Hotel Beach  Occidental Grand Punta Cana Resort
map

Avenida España, S/N. Playa El Cortesito   23301 La Altagracia , Punta Cana   República Dominicana  


Points of Interest

15 mi Punta Cana International Airport

Right on the beach Beach

Premios y Reconocimientos

Prizes and Awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Occidental Punta Cana

4.0/5 Round Indicators
| 3371 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


Excellent

47% Complete

1592

Very good

25% Complete

853

Average

12% Complete

411

Poor

7% Complete

241

Very poor

8% Complete

274

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    sjg1992 Poole, United Kingdom. 09/18/2018 Couples

    “Not as great as we'd expected”

    We have just gotten back from our stay at the Occidental Punta Cana. We had high hopes when arriving at the hotel and left a bit disappointed, but I will start with the good bits. - The staff. Most them are excellent, the animation team are without doubt the best out of all of them, they really helped add to our experience and even though some of their English was not good, they loved to just sit and chat with us. Richard and Jose are awesome. The bar staff are also brilliant and give good measures of alcohol, so you really do make the most of the all inclusive! They are also good at maintaining order, one day a group of particularly rude and intimidating men jumped the queue for the bar and demanded drinks but were sent to the back despite becoming quite aggressive. - The food, we read a lot of bad reviews on the food before our trip and can happily say the food was very good for all but our last day, it seemed that the hotel had suddenly got that much busier and weren’t able to cater for as many people as when we went for lunch they had ran out of a lot of things but on the other days it was very nice and the restaurants you can book are very good with the Italian being our favourite. - The rooms. Our room was very spacious and close to the quieter pool and the beach which was perfect for us as the other pools tended to be very busy with children or groups, so it made for the perfect location for us to start out a chilled day. The beds are also very comfy, and the curtains block out the sun light so keep it nice and dark. The air con is also very good to keep the room cool. - The choice of excursions. The staff at the tour desk are very helpful and they have a good range of trips to offer, if you have the chance to pick, choose to do Bavaro adventure park rather than La Hacienda as we feel we made the wrong choice when booking. It is also worth checking with the guys down the beach at the Mariana hut as to which boat tours they offer as you can often get the same tour for less money. Now for the bad. -Room amenities. On our second night whilst using the hairdryer it popped and caused a power cut to our room and smelt like it was burning, we called and asked for someone to come and check our room, but no one turned up for 3 hours despite us calling and even having to go to the front desk to talk to someone! In the end two men turned up, flicked at switch on the fuse box which was hidden by the mirror and then left! 3 hours to come flick a switch. Ridiculous. The same problem happened 3 days later... Safe to say we didn’t use the hairdryer again after that! We also decided to not have our room cleaned everyday as we would often go back around 6 in the evening to find we had no towels, despite us leaving them hung up as to show we didn’t want them changed. Also be aware that if there is a storm they are likely to cut the water supply, the whole hotel was without running water/flushing toilets for a good few hours one evening.. not good. - The Beach. Unfortunately, the beach is covered in seaweed at the moment which is also in the sea so it makes it very hard to enjoy the water unless you want to be standing in it and having it wrap around your feet! This is a problem out of the hotels control, but it would have been nice to be warned. -Wifi. Wifi at the hotel is not free and comes at a cost of $12 for 24 hours. Whilst we didn’t need to use it much as we wanted to get away from it all, it was frustrating when you have paid for an all inclusive resort to then have to immediately pay extra just to let your family know you have arrived safely. -Self Entertainment. The resort relies way too much on the animation team, and whilst they are brilliant, the hotel lacks basic things such as pool tables or other games that you can play in the evening if you don’t want to watch the show. If it just had a few more things to do that would have been great. -Hassle. The last thing you want on holiday is to be bugged by anyone, especially if all you want is to relax, however, when on the beach expect to be hassled by someone on a regular basis. Whether this is someone trying to put a monkey, parrot or iguana on your shoulder or someone trying to sell you a parasailing trip, this becomes frustrating when you just want to relax and i believe they shouldn’t be allowed within any area of the resort. Also beware of the Vacation Club staff, they look like regular staff and wait near the lobby around breakfast time, they will try and get you to attend a meeting and will try and make you go by saying how they get commission and it will help them and their family etc, once again this is hassle that I don’t want to feel when I’m on a holiday within a resort! The biggest disappointment of the trip was seeing the main pool and main restaurant closing only 3 days into our trip with no prior warning! Sunday we were happily swimming and drinking cocktails at the pool bar only to see it being taped up that evening, the pool wasn’t open again for a whole week and we left the day it reopened. The restaurant reopened after 5 days and whilst they did replace the buffet with a restaurant on the beach this one had a lot more choice and was much better. We also had one bad experience with a member of staff who said it was impossible to refund us our $120 for wifi when it wasn’t working on our phones. He was called away to assist someone else and a lady was able to cancel it in seconds for us... This was on our first day so wasn't a pleasant start to our holiday. All in all we feel disappointed by our experience at Occidental Punta Cana, seeing as the main pool was closed for a majority of our stay it feels like we lost out on a huge part of the hotel and with no prior warning given to us it seems that we paid all that money to stay at a hotel with less available than promised, therefore missing out on being able to make the most of the resort, because of this we feel like we have been ripped off. Had we known before we would have chosen another hotel.

    gpcsm, Social Media Manager at Occidental Punta Cana, responded to this review
     Dear Sjg1992, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience in Punta Cana. Needless to say, it is disappointing to hear that we were not able to satisfy your expectations. Please know, we are constantly reviewing and renewing our installations and services in order to continue improving the quality of our holiday offerings. Our goal is to offer each and every guest an excellent holiday experience and although we did not succeed in your case, we will continue working towards offer a superior quality of service. We have taken note of the difficulties you experienced with maintenance issues in your room, the wi-fi service, and your experience with the Vacation Club salespeople. We also apologize that the scheduled maintenance affected you negatively. We have also noted your suggestions for self entertainment. We hope you consider contacting our Customer Service department directly so they can work directly with you. We truly hope to hear from you, nonetheless, we will work on these areas. I would like to reiterate our appreciation for having chosen us as your holiday destination. Please consider giving us another opportunity to host you and, this time, not only meet but surpass your expectations. It was sincerely a pleasure to serve you. Best regards, Scarlett Acosta Social Media Manager Occidental Punta Cana

    Round Indicators
    Monromarce Halifax, Canada. 09/17/2018

    “1st time in Occidental Punta Cana first club”

    This was our family vacation and we were looking very much forward to having our usual amazing time at the beach... I think I can resume my feelings after the vacation with a ....Nah! We became members of the Occidental vacation club (firstclub) in our favorite location, the Occidental Grand Xcaret in Mexico and every visit we have had there over the years has been great,amazing experience. This time, we wanted to try a different location/region and booked our week at the Occid, Punta Cana (OPC). Well, customer service is not what we are used to from our experiences in Mexico; I mean talking about the whole resort services not only the first club. The first club service was alright but for us it was a hit or miss with the staff in general those first days of our trip. Some seem ready to help with a nice attitude and others looked at us as if we were about to ask them for a big favor (no darling, I only want to order a drink lol). I speak Spanish, too, so through the days I talked to some of them and had some interesting conversations. It transpired that there is some employees discontent after a recent change in the directors personnel with some new rules they were unhappy about, apparently including their access to water and food. You can say it happens everywhere, yes. But when the guests start noticing this in the staff attitude then you have a problem. After my conversations with them, then the "hit or miss" attitude I mentioned before made a lot of sense for me. After a few days, we became regulars and they started to show a better/happier attitude. I guess some times you just have to show a little appreciation for the work they do. The other thing we missed in this vacation was entretainment for our young child. OPC has a kidsclub, and their website describes "daily supervised activities" for the children. Well, we did not see any daily program of activities going on at the kidsclub. In the evenings, they only showed a film during the "minidisco". The custom mascot, the delphin, was a "no-show" as well. They said it was because of the low season/few children around but in the other Occidentals resorts we have visited even with few children around they run the programs and the minidisco (a proper show, music and dancing; not a film!); guests are still paying for the service all year round, right? Our child stayed a couple of times for a short while at the kidsclub playing on his ipad and that was it. Terrific... not. On a positive note, big shout to the animation team. All of them went the extra mile to make us adults feel entretained and included in the daily activities. They are one of the best animation teams I have seen in the Caribbean/Mexico. Excellent. Also to the beach bartender of the firstclub, Francisco, very hard working and pleasant guy, always with a smile in his face. Food and drinks were good; I liked my experience with the Dominican cousine. Unfortunately, my husband got ill with gastro issues the day before the last and spent that day in the room, unwell. He has never fallen ill during previous beach vacations at other destinations. The fistclub staff prepared a herbal-something for him that seemed to help but that was yet another stain to our experience at OPC This is a resort I would only visit with my partner (if he dares to go back, lol), because Punta Cana has a beautiful beach and entretainment. But as OPC currently is, it doesn't satisfy our needs as a family with a young child.

    gpcsm, Social Media Manager at Occidental Punta Cana, responded to this review
     Dear Monromarce, We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking a moment of your time to share your experience at the Occidental Punta Cana with us. We strive to offer nothing less than a five-star quality of service for each and every single one of our guests. Which is why we would like to apologize for being unable to meet your expectations. We have taken note of your dissatisfaction with our service and and our kid's entertainment. We have also taken note of the reported illness, so we would like you to contact us directly, so we can investigate the matter further. We take our guest’s safety and health very seriously. This is why, all major Tour Operators promoting Punta Cana, require that we go by specific hygiene standards. In order to audit those standards on a regular basis, we have hired an outsourced company called Crystal Worldwide LTD, a UK based company represented by Crystal Americas, S.A. Crystal is used by most hotel chains and tour operators doing business in the Dominican Republic, Europe, US as well as Canada. In addition to this, our Quality Control team carries out laboratory testing on a monthly basis to ensure the standards of hygiene of our food and drink sources and storage areas. Once again, we express our appreciation to you for having chosen to stay with us at the Occidental Punta Cana. Needless to say, we hope to welcome you back in the near future, so we have the opportunity to not only meet, but surpass your expectations. It was truly a pleasure to serve you. Sincerely, Scarlett Acosta Social Media Manager Occidental Punta Cana

    Round Indicators
    Laurie M 09/17/2018 Couples

    “Exceptional Service at the Royal Club Restaurant and Royal Club Beach Bar.”

    The resort is fantastic and the rooms in the Royal Club have been recently renovated and are beautiful. We had wonderful service and our room was kept exceptionally well. We would like to recognize the phenomenal service we received at the Royal Club restaurant with staff that treated us as family. We had wonderful service from Juan, Diego, and Hipolito. They were very attentive, and we enjoyed their sense of humor. Vladimir ensured that the service was fabulous and seamless. The bartenders at the Royal Club beach bar were fantastic and open to making drinks they were not familial with given some guidance.

    gpcsm, Social Media Manager at Occidental Punta Cana, responded to this review
     Dear Laurie M, We truly appreciate the time taken to share your recent experience at the Occidental Punta Cana with the TripAdvisor Community. In general, we are pleased to hear that we managed to meet your expectations. Please know, we we will also share your kind words with Juan, Diego, Hipolito y Vladimir, who will be thrilled to know of your recognition. Once again, we would like to thank you for choosing us as your vacation destination. We are thrilled to know that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back. It was truly a pleasure to serve you. Sincerely, Scarlett Acosta Social Media Manager Occidental Punta Cana

    Round Indicators
    Jet815836 09/16/2018 Family

    “DO NOT STAY AT THIS RESORT”

    I was here in August with a large group of family and friends and experienced the worst service of any resort I have ever stayed in. The staff was just rude. Wait staff ignored us at restaurants and seemed incapable of providing the correct number of glasses/silverware/napkins. Restaurants refused to accommodate our large party by merging tables, even though we had made a reservation for a large party. There is a concierge on the first floor of each complex. Ours told us he was there to help “with anything we needed,” then said "it's out of my hands" when we asked for his help. Instead, he repeatedly tried to sell us time shares and when we declined, he ignored us for the rest of our stay. Some of our friends' rooms did not have towels and, despite multiple complaints over a four-day stay, they were never given any. The cleaning staff only made the bed. They did not clean the room or bathroom or replaced the toiletries. The drinks were weak, the bars closed by 6:00 p.m., and THEY RAN OUT OF ALCOHOL EVERY SINGLE AFTERNOON HOURS BEFORE CLOSING!

    gpcsm, Social Media Manager at Occidental Punta Cana, responded to this review
     Dear Jet815836, Thank you for sharing feedback with us. We are, needless to say, saddened to hear that you weren’t fully pleased by our holiday offering. We are sorry that you have such a negative perception of our holiday offering. We would like you to know that we make every effort to provide each of our guests with an excellent holiday experience and meet their expectations. We apologize for failing to do so in your case. We have taken notes of the inconveniences you suffered with our waitstaff in our restaurants, te vacation club salespeople, the missing towels in your room, your dissatisfaction with our housekeeping staff, and the lack of alcoholic beverages at the specific times you arrived at one of our bars. Once again, we truly apologize for this and hope that you contact us directly so we can work with you and, perhaps, improve your perception of our hotel. We truly hope that you reconsider staying with us in the future, so we have the opportunity to surpass your expectations. We hope to hear from you. It was our pleasure to serve you. Best regards, Scarlett Acosta Social Media Manager Occidental Punta Cana

    Round Indicators
    Lisa L Long Valley, New Jersey. 09/15/2018 Family

    “Great trip”

    We had a great trip!!! But, when we checked in, they really didn’t give us much info about the resort or activities, so we had to figure that out on our own. The room was very nice, clean and comfortable. We had more than enough room and the balcony with the jetted tub and ocean front view was wonderful! When we had to call the front desk because the door wouldn’t lock the first night, we called multiple times, they kept saying someone was coming and they never did. We finally fixed it ourselves. Another night we called for pillows for our 12 year old son because they never gave us any for the sofa bed. They never came. We went to the front desk after dinner and asked again. Never came. Finally, we just asked our housekeeper the next day. The service from the front desk was terrible! BUT all the other staff we dealt with at the bars & restaurants, and the activity staff, were wonderful, helpful and friendly! Since they don’t give a daily newsletter, or any info anywhere about what activities are going on throughout the day, we just had to keep asking. While they had a “kid’s club” which looked very nice inside, they do not plan any outdoor activities for the kids in the pool or on the beach, only inside the club, so our son just made friends and played games in the pool with them all week. He loved all the pools, as did we. The food was decent, but there was no room service & no place to get food to take back to the room. Now Jade had a coffee shop where you could get drinks and snacks to go. This place had nothing! The gift shop didn’t even have a candy bar, which I was jonesing for LOL!!! So there were some nights when we were already in our PJs and wanted a snack and were out of luck! Booking a room in the First Club was definitely worth it! We got free wi-fi and had access to the first club longue, where we ate breakfast every morning and it was delicious! It is close to the ocean & the pool so would use the restroom there as it was much nicer than the one by the pool. We had an exclusive beach area with it’s own beach bar and lunch buffet. That alone made it worth it!!! The building and room location we got were perfect because building 13 is right in front of the First Club beach & bar section. The ocean was absolutely gorgeous and clear and so warm!!!! There was some seaweed, but the staff did a great job clearing it. The last 2 days there was a lot of seaweed in the water, but nothing you can do about it and we were still in the ocean all day! They don’t have covered areas with shade on the beach, so we just had to find lounge chairs that were under the shade of the palm trees & it was fine. We also had a separate seating area in the buffet dining room. If you are looking for a budget friendly vacation in Punta Cana, I would recommend the resort (as long as you don’t mind no room service LOL).

    gpcsm, Social Media Manager at Occidental Punta Cana, responded to this review
     Dear Lisa L, We truly appreciate the time taken to share your recent experience at the Occidental Punta Cana with the TripAdvisor Community. In general, we are pleased to hear that, in general we managed to meet your expectations We have also taken note of the inconveniences in your room, experience with our front desk, the selection of snacks, and your suggestion for a newsletter. We truly apologize for these shortcomings. Your opinion is very important to us and it is through detailed unbiased feedback such as yours that we are able to target the areas that need improvement. Once again, we would like to thank you for choosing us as your vacation destination. We truly hope to welcome you back very soon. It was truly our pleasure to serve you. Sincerely, Scarlett Acosta Social Media Manager Occidental Punta Cana

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • september 18 2018
    • Poole, United Kingdom
    • Couples

    sjg1992

    “Not as great as we'd expected”


    We have just gotten back from our stay at the Occidental Punta Cana. We had high hopes when arriving at the hotel and left a bit disappointed, but I will start with the good bits. - The staff. Most them are excellent, the animation team are without doubt the best out of all of them, they really helped add to our experience and even though some of their English was not good, they loved to just sit and chat with us. Richard and Jose are awesome. The bar staff are also brilliant and give good measures of alcohol, so you really do make the most of the all inclusive! They are also good at maintaining order, one day a group of particularly rude and intimidating men jumped the queue for the bar and demanded drinks but were sent to the back despite becoming quite aggressive. - The food, we read a lot of bad reviews on the food before our trip and can happily say the food was very good for all but our last day, it seemed that the hotel had suddenly got that much busier and weren’t able to cater for as many people as when we went for lunch they had ran out of a lot of things but on the other days it was very nice and the restaurants you can book are very good with the Italian being our favourite. - The rooms. Our room was very spacious and close to the quieter pool and the beach which was perfect for us as the other pools tended to be very busy with children or groups, so it made for the perfect location for us to start out a chilled day. The beds are also very comfy, and the curtains block out the sun light so keep it nice and dark. The air con is also very good to keep the room cool. - The choice of excursions. The staff at the tour desk are very helpful and they have a good range of trips to offer, if you have the chance to pick, choose to do Bavaro adventure park rather than La Hacienda as we feel we made the wrong choice when booking. It is also worth checking with the guys down the beach at the Mariana hut as to which boat tours they offer as you can often get the same tour for less money. Now for the bad. -Room amenities. On our second night whilst using the hairdryer it popped and caused a power cut to our room and smelt like it was burning, we called and asked for someone to come and check our room, but no one turned up for 3 hours despite us calling and even having to go to the front desk to talk to someone! In the end two men turned up, flicked at switch on the fuse box which was hidden by the mirror and then left! 3 hours to come flick a switch. Ridiculous. The same problem happened 3 days later... Safe to say we didn’t use the hairdryer again after that! We also decided to not have our room cleaned everyday as we would often go back around 6 in the evening to find we had no towels, despite us leaving them hung up as to show we didn’t want them changed. Also be aware that if there is a storm they are likely to cut the water supply, the whole hotel was without running water/flushing toilets for a good few hours one evening.. not good. - The Beach. Unfortunately, the beach is covered in seaweed at the moment which is also in the sea so it makes it very hard to enjoy the water unless you want to be standing in it and having it wrap around your feet! This is a problem out of the hotels control, but it would have been nice to be warned. -Wifi. Wifi at the hotel is not free and comes at a cost of $12 for 24 hours. Whilst we didn’t need to use it much as we wanted to get away from it all, it was frustrating when you have paid for an all inclusive resort to then have to immediately pay extra just to let your family know you have arrived safely. -Self Entertainment. The resort relies way too much on the animation team, and whilst they are brilliant, the hotel lacks basic things such as pool tables or other games that you can play in the evening if you don’t want to watch the show. If it just had a few more things to do that would have been great. -Hassle. The last thing you want on holiday is to be bugged by anyone, especially if all you want is to relax, however, when on the beach expect to be hassled by someone on a regular basis. Whether this is someone trying to put a monkey, parrot or iguana on your shoulder or someone trying to sell you a parasailing trip, this becomes frustrating when you just want to relax and i believe they shouldn’t be allowed within any area of the resort. Also beware of the Vacation Club staff, they look like regular staff and wait near the lobby around breakfast time, they will try and get you to attend a meeting and will try and make you go by saying how they get commission and it will help them and their family etc, once again this is hassle that I don’t want to feel when I’m on a holiday within a resort! The biggest disappointment of the trip was seeing the main pool and main restaurant closing only 3 days into our trip with no prior warning! Sunday we were happily swimming and drinking cocktails at the pool bar only to see it being taped up that evening, the pool wasn’t open again for a whole week and we left the day it reopened. The restaurant reopened after 5 days and whilst they did replace the buffet with a restaurant on the beach this one had a lot more choice and was much better. We also had one bad experience with a member of staff who said it was impossible to refund us our $120 for wifi when it wasn’t working on our phones. He was called away to assist someone else and a lady was able to cancel it in seconds for us... This was on our first day so wasn't a pleasant start to our holiday. All in all we feel disappointed by our experience at Occidental Punta Cana, seeing as the main pool was closed for a majority of our stay it feels like we lost out on a huge part of the hotel and with no prior warning given to us it seems that we paid all that money to stay at a hotel with less available than promised, therefore missing out on being able to make the most of the resort, because of this we feel like we have been ripped off. Had we known before we would have chosen another hotel.


    gpcsm, Social Media Manager at Occidental Punta Cana, responded to this review
    Dear Sjg1992, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience in Punta Cana. Needless to say, it is disappointing to hear that we were not able to satisfy your expectations. Please know, we are constantly reviewing and renewing our installations and services in order to continue improving the quality of our holiday offerings. Our goal is to offer each and every guest an excellent holiday experience and although we did not succeed in your case, we will continue working towards offer a superior quality of service. We have taken note of the difficulties you experienced with maintenance issues in your room, the wi-fi service, and your experience with the Vacation Club salespeople. We also apologize that the scheduled maintenance affected you negatively. We have also noted your suggestions for self entertainment. We hope you consider contacting our Customer Service department directly so they can work directly with you. We truly hope to hear from you, nonetheless, we will work on these areas. I would like to reiterate our appreciation for having chosen us as your holiday destination. Please consider giving us another opportunity to host you and, this time, not only meet but surpass your expectations. It was sincerely a pleasure to serve you. Best regards, Scarlett Acosta Social Media Manager Occidental Punta Cana

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • september 17 2018
    • Halifax, Canada

    Monromarce

    “1st time in Occidental Punta Cana first club”


    This was our family vacation and we were looking very much forward to having our usual amazing time at the beach... I think I can resume my feelings after the vacation with a ....Nah! We became members of the Occidental vacation club (firstclub) in our favorite location, the Occidental Grand Xcaret in Mexico and every visit we have had there over the years has been great,amazing experience. This time, we wanted to try a different location/region and booked our week at the Occid, Punta Cana (OPC). Well, customer service is not what we are used to from our experiences in Mexico; I mean talking about the whole resort services not only the first club. The first club service was alright but for us it was a hit or miss with the staff in general those first days of our trip. Some seem ready to help with a nice attitude and others looked at us as if we were about to ask them for a big favor (no darling, I only want to order a drink lol). I speak Spanish, too, so through the days I talked to some of them and had some interesting conversations. It transpired that there is some employees discontent after a recent change in the directors personnel with some new rules they were unhappy about, apparently including their access to water and food. You can say it happens everywhere, yes. But when the guests start noticing this in the staff attitude then you have a problem. After my conversations with them, then the "hit or miss" attitude I mentioned before made a lot of sense for me. After a few days, we became regulars and they started to show a better/happier attitude. I guess some times you just have to show a little appreciation for the work they do. The other thing we missed in this vacation was entretainment for our young child. OPC has a kidsclub, and their website describes "daily supervised activities" for the children. Well, we did not see any daily program of activities going on at the kidsclub. In the evenings, they only showed a film during the "minidisco". The custom mascot, the delphin, was a "no-show" as well. They said it was because of the low season/few children around but in the other Occidentals resorts we have visited even with few children around they run the programs and the minidisco (a proper show, music and dancing; not a film!); guests are still paying for the service all year round, right? Our child stayed a couple of times for a short while at the kidsclub playing on his ipad and that was it. Terrific... not. On a positive note, big shout to the animation team. All of them went the extra mile to make us adults feel entretained and included in the daily activities. They are one of the best animation teams I have seen in the Caribbean/Mexico. Excellent. Also to the beach bartender of the firstclub, Francisco, very hard working and pleasant guy, always with a smile in his face. Food and drinks were good; I liked my experience with the Dominican cousine. Unfortunately, my husband got ill with gastro issues the day before the last and spent that day in the room, unwell. He has never fallen ill during previous beach vacations at other destinations. The fistclub staff prepared a herbal-something for him that seemed to help but that was yet another stain to our experience at OPC This is a resort I would only visit with my partner (if he dares to go back, lol), because Punta Cana has a beautiful beach and entretainment. But as OPC currently is, it doesn't satisfy our needs as a family with a young child.


    gpcsm, Social Media Manager at Occidental Punta Cana, responded to this review
    Dear Monromarce, We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking a moment of your time to share your experience at the Occidental Punta Cana with us. We strive to offer nothing less than a five-star quality of service for each and every single one of our guests. Which is why we would like to apologize for being unable to meet your expectations. We have taken note of your dissatisfaction with our service and and our kid's entertainment. We have also taken note of the reported illness, so we would like you to contact us directly, so we can investigate the matter further. We take our guest’s safety and health very seriously. This is why, all major Tour Operators promoting Punta Cana, require that we go by specific hygiene standards. In order to audit those standards on a regular basis, we have hired an outsourced company called Crystal Worldwide LTD, a UK based company represented by Crystal Americas, S.A. Crystal is used by most hotel chains and tour operators doing business in the Dominican Republic, Europe, US as well as Canada. In addition to this, our Quality Control team carries out laboratory testing on a monthly basis to ensure the standards of hygiene of our food and drink sources and storage areas. Once again, we express our appreciation to you for having chosen to stay with us at the Occidental Punta Cana. Needless to say, we hope to welcome you back in the near future, so we have the opportunity to not only meet, but surpass your expectations. It was truly a pleasure to serve you. Sincerely, Scarlett Acosta Social Media Manager Occidental Punta Cana

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • september 17 2018
    • Couples

    Laurie M

    “Exceptional Service at the Royal Club Restaurant and Royal Club Beach Bar.”


    The resort is fantastic and the rooms in the Royal Club have been recently renovated and are beautiful. We had wonderful service and our room was kept exceptionally well. We would like to recognize the phenomenal service we received at the Royal Club restaurant with staff that treated us as family. We had wonderful service from Juan, Diego, and Hipolito. They were very attentive, and we enjoyed their sense of humor. Vladimir ensured that the service was fabulous and seamless. The bartenders at the Royal Club beach bar were fantastic and open to making drinks they were not familial with given some guidance.


    gpcsm, Social Media Manager at Occidental Punta Cana, responded to this review
    Dear Laurie M, We truly appreciate the time taken to share your recent experience at the Occidental Punta Cana with the TripAdvisor Community. In general, we are pleased to hear that we managed to meet your expectations. Please know, we we will also share your kind words with Juan, Diego, Hipolito y Vladimir, who will be thrilled to know of your recognition. Once again, we would like to thank you for choosing us as your vacation destination. We are thrilled to know that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back. It was truly a pleasure to serve you. Sincerely, Scarlett Acosta Social Media Manager Occidental Punta Cana

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • september 16 2018
    • Family

    Jet815836

    “DO NOT STAY AT THIS RESORT”


    I was here in August with a large group of family and friends and experienced the worst service of any resort I have ever stayed in. The staff was just rude. Wait staff ignored us at restaurants and seemed incapable of providing the correct number of glasses/silverware/napkins. Restaurants refused to accommodate our large party by merging tables, even though we had made a reservation for a large party. There is a concierge on the first floor of each complex. Ours told us he was there to help “with anything we needed,” then said "it's out of my hands" when we asked for his help. Instead, he repeatedly tried to sell us time shares and when we declined, he ignored us for the rest of our stay. Some of our friends' rooms did not have towels and, despite multiple complaints over a four-day stay, they were never given any. The cleaning staff only made the bed. They did not clean the room or bathroom or replaced the toiletries. The drinks were weak, the bars closed by 6:00 p.m., and THEY RAN OUT OF ALCOHOL EVERY SINGLE AFTERNOON HOURS BEFORE CLOSING!


    gpcsm, Social Media Manager at Occidental Punta Cana, responded to this review
    Dear Jet815836, Thank you for sharing feedback with us. We are, needless to say, saddened to hear that you weren’t fully pleased by our holiday offering. We are sorry that you have such a negative perception of our holiday offering. We would like you to know that we make every effort to provide each of our guests with an excellent holiday experience and meet their expectations. We apologize for failing to do so in your case. We have taken notes of the inconveniences you suffered with our waitstaff in our restaurants, te vacation club salespeople, the missing towels in your room, your dissatisfaction with our housekeeping staff, and the lack of alcoholic beverages at the specific times you arrived at one of our bars. Once again, we truly apologize for this and hope that you contact us directly so we can work with you and, perhaps, improve your perception of our hotel. We truly hope that you reconsider staying with us in the future, so we have the opportunity to surpass your expectations. We hope to hear from you. It was our pleasure to serve you. Best regards, Scarlett Acosta Social Media Manager Occidental Punta Cana

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • september 15 2018
    • Long Valley, New Jersey
    • Family

    Lisa L

    “Great trip”


    We had a great trip!!! But, when we checked in, they really didn’t give us much info about the resort or activities, so we had to figure that out on our own. The room was very nice, clean and comfortable. We had more than enough room and the balcony with the jetted tub and ocean front view was wonderful! When we had to call the front desk because the door wouldn’t lock the first night, we called multiple times, they kept saying someone was coming and they never did. We finally fixed it ourselves. Another night we called for pillows for our 12 year old son because they never gave us any for the sofa bed. They never came. We went to the front desk after dinner and asked again. Never came. Finally, we just asked our housekeeper the next day. The service from the front desk was terrible! BUT all the other staff we dealt with at the bars & restaurants, and the activity staff, were wonderful, helpful and friendly! Since they don’t give a daily newsletter, or any info anywhere about what activities are going on throughout the day, we just had to keep asking. While they had a “kid’s club” which looked very nice inside, they do not plan any outdoor activities for the kids in the pool or on the beach, only inside the club, so our son just made friends and played games in the pool with them all week. He loved all the pools, as did we. The food was decent, but there was no room service & no place to get food to take back to the room. Now Jade had a coffee shop where you could get drinks and snacks to go. This place had nothing! The gift shop didn’t even have a candy bar, which I was jonesing for LOL!!! So there were some nights when we were already in our PJs and wanted a snack and were out of luck! Booking a room in the First Club was definitely worth it! We got free wi-fi and had access to the first club longue, where we ate breakfast every morning and it was delicious! It is close to the ocean & the pool so would use the restroom there as it was much nicer than the one by the pool. We had an exclusive beach area with it’s own beach bar and lunch buffet. That alone made it worth it!!! The building and room location we got were perfect because building 13 is right in front of the First Club beach & bar section. The ocean was absolutely gorgeous and clear and so warm!!!! There was some seaweed, but the staff did a great job clearing it. The last 2 days there was a lot of seaweed in the water, but nothing you can do about it and we were still in the ocean all day! They don’t have covered areas with shade on the beach, so we just had to find lounge chairs that were under the shade of the palm trees & it was fine. We also had a separate seating area in the buffet dining room. If you are looking for a budget friendly vacation in Punta Cana, I would recommend the resort (as long as you don’t mind no room service LOL).


    gpcsm, Social Media Manager at Occidental Punta Cana, responded to this review
    Dear Lisa L, We truly appreciate the time taken to share your recent experience at the Occidental Punta Cana with the TripAdvisor Community. In general, we are pleased to hear that, in general we managed to meet your expectations We have also taken note of the inconveniences in your room, experience with our front desk, the selection of snacks, and your suggestion for a newsletter. We truly apologize for these shortcomings. Your opinion is very important to us and it is through detailed unbiased feedback such as yours that we are able to target the areas that need improvement. Once again, we would like to thank you for choosing us as your vacation destination. We truly hope to welcome you back very soon. It was truly our pleasure to serve you. Sincerely, Scarlett Acosta Social Media Manager Occidental Punta Cana

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in El Salvador

    Select El Salvador

    Hotels in Costa Rica

    Select Costa Rica

    Hotels in Ecuador

    Select Ecuador

    Hotels in Guatemala

    Select Guatemala

    Hotels in Nicaragua

    Select Nicaragua

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Aruba

    Select Aruba

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Hotels in Germany

    Select Germany

    Hotels in Bulgaria

    Select Bulgaria

    Hotels in Czech Republic

    Select Czech Republic

    Hotels in Italy

    Select Italy

    Hotels in Greece

    Select Greece

    Hotels in Portugal

    Select Portugal

    Hotels in Morocco

    Select Morocco

    Hotels in Egypt

    Select Egypt

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z