Close

You are using Internet Explorer as a browser to visit Barcelo.com, and we trully recomend to use other browser in order to avoid troubles. If you prefer it, upload your browser versión to Internet Explorer 7 or newer by following the steps you will find in the “About” option inside Tools Configuration (upper right of your window)

Barceló Hotel Pool  Jandía Playa
;
map

Map and location

Sancho Panza, s/n. Urbanización Playa del Jable   35625 Jandía, Pájara (Fuerteventura) , Islas Canarias   España  


Places of Interest

80 km Fuerteventura

400 m Jandía beach

1 km Jandía Golf

45 km Las Playitas Golf Course

Premios y Reconocimientos

Prizes and awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Occidental Jandía Playa

4.0/5 Round Indicators
| 8197 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


Comments

Excellent

35% Complete

2874

Very good

39% Complete

3264

Average

15% Complete

1287

Poor

5% Complete

479

Very poor

3% Complete

293

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    MrMrsHappyR Liverpool, United Kingdom. 11/16/2019 Couples

    “Great apart from old room”

    Positives Lunch and Dinner, food was very good with great choice and some quality meat and fish and salad and desserts. There is also an excellent selection of fresh fruit. Also very good selection of vegetarian options including vegetarian margarine. They also do lovely large soft bread rolls at all meal times. Staff were friendly and helpful. It's good that you can help yourself to wine, beer, soft drinks, etc during lunch and dinner. It's also great that they do several zero sugar lemonade & coke. Also some herbal teas. You get a bottle of still and sparkling water on arrival in the fridge. The hotel then relies on people filling up their water bottles in the free bars etc which is a good environmental thing to do. Lots of sun loungers available. Everything closes at 11pm which is great for those that like a quiet relaxing holiday. Negatives The thing that stopped it getting 4 stars was our room was very dated, with dark old scratched furniture and ground floor balcony is poor with no privacy. But you can pay a hefty amount for a nicer room that would probably be the standard in other hotels. The cereal and cooked breakfast sausages and beans were poor quality. Although as mentioned in positives, there is a very good selection of fresh fruit and cakes and pastries. This is a huge hotel with a lots guests which means there is a lack of available seats in the evening in the various lounge areas. Unless you rush your evening meal to be one of the first lucky 100 guests to get out first and nab a seat. There should really be an anti bacterial hand gel dispenser as you enter the dining area. As there are probably as many guests as a small cruise ship and a small minority of people do not wash their hands and lots of people are touching the food dispensers. So tip, being your own anti bacterial hand gel before meal times. There should be plate warmers as the food goes cold quickly. Overall despite the negatives at made it a good holiday. It is a beautiful stretch of coastline and Jandia, Morro Jable area very nice towns. Things to do: Although the hotel is at the top of the hill, you can avoid having to walk up/down by walking to area 9 and getting the lift down to the shopping area at the front. A spectacular beach on the seafront with nice walks. There are a few shops. Nice walk along the beach to Morro Jable Lighthouse. The Morro Jable area has some good quality shops such as Tommy Hilfiger, etc. There is a good market on Monday and Thursday near the Cosmo shopping precinct just past the lighthouse. Although they do sell a lot of tat. But there are a few stalls with nice home made goods, etc. There is a free bus that goes to the Oasis Wildlife Park (paid entry) which is a fantastic zoo where you can hand feed some of the animals.
    Round Indicators
    D810JD Sheffield, United Kingdom. 11/14/2019 Family

    “Its ok”

    An ok hotel. Great polite and friendly staff. Food was ok, but the lunches were excellent. Breakfast and dinner only ok. The grounds are rather hilly, and my legs know that I have stayed there. Not the greatest layout of the hotel, with the dining and bars quite a walk (up hill) away. Rooms need a refresh. Mine was dusty all week, and there were broken / cracked tiles in the bathroom. The gardens are superb.

    OccidentalJandia, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Playa, responded to this review
     Dear Guest, Thank you for your insights following your recent visit. We always look for ways to improve and your comments are crucial to our future success. We apologise if the current state of our facilities and rooms did not meet your expectations. Although this is not a newly-built hotel, we work hard to keep it in good condition so guests feel comfortable. We will forward your comment to the management team because customer feedback helps us to improve, and we will keep it in mind for future infrastructure renovations. We are deeply sorry to read that the layout of our hotel did not meet your expectations and we would like to invite you, for the next time to visit our webpage or contact our call center to give to you the best choice to join your holydays. On the other hand appreciate your kind words for our staff, their kindness and helpfulness being undoubtedly one of our hotel's main assets we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us. Last but not least, it fills us with pride that you could enjoy the gastronomical efforts of our chefs as we strive to satisfy the many culinary wishes of our guests offering the most delicious international and local dishes. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certaily look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future. Kind Regards, Guest Experience Manager Occidental Jandia Playa****

    Round Indicators
    Duchess3001 London, United Kingdom. 11/13/2019 Couples

    “Short break”

    Excellent holiday, highly recommend. Will definitely visit again and again. Just sad it ended so soon, would loved to have stayed longer. Very comfortable beds and excellent choice of food and drinks.

    OccidentalJandia, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Playa, responded to this review
     Dear guest, We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Best regards, Guest Experience Management Occidental Jandía Playa ****

    Round Indicators
    Mikeep69 Lanzarote, Spain. 11/12/2019 Couples

    “Not 4 Star. Sadly Disappointing. NOT Recommended. ”

    Our first hotel stay in Fuerteventura was at the Occidental Jandia Playa. It was not that good, shabby, tired, and more like a 3 star, which is surprising as it’s part of the usually good Barcelo chain. Check in was bad. A 20 minute wait and then average, rushed service. No bell boy service and beds were configured wrongly when in the room. We waited an hour for our safe to be opened too. Food was nice, although we only stayed 2 nights and on 2 occasions the only hot meat was pork and liver, so not a great choice if you stay for a week or more. It must cater more for German taste. The lady in the pool bar was excellent, decent measures and very friendly and efficient. The table clearing staff were fine, not overly friendly or attentive though. Coffee machines were all turned off except 2 bang on 10am closing. Overall, it was not good value for money, rooms are tired, check in was bad, food average and the same each day, drinks fine and location not central. NOT RECOMMENDED.

    OccidentalJandia, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Playa, responded to this review
     Dear Guest, Although we sincerely regret your disappointment with your stay in our Occidental Jandia Playa, we would like to thank you for sharing your comments as it will help us to identify areas of concern and act immediately so as to enhance our future guests' experience among us. We apologise if the current state of our rooms did not meet your expectations. Although this is not a newly-built hotel, we work hard to keep it in good condition so guests feel comfortable. We will forward your comment to the management team because customer feedback helps us to improve, and we will keep it in mind for future infrastructure renovations. We have taken good note of your remarks related to the service you received upon check in and apologize for the exceptional wait you expérienced upon your arrival, we will do our utmost to improve on this aspect of our services and extend our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused to you and your loved ones. Furthermore we are sorry to read that our buffet offer did not meet your expectations, our professional Chefs strive to impress our guests with high standards and the possibility to savor the best of our local cuisine as well as a great selection of international delights. However as we receive guests of all nationalities and ages, we try to please all palates. Please rest assured that your comments will be shared with our Chefs to enhance our future guests' dining expériences. We are also sorry that our location is not exactly what you were looking for in terms of proximity to the centre. Many guests love our (seafront) location because it is set away from the village, yet close enough that a short trip (10-15 minutes) takes them to many popular spots. Thank you again for your visit and constructuve critics, our primary goal being to assure our guests feel comfortable and fully enjoy their visits, we are eager to regain your confidence during another occasion if you gave us that chance Best regards, Guest Experience Management Occidental Jandía Playa ****

    Round Indicators
    marketa_netusilova Saint-Josse-ten-Noode, Belgium. 11/11/2019 Family

    “Holiday in South of Fuerteventura”

    It was the second time we came back on this island. In general, everything was fine, it is maybe just me, I expected something more and better. The hotel is not very well located (regarding my needs and preferences and previous experience). The beach is not such close and the surrounding is nearly dead. If you wanted to see other restaurants, shops, beaches, you needed to take a taxi (which are cheap but most of the time Spanish speaking). I expected a newly refurbished family room following the advertised pictures while booking. Instead we got a decent but old-fashioned one. Well OK, the beds are very comfortable and the rooms were good located regarding our needs. We had some issues regarding the all-inclusive: Our check in happened after whole day travelling at 11 pm, so no possible to get anything for drink because the all in service ends at 11pm. One day we did a whole day excursion and asked whether is possible to take something to eat with us (we have 3 little kids under 6). It has made such a fuzz that it is not allowed, I understand for hygienic reasons, so we had to sign a document regarding this incident. During the whole sojourn, no bit personal contact with nobody of the personnel because of the huge number of clients. Everything is like huge working machine, so impersonal. What was surprisingly very positive were the pools. It was always possible to find transats. On the other hand, the only heated pool, easily accessible for kids were part of the day occupied by entertaining activities and very loud music. The last day, we were leaving very early, but again, no possibility to get a snack back to take away. We have been told, the restaurant will be open for an early breakfast. It was, but the kids wanted sleep and not eat of course at 5:30 am. No help for luggage to get them from the room to the reception as the bell-boy worked only from 10 am to 6 pm. Honestly, it wasn't bad, I just expected it a bit different. Probably I didn't focused enough on our needs while looking for the place.

    OccidentalJandia, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Playa, responded to this review
     Dear Guest, First and foremost we would like to thank you for choosing our Occidental JAndia Playa hotel for your second visit to the island. We are sorry that our location is not exactly what you were looking for in terms of proximity to the centre. Many guests love our (seafront) location because close enough that a short trip (10-15 minutes) takes them to many popular spots. And we really understand that might not be the best location for your holidays, this is why we encourage you for a future occasion to visit our website or to contact our call center from where our agents will be able to offer you a personalized booking guidance to make sure you book the Barceló destination that can make all your dreams come true. Furthermor we apologise if the current state of our rooms did not meet your expectations. Although this is not a newly-built hotel, we work hard to keep it in good condition so guests feel comfortable. We will forward your comment to the management team because customer feedback helps us to improve, and we will keep it in mind for future infrastructure renovations. we would like to take the opportunity to point out that our hotel, like all hotels of our chain, undergoes regular independent audits sent both by the company and the tour operators we collaborate with  to ensure our strict food safety management procedures, imposed on a global level by the company, are being followed and thoroughly respected at all times as under no circumstances would we put our guests’ health at risk. For this reason it is forbidden to take food out of the restaurant, not only we cannot prepare snacks to take away, if not that the customer could not even bring food in the room, as food could be contaminated and cause problems for guests. In some special cases we allow it but relieves us of the responsibility that the food can go bad due to the wrong handling. Also for this reason on the day of departure we always make available to customers who have to leave the hotel early in the morning a breakfast so that they can eat something before leaving. With regard to the number of staff members for the service, we are pleased to inform you that these ratios were calculated using studies based on our occupancy, average stay, rates and other data. We appreciate your feedback and will take it into consideration. Regarding our bell-boy sercive we would like to infrom you that in case there is not service on the time the guest leaves, we propose our client to deliver the suitcases from the day before, so that they can make the checkout lighter. We apologize for the inconveniece caused. Please be assured that your comments will be taken into serious consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. Once again, thank you for your time and despite the issues you have raised following your stay, we hope that Barceló will remain an option for your next holiday and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future. Best regards, Guest Experience Management Occidental Jandía Playa ****

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • november 16 2019
    • Liverpool, United Kingdom
    • Couples

    MrMrsHappyR

    “Great apart from old room”


    Positives Lunch and Dinner, food was very good with great choice and some quality meat and fish and salad and desserts. There is also an excellent selection of fresh fruit. Also very good selection of vegetarian options including vegetarian margarine. They also do lovely large soft bread rolls at all meal times. Staff were friendly and helpful. It's good that you can help yourself to wine, beer, soft drinks, etc during lunch and dinner. It's also great that they do several zero sugar lemonade & coke. Also some herbal teas. You get a bottle of still and sparkling water on arrival in the fridge. The hotel then relies on people filling up their water bottles in the free bars etc which is a good environmental thing to do. Lots of sun loungers available. Everything closes at 11pm which is great for those that like a quiet relaxing holiday. Negatives The thing that stopped it getting 4 stars was our room was very dated, with dark old scratched furniture and ground floor balcony is poor with no privacy. But you can pay a hefty amount for a nicer room that would probably be the standard in other hotels. The cereal and cooked breakfast sausages and beans were poor quality. Although as mentioned in positives, there is a very good selection of fresh fruit and cakes and pastries. This is a huge hotel with a lots guests which means there is a lack of available seats in the evening in the various lounge areas. Unless you rush your evening meal to be one of the first lucky 100 guests to get out first and nab a seat. There should really be an anti bacterial hand gel dispenser as you enter the dining area. As there are probably as many guests as a small cruise ship and a small minority of people do not wash their hands and lots of people are touching the food dispensers. So tip, being your own anti bacterial hand gel before meal times. There should be plate warmers as the food goes cold quickly. Overall despite the negatives at made it a good holiday. It is a beautiful stretch of coastline and Jandia, Morro Jable area very nice towns. Things to do: Although the hotel is at the top of the hill, you can avoid having to walk up/down by walking to area 9 and getting the lift down to the shopping area at the front. A spectacular beach on the seafront with nice walks. There are a few shops. Nice walk along the beach to Morro Jable Lighthouse. The Morro Jable area has some good quality shops such as Tommy Hilfiger, etc. There is a good market on Monday and Thursday near the Cosmo shopping precinct just past the lighthouse. Although they do sell a lot of tat. But there are a few stalls with nice home made goods, etc. There is a free bus that goes to the Oasis Wildlife Park (paid entry) which is a fantastic zoo where you can hand feed some of the animals.


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • november 14 2019
    • Sheffield, United Kingdom
    • Family

    D810JD

    “Its ok”


    An ok hotel. Great polite and friendly staff. Food was ok, but the lunches were excellent. Breakfast and dinner only ok. The grounds are rather hilly, and my legs know that I have stayed there. Not the greatest layout of the hotel, with the dining and bars quite a walk (up hill) away. Rooms need a refresh. Mine was dusty all week, and there were broken / cracked tiles in the bathroom. The gardens are superb.


    OccidentalJandia, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Playa, responded to this review
    Dear Guest, Thank you for your insights following your recent visit. We always look for ways to improve and your comments are crucial to our future success. We apologise if the current state of our facilities and rooms did not meet your expectations. Although this is not a newly-built hotel, we work hard to keep it in good condition so guests feel comfortable. We will forward your comment to the management team because customer feedback helps us to improve, and we will keep it in mind for future infrastructure renovations. We are deeply sorry to read that the layout of our hotel did not meet your expectations and we would like to invite you, for the next time to visit our webpage or contact our call center to give to you the best choice to join your holydays. On the other hand appreciate your kind words for our staff, their kindness and helpfulness being undoubtedly one of our hotel's main assets we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us. Last but not least, it fills us with pride that you could enjoy the gastronomical efforts of our chefs as we strive to satisfy the many culinary wishes of our guests offering the most delicious international and local dishes. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certaily look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future. Kind Regards, Guest Experience Manager Occidental Jandia Playa****

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • november 13 2019
    • London, United Kingdom
    • Couples

    Duchess3001

    “Short break”


    Excellent holiday, highly recommend. Will definitely visit again and again. Just sad it ended so soon, would loved to have stayed longer. Very comfortable beds and excellent choice of food and drinks.


    OccidentalJandia, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Playa, responded to this review
    Dear guest, We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you for making us your choice hotel when visiting the area. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Best regards, Guest Experience Management Occidental Jandía Playa ****

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • november 12 2019
    • Lanzarote, Spain
    • Couples

    Mikeep69

    “Not 4 Star. Sadly Disappointing. NOT Recommended. ”


    Our first hotel stay in Fuerteventura was at the Occidental Jandia Playa. It was not that good, shabby, tired, and more like a 3 star, which is surprising as it’s part of the usually good Barcelo chain. Check in was bad. A 20 minute wait and then average, rushed service. No bell boy service and beds were configured wrongly when in the room. We waited an hour for our safe to be opened too. Food was nice, although we only stayed 2 nights and on 2 occasions the only hot meat was pork and liver, so not a great choice if you stay for a week or more. It must cater more for German taste. The lady in the pool bar was excellent, decent measures and very friendly and efficient. The table clearing staff were fine, not overly friendly or attentive though. Coffee machines were all turned off except 2 bang on 10am closing. Overall, it was not good value for money, rooms are tired, check in was bad, food average and the same each day, drinks fine and location not central. NOT RECOMMENDED.


    OccidentalJandia, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Playa, responded to this review
    Dear Guest, Although we sincerely regret your disappointment with your stay in our Occidental Jandia Playa, we would like to thank you for sharing your comments as it will help us to identify areas of concern and act immediately so as to enhance our future guests' experience among us. We apologise if the current state of our rooms did not meet your expectations. Although this is not a newly-built hotel, we work hard to keep it in good condition so guests feel comfortable. We will forward your comment to the management team because customer feedback helps us to improve, and we will keep it in mind for future infrastructure renovations. We have taken good note of your remarks related to the service you received upon check in and apologize for the exceptional wait you expérienced upon your arrival, we will do our utmost to improve on this aspect of our services and extend our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused to you and your loved ones. Furthermore we are sorry to read that our buffet offer did not meet your expectations, our professional Chefs strive to impress our guests with high standards and the possibility to savor the best of our local cuisine as well as a great selection of international delights. However as we receive guests of all nationalities and ages, we try to please all palates. Please rest assured that your comments will be shared with our Chefs to enhance our future guests' dining expériences. We are also sorry that our location is not exactly what you were looking for in terms of proximity to the centre. Many guests love our (seafront) location because it is set away from the village, yet close enough that a short trip (10-15 minutes) takes them to many popular spots. Thank you again for your visit and constructuve critics, our primary goal being to assure our guests feel comfortable and fully enjoy their visits, we are eager to regain your confidence during another occasion if you gave us that chance Best regards, Guest Experience Management Occidental Jandía Playa ****

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • november 11 2019
    • Saint-Josse-ten-Noode, Belgium
    • Family

    marketa_netusilova

    “Holiday in South of Fuerteventura”


    It was the second time we came back on this island. In general, everything was fine, it is maybe just me, I expected something more and better. The hotel is not very well located (regarding my needs and preferences and previous experience). The beach is not such close and the surrounding is nearly dead. If you wanted to see other restaurants, shops, beaches, you needed to take a taxi (which are cheap but most of the time Spanish speaking). I expected a newly refurbished family room following the advertised pictures while booking. Instead we got a decent but old-fashioned one. Well OK, the beds are very comfortable and the rooms were good located regarding our needs. We had some issues regarding the all-inclusive: Our check in happened after whole day travelling at 11 pm, so no possible to get anything for drink because the all in service ends at 11pm. One day we did a whole day excursion and asked whether is possible to take something to eat with us (we have 3 little kids under 6). It has made such a fuzz that it is not allowed, I understand for hygienic reasons, so we had to sign a document regarding this incident. During the whole sojourn, no bit personal contact with nobody of the personnel because of the huge number of clients. Everything is like huge working machine, so impersonal. What was surprisingly very positive were the pools. It was always possible to find transats. On the other hand, the only heated pool, easily accessible for kids were part of the day occupied by entertaining activities and very loud music. The last day, we were leaving very early, but again, no possibility to get a snack back to take away. We have been told, the restaurant will be open for an early breakfast. It was, but the kids wanted sleep and not eat of course at 5:30 am. No help for luggage to get them from the room to the reception as the bell-boy worked only from 10 am to 6 pm. Honestly, it wasn't bad, I just expected it a bit different. Probably I didn't focused enough on our needs while looking for the place.


    OccidentalJandia, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Playa, responded to this review
    Dear Guest, First and foremost we would like to thank you for choosing our Occidental JAndia Playa hotel for your second visit to the island. We are sorry that our location is not exactly what you were looking for in terms of proximity to the centre. Many guests love our (seafront) location because close enough that a short trip (10-15 minutes) takes them to many popular spots. And we really understand that might not be the best location for your holidays, this is why we encourage you for a future occasion to visit our website or to contact our call center from where our agents will be able to offer you a personalized booking guidance to make sure you book the Barceló destination that can make all your dreams come true. Furthermor we apologise if the current state of our rooms did not meet your expectations. Although this is not a newly-built hotel, we work hard to keep it in good condition so guests feel comfortable. We will forward your comment to the management team because customer feedback helps us to improve, and we will keep it in mind for future infrastructure renovations. we would like to take the opportunity to point out that our hotel, like all hotels of our chain, undergoes regular independent audits sent both by the company and the tour operators we collaborate with  to ensure our strict food safety management procedures, imposed on a global level by the company, are being followed and thoroughly respected at all times as under no circumstances would we put our guests’ health at risk. For this reason it is forbidden to take food out of the restaurant, not only we cannot prepare snacks to take away, if not that the customer could not even bring food in the room, as food could be contaminated and cause problems for guests. In some special cases we allow it but relieves us of the responsibility that the food can go bad due to the wrong handling. Also for this reason on the day of departure we always make available to customers who have to leave the hotel early in the morning a breakfast so that they can eat something before leaving. With regard to the number of staff members for the service, we are pleased to inform you that these ratios were calculated using studies based on our occupancy, average stay, rates and other data. We appreciate your feedback and will take it into consideration. Regarding our bell-boy sercive we would like to infrom you that in case there is not service on the time the guest leaves, we propose our client to deliver the suitcases from the day before, so that they can make the checkout lighter. We apologize for the inconveniece caused. Please be assured that your comments will be taken into serious consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. Once again, thank you for your time and despite the issues you have raised following your stay, we hope that Barceló will remain an option for your next holiday and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future. Best regards, Guest Experience Management Occidental Jandía Playa ****

    Barceló Hotel Pool  Jandía Playa

    Quality and comfort with a Canary Island soul

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in El Salvador

    Select El Salvador

    Hotels in Costa Rica

    Select Costa Rica

    Hotels in Ecuador

    Select Ecuador

    Hotels in Guatemala

    Select Guatemala

    Hotels in Nicaragua

    Select Nicaragua

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Aruba

    Select Aruba

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Hotels in Germany

    Select Germany

    Hotels in Bulgaria

    Select Bulgaria

    Hotels in Italy

    Select Italy

    Hotels in Greece

    Select Greece

    Hotels in Portugal

    Select Portugal

    Hotels in Hungria

    Select Hungria

    Hotels in Morocco

    Select Morocco

    Hotels in Egypt

    Select Egypt

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z