Barceló Isla Cristina Hotel Pool

Occidental Isla Cristina

Texto: 36617 All-inclusive hotel with plenty to offer for the whole family close to one of the best beaches on the Costa de la Luz. C/ Doctor Delgado Carrasco, s/n | 21410 Isla Cristina, Huelva
+34 959 62 11 00 +34 959 330 228
Occidental Isla Cristina Texto: 36617 4 out of 5 based on 1968 ratings. 1968 user reviews.
Occidental Isla Cristina reviewed by davidwM4271MG on . Occidental Isla Cristina. Hotel very good, the room excellent, but for me, just falling short of four stars. The web site describes it as "Ideal for Families" which it is, and "Ideal for Couples" which it is not. The mainly... Rating: 4
map

Occidental Isla Cristina

C/ Doctor Delgado Carrasco, s/n   21410 Isla Cristina, Huelva  


Places of Interest

85 km Faro International Airport

10 - 18 km Islantilla + Isla Canela golf courses

650 m Punta de Caimán beach

1.5 km Playa Central

Premios y Reconocimientos Prizes and awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Occidental Isla Cristina

4.0/5 Round Indicators
| 1963 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


GUESTS’ SCORE

Excellent

43% Complete

852

Very good

37% Complete

729

Average

12% Complete

255

Poor

4% Complete

81

Very poor

2% Complete

50

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    davidwM4271MG Grimsby, United Kingdom. 09/16/2017 Couples

    “Occidental Isla Cristina.”

    Hotel very good, the room excellent, but for me, just falling short of four stars. The web site describes it as "Ideal for Families" which it is, and "Ideal for Couples" which it is not. The mainly Spanish guests with kids were having a wonderful time with Barcy, and thoroughly deserved too as the hotel staff worked tirelessly to keep the children entertained. As for my wife and I, we prefer a bit more peace and quiet so not for us. The buffet restaurant was noisy and the food was a bit samey and not very hot. No fault of the hotel, but the surrounding streets were paved with dog dirt and broken glass, much to our surprise.
    Round Indicators
    Miguel F 07/18/2017 Family

    “Humiliating experience”

    Shouldn't be the title of an evaluation but unfortunately this was exactly how we felt staying at this hotel. We know that when we arrive at a location of such a big multinational hotel chain guests are nothing but numbers and also everybody knows that occasionally things don't work well. And we also expect that customer care would be something else rather than just an advertising statement. But now what we definitely don't expect is to be completely ignored and even mocked by the hotel's staff including the hotel's manager - "yeah yeah we're so sorry we broke your sunglasses while treating you and your family as forth class guests (but than again that's the way portuguese people should expect to be treated in a spanish hotel, right?) so here you have some scratched, sandy, 2nd hand sunglasses as a token of our deepest apologies". A disappointing, sad, even depressing experience.

    HBIslaCristina, Director General at Occidental Isla Cristina, responded to this review
     Dear Miguel, We were very disappointed to read your experience during your stay in our Occidental Isla Cristina, whilst an apology will regrettably not alter the outcome of your experience on this occasion, please believe we do extend it with all sincerity. According to the hotel policy reserving sunbeds is not allowed. We do our best to ensure the following of this standard, especially during high occupancy when this happens more often. Our Security staff kept your things after you left them in the sunbeds, and anfortunately your sunglasses were broken. The management hotel contacted you to offer different solutions, but you refused to accept them. We offered you a pair of sunglasses with the same value or even give you the money back, but we could not reach an agreement. We are really sorry about that, and we tried to do our best to solve the situation. Please be assured that your comments will be taken into serious consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. Once again, thank you for your time and despite the issues you have raised following your stay, we hope that Occidental will remain an option for your next holiday and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future. Best regards, Marcos Alonso General Manager Occidental Isla Cristina

    Round Indicators
    markZ6873JJ 07/17/2017 Family

    “Great stay”

    We really enjoyed our stay in the Barcelo Isla Cristina, the check in/out were easy and we received a €90 gift card upon arrival for joining the Barcelo club online. The pool is pretty big and 1m deep throughout most of it so perfect for our 4 and 6 year old to play around in. There was also a smaller shallow pool for babies/toddlers. Our kids loved the mini club which was structured with different activities each day and also included all the children taking part in a show on stage in the evening. The evening entertainment was enjoyable every single night and was suitable for adults and children. The food was of a good quality and there a good variety throughout our week, also with the option of eating inside or outside on the terraza. The beach is around 200-300m but it wasn't crowded, there was a lifeguard, toilets and a couple of bars/restaurants. Parking was €12 a day underground at the hotel or you could park in the street by the hotel for free. Our room had a kitchen which was great as there's a Mercadona supermarket less than two minutes from the hotel. All in all a great hotel, great facilities, friendly staff, a fantastic mini club which allowed us to have a very enjoyable and stress free stay.
    Round Indicators
    583deryam Gelsenkirchen, Germany. 07/10/2017 Family

    “Relaxing holidays for families with small children”

    If you want to have a relaxing time and special treatment for your kids you should consider Occidental Isla Cristina as your next holiday. But you should take into account that in Isla Cristina (and in the hotel) you will be confronted with a language barrier if you cannot speak or are not keen on learning a basic set of Spanish words.

    HBIslaCristina, Director General at Occidental Isla Cristina, responded to this review
     Dear guest, We greatly appreciate the time you spent to review your recent experience in our hotel, at Occidental Isla Cristina we always strive to exceed guests' expectations and your comments will help our teams reaching that goal. At Occidental Isla Cristina we strive to deliver an excellent service to our international clientele, therefore we always ensure that on every shift we have réceptionists able to communicate with all main nationalities represented by our guests, nevertheless we thank you for your constructive remark and will make sure to share your review with our head of departments for improvement. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certaily look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future. Sincerely, Marcos Alonso General Manager Occidental Isla Cristina

    Round Indicators
    betterthanwork Nottingham, England. 06/30/2017 Couples

    “Mixed Opinion”

    Spent a week here with my wife and although the stay was all right, the negatives outweighed the positives. First the good points - the staff were outstanding, hard-working but always smiling and polite. A special word of thanks to the lovely lady who was cooking fresh food in the restaurant. The room was a decent size, excellent (and essential) aircon, nice balcony to sit out on, comfy beds, good wi-fi. The fact that most guests were Spanish was not a problem for us and gave me chance to practice my language skills. Nice to get bottled wine for dinner, branded spirits at the bar, daily cocktails were nice. Now for the bad points - our first view of the pool area showed only covered sunbed areas around the big pool and some fixed thatched palapas by the small pool. If you did not get a bed in those areas you would be fully exposed to the very hot sun, as there were no parasols for the other sunbeds. We managed to get a palapa, but that end of the complex gets the road noise and the busy delivery bay is just behind the screening. Maybe we were unlucky with some of the following, but on the Monday 40 junior age schoolchildren descended on the pool for a day trip. There were teachers with them, but they regularly ran dangerously around the poolside and of course created a lot of noise. We also observed non-hotel residents using sunbeds and on one occasion helping themselves to the all inclusive food. Talking of which, we never ate any of the outdoors food, as it was left uncovered all day for the flies to crawl over. The pool toilets were out of order for 5 days, the entertainment sound system was playing up, the restaurant had renovation work which created big queues when the many weekenders arrived. On one night only did we get cloth napkins instead of paper, no table cloths (just mats), the lounge bar was not in use which created longer waiting times at the pool bar at the weekend. Also, smoking continues to be a nuisance in Europe, allowing people to smoke at the outside dining tables when others are eating right next to them. The hotel was not the most welcoming - no drink offered on arriving, charging an extortionate 5€ a day for the safe and then not having courtesy rooms on departure day, offering you to change and shower in the gym instead!

    HBIslaCristina, Director General at Occidental Isla Cristina, responded to this review
     Dear Guest, Firstly we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your impressions regarding your recent stay at our Occidental Isla Cristina. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and improve upon the service that we provide to our guests. First of all we would like to point out that we empathize with you and we understand your preference for a more tranquil accommodation. Nevertheless it is our target to offer all our guests a splendid and amusing holiday and therefore we try to combine lively attractions for the action seekers with a well organized distribution in facilities and time tables to ensure that the guests wanting to relax can do so at all times. We want you to know that we do empathize with you regarding our smoking guests, however we would like to inform you that we must adhere to Spanish law which entitles guests to smoke anywhere outside on our hotels premises, apart from near children´s play areas which appears not to have been the case during your stay and we apologize for any inconvenience this caused you. According to the hotel policy reserving sunbeds is not allowed. We do our best to ensure the following of this standard, especially during high occupancy when this happens more often and we apologize if exceptionally during your stay we weren’t able to have a total control on this matter. Thank you for your very nice compliments for our team, they do work very hard every day to make sure our guests feel well attended to at all times and definitely are an asset to our hotel. We will certainly relay your praising comments to all of them and we are sure they will be pleased to know their efforts have been appreciated. Last but not least, it fills us with pride that you could enjoy the gastronomical efforts of our chefs as we strive to satisfy the many culinary wishes of our guests offering the most delicious international and local dishes. We have taken note of your various constructive comments and please be assured that we value all our guests' feedback to be of utmost importance to us and will ensure that the necessary corrective measures are taken accordingly to avoid any similar situations in the future. Best regards, Marcos Alonso General Manager Occidental Isla Cristina

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • september 16 2017
    • Grimsby, United Kingdom
    • Couples

    davidwM4271MG

    “Occidental Isla Cristina.”


    Hotel very good, the room excellent, but for me, just falling short of four stars. The web site describes it as "Ideal for Families" which it is, and "Ideal for Couples" which it is not. The mainly Spanish guests with kids were having a wonderful time with Barcy, and thoroughly deserved too as the hotel staff worked tirelessly to keep the children entertained. As for my wife and I, we prefer a bit more peace and quiet so not for us. The buffet restaurant was noisy and the food was a bit samey and not very hot. No fault of the hotel, but the surrounding streets were paved with dog dirt and broken glass, much to our surprise.


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • july 18 2017
    • Family

    Miguel F

    “Humiliating experience”


    Shouldn't be the title of an evaluation but unfortunately this was exactly how we felt staying at this hotel. We know that when we arrive at a location of such a big multinational hotel chain guests are nothing but numbers and also everybody knows that occasionally things don't work well. And we also expect that customer care would be something else rather than just an advertising statement. But now what we definitely don't expect is to be completely ignored and even mocked by the hotel's staff including the hotel's manager - "yeah yeah we're so sorry we broke your sunglasses while treating you and your family as forth class guests (but than again that's the way portuguese people should expect to be treated in a spanish hotel, right?) so here you have some scratched, sandy, 2nd hand sunglasses as a token of our deepest apologies". A disappointing, sad, even depressing experience.


    HBIslaCristina, Director General at Occidental Isla Cristina, responded to this review
    Dear Miguel, We were very disappointed to read your experience during your stay in our Occidental Isla Cristina, whilst an apology will regrettably not alter the outcome of your experience on this occasion, please believe we do extend it with all sincerity. According to the hotel policy reserving sunbeds is not allowed. We do our best to ensure the following of this standard, especially during high occupancy when this happens more often. Our Security staff kept your things after you left them in the sunbeds, and anfortunately your sunglasses were broken. The management hotel contacted you to offer different solutions, but you refused to accept them. We offered you a pair of sunglasses with the same value or even give you the money back, but we could not reach an agreement. We are really sorry about that, and we tried to do our best to solve the situation. Please be assured that your comments will be taken into serious consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. Once again, thank you for your time and despite the issues you have raised following your stay, we hope that Occidental will remain an option for your next holiday and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future. Best regards, Marcos Alonso General Manager Occidental Isla Cristina

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • july 17 2017
    • Family

    markZ6873JJ

    “Great stay”


    We really enjoyed our stay in the Barcelo Isla Cristina, the check in/out were easy and we received a €90 gift card upon arrival for joining the Barcelo club online. The pool is pretty big and 1m deep throughout most of it so perfect for our 4 and 6 year old to play around in. There was also a smaller shallow pool for babies/toddlers. Our kids loved the mini club which was structured with different activities each day and also included all the children taking part in a show on stage in the evening. The evening entertainment was enjoyable every single night and was suitable for adults and children. The food was of a good quality and there a good variety throughout our week, also with the option of eating inside or outside on the terraza. The beach is around 200-300m but it wasn't crowded, there was a lifeguard, toilets and a couple of bars/restaurants. Parking was €12 a day underground at the hotel or you could park in the street by the hotel for free. Our room had a kitchen which was great as there's a Mercadona supermarket less than two minutes from the hotel. All in all a great hotel, great facilities, friendly staff, a fantastic mini club which allowed us to have a very enjoyable and stress free stay.


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • july 10 2017
    • Gelsenkirchen, Germany
    • Family

    583deryam

    “Relaxing holidays for families with small children”


    If you want to have a relaxing time and special treatment for your kids you should consider Occidental Isla Cristina as your next holiday. But you should take into account that in Isla Cristina (and in the hotel) you will be confronted with a language barrier if you cannot speak or are not keen on learning a basic set of Spanish words.


    HBIslaCristina, Director General at Occidental Isla Cristina, responded to this review
    Dear guest, We greatly appreciate the time you spent to review your recent experience in our hotel, at Occidental Isla Cristina we always strive to exceed guests' expectations and your comments will help our teams reaching that goal. At Occidental Isla Cristina we strive to deliver an excellent service to our international clientele, therefore we always ensure that on every shift we have réceptionists able to communicate with all main nationalities represented by our guests, nevertheless we thank you for your constructive remark and will make sure to share your review with our head of departments for improvement. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certaily look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future. Sincerely, Marcos Alonso General Manager Occidental Isla Cristina

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • june 30 2017
    • Nottingham, England
    • Couples

    betterthanwork

    “Mixed Opinion”


    Spent a week here with my wife and although the stay was all right, the negatives outweighed the positives. First the good points - the staff were outstanding, hard-working but always smiling and polite. A special word of thanks to the lovely lady who was cooking fresh food in the restaurant. The room was a decent size, excellent (and essential) aircon, nice balcony to sit out on, comfy beds, good wi-fi. The fact that most guests were Spanish was not a problem for us and gave me chance to practice my language skills. Nice to get bottled wine for dinner, branded spirits at the bar, daily cocktails were nice. Now for the bad points - our first view of the pool area showed only covered sunbed areas around the big pool and some fixed thatched palapas by the small pool. If you did not get a bed in those areas you would be fully exposed to the very hot sun, as there were no parasols for the other sunbeds. We managed to get a palapa, but that end of the complex gets the road noise and the busy delivery bay is just behind the screening. Maybe we were unlucky with some of the following, but on the Monday 40 junior age schoolchildren descended on the pool for a day trip. There were teachers with them, but they regularly ran dangerously around the poolside and of course created a lot of noise. We also observed non-hotel residents using sunbeds and on one occasion helping themselves to the all inclusive food. Talking of which, we never ate any of the outdoors food, as it was left uncovered all day for the flies to crawl over. The pool toilets were out of order for 5 days, the entertainment sound system was playing up, the restaurant had renovation work which created big queues when the many weekenders arrived. On one night only did we get cloth napkins instead of paper, no table cloths (just mats), the lounge bar was not in use which created longer waiting times at the pool bar at the weekend. Also, smoking continues to be a nuisance in Europe, allowing people to smoke at the outside dining tables when others are eating right next to them. The hotel was not the most welcoming - no drink offered on arriving, charging an extortionate 5€ a day for the safe and then not having courtesy rooms on departure day, offering you to change and shower in the gym instead!


    HBIslaCristina, Director General at Occidental Isla Cristina, responded to this review
    Dear Guest, Firstly we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your impressions regarding your recent stay at our Occidental Isla Cristina. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and improve upon the service that we provide to our guests. First of all we would like to point out that we empathize with you and we understand your preference for a more tranquil accommodation. Nevertheless it is our target to offer all our guests a splendid and amusing holiday and therefore we try to combine lively attractions for the action seekers with a well organized distribution in facilities and time tables to ensure that the guests wanting to relax can do so at all times. We want you to know that we do empathize with you regarding our smoking guests, however we would like to inform you that we must adhere to Spanish law which entitles guests to smoke anywhere outside on our hotels premises, apart from near children´s play areas which appears not to have been the case during your stay and we apologize for any inconvenience this caused you. According to the hotel policy reserving sunbeds is not allowed. We do our best to ensure the following of this standard, especially during high occupancy when this happens more often and we apologize if exceptionally during your stay we weren’t able to have a total control on this matter. Thank you for your very nice compliments for our team, they do work very hard every day to make sure our guests feel well attended to at all times and definitely are an asset to our hotel. We will certainly relay your praising comments to all of them and we are sure they will be pleased to know their efforts have been appreciated. Last but not least, it fills us with pride that you could enjoy the gastronomical efforts of our chefs as we strive to satisfy the many culinary wishes of our guests offering the most delicious international and local dishes. We have taken note of your various constructive comments and please be assured that we value all our guests' feedback to be of utmost importance to us and will ensure that the necessary corrective measures are taken accordingly to avoid any similar situations in the future. Best regards, Marcos Alonso General Manager Occidental Isla Cristina

    Barceló Isla Cristina Hotel Children´s Play Park

    An all inclusive paradise by the sea

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

    to

      Incorrect dates
      Please enter valid dates

    NIGHTS

    (Optional dates)

    A discount* or promotional code (also appears as “promo code”) is a combination of letters and/or numbers that gives a discount on the normal rate. If you have a discount code, enter it when booking and you will receive a discount on your booking. Once you have entered this code, the prices shown in step 1 of the booking process will already include the relevant discount. 

    The discount does not apply to prices on extras and/or extra services, neither does it apply to prices on last available rooms. You can only apply one discount code per booking which will only be valid at the time of making your booking.** 

    The maximum amount of accumulated discount will be at most 25% off the rate for hotels in Latin America and at most 20% off the rate for European and Mediterranean hotels. It is possible to combine a discount code with a special discount*** (discounts when you book multiple rooms, senior, resident, millennials, large families, etc.) and the discount for being a my Barceló client. 

    *Barceló reserves the right to accept the application of advertised discounts. 

    **The application of the discount code is not valid upon arrival at the hotel; the discount is only applicable at the time of booking. 

    ***The hotel will request to see valid official documents to verify compliance with the conditions for the discount codes and special discounts. In the event of not providing valid official documents or non-compliance, the hotel reserves the right to charge the amounts that were deducted from the original reservation.

    Loading rates...
    The hotel does not have any rates allocated to it

    Best online price guaranteed

    If you find a better rate, we will top it.

    We will return the difference and we will also apply an additional 10% discount to the cost of the final booking. For more information...