Close

You are using Internet Explorer as a browser to visit Barcelo.com, and we trully recomend to use other browser in order to avoid troubles. If you prefer it, upload your browser versión to Internet Explorer 7 or newer by following the steps you will find in the “About” option inside Tools Configuration (upper right of your window)

Hotel Beach  Occidental Grand Punta Cana Resort
;
map

Map and location

Avenida España, S/N. Playa El Cortesito   23301 La Altagracia , Punta Cana   República Dominicana  


Points of Interest

15 mi Punta Cana International Airport

Right on the beach Beach

Premios y Reconocimientos

Prizes and Awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Occidental Punta Cana

4.0/5 Round Indicators
| 6003 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


Comments

Excellent

46% Complete

2808

Very good

25% Complete

1506

Average

12% Complete

750

Poor

7% Complete

462

Very poor

7% Complete

477

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    Clauds272 12/09/2019 Couples

    “First timers at an all inclusive”

    Hello, Me and my boyfriend celebrated our 6 year anniversary at this resort. We stayed 7 days from Sunday to Sunday. The food was really good, bottled water is the way to go for brushing your teeth but showers are ok. Water on the resort for the food and drinks is filtered so your ok. We didn’t get sick at all. I think the more important things to know are US dollar is best to have, wifi is NOT included. We paid 40$ for 6 days and when we told them we thought it was included, they said “oh yes, i don’t know why it says that!”. The staff were super friendly, mind you, I speak Spanish and my bf looks Dominican so that really helped. The staff took the resort from a 6-8/10. Most are nice and we tipped all week to our cleaners, bartenders and servers. There are the few that are rude but that’s not uncommon. They have 5 a la carte resteraunts so book them as soon as you get there! Cause we booked the next day and we could only get in near the end of our stay and at 8:30 and 9 pm from 4/5. Mexican was the best, then Italian, seafood and then oriental was not good at all. At the seafood the wait is long and service is not too good. The pictures of the food they show for all the resteraunts are not accurate. They don’t have sushi or lobster or calamari. But the food was still good. Big warning here! You will be stopped many times at the beach or walking the resort by workers trying to sell you spa services, or other services such as time share meetings. Some were very pushy and it made us very mad and uncomfortable. You have to be firm! At the beach it’s the worst, ppl selling you services for braids, statues and sculptures, jewelry, pictures with monkeys and birds and excursions at a discounted price. If you say you have no money, they have the option of charging your room so just say no from the get go. We blew 150$ US in 2 hours on the beach cause they make you feel bad and it was our first day. We learned very quickly how to say no. Lol. They had shows every night for the guests which were great and things like bingo during the day with good prizes. The buffet was open for breakfast, lunch and dinner and they changed up the food everyday which was great! They have a pizza/hamburger/fries place upstairs with an after hours bar. Really good! The snack bar by the pool was decent with chicken nuggets, nachos, veggies and fruit, coffee, pop, ice cream, hot dogs, alcohol and hamburgers but they sometimes tasted stale. The excursion we picked was the buggies and it was great! It was a bit rushed and they try and sell you things from the beginning to the end! So just a warning. They have a shopping centre by the entrance, never pay full price! Always negotiate cause you can get it for cheaper. The rooms were beautiful and the cleaners did a great job. Me and boyfriend really liked our stay. We learned a lot! I had a great time even though it sounds like I’m ranting on but just warnings is all.

    AlvaroFontenlaOPC, Gerente at Occidental Punta Cana, responded to this review
     Dear Clauds272, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent stay with us. Leaving positive feedback does not only motivate our collaborators to continue offering a superior quality of service, but it also benefits other travelers when deciding on their holiday prospects. That said, we are delighted to have received such a stellar review on your behalf and, it goes without saying, that your recommendation is our greatest achievement. We reiterate our appreciation to you for having chosen to stay with us. It was truly a pleasure to serve you. Best regards, Alvaro Fontenla General Manager Occidental Punta Cana

    Round Indicators
    vacation161 Northbridge, Massachusetts. 12/08/2019

    “Great resort with a beautiful beach”

    We stayed here during Thanksgiving week. We are RCI owners and traded our timeshare in Maui, Hawaii for a one bedroom unit. It was very spacious for my husband and I and our two boys. It was a first floor unit in building 16000, had a nice patio overlooking the pool. Our check in with Katrina was very quick and she was extremely helpful and informative. The grounds are clean. The pools are very large with many activities so you are never bored. It wasn't busy so there was always a chair available. The beach was soft white sand, very clean, safe to walk and Wilton at the first club beach bar made the best drinks and always had a smile. We ate breakfast at the buffet and Yacquelin always came right over with a smile and coffee. Luis at the lunch buffet always had our drinks ready for us and knew what we liked to drink. He was also very friendly. We ate at the Italian, Mexican, Steak, Seafood and Oriental restaurants for dinner. We never had a bad meal they were delicious. Even my boys enjoyed the food which is rare. Our boys celebrated their 16th birthday and Jose from first club had the employees sing and had a special cake for them. The workers all do a great job and are hard working. This was our fourth time to The Dominican and first time to Occidental. We will definitely return to The Occidental because of the great service and location.

    AlvaroFontenlaOPC, Gerente at Occidental Punta Cana, responded to this review
     Dear vacation161, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent stay with us. Leaving positive feedback does not only motivate our collaborators to continue offering a superior quality of service, but it also benefits other travelers when deciding on their holiday prospects. That said, we are delighted to have received such a stellar review on your behalf and, it goes without saying, that your recommendation is our greatest achievement. We reiterate our appreciation to you for having chosen to stay with us. It was truly a pleasure to serve you. Best regards, Alvaro Fontenla General Manager Occidental Punta Cana

    Round Indicators
    maiif Pinheiral, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. 12/08/2019

    “Perfect vacation”

    I stayed one week in this hotel and it was amazing. Food and drinks were delicious and we could have it all day in different areas of the hotel. The juices during the breakfast with natural fruits were delicious, but unfortunately for lunch and dinner we couldn't have it. Bedroom was silence and confortable, close to the beach and swimming pool. All the employees that I had contact were very helpful and polite. The WiFi was weird. I was advised that I could use 1h per day, but I had it all day during all my stay and I only needed to login with my password. It was a little bit annoying but it was working. Definitely I want to return to this hotel.
    Round Indicators
    Happiness692068 12/07/2019 Family

    “Beautiful Resort but poor food quality and service”

    We went to a wedding for ~70 people and the special day was beautiful. Unfortunately, a week of buffet food because we were not able to book specialty restaurants. We were told it was all booked up, but when we checked the restaurants for the time we wanted, the places were barely full. We felt we were ushered to the buffet for most meals. I understand this time of year is a slow season, but closing down food and services was a huge disappointment. Make sure to read recent reviews before booking your stay. My stay in the first week of December was subpar. I discover my trip was $300 cheaper a month before my trip, and those "red signals" should be a warning.

    AlvaroFontenlaOPC, Gerente at Occidental Punta Cana, responded to this review
     Dear Happiness692068, Thank you for providing us with feedback regarding your recent stay at the Occidental Punta Cana. Although we are glad that in general you were able to enjoy your stay with us, it is disappointing to know that we were unable to meet your expectations to the fullest. We regret that this may have damaged your perception of our property, but please be sure that we always strive to provide the outstanding service that we are known for. To us, there is nothing more important than our guests' satisfaction. We truly hope you reconsider staying with us in the future. We guarantee to, not only meet, but surpass your expectations. It was our pleasure to serve you. Sincerely, Alvaro Fontenla General Manager Occidental Punta Cana

    Round Indicators
    yamari2019 Rockton, Illinois. 12/06/2019 Family

    “Everything was exceptional besides the customer service”

    The area was nice. The beach was very clean as well as the hotel. The food variety was very poor, there wasn’t much to choose from. The second day we arrived we tried to make a reservation for the restaurant but there was only 2 restaurants available, the rest were all already booked. However, when we walked past others restaurant that were “full” there hardly any people inside. Many of the servers were lazy, moody, and did not complete request. I asked for a soda several times and ended up waiting 20 minutes for a soda.

    AlvaroFontenlaOPC, Gerente at Occidental Punta Cana, responded to this review
     Dear yamari2019, Thank you for providing us with feedback regarding your recent stay at the Occidental Punta Cana. Although we are glad that in general you were able to enjoy your stay with us, it is disappointing to know that we were unable to meet your expectations to the fullest. We regret that this may have damaged your perception of our property, but please be sure that we always strive to provide the outstanding service that we are known for. To us, there is nothing more important than our guests' satisfaction. We truly hope you reconsider staying with us in the future. We guarantee to, not only meet, but surpass your expectations. It was our pleasure to serve you. Sincerely, Alvaro Fontenla General Manager Occidental Punta Cana

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • december 9 2019
    • Couples

    Clauds272

    “First timers at an all inclusive”


    Hello, Me and my boyfriend celebrated our 6 year anniversary at this resort. We stayed 7 days from Sunday to Sunday. The food was really good, bottled water is the way to go for brushing your teeth but showers are ok. Water on the resort for the food and drinks is filtered so your ok. We didn’t get sick at all. I think the more important things to know are US dollar is best to have, wifi is NOT included. We paid 40$ for 6 days and when we told them we thought it was included, they said “oh yes, i don’t know why it says that!”. The staff were super friendly, mind you, I speak Spanish and my bf looks Dominican so that really helped. The staff took the resort from a 6-8/10. Most are nice and we tipped all week to our cleaners, bartenders and servers. There are the few that are rude but that’s not uncommon. They have 5 a la carte resteraunts so book them as soon as you get there! Cause we booked the next day and we could only get in near the end of our stay and at 8:30 and 9 pm from 4/5. Mexican was the best, then Italian, seafood and then oriental was not good at all. At the seafood the wait is long and service is not too good. The pictures of the food they show for all the resteraunts are not accurate. They don’t have sushi or lobster or calamari. But the food was still good. Big warning here! You will be stopped many times at the beach or walking the resort by workers trying to sell you spa services, or other services such as time share meetings. Some were very pushy and it made us very mad and uncomfortable. You have to be firm! At the beach it’s the worst, ppl selling you services for braids, statues and sculptures, jewelry, pictures with monkeys and birds and excursions at a discounted price. If you say you have no money, they have the option of charging your room so just say no from the get go. We blew 150$ US in 2 hours on the beach cause they make you feel bad and it was our first day. We learned very quickly how to say no. Lol. They had shows every night for the guests which were great and things like bingo during the day with good prizes. The buffet was open for breakfast, lunch and dinner and they changed up the food everyday which was great! They have a pizza/hamburger/fries place upstairs with an after hours bar. Really good! The snack bar by the pool was decent with chicken nuggets, nachos, veggies and fruit, coffee, pop, ice cream, hot dogs, alcohol and hamburgers but they sometimes tasted stale. The excursion we picked was the buggies and it was great! It was a bit rushed and they try and sell you things from the beginning to the end! So just a warning. They have a shopping centre by the entrance, never pay full price! Always negotiate cause you can get it for cheaper. The rooms were beautiful and the cleaners did a great job. Me and boyfriend really liked our stay. We learned a lot! I had a great time even though it sounds like I’m ranting on but just warnings is all.


    AlvaroFontenlaOPC, Gerente at Occidental Punta Cana, responded to this review
    Dear Clauds272, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent stay with us. Leaving positive feedback does not only motivate our collaborators to continue offering a superior quality of service, but it also benefits other travelers when deciding on their holiday prospects. That said, we are delighted to have received such a stellar review on your behalf and, it goes without saying, that your recommendation is our greatest achievement. We reiterate our appreciation to you for having chosen to stay with us. It was truly a pleasure to serve you. Best regards, Alvaro Fontenla General Manager Occidental Punta Cana

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • december 8 2019
    • Northbridge, Massachusetts

    vacation161

    “Great resort with a beautiful beach”


    We stayed here during Thanksgiving week. We are RCI owners and traded our timeshare in Maui, Hawaii for a one bedroom unit. It was very spacious for my husband and I and our two boys. It was a first floor unit in building 16000, had a nice patio overlooking the pool. Our check in with Katrina was very quick and she was extremely helpful and informative. The grounds are clean. The pools are very large with many activities so you are never bored. It wasn't busy so there was always a chair available. The beach was soft white sand, very clean, safe to walk and Wilton at the first club beach bar made the best drinks and always had a smile. We ate breakfast at the buffet and Yacquelin always came right over with a smile and coffee. Luis at the lunch buffet always had our drinks ready for us and knew what we liked to drink. He was also very friendly. We ate at the Italian, Mexican, Steak, Seafood and Oriental restaurants for dinner. We never had a bad meal they were delicious. Even my boys enjoyed the food which is rare. Our boys celebrated their 16th birthday and Jose from first club had the employees sing and had a special cake for them. The workers all do a great job and are hard working. This was our fourth time to The Dominican and first time to Occidental. We will definitely return to The Occidental because of the great service and location.


    AlvaroFontenlaOPC, Gerente at Occidental Punta Cana, responded to this review
    Dear vacation161, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent stay with us. Leaving positive feedback does not only motivate our collaborators to continue offering a superior quality of service, but it also benefits other travelers when deciding on their holiday prospects. That said, we are delighted to have received such a stellar review on your behalf and, it goes without saying, that your recommendation is our greatest achievement. We reiterate our appreciation to you for having chosen to stay with us. It was truly a pleasure to serve you. Best regards, Alvaro Fontenla General Manager Occidental Punta Cana

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • december 8 2019
    • Pinheiral, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

    maiif

    “Perfect vacation”


    I stayed one week in this hotel and it was amazing. Food and drinks were delicious and we could have it all day in different areas of the hotel. The juices during the breakfast with natural fruits were delicious, but unfortunately for lunch and dinner we couldn't have it. Bedroom was silence and confortable, close to the beach and swimming pool. All the employees that I had contact were very helpful and polite. The WiFi was weird. I was advised that I could use 1h per day, but I had it all day during all my stay and I only needed to login with my password. It was a little bit annoying but it was working. Definitely I want to return to this hotel.


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • december 7 2019
    • Family

    Happiness692068

    “Beautiful Resort but poor food quality and service”


    We went to a wedding for ~70 people and the special day was beautiful. Unfortunately, a week of buffet food because we were not able to book specialty restaurants. We were told it was all booked up, but when we checked the restaurants for the time we wanted, the places were barely full. We felt we were ushered to the buffet for most meals. I understand this time of year is a slow season, but closing down food and services was a huge disappointment. Make sure to read recent reviews before booking your stay. My stay in the first week of December was subpar. I discover my trip was $300 cheaper a month before my trip, and those "red signals" should be a warning.


    AlvaroFontenlaOPC, Gerente at Occidental Punta Cana, responded to this review
    Dear Happiness692068, Thank you for providing us with feedback regarding your recent stay at the Occidental Punta Cana. Although we are glad that in general you were able to enjoy your stay with us, it is disappointing to know that we were unable to meet your expectations to the fullest. We regret that this may have damaged your perception of our property, but please be sure that we always strive to provide the outstanding service that we are known for. To us, there is nothing more important than our guests' satisfaction. We truly hope you reconsider staying with us in the future. We guarantee to, not only meet, but surpass your expectations. It was our pleasure to serve you. Sincerely, Alvaro Fontenla General Manager Occidental Punta Cana

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • december 6 2019
    • Rockton, Illinois
    • Family

    yamari2019

    “Everything was exceptional besides the customer service”


    The area was nice. The beach was very clean as well as the hotel. The food variety was very poor, there wasn’t much to choose from. The second day we arrived we tried to make a reservation for the restaurant but there was only 2 restaurants available, the rest were all already booked. However, when we walked past others restaurant that were “full” there hardly any people inside. Many of the servers were lazy, moody, and did not complete request. I asked for a soda several times and ended up waiting 20 minutes for a soda.


    AlvaroFontenlaOPC, Gerente at Occidental Punta Cana, responded to this review
    Dear yamari2019, Thank you for providing us with feedback regarding your recent stay at the Occidental Punta Cana. Although we are glad that in general you were able to enjoy your stay with us, it is disappointing to know that we were unable to meet your expectations to the fullest. We regret that this may have damaged your perception of our property, but please be sure that we always strive to provide the outstanding service that we are known for. To us, there is nothing more important than our guests' satisfaction. We truly hope you reconsider staying with us in the future. We guarantee to, not only meet, but surpass your expectations. It was our pleasure to serve you. Sincerely, Alvaro Fontenla General Manager Occidental Punta Cana

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in El Salvador

    Select El Salvador

    Hotels in Costa Rica

    Select Costa Rica

    Hotels in Ecuador

    Select Ecuador

    Hotels in Guatemala

    Select Guatemala

    Hotels in Nicaragua

    Select Nicaragua

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Aruba

    Select Aruba

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Hotels in Germany

    Select Germany

    Hotels in Bulgaria

    Select Bulgaria

    Hotels in Italy

    Select Italy

    Hotels in Greece

    Select Greece

    Hotels in Portugal

    Select Portugal

    Hotels in Hungria

    Select Hungria

    Hotels in Morocco

    Select Morocco

    Hotels in Egypt

    Select Egypt

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z