Barceló Hotel Pool  Maya Colonial
;
map

Map and location

Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juárez Km. 266,3 XPUHA Q   77750 Riviera Maya, Quintana Roo ,   México  


Points of Interest

49 mi  Cancun International Airport 

0 m Chac Halal Beach

22 mi Tulum archeological site

18.5 mi Xel-Ha

Premios y Reconocimientos

Prizes and Awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Barceló Maya Colonial

4.5/5 Round Indicators
| 7523 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


Comments

Excellent

62% Complete

4695

Very good

23% Complete

1781

Average

8% Complete

614

Poor

3% Complete

262

Very poor

2% Complete

171

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    Alfred S 11/10/2018 Family

    “4 Night stay at Barcelo I’m Rivera Maya”

    We arrived at the hotel from a 11am United flight and our transfer took 45-50 minutes from the Airport. There was no traffic and it was a very smooth transfer with USA Transfers. We entered the resort and made our way to the Colonial, however we were redirected to check in at the next lobby, which is a part of the Barcelo Tropical. The check in process went well, but the rooms were not ready until 3pm. We got our wristbands and managed to change our clothing from the nearby changing room. The delay with the room wasn’t bad, as we had the option to enjoy the beach, swimming pool and have lunch. Ok, let’s get to the food. You can easily enjoy all the meals until day 2-3. You kind of get sick of it afterwards. There’s a lot of variety, but it all tastes the same after awhile. Maybe I’m too critical here, but this was my experience. Our room wasn’t the best. We had a room facing the garden, but the interior was very dated. The TV didn’t work and the sliding balcony door didn’t work week either. Beds were clean and acceptable. However, I hated the two lengthy pillows. I prefer the regular ones. I would highly recommend a higher floor if you’re staying in a room facing the pool or the sea. If not, you should consider a ground floor room, as there’s only one elevator in each building. We regretted picking a higher floor since we had a 4yr old with a stroller. Overall the service was really good. All the people were friendly and they always checked on us. The mini fridge was stocked daily with juice and water, including some beers. Love the beach and the size of the resort. You can easily stay entertained for 3-4 days.
    Round Indicators
    AngelaTravels2 Chicago, Illinois. 11/10/2018 Friends getaway

    “The wait is worth it? ”

    Great resort if you’re able to survive the horrendous check-in process. We waited for over an hour in line (note: there were only two couples ahead of us). When it was finally our turn, we were informed that a room with double beds wasn’t available and that we’d be put in a room with one king bed. The catch? We were three ADULT women and cramming into one bed was not feasible. We were told we could come back in the morning to see if a double bed room would be available. We accepted defeat but negotiated two WiFi passes for the duration of our stay (normally $30ish USD each). It was a small but welcome win and I highly suggest negotiating for some type of compensation if you have a similar experience. We spoke with the Apple Vacations rep at the hotel the next day and he was able to get us moved into the correct room. Everything went much smoother after that. The beach is beautiful but very rocky (be careful)! We never had an issue finding chairs at the pool, but we did make it a point to get there early (~9 am). Food & drinks were great - the Italian restaurant was delicious. We also loved the lounge bar in the lobby. Great atmosphere and the popcorn and mixed nuts were a nice touch. Overall, I would come back to this resort. However, a second terrible check-in process would keep me away for good.

    Barceló C, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this review
     Dear Angela Travels2: On behalf of Barcelo Maya Colonial staff, I would like to thank you for taking the time to give your comments following your stay with us. I appreciate your positive notes about the Hotel, and I was very happy to read that you liked the services that we offer. I can let you know that all guest comments whether negative or positive are very important to us, as they show us the areas that we need to improve. We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the resort and make your stay nothing but a pleasurable experience. Best Regards La Gerencia maya.colonial.jrec@barcelo.com

    Round Indicators
    Quest09255638082 11/09/2018 Family

    “Enjoyable stay”

    I really enjoyed our stay, the only thing I disliked was the lunch and dinners buffet. I felt the foods was very repetitive daily. The reservations for the sit down dinners was also very limited. Wi-fi charge, not acceptable (all hotels have free wi-fi)

    Barceló C, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this review
     Dear Quest: Is a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed your stay, also thank you for take your value time to share with us your experience, was an honor to have had the opportunity to serve you, we hope to receive you once again very soon. Best Regards. La Gerencia maya.colonial.jrec@barcelo.com

    Round Indicators
    Quest47288876545 11/09/2018 Family

    “Garza Family Vacation”

    The location of Hotel is Excellent . Rooms at best average and Service from Hotel staff is Good. But do not expect from this from Management or reception. Had to complain about Rooms not being cleaned or towels left. at one point one of my suites was not serviced for two days. Food is average at buffets. Entertainment at night is Good. Pools are kept very clean! would had liked better attention from management.

    Barceló C, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this review
     Dear Quest: On behalf of our hotel, we would like to thank you for coming to Barcelo Maya Colonial hotel; we also want to thank you for your significant opinion which is very important for us to improve our services and products . we glad you have a good time during your vacations in our hotel. we hope to have the privilege and the honor to share with you again soon. La Gerencia maya.colonial.jrec@barcelo.com

    Round Indicators
    Pioneer45211552367 11/08/2018 Couples

    “Perfect Service and Food”

    Muy bien! We liked the service and the food a lot. Wished we could come more often! We were staying at the hotel and went to Kyoto once. The cook was great and the service Veronica and Mayra were super comforting!

    Barceló C, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this review
     Dear Pioneer: Is a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed your stay, also thank you for take your value time to share with us your experience, was an honor to have had the opportunity to serve you, we hope to receive you once again very soon. Best Regards. La Gerencia maya.colonial.jrec@barcelo.com

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • november 10 2018
    • Family

    Alfred S

    “4 Night stay at Barcelo I’m Rivera Maya”


    We arrived at the hotel from a 11am United flight and our transfer took 45-50 minutes from the Airport. There was no traffic and it was a very smooth transfer with USA Transfers. We entered the resort and made our way to the Colonial, however we were redirected to check in at the next lobby, which is a part of the Barcelo Tropical. The check in process went well, but the rooms were not ready until 3pm. We got our wristbands and managed to change our clothing from the nearby changing room. The delay with the room wasn’t bad, as we had the option to enjoy the beach, swimming pool and have lunch. Ok, let’s get to the food. You can easily enjoy all the meals until day 2-3. You kind of get sick of it afterwards. There’s a lot of variety, but it all tastes the same after awhile. Maybe I’m too critical here, but this was my experience. Our room wasn’t the best. We had a room facing the garden, but the interior was very dated. The TV didn’t work and the sliding balcony door didn’t work week either. Beds were clean and acceptable. However, I hated the two lengthy pillows. I prefer the regular ones. I would highly recommend a higher floor if you’re staying in a room facing the pool or the sea. If not, you should consider a ground floor room, as there’s only one elevator in each building. We regretted picking a higher floor since we had a 4yr old with a stroller. Overall the service was really good. All the people were friendly and they always checked on us. The mini fridge was stocked daily with juice and water, including some beers. Love the beach and the size of the resort. You can easily stay entertained for 3-4 days.


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • november 10 2018
    • Chicago, Illinois
    • Friends getaway

    AngelaTravels2

    “The wait is worth it? ”


    Great resort if you’re able to survive the horrendous check-in process. We waited for over an hour in line (note: there were only two couples ahead of us). When it was finally our turn, we were informed that a room with double beds wasn’t available and that we’d be put in a room with one king bed. The catch? We were three ADULT women and cramming into one bed was not feasible. We were told we could come back in the morning to see if a double bed room would be available. We accepted defeat but negotiated two WiFi passes for the duration of our stay (normally $30ish USD each). It was a small but welcome win and I highly suggest negotiating for some type of compensation if you have a similar experience. We spoke with the Apple Vacations rep at the hotel the next day and he was able to get us moved into the correct room. Everything went much smoother after that. The beach is beautiful but very rocky (be careful)! We never had an issue finding chairs at the pool, but we did make it a point to get there early (~9 am). Food & drinks were great - the Italian restaurant was delicious. We also loved the lounge bar in the lobby. Great atmosphere and the popcorn and mixed nuts were a nice touch. Overall, I would come back to this resort. However, a second terrible check-in process would keep me away for good.


    Barceló C, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this review
     Dear Angela Travels2: On behalf of Barcelo Maya Colonial staff, I would like to thank you for taking the time to give your comments following your stay with us. I appreciate your positive notes about the Hotel, and I was very happy to read that you liked the services that we offer. I can let you know that all guest comments whether negative or positive are very important to us, as they show us the areas that we need to improve. We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the resort and make your stay nothing but a pleasurable experience. Best Regards La Gerencia maya.colonial.jrec@barcelo.com

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • november 9 2018
    • Family

    Quest09255638082

    “Enjoyable stay”


    I really enjoyed our stay, the only thing I disliked was the lunch and dinners buffet. I felt the foods was very repetitive daily. The reservations for the sit down dinners was also very limited. Wi-fi charge, not acceptable (all hotels have free wi-fi)


    Barceló C, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this review
     Dear Quest: Is a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed your stay, also thank you for take your value time to share with us your experience, was an honor to have had the opportunity to serve you, we hope to receive you once again very soon. Best Regards. La Gerencia maya.colonial.jrec@barcelo.com

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • november 9 2018
    • Family

    Quest47288876545

    “Garza Family Vacation”


    The location of Hotel is Excellent . Rooms at best average and Service from Hotel staff is Good. But do not expect from this from Management or reception. Had to complain about Rooms not being cleaned or towels left. at one point one of my suites was not serviced for two days. Food is average at buffets. Entertainment at night is Good. Pools are kept very clean! would had liked better attention from management.


    Barceló C, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this review
    Dear Quest: On behalf of our hotel, we would like to thank you for coming to Barcelo Maya Colonial hotel; we also want to thank you for your significant opinion which is very important for us to improve our services and products . we glad you have a good time during your vacations in our hotel. we hope to have the privilege and the honor to share with you again soon. La Gerencia maya.colonial.jrec@barcelo.com

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • november 8 2018
    • Couples

    Pioneer45211552367

    “Perfect Service and Food”


    Muy bien! We liked the service and the food a lot. Wished we could come more often! We were staying at the hotel and went to Kyoto once. The cook was great and the service Veronica and Mayra were super comforting!


    Barceló C, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this review
     Dear Pioneer: Is a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed your stay, also thank you for take your value time to share with us your experience, was an honor to have had the opportunity to serve you, we hope to receive you once again very soon. Best Regards. La Gerencia maya.colonial.jrec@barcelo.com

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in Costa Rica

    Select Costa Rica

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Panamá

    Select Panamá

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Hotels in Germany

    Select Germany

    Hotels in Czech Republic

    Select Czech Republic

    Hotels in Italy

    Select Italy

    Hotels in Portugal

    Select Portugal

    Hotels in Morocco

    Select Morocco

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z