Swimming pool at the Occidental Tamarindo hotel

Occidental Tamarindo

Texto: 105383 An all inclusive hotel with an incredible swimming pool area in the natural paradise of Langosta Beach. Playa Langosta | Guanacaste, Tamarindo
+506 2653 03 63 +506 2653 03 85
Occidental Tamarindo Texto: 105383 4 out of 5 based on 2606 ratings. 2606 user reviews.
Occidental Tamarindo reviewed by JBGLB on . Our stay at the Occidental Tamarindo was exceptional. The staff were amazing; very friendly, accommodating and efficien Our stay at the Occidental Tamarindo was exceptional. The staff were outstanding. They were friendly and efficient. We felt like family. The site was immaculate. The beach area was quiet with... Rating: 5
map

Occidental Tamarindo

Playa Langosta   Guanacaste, Tamarindo  


Points of Interest

43 mi Daniel Oduber Quirós International Airport

711 yards Langosta Beach

10 mi Hacienda Pinilla Golf Club

Premios y Reconocimientos Prizes and Awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Occidental Tamarindo

4.0/5 Round Indicators
| 2647 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


GUESTS’ SCORE

Excellent

44% Complete

1191

Very good

30% Complete

803

Average

14% Complete

393

Poor

4% Complete

132

Very poor

4% Complete

128

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    Joey J Brasilito, Costa Rica. 02/14/2018 Couples

    “Huge disappointment”

    This place has gone wayyyyyy downhill since it was the Barceló. I am a local that frequented this place for nights with my wife. The food is horrible now - some of the worst I’ve had in the entire county. Rooms smell like sewage. I am shocked at how this place has downgraded since it became an Occidental. Everything is terrible!!! Must have been an occident!!

    Alvaro_Fontenla, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this review
     Dear Joey J: First of all, we would like to thank you for giving us your remarks about your recent stay at the Occidental Tamarindo. Please accept our sincerest apologizes if we did not meet your expectations. We are aware that we can improve our product. We can ensure you, our guests feedback are really taken into consideration and we do share all reviews with our heads of department in order to prevent future similar situations. All our team hope to have another opportunity welcoming you again at the Occidental Tamarindo in order to change the image you had on your last visit. Yours sincerely Alvaro Fontenla General Manager

    Round Indicators
    OntarioJackson Ontario. 02/14/2018 Couples

    “Enjoyed our stay here”

    We were here for 6 nights this month as part of a Seniors Discovery Tour of Costa Rica. Lots of things were good about this all inclusive resort. We don't drink much, so the free drinks were not a draw for us, however the drinks and bar snacks were fine. Meals at a buffet do become repetitive, but we could always find something to eat , with lots of fresh fruits and vegetables . Meat and fish dishes at the buffet were tough. Our room was clean with a very comfortable bed , and nice balcony with drying racks for wet clothes and bathing suits, a bonus. We were in the 4000 block and found that the noise from the shows didn't bother us much, especially with the balcony door shut. The grounds are beautiful and very well kept. Lots of shade and wandering monkeys and iguanas all around. The 6000 and area blocks seemed to have the monkeys in the trees outside their balconies. The pool area was nice with lots of lounges in the shade. For the most part you could usually find a lounge, but some people still couldn't resist saving them all day. There was little staff presence around the pool to discourage that practice. Bar service at the pool was spotty. And, although there were some designated smoking areas, people still tended to smoke around the pool and on their balconies. The beach area is private , however not good for children or cautious swimmers. There is a map on the grounds as you go out onto the beach designating where it is safe to swim, but there isn't much of a safe area. Between the rocks, the strong tides and crocodiles we stayed out of the water. Watching the surfers and the swimmers trying the fight the tides near the estuary was entertaining. The walk to the town of Tamarindo is about 20 to 30 minutes on a rough road with no sidewalk, however you can get a taxi for about $5. We paid for Wi-Fi but for the most part it was frustrating, so most of our group gave up. It was sporadic anywhere except in the lobby. Our stay was enjoyable in spite of these small challenges, but our biggest suggestion to management is to train your staff to be friendly. From the unsmiling front desk staff, to the avoid eye contact grounds staff, to the beleaguered restaurant staff, please do some staff training in being friendly and at least appear that you enjoy your job. That would make all the difference in reviews of your property. If the staff is friendly, guests can overlook almost any problems.

    Alvaro_Fontenla, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this review
     Dear OntarioJackson: We are so happy after reading this fantastic review, certainly it encourages us to keep working very hard to provide you with the best holidays in Costa Rica. Thank you again, it means a lot for us our clients share their incredible experience in TripAdvisor. Looking forward to welcome all of you again. Alvaro Fontenla. General Manager. Occidental Tamarindo.

    Round Indicators
    Dan F Island of Hawaii, Hawaii. 02/14/2018 Couples

    “Very Nice Resort”

    This was our first time in an all inclusive hotel, and we enjoyed it. The buffet meals were not gourmet, but convenient and the price was right! The hotel was very nice; rooms were large, airy and clean, the grounds were well kept with beautiful landscaping. The entire staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The location was perfect right on the beach. We would definitely stay there again.

    Alvaro_Fontenla, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this review
     Dear Dan F: Thank you very much for this nice words, it's really important for us you share your experience in TripAdvisor with the rest of the travellers. I'll forward it to all my crew, and I'm sure they will be as thrilled as I'm with it. It will be a pleasure to having you back anytime. In the meantime, I wish you all the best and thank you for staying with us! Have a wonderful week. Alvaro Fontenla. General Manager. Occidental Tamarindo.

    Round Indicators
    Travelingmonkey18 02/13/2018 Couples

    “Fell Short of Expectations”

    We stayed one night at Occidental Tamarindo. However, we were quite disappointed that our expectations, after seeing pictures and reading reviews, were not met. Positives -The grounds incorporate nature, with pleasant landscape design -‎There is plenty of seating space in the restaurant -‎There is plenty of seating space in the Commons areas -‎The location is right next to the beach -‎The location is outside of the main city square -The drinks were good -The breakfast buffet was good -The guard at the entrance to the parking area was very cheerful, friendly and helpful -‎The general staff were friendly and said greetings as they passed by Negatives The Room (Superior Room) -We were greeted at the entrance by a big nest of ants on the exterior wall. Many had made their way to the ground, thus we did not feel comfortable setting our luggage down while we unlocked the door -‎The decorations were dated and the furniture was badly scratched -‎There was only one layer of white, "blackout" type curtains that did not close properly -‎The air conditioner was persistently loud -The floors were not clean, as we found a candy wrapper under a chair, dead bugs in the closet and miscellaneous residue on the floor in the bathroom -‎The bathrooms were not properly cleaned as the mirrors had streaks, there was hair on the walls of both showers and there was residue in areas that should have been wiped or dusted -‎There were no hand towels or face towels in the bathroom. We had to call the front desk to request hand towels and they provided only one -‎There was no coffee maker in the room, though there were coffee and tea options along with instructions. We had to call the front desk to request a machine -We were located near the amphitheater, thus loud music played into the night until about 1 a.m. The food -There were plenty of options, however, the quality of the food for dinner and lunch was very low. There was little flavor, some items were hard to chew and some just didn't taste fresh. -‎The sushi was the worst I've ever had. After trying 3 different types all had the same issue: crunchy undercooked rice with a somewhat burnt flavor -‎The desserts were primarily gelatin-like items with some food coloring added. Others included whipped creme with yet more food coloring. None of it was flavorful -‎The waitress came once to take our initial drink order and never came again The Customer Service -The guard at the front entrance of the hotel was cold, unfriendly and not helpful. He gave us no indication of where to station the car or where to go to access the front desk. After saying hello to him, he didn't even crack a smile then he stared at me the whole time as I waited for my husband to find a place to park the car. Another guard came up and he made comments in Spanish that he thought I would not understand -‎The receptionist was nonchalant and unfriendly. Additionally, her attire was not appropriate as her skirt barely covered her. We found that very unprofessional. The second receptionist was friendlier but still, unprofessional. -‎The bar attendant was unfriendly and brisk My Barceló Benefits -We signed up for My Barcelo Benefits online prior to booking. It promised free WiFi, a discount voucher and a welcome gift. When we got to our room, we realized there was no WiFi access thus we had to go back to reception to obtain two receipts with WiFi codes. We never received a voucher or welcome gift, though we inquired about them. We expected a level of quality similar to what was advertised on the hotel website, however our expectations were by no means met. After having stayed at fine hotels, this one, though boasting of it's caliber, was a lacking imitator that couldn't keep up. It's frustrating when one pays a large sum of money and then the service they pay for falls short. That evening, we took our business to a nearby resort and were 100% satisfied with the alternative. Their website, photos and services served as an introduction to a stay that exceeded expectations. We wish Occidental Tamarindo would have done the same.

    Alvaro_Fontenla, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this review
     Dear Travelingmonkey18: Thank you very much for your nice and elaborated comment. We learn from our clients. Let me apologize for the all inconveniences, I would like to have the opportunity to welcome you again and provide you with the best holidays in Costa Rica. Thank you again, best regards from Tamarindo. Alvaro Fontenla. General Manager. Occidental Tamarindo.

    Round Indicators
    Joanne G Plymouth, Massachusetts. 02/11/2018 Couples

    “Occidental Tamarindo - Good room, staff, and beach but food is a notch below standard fare”

    Beach was amazing. Our room (a duplex) was great and one of the most comfortable beds I ever slept in. Breakfast food was ok but lunch and dinner - not good. I've stayed at many all-inclusive resorts and don't expect gourmet food at all but I'm talking it was at the level where I couldn't chew the steak, hot dogs looked like they had been around for days, chicken wasn't cooked enough - stuff like that. Also the check in process should be improved. I had to go back and ask for WIFI password and instructions, a map for the resort and basic info. When she (Maria was her name I believe) handed me my room and hotel keys and sent me on my way I assumed I would be getting that info from some other staff member but that was not the case. Other than her, all the other staff were wonderful. If food came up a notch to at least the level of other middle-of-the-road resorts I would move up my rating to four star.

    Alvaro_Fontenla, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this review
     Dear Joanne G: Thank you very much for your nice and elaborated comment. We learn from our clients. Let me apologize for the all inconveniences, I would like to have the opportunity to welcome you again and provide you the best holidays in Costa Rica. Thank you again, best regards from Tamarindo. Alvaro Fontenla. General Manager. Occidental Tamarindo.

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 14 2018
    • Brasilito, Costa Rica
    • Couples

    Joey J

    “Huge disappointment”


    This place has gone wayyyyyy downhill since it was the Barceló. I am a local that frequented this place for nights with my wife. The food is horrible now - some of the worst I’ve had in the entire county. Rooms smell like sewage. I am shocked at how this place has downgraded since it became an Occidental. Everything is terrible!!! Must have been an occident!!


    Alvaro_Fontenla, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this review
    Dear Joey J: First of all, we would like to thank you for giving us your remarks about your recent stay at the Occidental Tamarindo. Please accept our sincerest apologizes if we did not meet your expectations. We are aware that we can improve our product. We can ensure you, our guests feedback are really taken into consideration and we do share all reviews with our heads of department in order to prevent future similar situations. All our team hope to have another opportunity welcoming you again at the Occidental Tamarindo in order to change the image you had on your last visit. Yours sincerely Alvaro Fontenla General Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 14 2018
    • Ontario
    • Couples

    OntarioJackson

    “Enjoyed our stay here”


    We were here for 6 nights this month as part of a Seniors Discovery Tour of Costa Rica. Lots of things were good about this all inclusive resort. We don't drink much, so the free drinks were not a draw for us, however the drinks and bar snacks were fine. Meals at a buffet do become repetitive, but we could always find something to eat , with lots of fresh fruits and vegetables . Meat and fish dishes at the buffet were tough. Our room was clean with a very comfortable bed , and nice balcony with drying racks for wet clothes and bathing suits, a bonus. We were in the 4000 block and found that the noise from the shows didn't bother us much, especially with the balcony door shut. The grounds are beautiful and very well kept. Lots of shade and wandering monkeys and iguanas all around. The 6000 and area blocks seemed to have the monkeys in the trees outside their balconies. The pool area was nice with lots of lounges in the shade. For the most part you could usually find a lounge, but some people still couldn't resist saving them all day. There was little staff presence around the pool to discourage that practice. Bar service at the pool was spotty. And, although there were some designated smoking areas, people still tended to smoke around the pool and on their balconies. The beach area is private , however not good for children or cautious swimmers. There is a map on the grounds as you go out onto the beach designating where it is safe to swim, but there isn't much of a safe area. Between the rocks, the strong tides and crocodiles we stayed out of the water. Watching the surfers and the swimmers trying the fight the tides near the estuary was entertaining. The walk to the town of Tamarindo is about 20 to 30 minutes on a rough road with no sidewalk, however you can get a taxi for about $5. We paid for Wi-Fi but for the most part it was frustrating, so most of our group gave up. It was sporadic anywhere except in the lobby. Our stay was enjoyable in spite of these small challenges, but our biggest suggestion to management is to train your staff to be friendly. From the unsmiling front desk staff, to the avoid eye contact grounds staff, to the beleaguered restaurant staff, please do some staff training in being friendly and at least appear that you enjoy your job. That would make all the difference in reviews of your property. If the staff is friendly, guests can overlook almost any problems.


    Alvaro_Fontenla, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this review
    Dear OntarioJackson: We are so happy after reading this fantastic review, certainly it encourages us to keep working very hard to provide you with the best holidays in Costa Rica. Thank you again, it means a lot for us our clients share their incredible experience in TripAdvisor. Looking forward to welcome all of you again. Alvaro Fontenla. General Manager. Occidental Tamarindo.

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 14 2018
    • Island of Hawaii, Hawaii
    • Couples

    Dan F

    “Very Nice Resort”


    This was our first time in an all inclusive hotel, and we enjoyed it. The buffet meals were not gourmet, but convenient and the price was right! The hotel was very nice; rooms were large, airy and clean, the grounds were well kept with beautiful landscaping. The entire staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The location was perfect right on the beach. We would definitely stay there again.


    Alvaro_Fontenla, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this review
    Dear Dan F: Thank you very much for this nice words, it's really important for us you share your experience in TripAdvisor with the rest of the travellers. I'll forward it to all my crew, and I'm sure they will be as thrilled as I'm with it. It will be a pleasure to having you back anytime. In the meantime, I wish you all the best and thank you for staying with us! Have a wonderful week. Alvaro Fontenla. General Manager. Occidental Tamarindo.

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 13 2018
    • Couples

    Travelingmonkey18

    “Fell Short of Expectations”


    We stayed one night at Occidental Tamarindo. However, we were quite disappointed that our expectations, after seeing pictures and reading reviews, were not met. Positives -The grounds incorporate nature, with pleasant landscape design -‎There is plenty of seating space in the restaurant -‎There is plenty of seating space in the Commons areas -‎The location is right next to the beach -‎The location is outside of the main city square -The drinks were good -The breakfast buffet was good -The guard at the entrance to the parking area was very cheerful, friendly and helpful -‎The general staff were friendly and said greetings as they passed by Negatives The Room (Superior Room) -We were greeted at the entrance by a big nest of ants on the exterior wall. Many had made their way to the ground, thus we did not feel comfortable setting our luggage down while we unlocked the door -‎The decorations were dated and the furniture was badly scratched -‎There was only one layer of white, "blackout" type curtains that did not close properly -‎The air conditioner was persistently loud -The floors were not clean, as we found a candy wrapper under a chair, dead bugs in the closet and miscellaneous residue on the floor in the bathroom -‎The bathrooms were not properly cleaned as the mirrors had streaks, there was hair on the walls of both showers and there was residue in areas that should have been wiped or dusted -‎There were no hand towels or face towels in the bathroom. We had to call the front desk to request hand towels and they provided only one -‎There was no coffee maker in the room, though there were coffee and tea options along with instructions. We had to call the front desk to request a machine -We were located near the amphitheater, thus loud music played into the night until about 1 a.m. The food -There were plenty of options, however, the quality of the food for dinner and lunch was very low. There was little flavor, some items were hard to chew and some just didn't taste fresh. -‎The sushi was the worst I've ever had. After trying 3 different types all had the same issue: crunchy undercooked rice with a somewhat burnt flavor -‎The desserts were primarily gelatin-like items with some food coloring added. Others included whipped creme with yet more food coloring. None of it was flavorful -‎The waitress came once to take our initial drink order and never came again The Customer Service -The guard at the front entrance of the hotel was cold, unfriendly and not helpful. He gave us no indication of where to station the car or where to go to access the front desk. After saying hello to him, he didn't even crack a smile then he stared at me the whole time as I waited for my husband to find a place to park the car. Another guard came up and he made comments in Spanish that he thought I would not understand -‎The receptionist was nonchalant and unfriendly. Additionally, her attire was not appropriate as her skirt barely covered her. We found that very unprofessional. The second receptionist was friendlier but still, unprofessional. -‎The bar attendant was unfriendly and brisk My Barceló Benefits -We signed up for My Barcelo Benefits online prior to booking. It promised free WiFi, a discount voucher and a welcome gift. When we got to our room, we realized there was no WiFi access thus we had to go back to reception to obtain two receipts with WiFi codes. We never received a voucher or welcome gift, though we inquired about them. We expected a level of quality similar to what was advertised on the hotel website, however our expectations were by no means met. After having stayed at fine hotels, this one, though boasting of it's caliber, was a lacking imitator that couldn't keep up. It's frustrating when one pays a large sum of money and then the service they pay for falls short. That evening, we took our business to a nearby resort and were 100% satisfied with the alternative. Their website, photos and services served as an introduction to a stay that exceeded expectations. We wish Occidental Tamarindo would have done the same.


    Alvaro_Fontenla, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this review
    Dear Travelingmonkey18: Thank you very much for your nice and elaborated comment. We learn from our clients. Let me apologize for the all inconveniences, I would like to have the opportunity to welcome you again and provide you with the best holidays in Costa Rica. Thank you again, best regards from Tamarindo. Alvaro Fontenla. General Manager. Occidental Tamarindo.

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 11 2018
    • Plymouth, Massachusetts
    • Couples

    Joanne G

    “Occidental Tamarindo - Good room, staff, and beach but food is a notch below standard fare”


    Beach was amazing. Our room (a duplex) was great and one of the most comfortable beds I ever slept in. Breakfast food was ok but lunch and dinner - not good. I've stayed at many all-inclusive resorts and don't expect gourmet food at all but I'm talking it was at the level where I couldn't chew the steak, hot dogs looked like they had been around for days, chicken wasn't cooked enough - stuff like that. Also the check in process should be improved. I had to go back and ask for WIFI password and instructions, a map for the resort and basic info. When she (Maria was her name I believe) handed me my room and hotel keys and sent me on my way I assumed I would be getting that info from some other staff member but that was not the case. Other than her, all the other staff were wonderful. If food came up a notch to at least the level of other middle-of-the-road resorts I would move up my rating to four star.


    Alvaro_Fontenla, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this review
    Dear Joanne G: Thank you very much for your nice and elaborated comment. We learn from our clients. Let me apologize for the all inconveniences, I would like to have the opportunity to welcome you again and provide you the best holidays in Costa Rica. Thank you again, best regards from Tamarindo. Alvaro Fontenla. General Manager. Occidental Tamarindo.

    Vistas aéreas del hotel Occidental Tamarindo

    Where dreams come true

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

    to

      Incorrect dates
      Please enter valid dates

    NIGHTS

    (Optional dates)

    0 nights Selected

    A discount* or promotional code (also appears as “promo code”) is a combination of letters and/or numbers that gives a discount on the normal rate. If you have a discount code, enter it when booking and you will receive a discount on your booking. Once you have entered this code, the prices shown in step 1 of the booking process will already include the relevant discount. 

    The discount does not apply to prices on extras and/or extra services, neither does it apply to prices on last available rooms. You can only apply one discount code per booking which will only be valid at the time of making your booking.** 

    The maximum amount of accumulated discount will be at most 25% off the rate for hotels in Latin America and at most 20% off the rate for European and Mediterranean hotels. It is possible to combine a discount code with a special discount*** (discounts when you book multiple rooms, senior, resident, millennials, large families, etc.) and the discount for being a my Barceló client. 

    *Barceló reserves the right to accept the application of advertised discounts. 

    **The application of the discount code is not valid upon arrival at the hotel; the discount is only applicable at the time of booking. 

    ***The hotel will request to see valid official documents to verify compliance with the conditions for the discount codes and special discounts. In the event of not providing valid official documents or non-compliance, the hotel reserves the right to charge the amounts that were deducted from the original reservation.

    Loading rates...
    The hotel does not have any rates allocated to it

    Best online price guaranteed

    If you find a better rate, we will top it.

    We will return the difference and we will also apply an additional 10% discount to the cost of the final booking. For more information...