Close

You are using Internet Explorer as a browser to visit Barcelo.com, and we trully recomend to use other browser in order to avoid troubles. If you prefer it, upload your browser versión to Internet Explorer 7 or newer by following the steps you will find in the “About” option inside Tools Configuration (upper right of your window)

Aerial View of Barceló Hotel Punta Cana
;
map

Map and location

Carretera Macao, S/N, Playa Arena Gorda   23301 Punta Cana La Altagracia ,   República Dominicana  


Points of Interest

18 mi Punta Cana International Airport

9 mi Macao Beach

Premios y Reconocimientos

Prizes and Awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Occidental Caribe

4.0/5 Round Indicators
| 12544 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


Comments

Excellent

38% Complete

4859

Very good

28% Complete

3549

Average

15% Complete

1990

Poor

8% Complete

1128

Very poor

8% Complete

1018

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    AverageJoe8263828 10/20/2019 Family

    “Terrible service... Robbed...inside job... And terrible service!!”

    Terrible!! Don't go!!! We had the worst service. Rooms dirty. No towels. No soap or toiletries. Have a 7 month old baby and realized that our bed sheets were full of sand and dirty and had to have our bed sheets changed at midnight. If you don't speak Spanish... Don't go. I do but no one in my group did. They robbed my mother in law of 1,100 dollars. I am so upset I will never go back. Dominican hospitality and service was pathetic. I am Latino and embarrassed to have had my family visit. Sorry if I made spelling errors... I am typing this as we wait to go w the police to fill out the stolen money report. They can't do the report here(hotel) they have to drive us.... UPDATE! They were supposed to send a representative from the hotel w us to the police station,turns out the head of security played dumb and pretended not to know what the procedure was, then when the police insisted on representative from the hotel being present they sent the head of security that played dumb and pretended that he was confused and thought that we didn't need someone from the hotel staff. It turns out that the head of security bought the staff time enough to get their story straight which bought them enough time to spend 2,000 dollars on my father in law's credit card which we did not catch until we got back. Here's the kicker! His wallet mysteriously reappeared in his safe before we left the hotel!!! The lady at the front desk slipped and said "did you find your wallet this morning?"
    Round Indicators
    James V Las Vegas, Nevada. 10/20/2019

    “Two days was perfect”

    I got one heck of a deal on the Occidental Caribe so I couldn't turn it down. I was at another Barcelo property in Punta Cana and I wanted to try something new and with the offer I got I couldn't turn it down. It's pretty much a typical Barcelo property which means it's large, all inclusive and you pretty much know what you will get. I always opt for the top room and premium level which is a life saver in my opinion. I had the presidential suite for a very attractive price. It was huge and multi-roomed in the best location. The premium lounge is right below on the next floor. Anything I needed I went to the premium lounge. In fact I had my breakfast there instead of the buffet as it was quiet and I wasn't looking for a big meal and just so much more cozy and private. I wasn't overwhelmed with the food in any of the restaurants. I think the best meal was the pizza which is upstairs in the poolside open air thatched roof building. The first evening we had the Italian restaurant and it was certainly adequate but I went over to the buffet to check it out and had some dessert there. Seemed terribly gluttony but I wanted to see the food and presentation. Lots and lots of food but the quality was dubious. I have had much better food in the other Barcelo resorts. The bar service was very good and for the most part the drinks were on par with most every other resort of this caliber. The overall resort is on a gorgeous beach and a very long and well populated with lounge chairs and such. The location is ideal with the beautiful white sand beach and clear water. The resort has all sorts of things going on and even a trapeze if you are daring. The fitness room is actually quite well appointed with about everything you might wish for in a gym. It was crowded at times and a little musty but for a fitness guy, first class. Lots of swimming pools and it's a very family friendly resort. As I said, my room was amazing and the price overall was well worth the money spent. The general condition of the resort is in good shape but it's a bit of an older place that has been around a long time and it shows. The grounds are in very good shape and as I said a very beautiful setting in that location. For the money and value, it's excellent. If you are looking for a top/high end resort, no this isn't the place for you. Still, the sun is the same and the beach and water all there so on a budget, yes a great place. Not on a budget but just don't want to spend a fortune this is the place. If you are looking for top shelf everything, I would suggest somewhere else. A special call out to Maria and Yanitza in the premium lounge as they made my trip so much nicer with their can do attitude and constant smiles.

    Marcos C, Manager at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review
     Dear Guest, Thank you for your insights following your recent visit. We always look for ways to improve and your comments are crucial to our future success Thank you for your very nice compliments for our team, they do work very hard every day to make sure our guests feel well attended to at all times and definitely are an asset to our hotel. We will certainly relay your praising comments to all of them and we are sure they will be pleased to know their efforts have been appreciated. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, Regards, Manager Occidental Caribe

    Round Indicators
    EWtravel2019 10/17/2019 Solo travel

    “Fall Break Get Away”

    I wanted to go some place fun and warm and I defiantly go that with this hotel. This was my first time going to the DR and this was a great starter hotel for my first trip. It has lots of places to eat the pools were great, the water was clear and the service was good. The food was great some days and average on others, but always fresh. The restaurants I went to were mostly good. the Italian restaurant was average, but the French and Japanese were great with great service. They atmosphere was fun every evening with music and events for every age. Over all I would highly recommend this place to anyone wanting a high mid-level all inclusive location!!

    Marcos C, Director General at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review
     Dear guest, Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our Occidental Caribe hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations. We also greatly appreciate your comments on the quality and variety of our buffets because our talented team of Chefs strives to ensure a wide variety of both local and international delicacies for each service to please all palates, it is indeed very rewarding to read that we were able to conquer yours. Once more we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and very much look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Regards, Director Occidental Caribe

    Round Indicators
    Ana M 10/16/2019 Couples

    “Husband birthday 😊😊😊😊”

    Has been one of my best experiences in punta cana , very safe , I have to say that the hotel crew is amazing , Byron our guy was awesome Alexander the bartender amazing Jose Luis excellent .... was wonderful experience... See you next year.....

    Marcos C, Director General at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review
     Dear guest, Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at Occidental Caribe. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience.  Again we thank you for this wonderful review, it has been a pleasure for us to read and we look forward to serving you again soon Regards, Director Occidental Caribe

    Round Indicators
    socbello United States. 10/14/2019

    “From the outside it looks great but the reality is another thing”

    Our 3 year old girl was rollover by a bellboy with a luggage cart while we were waiting to check in despite my wife telling him to be careful because there were a kid close to her. We had to expend the whole afternoon in the doctor office in the hotel then in a nearby hospital in order to take her an x rays on her left knee. Thanks god everything was ok with her just some bruises and the big scare we had. At least the hotel took care of everything. The family room we were assigned was not comfortable. The air conditioning were not working fine and the bathroom didn't have shampoo and hair conditioner. The beds were old and had deformations, we were not able to rest at all. The a la carte restaurants were all full and the buffet food was regular, nothing special. The only good thing was the kids pool our little girl enjoyed the little time we were able to spend there since we lost a whole afternoon the day before. It was not a good stay overall.

    Marcos C, Director General at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review
     Dear guest, We are really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the experience in our hotel to the fullest as we strive to make each stay with us an unforgettable one. Discussions involving the respective team members and management have taken place to review your comments, and we would like to assure you that all of your concerns will be addressed and attended to. We were most concerned to read your remarks on the service you experienced whilst staying among us, mostly because your comments do not reflect the usual standard of service we strive to ensure for our guests, nevertheless please rest assured that your review will be shared with our head of departments for information and further revision. Please be assured that your comments will be taken into serious consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. Once again, thank you for your time and despite the issues you have raised following your stay, we hope that Occidental Caribe will remain an option for your next holiday and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future. Regards, Director Occidental Caribe

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • october 20 2019
    • Family

    AverageJoe8263828

    “Terrible service... Robbed...inside job... And terrible service!!”


    Terrible!! Don't go!!! We had the worst service. Rooms dirty. No towels. No soap or toiletries. Have a 7 month old baby and realized that our bed sheets were full of sand and dirty and had to have our bed sheets changed at midnight. If you don't speak Spanish... Don't go. I do but no one in my group did. They robbed my mother in law of 1,100 dollars. I am so upset I will never go back. Dominican hospitality and service was pathetic. I am Latino and embarrassed to have had my family visit. Sorry if I made spelling errors... I am typing this as we wait to go w the police to fill out the stolen money report. They can't do the report here(hotel) they have to drive us.... UPDATE! They were supposed to send a representative from the hotel w us to the police station,turns out the head of security played dumb and pretended not to know what the procedure was, then when the police insisted on representative from the hotel being present they sent the head of security that played dumb and pretended that he was confused and thought that we didn't need someone from the hotel staff. It turns out that the head of security bought the staff time enough to get their story straight which bought them enough time to spend 2,000 dollars on my father in law's credit card which we did not catch until we got back. Here's the kicker! His wallet mysteriously reappeared in his safe before we left the hotel!!! The lady at the front desk slipped and said "did you find your wallet this morning?"


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • october 20 2019
    • Las Vegas, Nevada

    James V

    “Two days was perfect”


    I got one heck of a deal on the Occidental Caribe so I couldn't turn it down. I was at another Barcelo property in Punta Cana and I wanted to try something new and with the offer I got I couldn't turn it down. It's pretty much a typical Barcelo property which means it's large, all inclusive and you pretty much know what you will get. I always opt for the top room and premium level which is a life saver in my opinion. I had the presidential suite for a very attractive price. It was huge and multi-roomed in the best location. The premium lounge is right below on the next floor. Anything I needed I went to the premium lounge. In fact I had my breakfast there instead of the buffet as it was quiet and I wasn't looking for a big meal and just so much more cozy and private. I wasn't overwhelmed with the food in any of the restaurants. I think the best meal was the pizza which is upstairs in the poolside open air thatched roof building. The first evening we had the Italian restaurant and it was certainly adequate but I went over to the buffet to check it out and had some dessert there. Seemed terribly gluttony but I wanted to see the food and presentation. Lots and lots of food but the quality was dubious. I have had much better food in the other Barcelo resorts. The bar service was very good and for the most part the drinks were on par with most every other resort of this caliber. The overall resort is on a gorgeous beach and a very long and well populated with lounge chairs and such. The location is ideal with the beautiful white sand beach and clear water. The resort has all sorts of things going on and even a trapeze if you are daring. The fitness room is actually quite well appointed with about everything you might wish for in a gym. It was crowded at times and a little musty but for a fitness guy, first class. Lots of swimming pools and it's a very family friendly resort. As I said, my room was amazing and the price overall was well worth the money spent. The general condition of the resort is in good shape but it's a bit of an older place that has been around a long time and it shows. The grounds are in very good shape and as I said a very beautiful setting in that location. For the money and value, it's excellent. If you are looking for a top/high end resort, no this isn't the place for you. Still, the sun is the same and the beach and water all there so on a budget, yes a great place. Not on a budget but just don't want to spend a fortune this is the place. If you are looking for top shelf everything, I would suggest somewhere else. A special call out to Maria and Yanitza in the premium lounge as they made my trip so much nicer with their can do attitude and constant smiles.


    Marcos C, Manager at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review
    Dear Guest, Thank you for your insights following your recent visit. We always look for ways to improve and your comments are crucial to our future success Thank you for your very nice compliments for our team, they do work very hard every day to make sure our guests feel well attended to at all times and definitely are an asset to our hotel. We will certainly relay your praising comments to all of them and we are sure they will be pleased to know their efforts have been appreciated. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, Regards, Manager Occidental Caribe

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • october 17 2019
    • Solo travel

    EWtravel2019

    “Fall Break Get Away”


    I wanted to go some place fun and warm and I defiantly go that with this hotel. This was my first time going to the DR and this was a great starter hotel for my first trip. It has lots of places to eat the pools were great, the water was clear and the service was good. The food was great some days and average on others, but always fresh. The restaurants I went to were mostly good. the Italian restaurant was average, but the French and Japanese were great with great service. They atmosphere was fun every evening with music and events for every age. Over all I would highly recommend this place to anyone wanting a high mid-level all inclusive location!!


    Marcos C, Director General at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review
    Dear guest, Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our Occidental Caribe hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations. We also greatly appreciate your comments on the quality and variety of our buffets because our talented team of Chefs strives to ensure a wide variety of both local and international delicacies for each service to please all palates, it is indeed very rewarding to read that we were able to conquer yours. Once more we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and very much look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Regards, Director Occidental Caribe

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • october 16 2019
    • Couples

    Ana M

    “Husband birthday 😊😊😊😊”


    Has been one of my best experiences in punta cana , very safe , I have to say that the hotel crew is amazing , Byron our guy was awesome Alexander the bartender amazing Jose Luis excellent .... was wonderful experience... See you next year.....


    Marcos C, Director General at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review
    Dear guest, Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at Occidental Caribe. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience.  Again we thank you for this wonderful review, it has been a pleasure for us to read and we look forward to serving you again soon Regards, Director Occidental Caribe

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • october 14 2019
    • United States

    socbello

    “From the outside it looks great but the reality is another thing”


    Our 3 year old girl was rollover by a bellboy with a luggage cart while we were waiting to check in despite my wife telling him to be careful because there were a kid close to her. We had to expend the whole afternoon in the doctor office in the hotel then in a nearby hospital in order to take her an x rays on her left knee. Thanks god everything was ok with her just some bruises and the big scare we had. At least the hotel took care of everything. The family room we were assigned was not comfortable. The air conditioning were not working fine and the bathroom didn't have shampoo and hair conditioner. The beds were old and had deformations, we were not able to rest at all. The a la carte restaurants were all full and the buffet food was regular, nothing special. The only good thing was the kids pool our little girl enjoyed the little time we were able to spend there since we lost a whole afternoon the day before. It was not a good stay overall.


    Marcos C, Director General at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review
    Dear guest, We are really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the experience in our hotel to the fullest as we strive to make each stay with us an unforgettable one. Discussions involving the respective team members and management have taken place to review your comments, and we would like to assure you that all of your concerns will be addressed and attended to. We were most concerned to read your remarks on the service you experienced whilst staying among us, mostly because your comments do not reflect the usual standard of service we strive to ensure for our guests, nevertheless please rest assured that your review will be shared with our head of departments for information and further revision. Please be assured that your comments will be taken into serious consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. Once again, thank you for your time and despite the issues you have raised following your stay, we hope that Occidental Caribe will remain an option for your next holiday and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future. Regards, Director Occidental Caribe

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in El Salvador

    Select El Salvador

    Hotels in Costa Rica

    Select Costa Rica

    Hotels in Ecuador

    Select Ecuador

    Hotels in Guatemala

    Select Guatemala

    Hotels in Nicaragua

    Select Nicaragua

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Aruba

    Select Aruba

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Hotels in Germany

    Select Germany

    Hotels in Bulgaria

    Select Bulgaria

    Hotels in Italy

    Select Italy

    Hotels in Greece

    Select Greece

    Hotels in Portugal

    Select Portugal

    Hotels in Hungria

    Select Hungria

    Hotels in Morocco

    Select Morocco

    Hotels in Egypt

    Select Egypt