Barceló Hotel Pool  Costa Cancún
map

Occidental Costa Cancún

Boulevard Kukulcan, Km. 4,5   77500 Cancún, Quintana Roo ,   México  


Points of Interest

3 mi Cancún Int’l

2 mi Pok-Ta-Pok golf course (by Robert Trent Jones Jr.)

0.6 miles Linda beach

Premios y Reconocimientos Prizes and Awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Occidental Costa Cancún

4.0/5 Round Indicators
| 6530 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


GUESTS’ SCORE

Excellent

45% Complete

3000

Very good

28% Complete

1890

Average

13% Complete

858

Poor

6% Complete

412

Very poor

5% Complete

370

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    Joe L 06/17/2018 Friends getaway

    “Good Place But HONESTLY Some Caveats”

    We had a good stay overall but want to be complete. Some things to note: - the resort medium-sized and is organized, but during rain, there is a shortage of entertainment / things to do. - you can walk to the UltraMar Ferry to Isla Mujeres (US$20 R/T) but you will probably need to rent a golf cart when you get to the island to get around. That was going for US$40 to US$50 once you get there. You can walk to a few things. - the hotel's beach iteself is small, and too shallow for snorkling. Maybe you can float for a few minutes or get your feet wet, as we did a few times. - the pressure to see the vacation club is not too much, although some of the people who pitch it describe it as a day pass to get to know the other occidental hotel in cancun for a future stay (with lunch included)...so it is not always clear that you are being asked to go to a sales pitch. We would AVOID anything like that as it would be a total of about 3-4 hours in time including transportation, sales pitch, etc. - There are three sit-down restaurants plus the main buffet (albatros). Reservations are required for the sit-down restaurants and reservations can be made on the same day only. The food was good all around. It wasn't always perfect, but overally, the food was enjoyable and the service in the restaurants was attentive and good. There is an area on the second floor mezzanine area with food available late at night -- burgers, alcohol, soda, etc. - the housekeeping staff was excellent and we felt good with the security presence. - there are some activities throughout the day (check the electronic board) off the lobby on you way to the 2nd floor mezzanine area. some of the activities are free, like exercises and cooking lesson (how to make quacamole) and others are off-site extra cost excursions. free entertainment includes a 9pm show such as a magic show, mariachi band, spanish dance show, etc. there is something every night at 9pm. - going to market 28 (mercado 28) is not really a pleasant experience. see our more detailed review of mercado 28. - the guys who walk the beach selling "silver" vary in price. a small thin bracelet may cost us$7 from one guy of 3 for us$10 from another. it's all over the map. we wouldn't buy anything pricey since you can't know if the material is silver, zinc, or aluminum, stainless steel, and the gems are likely glass or synthetic. again see our review of mercado 28 for thoughts on the shopping situation. defintely don't buy expensive jewelry, as it may not be real gemstones and the prices are way too high. we went to a jewelry place called, "OPALO" in mercado 28 and it was a nightmare. They own several locations in Cancun etc. SO BE WARY. They even gave us tequila (we shouldn't have drank it) and then they wanted to sell us tequila (he has a friend with a shop and what we had was artisanal tequila which is normally US$100 per bottle. But his friend will sell it for US$50. Yes, this is the jewelry store experience! - one beach bar and one lobby bar. we found that the bartenders serve shots of tequila and other things that they make even when you DO NOT order them. In other words, if two of three people are drinking, we observed shots being put in front of the other person. if you order one shot, the shots just keep coming even if you don't ask for them. we saw one girl carrying three shots to the beach and drinking them (we saw this several times) and as we were leaving there were four shots on the bar in front of her. she was plastered and this was during the daytime. our experience was that they just keep giving you shots. some of them were absoultely disgusting. so gross. so ladies especially please don't be tempted into this. one person was so gone, she was passed out on a beach chair. - the hotel does book tickets for nightclubs such as Coco Bongo, but those excursions don't include transportation -- like go as a group and come back as a group. we DON'T really recommend going to the nightclubs as girls we know went and were offered stuff by guys in the club and when they went to the restrooms (outside the ladies room). this could be very dangerous if they accept or are diverted from their friends. - to get the towels by the pool, you may encounter a bald guy who looks around age 40 with funky glasses who demands that you THROW your beach towel into a bin, and so he doesn't want you leaving the towel on the counter or otherwise handing it to him. He will yell, "throw it in the bin." "throw it in the bin" -- we should be able to leave our towel on the counter and not be yelled at. - there are a lot of people selling excursions at the hotel. there is one guy at the desk next to where you make evening dinner reservations. more people up on the 2nd floor mezzanine level, and even the guy selling scuba and jet ski type reservations out by the pool was selling bus excursions (against the rules). we found the prices for all of these vary greatly. in one case someone paid $100 for 1/2 hour jet ski (rip off) and in another case, far lower. two people we spoke to paid $200 for 1/2 hour rental of one jet ski and a parasail up/down together. another person we spoke to paid $85 for that at the same outdoor area. so it's all over the map. - there is a fairly large mexican man who wears a suit (seems like the maitre de) who imitates drunk people staggering. he also offers drink to the girls we got to know. we found that behavior to be odd. he's saying, "what's up bro? what's up man?" in the video still below. - they ask for feedback and give you a card / reminder to write a trip advisor review. the person we spoke to wanted us to use her name in the review so that she get's points. honestly, if you want good and bad feedback, it needs to be more anonymous. it's not cool for workers to prompt guests to say good things about workers. - they are not too set up for entertainment during bad weather. more piano playing / singing / violin would be great to help stay entertained when the rain comes in. needs some indoor game room/pool tables/ping pong etc. - there is nothing to really walk to when staying at the hotel. you can cross the street to find some local 7-11 type store(s) but honestly it is better to just stay on the property. the buses do stop in front if they have room to pull over, but it wasn't really fun to be on the speeding bus to market or wherever. most of the bus drivers were not really looking to help you find the right stop, and some looked kind of angry. but the busses do run up and down the strip and can get you around for 12 pesos or $1US. But it's not a great experience. so overally, we are going with 4 stars.
    Round Indicators
    lillianhaberman Manhattan Beach, California. 06/16/2018 Business

    “Poor”

    Not matter what I said every one's is different I travel for work a lot and I know good customers service when I see one.i got nothing else too said about this experience with this. Hotel, event the review they want me to use there own words and characters. Very sad

    ASISTENTEGERENCIAL, Assistant Manager. at Occidental Costa Cancun, responded to this review
     Dear lillianhaberman: We greatly appreciate the time you spent to review your recent experience in our hotel, at Occidental we always strive to exceed guests expectations and your comments will help our teams reaching that goal. Thank you very much, that despite the inconvenience that had has been able to notice the service of our staff. It is a pity that you have received poor care is of utmost importance know more details regarding this and be able to take letters on the issue, we ask more details of what happened to the following email: costacancun.asist-dir@barcelo.com, to give proper follow-upp, and to avoid again a similar attitude by any employee to future guests. We would like to give us another opportunity to serve you in your next vacation as you deserve it. Best regards, Noemi Ramirez. Assistant Manager.

    Round Indicators
    priddytatiana117 06/16/2018 Family

    “Excellent hotel. Excellent service.”

    I loved my stay at occidental. All my needs were met. The staff was amazing. Only bummer is that it’s a small resort but maybe that’s what made it very accommodating. It was easy to have my needs met. I’d stay there again and I’d def refer a friend.
    Round Indicators
    Max G 06/15/2018 Family

    “Family vacation”

    The hotel room was great. It had a wonderful view of the sea and it was very clean. The restaurants were very fancy and had great food. Brandon, the activities were very indulging and had a great ambient.

    ASISTENTEGERENCIAL, Assistant Manager. at Occidental Costa Cancun, responded to this review
     Dear Max G: We thank you for taking the time to leave us the comments of your last stay with us and we have shared your grateful experience, it is our priority to offer memorable experiences to all our guests providing the legendary service and the warmth that characterizes us. We hope very soon to be able to welcome you again to this little paradise in Cancun. Best regards, Noemí Ramírez. Assistant Manager.

    Round Indicators
    Ankit P 06/15/2018 Couples

    “Vacation”

    Pool is nice Restaurant service was excellent Cool activities Danni Brandon Over all it’s was a perfect get away Food was good too Beach was nice and blue Frondesk service was good Bartenders were excellent as well

    ASISTENTEGERENCIAL, Asistente de Gerencia. at Occidental Costa Cancun, responded to this review
     Dear Ankit P: It has been a great pleasure to stay at Occidental Costa Cancun during your recent vacation, we are very happy to know that you had a pleasant stay and we would like to thank you for sharing the details of your great experience in our hotel, through this website. Our team of collaborators is very proud of their comments and thanks each one of them who have taken them into account and we hope to have you back very soon, to have another memorable vacation time, as we are sure it has been this time. Cordially, Noemí Ramírez. Assistant Manager.

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • june 17 2018
    • Friends getaway

    Joe L

    “Good Place But HONESTLY Some Caveats”


    We had a good stay overall but want to be complete. Some things to note: - the resort medium-sized and is organized, but during rain, there is a shortage of entertainment / things to do. - you can walk to the UltraMar Ferry to Isla Mujeres (US$20 R/T) but you will probably need to rent a golf cart when you get to the island to get around. That was going for US$40 to US$50 once you get there. You can walk to a few things. - the hotel's beach iteself is small, and too shallow for snorkling. Maybe you can float for a few minutes or get your feet wet, as we did a few times. - the pressure to see the vacation club is not too much, although some of the people who pitch it describe it as a day pass to get to know the other occidental hotel in cancun for a future stay (with lunch included)...so it is not always clear that you are being asked to go to a sales pitch. We would AVOID anything like that as it would be a total of about 3-4 hours in time including transportation, sales pitch, etc. - There are three sit-down restaurants plus the main buffet (albatros). Reservations are required for the sit-down restaurants and reservations can be made on the same day only. The food was good all around. It wasn't always perfect, but overally, the food was enjoyable and the service in the restaurants was attentive and good. There is an area on the second floor mezzanine area with food available late at night -- burgers, alcohol, soda, etc. - the housekeeping staff was excellent and we felt good with the security presence. - there are some activities throughout the day (check the electronic board) off the lobby on you way to the 2nd floor mezzanine area. some of the activities are free, like exercises and cooking lesson (how to make quacamole) and others are off-site extra cost excursions. free entertainment includes a 9pm show such as a magic show, mariachi band, spanish dance show, etc. there is something every night at 9pm. - going to market 28 (mercado 28) is not really a pleasant experience. see our more detailed review of mercado 28. - the guys who walk the beach selling "silver" vary in price. a small thin bracelet may cost us$7 from one guy of 3 for us$10 from another. it's all over the map. we wouldn't buy anything pricey since you can't know if the material is silver, zinc, or aluminum, stainless steel, and the gems are likely glass or synthetic. again see our review of mercado 28 for thoughts on the shopping situation. defintely don't buy expensive jewelry, as it may not be real gemstones and the prices are way too high. we went to a jewelry place called, "OPALO" in mercado 28 and it was a nightmare. They own several locations in Cancun etc. SO BE WARY. They even gave us tequila (we shouldn't have drank it) and then they wanted to sell us tequila (he has a friend with a shop and what we had was artisanal tequila which is normally US$100 per bottle. But his friend will sell it for US$50. Yes, this is the jewelry store experience! - one beach bar and one lobby bar. we found that the bartenders serve shots of tequila and other things that they make even when you DO NOT order them. In other words, if two of three people are drinking, we observed shots being put in front of the other person. if you order one shot, the shots just keep coming even if you don't ask for them. we saw one girl carrying three shots to the beach and drinking them (we saw this several times) and as we were leaving there were four shots on the bar in front of her. she was plastered and this was during the daytime. our experience was that they just keep giving you shots. some of them were absoultely disgusting. so gross. so ladies especially please don't be tempted into this. one person was so gone, she was passed out on a beach chair. - the hotel does book tickets for nightclubs such as Coco Bongo, but those excursions don't include transportation -- like go as a group and come back as a group. we DON'T really recommend going to the nightclubs as girls we know went and were offered stuff by guys in the club and when they went to the restrooms (outside the ladies room). this could be very dangerous if they accept or are diverted from their friends. - to get the towels by the pool, you may encounter a bald guy who looks around age 40 with funky glasses who demands that you THROW your beach towel into a bin, and so he doesn't want you leaving the towel on the counter or otherwise handing it to him. He will yell, "throw it in the bin." "throw it in the bin" -- we should be able to leave our towel on the counter and not be yelled at. - there are a lot of people selling excursions at the hotel. there is one guy at the desk next to where you make evening dinner reservations. more people up on the 2nd floor mezzanine level, and even the guy selling scuba and jet ski type reservations out by the pool was selling bus excursions (against the rules). we found the prices for all of these vary greatly. in one case someone paid $100 for 1/2 hour jet ski (rip off) and in another case, far lower. two people we spoke to paid $200 for 1/2 hour rental of one jet ski and a parasail up/down together. another person we spoke to paid $85 for that at the same outdoor area. so it's all over the map. - there is a fairly large mexican man who wears a suit (seems like the maitre de) who imitates drunk people staggering. he also offers drink to the girls we got to know. we found that behavior to be odd. he's saying, "what's up bro? what's up man?" in the video still below. - they ask for feedback and give you a card / reminder to write a trip advisor review. the person we spoke to wanted us to use her name in the review so that she get's points. honestly, if you want good and bad feedback, it needs to be more anonymous. it's not cool for workers to prompt guests to say good things about workers. - they are not too set up for entertainment during bad weather. more piano playing / singing / violin would be great to help stay entertained when the rain comes in. needs some indoor game room/pool tables/ping pong etc. - there is nothing to really walk to when staying at the hotel. you can cross the street to find some local 7-11 type store(s) but honestly it is better to just stay on the property. the buses do stop in front if they have room to pull over, but it wasn't really fun to be on the speeding bus to market or wherever. most of the bus drivers were not really looking to help you find the right stop, and some looked kind of angry. but the busses do run up and down the strip and can get you around for 12 pesos or $1US. But it's not a great experience. so overally, we are going with 4 stars.


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • june 16 2018
    • Manhattan Beach, California
    • Business

    lillianhaberman

    “Poor”


    Not matter what I said every one's is different I travel for work a lot and I know good customers service when I see one.i got nothing else too said about this experience with this. Hotel, event the review they want me to use there own words and characters. Very sad


    ASISTENTEGERENCIAL, Assistant Manager. at Occidental Costa Cancun, responded to this review
    Dear lillianhaberman: We greatly appreciate the time you spent to review your recent experience in our hotel, at Occidental we always strive to exceed guests expectations and your comments will help our teams reaching that goal. Thank you very much, that despite the inconvenience that had has been able to notice the service of our staff. It is a pity that you have received poor care is of utmost importance know more details regarding this and be able to take letters on the issue, we ask more details of what happened to the following email: costacancun.asist-dir@barcelo.com, to give proper follow-upp, and to avoid again a similar attitude by any employee to future guests. We would like to give us another opportunity to serve you in your next vacation as you deserve it. Best regards, Noemi Ramirez. Assistant Manager.

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • june 16 2018
    • Family

    priddytatiana117

    “Excellent hotel. Excellent service.”


    I loved my stay at occidental. All my needs were met. The staff was amazing. Only bummer is that it’s a small resort but maybe that’s what made it very accommodating. It was easy to have my needs met. I’d stay there again and I’d def refer a friend.


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • june 15 2018
    • Family

    Max G

    “Family vacation”


    The hotel room was great. It had a wonderful view of the sea and it was very clean. The restaurants were very fancy and had great food. Brandon, the activities were very indulging and had a great ambient.


    ASISTENTEGERENCIAL, Assistant Manager. at Occidental Costa Cancun, responded to this review
    Dear Max G: We thank you for taking the time to leave us the comments of your last stay with us and we have shared your grateful experience, it is our priority to offer memorable experiences to all our guests providing the legendary service and the warmth that characterizes us. We hope very soon to be able to welcome you again to this little paradise in Cancun. Best regards, Noemí Ramírez. Assistant Manager.

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • june 15 2018
    • Couples

    Ankit P

    “Vacation”


    Pool is nice Restaurant service was excellent Cool activities Danni Brandon Over all it’s was a perfect get away Food was good too Beach was nice and blue Frondesk service was good Bartenders were excellent as well


    ASISTENTEGERENCIAL, Asistente de Gerencia. at Occidental Costa Cancun, responded to this review
    Dear Ankit P: It has been a great pleasure to stay at Occidental Costa Cancun during your recent vacation, we are very happy to know that you had a pleasant stay and we would like to thank you for sharing the details of your great experience in our hotel, through this website. Our team of collaborators is very proud of their comments and thanks each one of them who have taken them into account and we hope to have you back very soon, to have another memorable vacation time, as we are sure it has been this time. Cordially, Noemí Ramírez. Assistant Manager.

    Gastronomía del hotel Barceló Costa Cancún

    A hotel right on the edge of Cancun beach offering the guest spacious Mediterranean-style rooms.

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in El Salvador

    Select El Salvador

    Hotels in Costa Rica

    Select Costa Rica

    Hotels in Ecuador

    Select Ecuador

    Hotels in Guatemala

    Select Guatemala

    Hotels in Nicaragua

    Select Nicaragua

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Aruba

    Select Aruba

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Hotels in Germany

    Select Germany

    Hotels in Bulgaria

    Select Bulgaria

    Hotels in Czech Republic

    Select Czech Republic

    Hotels in Italy

    Select Italy

    Hotels in Greece

    Select Greece

    Hotels in Portugal

    Select Portugal

    Hotels in Morocco

    Select Morocco

    Hotels in Egypt

    Select Egypt

    Hotels in United Arab Emirates

    Select United Arab Emirates

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

    to

      Incorrect dates
      Please enter valid dates

    NIGHTS

    (Optional dates)

    0 nights Selected

    A discount* or promotional code (also appears as “promo code”) is a combination of letters and/or numbers that gives a discount on the normal rate. If you have a discount code, enter it when booking and you will receive a discount on your booking. Once you have entered this code, the prices shown in step 1 of the booking process will already include the relevant discount. 

    The discount does not apply to prices on extras and/or extra services, neither does it apply to prices on last available rooms. You can only apply one discount code per booking which will only be valid at the time of making your booking.** 

    The maximum amount of accumulated discount will be at most 25% off the rate for hotels in Latin America and at most 20% off the rate for European and Mediterranean hotels. It is possible to combine a discount code with a special discount*** (discounts when you book multiple rooms, senior, resident, millennials, large families, etc.) and the discount for being a my Barceló client. 

    *Barceló reserves the right to accept the application of advertised discounts. 

    **The application of the discount code is not valid upon arrival at the hotel; the discount is only applicable at the time of booking. 

    ***The hotel will request to see valid official documents to verify compliance with the conditions for the discount codes and special discounts. In the event of not providing valid official documents or non-compliance, the hotel reserves the right to charge the amounts that were deducted from the original reservation.

    Loading rates...
    The hotel does not have any rates allocated to it

    Best rate
    guaranteed
    Plus

    If you find a better rate outside Barcelo.com, we’ll match it.

    The same applies even if you find a better rate on Barcelo.com after placing your booking.

    For more information