Swimming pool at the Occidental Tamarindo hotel

Occidental Tamarindo

Texto: 105383 An all inclusive hotel with an incredible swimming pool area in the natural paradise of Langosta Beach. Playa Langosta | Guanacaste, Tamarindo
+506 2653 03 63 +506 2653 03 85
Occidental Tamarindo Texto: 105383 4 out of 5 based on 2412 ratings. 2412 user reviews.
Occidental Tamarindo reviewed by PrfDCT on . Good hotel, good location, great people Traveling to Costa Rica, I was most enthused about seeing the world renowned natural environment. I left being reinvigorated by the people of Costa Rica as much as their part of the world. The... Rating: 5
map

Occidental Tamarindo

Playa Langosta   Guanacaste, Tamarindo  


Points of Interest

43 mi Daniel Oduber Quirós International Airport

711 yards Langosta Beach

10 mi Hacienda Pinilla Golf Club

Premios y Reconocimientos Prizes and Awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Occidental Tamarindo

4.0/5 Round Indicators
| 2412 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


GUESTS’ SCORE

Excellent

45% Complete

1092

Very good

30% Complete

731

Average

14% Complete

354

Poor

4% Complete

119

Very poor

4% Complete

116

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    PrfDCT Fayetteville, New York. 09/13/2017 Solo travel

    “Good hotel, good location, great people”

    Traveling to Costa Rica, I was most enthused about seeing the world renowned natural environment. I left being reinvigorated by the people of Costa Rica as much as their part of the world. The Occidental was an excellent base from which to tour around Guanacaste. The hotel is very comfortable and well kept. My room was quiet, clean and modern, with a veranda that looked right out on the Pacific. The hotel is all inclusive. Contrary to complaints I have seen posted, I found the food to be appetizing. Because the hotel is attractive to many Costa Ricans, I was able to meet and make friends with people who weren't tourists. This was an enriching experience for me. The beach is a classic Pacific beach. There is a good surf break. I swam across the mouth of a small river and got to an endless stretch of beach that was empty of people. Trips to go diving at the Islas Catalinas and to hike around the Rincon de la Vieja volcano were unique experiences and provided the level of thrill I was looking for. All in all, a wonderful trip.

    Alvaro_Fontenla, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this review
     Dear PrfDCT: We are so happy after reading this fantastic review, certainly it encourages us to keep working very hard to provide you with the best holidays in Costa Rica. Thank you again, it means a lot for us our clients share their incredible experience in TripAdvisor. Looking forward to welcome all of you again, Alvaro Fontenla General Manager Occidental Manager

    Round Indicators
    Victor D Toronto, Canada. 09/04/2017 Couples

    “Discover Costa Rica”

    food was the same everyday no big var. at bar entertaiment very average,tour was ok biches not great yuo can not sweem in ocean,send is black and mix with lava,restorant was closed on satarday and sunday

    Alvaro_Fontenla, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this review
     Dear Victor D: Thank you very much for using part of your valued time to post this interesant and detailed comment about your vacations in Occidental Tamarindo. It`s, without a single doubt, the best way to keep improving everyday and thereby offer the best experience All Inclusive in Costa Rica, Please, accept our excuses for not achieving the excellence demanded by all our clients; I would like to welcome you again and provide you with some dream days as only Barceló Hotels can pull off. Thank you again, have a nice week! Alvaro Fontenla Director General Occidental Tamarindo

    Round Indicators
    Gabriel Z Santa Clarita, California. 08/31/2017 Family

    “Good experience”

    Occidental Tamarindo is an old hotel but it has a good location, ( close to town) very clean, great service (staff is very friendly) and good food ( fresh food and menu changes every day for dinner). We recommended if you are traveling with kids as the value is very good.

    Alvaro_Fontenla, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this review
     Dear Gabriel Z: I really appreciate this comment, it encourages us to keep working on this line to offer the best experience possible in Costa Rica. Please contact us for anything you need, we'll be awaiting for your next visit. Thank you very much for your time. Greetings from sunny Tamarindo. Alvaro Fontenla. General Manager. Occidental Tamarindo.

    Round Indicators
    Hammerheadandbubbles Canada. 08/27/2017 Couples

    “Don't go!”

    Don't Go! In the past I have taken the reviews on Trip Advisor as informative but have always thought myself a open easy going person who doesn't always think the things that bother other people will bother me. Until this time that is. We read all of the Trip Advisor reviews on the Tamarindo Occidental and figured ok well it won't be that great but because it was in the area we were going to be spending most of our time we decided it was worth a try. Don't GO! Seriously don't go. We stayed for two weeks, two weeks of the EXACT SAME FOOD FOR LUNCH AND DINNER! EVERY DAY!!! Breakfast was the same, Lunch was the very same as dinner and I am not kidding when I say that it was the exact same thing every day. There were no themes as we had thought and have experienced at all other ALL INCLUSIVE resorts which by the way, this is not! It is a hotel. They sell day passes to use the facilities of the hotel including the food so there will be 10 to 15 people in the line up for the buffet of Spanish food, day in and day out. I know that we are in their country and that is why we go, to get some influence and experience the culinary delights, but honestly you cannot eat the same food each day every day. They also label the food as "fish, beef, pork, and so on. You have to ask what kind of fish, what kind of pork, what kind of sauce, is it spicy? They also don't speak English so it isn't worth asking what kind of sauce is on the pork. There was no drink of water or fruit juice at check in and the bar is on the other side of the hotel grounds so by the time we got to our room it had been almost 3 hours in the heat without a drink only to find the one small bottle of water in the fridge labeled "mini bar". The bus does stop on the way to the hotel at a store so you can buy water or beer but if you expect beer, water and a welcome drink of some kind you won't as we did get any. They do not speak english there. The entertainment committee only speaks Spanish. There is no conversation in Spanish and then in English. It is only Spanish so when the day pass people are there, the non Spanish speaking people are in the main lobby and the Spanish people are at the pool taking part in the entertainment. We sat for about 5 days during the entire entertainment dancing, or darts, or whatever it was and I can tell you there was no English spoken. We felt as though we couldn't take part because we didn't know what the instructions they were giving were. Very sad. This was our 7th visit to CR and have stayed at several all inclusive up and down the pacific coast for extended periods of time. They all speak english except for this one. The entertainment committee always speaks in their home language and then in English. I have never felt so out of place and not welcome as we did at this place. We ended up eating out in Tamarindo and taking extended day trips to get away from it all. Elsewhere we felt the Pura Vida of CR but not at the hotel. There are two bars, not open at the same time and not open on time. There isn't table service so you must wait with the other 10 to 15 people who are trying to get a drink. The pool is full all the time of families which is fine but the problem was for us is that it was our 30th year anniversary trip there are no romantic hand holding and enjoying a drink with an umbrella and some fruit in it for garnish because there is non stop splashing and yelling. We might as well have been at the local city pool. Seriously picture that and you have a very good idea of what it is like. The drinks and food items on the tables do not get picked up, the garbage in the bathroom by the pool is overflowing even though the service timetable says that someone is there hourly. Not true. The beach is lovely but you cannot swim there so do not think that you can avoid the pool and find some other place to get wet and enjoy Costa Rica. You will have to go somewhere else. You will only get one bottle of water, one Coke and one Fanta in your "Mini Bar" which of course implies that there will be at the very least beer but there isn't and won't be even if you ask. Also there are some responses from the hotel where they say that they will look into and correct the issue with only one bottle of water but they do not. We were there while others had complained and we had complained to the front desk who agreed that we should at least have two bottles of water as there were two people staying int he room only to get NO WATER. I even asked at the front desk who sent me to the kitchen before it was open in the morning (do not go to the kitchen restaurant for water before it is open, I'm telling you, they treat you like the enemy for showing up before it is open) for some water and was told that there wasn't any water in the entire hotel. NONE! unless I wanted tap water. I actually like the water in CR and that would have been fine but what would I have put it in? We were on our way out for a day trip. Room service costs money so don't order from them unless you want to spend 56.00 US for two club house sandwiches and 6 beer. The sandwiches were really good by the way. For airport transfer, you are at the end of the line. They stop at several places prior to you getting to the hotel and when leaving it was almost one and half hours until we reached the airport so be prepared. If you ask for more coffee and less decaf coffee in you room you will get more decaf coffee. If you ask for well done, you will get raw. We ate at the a la carte restaurant and had two raw meals, one of which was a completely different meal altogether. We ordered champaign for our 30th anniversary (that we had to pay extra for) and were given something that tasted like apple cider. We literally just left and chalked it up to the worst experience ever. We also had to ask 5 times for a reservation for our anniversary and were told to come back 5 times. So unorganized. If you are at the hotel now or are planing a trip do not complain while you are there because the people who did smile and greet you won't anymore. You are labeled a trouble maker and will be even more on the outside. Please do yourself a favour and read all of the Terrible, Poor and Average reviews and heed each review as they are the exact same things we experienced. We may be coming across as "snobby" but honestly for the money we spent which would be equivalent to the Riu or Papagayo Occidental or the Diria Tamarindo and then buy your lunch and dinner out you might as well stay with one of them. The food is a big deal when staying for two weeks. I would say that if you have to stay at this hotel do not stay for more than three days. As for the Tamarindo Occidental responding to our complaints, please don't. Your responses are all the same and you promise the same things and don't deliver. I am also submitting this complaint to Air Canada Vacations as this is NOT an all inclusive vacation destination worthy of the money spent. I encourage all who have complained in the past or the near future to send their complaints to their travel agents.

    Alvaro_Fontenla, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this review
     Dear Hammerhead_Bubbles: First of all, we would like to thank you for giving us your remarks about your recent stay at the Occidental Tamarindo. Please accept our sincerest apologizes if we did not meet your expectations. We are aware that we can improve our product. We can ensure you, our guests feedback are really taken into consideration and we do share all reviews with our heads of department in order to prevent future similar situations. All our team hope to have another opportunity welcoming you again at the Occidental Tamarindo in order to change the image you had on your last visit. Yours sincerely Alvaro Fontenla General Manager

    Round Indicators
    Deyler F 08/27/2017 Family

    “Terrible service”

    In the first instance the delivery of the rooms was late, first at 3pm then 3:30 pm and they were delivering almost at 4:30 pm, second the snack area had nothing available because they were in "inspection" which I think is a Mockery to the guest, third party did not open the restaurant for dinner because of the number of guests (this is already unusual), the cocktails are good variety but there is no standard, the bartenders do it as they please, the WiFi area is only in reception and after all they charge, there is only one pool not very big and they do not have "pool bar", what is rescued is the activities that the group is quite attentive.

    Alvaro_Fontenla, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this review
     Dear Deyler F: With great regret, we have read your review regarding your days with here, and I must apologize in behalf of all my crew for not being able to fullfil your expectations about the Hotel. We have analysed the comment to apply measures which will avoid future discomfort like yours. Thank for your time, it would be an honour to have you back in the near future. Best regards from Tamarindo, Have a wonderful week, Alvaro Fontenla Director Fontenla Occidental Tamarindo

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • september 13 2017
    • Fayetteville, New York
    • Solo travel

    PrfDCT

    “Good hotel, good location, great people”


    Traveling to Costa Rica, I was most enthused about seeing the world renowned natural environment. I left being reinvigorated by the people of Costa Rica as much as their part of the world. The Occidental was an excellent base from which to tour around Guanacaste. The hotel is very comfortable and well kept. My room was quiet, clean and modern, with a veranda that looked right out on the Pacific. The hotel is all inclusive. Contrary to complaints I have seen posted, I found the food to be appetizing. Because the hotel is attractive to many Costa Ricans, I was able to meet and make friends with people who weren't tourists. This was an enriching experience for me. The beach is a classic Pacific beach. There is a good surf break. I swam across the mouth of a small river and got to an endless stretch of beach that was empty of people. Trips to go diving at the Islas Catalinas and to hike around the Rincon de la Vieja volcano were unique experiences and provided the level of thrill I was looking for. All in all, a wonderful trip.


    Alvaro_Fontenla, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this review
    Dear PrfDCT: We are so happy after reading this fantastic review, certainly it encourages us to keep working very hard to provide you with the best holidays in Costa Rica. Thank you again, it means a lot for us our clients share their incredible experience in TripAdvisor. Looking forward to welcome all of you again, Alvaro Fontenla General Manager Occidental Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • september 4 2017
    • Toronto, Canada
    • Couples

    Victor D

    “Discover Costa Rica”


    food was the same everyday no big var. at bar entertaiment very average,tour was ok biches not great yuo can not sweem in ocean,send is black and mix with lava,restorant was closed on satarday and sunday


    Alvaro_Fontenla, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this review
    Dear Victor D: Thank you very much for using part of your valued time to post this interesant and detailed comment about your vacations in Occidental Tamarindo. It`s, without a single doubt, the best way to keep improving everyday and thereby offer the best experience All Inclusive in Costa Rica, Please, accept our excuses for not achieving the excellence demanded by all our clients; I would like to welcome you again and provide you with some dream days as only Barceló Hotels can pull off. Thank you again, have a nice week! Alvaro Fontenla Director General Occidental Tamarindo

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • august 31 2017
    • Santa Clarita, California
    • Family

    Gabriel Z

    “Good experience”


    Occidental Tamarindo is an old hotel but it has a good location, ( close to town) very clean, great service (staff is very friendly) and good food ( fresh food and menu changes every day for dinner). We recommended if you are traveling with kids as the value is very good.


    Alvaro_Fontenla, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this review
    Dear Gabriel Z: I really appreciate this comment, it encourages us to keep working on this line to offer the best experience possible in Costa Rica. Please contact us for anything you need, we'll be awaiting for your next visit. Thank you very much for your time. Greetings from sunny Tamarindo. Alvaro Fontenla. General Manager. Occidental Tamarindo.

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • august 27 2017
    • Canada
    • Couples

    Hammerheadandbubbles

    “Don't go!”


    Don't Go! In the past I have taken the reviews on Trip Advisor as informative but have always thought myself a open easy going person who doesn't always think the things that bother other people will bother me. Until this time that is. We read all of the Trip Advisor reviews on the Tamarindo Occidental and figured ok well it won't be that great but because it was in the area we were going to be spending most of our time we decided it was worth a try. Don't GO! Seriously don't go. We stayed for two weeks, two weeks of the EXACT SAME FOOD FOR LUNCH AND DINNER! EVERY DAY!!! Breakfast was the same, Lunch was the very same as dinner and I am not kidding when I say that it was the exact same thing every day. There were no themes as we had thought and have experienced at all other ALL INCLUSIVE resorts which by the way, this is not! It is a hotel. They sell day passes to use the facilities of the hotel including the food so there will be 10 to 15 people in the line up for the buffet of Spanish food, day in and day out. I know that we are in their country and that is why we go, to get some influence and experience the culinary delights, but honestly you cannot eat the same food each day every day. They also label the food as "fish, beef, pork, and so on. You have to ask what kind of fish, what kind of pork, what kind of sauce, is it spicy? They also don't speak English so it isn't worth asking what kind of sauce is on the pork. There was no drink of water or fruit juice at check in and the bar is on the other side of the hotel grounds so by the time we got to our room it had been almost 3 hours in the heat without a drink only to find the one small bottle of water in the fridge labeled "mini bar". The bus does stop on the way to the hotel at a store so you can buy water or beer but if you expect beer, water and a welcome drink of some kind you won't as we did get any. They do not speak english there. The entertainment committee only speaks Spanish. There is no conversation in Spanish and then in English. It is only Spanish so when the day pass people are there, the non Spanish speaking people are in the main lobby and the Spanish people are at the pool taking part in the entertainment. We sat for about 5 days during the entire entertainment dancing, or darts, or whatever it was and I can tell you there was no English spoken. We felt as though we couldn't take part because we didn't know what the instructions they were giving were. Very sad. This was our 7th visit to CR and have stayed at several all inclusive up and down the pacific coast for extended periods of time. They all speak english except for this one. The entertainment committee always speaks in their home language and then in English. I have never felt so out of place and not welcome as we did at this place. We ended up eating out in Tamarindo and taking extended day trips to get away from it all. Elsewhere we felt the Pura Vida of CR but not at the hotel. There are two bars, not open at the same time and not open on time. There isn't table service so you must wait with the other 10 to 15 people who are trying to get a drink. The pool is full all the time of families which is fine but the problem was for us is that it was our 30th year anniversary trip there are no romantic hand holding and enjoying a drink with an umbrella and some fruit in it for garnish because there is non stop splashing and yelling. We might as well have been at the local city pool. Seriously picture that and you have a very good idea of what it is like. The drinks and food items on the tables do not get picked up, the garbage in the bathroom by the pool is overflowing even though the service timetable says that someone is there hourly. Not true. The beach is lovely but you cannot swim there so do not think that you can avoid the pool and find some other place to get wet and enjoy Costa Rica. You will have to go somewhere else. You will only get one bottle of water, one Coke and one Fanta in your "Mini Bar" which of course implies that there will be at the very least beer but there isn't and won't be even if you ask. Also there are some responses from the hotel where they say that they will look into and correct the issue with only one bottle of water but they do not. We were there while others had complained and we had complained to the front desk who agreed that we should at least have two bottles of water as there were two people staying int he room only to get NO WATER. I even asked at the front desk who sent me to the kitchen before it was open in the morning (do not go to the kitchen restaurant for water before it is open, I'm telling you, they treat you like the enemy for showing up before it is open) for some water and was told that there wasn't any water in the entire hotel. NONE! unless I wanted tap water. I actually like the water in CR and that would have been fine but what would I have put it in? We were on our way out for a day trip. Room service costs money so don't order from them unless you want to spend 56.00 US for two club house sandwiches and 6 beer. The sandwiches were really good by the way. For airport transfer, you are at the end of the line. They stop at several places prior to you getting to the hotel and when leaving it was almost one and half hours until we reached the airport so be prepared. If you ask for more coffee and less decaf coffee in you room you will get more decaf coffee. If you ask for well done, you will get raw. We ate at the a la carte restaurant and had two raw meals, one of which was a completely different meal altogether. We ordered champaign for our 30th anniversary (that we had to pay extra for) and were given something that tasted like apple cider. We literally just left and chalked it up to the worst experience ever. We also had to ask 5 times for a reservation for our anniversary and were told to come back 5 times. So unorganized. If you are at the hotel now or are planing a trip do not complain while you are there because the people who did smile and greet you won't anymore. You are labeled a trouble maker and will be even more on the outside. Please do yourself a favour and read all of the Terrible, Poor and Average reviews and heed each review as they are the exact same things we experienced. We may be coming across as "snobby" but honestly for the money we spent which would be equivalent to the Riu or Papagayo Occidental or the Diria Tamarindo and then buy your lunch and dinner out you might as well stay with one of them. The food is a big deal when staying for two weeks. I would say that if you have to stay at this hotel do not stay for more than three days. As for the Tamarindo Occidental responding to our complaints, please don't. Your responses are all the same and you promise the same things and don't deliver. I am also submitting this complaint to Air Canada Vacations as this is NOT an all inclusive vacation destination worthy of the money spent. I encourage all who have complained in the past or the near future to send their complaints to their travel agents.


    Alvaro_Fontenla, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this review
    Dear Hammerhead_Bubbles: First of all, we would like to thank you for giving us your remarks about your recent stay at the Occidental Tamarindo. Please accept our sincerest apologizes if we did not meet your expectations. We are aware that we can improve our product. We can ensure you, our guests feedback are really taken into consideration and we do share all reviews with our heads of department in order to prevent future similar situations. All our team hope to have another opportunity welcoming you again at the Occidental Tamarindo in order to change the image you had on your last visit. Yours sincerely Alvaro Fontenla General Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • august 27 2017
    • Family

    Deyler F

    “Terrible service”


    In the first instance the delivery of the rooms was late, first at 3pm then 3:30 pm and they were delivering almost at 4:30 pm, second the snack area had nothing available because they were in "inspection" which I think is a Mockery to the guest, third party did not open the restaurant for dinner because of the number of guests (this is already unusual), the cocktails are good variety but there is no standard, the bartenders do it as they please, the WiFi area is only in reception and after all they charge, there is only one pool not very big and they do not have "pool bar", what is rescued is the activities that the group is quite attentive.


    Alvaro_Fontenla, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this review
    Dear Deyler F: With great regret, we have read your review regarding your days with here, and I must apologize in behalf of all my crew for not being able to fullfil your expectations about the Hotel. We have analysed the comment to apply measures which will avoid future discomfort like yours. Thank for your time, it would be an honour to have you back in the near future. Best regards from Tamarindo, Have a wonderful week, Alvaro Fontenla Director Fontenla Occidental Tamarindo

    Vistas aéreas del hotel Occidental Tamarindo

    Where dreams come true

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

    to

      Incorrect dates
      Please enter valid dates

    NIGHTS

    (Optional dates)

    A discount* or promotional code (also appears as “promo code”) is a combination of letters and/or numbers that gives a discount on the normal rate. If you have a discount code, enter it when booking and you will receive a discount on your booking. Once you have entered this code, the prices shown in step 1 of the booking process will already include the relevant discount. 

    The discount does not apply to prices on extras and/or extra services, neither does it apply to prices on last available rooms. You can only apply one discount code per booking which will only be valid at the time of making your booking.** 

    The maximum amount of accumulated discount will be at most 25% off the rate for hotels in Latin America and at most 20% off the rate for European and Mediterranean hotels. It is possible to combine a discount code with a special discount*** (discounts when you book multiple rooms, senior, resident, millennials, large families, etc.) and the discount for being a my Barceló client. 

    *Barceló reserves the right to accept the application of advertised discounts. 

    **The application of the discount code is not valid upon arrival at the hotel; the discount is only applicable at the time of booking. 

    ***The hotel will request to see valid official documents to verify compliance with the conditions for the discount codes and special discounts. In the event of not providing valid official documents or non-compliance, the hotel reserves the right to charge the amounts that were deducted from the original reservation.

    Loading rates...
    The hotel does not have any rates allocated to it

    Best online price guaranteed

    If you find a better rate, we will top it.

    We will return the difference and we will also apply an additional 10% discount to the cost of the final booking. For more information...