Instalaciones del hotel Barceló Atenea Mar

Occidental Atenea Mar - Adults only

Texto: 90136 Seafront hotel located in the most modern district in Barcelona, this hotel is perfect for business or pleasure. Paseo García Faria 37-47 | 08019 Barcelona
+34 93 531 60 40 +34 93 531 6090
Occidental Atenea Mar - Adults only Texto: 90136 4 out of 5 based on 1491 ratings. 1491 user reviews.
Occidental Atenea Mar - Adults only reviewed by tomass985 on . Nice hotel We did not get the room we pay for it was clean but very small, that is about all bad we have to say, nice staf, little pool and not enaugh space to go into pool. since we close to beach it was no... Rating: 4
map

Occidental Atenea Mar - Adults only

Paseo García Faria 37-47   08019 Barcelona  


Places of Interest

12 km El Prat

2 km Macao Beach

1 km Golden Atenea Spa

2 km Françia Railway Station

Premios y Reconocimientos Prizes and awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Occidental Atenea Mar - Adults only

4.0/5 Round Indicators
| 1506 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


GUESTS’ SCORE

Excellent

36% Complete

547

Very good

40% Complete

614

Average

14% Complete

217

Poor

5% Complete

82

Very poor

3% Complete

46

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    ShelSEdmonton Edmonton, Canada. 08/13/2017 Couples

    “Hotel is at a great beach location on the Hop on Off route”

    Best parts - across street from beach, great view, very clean updated room with comfortable bed and pillow selection, on Hop on off bus route. What we feel needs improving - need more bar staff at the pool, need more loung chairs at the pool, work on sewer smell at the pool. We did not use the restaurant, or gym so can not comment.
    Round Indicators
    628matsf Kungalv, Sweden. 08/11/2017 Family

    “One of the best Hotels ever”

    fantastic breakfast...wonderful staff..the Hotel is close the the ocean, with a nice view over the medeterainien...Very good beach outside the hotel..approx 300m walk to the water. The hotel is modern and clean and we will come back next time in Barcelona.. .Mats with family from Sweden
    Round Indicators
    Sazhom Birmingham, United Kingdom. 08/11/2017 Friends getaway

    “Disappointing for the price ”

    We paid 250 euros a night to stay here. It was noisy. You have to pay extra for sunbeds. The triple room bed is a camp bed so not like in the picture. The pool is more like a paddling pool- again, not like the pictures. It's just generally overpriced for what it is. Neighbourhood is nice though.

    NelaGEM, Guest Experience Assistant at Occidental Atenea Mar - Adults only, responded to this review
     Dear Guest, We are really sorry to read that you did not enjoy the experience in our hotel to the fullest as we strive to make each stay with us an unforgettable one. We do our best to ensure that the noise levels always stay within the sensible limits so our guests are not disturbed by exterior traffic noise. Sometimes it is impossible to guarantee this as there are going to be moments during the early hours for instance where some traffic noise may be heard from the local municipality services, especially on our lowest road facing floors. Regarding the extra charge for the use of sunbeds by the pool we sincerely lament your disappointment, however we would like to take the opportunity to explain that our hotel is a urban beach hotel with a newly added yet limited solarium area, therefore in order to avoid the sunbed reservation, a fee has been implemented for guests wishing to spend the day by the pool with a complimentary drink included, the hotel as you well say is located next to the beach where our guests can also enjoy of a relaxing sunbath day within easy walking distance. On the other hand, free bean bags are provided for guests just wishing to use the pool. We hope we were able to clarify your concerns and encourage you for a future occasion to enquire about anything you may need to know about our installations and services to fully enjoy your Occidental experience. On the other hand, we would like to thank you for pointing out our wonderful location next to the beach in Barcelona. Once again we thank you for sharing this valuable feedback with us, please rest assured that the information you have provided will be used accordingly to enhance our future guests' experiences among us and we hope you will visit us again in the future. Yours sincerely, Occidental Atenea Mar Team

    Round Indicators
    wongy911 Hong Kong, China. 08/04/2017 Couples

    “What a humiliating experience!”

    I seldom write hotel review, but Occidental Atenea Mar Hotel made me spend my precious time writing about how awful we felt when we stayed there. We were planning to have lunch at the pool and did a bit of sunbathing. We collected the towels from the lady at the pool counter, and we sat down at two empty sunbeds, spent a few minutes to undress and settle down our things there. Then the lady came to us and said "Sorry, if you would like to stay on these sunbeds, you would have to pay." She showed us a menu as follow: €20 for using one sunbed €30 for using one sunbed + one drink €40 for using one sunbed + one drink + one burger "... or if you prefer not to pay, you can move to the beanbags area on the floor, and that is free." She said. Oh well... We certainly were "cheapskates" and we decided to roll over to the floor without spending a cent. We didn't even want to buy our lunch as planned. We discussed, and decided that we would never spend a further cent at this hotel, and would never come back again. I have been travelling around the world and this was the first time I felt shocked and humiliated at a hotel pool. As a beachside resort hotel, Occidental Atenea Mar Hotel failed to provide the most basic facility – sunbeds!!! How about the couches in the lobby? Shall they impose some charges as well? I didn't dare to sit there if it costed €20... There were plenty of space at the pool area. They could simply put more sunbeds there instead of having so much empty space on floor. If this is not a strategy to rip off clients, I don't see any justification for this tier of charges otherwise. Even if this is the hotel's deliberate business decision to impose such a ridiculous tier of charges for basic facilities, there could be a more civilised and human way of managing client's expectation. For example, the pool lady could have explained the tier of charges when we picked up the towel, and she could have put some warning signs on the two empty sunbeds. But she didn't!!! No sign, no explanation. She gave us the towels without a word, and waited for a few minutes for us to settle down, and then she came! If this is not designed to be a duo-way trap for ripping off clients or humiliation, then it must be a duo-way mess of brainless hotel management and reckless staff implementation. 我一直在世界各地旅行,這是我第一次在酒店游泳池感到震驚和羞辱。作為一家海濱度假酒店,Occidental Atenea Mar Hotel酒店未能提供最基本的設施 - 日光浴床!大堂的沙發怎麼樣?他們也要強加一些費用嗎?我會真誠地建議任何值得基本的尊重的旅客,以避免這家酒店,無論你有20歐元浪費在日光浴床上。

    NelaGEM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Occidental Atenea Mar - Adults only, responded to this review
     Dear Mr. Wongy911, First and foremost we would like to thank you for choosing our Occidental Atenea Mar hotel for your visit to Barcelona and for sharing your feedback on your personal experience among us. We have taken good note of your remark regarding the extra charge for the use of sunbeds by the pool and sincerely lament your disappointment, however we would like to take the opportunity to explain that our hotel is a urban beach hotel with a newly added yet limited solarium area, therefore in order to avoid the sunbed reservation, a fee has been implemented for guests wishing to spend the day by the pool with a complimentary drink included, the hotel as you well say is located next to the beach where our guests can also enjoy of a relaxing sunbath day within easy walking distance. On the other hand, free bean bags are provided for guests just wishing to use the pool. We hope we were able to clarify your concerns and encourage you for a future occasion to enquire about anything you may need to know about our installations and services to fully enjoy your Occidental experience. Kind Regards, Occidental Atenea Mar Team

    Round Indicators
    Halema B 08/03/2017 Friends getaway

    “3 Adults, one room= 2 comfy beds and 1 'extra bed/sofa bed'”

    Currently in the occidental atenea hotel in Barcelona writing this review After 10 hours travelling, we had a late check in and greeted by Melissa. It was 3am but she was inviting and polite We were given a room with two great beds and an extra thing in the corner The pictures do show a bed that is smaller. The image is identical to real life The third bed is not for sleeping, it is not a bed, nor a sofa. It is flat, the springs stick out and when laying down you will sink to the edges of the thing Absolutely abysmal. Three adults, paid £1500 on a last minute booking The extra 'bed' is not a bed and is not something to sleep on- certainly not for 6 days Melissa at reception has provided a temporary solution however we unfortunately will waste the first day of our holiday discussing the issue with hotel manager Miguel .... extremely disappointed so far. If your booking for three people in one room, please read my

    NelaGEM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Occidental Atenea Mar - Adults only, responded to this review
     Dear guest, In Occidental we strongly believe that there is always room for improvement and your comments will assist our team in their continuous efforts aimed at meeting our guests' expectations, therefore we greatly appreciate the time you took out of your day to share your constructive critics. In spite of your disappointment on your first day, we did lots of efforts to make your accomodation as confortable as possible, and we are grateful to know that we did finally turn the situation over, when you informed me personally that you did have a pleasant stay overall with us. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding the service you received from Melissa, we will make sure to share your kind words as we know it will mean a great deal to her. Thank you again for your visit and constructuve critics, our primary goal being to assure our guests feel comfortable and fully enjoy their visits. Best regards, Nela Gutiérrez Guest Experience Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • august 13 2017
    • Edmonton, Canada
    • Couples

    ShelSEdmonton

    “Hotel is at a great beach location on the Hop on Off route”


    Best parts - across street from beach, great view, very clean updated room with comfortable bed and pillow selection, on Hop on off bus route. What we feel needs improving - need more bar staff at the pool, need more loung chairs at the pool, work on sewer smell at the pool. We did not use the restaurant, or gym so can not comment.


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • august 11 2017
    • Kungalv, Sweden
    • Family

    628matsf

    “One of the best Hotels ever”


    fantastic breakfast...wonderful staff..the Hotel is close the the ocean, with a nice view over the medeterainien...Very good beach outside the hotel..approx 300m walk to the water. The hotel is modern and clean and we will come back next time in Barcelona.. .Mats with family from Sweden


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • august 11 2017
    • Birmingham, United Kingdom
    • Friends getaway

    Sazhom

    “Disappointing for the price ”


    We paid 250 euros a night to stay here. It was noisy. You have to pay extra for sunbeds. The triple room bed is a camp bed so not like in the picture. The pool is more like a paddling pool- again, not like the pictures. It's just generally overpriced for what it is. Neighbourhood is nice though.


    NelaGEM, Guest Experience Assistant at Occidental Atenea Mar - Adults only, responded to this review
    Dear Guest, We are really sorry to read that you did not enjoy the experience in our hotel to the fullest as we strive to make each stay with us an unforgettable one. We do our best to ensure that the noise levels always stay within the sensible limits so our guests are not disturbed by exterior traffic noise. Sometimes it is impossible to guarantee this as there are going to be moments during the early hours for instance where some traffic noise may be heard from the local municipality services, especially on our lowest road facing floors. Regarding the extra charge for the use of sunbeds by the pool we sincerely lament your disappointment, however we would like to take the opportunity to explain that our hotel is a urban beach hotel with a newly added yet limited solarium area, therefore in order to avoid the sunbed reservation, a fee has been implemented for guests wishing to spend the day by the pool with a complimentary drink included, the hotel as you well say is located next to the beach where our guests can also enjoy of a relaxing sunbath day within easy walking distance. On the other hand, free bean bags are provided for guests just wishing to use the pool. We hope we were able to clarify your concerns and encourage you for a future occasion to enquire about anything you may need to know about our installations and services to fully enjoy your Occidental experience. On the other hand, we would like to thank you for pointing out our wonderful location next to the beach in Barcelona. Once again we thank you for sharing this valuable feedback with us, please rest assured that the information you have provided will be used accordingly to enhance our future guests' experiences among us and we hope you will visit us again in the future. Yours sincerely, Occidental Atenea Mar Team

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • august 4 2017
    • Hong Kong, China
    • Couples

    wongy911

    “What a humiliating experience!”


    I seldom write hotel review, but Occidental Atenea Mar Hotel made me spend my precious time writing about how awful we felt when we stayed there. We were planning to have lunch at the pool and did a bit of sunbathing. We collected the towels from the lady at the pool counter, and we sat down at two empty sunbeds, spent a few minutes to undress and settle down our things there. Then the lady came to us and said "Sorry, if you would like to stay on these sunbeds, you would have to pay." She showed us a menu as follow: €20 for using one sunbed €30 for using one sunbed + one drink €40 for using one sunbed + one drink + one burger "... or if you prefer not to pay, you can move to the beanbags area on the floor, and that is free." She said. Oh well... We certainly were "cheapskates" and we decided to roll over to the floor without spending a cent. We didn't even want to buy our lunch as planned. We discussed, and decided that we would never spend a further cent at this hotel, and would never come back again. I have been travelling around the world and this was the first time I felt shocked and humiliated at a hotel pool. As a beachside resort hotel, Occidental Atenea Mar Hotel failed to provide the most basic facility – sunbeds!!! How about the couches in the lobby? Shall they impose some charges as well? I didn't dare to sit there if it costed €20... There were plenty of space at the pool area. They could simply put more sunbeds there instead of having so much empty space on floor. If this is not a strategy to rip off clients, I don't see any justification for this tier of charges otherwise. Even if this is the hotel's deliberate business decision to impose such a ridiculous tier of charges for basic facilities, there could be a more civilised and human way of managing client's expectation. For example, the pool lady could have explained the tier of charges when we picked up the towel, and she could have put some warning signs on the two empty sunbeds. But she didn't!!! No sign, no explanation. She gave us the towels without a word, and waited for a few minutes for us to settle down, and then she came! If this is not designed to be a duo-way trap for ripping off clients or humiliation, then it must be a duo-way mess of brainless hotel management and reckless staff implementation. 我一直在世界各地旅行,這是我第一次在酒店游泳池感到震驚和羞辱。作為一家海濱度假酒店,Occidental Atenea Mar Hotel酒店未能提供最基本的設施 - 日光浴床!大堂的沙發怎麼樣?他們也要強加一些費用嗎?我會真誠地建議任何值得基本的尊重的旅客,以避免這家酒店,無論你有20歐元浪費在日光浴床上。


    NelaGEM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Occidental Atenea Mar - Adults only, responded to this review
    Dear Mr. Wongy911, First and foremost we would like to thank you for choosing our Occidental Atenea Mar hotel for your visit to Barcelona and for sharing your feedback on your personal experience among us. We have taken good note of your remark regarding the extra charge for the use of sunbeds by the pool and sincerely lament your disappointment, however we would like to take the opportunity to explain that our hotel is a urban beach hotel with a newly added yet limited solarium area, therefore in order to avoid the sunbed reservation, a fee has been implemented for guests wishing to spend the day by the pool with a complimentary drink included, the hotel as you well say is located next to the beach where our guests can also enjoy of a relaxing sunbath day within easy walking distance. On the other hand, free bean bags are provided for guests just wishing to use the pool. We hope we were able to clarify your concerns and encourage you for a future occasion to enquire about anything you may need to know about our installations and services to fully enjoy your Occidental experience. Kind Regards, Occidental Atenea Mar Team

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • august 3 2017
    • Friends getaway

    Halema B

    “3 Adults, one room= 2 comfy beds and 1 'extra bed/sofa bed'”


    Currently in the occidental atenea hotel in Barcelona writing this review After 10 hours travelling, we had a late check in and greeted by Melissa. It was 3am but she was inviting and polite We were given a room with two great beds and an extra thing in the corner The pictures do show a bed that is smaller. The image is identical to real life The third bed is not for sleeping, it is not a bed, nor a sofa. It is flat, the springs stick out and when laying down you will sink to the edges of the thing Absolutely abysmal. Three adults, paid £1500 on a last minute booking The extra 'bed' is not a bed and is not something to sleep on- certainly not for 6 days Melissa at reception has provided a temporary solution however we unfortunately will waste the first day of our holiday discussing the issue with hotel manager Miguel .... extremely disappointed so far. If your booking for three people in one room, please read my


    NelaGEM, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Occidental Atenea Mar - Adults only, responded to this review
    Dear guest, In Occidental we strongly believe that there is always room for improvement and your comments will assist our team in their continuous efforts aimed at meeting our guests' expectations, therefore we greatly appreciate the time you took out of your day to share your constructive critics. In spite of your disappointment on your first day, we did lots of efforts to make your accomodation as confortable as possible, and we are grateful to know that we did finally turn the situation over, when you informed me personally that you did have a pleasant stay overall with us. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding the service you received from Melissa, we will make sure to share your kind words as we know it will mean a great deal to her. Thank you again for your visit and constructuve critics, our primary goal being to assure our guests feel comfortable and fully enjoy their visits. Best regards, Nela Gutiérrez Guest Experience Manager

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

    to

      Incorrect dates
      Please enter valid dates

    NIGHTS

    (Optional dates)

    A discount* or promotional code (also appears as “promo code”) is a combination of letters and/or numbers that gives a discount on the normal rate. If you have a discount code, enter it when booking and you will receive a discount on your booking. Once you have entered this code, the prices shown in step 1 of the booking process will already include the relevant discount. 

    The discount does not apply to prices on extras and/or extra services, neither does it apply to prices on last available rooms. Only one discount code per booking is permitted. The maximum amount of accumulated discount will be at most 25% off the rate for hotels in Latin America and at most 20% off the rate for Europe and Mediterranean hotels. It is possible to combine a discount code with a special discount** (discounts when you book multiple rooms, senior, resident, millennials, large families, etc.) and the discount for being a my Barceló client. 

    * Barceló reserves the right to accept the application of advertised discounts. 

    ** At check-in, the hotel will request to see valid official documents to verify compliance with conditions for the discount codes and special discounts. In the event of not providing valid official documents or non-compliance, the hotel reserves the right to charge the amounts that were deducted from the original reservation.

    Loading rates...
    The hotel does not have any rates allocated to it

    Best online price guaranteed

    If you find a better rate, we will top it.

    We will return the difference and we will also apply an additional 10% discount to the cost of the final booking. For more information...