Barceló Lanzarote Resort Hotel deluxe suite

Occidental Lanzarote Mar

Texto: 130119 A large resort designed for the whole family with sports, a spectacular Olympic-sized pool and full sports facilities. Avenida del Mar, 5 | 35508 | Costa Teguise (Lanzarote) | Islas Canarias | España
+34 928 59 13 29 +34 928 591337
Occidental Lanzarote Mar Texto: 130119 4 out of 5 based on 6002 ratings. 6002 user reviews.
Occidental Lanzarote Mar reviewed by DTaylor1907 on . Great Experience Spent a long weekend here with my wife minus the kids and really enjoyed ourselves. We booked a private transfer from the airport and the hotel was no more than a 15 minute drive from the hotel which... Rating: 5
map

Occidental Lanzarote Mar

Avenida del Mar, 5   35508   Costa Teguise (Lanzarote)   Islas Canarias   España  


Places of Interest

9.5 miles Lanzarote Airport

2 mi Costa Teguise Golf Course

440 yards Cala del Ancla Beach

4.5 km Costa Teguise

Premios y Reconocimientos Prizes and awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Occidental Lanzarote Mar

4.0/5 Round Indicators
| 6009 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


GUESTS’ SCORE

Excellent

34% Complete

2072

Very good

36% Complete

2173

Average

18% Complete

1084

Poor

6% Complete

408

Very poor

4% Complete

272

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    MGBman Falkirk District, United Kingdom. 02/16/2018 Couples

    “Costa Breezy”

    Lanzarote is known for it's wind but this hotel was built without the weather in mind. It is a large sprawling complex of open wind tunnels with few rooms not exposed to the elements. Additionally when the weather is cold there are no heating facilities in the rooms which also suffer from the wind whistling through the window and door. Not a place to choose in the winter months. We found the rooms and hotel itself to be spotlessly clean with friendly, helpful staff. There are large sundeck areas and no shortage of sunbeds, although the pool area was quite small due to one closed for refurbishment. The heart of an AI resort is the restaurant and it was disappointing.It gave the appearance of having a large choice of food as the food areas are scattered about but duplicated.The food is very much european orientated ---not a bad thing as far as I'm concerned---but it was so bland. No hint of chilli, garlic or curry in any dish , and the vegetables were stewed beyond recognition as far as taste is concerned. Clearly the chefs have not heard of al dente.( what is more the vegetables are served at breakfast----yes, including the brussel sprouts and broccoli) The soup , although the name changed , was the same base every day. Who makes minestrone without a tomato base or pasta? They do. The self service bar aspect at the pool and in the showbar was good in that it reduced queuing and you could make the drink with the correct amount of alcohol to your liking. The entertainments group were professional and produced enjoyable, if brief, performances. With its remote location ( about 2 miles into Costa Teguise town) it gives lots of opportunity to keep fit by walking there for something different. The recently built cycle/ walkway is close by after negotiating a rather barren piece of ground.
    Round Indicators
    tasha9087 Hampshire, United Kingdom. 02/16/2018 Family

    “enjoyed our stay”

    I stayed at this resort with my family and we had a very enjoyable time whilst we were there. The entertainment team were brilliant and the kids clubs were amazing. I feel they may struggle a little through the busier times of year but it was fine when we were there. we will definitely be visiting again
    Round Indicators
    Daniel P 02/15/2018 Couples

    “Waste of Money! ”

    This is the worst hotel we have ever stayed in. Firstly on check in the staff where quite friendly but very slow and only wanted to do the minimum to check you in, it seemed far too much effort to do things like sort out payment for the safe etc. The reception wasn't busy but took around 20 minutes to get checked in and get our room key. We went to our room on first impressions a reasonable room, it was clean, a little dark but had a nice shower and a reasonable range of basic facilities. Went on to the balcony to see the view and I imagine on most days it would of been a great view but all we saw was the main pool was closed with workmen doing renovations to it. This was the first we found out about this at no point did the hotel inform us that the pool was closed not even at check in! The food at lunch and evening was very repetitive it was the same things just with a small change such as different meat or fish but always cooked the same in a salty gravy style liquid. A lot of the time the food was cold and or overcooked. Even though we where all inclusive we paid to go else where for at least half of our stay. Breakfast in the other hand was better the food was cooked well and although the options didn't change there was so much to choose from they probably couldn't change the options. The restaurant mediterráneo on the other hand was very good and we ate there more than once. The staff member was very attentive and the set menu is great value 4 courses and wine included for a great price and 25% discount for hotel guests. During the day there was plenty of options for drink from the pool bar and always plenty of sun loungers, the snack options at the bar weren't the best the food seemed to sit there for a while. What I found annoying was that you have to buy your drinks around the adult pool which is out the way ofnthe main pool area by the Olympic pool. I wouldn't of been that bothered about even going to the adult pool but with the on going pool works you couldn't relax around the pool that was left in the main area, with the noise and the smell of paint and adhesive stinking out the main pool area the adult pool was the only place to relax around a pool and get way from the intoxicating smell but even though all of that you where not allowed to have all inclusive drinks around the adult pool! The room at night was horrible we found an extra blanket which we needed as the room was freezing. We had to use all the towels in the room to block a 2 inch gap under the door that was letting a typhoon into the room. To top it off the double bed is 2 single beds pushed together, I have no problem with this as it's a common practice, my issue is the fact that the beds where made up as 2 singles not a double and the fact during the night I fell though the middle of the 2 beds as it appears that there isn't any breaks on them l, thus meaning that the beds just parted with my weight. Overall worst hotel we have stayed at we paid for all inclusive but that was a waste of money as we ended up just wanting to be away from the hotel and only can back to sleep and for breakfast. Huge disappointment and a huge waste of money. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.
    Round Indicators
    Paul L 02/14/2018 Family

    “STAIRS, SLOPES, STEPS, LUKE WARM FOOD , MORE STAIRS”

    This hotel is most definately not suitable if you have any kind of mobility issues.We travelled as four Adults two being our parents one is 84 and what a massive mistake we made booking the Occidental Lanzarote Mar. So many long cold corridors leading to so many stairs to get anywhere it was a nightmare, even the lifts did not take us to our room we sill had to either go upstairs or downstairs it was a joke. The hotels web page makes no mention of the amazing amount of steps and stairs and indeed slopes at this hotel and really should state that it is not suitable for the elderly or anyone with mobility issues.This was a major reason we wished we never booked this hotel the other being the lukewarm food in the main buffet style restaurant. We are amazed how many reviews do not mention these facts and that the pool bar food is very very poor. Rooms clean but cold with no heating, The shower was poorly designed as the only way to have a shower was to climb in the bath as the shower head was behind a glass screen and not at all easy to get to. Pools freezing with the only heated pool out of action for maintenance. On arrival no help with our luggage too our rooms and they situated us in Block 4 right at the Back on the top floor above the Show Bar right next to the Main Road, we did move but things did not improve. Cannot recommend this hotel.

    Barcelo_Lanzarote, Director General at Occidental Lanzarote Mar, responded to this review
     Dear Paul, We are really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the experience in our hotel to the fullest as we strive to make each stay with us an unforgettable one. Discussions involving the respective team members and management have taken place to review your comments, and we would like to assure you that all of your concerns will be addressed and attended to. We are sorry for the initial location of the room, as if we would have known about your needs, we would have located you in a closer area to the main facilities given the big dimensions of the hotel. Concerning the pools, we are sorry for any inconvenience the ordinary maintenance may have caused to your stay, as we always had a heated pool available in the main area for the use of the guests. All trays of our buffets are being constantly checked by our kitchen staff to ensure that the temperature of the food is adequate and that all options are being replenished throughout all services, nevertheless please rest assured that your comments will be shared with the team so as to avoid receiving this kind of feedback in the future. Thank you again for making us your choice hotel on this occasion, we look forward to serving you again in the near future. Sincerely, The management

    Round Indicators
    Frank M 02/13/2018 Solo travel

    “4Day Stay.”

    Enjoyed my short stay here very much the reception staff were excellent especially the girl I called ST was really friendly and helpful anything I needed she sorted it all out for me overall it was a most pleasant stay.

    Barcelo_Lanzarote, Director General at Occidental Lanzarote Mar, responded to this review
     Dear Frank, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay in our Occidental Lanzarote Mar. It is wonderful to hear we were able to make your stay special from the moment you arrived until the moment you departed. Our staff welcomes each guest with the Occidental spirit and strives to assist in any possible way to ensure everyone has a pleasant stay, it is indeed very rewarding to read that you have appreciated their genuine helpfulness throughout your holidays among us. Again we thank you for this wonderful review, it has been a pleasure for us to read and we look forward to serving you again soon Sincerely, The management

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 16 2018
    • Falkirk District, United Kingdom
    • Couples

    MGBman

    “Costa Breezy”


    Lanzarote is known for it's wind but this hotel was built without the weather in mind. It is a large sprawling complex of open wind tunnels with few rooms not exposed to the elements. Additionally when the weather is cold there are no heating facilities in the rooms which also suffer from the wind whistling through the window and door. Not a place to choose in the winter months. We found the rooms and hotel itself to be spotlessly clean with friendly, helpful staff. There are large sundeck areas and no shortage of sunbeds, although the pool area was quite small due to one closed for refurbishment. The heart of an AI resort is the restaurant and it was disappointing.It gave the appearance of having a large choice of food as the food areas are scattered about but duplicated.The food is very much european orientated ---not a bad thing as far as I'm concerned---but it was so bland. No hint of chilli, garlic or curry in any dish , and the vegetables were stewed beyond recognition as far as taste is concerned. Clearly the chefs have not heard of al dente.( what is more the vegetables are served at breakfast----yes, including the brussel sprouts and broccoli) The soup , although the name changed , was the same base every day. Who makes minestrone without a tomato base or pasta? They do. The self service bar aspect at the pool and in the showbar was good in that it reduced queuing and you could make the drink with the correct amount of alcohol to your liking. The entertainments group were professional and produced enjoyable, if brief, performances. With its remote location ( about 2 miles into Costa Teguise town) it gives lots of opportunity to keep fit by walking there for something different. The recently built cycle/ walkway is close by after negotiating a rather barren piece of ground.


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 16 2018
    • Hampshire, United Kingdom
    • Family

    tasha9087

    “enjoyed our stay”


    I stayed at this resort with my family and we had a very enjoyable time whilst we were there. The entertainment team were brilliant and the kids clubs were amazing. I feel they may struggle a little through the busier times of year but it was fine when we were there. we will definitely be visiting again


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 15 2018
    • Couples

    Daniel P

    “Waste of Money! ”


    This is the worst hotel we have ever stayed in. Firstly on check in the staff where quite friendly but very slow and only wanted to do the minimum to check you in, it seemed far too much effort to do things like sort out payment for the safe etc. The reception wasn't busy but took around 20 minutes to get checked in and get our room key. We went to our room on first impressions a reasonable room, it was clean, a little dark but had a nice shower and a reasonable range of basic facilities. Went on to the balcony to see the view and I imagine on most days it would of been a great view but all we saw was the main pool was closed with workmen doing renovations to it. This was the first we found out about this at no point did the hotel inform us that the pool was closed not even at check in! The food at lunch and evening was very repetitive it was the same things just with a small change such as different meat or fish but always cooked the same in a salty gravy style liquid. A lot of the time the food was cold and or overcooked. Even though we where all inclusive we paid to go else where for at least half of our stay. Breakfast in the other hand was better the food was cooked well and although the options didn't change there was so much to choose from they probably couldn't change the options. The restaurant mediterráneo on the other hand was very good and we ate there more than once. The staff member was very attentive and the set menu is great value 4 courses and wine included for a great price and 25% discount for hotel guests. During the day there was plenty of options for drink from the pool bar and always plenty of sun loungers, the snack options at the bar weren't the best the food seemed to sit there for a while. What I found annoying was that you have to buy your drinks around the adult pool which is out the way ofnthe main pool area by the Olympic pool. I wouldn't of been that bothered about even going to the adult pool but with the on going pool works you couldn't relax around the pool that was left in the main area, with the noise and the smell of paint and adhesive stinking out the main pool area the adult pool was the only place to relax around a pool and get way from the intoxicating smell but even though all of that you where not allowed to have all inclusive drinks around the adult pool! The room at night was horrible we found an extra blanket which we needed as the room was freezing. We had to use all the towels in the room to block a 2 inch gap under the door that was letting a typhoon into the room. To top it off the double bed is 2 single beds pushed together, I have no problem with this as it's a common practice, my issue is the fact that the beds where made up as 2 singles not a double and the fact during the night I fell though the middle of the 2 beds as it appears that there isn't any breaks on them l, thus meaning that the beds just parted with my weight. Overall worst hotel we have stayed at we paid for all inclusive but that was a waste of money as we ended up just wanting to be away from the hotel and only can back to sleep and for breakfast. Huge disappointment and a huge waste of money. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 14 2018
    • Family

    Paul L

    “STAIRS, SLOPES, STEPS, LUKE WARM FOOD , MORE STAIRS”


    This hotel is most definately not suitable if you have any kind of mobility issues.We travelled as four Adults two being our parents one is 84 and what a massive mistake we made booking the Occidental Lanzarote Mar. So many long cold corridors leading to so many stairs to get anywhere it was a nightmare, even the lifts did not take us to our room we sill had to either go upstairs or downstairs it was a joke. The hotels web page makes no mention of the amazing amount of steps and stairs and indeed slopes at this hotel and really should state that it is not suitable for the elderly or anyone with mobility issues.This was a major reason we wished we never booked this hotel the other being the lukewarm food in the main buffet style restaurant. We are amazed how many reviews do not mention these facts and that the pool bar food is very very poor. Rooms clean but cold with no heating, The shower was poorly designed as the only way to have a shower was to climb in the bath as the shower head was behind a glass screen and not at all easy to get to. Pools freezing with the only heated pool out of action for maintenance. On arrival no help with our luggage too our rooms and they situated us in Block 4 right at the Back on the top floor above the Show Bar right next to the Main Road, we did move but things did not improve. Cannot recommend this hotel.


    Barcelo_Lanzarote, Director General at Occidental Lanzarote Mar, responded to this review
    Dear Paul, We are really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the experience in our hotel to the fullest as we strive to make each stay with us an unforgettable one. Discussions involving the respective team members and management have taken place to review your comments, and we would like to assure you that all of your concerns will be addressed and attended to. We are sorry for the initial location of the room, as if we would have known about your needs, we would have located you in a closer area to the main facilities given the big dimensions of the hotel. Concerning the pools, we are sorry for any inconvenience the ordinary maintenance may have caused to your stay, as we always had a heated pool available in the main area for the use of the guests. All trays of our buffets are being constantly checked by our kitchen staff to ensure that the temperature of the food is adequate and that all options are being replenished throughout all services, nevertheless please rest assured that your comments will be shared with the team so as to avoid receiving this kind of feedback in the future. Thank you again for making us your choice hotel on this occasion, we look forward to serving you again in the near future. Sincerely, The management

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 13 2018
    • Solo travel

    Frank M

    “4Day Stay.”


    Enjoyed my short stay here very much the reception staff were excellent especially the girl I called ST was really friendly and helpful anything I needed she sorted it all out for me overall it was a most pleasant stay.


    Barcelo_Lanzarote, Director General at Occidental Lanzarote Mar, responded to this review
    Dear Frank, Thank you for reviewing your recent stay in our Occidental Lanzarote Mar. It is wonderful to hear we were able to make your stay special from the moment you arrived until the moment you departed. Our staff welcomes each guest with the Occidental spirit and strives to assist in any possible way to ensure everyone has a pleasant stay, it is indeed very rewarding to read that you have appreciated their genuine helpfulness throughout your holidays among us. Again we thank you for this wonderful review, it has been a pleasure for us to read and we look forward to serving you again soon Sincerely, The management

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

    to

      Incorrect dates
      Please enter valid dates

    NIGHTS

    (Optional dates)

    0 nights Selected

    A discount* or promotional code (also appears as “promo code”) is a combination of letters and/or numbers that gives a discount on the normal rate. If you have a discount code, enter it when booking and you will receive a discount on your booking. Once you have entered this code, the prices shown in step 1 of the booking process will already include the relevant discount. 

    The discount does not apply to prices on extras and/or extra services, neither does it apply to prices on last available rooms. You can only apply one discount code per booking which will only be valid at the time of making your booking.** 

    The maximum amount of accumulated discount will be at most 25% off the rate for hotels in Latin America and at most 20% off the rate for European and Mediterranean hotels. It is possible to combine a discount code with a special discount*** (discounts when you book multiple rooms, senior, resident, millennials, large families, etc.) and the discount for being a my Barceló client. 

    *Barceló reserves the right to accept the application of advertised discounts. 

    **The application of the discount code is not valid upon arrival at the hotel; the discount is only applicable at the time of booking. 

    ***The hotel will request to see valid official documents to verify compliance with the conditions for the discount codes and special discounts. In the event of not providing valid official documents or non-compliance, the hotel reserves the right to charge the amounts that were deducted from the original reservation.

    Loading rates...
    The hotel does not have any rates allocated to it

    Best online price guaranteed

    If you find a better rate, we will top it.

    We will return the difference and we will also apply an additional 10% discount to the cost of the final booking. For more information...