Close

You are using Internet Explorer as a browser to visit Barcelo.com, and we trully recomend to use other browser in order to avoid troubles. If you prefer it, upload your browser versión to Internet Explorer 7 or newer by following the steps you will find in the “About” option inside Tools Configuration (upper right of your window)

Barceló Hotel Pool  Maya Colonial
;
map

Map and location

Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juárez Km. 266,3 XPUHA Q   77750 Riviera Maya, Quintana Roo ,   México  


Points of Interest

49 mi  Cancún International Airport 

0 m Chac Halal Beach

22 mi Tulum archeological site

18.5 mi Xel-Ha

Premios y Reconocimientos

Prizes and Awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Barceló Maya Colonial

4.5/5 Round Indicators
| 8427 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


Comments

Excellent

62% Complete

5234

Very good

23% Complete

1953

Average

8% Complete

704

Poor

3% Complete

312

Very poor

2% Complete

224

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    Daniel F 07/16/2019 Family

    “Great resort except for the life guards the kids pool very unprofessional”

    Food, service, entertainment is all fantastic. Life guards at kids pool water play area are not professional and dont care about the kids safety at all. They refuse to get their shoes wet to help a child.
    Round Indicators
    philandamanda2019 Brantford, Canada. 07/15/2019 Family

    “Great overall experience with the family”

    This was our 4th trip to the Barcelo resorts. The resort continues to improve the facility’s making this a one stop vacation with no need for excursions. Food quality is high but selection has dropped
    Round Indicators
    Awdunroamin Glasgow,Scotland. 07/15/2019 Friends getaway

    “Excellent choice.”

    Great place for families and kids and also couples. Staff were always smiling and ready to help. Food was good with plenty of choice. Had ice in my drinks and never had any gut problems. Plenty of fresh towels everyday and poolside towels as well. Fridge was stocked well. No need for hair dryer or iron, these were in the room.
    Round Indicators
    Amelia D 07/15/2019 Couples

    “Great holiday!”

    Me and my partner stayed at the Colonial for 10 nights in June 2019 and overall we had a great time! We arrived on our transfer bus and the man on reception was very nice and polite. He gave us each a welcome drink and very thoroughly explained everything we needed to know and answered any questions. We found our way to our room, which was fairly easy and all the rooms are in named blocked and were not a long walk away at all. The room was spacious and clean when we arrived, the only odd thing we found is that there wasn't a duvet cover on the duvet for the first night, surely the main thing for the housekeeping to replace when new guests are checking in? Over the time of our stay we found housekeeping to be slightly hit or miss at times, sometimes we'd ask for fresh towels and our old ones would be taken away and not replaced and on one occasion our room was completely missed being cleaned. The food at the buffet restaurants was okay, the quality of the food was pretty good we thought but the choice was just not enough in my opinion (last year we stayed at a Bahia Principe hotel in the D.R and we were spoilt for choice in the buffet there, so we are comparing it to that hotel). The staff in the buffet restaurants were fantastic, you were shown to your table with a smile and the waiting staff were so friendly and no request was too much trouble for them. The pools were fun, we spent most of our time at the Maya Beach pool as we found it to be less loud and busy than the Colonial pool. I do think the pools could be cleaned more frequently as some days you could feel and see lots of 'bits' floating at the bottom of the water. The grounds of the hotel are beautifully maintained and you will see plenty of wildlife, lots of iguanas! Entertainment seemed okay, we only went for one show and that was the Fiesta Mexicana and it was pretty good. We really loved the Sports Bar in the Maya Mall and we went to Jaguars, the onside nightclub once and really enjoyed that as well. As for getting served at bars, the bartenders obviously favour those who tipped. We noticed lots of Americans giving $1 tips for each drink, which us British aren't used to this tipping culture (and we didn't bring money as small as that) so they were often getting served way before us. We took Mexican Peso with us but it seemed that everything was in American Dollar except for the Environmental Tax you have to pay at the reception when you arrive (its not very much at all). A special mention goes to Gabriel Pardo at Guest Services, she was so sweet and friendly. She always greeted you with a smile and she helped us with booking our wifi, al a cartes and other bits we needed help with, she is very good at her job. Side note: the steakhouse al a carte is very nice! The sirloin steak was delicious, we wanted to return a second time and at short notice there seemed to be nothing available but Gabriel went out of her way to make sure we could get another booking before we left. Overall, we really enjoyed the Barcelo, I would recommend it to others looking at going 100%. Great for everyone as it is huge and there is so much to do.

    Barceló C, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this review
     Dear Amelia D Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our Barceló hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding the service you received from our team members, we will make sure to share your kind words as we know it will mean a great deal to them. We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Regards

    Round Indicators
    meghanliebum Fort Worth, Texas. 07/14/2019 Couples

    “Beautiful resort, terrible buffet food!!”

    Beautiful & MASSIVE resort, almost like its own lil city. We felt very safe in resort. Aprox. 1 hour drive from Cancun airport. I would definitely recommend & stay there again. Room was clean w comfy bed & nice shower. No complaints, other than it took 3 calls to get the safe in our room fixed. Pool was really nice, beach was nice but a bit rocky in places (bring some sort of water shoes if ya wanna swim off the beach). Resort grounds are absolutely beautiful. Buffet food was terrible (Ill eat almost anything & like it), but ya it really was that bad!! Be sure to make dinner reservations (included) if ya wanna eat a good meal. Men be sure to bring a pair of long pants for dinner or they wont let ya in. I had nice shorts & a collard shirt on & they wouldn't let me in because I wasn't wearing pants. Dress code requiring men to wear pants at al acart dinner is ridiculous!! This is a BEACH resort, casual shorts & a nice shirt are perfectly fine for such atmosphere!!! No sleeveless shirts/swimwear is what the dress code should be. Service overall by staff was excellent!!

    Barceló C, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this review
     Dear Meghanliebum Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at Barceló Colonial. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience.  With regards to our policy regarding long trousers for gentleman during evening meals, this is a standard requirement and was put in place to maintain a certain standard of class befitting of the service our guests receive from our waiters and waitresses whilst dining with us. We would also like to add that all of our partner tour operators are aware of this fact and should be notifying our guests of this prior to their arrival at our hotels where they are also reminded of this requirement at check in. Once again, thank you for your visit and constructive critics, we hope that you had a nice journey back home and to have the pleasure of serving you again in our hotels worldwide ensuring you in advance of our best intentions at all times. Regars.

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • july 16 2019
    • Family

    Daniel F

    “Great resort except for the life guards the kids pool very unprofessional”


    Food, service, entertainment is all fantastic. Life guards at kids pool water play area are not professional and dont care about the kids safety at all. They refuse to get their shoes wet to help a child.


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • july 15 2019
    • Brantford, Canada
    • Family

    philandamanda2019

    “Great overall experience with the family”


    This was our 4th trip to the Barcelo resorts. The resort continues to improve the facility’s making this a one stop vacation with no need for excursions. Food quality is high but selection has dropped


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • july 15 2019
    • Glasgow,Scotland
    • Friends getaway

    Awdunroamin

    “Excellent choice.”


    Great place for families and kids and also couples. Staff were always smiling and ready to help. Food was good with plenty of choice. Had ice in my drinks and never had any gut problems. Plenty of fresh towels everyday and poolside towels as well. Fridge was stocked well. No need for hair dryer or iron, these were in the room.


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • july 15 2019
    • Couples

    Amelia D

    “Great holiday!”


    Me and my partner stayed at the Colonial for 10 nights in June 2019 and overall we had a great time! We arrived on our transfer bus and the man on reception was very nice and polite. He gave us each a welcome drink and very thoroughly explained everything we needed to know and answered any questions. We found our way to our room, which was fairly easy and all the rooms are in named blocked and were not a long walk away at all. The room was spacious and clean when we arrived, the only odd thing we found is that there wasn't a duvet cover on the duvet for the first night, surely the main thing for the housekeeping to replace when new guests are checking in? Over the time of our stay we found housekeeping to be slightly hit or miss at times, sometimes we'd ask for fresh towels and our old ones would be taken away and not replaced and on one occasion our room was completely missed being cleaned. The food at the buffet restaurants was okay, the quality of the food was pretty good we thought but the choice was just not enough in my opinion (last year we stayed at a Bahia Principe hotel in the D.R and we were spoilt for choice in the buffet there, so we are comparing it to that hotel). The staff in the buffet restaurants were fantastic, you were shown to your table with a smile and the waiting staff were so friendly and no request was too much trouble for them. The pools were fun, we spent most of our time at the Maya Beach pool as we found it to be less loud and busy than the Colonial pool. I do think the pools could be cleaned more frequently as some days you could feel and see lots of 'bits' floating at the bottom of the water. The grounds of the hotel are beautifully maintained and you will see plenty of wildlife, lots of iguanas! Entertainment seemed okay, we only went for one show and that was the Fiesta Mexicana and it was pretty good. We really loved the Sports Bar in the Maya Mall and we went to Jaguars, the onside nightclub once and really enjoyed that as well. As for getting served at bars, the bartenders obviously favour those who tipped. We noticed lots of Americans giving $1 tips for each drink, which us British aren't used to this tipping culture (and we didn't bring money as small as that) so they were often getting served way before us. We took Mexican Peso with us but it seemed that everything was in American Dollar except for the Environmental Tax you have to pay at the reception when you arrive (its not very much at all). A special mention goes to Gabriel Pardo at Guest Services, she was so sweet and friendly. She always greeted you with a smile and she helped us with booking our wifi, al a cartes and other bits we needed help with, she is very good at her job. Side note: the steakhouse al a carte is very nice! The sirloin steak was delicious, we wanted to return a second time and at short notice there seemed to be nothing available but Gabriel went out of her way to make sure we could get another booking before we left. Overall, we really enjoyed the Barcelo, I would recommend it to others looking at going 100%. Great for everyone as it is huge and there is so much to do.


    Barceló C, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this review
    Dear Amelia D Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our Barceló hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding the service you received from our team members, we will make sure to share your kind words as we know it will mean a great deal to them. We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Regards

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • july 14 2019
    • Fort Worth, Texas
    • Couples

    meghanliebum

    “Beautiful resort, terrible buffet food!!”


    Beautiful & MASSIVE resort, almost like its own lil city. We felt very safe in resort. Aprox. 1 hour drive from Cancun airport. I would definitely recommend & stay there again. Room was clean w comfy bed & nice shower. No complaints, other than it took 3 calls to get the safe in our room fixed. Pool was really nice, beach was nice but a bit rocky in places (bring some sort of water shoes if ya wanna swim off the beach). Resort grounds are absolutely beautiful. Buffet food was terrible (Ill eat almost anything & like it), but ya it really was that bad!! Be sure to make dinner reservations (included) if ya wanna eat a good meal. Men be sure to bring a pair of long pants for dinner or they wont let ya in. I had nice shorts & a collard shirt on & they wouldn't let me in because I wasn't wearing pants. Dress code requiring men to wear pants at al acart dinner is ridiculous!! This is a BEACH resort, casual shorts & a nice shirt are perfectly fine for such atmosphere!!! No sleeveless shirts/swimwear is what the dress code should be. Service overall by staff was excellent!!


    Barceló C, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this review
    Dear Meghanliebum Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at Barceló Colonial. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience.  With regards to our policy regarding long trousers for gentleman during evening meals, this is a standard requirement and was put in place to maintain a certain standard of class befitting of the service our guests receive from our waiters and waitresses whilst dining with us. We would also like to add that all of our partner tour operators are aware of this fact and should be notifying our guests of this prior to their arrival at our hotels where they are also reminded of this requirement at check in. Once again, thank you for your visit and constructive critics, we hope that you had a nice journey back home and to have the pleasure of serving you again in our hotels worldwide ensuring you in advance of our best intentions at all times. Regars.

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in Costa Rica

    Select Costa Rica

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Hotels in Germany

    Select Germany

    Hotels in Turkey

    Select Turkey

    Hotels in Czech Republic

    Select Czech Republic

    Hotels in Portugal

    Select Portugal

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z