Swimming pool at the Occidental Tamarindo hotel
map

Playa Langosta   50309 Guanacaste, Tamarindo ,   Costa rica  


Points of Interest

43 mi Daniel Oduber Quirós International Airport

711 yards Langosta Beach

10 mi Hacienda Pinilla Golf Club

Premios y Reconocimientos

Prizes and Awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Occidental Tamarindo

4.0/5 Round Indicators
| 2991 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


Excellent

44% Complete

1322

Very good

30% Complete

905

Average

15% Complete

454

Poor

5% Complete

161

Very poor

4% Complete

149

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    alexnyc0617 Heredia, Costa Rica. 09/17/2018 Friends getaway

    “Tamarindo Barcelo Occidental Hotel”

    Great hotel for the price. Very affordable! The staff is super sweet & very tentative. The spa is awesome. The drinks are delish!! I highly recommend this hotel specially to families with kids. Check it out....you will NOT REGRET IT.

    Martin_Guerrero, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this review
     Dear Guest, We thank you for this wonderful review, it has been a pleasure for us to read and we look forward to serving you again so Kind regards, Martin Guerrero Director General Occidental Tamarindo

    Round Indicators
    alferina Windsor, Canada. 09/16/2018 Family

    “Great location,stunning views!!”

    We had a great time at this resort!! I travelled with my husband and adult son, family vacation. accommodations were very comfortable, food was good, great location close to town, we walked it quite often but you can cab it for $5. The beach was stunning, lots of fun playing in the waves, great place to watch the surfers and great sunsets. This is not a calm beach for swimming. Lots of chairs at beach and pool and lots of shade under the trees or palapa. The a la carte restaurant was very good. The staff are very friendly and entertaining and work very hard to make your stay enjoyable. There is no in pool bar so bring a bubba keg and you’ll be fine. The liquor is bottom shelf but drinkable, if you want top shelf you have to pay extra. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. I can’t wait to go back!!!

    Martin_Guerrero, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this review
     Dear Guest, We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kind regards, Martin Guerrero General Manager Occidental Tamarndo

    Round Indicators
    mike h 09/14/2018 Solo travel

    “Amazing time!”

    I had a great time at Occidental Tamarindo. you can't beat this hotel for it's value and location! What I liked: Large pool good for lounging & doing laps Room was very clean with a comfy bed and cold AC Shower was excellent (great water pressure!) Staff was really nice and accommodating Beach is directly connected to the resort and the sunsets are amazing What could be improved: Long lines for drinks if the hotel is busy Gym was small with limited cardio machines

    Martin_Guerrero, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this review
     Dear Guest, Please be assured that your comments will be taken into serious consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. We thank you for this very kind review of our hotel and we look forward to serving you again in the future. Saludos, Martin Guerrero Director General Occidental Tamarindo

    Round Indicators
    jhollo251619 09/13/2018 Friends getaway

    “Never again”

    The on-line site description and the actual on site visual inspection do not matchThis hotel should be rated as a 3 star hotel and not listed as a 5 starwould not be able to recommend this hotel to anyone I know.

    Martin_Guerrero, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this review
     Dear Guest, Please be assured that your comments will be taken into serious consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. Once again, thank you for your time and despite the issues you have raised following your stay, we hope that Barceló will remain an option for your next holiday and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future. Kind regards, Martin Guerrero Director General Occidental Tamarindo

    Round Indicators
    refmom Sonoma, California. 09/12/2018 Family

    “A little too "cruise ship" like for us.”

    This hotel had a wonderful staff, from reception to food and beverage. But it's not the hotel for us. The 'cheap cruise ship' mentality prevails here...guests eating and drinking as much as they can get. We actually went into town for dinner both nights we stayed there. The breakfast was great because they had so much lovely fresh fruit. I feel bad for the staff. The location at this beach was great. But you can't get a simple surfboard to use without a fuss. Could have been due to off season. Rooms were not deep cleaned. Mildew on lampshades and in corners. I would not stay here again, however, this hotel would be ideal for some people that like the all inclusive trip.

    Martin_Guerrero, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this review
     Dear Guest, Thank you for your insights following your recent visit. We always look for ways to improve and your comments are crucial to our future success. We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future. Kind regards, Martin Guerrero General Manager Occidental Tamarindo

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • september 17 2018
    • Heredia, Costa Rica
    • Friends getaway

    alexnyc0617

    “Tamarindo Barcelo Occidental Hotel”


    Great hotel for the price. Very affordable! The staff is super sweet & very tentative. The spa is awesome. The drinks are delish!! I highly recommend this hotel specially to families with kids. Check it out....you will NOT REGRET IT.


    Martin_Guerrero, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this review
    Dear Guest, We thank you for this wonderful review, it has been a pleasure for us to read and we look forward to serving you again so Kind regards, Martin Guerrero Director General Occidental Tamarindo

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • september 16 2018
    • Windsor, Canada
    • Family

    alferina

    “Great location,stunning views!!”


    We had a great time at this resort!! I travelled with my husband and adult son, family vacation. accommodations were very comfortable, food was good, great location close to town, we walked it quite often but you can cab it for $5. The beach was stunning, lots of fun playing in the waves, great place to watch the surfers and great sunsets. This is not a calm beach for swimming. Lots of chairs at beach and pool and lots of shade under the trees or palapa. The a la carte restaurant was very good. The staff are very friendly and entertaining and work very hard to make your stay enjoyable. There is no in pool bar so bring a bubba keg and you’ll be fine. The liquor is bottom shelf but drinkable, if you want top shelf you have to pay extra. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. I can’t wait to go back!!!


    Martin_Guerrero, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this review
    Dear Guest, We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Kind regards, Martin Guerrero General Manager Occidental Tamarndo

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • september 14 2018
    • Solo travel

    mike h

    “Amazing time!”


    I had a great time at Occidental Tamarindo. you can't beat this hotel for it's value and location! What I liked: Large pool good for lounging & doing laps Room was very clean with a comfy bed and cold AC Shower was excellent (great water pressure!) Staff was really nice and accommodating Beach is directly connected to the resort and the sunsets are amazing What could be improved: Long lines for drinks if the hotel is busy Gym was small with limited cardio machines


    Martin_Guerrero, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this review
    Dear Guest, Please be assured that your comments will be taken into serious consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. We thank you for this very kind review of our hotel and we look forward to serving you again in the future. Saludos, Martin Guerrero Director General Occidental Tamarindo

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • september 13 2018
    • Friends getaway

    jhollo251619

    “Never again”


    The on-line site description and the actual on site visual inspection do not matchThis hotel should be rated as a 3 star hotel and not listed as a 5 starwould not be able to recommend this hotel to anyone I know.


    Martin_Guerrero, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this review
    Dear Guest, Please be assured that your comments will be taken into serious consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. Once again, thank you for your time and despite the issues you have raised following your stay, we hope that Barceló will remain an option for your next holiday and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future. Kind regards, Martin Guerrero Director General Occidental Tamarindo

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • september 12 2018
    • Sonoma, California
    • Family

    refmom

    “A little too "cruise ship" like for us.”


    This hotel had a wonderful staff, from reception to food and beverage. But it's not the hotel for us. The 'cheap cruise ship' mentality prevails here...guests eating and drinking as much as they can get. We actually went into town for dinner both nights we stayed there. The breakfast was great because they had so much lovely fresh fruit. I feel bad for the staff. The location at this beach was great. But you can't get a simple surfboard to use without a fuss. Could have been due to off season. Rooms were not deep cleaned. Mildew on lampshades and in corners. I would not stay here again, however, this hotel would be ideal for some people that like the all inclusive trip.


    Martin_Guerrero, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this review
    Dear Guest, Thank you for your insights following your recent visit. We always look for ways to improve and your comments are crucial to our future success. We appreciate the time you took to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future. Kind regards, Martin Guerrero General Manager Occidental Tamarindo

    Vistas aéreas del hotel Occidental Tamarindo

    Where dreams come true

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in El Salvador

    Select El Salvador

    Hotels in Costa Rica

    Select Costa Rica

    Hotels in Ecuador

    Select Ecuador

    Hotels in Guatemala

    Select Guatemala

    Hotels in Nicaragua

    Select Nicaragua

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Aruba

    Select Aruba

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Hotels in Germany

    Select Germany

    Hotels in Bulgaria

    Select Bulgaria

    Hotels in Italy

    Select Italy

    Hotels in Greece

    Select Greece

    Hotels in Portugal

    Select Portugal

    Hotels in Morocco

    Select Morocco

    Hotels in Egypt

    Select Egypt

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

    to

      Incorrect dates
      Please enter valid dates

    NIGHTS

    (Optional dates)

    0 nights Selected

    A discount* or promotional code (also appears as “promo code”) is a combination of letters and/or numbers that gives a discount on the normal rate. If you have a discount code, enter it when booking and you will receive a discount on your booking. Once you have entered this code, the prices shown in step 1 of the booking process will already include the relevant discount. 

    The discount does not apply to prices on extras and/or extra services, neither does it apply to prices on last available rooms. You can only apply one discount code per booking which will only be valid at the time of making your booking.** 

    The maximum amount of accumulated discount will be at most 25% off the rate for hotels in Latin America and at most 20% off the rate for European and Mediterranean hotels. It is possible to combine a discount code with a special discount*** (discounts when you book multiple rooms, senior, resident, millennials, large families, etc.) and the discount for being a my Barceló client. 

    *Barceló reserves the right to accept the application of advertised discounts. 

    **The application of the discount code is not valid upon arrival at the hotel; the discount is only applicable at the time of booking. 

    ***The hotel will request to see valid official documents to verify compliance with the conditions for the discount codes and special discounts. In the event of not providing valid official documents or non-compliance, the hotel reserves the right to charge the amounts that were deducted from the original reservation.

    Loading rates...
    The hotel does not have any rates allocated to it

    Best rate
    guaranteed
    Plus

    Our double guarantee:

    If you find a better rate outside Barcelo.com, we’ll match it.

    The same applies even if you find a better rate on Barcelo.com after placing your booking.

    We’ll also give you an additional discount of up to 10% depending on the sort of booking For more information