Barceló San José Palacio Hotel Restaurant
map

Barceló San José

Residencial El Robledal, La Uruca, 4581150   10107 San José de Costa Rica ,   Costa Rica  


Points of Interest

9 mi Juan Santamaría International Airport

112 mi Tambor Beach

163 mi Langosta Beach

7 mi Valle del Sol golf course

Premios y Reconocimientos Prizes and Awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Barceló San José

4.0/5 Round Indicators
| 1757 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


GUESTS’ SCORE

Excellent

36% Complete

635

Very good

35% Complete

623

Average

18% Complete

319

Poor

5% Complete

90

Very poor

5% Complete

90

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    BahamaWoodstar Memphis, Tennessee. 07/17/2018 Business

    “Great hotel, great price, best location for business”

    I travel to San Jose 5 times a year for the last ten years. Have stayed at many hotels. This is my new home away from home when I am on business in SJO. Get a room that has access to the executive lounge on the 6th floor. Worth it.

    Channel M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review
     Dear Guest Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our Barceló San José hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations. Thank you for your very nice compliments for our team, they do work very hard every day to make sure our guests feel well attended to at all times and definitely are an asset to our hotel. We will certainly relay your praising comments to all of them and we are sure they will be pleased to know their efforts have been appreciated. We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Best regards, Carlos Ruíz, Director

    Round Indicators
    guest898304 07/16/2018 Couples

    “Below expectation, but comfortable room”

    We came here for one night before leaving Costa Rica, hoping for a nice comfortable evening on our last night. Unfortunately it fell well below expectations, because 1) the pool was too cold to swim in; 2) our room (a premium suite) did not have wifi, and when we moved rooms the second room also didn't have wifi, and we wasted several hours of our one night here with staff trying to fix this (and it didn't get fixed); 3) food at breakfast was undercooked and inedible. The best thing about our stay was the free snacks and drinks that we got as part of booking a suite. The room itself was also very comfortable. However, overall, did not meet expectations.

    Channel M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review
     Dear Guest First of all, we would like to thank you for the positive comments you have shared regarding your recent visit to our Barceló San José hotel, we are delighted to know that we were able to meet your expectations regarding the service. Please accept our sincere apologies for the difficulties you had with our wireless Internet service, we will take the appropriate measures. Thank you once again for choosing us and for your constructive criticism, we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future and to have the opportunity to exceed your expectations. Best regards, Carlos Ruíz Director

    Round Indicators
    Samir N Raleigh, North Carolina. 07/15/2018 Family

    “One of the better hotels I've been in recent memory”

    The location is great bw (what I think is) the City center and the airport. The staff is very well appointed, and the views are fantastic from many rooms and elevator hallways. The WiFi was fair but free, the gym was excellent for a hotel gym. The Japanese restaurant downstairs was very tasty, and there is a cool bar also which offers food but varies mood-wise with the crowd. There's also a courtesy shuttle on the hour to the airport. I suspect our group did not make the most of the facility but did enjoy the pool briefly (water was cold). The rooms were also great - nice, firm beds and clean, modern bathrooms. The battery in the TV was slightly run down, but that's hardly the hotel's fault unless it's brought to their attention. AC worked fine, but there was a decent breeze through the window as well. The traffic noice is modest, but I actually sleep well with ambient street noise (it's not loud) and preferred it. The curtains could block out all light if desired.

    Channel M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review
     Dear Guest In Barceló San José we strongly believe that there is always room for improvement and your comments will assist our team in their continuous efforts aimed at meeting our guests' expectations, therefore we greatly appreciate the time you took out of your day to share your constructive critics Again we thank you for this wonderful review, it has been a pleasure for us to read and we look forward to serving you again soon Best regards, Carlos Ruíz, Director

    Round Indicators
    Francesco P Milano. 07/14/2018 Business

    “Good service”

    I have to say that the first impression that I got was not that good because I prefer modern style and modern hotels but then I have been appreciating it during my stay. Let’s start with the many PROs: amazing pool, nice open areas and very nice park to walk in the vegetation of Costa Rica. The breakfast is included and is really good, with a big variety of products from sweet to salad. Another big pro is the closeness to the airport and to the city center. They have also shuttle to and from the airport. The lowlights are that the room are quite old, it’s a kind of time machine. Overall I enjoyed it!

    Channel M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review
     Dear Guest We would like to express our gratitude for the comments you made about your recent visit. They help us to understand how our guests experience their stay with us. It is always our goal to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and we are delighted to hear that your holiday at Barceló San Jose was an enjoyable one. We continuously strive to deliver high standards and to ensure that all our guests leave with beautiful vacation memories. We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Best regards, Carlos Ruíz, Director

    Round Indicators
    07/10/2018 Family

    “Maiden San Jose vacation”

    your reception area is very beautiful and open. Poolside bar was nice and the bartender was very good and very pleasant. Wish we would have known that construction is ongoing during our stay. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet and your travel department really helped us with our Sansa flight to Tambor.

    Channel M, Director General at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review
     Dear Guest Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at Barceló San José. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience. We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Best regards, Carlos Ruíz, Director

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • july 17 2018
    • Memphis, Tennessee
    • Business

    BahamaWoodstar

    “Great hotel, great price, best location for business”


    I travel to San Jose 5 times a year for the last ten years. Have stayed at many hotels. This is my new home away from home when I am on business in SJO. Get a room that has access to the executive lounge on the 6th floor. Worth it.


    Channel M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review
     Dear Guest Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our Barceló San José hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations. Thank you for your very nice compliments for our team, they do work very hard every day to make sure our guests feel well attended to at all times and definitely are an asset to our hotel. We will certainly relay your praising comments to all of them and we are sure they will be pleased to know their efforts have been appreciated. We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Best regards, Carlos Ruíz, Director

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • july 16 2018
    • Couples

    guest898304

    “Below expectation, but comfortable room”


    We came here for one night before leaving Costa Rica, hoping for a nice comfortable evening on our last night. Unfortunately it fell well below expectations, because 1) the pool was too cold to swim in; 2) our room (a premium suite) did not have wifi, and when we moved rooms the second room also didn't have wifi, and we wasted several hours of our one night here with staff trying to fix this (and it didn't get fixed); 3) food at breakfast was undercooked and inedible. The best thing about our stay was the free snacks and drinks that we got as part of booking a suite. The room itself was also very comfortable. However, overall, did not meet expectations.


    Channel M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review
    Dear Guest First of all, we would like to thank you for the positive comments you have shared regarding your recent visit to our Barceló San José hotel, we are delighted to know that we were able to meet your expectations regarding the service. Please accept our sincere apologies for the difficulties you had with our wireless Internet service, we will take the appropriate measures. Thank you once again for choosing us and for your constructive criticism, we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future and to have the opportunity to exceed your expectations. Best regards, Carlos Ruíz Director

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • july 15 2018
    • Raleigh, North Carolina
    • Family

    Samir N

    “One of the better hotels I've been in recent memory”


    The location is great bw (what I think is) the City center and the airport. The staff is very well appointed, and the views are fantastic from many rooms and elevator hallways. The WiFi was fair but free, the gym was excellent for a hotel gym. The Japanese restaurant downstairs was very tasty, and there is a cool bar also which offers food but varies mood-wise with the crowd. There's also a courtesy shuttle on the hour to the airport. I suspect our group did not make the most of the facility but did enjoy the pool briefly (water was cold). The rooms were also great - nice, firm beds and clean, modern bathrooms. The battery in the TV was slightly run down, but that's hardly the hotel's fault unless it's brought to their attention. AC worked fine, but there was a decent breeze through the window as well. The traffic noice is modest, but I actually sleep well with ambient street noise (it's not loud) and preferred it. The curtains could block out all light if desired.


    Channel M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review
    Dear Guest In Barceló San José we strongly believe that there is always room for improvement and your comments will assist our team in their continuous efforts aimed at meeting our guests' expectations, therefore we greatly appreciate the time you took out of your day to share your constructive critics Again we thank you for this wonderful review, it has been a pleasure for us to read and we look forward to serving you again soon Best regards, Carlos Ruíz, Director

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • july 14 2018
    • Milano
    • Business

    Francesco P

    “Good service”


    I have to say that the first impression that I got was not that good because I prefer modern style and modern hotels but then I have been appreciating it during my stay. Let’s start with the many PROs: amazing pool, nice open areas and very nice park to walk in the vegetation of Costa Rica. The breakfast is included and is really good, with a big variety of products from sweet to salad. Another big pro is the closeness to the airport and to the city center. They have also shuttle to and from the airport. The lowlights are that the room are quite old, it’s a kind of time machine. Overall I enjoyed it!


    Channel M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review
    Dear Guest We would like to express our gratitude for the comments you made about your recent visit. They help us to understand how our guests experience their stay with us. It is always our goal to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and we are delighted to hear that your holiday at Barceló San Jose was an enjoyable one. We continuously strive to deliver high standards and to ensure that all our guests leave with beautiful vacation memories. We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Best regards, Carlos Ruíz, Director

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • july 10 2018
    • Family

    “Maiden San Jose vacation”


    your reception area is very beautiful and open. Poolside bar was nice and the bartender was very good and very pleasant. Wish we would have known that construction is ongoing during our stay. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet and your travel department really helped us with our Sansa flight to Tambor.


    Channel M, Director General at Barcelo San Jose, responded to this review
    Dear Guest Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at Barceló San José. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience. We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Best regards, Carlos Ruíz, Director

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in Costa Rica

    Select Costa Rica

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Panamá

    Select Panamá

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Hotels in Germany

    Select Germany

    Hotels in Turkey

    Select Turkey

    Hotels in Italy

    Select Italy

    Hotels in Portugal

    Select Portugal

    Hotels in United Arab Emirates

    Select United Arab Emirates

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

    to

      Incorrect dates
      Please enter valid dates

    NIGHTS

    (Optional dates)

    0 nights Selected
    core.litErrCapacidad
    core.litErrDescuentos

    A discount* or promotional code (also appears as “promo code”) is a combination of letters and/or numbers that gives a discount on the normal rate. If you have a discount code, enter it when booking and you will receive a discount on your booking. Once you have entered this code, the prices shown in step 1 of the booking process will already include the relevant discount. 

    The discount does not apply to prices on extras and/or extra services, neither does it apply to prices on last available rooms. You can only apply one discount code per booking which will only be valid at the time of making your booking.** 

    The maximum amount of accumulated discount will be at most 25% off the rate for hotels in Latin America and at most 20% off the rate for European and Mediterranean hotels. It is possible to combine a discount code with a special discount*** (discounts when you book multiple rooms, senior, resident, millennials, large families, etc.) and the discount for being a my Barceló client. 

    *Barceló reserves the right to accept the application of advertised discounts. 

    **The application of the discount code is not valid upon arrival at the hotel; the discount is only applicable at the time of booking. 

    ***The hotel will request to see valid official documents to verify compliance with the conditions for the discount codes and special discounts. In the event of not providing valid official documents or non-compliance, the hotel reserves the right to charge the amounts that were deducted from the original reservation.

    Loading rates...
    The hotel does not have any rates allocated to it

    Best rate
    guaranteed
    Plus

    If you find a better rate outside Barcelo.com, we’ll match it.

    The same applies even if you find a better rate on Barcelo.com after placing your booking.

    For more information