Swimming pool at the Occidental Tamarindo hotel

Occidental Tamarindo

Texto: 105383 All-inclusive hotel with an incredible swimming pool area in the natural paradise of Langosta beach. Playa Langosta | Guanacaste, Tamarindo
+506 2653 03 63 +506 2653 03 85
Occidental Tamarindo Texto: 105383 4 out of 5 based on 2327 ratings. 2327 user reviews.
Occidental Tamarindo reviewed by mq17cr on . Find something else Not worth the money, food is really poor, entertainment is really bad. For the money you should find something else with better food, the hotel caters more to locals than to tourists... No nurse aid... Rating: 2
map

Occidental Tamarindo

Playa Langosta   Guanacaste, Tamarindo  


Points of Interest

43 mi Daniel Oduber Quirós International Airport

711 yards Langosta Beach

10 mi Hacienda Pinilla Golf Club

Premios y Reconocimientos Prizes and Awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Occidental Tamarindo

4.0/5 Round Indicators
| 2337 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


GUESTS’ SCORE

Excellent

45% Complete

1057

Very good

30% Complete

712

Average

14% Complete

343

Poor

5% Complete

117

Very poor

4% Complete

109

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    roxana869 07/16/2017 Family

    “Great hotel, great beaches, great amenities!”

    The best part about this hotel is the staff. They are friendly and super accommodating. I wouldn't recommend this place if you're a foodie (the food is not one of its fortés - I would recommend the buffet food be covered and not left out in the open as there were flies all over and it was really hot!) We bypassed the buffet-type food altogether and opted for the a-la-carte Oceano restaurant which was awesome!!! If you're lucky to meet Alberto (Capitan -a maitre d' of sorts- at the buffet, he is wonderful as his his staff -especially Adina and Tatiana). The beach area with chairs covered by a canopy of trees was my favorite. For me, this place is great for families with small kids. This was a good choice as a start-off point of our first Costa Rican adventure. If I ever came back, it's to visit the staff. Next time, I'll choose a smaller, more intimate hotel.

    Alvaro_Fontenla, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this review
     Dear roxana869: I really appreciate this comment, it encourages us to keep working on this line to offer the best experience possible in Costa Rica. Please contact us for anything you need, we'll be awaiting for your next visit. Thank you very much for your time. Greetings from sunny Tamarindo. Alvaro Fontenla. General Manager. Occidental Tamarindo.

    Round Indicators
    mq17cr Orlando, Florida. 07/11/2017 Family

    “Find something else”

    Not worth the money, food is really poor, entertainment is really bad. For the money you should find something else with better food, the hotel caters more to locals than to tourists... No nurse aid and wi-fi is $5 per day.

    Alvaro_Fontenla, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this review
     Dear mq17cr: I appreciate you have posted a comment about your days in Tamarindo. However I must ask for apologies in behalf all my crew and myself. It's painfully obvious we didnt make it right with you and that makes us feel terrible, since clients happiness is everything for us. Please use my contact for whatever you may need, it would be an honour to welcome you again in better circumstances. Have a nice week! Alvaro Fontenla. General Manager. Occidental Tamarindo

    Round Indicators
    Luis5062015 San Jose, Costa Rica. 07/09/2017 Couples

    “Average All-inclusive hotel”

    We stayed two nights from Sunday to Tuesday in the West Tamarindo, apart from new painting they are still the same facilities and options when it was Barcelo Langosta. It is a relatively small hotel, with the facilities of the all inclusive service in the three times of food, snacks and drinks. The food is nothing special and in our case after two days the taste and variety became repetitive, could not stay more than 4 days eating the same. In the area of the salad bar at the restaurant you will feel an unpleasant smell that could take away your appetite. In general facilities are in good condition, the rooms are comfortable with some minor maintenance missing details, the pool is not very large, gym is useful, they offered an adequate variety of cocktails, the staff were always friendly and helpful. The best thing about the hotel is the beach to which you have access. It is a quiet, no-frills hotel located in a beautiful location.

    Alvaro_Fontenla, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this review
     Dear Luis5062015: Thank you very much for using part of your valued time to post this interesant and detailed comment about your vacations in Occidental Tamarindo. It's, without a single doubt, the best way to keep improving everyday and thereby offer the best experience All In Costa Rica. Please, accept our excuses for not achieving the excellence demanded by all our clients; I would like to welcome you again and provide you with some dream days as only Barceló Hotels can pull of. Have a nice weekend! Best regards! Alvaro Fontenla. General Manager. Occidental Tamarindo.

    Round Indicators
    Haven007 Texas City, Texas. 07/05/2017 Solo travel

    “Crazy that in 2017 they cannot fix a simple issue like WIFI !”

    Without wifi life is NOT pura vida ! Explain please why you are not able to fix this ? No $ to fix up or don't have the competency ? I would avoid this place because in today's world we all need wifi to stay connected to family, friends and the world in general.

    Alvaro_Fontenla, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this review
     Dear Haven007: I appreciate you have posted a comment about your days in Tamarindo. However I must ask for apologies in behalf all my crew and myself. It's painfully obvious we didnt make it right with you and that makes us feel terrible, since clients happiness is everything for us. Please use my contact for whatever you may need, it would be an honour to welcome you again in better circumstances. Have a nice weekend! Best regards! Alvaro Fontenla. General Manager. Occidental Tamarindo.

    Round Indicators
    walkero2016 Mission Viejo, California. 06/30/2017 Friends getaway

    “Nice and on the beach!”

    Had a very good experience at the Occidental a few days ago. Staff was helpful, rooms were very clean, great location, and the restaurant provided excellent meals. My students enjoyed learning to surf right out in front of the hotel. Great experience!!

    Alvaro_Fontenla, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this review
     Dear walkero2016: I really appreciate this comment, it encourages us to keep working on this line to offer the best experience possible in Costa Rica. Please contact us for anything you need, we'll be awaiting for your next visit. Thank you very much for your time. Greetings from sunny Tamarindo. Alvaro Fontenla. General Manager. Occidental Tamarindo.

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • july 16 2017
    • Family

    roxana869

    “Great hotel, great beaches, great amenities!”


    The best part about this hotel is the staff. They are friendly and super accommodating. I wouldn't recommend this place if you're a foodie (the food is not one of its fortés - I would recommend the buffet food be covered and not left out in the open as there were flies all over and it was really hot!) We bypassed the buffet-type food altogether and opted for the a-la-carte Oceano restaurant which was awesome!!! If you're lucky to meet Alberto (Capitan -a maitre d' of sorts- at the buffet, he is wonderful as his his staff -especially Adina and Tatiana). The beach area with chairs covered by a canopy of trees was my favorite. For me, this place is great for families with small kids. This was a good choice as a start-off point of our first Costa Rican adventure. If I ever came back, it's to visit the staff. Next time, I'll choose a smaller, more intimate hotel.


    Alvaro_Fontenla, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this review
    Dear roxana869: I really appreciate this comment, it encourages us to keep working on this line to offer the best experience possible in Costa Rica. Please contact us for anything you need, we'll be awaiting for your next visit. Thank you very much for your time. Greetings from sunny Tamarindo. Alvaro Fontenla. General Manager. Occidental Tamarindo.

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • july 11 2017
    • Orlando, Florida
    • Family

    mq17cr

    “Find something else”


    Not worth the money, food is really poor, entertainment is really bad. For the money you should find something else with better food, the hotel caters more to locals than to tourists... No nurse aid and wi-fi is $5 per day.


    Alvaro_Fontenla, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this review
    Dear mq17cr: I appreciate you have posted a comment about your days in Tamarindo. However I must ask for apologies in behalf all my crew and myself. It's painfully obvious we didnt make it right with you and that makes us feel terrible, since clients happiness is everything for us. Please use my contact for whatever you may need, it would be an honour to welcome you again in better circumstances. Have a nice week! Alvaro Fontenla. General Manager. Occidental Tamarindo

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • july 9 2017
    • San Jose, Costa Rica
    • Couples

    Luis5062015

    “Average All-inclusive hotel”


    We stayed two nights from Sunday to Tuesday in the West Tamarindo, apart from new painting they are still the same facilities and options when it was Barcelo Langosta. It is a relatively small hotel, with the facilities of the all inclusive service in the three times of food, snacks and drinks. The food is nothing special and in our case after two days the taste and variety became repetitive, could not stay more than 4 days eating the same. In the area of the salad bar at the restaurant you will feel an unpleasant smell that could take away your appetite. In general facilities are in good condition, the rooms are comfortable with some minor maintenance missing details, the pool is not very large, gym is useful, they offered an adequate variety of cocktails, the staff were always friendly and helpful. The best thing about the hotel is the beach to which you have access. It is a quiet, no-frills hotel located in a beautiful location.


    Alvaro_Fontenla, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this review
    Dear Luis5062015: Thank you very much for using part of your valued time to post this interesant and detailed comment about your vacations in Occidental Tamarindo. It's, without a single doubt, the best way to keep improving everyday and thereby offer the best experience All In Costa Rica. Please, accept our excuses for not achieving the excellence demanded by all our clients; I would like to welcome you again and provide you with some dream days as only Barceló Hotels can pull of. Have a nice weekend! Best regards! Alvaro Fontenla. General Manager. Occidental Tamarindo.

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • july 5 2017
    • Texas City, Texas
    • Solo travel

    Haven007

    “Crazy that in 2017 they cannot fix a simple issue like WIFI !”


    Without wifi life is NOT pura vida ! Explain please why you are not able to fix this ? No $ to fix up or don't have the competency ? I would avoid this place because in today's world we all need wifi to stay connected to family, friends and the world in general.


    Alvaro_Fontenla, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this review
    Dear Haven007: I appreciate you have posted a comment about your days in Tamarindo. However I must ask for apologies in behalf all my crew and myself. It's painfully obvious we didnt make it right with you and that makes us feel terrible, since clients happiness is everything for us. Please use my contact for whatever you may need, it would be an honour to welcome you again in better circumstances. Have a nice weekend! Best regards! Alvaro Fontenla. General Manager. Occidental Tamarindo.

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • june 30 2017
    • Mission Viejo, California
    • Friends getaway

    walkero2016

    “Nice and on the beach!”


    Had a very good experience at the Occidental a few days ago. Staff was helpful, rooms were very clean, great location, and the restaurant provided excellent meals. My students enjoyed learning to surf right out in front of the hotel. Great experience!!


    Alvaro_Fontenla, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this review
    Dear walkero2016: I really appreciate this comment, it encourages us to keep working on this line to offer the best experience possible in Costa Rica. Please contact us for anything you need, we'll be awaiting for your next visit. Thank you very much for your time. Greetings from sunny Tamarindo. Alvaro Fontenla. General Manager. Occidental Tamarindo.

    Vistas aéreas del hotel Occidental Tamarindo

    Where dreams come true

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

    to

      Incorrect dates
      Please enter valid dates

    NIGHTS

    (Optional dates)

    A discount* or promotional code (also appears as “promo code”) is a combination of letters and/or numbers that gives a discount on the normal rate. If you have a discount code, enter it when booking and you will receive a discount on your booking. Once you have entered this code, the prices shown in step 1 of the booking process will already include the relevant discount. 

    The discount does not apply to prices on extras and/or extra services, neither does it apply to prices on last available rooms. Only one discount code per booking is permitted. The maximum amount of accumulated discount will be at most 25% off the rate for hotels in Latin America and at most 20% off the rate for Europe and Mediterranean hotels. It is possible to combine a discount code with a special discount** (discounts when you book multiple rooms, senior, resident, millennials, large families, etc.) and the discount for being a my Barceló client. 

    * Barceló reserves the right to accept the application of advertised discounts. 

    ** At check-in, the hotel will request to see valid official documents to verify compliance with conditions for the discount codes and special discounts. In the event of not providing valid official documents or non-compliance, the hotel reserves the right to charge the amounts that were deducted from the original reservation.

    Loading rates...
    The hotel does not have any rates allocated to it

    Best online price guaranteed

    If you find a better rate, we will top it.

    We will return the difference and we will also apply an additional 10% discount to the cost of the final booking. For more information...