Close

You are using Internet Explorer as a browser to visit Barcelo.com, and we trully recomend to use other browser in order to avoid troubles. If you prefer it, upload your browser versión to Internet Explorer 7 or newer by following the steps you will find in the “About” option inside Tools Configuration (upper right of your window)

Surroundings at the Occidental Playa de Palma hotel
;
map

Map and location

CL Fra Joan Llabrés, 16   07600 Playa de Palma, Palma de Mallorca (Mallorca) , Islas Baleares   España  


Places of Interest

6 km Son Sant Joan International Airport

7 km Son Antem Golf Course

200 m Palma beach

200 m Bus to Palma

Premios y Reconocimientos

Prizes and awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Occidental Playa de Palma

4.0/5 Round Indicators
| 2570 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


Comments

Excellent

38% Complete

980

Very good

37% Complete

970

Average

16% Complete

416

Poor

5% Complete

131

Very poor

2% Complete

73

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    vickso1979 Glasgow, United Kingdom. 07/21/2019 Family

    “Good Family Break”

    Overall good family break. Comfortable rooms (junior suite), fantastic pool and good quality food. Short transfer from the airport and few mins walks to great beach. Impressed by the more upmarket quality of the restaurants nearby and the general atmosphere in the hotel / complex.
    Round Indicators
    RugbyBobby123 Long Lawford, United Kingdom. 06/30/2019 Couples

    “Nice but noisy. ”

    My wife and I stayed at the hotel for a week. We researched and liked the look of the website which promised it was ideal for people wanting a quiet holiday. On their trip advisor page they mention how the hotel would suit a family. This appealed to us. The good points are that the hotel is clean and tidy generally, staff are really great and helpful and the all inclusive food choice is very good. We tried a standard room which we didn’t like because they’re quite narrow so we upgraded to a suite which was really lovely. Had the hotel kept its promise of a quiet family place then I’d be happy to offer 4 stars no problem. Unfortunately the hotel opens its doors to groups of drunk Noisy Germans and struggles to keep them under control. Had our son have been with us, we’d have checked out after 1 day. Smoking is a joke and I don’t accept the hotels response to another travellers post. I have more right to breathe fresh air than a smoker does. After upgrading, we tried to escape the unpleasant pool atmosphere and use the roof terrace jacuzzi only to find German guests smoking and drinking in the jacuzzi and being noisy. Frankly the pool was better with people drinking and smoking in and around it. On 2 occasions, groups of German louts surrounded us and made us feel so uncomfortable that we moved on. Noise at night was also a problem. The German louts seem incapable of getting home without throwing beer bottles everywhere, fag ends everywhere and shouting, screaming and slamming doors all night long. We also had a drunk lad walk into our room while we were changing. Just happened to have a key that opened our door. Slightly annoyed about that obviously. I don’t have a problem with German people, I wouldn’t want to stay in a hotel like this with English stag and hen groups for exactly the same reason. But I thought we’d found a little sanctuary and we most certainly got it wrong. Great staff, unpleasant atmosphere.

    GEM-Playadepalma, GEM at Occidental Playa de Palma, responded to this review
     Dear Guest, First of all we would like to thank you for leaving your feedback on Occidental Playa de Palma, which helps us understand how to improve our service. We are truly sorry to read that your experience with us didn't meet your expectations and that we weren't able to provide you with a positive and memorable experience. First of all we want you to know that we do empathize with you regarding our smoking guests, however we would like to inform you that we must adhere to Spanish law which entitles guests to smoke anywhere outside on our hotels premises apart from near children´s play areas and we apologize for any inconvenience this caused you. However, we promise to be more vigilant with guests ignoring the designated no smoking areas. We are sorry that the quiet atmosphere you had hoped to find at our establishment was affected by the behaviour of certain guests. Although our hotel can accommodate approximately 570people, we always strive to ensure everyone’s satisfaction. For this reason, when welcoming groups at our hotels, we always try to organise them in such a way that guarantees the hotel’s smooth operation. We also make sure that the hotel atmosphere is respectful to other guests as far as noise levels. It is a shame that these measures were not enough on this occasion. If a similar situation occurs in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us so we may work towards making your stay more pleasant. Thank you for your very nice compliments for our team, they do work very hard every day to make sure our guests feel well attended to at all times and definitely are an asset to our hotel. We will certainly relay your praising comments to all of them and we are sure they will be pleased to know their efforts have been appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again so we may regain your trust with a better experience. Kind regards, Guest Experience Manager

    Round Indicators
    Sunchaser2103 06/22/2019 Couples

    “Could do better”

    Looking at the website this looked a great place, close to the beach and nightlife but far enough away not to be noisy. The facilities are good and the bed was very comfortable and the staff were excellent and the place was kept clean and tidy. I would say they need to review the smoking policy. For the week I was here I wanted to relax by the pool and take advantage of the all inclusive food and drink instead i found myself in clouds of second hand smoke where ever I went. I have no problem with smokers but as it's becoming more anti social there should be designated areas. The only place you cant smoke was in the main hotel. If there were designated smoking areas people could go it would make the non smokers and children more comfortable especially around the pool and snack bars. I wouldn't say this was a bad holiday but would never come here again through the fear of lung cancer. This would have been a great place except for the lack of a smoking policy. If you're a smoker without respect for children and non smokers this is the place for you.

    GEM-Playadepalma, GEM at Occidental Playa de Palma, responded to this review
     Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Occidental Playa de Palma hotel for your holidays in Mallorca, as well as for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience among us. First of all we want you to know that we do empathize with you regarding our smoking guests, however we would like to inform you that we must adhere to Spanish law which entitles guests to smoke anywhere outside on our hotels premises apart from near children´s play areas and we apologize for any inconvenience this caused you. However, we promise to be more vigilant with guests ignoring the designated no smoking areas. I went ahead and shared your review with our team so they could get a sense of the impact they are having with our guests thus far and everyone was excited to hear your lovely remarks. We look forward to seeing you again so we may regain your trust with a better experience. Kind regards, Guest Experience Manager

    Round Indicators
    Piszczu Krakow, Poland. 06/14/2019 Business

    “Buisness meeting”

    Nice hotel, good location very close to Palma and other interesting places. I recommend it for all traveling to Majorka. I have rented a bicykle and rode to Palma, it was great ride, I totally recomend it
    Round Indicators
    tracyodoherty Waterford, Ireland. 06/11/2019 Couples

    “Great hotel pity about the area”

    We stayed in a beautiful junior suite in this hotel . The hotel was lovely and food delicious. Only 20euro in a taxi from the airport. Unfortunately the area that the hotel is on is dominated by thousands of German groups who all appeared drunk . They were drinking cans on the prom and beach falling onto the road singing loudly. Maybe I m getting a bit crotchety but this is not my thing . We took a bus into Palma city one day and it was a beautiful city .

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • july 21 2019
    • Glasgow, United Kingdom
    • Family

    vickso1979

    “Good Family Break”


    Overall good family break. Comfortable rooms (junior suite), fantastic pool and good quality food. Short transfer from the airport and few mins walks to great beach. Impressed by the more upmarket quality of the restaurants nearby and the general atmosphere in the hotel / complex.


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • june 30 2019
    • Long Lawford, United Kingdom
    • Couples

    RugbyBobby123

    “Nice but noisy. ”


    My wife and I stayed at the hotel for a week. We researched and liked the look of the website which promised it was ideal for people wanting a quiet holiday. On their trip advisor page they mention how the hotel would suit a family. This appealed to us. The good points are that the hotel is clean and tidy generally, staff are really great and helpful and the all inclusive food choice is very good. We tried a standard room which we didn’t like because they’re quite narrow so we upgraded to a suite which was really lovely. Had the hotel kept its promise of a quiet family place then I’d be happy to offer 4 stars no problem. Unfortunately the hotel opens its doors to groups of drunk Noisy Germans and struggles to keep them under control. Had our son have been with us, we’d have checked out after 1 day. Smoking is a joke and I don’t accept the hotels response to another travellers post. I have more right to breathe fresh air than a smoker does. After upgrading, we tried to escape the unpleasant pool atmosphere and use the roof terrace jacuzzi only to find German guests smoking and drinking in the jacuzzi and being noisy. Frankly the pool was better with people drinking and smoking in and around it. On 2 occasions, groups of German louts surrounded us and made us feel so uncomfortable that we moved on. Noise at night was also a problem. The German louts seem incapable of getting home without throwing beer bottles everywhere, fag ends everywhere and shouting, screaming and slamming doors all night long. We also had a drunk lad walk into our room while we were changing. Just happened to have a key that opened our door. Slightly annoyed about that obviously. I don’t have a problem with German people, I wouldn’t want to stay in a hotel like this with English stag and hen groups for exactly the same reason. But I thought we’d found a little sanctuary and we most certainly got it wrong. Great staff, unpleasant atmosphere.


    GEM-Playadepalma, GEM at Occidental Playa de Palma, responded to this review
    Dear Guest, First of all we would like to thank you for leaving your feedback on Occidental Playa de Palma, which helps us understand how to improve our service. We are truly sorry to read that your experience with us didn't meet your expectations and that we weren't able to provide you with a positive and memorable experience. First of all we want you to know that we do empathize with you regarding our smoking guests, however we would like to inform you that we must adhere to Spanish law which entitles guests to smoke anywhere outside on our hotels premises apart from near children´s play areas and we apologize for any inconvenience this caused you. However, we promise to be more vigilant with guests ignoring the designated no smoking areas. We are sorry that the quiet atmosphere you had hoped to find at our establishment was affected by the behaviour of certain guests. Although our hotel can accommodate approximately 570people, we always strive to ensure everyone’s satisfaction. For this reason, when welcoming groups at our hotels, we always try to organise them in such a way that guarantees the hotel’s smooth operation. We also make sure that the hotel atmosphere is respectful to other guests as far as noise levels. It is a shame that these measures were not enough on this occasion. If a similar situation occurs in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us so we may work towards making your stay more pleasant. Thank you for your very nice compliments for our team, they do work very hard every day to make sure our guests feel well attended to at all times and definitely are an asset to our hotel. We will certainly relay your praising comments to all of them and we are sure they will be pleased to know their efforts have been appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again so we may regain your trust with a better experience. Kind regards, Guest Experience Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • june 22 2019
    • Couples

    Sunchaser2103

    “Could do better”


    Looking at the website this looked a great place, close to the beach and nightlife but far enough away not to be noisy. The facilities are good and the bed was very comfortable and the staff were excellent and the place was kept clean and tidy. I would say they need to review the smoking policy. For the week I was here I wanted to relax by the pool and take advantage of the all inclusive food and drink instead i found myself in clouds of second hand smoke where ever I went. I have no problem with smokers but as it's becoming more anti social there should be designated areas. The only place you cant smoke was in the main hotel. If there were designated smoking areas people could go it would make the non smokers and children more comfortable especially around the pool and snack bars. I wouldn't say this was a bad holiday but would never come here again through the fear of lung cancer. This would have been a great place except for the lack of a smoking policy. If you're a smoker without respect for children and non smokers this is the place for you.


    GEM-Playadepalma, GEM at Occidental Playa de Palma, responded to this review
    Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Occidental Playa de Palma hotel for your holidays in Mallorca, as well as for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience among us. First of all we want you to know that we do empathize with you regarding our smoking guests, however we would like to inform you that we must adhere to Spanish law which entitles guests to smoke anywhere outside on our hotels premises apart from near children´s play areas and we apologize for any inconvenience this caused you. However, we promise to be more vigilant with guests ignoring the designated no smoking areas. I went ahead and shared your review with our team so they could get a sense of the impact they are having with our guests thus far and everyone was excited to hear your lovely remarks. We look forward to seeing you again so we may regain your trust with a better experience. Kind regards, Guest Experience Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • june 14 2019
    • Krakow, Poland
    • Business

    Piszczu

    “Buisness meeting”


    Nice hotel, good location very close to Palma and other interesting places. I recommend it for all traveling to Majorka. I have rented a bicykle and rode to Palma, it was great ride, I totally recomend it


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • june 11 2019
    • Waterford, Ireland
    • Couples

    tracyodoherty

    “Great hotel pity about the area”


    We stayed in a beautiful junior suite in this hotel . The hotel was lovely and food delicious. Only 20euro in a taxi from the airport. Unfortunately the area that the hotel is on is dominated by thousands of German groups who all appeared drunk . They were drinking cans on the prom and beach falling onto the road singing loudly. Maybe I m getting a bit crotchety but this is not my thing . We took a bus into Palma city one day and it was a beautiful city .


    Swimming pool at the Occidental Playa de Palma hotel
    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in El Salvador

    Select El Salvador

    Hotels in Costa Rica

    Select Costa Rica

    Hotels in Ecuador

    Select Ecuador

    Hotels in Guatemala

    Select Guatemala

    Hotels in Nicaragua

    Select Nicaragua

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Aruba

    Select Aruba

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Hotels in Germany

    Select Germany

    Hotels in Bulgaria

    Select Bulgaria

    Hotels in Italy

    Select Italy

    Hotels in Greece

    Select Greece

    Hotels in Portugal

    Select Portugal

    Hotels in Hungria

    Select Hungria

    Hotels in Morocco

    Select Morocco

    Hotels in Egypt

    Select Egypt

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

    to

      Incorrect dates
      Please enter valid dates

    NIGHTS

    (Optional dates)

    0 nights Selected
    1 night Selected

    A discount* or promotional code (also appears as “promo code”) is a combination of letters and/or numbers that can be used to add a discount to the normal rate. If you have a discount code, enter it when booking and you will receive a discount. Once you have entered this code, the prices shown in step 1 of the booking process will take into account the discount. 

    The discount does not apply to supplements and/or additional services, nor to prices on last available rooms. You can only apply one discount code per booking, which will only be valid at the time of booking.** 

    The maximum amount of accumulated discount may be up to 20% off the booking rate. It is possible to combine a discount code with a special discount** (for example multiple room, senior, resident, millennials,or large family bookings) and your my Barceló discount. 

    *Barceló reserves the right to accept the application of advertised discounts. 

    **The discount code is not valid on arrival at the hotel, only at the time of booking. 

    ***At check-in, the hotel will request valid official documents in order to verify compliance with the terms and conditions of the discount codes and special discounts. In the event of a failure to provide such documents or meet the conditions, the hotel reserves the right to charge for the amounts that were deducted at time of booking.

    Loading rates...
    The hotel does not have any rates allocated to it

    Best rate
    guaranteed
    Plus

    Our double guarantee:

    If you find a better rate outside Barcelo.com, we’ll match it.

    The same applies even if you find a better rate on Barcelo.com after placing your booking.

    For more information