Benefits that can only be enjoyed by booking through Barcelo.com

Book at Barcelo.com and register for the my Barceló programme for the best price guaranteed, free Wi-Fi, complimentary mineral water, a welcome gift and a gift voucher worth 5% of the cost of your booking to spend on extra services.

You will also get VIP services and an additional discount of up to 10% off your next bookings. Exclusive benefits only at Barcelo.com!

Barceló Costa Ballena Golf & Spa  Hotel Pool

Special provisions and menus for coeliacs, people with lactose allergies, diabetics, etc.

Please contact the hotel to notify us of any dietary requirements so that we can offer you a suitable menu.

After booking, the hotel recommends requesting the customised menu service.

Barceló Costa Ballena Golf & Spa

Texto: 33866 Beautiful Andalusian style hotel, ideal for you to get away from it all and play golf. Very close to the beaches in Cadiz. Avenida Reina Sofía, s/n. Urbanización Costa Ballena | 11520 Rota, Cádiz
+34 956 476 700 +34 956 476 711
Barceló Costa Ballena Golf & Spa Texto: 33866 4 out of 5 based on 1010 ratings. 1010 user reviews.
Barceló Costa Ballena Golf & Spa reviewed by Turtlequeen22 on . Visiting friends We stayed in the Barcelo in July , we were visiting friends who own a house opposite this hotel. So location near to them for us was very important . The hotel was fine , the views from our room... Rating: 4
map

Barceló Costa Ballena Golf & Spa

Avenida Reina Sofía, s/n. Urbanización Costa Ballena   11520 Rota, Cádiz  


Places of Interest

35 km La Parra, Jerez

800 m La Ballena beach

100 m Costa Ballena Golf Course

49.6 km Port of Cadiz Bay

Premios y Reconocimientos Prizes and awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Barceló Costa Ballena Golf & Spa

4.0/5 Round Indicators
| 1018 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


GUESTS’ SCORE

Excellent

39% Complete

405

Very good

39% Complete

400

Average

13% Complete

134

Poor

4% Complete

49

Very poor

2% Complete

30

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    Turtlequeen22 London, United Kingdom. 12/30/2016 Friends getaway

    “Visiting friends”

    We stayed in the Barcelo in July , we were visiting friends who own a house opposite this hotel. So location near to them for us was very important . The hotel was fine , the views from our room were good over the golf course. Howerever I would not recommend this hotel unless you have children. They have a kids club with entertainment which does not start until late and goes on past mid night, and it is very very loud.

    BCOSTABALLENA, Guest Relations Manager at Barcelo Costa Ballena Golf & Spa, responded to this review
     Dear guest, We greatly appreciate the time you spent to review your experience in our hotel during July 2016. It is extremely disappointing for us to read that we were not able to cover your needs in this occasion, because at Barceló we always strive to exceed guests' expectations and your comments will help our teams reaching that goal. For the inconveniences you suffered due to the entertainment activities we are very sorry and like to apologize, although we would like to take the opportunity to explain that our resort is distributed in 5 buildings. On one hand the main building where you find the public areas as reception, restaurant, lobby bar, on the other hand 4 buildings providing the guest rooms. Therefore, some rooms are situated away from the activities and offer the same standards and views. For a future occasion please contact us directly and tell us about your preferences regarding the room location and there is no doubt that it will be considered upon room assignment. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back in a future occasion and show you how much we care. In the meanwhile, please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I could assist you in any way. Kind regards. Yours sincerely, Theresa Stretz Guest Experience Manager

    Round Indicators
    BigDraw Birmingham, United Kingdom. 12/01/2016 Couples

    “A different type of review”

    Having visited Barcelo Montecastillo Golf in Jerez thought we would try Balreclo Cosat Ballena Golf.in Cadiz Having booked, contacted the hotel to book tee times, was told that unlike Montecastillo there was no golf included in fact despite being called "Golf" it doesn't have a course (unlike Montecastillo) This isn't obvious when you look on the website. Or maybe it's less obvious if you've stayed at a sister Golf Hotel with green fees included. Given the short term nature of my booking I was told that a refund wasn't possible. However following a longer conversation the hotel cancelled my reservation at no cost. The reason for the review; 1) Well done the hotel for doing the right thing (even if you didn't have to) 2) Beware if you (like me) thought the golf was included Thanks again Barcell Costa Ballena Golf & Spa for good customer service.

    BCOSTABALLENA, Guest Relations Manager at Barcelo Costa Ballena Golf & Spa, responded to this review
     Dear guest, Firstly we like to thank you having contacted us and for sharing your expectations and experiences. We deeply apologize for the misunderstanding regarding the golf club and I would like to make sure that we have taken note of your comments. Indeed the properties and therefore the procedures of the golf courses between Montecastillo and Costa Ballena are different although both hotels belong to Barceló Hotels & Resorts. On our website under the section “Golf” is a detailed description of the “Costa Ballena Ocean Club”, which is just 100m from our hotel. In the same place we inform about the assistance you get at our hotel Barceló Costa Ballena planning your tee times not only in the Ocean Golf Club, also in the other famous golf clubs in the surroundings, like Montecastillo. For that reason we may name “Barceló Costa Ballena Golf & Spa”. Anyway, please be assured that your comments will be taken into serious consideration and that they will help us to improve. On the other hand we really appreciate your positive and kind words towards our staff and we are very pleased to know that this issue finally could have been managed to your complete satisfaction. Our team works daily to provide the best possible service to let our guests feel most valued and genuinely cared for. Once again, thank you for the time you have taken to write this review and we hope that Barceló will remain an option for your next holiday and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future. It would be still a pleasure to welcome you at Barceló Costa Ballena Golf & Spa. Kind regards. Yours sincerely, Theresa S Guest Experience Manager

    Round Indicators
    manidezed 11/23/2016 Family

    “Nice four stars for the low season”

    We went with my husband and two kids aged 8 and 4. Most of the days were very quite so the breakfast buffet and dinner were nice and tranquil. On one of the days there was a big group and the queue to sit down at the restaurant was very long. The weather and beach were fantastic. An average of 25 degrees in November is amazing! We would go back to this hotel but only during quite times.

    BCOSTABALLENA, Deputy Manager at Barcelo Costa Ballena Golf & Spa, responded to this review
     Dear Guest, Firstly, we would like to thank you for the lovely review that you shared with the followers of Tripadvisor after your recent visit to our Barceló Costa Ballena Golf & Spa. Also we are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations. We have taken good note of your remark on the queues at times in our breakfast during that remarkable day. Nevertheless we commit to improve on this aspect of our services so as to avoid receiving this kind of feedback in the future. Once more we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and very much look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Jorge Clemente Haro

    Round Indicators
    Stephen A Ashtead. 11/07/2016 Family

    “Autumn half term break”

    The hotel is 5 minutes away from an amazing beach, but not much else in the area that is open in October. The food was amazing in the hotel - really surpassed our expectations. Disappointing that as it was the end of October there was no air conditioning in the rooms nor did the fridge work and when we asked Reception, we were told that it was now Winter and there was nothing she could do - it was 26 degrees outside! The outdoor pool was also closed which was not clear on the website (although everyone just used it anyway). I am sure that the spa is lovely but it is incredibly expensive and 15 euros for a child to enter the indoor pool for 2 hours seems crazy to me! Hence we gave it a miss. Overall a great stay, but helped by amazing weather!

    BCOSTABALLENA, Deputy Manager at Barcelo Costa Ballena Golf & Spa, responded to this review
     Dear Stephen, Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent holiday experience among us, our main goal being to ensure we keep on delivering unforgettable holiday experiences to our guests, your comments are crucial in this process therefore we highly value your time and constructive critics. We regret your dissapoinment with our Spa price. But i have to say that is the average price of the Spa's in Andalusia. In order to your comment about our pool, i would like to apologize if its not clear in the website, We will fix the text properly. Regarding the air-conditioning, we are sorry if there was a problem with the functioning of the system in your room; the fact is that if it is working the heating the system can not work air conditioning. On the other hand we would like to thank you for your kind words towards our food and overall punctuation, we hope welcome you again soon. Best Regards, Jorge Clemente Haro

    Round Indicators
    ornsteinar Alftanes, Iceland. 10/29/2016 Family

    “Ten days of golf in the autumn of 2016”

    This was probably our twelfth stay at Barcelo Costa Ballena Golf & Spa. We have come regularly since 2006 to play golf and book through the Icelandic travel agency Heimsferðir which also operates an exellent golf scool on the premises. The + are: - Professional and exellent hotel staff - Rooms are well planned (except for the transparent toilet door) - New and separate beds - All balconies face the golf course and the Atlantic coast - Good food (excellent breakfast and good buffet in the evening) The - are: - Manuel is no longer in the bar - The rooms are in need of maintenance

    BCOSTABALLENA, Deputy Manager at Barcelo Costa Ballena Golf & Spa, responded to this review
     Dear Ornsteinar, First of all we would like to express our sincerest gratitude for your trust and loyalty to Barceló Hotels & Resorts for your holidays and for choosing our Barceló Costa Ballena hotel this time around, it is indeed a great source of satisfaction to read that once again you had a pleasant stay among us. We also appreciate your kind words for our staff member Manuel, unless he is now retired, We undoubtedly never forget his kindness and helpfulness. Once more we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and very much look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Best Regards, Jorge Clemente Haro

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • december 30 2016
    • London, United Kingdom
    • Friends getaway

    Turtlequeen22

    “Visiting friends”


    We stayed in the Barcelo in July , we were visiting friends who own a house opposite this hotel. So location near to them for us was very important . The hotel was fine , the views from our room were good over the golf course. Howerever I would not recommend this hotel unless you have children. They have a kids club with entertainment which does not start until late and goes on past mid night, and it is very very loud.


    BCOSTABALLENA, Guest Relations Manager at Barcelo Costa Ballena Golf & Spa, responded to this review
    Dear guest, We greatly appreciate the time you spent to review your experience in our hotel during July 2016. It is extremely disappointing for us to read that we were not able to cover your needs in this occasion, because at Barceló we always strive to exceed guests' expectations and your comments will help our teams reaching that goal. For the inconveniences you suffered due to the entertainment activities we are very sorry and like to apologize, although we would like to take the opportunity to explain that our resort is distributed in 5 buildings. On one hand the main building where you find the public areas as reception, restaurant, lobby bar, on the other hand 4 buildings providing the guest rooms. Therefore, some rooms are situated away from the activities and offer the same standards and views. For a future occasion please contact us directly and tell us about your preferences regarding the room location and there is no doubt that it will be considered upon room assignment. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back in a future occasion and show you how much we care. In the meanwhile, please do not hesitate to contact me directly if I could assist you in any way. Kind regards. Yours sincerely, Theresa Stretz Guest Experience Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • december 1 2016
    • Birmingham, United Kingdom
    • Couples

    BigDraw

    “A different type of review”


    Having visited Barcelo Montecastillo Golf in Jerez thought we would try Balreclo Cosat Ballena Golf.in Cadiz Having booked, contacted the hotel to book tee times, was told that unlike Montecastillo there was no golf included in fact despite being called "Golf" it doesn't have a course (unlike Montecastillo) This isn't obvious when you look on the website. Or maybe it's less obvious if you've stayed at a sister Golf Hotel with green fees included. Given the short term nature of my booking I was told that a refund wasn't possible. However following a longer conversation the hotel cancelled my reservation at no cost. The reason for the review; 1) Well done the hotel for doing the right thing (even if you didn't have to) 2) Beware if you (like me) thought the golf was included Thanks again Barcell Costa Ballena Golf & Spa for good customer service.


    BCOSTABALLENA, Guest Relations Manager at Barcelo Costa Ballena Golf & Spa, responded to this review
    Dear guest, Firstly we like to thank you having contacted us and for sharing your expectations and experiences. We deeply apologize for the misunderstanding regarding the golf club and I would like to make sure that we have taken note of your comments. Indeed the properties and therefore the procedures of the golf courses between Montecastillo and Costa Ballena are different although both hotels belong to Barceló Hotels & Resorts. On our website under the section “Golf” is a detailed description of the “Costa Ballena Ocean Club”, which is just 100m from our hotel. In the same place we inform about the assistance you get at our hotel Barceló Costa Ballena planning your tee times not only in the Ocean Golf Club, also in the other famous golf clubs in the surroundings, like Montecastillo. For that reason we may name “Barceló Costa Ballena Golf & Spa”. Anyway, please be assured that your comments will be taken into serious consideration and that they will help us to improve. On the other hand we really appreciate your positive and kind words towards our staff and we are very pleased to know that this issue finally could have been managed to your complete satisfaction. Our team works daily to provide the best possible service to let our guests feel most valued and genuinely cared for. Once again, thank you for the time you have taken to write this review and we hope that Barceló will remain an option for your next holiday and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future. It would be still a pleasure to welcome you at Barceló Costa Ballena Golf & Spa. Kind regards. Yours sincerely, Theresa S Guest Experience Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • november 23 2016
    • Family

    manidezed

    “Nice four stars for the low season”


    We went with my husband and two kids aged 8 and 4. Most of the days were very quite so the breakfast buffet and dinner were nice and tranquil. On one of the days there was a big group and the queue to sit down at the restaurant was very long. The weather and beach were fantastic. An average of 25 degrees in November is amazing! We would go back to this hotel but only during quite times.


    BCOSTABALLENA, Deputy Manager at Barcelo Costa Ballena Golf & Spa, responded to this review
    Dear Guest, Firstly, we would like to thank you for the lovely review that you shared with the followers of Tripadvisor after your recent visit to our Barceló Costa Ballena Golf & Spa. Also we are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations. We have taken good note of your remark on the queues at times in our breakfast during that remarkable day. Nevertheless we commit to improve on this aspect of our services so as to avoid receiving this kind of feedback in the future. Once more we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and very much look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Jorge Clemente Haro

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • november 7 2016
    • Ashtead
    • Family

    Stephen A

    “Autumn half term break”


    The hotel is 5 minutes away from an amazing beach, but not much else in the area that is open in October. The food was amazing in the hotel - really surpassed our expectations. Disappointing that as it was the end of October there was no air conditioning in the rooms nor did the fridge work and when we asked Reception, we were told that it was now Winter and there was nothing she could do - it was 26 degrees outside! The outdoor pool was also closed which was not clear on the website (although everyone just used it anyway). I am sure that the spa is lovely but it is incredibly expensive and 15 euros for a child to enter the indoor pool for 2 hours seems crazy to me! Hence we gave it a miss. Overall a great stay, but helped by amazing weather!


    BCOSTABALLENA, Deputy Manager at Barcelo Costa Ballena Golf & Spa, responded to this review
    Dear Stephen, Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent holiday experience among us, our main goal being to ensure we keep on delivering unforgettable holiday experiences to our guests, your comments are crucial in this process therefore we highly value your time and constructive critics. We regret your dissapoinment with our Spa price. But i have to say that is the average price of the Spa's in Andalusia. In order to your comment about our pool, i would like to apologize if its not clear in the website, We will fix the text properly. Regarding the air-conditioning, we are sorry if there was a problem with the functioning of the system in your room; the fact is that if it is working the heating the system can not work air conditioning. On the other hand we would like to thank you for your kind words towards our food and overall punctuation, we hope welcome you again soon. Best Regards, Jorge Clemente Haro

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • october 29 2016
    • Alftanes, Iceland
    • Family

    ornsteinar

    “Ten days of golf in the autumn of 2016”


    This was probably our twelfth stay at Barcelo Costa Ballena Golf & Spa. We have come regularly since 2006 to play golf and book through the Icelandic travel agency Heimsferðir which also operates an exellent golf scool on the premises. The + are: - Professional and exellent hotel staff - Rooms are well planned (except for the transparent toilet door) - New and separate beds - All balconies face the golf course and the Atlantic coast - Good food (excellent breakfast and good buffet in the evening) The - are: - Manuel is no longer in the bar - The rooms are in need of maintenance


    BCOSTABALLENA, Deputy Manager at Barcelo Costa Ballena Golf & Spa, responded to this review
    Dear Ornsteinar, First of all we would like to express our sincerest gratitude for your trust and loyalty to Barceló Hotels & Resorts for your holidays and for choosing our Barceló Costa Ballena hotel this time around, it is indeed a great source of satisfaction to read that once again you had a pleasant stay among us. We also appreciate your kind words for our staff member Manuel, unless he is now retired, We undoubtedly never forget his kindness and helpfulness. Once more we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and very much look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Best Regards, Jorge Clemente Haro

    Barceló Costa Ballena Golf & Spa  Hotel Spa

    Fantastic holiday hotel next to a magnificent Atlantic beach.

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

    to

      Incorrect dates
      Please enter valid dates

    NIGHTS

    (Optional dates)

    A discount or promotional code is a combination of letters and/or numbers that gives a discount on the normal rate. You can receive discount codes through special campaigns by being a my Barceló member, following us on social media or booking through Barcelo.com. 

    If you have a discount code, enter it when booking and you will receive a discount on your booking. The discount does not apply to the cost of extras. The maximum amount of the accumulated discount will be 25% off the rate (except for last rooms); it is possible to combine a discount code and special discounts. Only one discount code per booking is permitted.

    Loading rates...
    The hotel does not have any rates allocated to it

    Best online price guaranteed

    If you find a better rate, we will top it.

    We will return the difference and we will also apply an additional 10% discount to the cost of the final booking. For more information...