Hotel Beach  Occidental Grand Punta Cana Resort

Occidental Punta Cana

Texto: 37256 En iyi su sporu ve eğlence seçenekleri, ünlü Mangú diskoteği ile birlikte Punta Cana'nın bu harika resortunda bir araya geliyor. Avenida España, S/N. Playa El Cortesito | 23301 | La Altagracia | Punta Cana | República Dominicana
809 221 8787 809 221 8790
Occidental Punta Cana Texto: 37256 4 out of 5 based on 2278 ratings. 2278 user reviews.
Occidental Punta Cana reviewed by FARLEY K on . Immaculate Grounds PRO's: In numerous trips to Punta Cana, this resort is the best manicured one can expect. The evening entertainment was definitely ABOVE average, for the Caribbean. Perhaps one or two shows werent... Rating: 3
map

Occidental Punta Cana

Avenida España, S/N. Playa El Cortesito   23301   La Altagracia   Punta Cana   República Dominicana  


Places of Interest

24,2 km Punta Cana Uluslararası Havalimanı

Plajın hemen önünde Plaj

Premios y Reconocimientos Prizes and awards

Müşterilerin Düşünceleri

Bir gezginden daha iyi bir uzman yoktur.

Occidental Punta Cana

4.0/5 Round Indicators
| 2350 Görüşler

TOPLAM DEĞERLENDIRME

Round Indicators

DETAYLI DEĞERLENDIRME

Round Indicators

Kalite-fiyat ilişkisi

Round Indicators

Konum

Round Indicators

Uyku kalitesi

Round Indicators

Odalar

Round Indicators

Temizlik

Round Indicators

Hizmetler


GEZGINLERIN PUANLAMASI

Mükemmel

50% Complete

1189

Çok iyi

24% Complete

576

Normal

10% Complete

255

Kötü

6% Complete

148

Çok kötü

7% Complete

182

Filtreleme kriteri

Sıralama kriteri

    Round Indicators
    02/22/2018 Arkadaş kaçamakları

    “will not return”

    I have been to Punta Cana 9 times one of which was in 2009 at this resort. At the time it was good, then the majority of the reviews were negative until year.I decided to give it another try. Glad I did but I will be returning to the Iberostars where I spent my last 5 visits. Better quality and variety of food and friendlier staff
    Round Indicators
    sjtye Buckinghamshire, İngiltere. 02/22/2018 Aile

    “Royal club Feb 18”

    We visited at half term and stayed in the royal club with our two teenage daughter , the room was lovely and Gloria our cleaner was amazing all week, she looked after our teenage daughters and was a delight ! The rooms are spotlessly clean and plenty of hot water. The royal restaurant staff are excellent so friendly, very hard working thank you Samuel and your team for making our holiday special and the food is way better than the other restaurants the menu changes daily for lunch and dinner , we stayed at the Mexico royal club and that was the same menu everyday so punta in that respect was better, we tried the Italian it was good, but the oriental was bad, the guy at the desk was so rude to everyone and the food was shocking ! The sea food restaurant was ok, the menu descriptions sounded better than what was served. The resort had a lots of Canadian and Americans who came year on year for up too a month , and the guests at the royal club went out of their way to include us Brits , especially Theo ! Who welcomes everyone when they arrived and introduced us to lots of the other guests ,the only frustration was the bed reserving but when the wind died down on the beach it wasn’t an issue. The grounds are spotless and the gardener at the royal club worked constantly tidying the area. It was a Shame there was not a pool drinks service like Mexico but the beach bar was nice. The cocktails where not as good a Mexico but the wine and champagne where fine so I drank that, however the main resort wine was undrinkable.The star of the whole resort was the beach it is stunning , the sand is so soft and you can walk for miles. I could have sat on that beach forever. Overall we had a lovely relaxing holiday and will come back to the Caribbean.
    Round Indicators
    Chuck M 02/22/2018 Aile

    “Great Experience - Negative Reviews Debunked”

    Date of Visit: Feb 13-20, 2018 First time at this resort. 7th time in Punta Cana. Stayed in Building 13 (rooms 214 and 220) no First Club or any other upgrade. Our group: 4 Adults, 2 teens. From Canada. Well-traveled throughout the world. We would go back. Age bracket varied but leaned towards older adults. Demographic make-up was Russian, French Canadian, English Canadian and American – in that order. We spent many months before our vacation stressing over the negative reviews we read on this resort. My significant other would raise the alarm almost daily when she read another review. Please take negative reviews with a grain of salt and try to understand the context of the review, the reviewer and realize that complaints about the plastic on the roadside down the road from the resort or that the weather wasn’t perfect don’t really count. While there are some very high end resorts in Punta Cana, your mileage will vary between resorts and different years at the same resort. Try to average out the feedback you are reading and focus on the things that are really important deal-breakers for your personal situation. Rule #1 - You are in an impoverished foreign country so set your expectations accordingly. The average wage in Dominican Republic is $150-$200 USD per month. You are not going to a 5 star hotel located in New York or Toronto or London. Haiti was nearly wiped off the map by a hurricane and many workers we talked to were essentially refugees from Haiti with nothing but the clothes on their back. Context matters. Pro-tip before you leave #1 - Sunscreen at the resort is sold for between $20 USD and $30 USD per bottle. Do yourself a favor and bring a few extra bottles. We brought 8 for the week and had just enough. Pro-tip before you leave #2 – Exchange money in your home country. Everything will cost you more after you land. Fees, commissions, exchange rates, etc. We brought some pesos but if you are staying on-resort you will only need $1 USD bills for tips. We brought $100 in $1 USD bills and had probably half left. Pro-tip before you leave #3 – Wear your bathing suit or shorts on the plane under your winter clothing or change at the airport into something you will wear for the afternoon and you'll be good to go. We packed our “First Day” clothing in our carry-ons along with small sunscreens, expecting that we may have a long wait for check-in. You will have LOTS of time at the airport to change out of a pair of pants while the rest of your fellow passengers are running around scrambling trying to find their bags. Go the bathroom and change and give the baggage line a few minutes to calm down. (There’s no rush – your bus won’t leave without you) Pro-tip at airport: Don’t get suckered into paying $5 or more in USD for a no-name can of beer from a black shopping bag on your tour bus to the hotel. You literally walk by a bar on your way to the bus. It’s outside on the left hand side. Stop there, buy a beer (or 2 or 3) and get on the bus. Your welcome. Tipping: We left $2/day in our room and tipped our dinner server $1-$2 if we had exceptional service. Ditto for the bartender, a couple bucks at the end of multiple rounds of drinks, if we had exceptional service. No need to go wild on the tipping. We didn't get towel animals in our rooms. The teenagers cried every. single. day. They were inconsolable. Really people?!? I’ll try to address some negative reviews we read before and after we came back: - They don’t speak {insert my own language here} Read Rule #1. If you can’t learn the 10 or so Spanish words necessary to get by and expect that someone earning $1.00 an hour was able to go to school to learn to be completely fluent in your particular mother tongue… really? The concierges doing the restaurant reservations, First Club or timeshare sales will be minimally capable in English, French and Russian - you are equally capable in 3 languages, right? The check-in counter or the assistance desk will be similar. Everyone else will know as much of your language as you do Spanish. Hi, Bye, Yes, No, Beer. Any interaction with staff will simply require you to have patience. Speak slower than usual, choose simple words and realize that you are not speaking to a native speaker. You may need to repeat yourself using different words. It's called travelling to a different country. - Wifi and Internet is not widely available. It’s true. See Rule #1. - Resort is dirty, rooms are dirty. Not true. Resort was very clean. Lots of maintenance staff everywhere working constantly. Those people posting those reviews may have been staying somewhere else. Not sure. Our rooms in Building 13 were immaculate and renovated. Everything worked. Ask at check-in if your room has been renovated or ask for one that has been. Easy enough. Speak slower and enunciate your words, be patient. They will accommodate you if you are nice. - Slow check-in / rooms took a long time Depends. Check-in is slow depending on when you arrive. They have typically 2 staff working the counter and some buses from the airport drop 30-40 people in one shot. It takes time. They need to go through everyone’s passports and reservation paperwork. It’s not hard math. Pro-tip: Have your vacation booking / reservation paperwork handy with your passport when you hit the check-in counter. They seem to turn-over rooms mid-afternoon so if you arrive early (we arrived at noon), you'll leave your bags with the bellboy and come back to check-in after 3-4pm. (see Pro-tip #3 re: wear your shorts on the plane or change at airport) - Food sucks Not true, but if you are picky, ignoring Rule #1 and/or if this is your first trip abroad, you may be disappointed. Food is 3.5-4-star first-world comparable quality. Comparable to other Punta Cana resorts. Always found something enjoyable. Picky kids did too. Crepe stations at all buffets at all meals. Yep - shocked me too. Egg & omelette stations at breakfast and pasta and grill stations at supper. More dessert than anyone realistically needs to choose from. Diabetics or sugar addicts beware. Lots of local flair available so you may not know what some stuff is, even after reading the description. Try small portions of it to test and you may be surprised. Snack bar had hot dogs, burgers, chicken nuggets, chicken thighs, fries, etc. throughout the day so kids typically hit that up instead of the lunch buffet at main hall. There’s an “ice cream” machine in the snack bar that gets quite a workout. Watch your kids as ours decided ice cream was an appropriate meal replacement. Its machine made ice cream, so it won’t be the same as grocery store ice cream. See Rule #1. Kids ate like 15 cones of the stuff and didn’t complain once. Beach buffet for breakfast will be much quieter than the main hall. We alternated between the two throughout the week. Was able to go at 6:30am and have a quiet coffee nearly by ourselves for an hour before anyone else showed up. Always lots of fresh fruit, cheeses, breads, pancakes, bacon, etc. I'm sure someone would find something to complain about, but we didn't. We didn’t try any a la carte restaurants. Didn’t feel like dressing up and found more than enough to eat at buffets. You do know where the a la cart food eventually goes, right? We are wine drinkers and found the house wines difficult to drink a ton of. We chose not to buy any wine off the list available (e.g. $25-30 USD for Wolff Blass Yellow Label Shiraz) at dinner and made do with 1-2 glasses of house wine each meal. It's not awesome but it's o-k. Wouldn't recommend wine (specifically the red) as your primary drink of choice while you are here. Though, if you normally drink red wine poolside in 35 degree heat, you may be fine with it. We brought 2 bottles of Clamato in our checked bags and made ourselves ceasars or micheladas most of the week. Highly recommend. We didn't have access to the First Club "premium" alcohol (only available at the First Club bar). Got just as drunk as those folks and didn't have to leave the pool. #Winning - Towel exchanges / towels in general Not sure why people were complaining about towels. They give you towels in your room (no towel tickets at this resort) and you can exchange them in 2 places on the resort if they are dirty. They will gladly give you more so I think this complaint can be safely ignored. We had towels stolen off our chairs, no biggie – go to the towel shack and ask for more. Crisis averted. - Beach & Shade Beach is very well maintained. This and the resorts on either side have maintenance staff raking up seaweed, etc. Never a problem but if there’s a few pieces of seaweed on the beach that is ruining your day like we saw in some reviews – See Rule #1. There’s zero shade on the beach aside from what little the palms provide. No palapas. There are 4-5 pergolas around the pools but you gotta be up early to get a chair as they are hot commodities. 6-6:30am or earlier. So yes, the reviews are accurate that shade is tough to come by. It wasn’t an issue for us as we reserved chairs at the pergolas but if you are planning on sleeping in most days, you're going to need to pack more sunscreen. - Timeshare / Vacation Club pestering True story. Each building is assigned a concierge whose mission in life is to get people to the timeshare presentation. Just say “no gracias”. End of story. They may ask you a few times because they won’t remember your face out of the hundreds of people coming and going. Imagine that. - Entertainment We’ve stayed at places that had a very active entertainment team. Not so here. Much quieter resort. There were some activities at the pool closest to the beach in the mornings and on the weekend there was some action at the main pool but overall this is a quiet resort. Kids were a little bored as kids are. We had to push them to entertain themselves or go make friends. Again, crisis averted. Shows at night were really good. Lobby entertainment was pretty decent also. Note: Lobby bar seating fills up late afternoon. If you want a drink before dinner, you'll need to be up there by 4-4:30pm or you won't get a seat. Dinner opens at 6:30pm so plan on a few drinks at least. - Sketchy beach vendors True story. Punta Cana is a public beach. You’ll find all manner of people trying to sell stuff to tourists who are silly enough to bring money to the beach. Fake sunglasses, fake cigars, fake jewelry, pictures with some lizard or a bird that a random dude is carrying on the beach. You’ll see it all. Just say “no gracias” and move along. Or not. It’s your money. There’s also a set of tourist trap shacks located a 25-30 minute walk down the beach past the Grand Palladium resort. If that’s your thing, go for it - go buy souvenirs made in China for 100X their value. If you’re walking by, simply no thanks or no gracias will keep the shop-keepers from bugging. There's also a few shops on-resort out of the front of the main lobby. Dicker hard. Everything is seemingly negotiable. The shop inside the resort lobby has posted prices, we didn't try to negotiate in there so not sure how much luck you'd have. - First club / Royal club We didn’t upgrade and after we left we didn’t see any reason why someone would. Again, if you’ve got money to burn go for it I guess. The "perks" advertised for it didn't appeal to us and didn't seem worth the expense after we saw them for ourselves. - Fancy rooms with hot tubs We noticed that some of the buildings had hot tubs outside their balconies (ground floor). Keep in mind there’s no fence or any privacy between the patio doors and the public walkways of the resort so if that’s cool with you, give it a go for whatever those rooms cost I guess. I’d pass. - Rooms near the the entertainment areas Check the map of the resort. Not sure that you'll have much control over where your room is but be aware of where the buildings are in relation to the main entertainment area. The nighttime shows can be loud. We’d go back to this resort based on our experience but if you are looking for a high-activity, fist-pumping, foam party experience for twenty-somethings, probably not going to be the atmosphere you’d want. If you want a lower-key, relaxing vacation, this is a real solid, safe contender.
    Round Indicators
    Ruth M 02/21/2018 Arkadaş kaçamakları

    “Plastic in paradise ”

    My recent trip to the Occidental Punta Cana resort in the Dominican Republic was a long awaited trip to what I expected to be complete paradise. What I found when I arrived, was true paradise ruined by humans and their disgusting plastic pollution! The resort itself is well-planned, beautifully set out and benefiting from a stunning beach front. Yes it was windy and we had scattered showers throughout the week we stayed. But I can except temperamental weather, particularly in such a stunning place. The big blight for me however was the resort’s slack and complacent attitude to the rubbish it produced. The immense plastic waste and sheer volume of plastic rubbish on the beach was absolutely disgusting. Guests staying at the resort are indeed partly to blame for the immense plastic waste, but surely the resort is to blame more. Giving residents of the hotel plastic cups and straws in the first place, creates a big waste problem. I asked customer services and staff in general, ‘why not use paper straws and cups rather than plastic ones?’ - I was met with blank and bemused responses followed by the explanation that plastic items were cheaper. Let’s see how long that complacency lasts when they succeed in poisoning their paradise, swamping the ocean with rubbish and choking precious marine life on discarded plastic! I spent many hours of my stay picking up other peoples rubbish from the beach, concerned that the plastic waste would be washed into the ocean to damage and kill marine life. The resort’s short term view is disappointing and will end up costing hem dearly. After all, the beauty of nature, not disgusting plastic rubbish, is the essence of what makes this place so very special. If you are interested in visiting a responsible and eco-aware resort, this is not the place for you. The only thing I would say is that the occidental Punta Cana is better than some of the other resorts that I saw in the Dominican Republic. Whilst their beach was littered with plastic, others were far worse. Sadly I do not hold out hope for this stunning natural paradise - with human greed and complacency at the forefront, this wonderful place will be another paradise lost.

    Manager gpcsm - Occidental Punta Cana, bu yorumu yanıtladı
     Dear Ruth M, We truly appreciate the time taken to share your recent experience at the Occidental Punta Cana with the TripAdvisor Community. In general, we are pleased to hear that we managed to meet your expectations. Your comments regarding the volume of plastic litter have been forwarded to our managing department and we have also taken note of your recomendations and the possibility to change these for paper cups. We truly apologize for these shortcomings. Your opinion is very important to us and it is through detailed unbiased feedback such as yours that we are able to target the areas that need improvement. Once again, we would like to thank you for choosing us as your vacation destination. We are thrilled to know that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back. It was truly a pleasure to serve you. Sincerely, Luz Salcé Guest Service Manager

    Round Indicators
    francinelavoie Orleans, Kanada. 02/21/2018 Aile

    “Worst resort i have been too”

    When we got to the resort it took 5 hrs to get a clean room. the first 5 rooms where so dirty, it seemed that they havent clean the toilet in weeks. dresser was broken and shower had no hot water and handle kept falling off. Food was really gross. Buffet restaurant always had dirty table cloth to the point where I took it off one day and they where not happy so they put another dirty one on the table. Service was the pits. I have always got excellent service in DR so imagine my surprise when all the workers couldn't even smile. I felt like I was in Cuba. We asked them to transfer us to another hotel and they said that there policy was to keep the money for the week and we pay again for another hotel. I do not recommend this resort to my worst enemy and will never go back there.

    Guest Relations Manager gpcsm - Occidental Punta Cana, bu yorumu yanıtladı
     Dear francinelavoie, First and foremost, we would like to thank you for taking a moment of your time to share your comment with us. We are sad to learn you were dissapointed with our holiday offering and service provided, but know we have reviewed all of your comments and suggestions and have taken the liberty of sharing them with the management of our resort, who are well known for striving to make our guests' stay memorable and will follow up to apply the corresponding solutions. I can assure you that our team members are well service oriented, which is why it is very concerning for us to read about your experience. Once again, thank you for your sincere feedback. It is through unbiased opinions and customer reviews that we are able to target the specific areas where we need to improve. Please accept our sincere apology for any difficulties you might experienced. We guarantee that we will look further into your claims and take any steps necessary to improve in these areas. It was truly our pleasure to serve you. Very cordially, Luz Salcé Guest Service Manager

    DEĞERLENDIRME

    Round Indicators

    • şubat 22 2018
    • Arkadaş kaçamakları

    “will not return”


    I have been to Punta Cana 9 times one of which was in 2009 at this resort. At the time it was good, then the majority of the reviews were negative until year.I decided to give it another try. Glad I did but I will be returning to the Iberostars where I spent my last 5 visits. Better quality and variety of food and friendlier staff


    DEĞERLENDIRME

    Round Indicators

    • şubat 22 2018
    • Buckinghamshire, İngiltere
    • Aile

    sjtye

    “Royal club Feb 18”


    We visited at half term and stayed in the royal club with our two teenage daughter , the room was lovely and Gloria our cleaner was amazing all week, she looked after our teenage daughters and was a delight ! The rooms are spotlessly clean and plenty of hot water. The royal restaurant staff are excellent so friendly, very hard working thank you Samuel and your team for making our holiday special and the food is way better than the other restaurants the menu changes daily for lunch and dinner , we stayed at the Mexico royal club and that was the same menu everyday so punta in that respect was better, we tried the Italian it was good, but the oriental was bad, the guy at the desk was so rude to everyone and the food was shocking ! The sea food restaurant was ok, the menu descriptions sounded better than what was served. The resort had a lots of Canadian and Americans who came year on year for up too a month , and the guests at the royal club went out of their way to include us Brits , especially Theo ! Who welcomes everyone when they arrived and introduced us to lots of the other guests ,the only frustration was the bed reserving but when the wind died down on the beach it wasn’t an issue. The grounds are spotless and the gardener at the royal club worked constantly tidying the area. It was a Shame there was not a pool drinks service like Mexico but the beach bar was nice. The cocktails where not as good a Mexico but the wine and champagne where fine so I drank that, however the main resort wine was undrinkable.The star of the whole resort was the beach it is stunning , the sand is so soft and you can walk for miles. I could have sat on that beach forever. Overall we had a lovely relaxing holiday and will come back to the Caribbean.


    DEĞERLENDIRME

    Round Indicators

    • şubat 22 2018
    • Aile

    Chuck M

    “Great Experience - Negative Reviews Debunked”


    Date of Visit: Feb 13-20, 2018 First time at this resort. 7th time in Punta Cana. Stayed in Building 13 (rooms 214 and 220) no First Club or any other upgrade. Our group: 4 Adults, 2 teens. From Canada. Well-traveled throughout the world. We would go back. Age bracket varied but leaned towards older adults. Demographic make-up was Russian, French Canadian, English Canadian and American – in that order. We spent many months before our vacation stressing over the negative reviews we read on this resort. My significant other would raise the alarm almost daily when she read another review. Please take negative reviews with a grain of salt and try to understand the context of the review, the reviewer and realize that complaints about the plastic on the roadside down the road from the resort or that the weather wasn’t perfect don’t really count. While there are some very high end resorts in Punta Cana, your mileage will vary between resorts and different years at the same resort. Try to average out the feedback you are reading and focus on the things that are really important deal-breakers for your personal situation. Rule #1 - You are in an impoverished foreign country so set your expectations accordingly. The average wage in Dominican Republic is $150-$200 USD per month. You are not going to a 5 star hotel located in New York or Toronto or London. Haiti was nearly wiped off the map by a hurricane and many workers we talked to were essentially refugees from Haiti with nothing but the clothes on their back. Context matters. Pro-tip before you leave #1 - Sunscreen at the resort is sold for between $20 USD and $30 USD per bottle. Do yourself a favor and bring a few extra bottles. We brought 8 for the week and had just enough. Pro-tip before you leave #2 – Exchange money in your home country. Everything will cost you more after you land. Fees, commissions, exchange rates, etc. We brought some pesos but if you are staying on-resort you will only need $1 USD bills for tips. We brought $100 in $1 USD bills and had probably half left. Pro-tip before you leave #3 – Wear your bathing suit or shorts on the plane under your winter clothing or change at the airport into something you will wear for the afternoon and you'll be good to go. We packed our “First Day” clothing in our carry-ons along with small sunscreens, expecting that we may have a long wait for check-in. You will have LOTS of time at the airport to change out of a pair of pants while the rest of your fellow passengers are running around scrambling trying to find their bags. Go the bathroom and change and give the baggage line a few minutes to calm down. (There’s no rush – your bus won’t leave without you) Pro-tip at airport: Don’t get suckered into paying $5 or more in USD for a no-name can of beer from a black shopping bag on your tour bus to the hotel. You literally walk by a bar on your way to the bus. It’s outside on the left hand side. Stop there, buy a beer (or 2 or 3) and get on the bus. Your welcome. Tipping: We left $2/day in our room and tipped our dinner server $1-$2 if we had exceptional service. Ditto for the bartender, a couple bucks at the end of multiple rounds of drinks, if we had exceptional service. No need to go wild on the tipping. We didn't get towel animals in our rooms. The teenagers cried every. single. day. They were inconsolable. Really people?!? I’ll try to address some negative reviews we read before and after we came back: - They don’t speak {insert my own language here} Read Rule #1. If you can’t learn the 10 or so Spanish words necessary to get by and expect that someone earning $1.00 an hour was able to go to school to learn to be completely fluent in your particular mother tongue… really? The concierges doing the restaurant reservations, First Club or timeshare sales will be minimally capable in English, French and Russian - you are equally capable in 3 languages, right? The check-in counter or the assistance desk will be similar. Everyone else will know as much of your language as you do Spanish. Hi, Bye, Yes, No, Beer. Any interaction with staff will simply require you to have patience. Speak slower than usual, choose simple words and realize that you are not speaking to a native speaker. You may need to repeat yourself using different words. It's called travelling to a different country. - Wifi and Internet is not widely available. It’s true. See Rule #1. - Resort is dirty, rooms are dirty. Not true. Resort was very clean. Lots of maintenance staff everywhere working constantly. Those people posting those reviews may have been staying somewhere else. Not sure. Our rooms in Building 13 were immaculate and renovated. Everything worked. Ask at check-in if your room has been renovated or ask for one that has been. Easy enough. Speak slower and enunciate your words, be patient. They will accommodate you if you are nice. - Slow check-in / rooms took a long time Depends. Check-in is slow depending on when you arrive. They have typically 2 staff working the counter and some buses from the airport drop 30-40 people in one shot. It takes time. They need to go through everyone’s passports and reservation paperwork. It’s not hard math. Pro-tip: Have your vacation booking / reservation paperwork handy with your passport when you hit the check-in counter. They seem to turn-over rooms mid-afternoon so if you arrive early (we arrived at noon), you'll leave your bags with the bellboy and come back to check-in after 3-4pm. (see Pro-tip #3 re: wear your shorts on the plane or change at airport) - Food sucks Not true, but if you are picky, ignoring Rule #1 and/or if this is your first trip abroad, you may be disappointed. Food is 3.5-4-star first-world comparable quality. Comparable to other Punta Cana resorts. Always found something enjoyable. Picky kids did too. Crepe stations at all buffets at all meals. Yep - shocked me too. Egg & omelette stations at breakfast and pasta and grill stations at supper. More dessert than anyone realistically needs to choose from. Diabetics or sugar addicts beware. Lots of local flair available so you may not know what some stuff is, even after reading the description. Try small portions of it to test and you may be surprised. Snack bar had hot dogs, burgers, chicken nuggets, chicken thighs, fries, etc. throughout the day so kids typically hit that up instead of the lunch buffet at main hall. There’s an “ice cream” machine in the snack bar that gets quite a workout. Watch your kids as ours decided ice cream was an appropriate meal replacement. Its machine made ice cream, so it won’t be the same as grocery store ice cream. See Rule #1. Kids ate like 15 cones of the stuff and didn’t complain once. Beach buffet for breakfast will be much quieter than the main hall. We alternated between the two throughout the week. Was able to go at 6:30am and have a quiet coffee nearly by ourselves for an hour before anyone else showed up. Always lots of fresh fruit, cheeses, breads, pancakes, bacon, etc. I'm sure someone would find something to complain about, but we didn't. We didn’t try any a la carte restaurants. Didn’t feel like dressing up and found more than enough to eat at buffets. You do know where the a la cart food eventually goes, right? We are wine drinkers and found the house wines difficult to drink a ton of. We chose not to buy any wine off the list available (e.g. $25-30 USD for Wolff Blass Yellow Label Shiraz) at dinner and made do with 1-2 glasses of house wine each meal. It's not awesome but it's o-k. Wouldn't recommend wine (specifically the red) as your primary drink of choice while you are here. Though, if you normally drink red wine poolside in 35 degree heat, you may be fine with it. We brought 2 bottles of Clamato in our checked bags and made ourselves ceasars or micheladas most of the week. Highly recommend. We didn't have access to the First Club "premium" alcohol (only available at the First Club bar). Got just as drunk as those folks and didn't have to leave the pool. #Winning - Towel exchanges / towels in general Not sure why people were complaining about towels. They give you towels in your room (no towel tickets at this resort) and you can exchange them in 2 places on the resort if they are dirty. They will gladly give you more so I think this complaint can be safely ignored. We had towels stolen off our chairs, no biggie – go to the towel shack and ask for more. Crisis averted. - Beach & Shade Beach is very well maintained. This and the resorts on either side have maintenance staff raking up seaweed, etc. Never a problem but if there’s a few pieces of seaweed on the beach that is ruining your day like we saw in some reviews – See Rule #1. There’s zero shade on the beach aside from what little the palms provide. No palapas. There are 4-5 pergolas around the pools but you gotta be up early to get a chair as they are hot commodities. 6-6:30am or earlier. So yes, the reviews are accurate that shade is tough to come by. It wasn’t an issue for us as we reserved chairs at the pergolas but if you are planning on sleeping in most days, you're going to need to pack more sunscreen. - Timeshare / Vacation Club pestering True story. Each building is assigned a concierge whose mission in life is to get people to the timeshare presentation. Just say “no gracias”. End of story. They may ask you a few times because they won’t remember your face out of the hundreds of people coming and going. Imagine that. - Entertainment We’ve stayed at places that had a very active entertainment team. Not so here. Much quieter resort. There were some activities at the pool closest to the beach in the mornings and on the weekend there was some action at the main pool but overall this is a quiet resort. Kids were a little bored as kids are. We had to push them to entertain themselves or go make friends. Again, crisis averted. Shows at night were really good. Lobby entertainment was pretty decent also. Note: Lobby bar seating fills up late afternoon. If you want a drink before dinner, you'll need to be up there by 4-4:30pm or you won't get a seat. Dinner opens at 6:30pm so plan on a few drinks at least. - Sketchy beach vendors True story. Punta Cana is a public beach. You’ll find all manner of people trying to sell stuff to tourists who are silly enough to bring money to the beach. Fake sunglasses, fake cigars, fake jewelry, pictures with some lizard or a bird that a random dude is carrying on the beach. You’ll see it all. Just say “no gracias” and move along. Or not. It’s your money. There’s also a set of tourist trap shacks located a 25-30 minute walk down the beach past the Grand Palladium resort. If that’s your thing, go for it - go buy souvenirs made in China for 100X their value. If you’re walking by, simply no thanks or no gracias will keep the shop-keepers from bugging. There's also a few shops on-resort out of the front of the main lobby. Dicker hard. Everything is seemingly negotiable. The shop inside the resort lobby has posted prices, we didn't try to negotiate in there so not sure how much luck you'd have. - First club / Royal club We didn’t upgrade and after we left we didn’t see any reason why someone would. Again, if you’ve got money to burn go for it I guess. The "perks" advertised for it didn't appeal to us and didn't seem worth the expense after we saw them for ourselves. - Fancy rooms with hot tubs We noticed that some of the buildings had hot tubs outside their balconies (ground floor). Keep in mind there’s no fence or any privacy between the patio doors and the public walkways of the resort so if that’s cool with you, give it a go for whatever those rooms cost I guess. I’d pass. - Rooms near the the entertainment areas Check the map of the resort. Not sure that you'll have much control over where your room is but be aware of where the buildings are in relation to the main entertainment area. The nighttime shows can be loud. We’d go back to this resort based on our experience but if you are looking for a high-activity, fist-pumping, foam party experience for twenty-somethings, probably not going to be the atmosphere you’d want. If you want a lower-key, relaxing vacation, this is a real solid, safe contender.


    DEĞERLENDIRME

    Round Indicators

    • şubat 21 2018
    • Arkadaş kaçamakları

    Ruth M

    “Plastic in paradise ”


    My recent trip to the Occidental Punta Cana resort in the Dominican Republic was a long awaited trip to what I expected to be complete paradise. What I found when I arrived, was true paradise ruined by humans and their disgusting plastic pollution! The resort itself is well-planned, beautifully set out and benefiting from a stunning beach front. Yes it was windy and we had scattered showers throughout the week we stayed. But I can except temperamental weather, particularly in such a stunning place. The big blight for me however was the resort’s slack and complacent attitude to the rubbish it produced. The immense plastic waste and sheer volume of plastic rubbish on the beach was absolutely disgusting. Guests staying at the resort are indeed partly to blame for the immense plastic waste, but surely the resort is to blame more. Giving residents of the hotel plastic cups and straws in the first place, creates a big waste problem. I asked customer services and staff in general, ‘why not use paper straws and cups rather than plastic ones?’ - I was met with blank and bemused responses followed by the explanation that plastic items were cheaper. Let’s see how long that complacency lasts when they succeed in poisoning their paradise, swamping the ocean with rubbish and choking precious marine life on discarded plastic! I spent many hours of my stay picking up other peoples rubbish from the beach, concerned that the plastic waste would be washed into the ocean to damage and kill marine life. The resort’s short term view is disappointing and will end up costing hem dearly. After all, the beauty of nature, not disgusting plastic rubbish, is the essence of what makes this place so very special. If you are interested in visiting a responsible and eco-aware resort, this is not the place for you. The only thing I would say is that the occidental Punta Cana is better than some of the other resorts that I saw in the Dominican Republic. Whilst their beach was littered with plastic, others were far worse. Sadly I do not hold out hope for this stunning natural paradise - with human greed and complacency at the forefront, this wonderful place will be another paradise lost.


    Manager gpcsm - Occidental Punta Cana, bu yorumu yanıtladı
    Dear Ruth M, We truly appreciate the time taken to share your recent experience at the Occidental Punta Cana with the TripAdvisor Community. In general, we are pleased to hear that we managed to meet your expectations. Your comments regarding the volume of plastic litter have been forwarded to our managing department and we have also taken note of your recomendations and the possibility to change these for paper cups. We truly apologize for these shortcomings. Your opinion is very important to us and it is through detailed unbiased feedback such as yours that we are able to target the areas that need improvement. Once again, we would like to thank you for choosing us as your vacation destination. We are thrilled to know that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back. It was truly a pleasure to serve you. Sincerely, Luz Salcé Guest Service Manager

    DEĞERLENDIRME

    Round Indicators

    • şubat 21 2018
    • Orleans, Kanada
    • Aile

    francinelavoie

    “Worst resort i have been too”


    When we got to the resort it took 5 hrs to get a clean room. the first 5 rooms where so dirty, it seemed that they havent clean the toilet in weeks. dresser was broken and shower had no hot water and handle kept falling off. Food was really gross. Buffet restaurant always had dirty table cloth to the point where I took it off one day and they where not happy so they put another dirty one on the table. Service was the pits. I have always got excellent service in DR so imagine my surprise when all the workers couldn't even smile. I felt like I was in Cuba. We asked them to transfer us to another hotel and they said that there policy was to keep the money for the week and we pay again for another hotel. I do not recommend this resort to my worst enemy and will never go back there.


    Guest Relations Manager gpcsm - Occidental Punta Cana, bu yorumu yanıtladı
    Dear francinelavoie, First and foremost, we would like to thank you for taking a moment of your time to share your comment with us. We are sad to learn you were dissapointed with our holiday offering and service provided, but know we have reviewed all of your comments and suggestions and have taken the liberty of sharing them with the management of our resort, who are well known for striving to make our guests' stay memorable and will follow up to apply the corresponding solutions. I can assure you that our team members are well service oriented, which is why it is very concerning for us to read about your experience. Once again, thank you for your sincere feedback. It is through unbiased opinions and customer reviews that we are able to target the specific areas where we need to improve. Please accept our sincere apology for any difficulties you might experienced. We guarantee that we will look further into your claims and take any steps necessary to improve in these areas. It was truly our pleasure to serve you. Very cordially, Luz Salcé Guest Service Manager

    Kapat 

    Geri Bir otel bulun

    Otelin yeri Mexico

    Seç Mexico

    Otelin yeri Spain

    Seç Spain

    Yolculuğa başlayacağım yer

    TÜMÜ A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

    Gideceğim yer

      Tarihler yanlış
      Lütfen geçerli tarihleri girin

    GECELER

    (İsteğe bağlı tarihler)

    0 geceler Seçilen