Barceló Hotel Bar Terrace  Santo Domingo
;
map

Map and location

Avda. Máximo Gómez 53, Esq. Avda. 27 Febrero   10203 Santo Domingo ,   República Dominicana  


Points of Interest

18 mi Santo Domingo Airport

3 mi National Theater

Premios y Reconocimientos

Prizes and Awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Barceló Santo Domingo

4.0/5 Round Indicators
| 1817 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


Comments

Excellent

55% Complete

1016

Very good

24% Complete

438

Average

9% Complete

175

Poor

5% Complete

102

Very poor

4% Complete

86

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    jrmiller6020 columbus, oh. 12/12/2018 Couples

    “Barcelo SD...A very positive, enjoyable experience...”

    I just completed another stay at the SD Barcelo for 8 nights (Dec 3-11 2018). I have stayed here several time over the past several years and I have always had a delightful experience. This visit was no exception. The entire staff is polite, friendly and professional. The ladies who cleaned our room did an excellent job each day. I would make a special note about Bell Boy Antonio. From our first day at check-in to the last day of check-out he was very helpful taking care of luggage and providing help throughout our entire stay. Check-in and check-out was fast and easy. I would recommend you join the free membership in the Barcelo group. They offer deals and incentives that will save you money. They offer room discounts for seniors, club membership, military service. The swimming pool is always clean and inviting with a bar and plenty of recliners. The dinner buffet always has a large selection of foods and is quite good. The spa is excellent for massages, facials, and other services. The Japanese restaurant is exquisite and the food and wine outstanding. There is a casino next door if you are so inclined. A large mall (SamBills) is within a 15 walk. Room service food is one of the few areas the hotel needs to work on. It arrived cold, bland and not very appetizing. A few years ago this was not the case but the past 2 years the room service food quality has declined...I hope management works on this...Overall, this hotel rates a very strong 4 out of 5 stars and I would recommend a stay there without reservations...James, Columbus, Ohio, USA

    LianaC352, Guest service at Barcelo Santo Domingo, responded to this review
     Dear Guest Jmiller:: We thank you for sharing your opinion about your visit at the Barceló Santo Domingo. It is wonderful to hear that we were able to make your stay special. In addition, we thank you for your wonderful comments about the service received, which have been shared with the entire team. It is always a great source of motivation for our staff to hear that our clients appreciate their services and attention in such a detailed way. We regret what you mention about our room services, we will transmit your comments to our food and beverage department for review and improvement Once again we thank you for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to serving you again soon. Best regards Dora Polanco

    Round Indicators
    0513_Mari 12/09/2018 Family

    “NOT WORTH THE HEADACHES”

    I booked a 3 night stay. On the second night we woke up late in the evening to strong fumes that came into the room through the a/c vents. It left us feeling dizzy, nauseous and with a bad headache. WORRIED, I called front desk to stop by and check. They sent a young man who stated the smell in the room was fumes from the hotel fumigating. I had to request a room change and as we quickly gathered our belongings and exited the room the roaches were visible by the door and the wall. We had to wait a while in the humid hallway for someone to come and escort us to the other room. We were finally moved to a lower floor to a room that smelled and did not resemble the Superior Room we originally had. I really couldn't go anywhere else at that moment because I was on vacation, it was very late (after 1am), and reluctantly had no choice but to stay. We had to exit the hotel for some fresh air after room change because the headaches kept lingering. If a better accommodation was offered while this was going on it may have shown some type of good faith on their part but THAT did NOT happen. I had to wait until the morning to check out and speak with the Guest Service Manager Liana. Unfortunately she was very uncaring about the situation, no apologies for the inconvenience, went on about how all hotels have to be fumigated every now and then and refused any type of credit for the inconvenience. She also stated the fumes they use is not known to be that harmful to humans. REALLY LIANA???

    LianaC352, Guest service at Barcelo Santo Domingo, responded to this review
     Dear guest: Thank you for the time spent sharing your comments regarding your recent stay at our Barceló Santo Domingo hotel. In relation to the incidents mentioned by you in your comment, we would like to offer you our sincere apologies since these are clearly practices that do not meet our quality standard; and we would like to inform you that since we have received your opinion, the corresponding meeting has been made with our quality department and that your opinion is being used as an example to guarantee that this does not happen again in our hotel. We thank you for sending us your opinion, since we have taken it very seriously and it has helped us to improve. Once again, we really appreciate the time you spent telling us about the inconveniences you experienced during your stay, and we sincerely hope you give us a new opportunity to show you our true level of hospitality and interest in serving you well in the future. Best regards Dora Polanco

    Round Indicators
    605alexu Perth Amboy, New Jersey. 12/05/2018 Family

    “3 but easily could've been a 5”

    Okay, I will try to be as objective and fair as I can be with this review. the reason why I gave it a 3.7 is display below point by point. Cleanliness = 5. Pristine to the point, sanitation dept was really on top of things, it was incredible to see how clean the place was. Wifi was okay, it reached all the way to the pool area, no complaints on that end. Food was good, not great, the restaurant is a bit expensive compared to other places, but sometimes quality instead of quantity (especially if you are from another country_) helps. The pool area was nice, the pool looks good, not that deep which is great for family kids etc. Here are the 2 issues I did encounter with the hotel. we upgraded to premium, then after the 2nd day, they change the closing Jacuzzi hours from 11 pm to 5 pm, prompting me to cancel the 7 days I was going to use the Jacuzzi, to me that was false advertising. Also, got charged, told I was going to get refunded whatever days I didn't use it for, and it still the 8th business day and no refund has been made. The other thing I started to have a problem with was, I and my brother were being questioned about our stay at the hotel, 4 different times and days we were questioned about what room we staying in etc. We both felt this was somewhat discriminatory and prejudice since we are born and raised in DR but live in USA, yet other people who were seen as American or tourist weren't being questioned that as we were. That rubbed us the wrong way since we felt we were being polite, respectful and kind with some of the employees there. Overall it is a nice hotel, I didn't have as a good as an experience as I wish I had because to me the treatment is important as other topics and amenities the hotel can bring.

    LianaC352, Guest service at Barcelo Santo Domingo, responded to this review
     Dear Mr. Ureña: We are sincerely grateful for the time you have spent sharing your opinion about your recent stay at our Barceló Santo Domingo hotel. Your detailed opinion will help us to continue improving the quality of our services. We are delighted that you have been able to enjoy our high standards of hygiene, our beautiful pool area, our free wifi service and our gastronomic offer. We take this opportunity to inform you that the time of return of credits to your card varies according to the policies of your bank, we have also read your comments regarding the security standards in our hotel, and we would like to take the opportunity to clarify that Barceló gives the welcome all guests who want to stay with us, regardless of their origin, color, religion and age, and strongly believe that everyone is entitled to a well-deserved vacation, however we have certain procedures for all, this it for your safety, We are very sorry if this make you uncomfortable. Once again we appreciate your kind opinion of our hotel and we look forward to serving you again in the future. Best regards Dora Polanco

    Round Indicators
    Lully7710 San Pedro Sula, Honduras. 11/30/2018 Business

    “Not for business trip”

    The hotel is nice if you go on vacation, is well located, has a casino, sushi restaurant, the breakfast is good, the rooms are nice but the wifi is terrible I could not work or send emails had to give internet from my phone to my computer, the hotel decoration is a little over the top for my taste but is not that bad, the check in was a little slow, since my trips are mostly business I don't think I would stay again but if you are on vacations you might enjoy staying in this hotel.

    LianaC352, Guest Service at Barcelo Santo Domingo, responded to this review
     Dear Mrs. Lully: We appreciate that you have taken the time to evaluate us and leave us your comments based on your last stay at our hotel Barceló santo domingo. We are happy that you have enjoyed our facilities, location, our delicious Japanese cuisine and our entertaining casino, we regret the issue you had with the Wi-Fi service, we beg you to next time approach our customer service to give you support, Likewise, we will transmit your comments to our technical department for review and improvement. We hope you give us an opportunity to fulfill your expectations and fulfill our brand promise in a new stay. Best regards Dora Polanco

    Round Indicators
    ZandraB24 11/25/2018 Business

    “Zaz B”

    Very good hotel, personnel very nice, mainly M. Bautista at the reception. Internet very slow, so it was bad for business in my case. My room had a communicating door and the sound isolation was really bad, so I heard everything that was going on in my neighbord's room. I should have asked for change at first day, but I thought it would calm down, what did't happen :( But overall, nice, clean and good food hotel.

    LianaC352, Guest Service at Barcelo Santo Domingo, responded to this review
     Dear Mrs, Zandra: Thank you for the time you spent to share your review of your recent stay at our Barceló Santo Domingo hotel. We are happy our hotel and staff were able to meet all your needs and we will certainly not fail to convey your very kind compliments. We are sorry for the inconvenience presented by our internet service, we have transmitted this information to our technical department for improvement. For a future occasion please do not hesitate to contact our reception team who will assist for you to fully enjoy the comfort of a room that perfectly fits your requirements. Once more we thank you for choosing our hotel and very much look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Best regards. Liana Contreras

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • december 12 2018
    • columbus, oh
    • Couples

    jrmiller6020

    “Barcelo SD...A very positive, enjoyable experience...”


    I just completed another stay at the SD Barcelo for 8 nights (Dec 3-11 2018). I have stayed here several time over the past several years and I have always had a delightful experience. This visit was no exception. The entire staff is polite, friendly and professional. The ladies who cleaned our room did an excellent job each day. I would make a special note about Bell Boy Antonio. From our first day at check-in to the last day of check-out he was very helpful taking care of luggage and providing help throughout our entire stay. Check-in and check-out was fast and easy. I would recommend you join the free membership in the Barcelo group. They offer deals and incentives that will save you money. They offer room discounts for seniors, club membership, military service. The swimming pool is always clean and inviting with a bar and plenty of recliners. The dinner buffet always has a large selection of foods and is quite good. The spa is excellent for massages, facials, and other services. The Japanese restaurant is exquisite and the food and wine outstanding. There is a casino next door if you are so inclined. A large mall (SamBills) is within a 15 walk. Room service food is one of the few areas the hotel needs to work on. It arrived cold, bland and not very appetizing. A few years ago this was not the case but the past 2 years the room service food quality has declined...I hope management works on this...Overall, this hotel rates a very strong 4 out of 5 stars and I would recommend a stay there without reservations...James, Columbus, Ohio, USA


    LianaC352, Guest service at Barcelo Santo Domingo, responded to this review
     Dear Guest Jmiller:: We thank you for sharing your opinion about your visit at the Barceló Santo Domingo. It is wonderful to hear that we were able to make your stay special. In addition, we thank you for your wonderful comments about the service received, which have been shared with the entire team. It is always a great source of motivation for our staff to hear that our clients appreciate their services and attention in such a detailed way. We regret what you mention about our room services, we will transmit your comments to our food and beverage department for review and improvement Once again we thank you for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to serving you again soon. Best regards Dora Polanco

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • december 9 2018
    • Family

    0513_Mari

    “NOT WORTH THE HEADACHES”


    I booked a 3 night stay. On the second night we woke up late in the evening to strong fumes that came into the room through the a/c vents. It left us feeling dizzy, nauseous and with a bad headache. WORRIED, I called front desk to stop by and check. They sent a young man who stated the smell in the room was fumes from the hotel fumigating. I had to request a room change and as we quickly gathered our belongings and exited the room the roaches were visible by the door and the wall. We had to wait a while in the humid hallway for someone to come and escort us to the other room. We were finally moved to a lower floor to a room that smelled and did not resemble the Superior Room we originally had. I really couldn't go anywhere else at that moment because I was on vacation, it was very late (after 1am), and reluctantly had no choice but to stay. We had to exit the hotel for some fresh air after room change because the headaches kept lingering. If a better accommodation was offered while this was going on it may have shown some type of good faith on their part but THAT did NOT happen. I had to wait until the morning to check out and speak with the Guest Service Manager Liana. Unfortunately she was very uncaring about the situation, no apologies for the inconvenience, went on about how all hotels have to be fumigated every now and then and refused any type of credit for the inconvenience. She also stated the fumes they use is not known to be that harmful to humans. REALLY LIANA???


    LianaC352, Guest service at Barcelo Santo Domingo, responded to this review
    Dear guest: Thank you for the time spent sharing your comments regarding your recent stay at our Barceló Santo Domingo hotel. In relation to the incidents mentioned by you in your comment, we would like to offer you our sincere apologies since these are clearly practices that do not meet our quality standard; and we would like to inform you that since we have received your opinion, the corresponding meeting has been made with our quality department and that your opinion is being used as an example to guarantee that this does not happen again in our hotel. We thank you for sending us your opinion, since we have taken it very seriously and it has helped us to improve. Once again, we really appreciate the time you spent telling us about the inconveniences you experienced during your stay, and we sincerely hope you give us a new opportunity to show you our true level of hospitality and interest in serving you well in the future. Best regards Dora Polanco

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • december 5 2018
    • Perth Amboy, New Jersey
    • Family

    605alexu

    “3 but easily could've been a 5”


    Okay, I will try to be as objective and fair as I can be with this review. the reason why I gave it a 3.7 is display below point by point. Cleanliness = 5. Pristine to the point, sanitation dept was really on top of things, it was incredible to see how clean the place was. Wifi was okay, it reached all the way to the pool area, no complaints on that end. Food was good, not great, the restaurant is a bit expensive compared to other places, but sometimes quality instead of quantity (especially if you are from another country_) helps. The pool area was nice, the pool looks good, not that deep which is great for family kids etc. Here are the 2 issues I did encounter with the hotel. we upgraded to premium, then after the 2nd day, they change the closing Jacuzzi hours from 11 pm to 5 pm, prompting me to cancel the 7 days I was going to use the Jacuzzi, to me that was false advertising. Also, got charged, told I was going to get refunded whatever days I didn't use it for, and it still the 8th business day and no refund has been made. The other thing I started to have a problem with was, I and my brother were being questioned about our stay at the hotel, 4 different times and days we were questioned about what room we staying in etc. We both felt this was somewhat discriminatory and prejudice since we are born and raised in DR but live in USA, yet other people who were seen as American or tourist weren't being questioned that as we were. That rubbed us the wrong way since we felt we were being polite, respectful and kind with some of the employees there. Overall it is a nice hotel, I didn't have as a good as an experience as I wish I had because to me the treatment is important as other topics and amenities the hotel can bring.


    LianaC352, Guest service at Barcelo Santo Domingo, responded to this review
    Dear Mr. Ureña: We are sincerely grateful for the time you have spent sharing your opinion about your recent stay at our Barceló Santo Domingo hotel. Your detailed opinion will help us to continue improving the quality of our services. We are delighted that you have been able to enjoy our high standards of hygiene, our beautiful pool area, our free wifi service and our gastronomic offer. We take this opportunity to inform you that the time of return of credits to your card varies according to the policies of your bank, we have also read your comments regarding the security standards in our hotel, and we would like to take the opportunity to clarify that Barceló gives the welcome all guests who want to stay with us, regardless of their origin, color, religion and age, and strongly believe that everyone is entitled to a well-deserved vacation, however we have certain procedures for all, this it for your safety, We are very sorry if this make you uncomfortable. Once again we appreciate your kind opinion of our hotel and we look forward to serving you again in the future. Best regards Dora Polanco

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • november 30 2018
    • San Pedro Sula, Honduras
    • Business

    Lully7710

    “Not for business trip”


    The hotel is nice if you go on vacation, is well located, has a casino, sushi restaurant, the breakfast is good, the rooms are nice but the wifi is terrible I could not work or send emails had to give internet from my phone to my computer, the hotel decoration is a little over the top for my taste but is not that bad, the check in was a little slow, since my trips are mostly business I don't think I would stay again but if you are on vacations you might enjoy staying in this hotel.


    LianaC352, Guest Service at Barcelo Santo Domingo, responded to this review
    Dear Mrs. Lully: We appreciate that you have taken the time to evaluate us and leave us your comments based on your last stay at our hotel Barceló santo domingo. We are happy that you have enjoyed our facilities, location, our delicious Japanese cuisine and our entertaining casino, we regret the issue you had with the Wi-Fi service, we beg you to next time approach our customer service to give you support, Likewise, we will transmit your comments to our technical department for review and improvement. We hope you give us an opportunity to fulfill your expectations and fulfill our brand promise in a new stay. Best regards Dora Polanco

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • november 25 2018
    • Business

    ZandraB24

    “Zaz B”


    Very good hotel, personnel very nice, mainly M. Bautista at the reception. Internet very slow, so it was bad for business in my case. My room had a communicating door and the sound isolation was really bad, so I heard everything that was going on in my neighbord's room. I should have asked for change at first day, but I thought it would calm down, what did't happen :( But overall, nice, clean and good food hotel.


    LianaC352, Guest Service at Barcelo Santo Domingo, responded to this review
    Dear Mrs, Zandra: Thank you for the time you spent to share your review of your recent stay at our Barceló Santo Domingo hotel. We are happy our hotel and staff were able to meet all your needs and we will certainly not fail to convey your very kind compliments. We are sorry for the inconvenience presented by our internet service, we have transmitted this information to our technical department for improvement. For a future occasion please do not hesitate to contact our reception team who will assist for you to fully enjoy the comfort of a room that perfectly fits your requirements. Once more we thank you for choosing our hotel and very much look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Best regards. Liana Contreras

    Barceló Hotel Pool  Santo Domingo

    Urban luxury for leisure or business trips, in the heart of Santo Domingo

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in Costa Rica

    Select Costa Rica

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Panamá

    Select Panamá

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Hotels in Germany

    Select Germany

    Hotels in Czech Republic

    Select Czech Republic

    Hotels in Portugal

    Select Portugal

    Hotels in Morocco

    Select Morocco

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

    to

      Incorrect dates
      Please enter valid dates

    NIGHTS

    (Optional dates)

    0 nights Selected
    1 night Selected

    A discount* or promotional code (also appears as “promo code”) is a combination of letters and/or numbers that gives a discount on the normal rate. If you have a discount code, enter it when booking and you will receive a discount on your booking. Once you have entered this code, the prices shown in step 1 of the booking process will already include the relevant discount. 

    The discount does not apply to prices on extras and/or extra services, neither does it apply to prices on last available rooms. You can only apply one discount code per booking which will only be valid at the time of making your booking.** 

    The maximum amount of accumulated discount will be at most 25% off the rate for hotels in Latin America and at most 20% off the rate for European and Mediterranean hotels. It is possible to combine a discount code with a special discount*** (discounts when you book multiple rooms, senior, resident, millennials, large families, etc.) and the discount for being a my Barceló client. 

    *Barceló reserves the right to accept the application of advertised discounts. 

    **The application of the discount code is not valid upon arrival at the hotel; the discount is only applicable at the time of booking. 

    ***The hotel will request to see valid official documents to verify compliance with the conditions for the discount codes and special discounts. In the event of not prov