Views from the sun loungers at the Barceló Carmen Granada hotel
map

Barceló Carmen Granada

Calle Acera del Darro 62   8005 Granada , Andalucía   España  


Puntos de Interés

20 km Federico García Lorca Airport

1.8 km The Alhambra

60 km Port of Motril

2 km Train station

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Barceló Carmen Granada

4.0/5 Round Indicators
| 1763 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


GUESTS’ SCORE

Excellent

27% Complete

493

Very good

40% Complete

716

Average

19% Complete

345

Poor

7% Complete

137

Very poor

4% Complete

72

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    Kym H Bordon, United Kingdom. 07/15/2018 Friends getaway

    “Lovely ”

    Having read previous reviews I would agree that you should not book this hotel for the pool, it’s tiny and the terrace it’s on is an oven! There are only deck chairs , no loungers and you are on show to everyone who is using the bar. No shade! The staff were excellent and the hotel is very comfortable. It’s in a really great location with good transport links. Breakfast is definitely worth booking, lots of choices. Some issues with the downstairs bar which was never open. Why is it there? Overall I had a great stay here, and would certainly use it again
    Round Indicators
    AWilliams1978 St. Albans, United Kingdom. 07/13/2018 Family

    “Booked for 6 nights - checked out after 1”

    What a horrible hotel, desperately in need of updating to make it even a 3 Star. We had booked for 6 nights but checked out after 1. If I was staying for work I’d be annoyed at being put in such a dump - for a holiday it was intolerable. The photos are a complete misrepresentation of the actual hotel. The rooftop pool is basically a plunge pool filled for children screaming and 11 loungers round it. The rooms are so dated and in need to repair. Lights didn’t work, tv remote held together with tape. When I complained I was shown another room that smelt so strongly of mould that I could smell it before I opened the door. The staff where rude and unhelpful. Thank goodness Expedia actually helped me to cancel the reservation. Breakfast was actually good and had loads of choice.

    Miguel E, General Manager at Hotel Barcelo Carmen Granada, responded to this review
     Dear Mr. Williams, I regret that the hotel and its facilities did not meet your expectations. Every day we strive to offer the best services to our guests, so I apologize for your insatisfaction. First of all, I regret that the rooms of our hotel were not according to your tastes and preferences because despite having shown several rooms of the same category as the one booked by you, none of them was to your liking. I would like to point out that our hotel has several categories of rooms, from 'Standard' to 'Deluxe Vistas Alhambra' and 'Junior Suite', which stand out for their great amplitude as well as for their luminosity and wonderful views of the Alhambra and the city . I recommend you to give us the opportunity and book in a future occasion any of the last rooms mentioned, I am sure that your stay will be exceptional. In addition, I regret the incidents that occurred in your room during your stay and not having been informed at the reception immediately as this way you would have been able to solve your problems and make your stay perfect. On future occasions, please, do not hesitate to contact the reception desk staff, who are available 24 hours a day with the objective of satisfying you as much as possible. I also regret that the size of the pool did not meet your expectations, I would like to point out that this is the only hotel located in the center of the city that has a swimming pool for guests. Recently, we have carried out a process of terrace reform in which we have introduced the most modern style, we have also renovated the pool whose size is according to the dimensions of the terrace. Since our main objective is to offer unique experiences, we want our guests to enjoy a magnificent bath while contemplating the beautiful views of the city, highlighting the Alhambra. I am very worried to read your comments about the service you have received during your stay at our hotel, especially since your comments do not reflect the usual standard of service that we strive to insure our guests. I would also like to emphasize that our team did everything possible to make the rest of your stay perferct, allowing you to leave the room and parking later than usual and canceling your reservation without any cost despite being a non-refundable reservation, whose cancellation has a cost of 100% and, in this case, was the hotel who allowed the refund of the difference, as an exceptional case being your agency a mere transmitter. Finally, thanks for pointing out the great quality and variety of our breakfast buffet. Our chef team strives to do a great job every day offering a large number of national and international dishes, to satisfy all tastes and palates. I'm glad to know that they conquered yours. I appreciate the time taken to share your concerns, I hope you give us the opportunity to offer you a better service in the future. Kind regards, Miguel Estévez, General Manager.

    Round Indicators
    jjdish Montreal, Quebec, Canada. 07/08/2018 Couples

    “4 star location.... 3 star hotel”

    I rarely give bad ratings. i travel quite a bit and try to be honest and fair. I booked this hotel during my second stay in two years in the region. This time, we paid not for the room, but the seem to be fabulous pool on roof. Seriously.... misleading. DO NOT book for the pool. See comments later. We check-in, our room was on first floor, at otherend of building. The room was ok. But with two singles side by side, that slip appart. Smelled disinfectant. I went back to front desk. They offered another tiny room on with a small window to a light well. We stuck to our room and beautiful view... of a construction site. Well that said, hot day, we didn’t come for the room anyway. Up to the pool on the roof! Once there, beautiful view and bar. No lounge chairs to be found, oh and the green grass carpet and brown chairs in photos do not exist. Towels are available at lobby for 10euros or you use you bath towels. Now...the pool. The pool was full of people... I mean over 3 days.....always full, many children. The water was worst than the muggy ones you see in resorts in Cuba in July. They put a glass front, so you can actually see the hairballs and junk floating around. I check everyday, it was always as bad, morning or day. Just awful. Posted a few pics. Anyways, Bacelo needs to update Expedia, Hotels.com and other sites, as their picture are misleading and even wrongfully portraying current hotel and I felt HAD. My two cents.

    Miguel E, General Manager at Hotel Barcelo Carmen Granada, responded to this review
     Dear guest, I am truly grateful for the time you have spent sharing your opinion about your recent stay at our hotel. Your detailed opinion will help us to continue improving the quality of our services. I regret that the room assigned to you was not according to your tastes and preferences. The hotel has several types of rooms from 'Individual' to 'Junior Suite' or 'Deluxe Vistas Alhambra' which stand out for their amplitude, luminosity as well as for their wonderful views of the city and the Alhambra. When the occupation of the hotel allows us, we assign the best rooms regardless of the reserved room category but when the occupation is complete we must assign the rooms in order to what is booked. I recommend that in future occasions you reserve one of them, I am sure you will be very happy. I regret that the size of the pool did not meet your expectations. Recently, we have carried out a process of terrace reform in which we have introduced the most modern style, we have also renovated the pool whose size is according to the dimensions of the terrace. Since our main objective is to offer unique experiences, we want our guests to enjoy a magnificent bath while contemplating the beautiful views of the city, highlighting the Alhambra. Every day our maintenance team performs a deep cleaning of the water for all the guests to enjoy, I regret that at some times of the day the water was not perfectly clean. With the aim of a good use of towels and that each guest can have one, we deliver a towel per person in reception when they require it with a deposit of € 10 that will be automatically removed when the towels are returned. On the other hand, I would like to indicate that we have some new hammocks available on the terrace for our guests, in future occasions please do not hesitate to ask if at any time there is none available. We appreciate the time it took to share your concerns, we hope you give us the opportunity to offer you a better service in the future. Kind regards, Miguel Estévez, General Manager.

    Round Indicators
    gazou2018 07/06/2018 Family

    “needs upgrading to be a 4 star hotel”

    a hotel that clearly needs some upgrading and improvements to their air conditioning and bathrooms to be of standard. Very noisy if facing the street and falsely advertising a rooftop pool that is really a large open air bathtub

    Miguel E, General Manager at Hotel Barcelo Carmen Granada, responded to this review
     Dear guest, The vision of our clients is the key to complete the satisfaction of our guests, so I am very grateful for the time spent writing this comment. I regret that the decoration of our facilities was not according to your tastes. We are currently studying a project to modernize the common areas and rooms of the hotel. I am sure that if you visit us in future, you will enjoy your stay to the fullest. We know about the situation of the soundproofing in the rooms, that is why we are working on it to make You enjoy the hotel experience and that nothing affects your rest during your holidays. The hotel has a recently renovated terrace and pool Our main objective is to ensure the maximum satisfaction of our guests so we offer a pool adapted to the dimensions of the terrace from which you can enjoy magnificent panoramic views of the city highlighting the Alhambra. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certaily look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future. Kind regards, Miguel Estévez, General Manager.

    Round Indicators
    rthoma167937 Antequera, Spain. 07/04/2018 Couples

    “Granada trip”

    Good location lovely roof terrace. Easy to get to Alhambra by taxi only €5. Would go for balcony room next time. Has parking underground which is extra but not excessive considering central location. Cafes near by for breakfast if you choose not use hotel.

    Miguel E, General Manager at Hotel Barcelo Carmen Granada, responded to this review
     Dear guest, Thank you very much for your wonderful comments on TripAdvisor, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. First of all, I thank you for pointing out the magnificent location in which we find ourselves. It is a pleasure for us to be located near the main places of interest, as well as leisure areas. I am glad to know that you were able to enjoy all these resources in the most comfortable way possible, accessing on foot without the need to take any transport. The hotel has several categories of rooms available for our guests, among which are 'Deluxe Vistas Alhambra' and 'Junior Suite', I am sure that your future stays in them will be wonderful. Our hotel has a private parking just below our facilities with direct connection from the hall and rooms for greater comfort. In addition, we offer the valet service so that you can not worry about everything from the first moment of their arrival. I assure you that it is an honor to know that you liked our newly renovated terrace. All departments make a great effort in order to offer our guests a great experience on our terrace, enjoying the best views from our pool. Once again thank you for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to serving you again soon. Kind regards, Miguel Estévez, General Manager.

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • july 15 2018
    • Bordon, United Kingdom
    • Friends getaway

    Kym H

    “Lovely ”


    Having read previous reviews I would agree that you should not book this hotel for the pool, it’s tiny and the terrace it’s on is an oven! There are only deck chairs , no loungers and you are on show to everyone who is using the bar. No shade! The staff were excellent and the hotel is very comfortable. It’s in a really great location with good transport links. Breakfast is definitely worth booking, lots of choices. Some issues with the downstairs bar which was never open. Why is it there? Overall I had a great stay here, and would certainly use it again


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • july 13 2018
    • St. Albans, United Kingdom
    • Family

    AWilliams1978

    “Booked for 6 nights - checked out after 1”


    What a horrible hotel, desperately in need of updating to make it even a 3 Star. We had booked for 6 nights but checked out after 1. If I was staying for work I’d be annoyed at being put in such a dump - for a holiday it was intolerable. The photos are a complete misrepresentation of the actual hotel. The rooftop pool is basically a plunge pool filled for children screaming and 11 loungers round it. The rooms are so dated and in need to repair. Lights didn’t work, tv remote held together with tape. When I complained I was shown another room that smelt so strongly of mould that I could smell it before I opened the door. The staff where rude and unhelpful. Thank goodness Expedia actually helped me to cancel the reservation. Breakfast was actually good and had loads of choice.


    Miguel E, General Manager at Hotel Barcelo Carmen Granada, responded to this review
    Dear Mr. Williams, I regret that the hotel and its facilities did not meet your expectations. Every day we strive to offer the best services to our guests, so I apologize for your insatisfaction. First of all, I regret that the rooms of our hotel were not according to your tastes and preferences because despite having shown several rooms of the same category as the one booked by you, none of them was to your liking. I would like to point out that our hotel has several categories of rooms, from 'Standard' to 'Deluxe Vistas Alhambra' and 'Junior Suite', which stand out for their great amplitude as well as for their luminosity and wonderful views of the Alhambra and the city . I recommend you to give us the opportunity and book in a future occasion any of the last rooms mentioned, I am sure that your stay will be exceptional. In addition, I regret the incidents that occurred in your room during your stay and not having been informed at the reception immediately as this way you would have been able to solve your problems and make your stay perfect. On future occasions, please, do not hesitate to contact the reception desk staff, who are available 24 hours a day with the objective of satisfying you as much as possible. I also regret that the size of the pool did not meet your expectations, I would like to point out that this is the only hotel located in the center of the city that has a swimming pool for guests. Recently, we have carried out a process of terrace reform in which we have introduced the most modern style, we have also renovated the pool whose size is according to the dimensions of the terrace. Since our main objective is to offer unique experiences, we want our guests to enjoy a magnificent bath while contemplating the beautiful views of the city, highlighting the Alhambra. I am very worried to read your comments about the service you have received during your stay at our hotel, especially since your comments do not reflect the usual standard of service that we strive to insure our guests. I would also like to emphasize that our team did everything possible to make the rest of your stay perferct, allowing you to leave the room and parking later than usual and canceling your reservation without any cost despite being a non-refundable reservation, whose cancellation has a cost of 100% and, in this case, was the hotel who allowed the refund of the difference, as an exceptional case being your agency a mere transmitter. Finally, thanks for pointing out the great quality and variety of our breakfast buffet. Our chef team strives to do a great job every day offering a large number of national and international dishes, to satisfy all tastes and palates. I'm glad to know that they conquered yours. I appreciate the time taken to share your concerns, I hope you give us the opportunity to offer you a better service in the future. Kind regards, Miguel Estévez, General Manager.

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • july 8 2018
    • Montreal, Quebec, Canada
    • Couples

    jjdish

    “4 star location.... 3 star hotel”


    I rarely give bad ratings. i travel quite a bit and try to be honest and fair. I booked this hotel during my second stay in two years in the region. This time, we paid not for the room, but the seem to be fabulous pool on roof. Seriously.... misleading. DO NOT book for the pool. See comments later. We check-in, our room was on first floor, at otherend of building. The room was ok. But with two singles side by side, that slip appart. Smelled disinfectant. I went back to front desk. They offered another tiny room on with a small window to a light well. We stuck to our room and beautiful view... of a construction site. Well that said, hot day, we didn’t come for the room anyway. Up to the pool on the roof! Once there, beautiful view and bar. No lounge chairs to be found, oh and the green grass carpet and brown chairs in photos do not exist. Towels are available at lobby for 10euros or you use you bath towels. Now...the pool. The pool was full of people... I mean over 3 days.....always full, many children. The water was worst than the muggy ones you see in resorts in Cuba in July. They put a glass front, so you can actually see the hairballs and junk floating around. I check everyday, it was always as bad, morning or day. Just awful. Posted a few pics. Anyways, Bacelo needs to update Expedia, Hotels.com and other sites, as their picture are misleading and even wrongfully portraying current hotel and I felt HAD. My two cents.


    Miguel E, General Manager at Hotel Barcelo Carmen Granada, responded to this review
    Dear guest, I am truly grateful for the time you have spent sharing your opinion about your recent stay at our hotel. Your detailed opinion will help us to continue improving the quality of our services. I regret that the room assigned to you was not according to your tastes and preferences. The hotel has several types of rooms from 'Individual' to 'Junior Suite' or 'Deluxe Vistas Alhambra' which stand out for their amplitude, luminosity as well as for their wonderful views of the city and the Alhambra. When the occupation of the hotel allows us, we assign the best rooms regardless of the reserved room category but when the occupation is complete we must assign the rooms in order to what is booked. I recommend that in future occasions you reserve one of them, I am sure you will be very happy. I regret that the size of the pool did not meet your expectations. Recently, we have carried out a process of terrace reform in which we have introduced the most modern style, we have also renovated the pool whose size is according to the dimensions of the terrace. Since our main objective is to offer unique experiences, we want our guests to enjoy a magnificent bath while contemplating the beautiful views of the city, highlighting the Alhambra. Every day our maintenance team performs a deep cleaning of the water for all the guests to enjoy, I regret that at some times of the day the water was not perfectly clean. With the aim of a good use of towels and that each guest can have one, we deliver a towel per person in reception when they require it with a deposit of € 10 that will be automatically removed when the towels are returned. On the other hand, I would like to indicate that we have some new hammocks available on the terrace for our guests, in future occasions please do not hesitate to ask if at any time there is none available. We appreciate the time it took to share your concerns, we hope you give us the opportunity to offer you a better service in the future. Kind regards, Miguel Estévez, General Manager.

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • july 6 2018
    • Family

    gazou2018

    “needs upgrading to be a 4 star hotel”


    a hotel that clearly needs some upgrading and improvements to their air conditioning and bathrooms to be of standard. Very noisy if facing the street and falsely advertising a rooftop pool that is really a large open air bathtub


    Miguel E, General Manager at Hotel Barcelo Carmen Granada, responded to this review
    Dear guest, The vision of our clients is the key to complete the satisfaction of our guests, so I am very grateful for the time spent writing this comment. I regret that the decoration of our facilities was not according to your tastes. We are currently studying a project to modernize the common areas and rooms of the hotel. I am sure that if you visit us in future, you will enjoy your stay to the fullest. We know about the situation of the soundproofing in the rooms, that is why we are working on it to make You enjoy the hotel experience and that nothing affects your rest during your holidays. The hotel has a recently renovated terrace and pool Our main objective is to ensure the maximum satisfaction of our guests so we offer a pool adapted to the dimensions of the terrace from which you can enjoy magnificent panoramic views of the city highlighting the Alhambra. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certaily look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future. Kind regards, Miguel Estévez, General Manager.

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • july 4 2018
    • Antequera, Spain
    • Couples

    rthoma167937

    “Granada trip”


    Good location lovely roof terrace. Easy to get to Alhambra by taxi only €5. Would go for balcony room next time. Has parking underground which is extra but not excessive considering central location. Cafes near by for breakfast if you choose not use hotel.


    Miguel E, General Manager at Hotel Barcelo Carmen Granada, responded to this review
    Dear guest, Thank you very much for your wonderful comments on TripAdvisor, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. First of all, I thank you for pointing out the magnificent location in which we find ourselves. It is a pleasure for us to be located near the main places of interest, as well as leisure areas. I am glad to know that you were able to enjoy all these resources in the most comfortable way possible, accessing on foot without the need to take any transport. The hotel has several categories of rooms available for our guests, among which are 'Deluxe Vistas Alhambra' and 'Junior Suite', I am sure that your future stays in them will be wonderful. Our hotel has a private parking just below our facilities with direct connection from the hall and rooms for greater comfort. In addition, we offer the valet service so that you can not worry about everything from the first moment of their arrival. I assure you that it is an honor to know that you liked our newly renovated terrace. All departments make a great effort in order to offer our guests a great experience on our terrace, enjoying the best views from our pool. Once again thank you for sharing your experience with us and we look forward to serving you again soon. Kind regards, Miguel Estévez, General Manager.

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in Costa Rica

    Select Costa Rica

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Panamá

    Select Panamá

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Hotels in Germany

    Select Germany

    Hotels in Turkey

    Select Turkey

    Hotels in Italy

    Select Italy

    Hotels in Portugal

    Select Portugal

    Hotels in United Arab Emirates

    Select United Arab Emirates

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

    to

      Incorrect dates
      Please enter valid dates

    NIGHTS

    (Optional dates)

    0 nights Selected

    A discount* or promotional code (also appears as “promo code”) is a combination of letters and/or numbers that gives a discount on the normal rate. If you have a discount code, enter it when booking and you will receive a discount on your booking. Once you have entered this code, the prices shown in step 1 of the booking process will already include the relevant discount. 

    The discount does not apply to prices on extras and/or extra services, neither does it apply to prices on last available rooms. You can only apply one discount code per booking which will only be valid at the time of making your booking.** 

    The maximum amount of accumulated discount will be at most 25% off the rate for hotels in Latin America and at most 20% off the rate for European and Mediterranean hotels. It is possible to combine a discount code with a special discount*** (discounts when you book multiple rooms, senior, resident, millennials, large families, etc.) and the discount for being a my Barceló client. 

    *Barceló reserves the right to accept the application of advertised discounts. 

    **The application of the discount code is not valid upon arrival at the hotel; the discount is only applicable at the time of booking. 

    ***The hotel will request to see valid official documents to verify compliance with the conditions for the discount codes and special discounts. In the event of not providing valid official documents or non-compliance, the hotel reserves the right to charge the amounts that were deducted from the original reservation.

    Loading rates...
    The hotel does not have any rates allocated to it

    Best rate
    guaranteed
    Plus

    If you find a better rate outside Barcelo.com, we’ll match it.

    The same applies even if you find a better rate on Barcelo.com after placing your booking.

    For more information