Surroundings at the Occidental Playa de Palma hotel

Occidental Playa de Palma

Texto: 105339 Right in the heart of Playa de Palma, this hotel boasts an exclusive selection of sports facilities including a prestigious cycling centre. CL Fra Joan Llabrés, 16 | 07600 Playa de Palma, Palma de Mallorca (Mallorca)
+34 971 261 700 +34 971 266 936
Occidental Playa de Palma Texto: 105339 4 out of 5 based on 1547 ratings. 1547 user reviews.
Occidental Playa de Palma reviewed by KevinChilton on . 2 person stay in July aug Very poor 4 star hotel. facilities not big enough for the number of guests. not enough sunbeds food good. took over an hour to check in.normal rooms very small. not shown in brochure!! _ we upgraded... Rating: 2
map

Occidental Playa de Palma

CL Fra Joan Llabrés, 16   07600 Playa de Palma, Palma de Mallorca (Mallorca)  


Places of Interest

6 km Son Sant Joan International Airport

7 km Son Antem Golf Course

200 m Palma beach

200 m Bus to Palma

Premios y Reconocimientos Prizes and awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Occidental Playa de Palma

4.0/5 Round Indicators
| 1584 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


GUESTS’ SCORE

Excellent

31% Complete

503

Very good

40% Complete

646

Average

18% Complete

291

Poor

5% Complete

95

Very poor

3% Complete

49

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    IulianaRo Romania. 08/12/2017 Solo travel

    “A pleasant experience”

    We stayed at this hotel at the end of July. We were pleasantly surprised by the services and the conditions here. Staff was very friendly. Overall, our vacation was enjoyable and we warmly recommend this hotel.
    Round Indicators
    08/12/2017 Friends getaway

    “Nice hotel close to the beach”

    I don't generally post reviews online but, having seen some of the more negative experiences that people seem to have posted about recently, I felt it only fair to give this hotel the credit it deserves. We booked this as a short break to soak up some sun. We wanted a small hotel that was close to the beach that had an all inclusive option and this is exactly what we got here. The hotel is a small-ish size but the pool and bar facilities were appropriate for this. Yes, lots of sun loungers were taken from 7/8 in the morning but this seems to be the case in most places. We have been able to find several sun loungers still available at 10-ish so this really hasn't been an issue. The food option in the buffet is good- lots of choice and they even advertise that they can cater for dietary needs such as coeliac. The drinks side of things stop at midnight so make sure you grab some water for the room! As for noisy groups - the whole area seems to be popular with young Europeans out on their group holidays so there is some noise. We were woken once at 4am by a group of girls but this was brief and made us chuckle more than anything. The hotel hosts a mixture of clients ranging from families to young groups. Lastly, the staff that we have spoken with whilst here have all been friendly and polite. It's been a lovely stay and we haven't been able to fault anything!
    Round Indicators
    herman586 Birmingham, United Kingdom. 08/04/2017 Family

    “A nice hotel but small for the amount of guest”

    Overall not a bad experience, the pool facilities are clean however there are never enough sunbeds. Residents start putting personal belongings down from 5am in the morning. We had a junior suite which was clean and suitable for our holiday. The location is good as it far enough from beach which is full of noisy Germans drinking vast amounts of alcohol in the local bars.The hotel could do with the bar being open during day for people to sit in more quieter and comfortable surroundings. The evenings were good, full of nice people with their families enjoying a drink after dinner. If you are coming with your family I would recommend not to got to the local restaurants as you do get disturbed by German football fans chanting various songs. The staff are very nice however due to the language barrier can be difficult to communicate .Overall the hotel is good but due to no fault of them the clientele can b quite young and loud- usually very drunk however they did not disturb our holiday- We were all young once

    GEM-Playadepalma, Guest Experience Manager at Occidental Playa de Palma, responded to this review
     Dear Hermann, We greatly appreciate the time you spent to review your recent experience in our hotel, at Occidental Playa de Palma we always strive to exceed guests' expectations and your comments will help our teams reaching that goal. According to the hotel policy reserving sunbeds is not allowed. We do our best to ensure the following of this standard, especially during high occupancy when this happens more often and we apologize if exceptionally during your stay we weren’t able to have a total control on this matter. Thank you for your very nice compliments for our team, they do work very hard every day to make sure our guests feel well attended to at all times and definitely are an asset to our hotel. We will certainly relay your praising comments to all of them and we are sure they will be pleased to know their efforts have been appreciated even though we would like to point out that all our staff memebers are speaking minimum english, tring to provide service in the most common languages. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certaily look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future. Best regards Orsy Szilagyi Guest Experience Manager

    Round Indicators
    KevinChilton Leeds, England, United Kingdom. 08/03/2017 Couples

    “2 person stay in July aug”

    Very poor 4 star hotel. facilities not big enough for the number of guests. not enough sunbeds food good. took over an hour to check in.normal rooms very small. not shown in brochure!! _ we upgraded to suite which was nice. Whilst not a fault of the hotel this is very much a predominantly German resort. If would spear to have become the equivalent of the English magaluf resort.

    GEM-Playadepalma, Guest Experience Manager at Occidental Playa de Palma, responded to this review
     Dear Mr. Chilton, Although we sincerely regret reading that your stay at our Occidental Playa de Palma fell short of your expectations, we are grateful for the time you spent to share this feedback of your overall holiday experience among us as we certainly believe that there is always room for improvement and your constructive feedback is very much appreciated. We have taken good note of your remarks related to the service you received upon check in and apologize for the exceptional wait you expérienced upon your arrival, we will do our utmost to improve on this aspect of our services and extend our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused to you and your loved ones. Regarding the size of the rooms we regret your disappointment however we would like to point out that we have different room categories at disposal and all the accomodiation details, size and facilities are described in the Touroperator brochures aswell on the third party websites. In the same time we are glad to hear that you were satisfied with the room after your upgrade. Once again, thank you for your visit and constructive critics, we hope that you had a nice journey back home and to have the pleasure of serving you again in our hotels worldwide ensuring you in advance of our best intentions at all times. Best regards Orsy Szilagyi Guest Experience Manager

    Round Indicators
    AjoyLeeds Leeds, United Kingdom. 07/30/2017 Family

    “Dreadful experience”

    I am generally a happy go lucky person not very quick to complain so this review is unusual for me. The first thing I would say is that if you are looking for a relaxing family friendly break with attentive staff then this is NOT the place for you. I won't catalogue the many complaints but hopefully give you an honest picture so that you can spend your hard earned pennies wisely and enjoy your holiday. We had booked a junior suite as it had a separate room for my 12 year old son to sleep. The room was a good size and well designed and luckily facing away from the pool so was quiet. We arrived at 10am and the room was not available till 2pm... fair enough, we asked to rent towels till our room became available and handed over a 30 euro deposit. As we didn't have a room the receptionist said that she would note this on our room when it became available. As we were leaving early Sunday morning I decided to take them back Saturday evening to aid check out. I was duly informed at reception that I couldn't have my money back without a receipt, I explained that I wasn't given one and how could I have the towels if I hadn't paid for them to be told that I still couldn't have my money back, I asked what I should do with the towels in that case and was told with a shrug.. take them home. I then asked to book an 8am taxi for my flight in the morning and was refused being told that we will just call it in the morning when you come to reception.. that would have been fine despite earlier in the week we couldn't get a taxi for an hour.. I basically had to demand he called. I asked to speak to a manager and was informed that there were no managers on site until 9am the next morning after we had left. I find it strange that a hotel of this size has no duty manager. Other highlights include: Extremely drunk young Germans drinking till they pass out and continued to be served by the hotel Queue jumping at every point and bar staff turning a blind eye A broken safe A broken room phone Towels on sunbeds from 6am.. you have no hope after 7am Filthy pool bar area Rude unhelpful staff who clearly don't want to be there No level of customer service at all The resort is the German version of magaluf.. if I ever see a man weeing in the street, a penis straw, strip bar or an abusive t shirt again it will be far too soon. To be fair the breakfast buffet is good and there is a VIP rooftop section that you can pay for but really that dosent change the fact that this is a poorly managed German version of butlins.. actually that's unfair to butlins. So here we are 2k down still waiting for an email complaint made a week ago to head office. Still at least it was hot.. and I am no longer ghostly white and have more beach towels than I know what to do with.

    GEM-Playadepalma, Guest Experience at Occidental Playa de Palma, responded to this review
     Dear Guest, Although we are quite surprised and dismayed by the content of your review regarding your holiday at our Occidental Playa de Palma , please rest assured that your comments have been taken onboard and revised by the entire Management team, however we would like to take this opportunity to clarify certain aspects of your review as a simple matter of exactness of the information reported. First of all we regret your disappointment for being unable to check in upon your early arrival even though you requested it and understand reading your review that apparently you were not properly informed about the appointed check in time starting at 14 o´clock, although it should be reported on the booking confirmation; at the hotel we always do our utmost to make sure our guests can check in as soon as they arrive, unfortunately during periods of high occupancy it may not be possible considering that check out is at 12 o´clock and our housekeeping staff needs to undertake a thorough cleaning of the rooms before assigning them to new arrivals. At Occidental Playa de Palma we lay high value on our personnel being guest oriented and welcoming at all times, being fully aware that their interactions with our guests have an enormous impact on the overall holiday experience in our hotels, therefore we are sincerely sorry to read your comments on the service your received and commit to adjust any situation that leads us away from our goal being to make sure our guests feel welcome and attended to at all times. It is also good to know that you enjoyed the many culinary delights prepared by our professional Chefs who always strive to offer a wide variety of typical delights in order to please all palates and we thank you for letting us know that we could conquer yours. Please be assured that your comments were taken into serious consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. Once again, thank you for your time and despite the issues you have raised following your stay, we hope that Occidental Hotels will remain an option for your next holiday and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future. Best regards Orsy Szilagyi Guest Experience Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • august 12 2017
    • Romania
    • Solo travel

    IulianaRo

    “A pleasant experience”


    We stayed at this hotel at the end of July. We were pleasantly surprised by the services and the conditions here. Staff was very friendly. Overall, our vacation was enjoyable and we warmly recommend this hotel.


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • august 12 2017
    • Friends getaway

    “Nice hotel close to the beach”


    I don't generally post reviews online but, having seen some of the more negative experiences that people seem to have posted about recently, I felt it only fair to give this hotel the credit it deserves. We booked this as a short break to soak up some sun. We wanted a small hotel that was close to the beach that had an all inclusive option and this is exactly what we got here. The hotel is a small-ish size but the pool and bar facilities were appropriate for this. Yes, lots of sun loungers were taken from 7/8 in the morning but this seems to be the case in most places. We have been able to find several sun loungers still available at 10-ish so this really hasn't been an issue. The food option in the buffet is good- lots of choice and they even advertise that they can cater for dietary needs such as coeliac. The drinks side of things stop at midnight so make sure you grab some water for the room! As for noisy groups - the whole area seems to be popular with young Europeans out on their group holidays so there is some noise. We were woken once at 4am by a group of girls but this was brief and made us chuckle more than anything. The hotel hosts a mixture of clients ranging from families to young groups. Lastly, the staff that we have spoken with whilst here have all been friendly and polite. It's been a lovely stay and we haven't been able to fault anything!


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • august 4 2017
    • Birmingham, United Kingdom
    • Family

    herman586

    “A nice hotel but small for the amount of guest”


    Overall not a bad experience, the pool facilities are clean however there are never enough sunbeds. Residents start putting personal belongings down from 5am in the morning. We had a junior suite which was clean and suitable for our holiday. The location is good as it far enough from beach which is full of noisy Germans drinking vast amounts of alcohol in the local bars.The hotel could do with the bar being open during day for people to sit in more quieter and comfortable surroundings. The evenings were good, full of nice people with their families enjoying a drink after dinner. If you are coming with your family I would recommend not to got to the local restaurants as you do get disturbed by German football fans chanting various songs. The staff are very nice however due to the language barrier can be difficult to communicate .Overall the hotel is good but due to no fault of them the clientele can b quite young and loud- usually very drunk however they did not disturb our holiday- We were all young once


    GEM-Playadepalma, Guest Experience Manager at Occidental Playa de Palma, responded to this review
    Dear Hermann, We greatly appreciate the time you spent to review your recent experience in our hotel, at Occidental Playa de Palma we always strive to exceed guests' expectations and your comments will help our teams reaching that goal. According to the hotel policy reserving sunbeds is not allowed. We do our best to ensure the following of this standard, especially during high occupancy when this happens more often and we apologize if exceptionally during your stay we weren’t able to have a total control on this matter. Thank you for your very nice compliments for our team, they do work very hard every day to make sure our guests feel well attended to at all times and definitely are an asset to our hotel. We will certainly relay your praising comments to all of them and we are sure they will be pleased to know their efforts have been appreciated even though we would like to point out that all our staff memebers are speaking minimum english, tring to provide service in the most common languages. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certaily look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future. Best regards Orsy Szilagyi Guest Experience Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • august 3 2017
    • Leeds, England, United Kingdom
    • Couples

    KevinChilton

    “2 person stay in July aug”


    Very poor 4 star hotel. facilities not big enough for the number of guests. not enough sunbeds food good. took over an hour to check in.normal rooms very small. not shown in brochure!! _ we upgraded to suite which was nice. Whilst not a fault of the hotel this is very much a predominantly German resort. If would spear to have become the equivalent of the English magaluf resort.


    GEM-Playadepalma, Guest Experience Manager at Occidental Playa de Palma, responded to this review
    Dear Mr. Chilton, Although we sincerely regret reading that your stay at our Occidental Playa de Palma fell short of your expectations, we are grateful for the time you spent to share this feedback of your overall holiday experience among us as we certainly believe that there is always room for improvement and your constructive feedback is very much appreciated. We have taken good note of your remarks related to the service you received upon check in and apologize for the exceptional wait you expérienced upon your arrival, we will do our utmost to improve on this aspect of our services and extend our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused to you and your loved ones. Regarding the size of the rooms we regret your disappointment however we would like to point out that we have different room categories at disposal and all the accomodiation details, size and facilities are described in the Touroperator brochures aswell on the third party websites. In the same time we are glad to hear that you were satisfied with the room after your upgrade. Once again, thank you for your visit and constructive critics, we hope that you had a nice journey back home and to have the pleasure of serving you again in our hotels worldwide ensuring you in advance of our best intentions at all times. Best regards Orsy Szilagyi Guest Experience Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • july 30 2017
    • Leeds, United Kingdom
    • Family

    AjoyLeeds

    “Dreadful experience”


    I am generally a happy go lucky person not very quick to complain so this review is unusual for me. The first thing I would say is that if you are looking for a relaxing family friendly break with attentive staff then this is NOT the place for you. I won't catalogue the many complaints but hopefully give you an honest picture so that you can spend your hard earned pennies wisely and enjoy your holiday. We had booked a junior suite as it had a separate room for my 12 year old son to sleep. The room was a good size and well designed and luckily facing away from the pool so was quiet. We arrived at 10am and the room was not available till 2pm... fair enough, we asked to rent towels till our room became available and handed over a 30 euro deposit. As we didn't have a room the receptionist said that she would note this on our room when it became available. As we were leaving early Sunday morning I decided to take them back Saturday evening to aid check out. I was duly informed at reception that I couldn't have my money back without a receipt, I explained that I wasn't given one and how could I have the towels if I hadn't paid for them to be told that I still couldn't have my money back, I asked what I should do with the towels in that case and was told with a shrug.. take them home. I then asked to book an 8am taxi for my flight in the morning and was refused being told that we will just call it in the morning when you come to reception.. that would have been fine despite earlier in the week we couldn't get a taxi for an hour.. I basically had to demand he called. I asked to speak to a manager and was informed that there were no managers on site until 9am the next morning after we had left. I find it strange that a hotel of this size has no duty manager. Other highlights include: Extremely drunk young Germans drinking till they pass out and continued to be served by the hotel Queue jumping at every point and bar staff turning a blind eye A broken safe A broken room phone Towels on sunbeds from 6am.. you have no hope after 7am Filthy pool bar area Rude unhelpful staff who clearly don't want to be there No level of customer service at all The resort is the German version of magaluf.. if I ever see a man weeing in the street, a penis straw, strip bar or an abusive t shirt again it will be far too soon. To be fair the breakfast buffet is good and there is a VIP rooftop section that you can pay for but really that dosent change the fact that this is a poorly managed German version of butlins.. actually that's unfair to butlins. So here we are 2k down still waiting for an email complaint made a week ago to head office. Still at least it was hot.. and I am no longer ghostly white and have more beach towels than I know what to do with.


    GEM-Playadepalma, Guest Experience at Occidental Playa de Palma, responded to this review
    Dear Guest, Although we are quite surprised and dismayed by the content of your review regarding your holiday at our Occidental Playa de Palma , please rest assured that your comments have been taken onboard and revised by the entire Management team, however we would like to take this opportunity to clarify certain aspects of your review as a simple matter of exactness of the information reported. First of all we regret your disappointment for being unable to check in upon your early arrival even though you requested it and understand reading your review that apparently you were not properly informed about the appointed check in time starting at 14 o´clock, although it should be reported on the booking confirmation; at the hotel we always do our utmost to make sure our guests can check in as soon as they arrive, unfortunately during periods of high occupancy it may not be possible considering that check out is at 12 o´clock and our housekeeping staff needs to undertake a thorough cleaning of the rooms before assigning them to new arrivals. At Occidental Playa de Palma we lay high value on our personnel being guest oriented and welcoming at all times, being fully aware that their interactions with our guests have an enormous impact on the overall holiday experience in our hotels, therefore we are sincerely sorry to read your comments on the service your received and commit to adjust any situation that leads us away from our goal being to make sure our guests feel welcome and attended to at all times. It is also good to know that you enjoyed the many culinary delights prepared by our professional Chefs who always strive to offer a wide variety of typical delights in order to please all palates and we thank you for letting us know that we could conquer yours. Please be assured that your comments were taken into serious consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. Once again, thank you for your time and despite the issues you have raised following your stay, we hope that Occidental Hotels will remain an option for your next holiday and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future. Best regards Orsy Szilagyi Guest Experience Manager

    Swimming pool at the Occidental Playa de Palma hotel

    An unforgettable holiday in Mallorca starts right here

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

    to

      Incorrect dates
      Please enter valid dates

    NIGHTS

    (Optional dates)

    A discount* or promotional code (also appears as “promo code”) is a combination of letters and/or numbers that gives a discount on the normal rate. If you have a discount code, enter it when booking and you will receive a discount on your booking. Once you have entered this code, the prices shown in step 1 of the booking process will already include the relevant discount. 

    The discount does not apply to prices on extras and/or extra services, neither does it apply to prices on last available rooms. You can only apply one discount code per booking which will only be valid at the time of making your booking.** 

    The maximum amount of accumulated discount will be at most 25% off the rate for hotels in Latin America and at most 20% off the rate for European and Mediterranean hotels. It is possible to combine a discount code with a special discount*** (discounts when you book multiple rooms, senior, resident, millennials, large families, etc.) and the discount for being a my Barceló client. 

    *Barceló reserves the right to accept the application of advertised discounts. 

    **The application of the discount code is not valid upon arrival at the hotel; the discount is only applicable at the time of booking. 

    ***The hotel will request to see valid official documents to verify compliance with the conditions for the discount codes and special discounts. In the event of not providing valid official documents or non-compliance, the hotel reserves the right to charge the amounts that were deducted from the original reservation.

    Loading rates...
    The hotel does not have any rates allocated to it

    Best online price guaranteed

    If you find a better rate, we will top it.

    We will return the difference and we will also apply an additional 10% discount to the cost of the final booking. For more information...