Barceló Hotel Beach  Maya Tropical

Barceló Maya Tropical

Texto: 36193 With 5-star facilities for all ages, this all inclusive resort is right on the beach of the Caribbean Sea. Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juárez Km. 266,3 XPUHA Q | 77750 | Riviera Maya, Quintana Roo || México
+52 984 8 75 1500 +52 984 875 1501
Barceló Maya Tropical Texto: 36193 4.5 out of 5 based on 5088 ratings. 5088 user reviews.
Barceló Maya Tropical reviewed by AntsinthePants on . Third - and probably last - stay We first came to the Barcelo Riviera Maya in July 2014 (four adults and two children) and had a wonderful time. One of the reasons we had chosen this hotel was the food. Reviewers had raved about it... Rating: 3
map

Barceló Maya Tropical

Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juárez Km. 266,3 XPUHA Q   77750   Riviera Maya, Quintana Roo     México  


Points of Interest

49 mi  Cancun International Airport 

0 m Chac Halal Beach

22 mi Tulum archeological site

18.5 mi Xel-Ha

Premios y Reconocimientos Prizes and Awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Barceló Maya Tropical

4.5/5 Round Indicators
| 5118 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


GUESTS’ SCORE

Excellent

61% Complete

3150

Very good

23% Complete

1228

Average

7% Complete

407

Poor

3% Complete

204

Very poor

2% Complete

129

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    heidimcmillan Vancouver, Canada. 02/19/2018 Family

    “Excellent Family Vacation Destination”

    Our multi-generation family trip was fantastic while staying at Barcelo Tropical. There was something for everyone no matter how they were feeling. There are lots of beach and ocean activities as well as land adventures too. All over the resort the staff was very friendly and accommodating. We're grateful for the enthusiastic and flexible staff at the Bacay Kids Club. Our kids loved spending time with Vero, Zuly, Cinthia, and Sarahi! Thanks for a wonderful trip, Barcelo!!!
    Round Indicators
    drmanifold Parkersburg, Iowa. 02/17/2018 Friends getaway

    “Relaxing”

    The Barceló is a great place to go and relax. You can be very busy and entertained or do nothing but relax. Beach is wonderful. Plenty of room and chairs on beach. We have been there the last three years. Only thing I can really complain about is the up keep/repair of little things. Broken part on tub, side magnifying mirror broken and they never leave you washcloths. We will go back and refer friends.

    BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this review
     We would like to express our gratitude for the comments you made about your recent visit. They help us to understand how our guests experience their stay with us. It is always our goal to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and we are delighted to hear that your holiday at Barceló Maya Tropical was an enjoyable one. We continuously strive to deliver high standards and to ensure that all our guests leave with beautiful vacation memories. Once more we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and very much look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future. La Gerencia.

    Round Indicators
    jessross2011 West Hollywood, California. 02/16/2018 Couples

    “The Barcelo Experience”

    Our stay at Barceló Maya was great. The staff gave us excellent customer service. The food was great as well as the live entertainment. The workout programs and all the amenities were perfect. I recommend this resort to anyone that wants to relax and have a great time.

    BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this review
     Thank you for the great feedback of your recent holiday experience at our Barceló Maya Tropical; guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that, we are happy our hotel and staff were able to meet all your needs during your stay. Last but not least, it fills us with pride that you could enjoy the gastronomical efforts of our chefs as we strive to satisfy the many culinary wishes of our guests offering the most delicious international and local dishes. Once more we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and very much look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future. La Gerencia.

    Round Indicators
    stevolson7 Colorado. 02/15/2018

    “Good news, bad news at Barcelo Maya”

    Just returned from nine days in Mexico. Was supposed to be eight, but Frontier Airlines screwed up AGAIN, and kept us an extra day, after sitting/waiting for 9 hours, then being shipped to a hotel for the night, after one of their planes was 'Broken' again, but that's not Barcelo's fault. This was our sixth stay at Barcelo, the Tropical this time, and have stayed in the Riviera Maya area over 30 times. Bottom line, Barcelo continues to go down hill, although the staff, and overall beauty of the place keeps us coming back. The food, at the buffet and restaurants is mediocre at best, when it used to be good, BUT, the entertainment is still good. The drinks are fine, unless you order one that requires sweetening, where they've decided to replace sugar with some yucky artificial sweetener. The quality of seafood is WAY down, as I used to like the fish, which is mooshy, while the shrimp and lobster is overcooked and rubbery. The steak is a real workout for your teeth, BUT, they have good onion rings and chicken wings. The fruits and vegetables are good, but some of the breakfast cooks seem like it's their first day on the job. My biggest complaint would be sharing the resort with a bunch of Conventioneers, for whom they closed some facilities to accommodate. I also had some problems with my room, BUT, after speaking with Mr Can, the mgr, they were promptly fixed. Not so with the WiFi, where their IT person swore I was only booked for 4 days, and that's why they shut it off. Bottom line, Barcelo used to be above average, but not any more, although, just average in this part of the world is pretty good. Would recommend the 'Premium Package' so you don't have to pay for a lot that used to be included, like WiFi. Overall though, had a good time, and MIGHT go back, depending price. Will NEVER fly Frontier again, though.

    BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this review
     In Barceló we strongly believe that there is always room for improvement and your comments will assist our team in their continuous efforts aimed at meeting our guests' expectations, therefore we greatly appreciate the time you took out of your day to share your constructive critics We were very saddened to read your disappointment with the dining expériences, at Barceló we know that meals are an important aspect of our guests' overall holiday expérience therefore we will make sure to take your comments into account to improve in this aspect of our services. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certaily look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future. La Gerencia.

    Round Indicators
    zr500 Chetek, Wisconsin. 02/14/2018

    “Great family vacation with helpful tips included.”

    Took the family including grandchildren, 12 in total. My husband and myself have been to this resort 5 times before. We love Barceló and thought it was a good choice for the grandkids (10, 5, 4 yrs.) as it has by far the best kiddy pool, activities, and kid size buffet we have seen in our 15 years vacationing in Mexico. We celebrated two birthdays during supper. I spoke with our waiter and he surprised my 33 yr. old son and 6 yr. old grandson with their own personal birthday cake and song which everyone sang to twice! It was so appreciated and thoughtful. I wished I had brought my water shoes for swimming in the ocean. There is lots of rocks and large jagged coral. The ocean is warmer for swimming as the pools were chilly. I would recommend walking the pier to feed the fish and the gulls. Take a bag of bread or dry cereal with you, the kids loved it and its FREE. The drinks at the pool bar were not good. Never the same recipe and frankly all fruity drinks tasted the same, watered down and just plain bad. Had to dump a lot of them out. Did see a trick from a traveler to put fresh fruit in your drink mug from the restaurant to bring to the bartender. They will throw it in the blender to make your drink. Had a very delicious Pina Colada then. We made reservations at the Mare nostrum - seafood restaurant at Barceló. It was one of the best meals we have had in Mexico, would highly recommend. We also at the Tokyo restaurant, average at best. Go to the theater bar, they make the best drinks. Here's a tip I read a few years ago, there is a mattress topper under the dust ruffle in your room. We took ours out and left it on top of our bed with a $5 tip and the maid made our bed for us with it. The resort is huge and they have added lots of new things to do and see, but unfortunately no one explains this to you, so put on your walking shoes had check out the whole resort so you don't miss out.

    BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this review
     Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at Barceló Maya Tropical. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience.  Thank you for your insights regarding our drinks, although we lament reading that we weren't able to meet your wishes on this occasion, please rest assured that your comments will be shared with our staff to enhance our future guest's expériences. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certaily look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future. La Gerencia.

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 19 2018
    • Vancouver, Canada
    • Family

    heidimcmillan

    “Excellent Family Vacation Destination”


    Our multi-generation family trip was fantastic while staying at Barcelo Tropical. There was something for everyone no matter how they were feeling. There are lots of beach and ocean activities as well as land adventures too. All over the resort the staff was very friendly and accommodating. We're grateful for the enthusiastic and flexible staff at the Bacay Kids Club. Our kids loved spending time with Vero, Zuly, Cinthia, and Sarahi! Thanks for a wonderful trip, Barcelo!!!


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 17 2018
    • Parkersburg, Iowa
    • Friends getaway

    drmanifold

    “Relaxing”


    The Barceló is a great place to go and relax. You can be very busy and entertained or do nothing but relax. Beach is wonderful. Plenty of room and chairs on beach. We have been there the last three years. Only thing I can really complain about is the up keep/repair of little things. Broken part on tub, side magnifying mirror broken and they never leave you washcloths. We will go back and refer friends.


    BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this review
    We would like to express our gratitude for the comments you made about your recent visit. They help us to understand how our guests experience their stay with us. It is always our goal to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and we are delighted to hear that your holiday at Barceló Maya Tropical was an enjoyable one. We continuously strive to deliver high standards and to ensure that all our guests leave with beautiful vacation memories. Once more we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and very much look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future. La Gerencia.

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 16 2018
    • West Hollywood, California
    • Couples

    jessross2011

    “The Barcelo Experience”


    Our stay at Barceló Maya was great. The staff gave us excellent customer service. The food was great as well as the live entertainment. The workout programs and all the amenities were perfect. I recommend this resort to anyone that wants to relax and have a great time.


    BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this review
    Thank you for the great feedback of your recent holiday experience at our Barceló Maya Tropical; guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that, we are happy our hotel and staff were able to meet all your needs during your stay. Last but not least, it fills us with pride that you could enjoy the gastronomical efforts of our chefs as we strive to satisfy the many culinary wishes of our guests offering the most delicious international and local dishes. Once more we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and very much look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future. La Gerencia.

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 15 2018
    • Colorado

    stevolson7

    “Good news, bad news at Barcelo Maya”


    Just returned from nine days in Mexico. Was supposed to be eight, but Frontier Airlines screwed up AGAIN, and kept us an extra day, after sitting/waiting for 9 hours, then being shipped to a hotel for the night, after one of their planes was 'Broken' again, but that's not Barcelo's fault. This was our sixth stay at Barcelo, the Tropical this time, and have stayed in the Riviera Maya area over 30 times. Bottom line, Barcelo continues to go down hill, although the staff, and overall beauty of the place keeps us coming back. The food, at the buffet and restaurants is mediocre at best, when it used to be good, BUT, the entertainment is still good. The drinks are fine, unless you order one that requires sweetening, where they've decided to replace sugar with some yucky artificial sweetener. The quality of seafood is WAY down, as I used to like the fish, which is mooshy, while the shrimp and lobster is overcooked and rubbery. The steak is a real workout for your teeth, BUT, they have good onion rings and chicken wings. The fruits and vegetables are good, but some of the breakfast cooks seem like it's their first day on the job. My biggest complaint would be sharing the resort with a bunch of Conventioneers, for whom they closed some facilities to accommodate. I also had some problems with my room, BUT, after speaking with Mr Can, the mgr, they were promptly fixed. Not so with the WiFi, where their IT person swore I was only booked for 4 days, and that's why they shut it off. Bottom line, Barcelo used to be above average, but not any more, although, just average in this part of the world is pretty good. Would recommend the 'Premium Package' so you don't have to pay for a lot that used to be included, like WiFi. Overall though, had a good time, and MIGHT go back, depending price. Will NEVER fly Frontier again, though.


    BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this review
    In Barceló we strongly believe that there is always room for improvement and your comments will assist our team in their continuous efforts aimed at meeting our guests' expectations, therefore we greatly appreciate the time you took out of your day to share your constructive critics We were very saddened to read your disappointment with the dining expériences, at Barceló we know that meals are an important aspect of our guests' overall holiday expérience therefore we will make sure to take your comments into account to improve in this aspect of our services. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certaily look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future. La Gerencia.

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 14 2018
    • Chetek, Wisconsin

    zr500

    “Great family vacation with helpful tips included.”


    Took the family including grandchildren, 12 in total. My husband and myself have been to this resort 5 times before. We love Barceló and thought it was a good choice for the grandkids (10, 5, 4 yrs.) as it has by far the best kiddy pool, activities, and kid size buffet we have seen in our 15 years vacationing in Mexico. We celebrated two birthdays during supper. I spoke with our waiter and he surprised my 33 yr. old son and 6 yr. old grandson with their own personal birthday cake and song which everyone sang to twice! It was so appreciated and thoughtful. I wished I had brought my water shoes for swimming in the ocean. There is lots of rocks and large jagged coral. The ocean is warmer for swimming as the pools were chilly. I would recommend walking the pier to feed the fish and the gulls. Take a bag of bread or dry cereal with you, the kids loved it and its FREE. The drinks at the pool bar were not good. Never the same recipe and frankly all fruity drinks tasted the same, watered down and just plain bad. Had to dump a lot of them out. Did see a trick from a traveler to put fresh fruit in your drink mug from the restaurant to bring to the bartender. They will throw it in the blender to make your drink. Had a very delicious Pina Colada then. We made reservations at the Mare nostrum - seafood restaurant at Barceló. It was one of the best meals we have had in Mexico, would highly recommend. We also at the Tokyo restaurant, average at best. Go to the theater bar, they make the best drinks. Here's a tip I read a few years ago, there is a mattress topper under the dust ruffle in your room. We took ours out and left it on top of our bed with a $5 tip and the maid made our bed for us with it. The resort is huge and they have added lots of new things to do and see, but unfortunately no one explains this to you, so put on your walking shoes had check out the whole resort so you don't miss out.


    BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Tropical, responded to this review
    Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at Barceló Maya Tropical. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience.  Thank you for your insights regarding our drinks, although we lament reading that we weren't able to meet your wishes on this occasion, please rest assured that your comments will be shared with our staff to enhance our future guest's expériences. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certaily look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future. La Gerencia.

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

    to

      Incorrect dates
      Please enter valid dates

    NIGHTS

    (Optional dates)

    0 nights Selected

    A discount* or promotional code (also appears as “promo code”) is a combination of letters and/or numbers that gives a discount on the normal rate. If you have a discount code, enter it when booking and you will receive a discount on your booking. Once you have entered this code, the prices shown in step 1 of the booking process will already include the relevant discount. 

    The discount does not apply to prices on extras and/or extra services, neither does it apply to prices on last available rooms. You can only apply one discount code per booking which will only be valid at the time of making your booking.** 

    The maximum amount of accumulated discount will be at most 25% off the rate for hotels in Latin America and at most 20% off the rate for European and Mediterranean hotels. It is possible to combine a discount code with a special discount*** (discounts when you book multiple rooms, senior, resident, millennials, large families, etc.) and the discount for being a my Barceló client. 

    *Barceló reserves the right to accept the application of advertised discounts. 

    **The application of the discount code is not valid upon arrival at the hotel; the discount is only applicable at the time of booking. 

    ***The hotel will request to see valid official documents to verify compliance with the conditions for the discount codes and special discounts. In the event of not providing valid official documents or non-compliance, the hotel reserves the right to charge the amounts that were deducted from the original reservation.

    Loading rates...
    The hotel does not have any rates allocated to it

    Best online price guaranteed

    If you find a better rate, we will top it.

    We will return the difference and we will also apply an additional 10% discount to the cost of the final booking. For more information...