty so we demanded to be moved to a different room. Once we got to the “new room” it wasn’t much different from the previous room but we had to stay there given the it was super late ( 1:00 am) and the kids were super sleepy. All in all, we enjoyed the beach and the pools and the food was ok (not the best but you can always find something to eat since they have a lot of varieties). They need to upgrade the rooms because they look old and tired. We are planning to return to Punta Cana but we definitely will not be staying at this hotel.


    Marcos C, Director General at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review
    Dear guest, We are really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the experience in our hotel to the fullest as we strive to make each stay with us an unforgettable one. Discussions involving the respective team members and management have taken place to review your comments, and we would like to assure you that all of your concerns will be addressed and attended to. We were most concerned to read your remarks on the service you expérienced whilst staying among us, mostly because your comments do not reflect the usual standard of service we strive to ensure for our guests, nevertheless please rest assured that your review will be shared with our head of departments for information and further revision. You can be sure that your comments will be taken into consideration and that they will help us improve our services. Once again, thank you for your time and despite the problems arising during your stay, we hope that Occidental Caribe will continue to be an option for your next vacation and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future. Regards, Director Occidental Caribe

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • august 14 2019
    • Elizabeth, New Jersey

    luluMH87

    “paradise”


    The HK is excellent. In the bathroom you can find not only basics hygiene products, but razor also (in case you missed your duties lol). Very big, buffet can vary, too many vegeterian options... i wanted meat! Everything is included, except the extreme sports. You can also use the gym without paying anything. Every night there's a dancing show. Special mention to Bianca (front desk), such a nice and pacient girl, she acquitted our doubts and remember to schedule our alarm and to Juan (bar), wonderful drinks and good service!


    Marcos C, Director General at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review
    Dear Guest, Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at Occidental Caribe. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience.  It is also good to know that you enjoyed the many culinary delights prepared by our professional Chefs who always strive to offer a wide variety of typical delights in order to please all palates and we thank you for letting us know that we could conquer yours. We look forward to your next visit. Best Regards Director Occidental Caribe

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • august 13 2019
    • Family

    Siadely R

    “Unfriendly staff”


    The hotel is a little outdated but it still pretty. The serving staff were not that friendly. They seem to be understaff in the Buffett which it made it hard to just get utensils and water. The food is basic. The staff seems to do whatever they want in this hotel. They will be in the Buffett walking out with food. They were taking up all the equipment in the gym. They need to provide training on hospitality. The pool was very good.


    Marcos C, Director General at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review
    Dear guest, Lamentamos mucho que no haya disfrutado al máximo la experiencia en nuestro hotel, ya que nos esforzamos para que cada estadía con nosotros sea inolvidable. Se han llevado a cabo discusiones con los miembros del equipo y la administración respectivos para revisar sus comentarios, y nos gustaría asegurarle que todas sus inquietudes se abordarán y atenderán. Leemos con gran preocupación sus comentarios sobre nuestro personal, ya que, debido a su servicio, han sido elogiados repetidas veces por su profesionalidad y amabilidad, por lo que lo que usted escribe no es habitual para nosotros. Apreciamos que haya tomado el tiempo para relatarnos su experiencia personal y le aseguramos que su opinión sera transmitida a todos los jefes de departamento para la evaluación y posterior toma de decisiones que sean necesarias. Puede estar seguro de que sus comentarios serán tomados en consideración y que nos ayudarán a mejorar nuestros servicios. Una vez más, gracias por su tiempo y a pesar de los problemas surgidos en su estancia, esperamos que Occidental Caribe siga siendo una opción para sus próximas vacaciones y que tengamos la oportunidad de restaurar su fe en nuestra empresa en un futuro próximo. Saludos cordiales, Director Occidental Caribe

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in El Salvador

    Select El Salvador

    Hotels in Costa Rica

    Select Costa Rica

    Hotels in Ecuador

    Select Ecuador

    Hotels in Guatemala

    Select Guatemala

    Hotels in Nicaragua

    Select Nicaragua

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Aruba

    Select Aruba

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Hotels in Germany

    Select Germany

    Hotels in Bulgaria

    Select Bulgaria

    Hotels in Italy

    Select Italy

    Hotels in Greece

    Select Greece

    Hotels in Portugal

    Select Portugal

    Hotels in Hungria

    Select Hungria

    Hotels in Morocco

    Select Morocco

    Hotels in Egypt

    Select Egypt

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z