Hotel Beach  Occidental Grand Punta Cana Resort

Occidental Punta Cana

Texto: 37256 This large resort in Punta Cana brings together the best variety of water sports and entertainment options, including the famous Mangú dance club. Avenida España, S/N. Playa El Cortesito | 23301 | La Altagracia | Punta Cana | República Dominicana
809 221 8787 809 221 8790
Occidental Punta Cana Texto: 37256 4 out of 5 based on 2278 ratings. 2278 user reviews.
Occidental Punta Cana reviewed by FARLEY K on . Immaculate Grounds PRO's: In numerous trips to Punta Cana, this resort is the best manicured one can expect. The evening entertainment was definitely ABOVE average, for the Caribbean. Perhaps one or two shows werent... Rating: 3
map

Occidental Punta Cana

Avenida España, S/N. Playa El Cortesito   23301   La Altagracia   Punta Cana   República Dominicana  


Points of Interest

15 mi Punta Cana International Airport

Right on the beach Beach

Premios y Reconocimientos Prizes and Awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Occidental Punta Cana

4.0/5 Round Indicators
| 2312 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


GUESTS’ SCORE

Excellent

50% Complete

1178

Very good

24% Complete

564

Average

10% Complete

248

Poor

6% Complete

144

Very poor

7% Complete

179

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    marilynheesbeen Strathroy, Canada. 02/16/2018 Couples

    “Wont go back!!!!”

    We booked to go out of London airport and would highly recommend that instead of the stress of Toronto airport!!!! Air Transat offered a great package for 2 weeks and we were so excited to try a new resort with all the extra perks such as an ugrade to first club!! Unfortunately our excitement was short lived!!!! First they said at the desk they didnt have our reservation and then they finally found it but we had to go back to get our bracelets upgraded to the first club.We had paid the extra for the oceanfront room with the hot tub on the balcony and enjoyed that but would have been nice to have a blind or screen for when your using the hot tub!!! We put towels over the railing for privacy.The maids for the rooms are not the best so be forewarned!! If your not chasing them for the basic room ammenities ie coffee, sugar, creamers etc your chasing for towels or faceclothes. Same dirt was in the same spots for the 2 weeks we were there. The concierges at our building 26 were nice at first and very overbearing by the end of the 2 weeks. They are at you constantly to go to meetings!!!! We started coming in the back of our building so as not to run into them!!!! And no matter where your going these guys are chasing after you!!!! We talked to numerous people who have joined the Occidental Club and general census is their not happy with what they got for their money!!!! If your looking for a resort with shade, DO NOT GO HERE!!!!! Buffet is passable at best but we did have good service from Jacquelin Batia in the first club section. Really enjoyed the Mexican restaurant but disappointed they did not do the special coffees. Pool was okay and swim up bar was disappointing!!!!! Hard waterfall going and drinks would get full of water!!!! Shows dont start till 10 at night and as were early risers that doesnt work so well!!! People save chairs and dont come back for hours!!!!!! Beach was wide open to the sun, no shade anywhere to be had unless your in the royal club!!! We dont expect more than comfort, reasonable ammenities and to have a good time!! All of which were sadly lacking in this resort!!! We are not first time travellers and know what is available from other hotels!!!! We will not be returning!!!!!
    Round Indicators
    02/15/2018 Family

    “February 3 - 10th vacation”

    Stayed at the First Club in a studio unit although I am a 1 bedroom owner. Not happy with this and spoke with my rep but nothing was done to resolve it. The rep never got back to me on this and subsequently I find out that other members were in the same boat.

    gpcsm, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Punta Cana, responded to this review
     Dear valued guest, We would first like to thank you for choosing us as your holiday destination. We are sincerely sorry that you have left with a negative perception of our hotel due to the room assignment dissapointment by the club. Our goal is to always provide each and every one of our guests an excellent holiday experience or ameliorate any issues they may be experiencing during their stay with us. We truly regret that we were unable to do so in your case and have forwarded your comment for our management to take the appropriate actions. Once again, we sincerely apologize for this and your dissatisfaction with the retribution you received. We would like to have the opportunity show you how committed we are to our guests' satisfaction. Because of this, we truly hope you reconsider staying with us in the future, so we can change your perception of our hotel. It was a pleasure serving you. Best regards, Luz Salcé Guest Service Manager

    Round Indicators
    TericksonMkaz 02/14/2018 Couples

    “Amazing”

    Second year in the same resort and we will go back again. Had a wonderful time with just me and my boyfriend. Only thing I don't recommended in the Dominican restaurant, always bites back. I do however wish the resort would open up the pizza restraunt for lunch, would just make sense. Thank you Occidental Caribe, we had another great 9 day vacation with you.

    gpcsm, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Punta Cana, responded to this review
     Dear TericksonMkaz, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and for choosing us once again. We are happy to know that once again you enjoyed a great holiday experience, that you will definetely continue experiencing. Your suggestion will be forwarded to the management for evaluation, guests' constructive comments are always our biggest improvement tool. We hope you will honor us again with a future visit, as an opportunity to offer you another unforgettable stay. We are at your disposal for any request or inquiry. It was our pleasure to serve you. Sincerely, Luz Salcé Guest Service Manager

    Round Indicators
    hermes112018 Montreal, Canada. 02/13/2018 Family

    “Poor service”

    No running water for 10 hours and still going. I asked for 4 bottles of water, to wash baby bottles: Received only 2. For anything you need (simple things....like coffee for breakfast, a glass of water) you would have to ask at least 2-3 times. Front desk, Operator, Room sercice never answer the phone. Room dirty: sand and dirt on the floor never get cleaned, shower all oily. We are four, but everyday they would take our towels and you would have to run again to find towels. When they tell you they will do something, you can just forget about it! Staff don't care and worst of all, managers don't care!!!! If you want to enjoy your vacation and rest, do not come to this hotel!

    gpcsm, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Punta Cana, responded to this review
     Dear hermes112018, First and foremost, I would like to thank you for taking a moment of your time to share your opinion with us. We are sad to learn you were dissapointed with our holiday offering and service provided, but know we have reviewed all of your comments and suggestions and have taken the liberty of sharing them with the management of our resort, who are well known for striving to make our guests' stay memorable and will follow up to apply the correspoinding solutions. I can assure you that our team members are well service oriented, which is why it is very concerning for us to read about your experience. It is through unbiased feedback and customer reviews that we are able to target the specific areas where we need to improve. Please accept our sincere apology for any difficulties you might experienced. Once again, we guarantee that we will look further into your claims and take any steps necessary to improve in these areas. It was truly our pleasure to serve you. Very cordially, Luz Salcé Guest Service Manager

    Round Indicators
    milan_nozka london. 02/13/2018 Couples

    “a week in occidental ”

    beautiful renovated hotel with very attentive staff., perfect location at the beach, plenty restaurants to choose from, really wide variety breakfast/lunch/dinner buffet,stayed at building 26 / 218 right by the sea, even though i had a standard room a had view at the sea,rooms are very spacious, cleanning lady’s do an amazing job, always work with smile and some song in spanish, mild issues at arriving with all inclusive, free wifi vs paid wifi, but sorted in my favor by reception manager, our house 26 reception guy Johnny was also very helpful with giving us all important information, bought the trip to Saona island from hotel too, even though is a few dollars extra that from outside, but was highly recommended by guests who already went, looking forward to it! i would and will definitely recommend to my friends and my clients,and when staying in DR you will be my first choice as long as you keep your standards, i read many of your reviews, and as fussy traveler can the bad reviews one are made up,and irrelevant,very pleased with my choice of hotel, Milan

    gpcsm, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Punta Cana, responded to this review
     Dear milan_nozka, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent stay with us at Occidental Punta Cana. Reading your positive feedback we can confirm that our staff members constantly strive to provide outstanding service, which is very satisfying. That said, we are delighted to have received such a stellar review on your behalf and, it goes without saying, that your recommendation is our greatest achievement. We reiterate our appreciation to you for having chosen to stay with us. It was truly a pleasure to serve you. Best regards, Luz Salcé Guest Service Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 16 2018
    • Strathroy, Canada
    • Couples

    marilynheesbeen

    “Wont go back!!!!”


    We booked to go out of London airport and would highly recommend that instead of the stress of Toronto airport!!!! Air Transat offered a great package for 2 weeks and we were so excited to try a new resort with all the extra perks such as an ugrade to first club!! Unfortunately our excitement was short lived!!!! First they said at the desk they didnt have our reservation and then they finally found it but we had to go back to get our bracelets upgraded to the first club.We had paid the extra for the oceanfront room with the hot tub on the balcony and enjoyed that but would have been nice to have a blind or screen for when your using the hot tub!!! We put towels over the railing for privacy.The maids for the rooms are not the best so be forewarned!! If your not chasing them for the basic room ammenities ie coffee, sugar, creamers etc your chasing for towels or faceclothes. Same dirt was in the same spots for the 2 weeks we were there. The concierges at our building 26 were nice at first and very overbearing by the end of the 2 weeks. They are at you constantly to go to meetings!!!! We started coming in the back of our building so as not to run into them!!!! And no matter where your going these guys are chasing after you!!!! We talked to numerous people who have joined the Occidental Club and general census is their not happy with what they got for their money!!!! If your looking for a resort with shade, DO NOT GO HERE!!!!! Buffet is passable at best but we did have good service from Jacquelin Batia in the first club section. Really enjoyed the Mexican restaurant but disappointed they did not do the special coffees. Pool was okay and swim up bar was disappointing!!!!! Hard waterfall going and drinks would get full of water!!!! Shows dont start till 10 at night and as were early risers that doesnt work so well!!! People save chairs and dont come back for hours!!!!!! Beach was wide open to the sun, no shade anywhere to be had unless your in the royal club!!! We dont expect more than comfort, reasonable ammenities and to have a good time!! All of which were sadly lacking in this resort!!! We are not first time travellers and know what is available from other hotels!!!! We will not be returning!!!!!


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 15 2018
    • Family

    “February 3 - 10th vacation”


    Stayed at the First Club in a studio unit although I am a 1 bedroom owner. Not happy with this and spoke with my rep but nothing was done to resolve it. The rep never got back to me on this and subsequently I find out that other members were in the same boat.


    gpcsm, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Punta Cana, responded to this review
    Dear valued guest, We would first like to thank you for choosing us as your holiday destination. We are sincerely sorry that you have left with a negative perception of our hotel due to the room assignment dissapointment by the club. Our goal is to always provide each and every one of our guests an excellent holiday experience or ameliorate any issues they may be experiencing during their stay with us. We truly regret that we were unable to do so in your case and have forwarded your comment for our management to take the appropriate actions. Once again, we sincerely apologize for this and your dissatisfaction with the retribution you received. We would like to have the opportunity show you how committed we are to our guests' satisfaction. Because of this, we truly hope you reconsider staying with us in the future, so we can change your perception of our hotel. It was a pleasure serving you. Best regards, Luz Salcé Guest Service Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 14 2018
    • Couples

    TericksonMkaz

    “Amazing”


    Second year in the same resort and we will go back again. Had a wonderful time with just me and my boyfriend. Only thing I don't recommended in the Dominican restaurant, always bites back. I do however wish the resort would open up the pizza restraunt for lunch, would just make sense. Thank you Occidental Caribe, we had another great 9 day vacation with you.


    gpcsm, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Punta Cana, responded to this review
    Dear TericksonMkaz, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and for choosing us once again. We are happy to know that once again you enjoyed a great holiday experience, that you will definetely continue experiencing. Your suggestion will be forwarded to the management for evaluation, guests' constructive comments are always our biggest improvement tool. We hope you will honor us again with a future visit, as an opportunity to offer you another unforgettable stay. We are at your disposal for any request or inquiry. It was our pleasure to serve you. Sincerely, Luz Salcé Guest Service Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 13 2018
    • Montreal, Canada
    • Family

    hermes112018

    “Poor service”


    No running water for 10 hours and still going. I asked for 4 bottles of water, to wash baby bottles: Received only 2. For anything you need (simple things....like coffee for breakfast, a glass of water) you would have to ask at least 2-3 times. Front desk, Operator, Room sercice never answer the phone. Room dirty: sand and dirt on the floor never get cleaned, shower all oily. We are four, but everyday they would take our towels and you would have to run again to find towels. When they tell you they will do something, you can just forget about it! Staff don't care and worst of all, managers don't care!!!! If you want to enjoy your vacation and rest, do not come to this hotel!


    gpcsm, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Punta Cana, responded to this review
    Dear hermes112018, First and foremost, I would like to thank you for taking a moment of your time to share your opinion with us. We are sad to learn you were dissapointed with our holiday offering and service provided, but know we have reviewed all of your comments and suggestions and have taken the liberty of sharing them with the management of our resort, who are well known for striving to make our guests' stay memorable and will follow up to apply the correspoinding solutions. I can assure you that our team members are well service oriented, which is why it is very concerning for us to read about your experience. It is through unbiased feedback and customer reviews that we are able to target the specific areas where we need to improve. Please accept our sincere apology for any difficulties you might experienced. Once again, we guarantee that we will look further into your claims and take any steps necessary to improve in these areas. It was truly our pleasure to serve you. Very cordially, Luz Salcé Guest Service Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 13 2018
    • london
    • Couples

    milan_nozka

    “a week in occidental ”


    beautiful renovated hotel with very attentive staff., perfect location at the beach, plenty restaurants to choose from, really wide variety breakfast/lunch/dinner buffet,stayed at building 26 / 218 right by the sea, even though i had a standard room a had view at the sea,rooms are very spacious, cleanning lady’s do an amazing job, always work with smile and some song in spanish, mild issues at arriving with all inclusive, free wifi vs paid wifi, but sorted in my favor by reception manager, our house 26 reception guy Johnny was also very helpful with giving us all important information, bought the trip to Saona island from hotel too, even though is a few dollars extra that from outside, but was highly recommended by guests who already went, looking forward to it! i would and will definitely recommend to my friends and my clients,and when staying in DR you will be my first choice as long as you keep your standards, i read many of your reviews, and as fussy traveler can the bad reviews one are made up,and irrelevant,very pleased with my choice of hotel, Milan


    gpcsm, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Punta Cana, responded to this review
    Dear milan_nozka, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent stay with us at Occidental Punta Cana. Reading your positive feedback we can confirm that our staff members constantly strive to provide outstanding service, which is very satisfying. That said, we are delighted to have received such a stellar review on your behalf and, it goes without saying, that your recommendation is our greatest achievement. We reiterate our appreciation to you for having chosen to stay with us. It was truly a pleasure to serve you. Best regards, Luz Salcé Guest Service Manager

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

    to

      Incorrect dates
      Please enter valid dates

    NIGHTS

    (Optional dates)

    0 nights Selected

    A discount* or promotional code (also appears as “promo code”) is a combination of letters and/or numbers that gives a discount on the normal rate. If you have a discount code, enter it when booking and you will receive a discount on your booking. Once you have entered this code, the prices shown in step 1 of the booking process will already include the relevant discount. 

    The discount does not apply to prices on extras and/or extra services, neither does it apply to prices on last available rooms. You can only apply one discount code per booking which will only be valid at the time of making your booking.** 

    The maximum amount of accumulated discount will be at most 25% off the rate for hotels in Latin America and at most 20% off the rate for European and Mediterranean hotels. It is possible to combine a discount code with a special discount*** (discounts when you book multiple rooms, senior, resident, millennials, large families, etc.) and the discount for being a my Barceló client. 

    *Barceló reserves the right to accept the application of advertised discounts. 

    **The application of the discount code is not valid upon arrival at the hotel; the discount is only applicable at the time of booking. 

    ***The hotel will request to see valid official documents to verify compliance with the conditions for the discount codes and special discounts. In the event of not providing valid official documents or non-compliance, the hotel reserves the right to charge the amounts that were deducted from the original reservation.

    Loading rates...
    The hotel does not have any rates allocated to it

    Best online price guaranteed

    If you find a better rate, we will top it.

    We will return the difference and we will also apply an additional 10% discount to the cost of the final booking. For more information...