Facilities at the Occidental Aurelia hotel

Occidental Aurelia

Texto: 101843 A former XVII century monastery converted into a hotel, it is the ideal option for discovering Rome. Via di Torre Rossa, 80 | Roma | Italia
+39 06 6610551 *
Occidental Aurelia Texto: 101843 4 out of 5 based on 989 ratings. 989 user reviews.
Occidental Aurelia reviewed by Wheresmychips on . Clean and tidy hotel The good parts: Clean room, comfy bed, access to public transport, good value & friendly staff. Not as good: Bar shuts early (for thirsty Rugby fans) and the scrambled eggs at breakfast were not... Rating: 4
map

Occidental Aurelia

Via di Torre Rossa, 80   Roma   Italia  


Places of Interest

26 km Leonardo Da Vinci International Airport

9 km Colosseum

3.7 km St Peter’s Cathedral

6.1 km Rome Termini

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Occidental Aurelia

4.0/5 Round Indicators
| 1020 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


GUESTS’ SCORE

Excellent

37% Complete

385

Very good

42% Complete

430

Average

14% Complete

147

Poor

3% Complete

38

Very poor

1% Complete

20

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    Louisa Z 04/19/2017

    “Lovely hotel”

    Really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. Room was extremely clean, spacious and modern. Pillows were big and comfortable. Mini fridge, safe and TV in the room. The staff were friendly and more than happy to give advice on travelling and sightseeing. Great selection of hot and cold food at breakfast. Restaurant food also very nice- Francesca at the restaurant was very warm and friendly. Be prepared to walk 15 mins to the nearest metro station (Cornelia) or wait for a bus outside of the hotel. There is a bus that goes from the bus station behind Cornelia metro straight to Fiumicino Airport (costs 7 Euros and takes 1 hour).
    Round Indicators
    Darren W Manchester, United Kingdom. 04/18/2017 Family

    “amazing staff but poor communication before stay”

    this is a very honest review. This was hard for me to only give 3 stars because the staff are amazing and a real credit to the hotel. the good points for me are the staff and the cleanliness of the hotel. the hotel lobby is beautiful. the breakfast was ok. the only problem was the eggs were always freezing cold. the staff again in there were amazing. there was a self serve drinks machine however I did see the waitresses making fresh coffee for some guests, not sure if this was at an extra charge. we asked our travel agent to request a room away from the lift and at the back of the hotel after reading the room tips on here. we were away from the lift but at the front of the hotel, which seemed ok when we first arrived as the traffic outside wasn't to loud. the room itself was fine and clean. we asked for a kettle which was brought up straight away. only problem was that there was no plug sockets apart from under my daughters bed. so had to plug it in in the bathroom. the Wifi is very hit and miss but is free so can't complain. the bad points to the hotel was because we were at the front of the hotel. you get a lot of noise from guests arriving and leaving the hotel. also on the first morning was awakened by a lawn mower at 7.30am. we were also near the stairs and every night at 10pm a group of about 30 school pupils would run down the stairs unattended making loads of noise. this would happen again at 7am. we reported it to reception who said they were aware and were going to speak to the teachers. however it carried every night and morning. we spoke to other guest who said they had complained because they were knocking on their doors. this should of been dealt with straight away. the other bad point for me was the communication beforehand. I had put a post on trip advisor asking if anyone could recommend a private taxi to pick up from airport. the hotel replied saying they could organise it for 45 euros and to email the hotel. however the email address must of been wrong because had no reply after 2 weeks. I asked our travel agent if they had one and give me a different email address, I finally got a reply a week later saying to provide flight details and they could book it in. another week later I emailed again to make sure it was definitely booked as never had a confirmation email. still no reply and it took over 3 weeks and countless emails to the hotel and head office before getting a reply the night before we flew. the driver was waiting at the airport when we arrived and would recommend this service just maybe email hotel very early to make sure its booked in. people have complained on here about location. I knew the location beforehand so not a problem for me. there is a bus stop outside the hotel and metro a 10 min walk away. I never used the restaurant at the hotel so can't comment on this. we had drinks at the bar one night which again the barman was amazing. the drinks are a little expensive but to be expected. we went to 3 restaurants nearby, 2 of which were excellent Joseph and Ferro E Ghisa. the other Arturo which is very close to the hotel was awful and needs to be avoided. I have done separate reviews on there restaurants. top tips for hotel would be ask for a room away from lift and stairs and at the back of hotel.
    Round Indicators
    jan857 Helmond, The Netherlands. 04/11/2017 Family

    “Nice place to stay”

    Very nice staff. There is a free parking offered. The location is good, with spacious garden. In front of the hotel is a bus station. The Vatican city is 10 min. away. Rooms are very clean and breakfast is good.
    Round Indicators
    corinnecosgrove Manchester, United Kingdom. 04/10/2017 Couples

    “Friendly Hotel”

    After our two night stay at this amazing country, we would just like to say the hotel staff were very helpful and friendly especially Zahid the friendly bar man, he made us very welcome around the bar and at the breakfast room. The hotel was in easy access to bus/train routes and the bedrooms were very clean and comfortable. Thank you for a wonderful couple of days. Vinny & Corinne
    Round Indicators
    Arlene S Belfast, United Kingdom. 04/07/2017 Couples

    “Location spoilt it for us.”

    We stayed here as part of a package with Pisa and Florence so had no control over hotel choice. Alas for us we found it just to far outside of the main city attractions. Yes there is a metro station about 15/20 mins walk, but after walking to the metro then round the city I was hobbling on the return journey. I warn you that you take your life in your hands walking from the hotel to the main road to get the metro, the pathway is about 2 foot wide disappearing to nothing in places with busy traffic. previous reviews did say that there was a bus stop facing hotel and indeed there is just nowhere to buy the tickets. I did ask at reception and was given some vague directions to a couple of bars that sold bus tickets. Directions so vague we just decided to stick to the metro but oh that return walk!!!!! The hotel itself is nice enough good size rooms and bathroom all spotlessly clean. I don't know why its carries a 4 star rating personally would have thought it more a 3 star. No tea/coffee making facilities in the room, fridge supplied turned off with 2 small bottles of water at 2 euro each sitting on their lonesome. If you going to supply a fridge at least leave it stocked. We found the wifi to be very sketchy despite being advertised as high speed, maybe it depends on where your room is located. to both the previous hotels Bar area is in with small restaurant just across from reception. I thought was quite expensive limited choice and no privacy looked more like an afterthought but then they have a captive market. The breakfast was usual buffet style and more than adequate. It certainly didn't compare to both the previous hotels we stayed in

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • april 19 2017

    Louisa Z

    “Lovely hotel”


    Really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. Room was extremely clean, spacious and modern. Pillows were big and comfortable. Mini fridge, safe and TV in the room. The staff were friendly and more than happy to give advice on travelling and sightseeing. Great selection of hot and cold food at breakfast. Restaurant food also very nice- Francesca at the restaurant was very warm and friendly. Be prepared to walk 15 mins to the nearest metro station (Cornelia) or wait for a bus outside of the hotel. There is a bus that goes from the bus station behind Cornelia metro straight to Fiumicino Airport (costs 7 Euros and takes 1 hour).


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • april 18 2017
    • Manchester, United Kingdom
    • Family

    Darren W

    “amazing staff but poor communication before stay”


    this is a very honest review. This was hard for me to only give 3 stars because the staff are amazing and a real credit to the hotel. the good points for me are the staff and the cleanliness of the hotel. the hotel lobby is beautiful. the breakfast was ok. the only problem was the eggs were always freezing cold. the staff again in there were amazing. there was a self serve drinks machine however I did see the waitresses making fresh coffee for some guests, not sure if this was at an extra charge. we asked our travel agent to request a room away from the lift and at the back of the hotel after reading the room tips on here. we were away from the lift but at the front of the hotel, which seemed ok when we first arrived as the traffic outside wasn't to loud. the room itself was fine and clean. we asked for a kettle which was brought up straight away. only problem was that there was no plug sockets apart from under my daughters bed. so had to plug it in in the bathroom. the Wifi is very hit and miss but is free so can't complain. the bad points to the hotel was because we were at the front of the hotel. you get a lot of noise from guests arriving and leaving the hotel. also on the first morning was awakened by a lawn mower at 7.30am. we were also near the stairs and every night at 10pm a group of about 30 school pupils would run down the stairs unattended making loads of noise. this would happen again at 7am. we reported it to reception who said they were aware and were going to speak to the teachers. however it carried every night and morning. we spoke to other guest who said they had complained because they were knocking on their doors. this should of been dealt with straight away. the other bad point for me was the communication beforehand. I had put a post on trip advisor asking if anyone could recommend a private taxi to pick up from airport. the hotel replied saying they could organise it for 45 euros and to email the hotel. however the email address must of been wrong because had no reply after 2 weeks. I asked our travel agent if they had one and give me a different email address, I finally got a reply a week later saying to provide flight details and they could book it in. another week later I emailed again to make sure it was definitely booked as never had a confirmation email. still no reply and it took over 3 weeks and countless emails to the hotel and head office before getting a reply the night before we flew. the driver was waiting at the airport when we arrived and would recommend this service just maybe email hotel very early to make sure its booked in. people have complained on here about location. I knew the location beforehand so not a problem for me. there is a bus stop outside the hotel and metro a 10 min walk away. I never used the restaurant at the hotel so can't comment on this. we had drinks at the bar one night which again the barman was amazing. the drinks are a little expensive but to be expected. we went to 3 restaurants nearby, 2 of which were excellent Joseph and Ferro E Ghisa. the other Arturo which is very close to the hotel was awful and needs to be avoided. I have done separate reviews on there restaurants. top tips for hotel would be ask for a room away from lift and stairs and at the back of hotel.


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • april 11 2017
    • Helmond, The Netherlands
    • Family

    jan857

    “Nice place to stay”


    Very nice staff. There is a free parking offered. The location is good, with spacious garden. In front of the hotel is a bus station. The Vatican city is 10 min. away. Rooms are very clean and breakfast is good.


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • april 10 2017
    • Manchester, United Kingdom
    • Couples

    corinnecosgrove

    “Friendly Hotel”


    After our two night stay at this amazing country, we would just like to say the hotel staff were very helpful and friendly especially Zahid the friendly bar man, he made us very welcome around the bar and at the breakfast room. The hotel was in easy access to bus/train routes and the bedrooms were very clean and comfortable. Thank you for a wonderful couple of days. Vinny & Corinne


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • april 7 2017
    • Belfast, United Kingdom
    • Couples

    Arlene S

    “Location spoilt it for us.”


    We stayed here as part of a package with Pisa and Florence so had no control over hotel choice. Alas for us we found it just to far outside of the main city attractions. Yes there is a metro station about 15/20 mins walk, but after walking to the metro then round the city I was hobbling on the return journey. I warn you that you take your life in your hands walking from the hotel to the main road to get the metro, the pathway is about 2 foot wide disappearing to nothing in places with busy traffic. previous reviews did say that there was a bus stop facing hotel and indeed there is just nowhere to buy the tickets. I did ask at reception and was given some vague directions to a couple of bars that sold bus tickets. Directions so vague we just decided to stick to the metro but oh that return walk!!!!! The hotel itself is nice enough good size rooms and bathroom all spotlessly clean. I don't know why its carries a 4 star rating personally would have thought it more a 3 star. No tea/coffee making facilities in the room, fridge supplied turned off with 2 small bottles of water at 2 euro each sitting on their lonesome. If you going to supply a fridge at least leave it stocked. We found the wifi to be very sketchy despite being advertised as high speed, maybe it depends on where your room is located. to both the previous hotels Bar area is in with small restaurant just across from reception. I thought was quite expensive limited choice and no privacy looked more like an afterthought but then they have a captive market. The breakfast was usual buffet style and more than adequate. It certainly didn't compare to both the previous hotels we stayed in


    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

    to

      Incorrect dates
      Please enter valid dates

    NIGHTS

    (Optional dates)

    A discount or promotional code is a combination of letters and/or numbers that gives a discount on the normal rate. You can receive discount codes through special campaigns by being a my Barceló member, following us on social media or booking through Barcelo.com. 

    If you have a discount code, enter it when booking and you will receive a discount on your booking. The discount does not apply to the cost of extras. The maximum amount of the accumulated discount will be 25% off the rate (except for last rooms); it is possible to combine a discount code and special discounts. Only one discount code per booking is permitted.

    Loading rates...
    The hotel does not have any rates allocated to it

    Best online price guaranteed

    If you find a better rate, we will top it.

    We will return the difference and we will also apply an additional 10% discount to the cost of the final booking. For more information...