Panoramic Suite at the El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel

El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel

Texto: 37846 Urban hotel strategically located in Santo Domingo for business and leisure travel. Avda. Sarasota, 65. Ensanche Bella Vista 10110 Santo Domingo República Dominicana
809 221 2131 809 221 3251
El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel Texto: 37846 4.5 out of 5 based on 1066 ratings. 1066 user reviews.
El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel reviewed by Vlad H on . get ready for a really, really BAD experience. Better STAY AWAY from this hotel! ...and don't leave your credit card details with them!!! They block a ridiculous amount on the card and you might don't get it back. That's what happened to me. I was there for a 5 nights business... Rating: 1
map

El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel

Avda. Sarasota, 65. Ensanche Bella Vista 10110 Santo Domingo República Dominicana  


Points of Interest

20.1 mi Las Américas International Airport

11 miles El Higuero International Airport

2.4 miles Downtown Center

4 mi Zona Colonial in Santo Domingo

Premios y Reconocimientos Prizes and Awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel

4.5/5 Round Indicators
| 1067 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


GUESTS’ SCORE

Excellent

60% Complete

641

Very good

26% Complete

281

Average

5% Complete

64

Poor

4% Complete

48

Very poor

3% Complete

33

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    Vlad H 08/31/2017 Business

    “get ready for a really, really BAD experience. Better STAY AWAY from this hotel!”

    ...and don't leave your credit card details with them!!! They block a ridiculous amount on the card and you might don't get it back. That's what happened to me. I was there for a 5 nights business trip. The travelling agency (from Dominican Republic) that took care of my travel details booked only the first 3 nights (due to some error on their side). When I checked in I asked the front desk of the hotel to contact the traveling agency to extend my stay. They assured me they will do that. Two days later I went back to make sure they contacted the agency. And they DIDN'T! I asked them to do it again. When I had to check out (it was a Sunday) I have found out that in 5 days of my stay they failed to contact the traveling agency because...they forgot!!! So what happened was that they blocked my personal credit card (which I left for mini-bar expenses) for two nights stay. Since I was on a business trip this was a mess. Anyhow, they (a front desk guy called Amado, he shouldn't work in the hospitality business) assured me that the next day will contact the traveling agency and everything will be taken care of. Guess what? I land back home after a 20 hours trip and I get a message that my personal credit card got charged for the 2 nights! No explanation! I have filled 3 complaints with them. None got answered!!! It is some of the worst client service experiences I have lived and I am a frequent business traveller. So, my advice is in the title: STAY AWAY from El Embajador.

    Jhomercy G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel, responded to this review
     Dear Mr. Hatieganu, Thank you for your review and bringing to our attention your concern. I am sorry for the inconvenience that you experienced and I can assure this is not to our usual standard. During the check-in We use to inform guests that as a guarantee for the stay of all our guests we charge a hold, from where we deduct the amount to be paid for the nights hosted and consumptions made and the rest is returned to the credit card that was charged in the course of 4 or 5 days depending of the bank. We are truly sorry for the inconveniences you had during your stay in our property, because our main interest is the well-being of all our guests. For this reason, we have investigated your case with the responsible department and front desk. When you requested contact with the travel agency with which you were dealing, it was reported to the reservations department immediately, so there was a communication error from our team and you were not informed that we tried tirelessly to contact the agency and in the end the agency never responded. We regret that you were not properly informed of the process with your agency, as well they told us would contact you. Finally, as a hotel, we had to charge the stay after the 3 days that were already paid by your company, it was our duty, and we sincerely apologize, because you deserved an explanation from the front desk, where you came. Is very important for us the perception that our guests obtain from the team that strives to provide a quality service. It has certainly been an atypical case and we offer you the most sincere apologies for not having fulfilled your expectations. We lament hearing that the service provided at reception fell short of your expectations as the entire team put a lot of effort to maintain the highest standards of service for our guests to fully enjoy their experience among us. Nevertheless please rest assured that your comments have been shared with the entire team for information and revision. We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future. Sincerely, Jhomercy García Báez - Guest Experience Manager "Estamos construyendo un sueño" Un nuevo embajador. Una misma leyenda Gracias por su comprensión

    Round Indicators
    Jose Antonio G Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. 08/31/2017 Couples

    “Lux Hotel in the city”

    We have been almost 2 months living in that hotel. Common green areas very well preserved and nice views. Service very kind and restaurants with excellent options. Hotel includes small casino, piano bar zone and it represents the old times lux events in Santo Domingo. In weekends normally weddings and live events.

    Jhomercy G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel, responded to this review
     Dear Jose Antonio G, Thank you for the great feedback of your experience at El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel; guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that, we are happy our hotel and staff were able to meet all your needs during 2 months. Our legendary property has become a place that offers rooms with a contemporary design, modern and minimalist designed to ensure the comfort and well-being of guests. It's very gratifying to read about our personalized service and that your expectations were achieved. Our team works hard to provide the best service to all our valued guests and anticipate all your needs. Jose Antonio G, there is no greater reward than knowing that you found our hotel spot on and perfect. We are always striving for perfection and making sure all of our guests have an unforgettable experience while visiting the beautiful city of Santo Domingo, may it be for business or pleasure. Thank you again for this heartwarming review of your stay with us, we look forward to your next visit. Kind Regards, Jhomercy García Báez - Guest Experience Manager "Estamos construyendo un sueño" Un nuevo embajador. Una misma leyenda Gracias por su comprensión

    Round Indicators
    lolamoon New York City, New York. 08/25/2017 Couples

    “Gorgeous City Hotel with a true Getaway!”

    This hotel is gorgeous, the lobby is going renovation, so the entrance isn't what you have in the rooms. The rooms are renovated really nicely, definitely a huge plus. The Club lounge was great, ate there for breakfast and had a beautiful view. The back of the hotel was the real selling point, didn't realize it truly is a Hideaway. The gardens in the back are lovely escape from the city.

    Jhomercy G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel, responded to this review
     Dear lolamoon, It is a great pleasure to read and receive your comments and an even greater one to know that we have provided an amazing experience. There is nothing more gratifying that knowing we have done our job surpassing your expectations and creating unforgettable memories for you during your visit to Santo Domingo. I am glad to read you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms, which are without a doubt, a dream come true. I agree with you, they are nothing but delightful. The amenities in the rooms such as free WIFI, bath tub and shower, fully stocked mini bar are definitely plentiful. We are delighted to see that you really enjoyed the beauty of our installations, specially our beautiful gardens. It is our intention to offer pleasing and clean accommodations so that our guests can still enjoy their vacation memories once they are back home. lolamoon, there is no greater reward than knowing that you found our hotel gorgeous. We are always striving for perfection and making sure all of our guests have an unforgettable experience while visiting the beautiful city of Santo Domingo, may it be for business or pleasure. Jhomercy García Báez - Guest Experience Manager "Estamos construyendo un sueño" Un nuevo embajador. Una misma leyenda. Gracias por su comprensión

    Round Indicators
    Randy P Maiden, North Carolina. 08/24/2017 Business

    “Great business hotel”

    I have stay in many hotels in the Santo Domingo area, by far this is the best one. The rooms are very nice, quiet, the food is good. There are other restaurants close by with in walking distance. The staff was friendly. And the air conditioner and Wi-Fi worked great. I would recommend this hotel to anyone on business in the area. Nice and quite.

    Jhomercy G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel, responded to this review
     Dear Randy P, What a pleasure to receive and read your lovely comments about your most recent stay at El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel, it truly means very much to us especially coming from an incredibly loyal guest, such as yourself. From each and every one of us here, thank you. It is an honor to read how you have enjoyed our newly renovated rooms and all the amazing amenities they have to offer. Such as the contemporary decoration and incredible technology. Our rooms certainly have everything to make sure our guest's will receive the best night's sleep. Providing comfort is our priority. I appreciate greatly your comments about our service. Our team works heard everyday to anticipate to all of our guest's needs and I am glad that, according to your scores, we exceeded your expectations. It is very gratifying to know that we will be welcoming you back very soon, Mr. Sosa. We can't wait! Kind regards, Jhomercy García Báez - Guest Experience Manager "Estamos construyendo un sueño" Un nuevo embajador. Una misma leyenda Gracias por su comprensión

    Round Indicators
    mnhicks55 Greensboro, North Carolina. 08/16/2017 Family

    “A Fabulous Hotel”

    El Embajador is located in the Bella Vista district of this capitol city. It is on the southern coast of the island close to musums, shopping and nightlife. BUT, a visitor is hard pressed to even consider leaving the beautiful, manicured grounds and gardens. We were here for several days to attend a wedding. It was a wonderful setting for a lovely outdoor (but elegant) ceremony, followed by a reception to die for! The food is excellent; the recent renovation brought new meaning to elegance in the lovely. well appointed rooms. The various food venues are all outstanding. This fine hotel is steeped in history, yet offers a wine cellar, freshwater pool, new gym and spa. It is a member of the Royal Hideaway Hotel Group that offers pure luxury. This beautiful establishment is truly delightful. I can't imagine a more restful, beautiful spot to spend time.

    Jhomercy G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel, responded to this review
     Dear mnhicks55, What an incredible review! Thank you! It is a great pleasure to read and receive your comments and an even greater one to know that we have provided an amazing experience. There is nothing more gratifying that knowing we have done our job surpassing your expectations and creating unforgettable memories for you during your visit to Santo Domingo. We are delighted to see that you really enjoyed the beauty of our installations and pool, specially our beautiful gardens. It is our intention to offer pleasing and clean accommodations so that our guests can still enjoy their vacation memories once they are back home. At El Embajador, we know that meals are an important aspect of our guests' overall holiday experience in our hotels, this is why our Chef prepare for each service a wide variety of delicacies to cater for all diet requirements and please the most demanding palates, we are therefore very pleased that we could satisfy yours. In other hand, we are also very pleased to read your satisfaction with the comfort of the room we accommodated you in and are grateful for your highlight on the beauty of our accommodations aimed at guaranteeing a memorable stay in our hotel. Again we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and we look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Kind Regards, Jhomercy García Báez - Guest Experience Manager "Estamos construyendo un sueño" Un nuevo embajador. Una misma leyenda. Gracias por su comprensión

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • august 31 2017
    • Business

    Vlad H

    “get ready for a really, really BAD experience. Better STAY AWAY from this hotel!”


    ...and don't leave your credit card details with them!!! They block a ridiculous amount on the card and you might don't get it back. That's what happened to me. I was there for a 5 nights business trip. The travelling agency (from Dominican Republic) that took care of my travel details booked only the first 3 nights (due to some error on their side). When I checked in I asked the front desk of the hotel to contact the traveling agency to extend my stay. They assured me they will do that. Two days later I went back to make sure they contacted the agency. And they DIDN'T! I asked them to do it again. When I had to check out (it was a Sunday) I have found out that in 5 days of my stay they failed to contact the traveling agency because...they forgot!!! So what happened was that they blocked my personal credit card (which I left for mini-bar expenses) for two nights stay. Since I was on a business trip this was a mess. Anyhow, they (a front desk guy called Amado, he shouldn't work in the hospitality business) assured me that the next day will contact the traveling agency and everything will be taken care of. Guess what? I land back home after a 20 hours trip and I get a message that my personal credit card got charged for the 2 nights! No explanation! I have filled 3 complaints with them. None got answered!!! It is some of the worst client service experiences I have lived and I am a frequent business traveller. So, my advice is in the title: STAY AWAY from El Embajador.


    Jhomercy G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel, responded to this review
    Dear Mr. Hatieganu, Thank you for your review and bringing to our attention your concern. I am sorry for the inconvenience that you experienced and I can assure this is not to our usual standard. During the check-in We use to inform guests that as a guarantee for the stay of all our guests we charge a hold, from where we deduct the amount to be paid for the nights hosted and consumptions made and the rest is returned to the credit card that was charged in the course of 4 or 5 days depending of the bank. We are truly sorry for the inconveniences you had during your stay in our property, because our main interest is the well-being of all our guests. For this reason, we have investigated your case with the responsible department and front desk. When you requested contact with the travel agency with which you were dealing, it was reported to the reservations department immediately, so there was a communication error from our team and you were not informed that we tried tirelessly to contact the agency and in the end the agency never responded. We regret that you were not properly informed of the process with your agency, as well they told us would contact you. Finally, as a hotel, we had to charge the stay after the 3 days that were already paid by your company, it was our duty, and we sincerely apologize, because you deserved an explanation from the front desk, where you came. Is very important for us the perception that our guests obtain from the team that strives to provide a quality service. It has certainly been an atypical case and we offer you the most sincere apologies for not having fulfilled your expectations. We lament hearing that the service provided at reception fell short of your expectations as the entire team put a lot of effort to maintain the highest standards of service for our guests to fully enjoy their experience among us. Nevertheless please rest assured that your comments have been shared with the entire team for information and revision. We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future. Sincerely, Jhomercy García Báez - Guest Experience Manager "Estamos construyendo un sueño" Un nuevo embajador. Una misma leyenda Gracias por su comprensión

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • august 31 2017
    • Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
    • Couples

    Jose Antonio G

    “Lux Hotel in the city”


    We have been almost 2 months living in that hotel. Common green areas very well preserved and nice views. Service very kind and restaurants with excellent options. Hotel includes small casino, piano bar zone and it represents the old times lux events in Santo Domingo. In weekends normally weddings and live events.


    Jhomercy G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel, responded to this review
    Dear Jose Antonio G, Thank you for the great feedback of your experience at El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel; guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that, we are happy our hotel and staff were able to meet all your needs during 2 months. Our legendary property has become a place that offers rooms with a contemporary design, modern and minimalist designed to ensure the comfort and well-being of guests. It's very gratifying to read about our personalized service and that your expectations were achieved. Our team works hard to provide the best service to all our valued guests and anticipate all your needs. Jose Antonio G, there is no greater reward than knowing that you found our hotel spot on and perfect. We are always striving for perfection and making sure all of our guests have an unforgettable experience while visiting the beautiful city of Santo Domingo, may it be for business or pleasure. Thank you again for this heartwarming review of your stay with us, we look forward to your next visit. Kind Regards, Jhomercy García Báez - Guest Experience Manager "Estamos construyendo un sueño" Un nuevo embajador. Una misma leyenda Gracias por su comprensión

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • august 25 2017
    • New York City, New York
    • Couples

    lolamoon

    “Gorgeous City Hotel with a true Getaway!”


    This hotel is gorgeous, the lobby is going renovation, so the entrance isn't what you have in the rooms. The rooms are renovated really nicely, definitely a huge plus. The Club lounge was great, ate there for breakfast and had a beautiful view. The back of the hotel was the real selling point, didn't realize it truly is a Hideaway. The gardens in the back are lovely escape from the city.


    Jhomercy G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel, responded to this review
    Dear lolamoon, It is a great pleasure to read and receive your comments and an even greater one to know that we have provided an amazing experience. There is nothing more gratifying that knowing we have done our job surpassing your expectations and creating unforgettable memories for you during your visit to Santo Domingo. I am glad to read you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms, which are without a doubt, a dream come true. I agree with you, they are nothing but delightful. The amenities in the rooms such as free WIFI, bath tub and shower, fully stocked mini bar are definitely plentiful. We are delighted to see that you really enjoyed the beauty of our installations, specially our beautiful gardens. It is our intention to offer pleasing and clean accommodations so that our guests can still enjoy their vacation memories once they are back home. lolamoon, there is no greater reward than knowing that you found our hotel gorgeous. We are always striving for perfection and making sure all of our guests have an unforgettable experience while visiting the beautiful city of Santo Domingo, may it be for business or pleasure. Jhomercy García Báez - Guest Experience Manager "Estamos construyendo un sueño" Un nuevo embajador. Una misma leyenda. Gracias por su comprensión

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • august 24 2017
    • Maiden, North Carolina
    • Business

    Randy P

    “Great business hotel”


    I have stay in many hotels in the Santo Domingo area, by far this is the best one. The rooms are very nice, quiet, the food is good. There are other restaurants close by with in walking distance. The staff was friendly. And the air conditioner and Wi-Fi worked great. I would recommend this hotel to anyone on business in the area. Nice and quite.


    Jhomercy G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel, responded to this review
    Dear Randy P, What a pleasure to receive and read your lovely comments about your most recent stay at El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel, it truly means very much to us especially coming from an incredibly loyal guest, such as yourself. From each and every one of us here, thank you. It is an honor to read how you have enjoyed our newly renovated rooms and all the amazing amenities they have to offer. Such as the contemporary decoration and incredible technology. Our rooms certainly have everything to make sure our guest's will receive the best night's sleep. Providing comfort is our priority. I appreciate greatly your comments about our service. Our team works heard everyday to anticipate to all of our guest's needs and I am glad that, according to your scores, we exceeded your expectations. It is very gratifying to know that we will be welcoming you back very soon, Mr. Sosa. We can't wait! Kind regards, Jhomercy García Báez - Guest Experience Manager "Estamos construyendo un sueño" Un nuevo embajador. Una misma leyenda Gracias por su comprensión

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • august 16 2017
    • Greensboro, North Carolina
    • Family

    mnhicks55

    “A Fabulous Hotel”


    El Embajador is located in the Bella Vista district of this capitol city. It is on the southern coast of the island close to musums, shopping and nightlife. BUT, a visitor is hard pressed to even consider leaving the beautiful, manicured grounds and gardens. We were here for several days to attend a wedding. It was a wonderful setting for a lovely outdoor (but elegant) ceremony, followed by a reception to die for! The food is excellent; the recent renovation brought new meaning to elegance in the lovely. well appointed rooms. The various food venues are all outstanding. This fine hotel is steeped in history, yet offers a wine cellar, freshwater pool, new gym and spa. It is a member of the Royal Hideaway Hotel Group that offers pure luxury. This beautiful establishment is truly delightful. I can't imagine a more restful, beautiful spot to spend time.


    Jhomercy G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at El Embajador, a Royal Hideaway Hotel, responded to this review
    Dear mnhicks55, What an incredible review! Thank you! It is a great pleasure to read and receive your comments and an even greater one to know that we have provided an amazing experience. There is nothing more gratifying that knowing we have done our job surpassing your expectations and creating unforgettable memories for you during your visit to Santo Domingo. We are delighted to see that you really enjoyed the beauty of our installations and pool, specially our beautiful gardens. It is our intention to offer pleasing and clean accommodations so that our guests can still enjoy their vacation memories once they are back home. At El Embajador, we know that meals are an important aspect of our guests' overall holiday experience in our hotels, this is why our Chef prepare for each service a wide variety of delicacies to cater for all diet requirements and please the most demanding palates, we are therefore very pleased that we could satisfy yours. In other hand, we are also very pleased to read your satisfaction with the comfort of the room we accommodated you in and are grateful for your highlight on the beauty of our accommodations aimed at guaranteeing a memorable stay in our hotel. Again we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and we look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Kind Regards, Jhomercy García Báez - Guest Experience Manager "Estamos construyendo un sueño" Un nuevo embajador. Una misma leyenda. Gracias por su comprensión

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

    to

      Incorrect dates
      Please enter valid dates

    NIGHTS

    (Optional dates)

    A discount* or promotional code (also appears as “promo code”) is a combination of letters and/or numbers that gives a discount on the normal rate. If you have a discount code, enter it when booking and you will receive a discount on your booking. Once you have entered this code, the prices shown in step 1 of the booking process will already include the relevant discount. 

    The discount does not apply to prices on extras and/or extra services, neither does it apply to prices on last available rooms. You can only apply one discount code per booking which will only be valid at the time of making your booking.** 

    The maximum amount of accumulated discount will be at most 25% off the rate for hotels in Latin America and at most 20% off the rate for European and Mediterranean hotels. It is possible to combine a discount code with a special discount*** (discounts when you book multiple rooms, senior, resident, millennials, large families, etc.) and the discount for being a my Barceló client. 

    *Barceló reserves the right to accept the application of advertised discounts. 

    **The application of the discount code is not valid upon arrival at the hotel; the discount is only applicable at the time of booking. 

    ***The hotel will request to see valid official documents to verify compliance with the conditions for the discount codes and special discounts. In the event of not providing valid official documents or non-compliance, the hotel reserves the right to charge the amounts that were deducted from the original reservation.

    Loading rates...
    The hotel does not have any rates allocated to it

    Best online price guaranteed

    If you find a better rate, we will top it.

    We will return the difference and we will also apply an additional 10% discount to the cost of the final booking. For more information...