Hotel Beach  Occidental Grand Punta Cana Resort

Occidental Punta Cana

Texto: 37168 This large resort in Punta Cana brings together the best variety of water sports and entertainment options including the famous Mangú dance club. Carretera Arena Gorda, Friusa 23301 Punta Cana | La Altagracia | República Dominicana
809 221 8787 809 221 8790
Occidental Punta Cana Texto: 37168 4 out of 5 based on 1485 ratings. 1485 user reviews.
Occidental Punta Cana reviewed by Craig S on . Great resort, pathetic service. They actually admitted they were short staffed but did not offer any compensation. The need to get rid of the entire staff. Absolutely horrible. We waited 2 hours for bed sheets for our child and had to call down 3 times. I asked for a razor and still have not received it. The... Rating: 1
map

Occidental Punta Cana

Carretera Arena Gorda, Friusa 23301 Punta Cana   La Altagracia   República Dominicana  


Points of Interest

15 mi Punta Cana International Airport

Right on the beach Beach

Premios y Reconocimientos Prizes and Awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Occidental Punta Cana

4.0/5 Round Indicators
| 1502 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


GUESTS’ SCORE

Excellent

56% Complete

844

Very good

21% Complete

321

Average

9% Complete

145

Poor

5% Complete

88

Very poor

7% Complete

106

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    nitin m Morges, Switzerland. 07/26/2017 Family

    “Rubbish Service”

    The resort is nice but the service is hopeless. We were given terrible rooms for first night as they had messed up our booking (we had reserved superior deluxe rooms) - the rooms had a broken shower (not fixed even after reporting it), were dirty, no towels, broken furniture and in the worst block. We could not shower for a day and half!! They changed us to newer rooms which were better. Guest services were hostile, rude and could not care less - they often walked off and looked at other things while dealing with us or simply walked away for no reason. When they finally agreed to give us "compensation", they made us sign a 2 page legal waiver - all for one hour free wifi per day. By the way wifi is $15 per day per device!!! Towels were frequently forgotten when rooms cleaned, it was very difficult to get beach towels as they never had enough and generally be aware that most of the staff do not speak English so if that is your first language and you don't speak Spanish - you will struggle. Some of the staff tried their best but it was clear the hotel is badly run, the staff have little or no training and guest services is designed to fob you off rather than deal with any issues. They will even refuse to let you see the manager! From the previous reviews, the hotel says each time that they will take the comments on board and do something but I guarantee you that this is just lip service and nothing will change as my comments are not the first ones to make these points. The animation team is lively but there is very little information on what is available - even the timetable given to us did not have days of the week on it so we had to guess which day the activities were happening. Same with trying to find where the gym is (hidden behind the spa) etc...... Asking the concierge about the local buses was also difficult as his English was poor - he sent unto the beach for a water taxi....... This is a real shame that the hotel is so badly run by the Barcelo Group who took it over as the location is great and the beach is lovely. Choose another hotel rather than this one. I am not sure that any other hotel could give worse service than this.
    Round Indicators
    Craig S Avon, Ohio. 07/25/2017 Family

    “Great resort, pathetic service. They actually admitted they were short staffed but did not offer any compensation.”

    The need to get rid of the entire staff. Absolutely horrible. We waited 2 hours for bed sheets for our child and had to call down 3 times. I asked for a razor and still have not received it. The service in the restaurants were the worst I have ever seen. The buffet never had plates. Getting a refill on anything was virtually impossible. It's unfortunate because it's a beautiful place.

    gpcsm, Manager at Occidental Punta Cana, responded to this review
     Dear Craig S, We would first like to thank you for choosing the Punta Cana as your holiday destination. We are sincerely sorry that you have left with a negative perception of our hotel. Our goal is to always provide each and every one of our guests an excellent holiday experience or ameliorate any issues they may be experiencing during their stay with us. We truly regret that we were unable to do so in your case. This is why guest reviews are so important. Although we try our best to ameliorate any difficulties and accommodate our guests according to their needs while on-site, unforeseen difficulties can arise. We guarantee that not every guest has a similar experience to yours, but it is unfortunate that so many issues marred your experience with us. Once again, we sincerely apologize for this and your dissatisfaction with the retribution you received. We would like to have the opportunity show you how committed we are to our guests' satisfaction. Because of this, we truly hope you reconsider staying with us in the future, so we can change your perception of our hotel. It was a pleasure serving you. Best regards, Scarlett Acosta Community Manager

    Round Indicators
    539brendaw Miami Gardens, Florida. 07/25/2017 Couples

    “Great stay”

    We were charged $10.00 for misplaced room key upon check out. We should have been told upon arrival. Need to improve the food in the Beach Rest. Most of the Staff members were very friendly and helpful.
    Round Indicators
    NYTraveler0630 Hopewell Junction, New York. 07/25/2017 Family

    “Wonderful trip, Royal Club worth every penny....”

    My husband ,four daughters and I stayed here July1-5 and had a wonderful experience. I admit, having booked the trip in January and reading reviews over the next few months, I was very nervous, especially after reading some not so great reviews. We were also coming from the Royalton in Punta Cana, which is a really nice place. So, we did not set our expectations too high. I have to say, I was pleasantly surprised when I got there. Let me say first though, we booked Royal Club and it was definitely worth every penny. Here's a breakdown of our trip, what I loved and the little things that aren't a big deal, but worth mentioning. When we got there, they took us on a small cart to the Royal Club check in. Word of caution--when you are walking around at night, watch out for those carts. The paths are a little narrow and accidents happen, just sayin'! Ladies were very nice and checked us in quickly. Just want to mention, no biggie, but oh my god, the air freshener in the room was overpowering--you might want to cut back on that. There was a small bucket with champagne to help yourself. Previous resort gave us cool towels, drinks and hors d'oeuvres. At the Royal club level, that might have been a nice touch, hint hint ;) We booked two rooms, one of them being a suite, both in building 19. My daughters took the suite and my husband and I took the other. Both rooms were very spa like--we loved it. The ceilings were very high, warm wood, white sheets--very calming. The bathroom was very nice--sink had lots of counter space, lighting was good. There is a hot tub on the balcony that we did not use, but my daughters used theirs and it took a really long time to fill so they only used once. Their suite was fantastic, wish I had taken it! Housekeeping brought them a tray of fresh fruit daily. Both coolers were stocked daily too, no problem. Never a shortage of towels. Beds and pillows were very comfortable. Air conditioning was arctic--thank goodness because it is HOT!!! Our television was not working and I called the front desk about it. They were of no help, called them twice. But the ladies at the Royal Club check in were able to get someone to fix it after my husband went down there in person to sort it out. Overall, really pleased with the rooms, very clean, housekeeping did great and did not see one bug anywhere. BTW, tips go a long way, take care of the housekeeping staff, they work very hard! The only negative--they really need to put a FULL SIZE ironing board in the rooms. They had this awesome iron and a teeny tiny ironing board! Not easy to iron clothing a 6'3 person wears lol.. So, when you book Royal Club, there is a bar and restaurant right on the beach that are only for Royal Club members. This is what I loved about this resort, and why I preferred it over the Royalton and why my family and I will be returning next year. We ate at the restaurant the first night. The overall atmosphere is calm and relaxing, even with a full house. The food was delicious and came out very quickly. We walked to the buffet afterwards to explore and get dessert and after seeing the chaos, decided we would eat the the beach every day breakfast, lunch and dinner. The menu was changed every day(aside from breakfast which pretty much stayed the same). The staff there was so accommodating to my children--there were no burgers on the menu, but they ran and got one for my picky eater who was not in the mood for ceviche that day. They were all SO friendly and the level of service was excellent. There is a language barrier, but they work around it. We did eat at the steakhouse one night and the steak was very good, but it busy and took a very long time to get dinner. They also would not seat us without our paper ticket, so don't forget that. They eventually did seat us after I reasoned with them. The beach bar--let me say, we had Genesis as our bartender for the entire stay and wow, she is such a sweetheart! Really has a sweet disposition and kept our drinks coming. Her service was the best of any bartender we received on our whole trip. I know this is an all inclusive, but tipping goes a long way, take good care of her!! There was no drink service on the beach, but we were fine with that since it wasn't a long walk. Ten steps and you were at the bar. There are two hot tubs on both sides of the bar, and they are really hot--not like a bubbling pool. Very nice. Never a shortage of towels either. The beach was BEAUTIFUL! We spent most of the day here, only visiting the pool a couple of times a day, mainly while walking to water sports to go kayaking. Water is warm and has just the right amount of waves--nothing crazy to knock you over. Not rocky, so no need for water shoes.So many shades of turquoise. Very little seaweed and soft powdery sand that was surprisingly not hot, considering it was like 100 degrees. You could walk for miles in either direction.We did not get hassled by vendors as I have read in other reviews. We did run into a couple and a polite no thank you was it. There aren't any palapas for shade BUT they do have a tent like structure with chaises under them just for Royal club. We were always able to get enough for all of us to sit together. Security really did enforce this. We saw them ask people to leave that did not have the right bracelet. We saw it at the bar as well. There are several pools but we only used the one closest to the beach. The main pool by the main lobby was very noisy and did not have the premium liquors we prefer. There is a snack place above it that you can grab a burger before the main buffet opens. Oh, there is also a taco place that's open from 6pm to 6am for you party animals. Night shows were great--Michael Jackson show was really entertaining! Overall, we really liked this place and will be returning, but definitely booking Royal Club. I can see it only getting better as the renovations are completed!
    Round Indicators
    vale0309578853268 Bavaro, Dominican Republic. 07/25/2017 Family

    “!!La Familia Leguia!!”

    I had a lot of fun in this Hotel !! It is really awesome😍 The food is spectacular and the pools are relaxing 👌👌 I highly recommend you to come!!! They also have a Western show that was really awesome I enjoyed it a lot!!! There are a lot of activities in the Hotel and in the beach!! I can assure you you won't get bored😊😊😊 The animation group is the best one, I meet the Diva and I had a lot of fun with her🙌🏽🙌🏽🙌🏽

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • july 26 2017
    • Morges, Switzerland
    • Family

    nitin m

    “Rubbish Service”


    The resort is nice but the service is hopeless. We were given terrible rooms for first night as they had messed up our booking (we had reserved superior deluxe rooms) - the rooms had a broken shower (not fixed even after reporting it), were dirty, no towels, broken furniture and in the worst block. We could not shower for a day and half!! They changed us to newer rooms which were better. Guest services were hostile, rude and could not care less - they often walked off and looked at other things while dealing with us or simply walked away for no reason. When they finally agreed to give us "compensation", they made us sign a 2 page legal waiver - all for one hour free wifi per day. By the way wifi is $15 per day per device!!! Towels were frequently forgotten when rooms cleaned, it was very difficult to get beach towels as they never had enough and generally be aware that most of the staff do not speak English so if that is your first language and you don't speak Spanish - you will struggle. Some of the staff tried their best but it was clear the hotel is badly run, the staff have little or no training and guest services is designed to fob you off rather than deal with any issues. They will even refuse to let you see the manager! From the previous reviews, the hotel says each time that they will take the comments on board and do something but I guarantee you that this is just lip service and nothing will change as my comments are not the first ones to make these points. The animation team is lively but there is very little information on what is available - even the timetable given to us did not have days of the week on it so we had to guess which day the activities were happening. Same with trying to find where the gym is (hidden behind the spa) etc...... Asking the concierge about the local buses was also difficult as his English was poor - he sent unto the beach for a water taxi....... This is a real shame that the hotel is so badly run by the Barcelo Group who took it over as the location is great and the beach is lovely. Choose another hotel rather than this one. I am not sure that any other hotel could give worse service than this.


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • july 25 2017
    • Avon, Ohio
    • Family

    Craig S

    “Great resort, pathetic service. They actually admitted they were short staffed but did not offer any compensation.”


    The need to get rid of the entire staff. Absolutely horrible. We waited 2 hours for bed sheets for our child and had to call down 3 times. I asked for a razor and still have not received it. The service in the restaurants were the worst I have ever seen. The buffet never had plates. Getting a refill on anything was virtually impossible. It's unfortunate because it's a beautiful place.


    gpcsm, Manager at Occidental Punta Cana, responded to this review
    Dear Craig S, We would first like to thank you for choosing the Punta Cana as your holiday destination. We are sincerely sorry that you have left with a negative perception of our hotel. Our goal is to always provide each and every one of our guests an excellent holiday experience or ameliorate any issues they may be experiencing during their stay with us. We truly regret that we were unable to do so in your case. This is why guest reviews are so important. Although we try our best to ameliorate any difficulties and accommodate our guests according to their needs while on-site, unforeseen difficulties can arise. We guarantee that not every guest has a similar experience to yours, but it is unfortunate that so many issues marred your experience with us. Once again, we sincerely apologize for this and your dissatisfaction with the retribution you received. We would like to have the opportunity show you how committed we are to our guests' satisfaction. Because of this, we truly hope you reconsider staying with us in the future, so we can change your perception of our hotel. It was a pleasure serving you. Best regards, Scarlett Acosta Community Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • july 25 2017
    • Miami Gardens, Florida
    • Couples

    539brendaw

    “Great stay”


    We were charged $10.00 for misplaced room key upon check out. We should have been told upon arrival. Need to improve the food in the Beach Rest. Most of the Staff members were very friendly and helpful.


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • july 25 2017
    • Hopewell Junction, New York
    • Family

    NYTraveler0630

    “Wonderful trip, Royal Club worth every penny....”


    My husband ,four daughters and I stayed here July1-5 and had a wonderful experience. I admit, having booked the trip in January and reading reviews over the next few months, I was very nervous, especially after reading some not so great reviews. We were also coming from the Royalton in Punta Cana, which is a really nice place. So, we did not set our expectations too high. I have to say, I was pleasantly surprised when I got there. Let me say first though, we booked Royal Club and it was definitely worth every penny. Here's a breakdown of our trip, what I loved and the little things that aren't a big deal, but worth mentioning. When we got there, they took us on a small cart to the Royal Club check in. Word of caution--when you are walking around at night, watch out for those carts. The paths are a little narrow and accidents happen, just sayin'! Ladies were very nice and checked us in quickly. Just want to mention, no biggie, but oh my god, the air freshener in the room was overpowering--you might want to cut back on that. There was a small bucket with champagne to help yourself. Previous resort gave us cool towels, drinks and hors d'oeuvres. At the Royal club level, that might have been a nice touch, hint hint ;) We booked two rooms, one of them being a suite, both in building 19. My daughters took the suite and my husband and I took the other. Both rooms were very spa like--we loved it. The ceilings were very high, warm wood, white sheets--very calming. The bathroom was very nice--sink had lots of counter space, lighting was good. There is a hot tub on the balcony that we did not use, but my daughters used theirs and it took a really long time to fill so they only used once. Their suite was fantastic, wish I had taken it! Housekeeping brought them a tray of fresh fruit daily. Both coolers were stocked daily too, no problem. Never a shortage of towels. Beds and pillows were very comfortable. Air conditioning was arctic--thank goodness because it is HOT!!! Our television was not working and I called the front desk about it. They were of no help, called them twice. But the ladies at the Royal Club check in were able to get someone to fix it after my husband went down there in person to sort it out. Overall, really pleased with the rooms, very clean, housekeeping did great and did not see one bug anywhere. BTW, tips go a long way, take care of the housekeeping staff, they work very hard! The only negative--they really need to put a FULL SIZE ironing board in the rooms. They had this awesome iron and a teeny tiny ironing board! Not easy to iron clothing a 6'3 person wears lol.. So, when you book Royal Club, there is a bar and restaurant right on the beach that are only for Royal Club members. This is what I loved about this resort, and why I preferred it over the Royalton and why my family and I will be returning next year. We ate at the restaurant the first night. The overall atmosphere is calm and relaxing, even with a full house. The food was delicious and came out very quickly. We walked to the buffet afterwards to explore and get dessert and after seeing the chaos, decided we would eat the the beach every day breakfast, lunch and dinner. The menu was changed every day(aside from breakfast which pretty much stayed the same). The staff there was so accommodating to my children--there were no burgers on the menu, but they ran and got one for my picky eater who was not in the mood for ceviche that day. They were all SO friendly and the level of service was excellent. There is a language barrier, but they work around it. We did eat at the steakhouse one night and the steak was very good, but it busy and took a very long time to get dinner. They also would not seat us without our paper ticket, so don't forget that. They eventually did seat us after I reasoned with them. The beach bar--let me say, we had Genesis as our bartender for the entire stay and wow, she is such a sweetheart! Really has a sweet disposition and kept our drinks coming. Her service was the best of any bartender we received on our whole trip. I know this is an all inclusive, but tipping goes a long way, take good care of her!! There was no drink service on the beach, but we were fine with that since it wasn't a long walk. Ten steps and you were at the bar. There are two hot tubs on both sides of the bar, and they are really hot--not like a bubbling pool. Very nice. Never a shortage of towels either. The beach was BEAUTIFUL! We spent most of the day here, only visiting the pool a couple of times a day, mainly while walking to water sports to go kayaking. Water is warm and has just the right amount of waves--nothing crazy to knock you over. Not rocky, so no need for water shoes.So many shades of turquoise. Very little seaweed and soft powdery sand that was surprisingly not hot, considering it was like 100 degrees. You could walk for miles in either direction.We did not get hassled by vendors as I have read in other reviews. We did run into a couple and a polite no thank you was it. There aren't any palapas for shade BUT they do have a tent like structure with chaises under them just for Royal club. We were always able to get enough for all of us to sit together. Security really did enforce this. We saw them ask people to leave that did not have the right bracelet. We saw it at the bar as well. There are several pools but we only used the one closest to the beach. The main pool by the main lobby was very noisy and did not have the premium liquors we prefer. There is a snack place above it that you can grab a burger before the main buffet opens. Oh, there is also a taco place that's open from 6pm to 6am for you party animals. Night shows were great--Michael Jackson show was really entertaining! Overall, we really liked this place and will be returning, but definitely booking Royal Club. I can see it only getting better as the renovations are completed!


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • july 25 2017
    • Bavaro, Dominican Republic
    • Family

    vale0309578853268

    “!!La Familia Leguia!!”


    I had a lot of fun in this Hotel !! It is really awesome😍 The food is spectacular and the pools are relaxing 👌👌 I highly recommend you to come!!! They also have a Western show that was really awesome I enjoyed it a lot!!! There are a lot of activities in the Hotel and in the beach!! I can assure you you won't get bored😊😊😊 The animation group is the best one, I meet the Diva and I had a lot of fun with her🙌🏽🙌🏽🙌🏽


    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

    to

      Incorrect dates
      Please enter valid dates

    NIGHTS

    (Optional dates)

    A discount* or promotional code (also appears as “promo code”) is a combination of letters and/or numbers that gives a discount on the normal rate. If you have a discount code, enter it when booking and you will receive a discount on your booking. Once you have entered this code, the prices shown in step 1 of the booking process will already include the relevant discount. 

    The discount does not apply to prices on extras and/or extra services, neither does it apply to prices on last available rooms. Only one discount code per booking is permitted. The maximum amount of accumulated discount will be at most 25% off the rate for hotels in Latin America and at most 20% off the rate for Europe and Mediterranean hotels. It is possible to combine a discount code with a special discount** (discounts when you book multiple rooms, senior, resident, millennials, large families, etc.) and the discount for being a my Barceló client. 

    * Barceló reserves the right to accept the application of advertised discounts. 

    ** At check-in, the hotel will request to see valid official documents to verify compliance with conditions for the discount codes and special discounts. In the event of not providing valid official documents or non-compliance, the hotel reserves the right to charge the amounts that were deducted from the original reservation.