Barceló Hotel Pool  Jandía Playa
;
map

Map and location

Sancho Panza, s/n. Urbanización Playa del Jable   35625 Jandía, Pájara (Fuerteventura) , Islas Canarias   España  


Places of Interest

84 km Fuerteventura

400 m Jandía beach

1 km Jandía Golf

45 km Las Playitas Golf Course

Premios y Reconocimientos

Prizes and awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Occidental Jandía Playa

4.0/5 Round Indicators
| 7370 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


Comments

Excellent

34% Complete

2554

Very good

40% Complete

2968

Average

15% Complete

1165

Poor

5% Complete

429

Very poor

3% Complete

254

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    ChrisTurnock1 03/17/2019 Couples

    “Mixed feelings , some good some not so good”

    Liked the hotel layout and location, the staff were very helpful and friendly, however the hotel fell short of what you would expect of a four star establishment. The rooms are large and comfortable, but now looking dated and need of refurbishment Only one bar serving the whole hotel and pool area during the day, which was understaffed by a very hardworking single operator. The pool bar being closed for refurbishment, albeit no work taking place. At other times the bars were understaffed, busy and chaotic at times International buffet was bland and uninspiring, with no alternative dinning option, the first time i have experienced this in a four star hotel. You could uprade to royal level at a considerable cost, but not able to comment on what you get for your money. I cant speak highly enough of the staff, they worked like trojans to ensure we had a good stay, but they are in my opinion and experience understaffed. Unlikely to stay here again.
    Round Indicators
    901fionae 03/15/2019 Family

    “Good hotel, great value for money”

    We are currently staying at the hotel. We paid £1100 for a week all inclusive (including flights from london) for 2 adults and 1 child and feel this is very good value for money. It’s also a bonus that the weather is warmer than Apple weather says it is so is about 25 not 21 but the wind does make it feel a bit cooler. We are on the standard all inclusive package and have not chosen to or been offered to upgrade to a premium/royal service. We have found all the staff to be very helpful. The swimming pools are lovely and we feel well maintained but they are chilly as per other reviews. As we have a child with us we haven’t made use of the spa facilities. The no reserving sun beds rule seems to be working as we haven’t had a problem finding beds. The hotel is probably also not that full either which probably helps. Pool towel hire is a €10 deposit and €2 for a change but first change is free. The cleaning is of a very good standard and we spotted yesterday some cockroaches which appear to have been treated promptly! We agree with other reviews that the rooms are a bit tired. Ours has a few wobbly tiles and the cupboard doors don’t always stay shut but really nothing that detracts from our stay. There are some things we are missing in comparison to other all inclusives we have stayed at but we feel the general good value accounts for this. There’s no room service and there is only one restaurant for the majority of guests. They do well to serve the variety and quantities of food they do to the number of people but it does definitely get repetitive and have a bit of a canteen like feel especially at dinner! It’s also not really hot. There is also pasta, pizza, cooked veg and a whole variety of salad goods available and then various meat and fish dishes in addition. We have enjoyed eating lunch outside to help with the canteen feel but at the moment we haven’t felt it warm enough personally to eat breakfast or dinner outside. We find the snack bar good for daytime and you could choose to have lunch there if preferred. It does hot dogs (lunch time), roasted aubergine and courgette, toasties, fruit, hot drinks machine, ice cream in pots - all self service. Good wine and beer included but cocktails seem to be generic and somehow not such great quality. The hotel is within a short walk of some standard holiday shops selling basics, holiday essentials and toys but there are also a few shops in the hotel. We also found the car hire from the hotel very simple and good value. There is a tablet computer in reception and we used it to book at approx 6pm for car hire the following day. Again we felt good value at about €50 for the day including all excess waivers etc for a standard VW polos which was all we needed. All in all we would recommend this hotel as long as you are not after high quality food and we judge it very good value for money,
    Round Indicators
    Chris M 03/15/2019 Friends getaway

    “Great facilities”

    This hotel is located near to shops restaurants and bars. Is within easy walking distance to the beach. All inclusive packages give you access to two pools including a shallow child friendly pool. For 10 euro you can rent a beach towel, so no need to take up valuable suitcase space. There are ample sun beds and they operate a 'No reserving sun beds' rule. We never had any difficulty finding sunbeds. The catering offered buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner with a wide selection of dishes. There is also a snack bar in the grounds offering light bites, hot and cold drinks and alcohol. For a small fee you can access the Spa which includes steam room, ice room, sauna jacuzzi and an external pool with various water massage features and sun beds. Nightly entertainment in one of the bar areas also includes early entertainment for children. This hotel is clean, the staff are friendly and the atmosphere is relaxed. The rooms are a little 'tired' but clean. I would come back to this hotel without hesitation.
    Round Indicators
    M9768XHmarks 03/13/2019 Couples

    “Exceeded expectations”

    We are lucky enough to go on holiday 4/5 times a year, often on an all inclusive basis, so have lots to compare. We have been to Jandia a number of times & usually stay at Club Magic Life which we rate highly. We wanted to try something different & booked this hotel as we got such a great bargain with Thomas Cook & had previously stayed at the Occidental Jandia Mar. We opted for the basic ‘blue band’ level (not Royal or Premium) and were a bit apprehensive after reading some of the negative reviews on this site but we went with an open mind and here is our view which is based on the price we paid: Great bits! • It’s a very relaxed & friendly hotel & we met some lovely people. • Staff are really efficient and some are really friendly. • Great location - a 10 minute stroll to a beautiful sandy beach and a 25 min walk to Morro Jable past some lovely high end shops, bars and restaurants. • Drink quality for a Spanish all inclusive was very good. Gordon’s and Beefeater gin, Smirnoff vodka & not watered down. Tropical beer was great. • We met people who had upgraded to premium (cream band) for €5 each per day and that gave access to a separate pool area, more branded spirits, premium drinks & mixers & a separate dining area. That seemed to be good value. • Some of the entertainment was really good - ABBA, Beatles & Jersey Boys tribute bands were great. • Lovely white, soft towels - which is important to me! • Pool areas - always lots of sunbeds no matter what time of day - no towel reserving which was a big bonus & made for a relaxing holiday! • Hotel gardens - tropical & really well kept. Things we thought could be better (but wouldn’t stop us going again): • The room - clean, sheets changed every few days, comfy bed but typical Spanish style with dark wood headboard, wardrobes so a bit dated as was the bathroom although the rainhead shower over the bath was great. • The food - although I always found something to eat, in my view it isn’t high quality and there is limited variety compared to other all inclusives we have been to. The fresh fish was good & some other things were really tasty but lots of pork or chicken so got a bit boring for me after about 5 days. My husband however thought the choices were really good. • Some maintenance needed - cracked tiles around the pool area for example. • The photographers were a bit of a pain. We were approached a few times & although we politely declined they were persistent! Some other tips: • The safe is €3 a day & the pool towels were €10 euros each refundable deposit. • Spar supermarket underneath the hotel is well stocked & reasonably priced. Overall we thought if the food was improved and the bedrooms / bathrooms were updated this would have been a 4.5 star review. For what we paid we felt it was fantastic value for money & we would definitely return if price was right!
    Round Indicators
    GrahamB1780 03/11/2019 Friends getaway

    “Dated hotel with poor maintainance”

    We have just returned from 7 Day Holiday at this hotel. Not very happy with the location and the general maintenance. The tiles around the steps had parts missing and their was a lot of loose tiles around the complex. Our room was at the bottom of the complex and at night the path ways lights was not working in places. We booked a sea view but when going onto the seating area looking out towards the sea their was a large sign obstructing the view. The restaurant let the hotel down a lot of the hot food was cold, the Toasters for breakfast toast you had to put the bread through 4 times to get it to brown. The bacon was swimming in its on oil after being cooked in the same tray. The main and evening meals seemed to be the poor quality meats. Their was only one place to get a hot/cold drink through the day has the pool bar was not open and their was no facilities in the main hotel. All in all I don't think we will be going back to this hotel again.

    Barcelo_Canarias, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Playa, responded to this review
     Dear Guest, We are really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the experience in our hotel to the fullest as we strive to make each stay with us an unforgettable one. Discussions involving the respective team members and management have taken place to review your comments, and we would like to assure you that all of your concerns will be addressed and attended to. We are sorry that you found certain imperfections resulting from wear and tear in the Hotel. Our maintenance staff work hard to keep the facilities in good condition, so guests feel comfortable. We are very sorry to read that you were dissatisfied with the view of your room but would like to point out that we allocate our rooms according to the room category, whose detailed description you will find on our website. However, we do not find any reports showing that our employees have been informed during your stay with us, otherwise we would have given you another room immediately. Moreover, we lament reading that our buffet offer did not live up to your expectations as our professional Chefs strive to surprise our guests with a high standard gastronomy and the possibility to savor the best of the local cuisine as well as the finest international delights, however as we receive guests of all nationalities and ages, we do not over spice the dishes in order to please all palates, nevertheless there is a wide spice station in our buffet for our guests to help themselves and season their dishes to their liking. As a close-knit team, we are collectively committed to providing our guests with a superb experience. Our reputation and high return guest ratio attest that we usually get it right, so it is distressing not to have been able to in your case, for which we again apologize. Kind regards Guest experience Manager Occidental Jandia Playa****

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • march 17 2019
    • Couples

    ChrisTurnock1

    “Mixed feelings , some good some not so good”


    Liked the hotel layout and location, the staff were very helpful and friendly, however the hotel fell short of what you would expect of a four star establishment. The rooms are large and comfortable, but now looking dated and need of refurbishment Only one bar serving the whole hotel and pool area during the day, which was understaffed by a very hardworking single operator. The pool bar being closed for refurbishment, albeit no work taking place. At other times the bars were understaffed, busy and chaotic at times International buffet was bland and uninspiring, with no alternative dinning option, the first time i have experienced this in a four star hotel. You could uprade to royal level at a considerable cost, but not able to comment on what you get for your money. I cant speak highly enough of the staff, they worked like trojans to ensure we had a good stay, but they are in my opinion and experience understaffed. Unlikely to stay here again.


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • march 15 2019
    • Family

    901fionae

    “Good hotel, great value for money”


    We are currently staying at the hotel. We paid £1100 for a week all inclusive (including flights from london) for 2 adults and 1 child and feel this is very good value for money. It’s also a bonus that the weather is warmer than Apple weather says it is so is about 25 not 21 but the wind does make it feel a bit cooler. We are on the standard all inclusive package and have not chosen to or been offered to upgrade to a premium/royal service. We have found all the staff to be very helpful. The swimming pools are lovely and we feel well maintained but they are chilly as per other reviews. As we have a child with us we haven’t made use of the spa facilities. The no reserving sun beds rule seems to be working as we haven’t had a problem finding beds. The hotel is probably also not that full either which probably helps. Pool towel hire is a €10 deposit and €2 for a change but first change is free. The cleaning is of a very good standard and we spotted yesterday some cockroaches which appear to have been treated promptly! We agree with other reviews that the rooms are a bit tired. Ours has a few wobbly tiles and the cupboard doors don’t always stay shut but really nothing that detracts from our stay. There are some things we are missing in comparison to other all inclusives we have stayed at but we feel the general good value accounts for this. There’s no room service and there is only one restaurant for the majority of guests. They do well to serve the variety and quantities of food they do to the number of people but it does definitely get repetitive and have a bit of a canteen like feel especially at dinner! It’s also not really hot. There is also pasta, pizza, cooked veg and a whole variety of salad goods available and then various meat and fish dishes in addition. We have enjoyed eating lunch outside to help with the canteen feel but at the moment we haven’t felt it warm enough personally to eat breakfast or dinner outside. We find the snack bar good for daytime and you could choose to have lunch there if preferred. It does hot dogs (lunch time), roasted aubergine and courgette, toasties, fruit, hot drinks machine, ice cream in pots - all self service. Good wine and beer included but cocktails seem to be generic and somehow not such great quality. The hotel is within a short walk of some standard holiday shops selling basics, holiday essentials and toys but there are also a few shops in the hotel. We also found the car hire from the hotel very simple and good value. There is a tablet computer in reception and we used it to book at approx 6pm for car hire the following day. Again we felt good value at about €50 for the day including all excess waivers etc for a standard VW polos which was all we needed. All in all we would recommend this hotel as long as you are not after high quality food and we judge it very good value for money,


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • march 15 2019
    • Friends getaway

    Chris M

    “Great facilities”


    This hotel is located near to shops restaurants and bars. Is within easy walking distance to the beach. All inclusive packages give you access to two pools including a shallow child friendly pool. For 10 euro you can rent a beach towel, so no need to take up valuable suitcase space. There are ample sun beds and they operate a 'No reserving sun beds' rule. We never had any difficulty finding sunbeds. The catering offered buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner with a wide selection of dishes. There is also a snack bar in the grounds offering light bites, hot and cold drinks and alcohol. For a small fee you can access the Spa which includes steam room, ice room, sauna jacuzzi and an external pool with various water massage features and sun beds. Nightly entertainment in one of the bar areas also includes early entertainment for children. This hotel is clean, the staff are friendly and the atmosphere is relaxed. The rooms are a little 'tired' but clean. I would come back to this hotel without hesitation.


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • march 13 2019
    • Couples

    M9768XHmarks

    “Exceeded expectations”


    We are lucky enough to go on holiday 4/5 times a year, often on an all inclusive basis, so have lots to compare. We have been to Jandia a number of times & usually stay at Club Magic Life which we rate highly. We wanted to try something different & booked this hotel as we got such a great bargain with Thomas Cook & had previously stayed at the Occidental Jandia Mar. We opted for the basic ‘blue band’ level (not Royal or Premium) and were a bit apprehensive after reading some of the negative reviews on this site but we went with an open mind and here is our view which is based on the price we paid: Great bits! • It’s a very relaxed & friendly hotel & we met some lovely people. • Staff are really efficient and some are really friendly. • Great location - a 10 minute stroll to a beautiful sandy beach and a 25 min walk to Morro Jable past some lovely high end shops, bars and restaurants. • Drink quality for a Spanish all inclusive was very good. Gordon’s and Beefeater gin, Smirnoff vodka & not watered down. Tropical beer was great. • We met people who had upgraded to premium (cream band) for €5 each per day and that gave access to a separate pool area, more branded spirits, premium drinks & mixers & a separate dining area. That seemed to be good value. • Some of the entertainment was really good - ABBA, Beatles & Jersey Boys tribute bands were great. • Lovely white, soft towels - which is important to me! • Pool areas - always lots of sunbeds no matter what time of day - no towel reserving which was a big bonus & made for a relaxing holiday! • Hotel gardens - tropical & really well kept. Things we thought could be better (but wouldn’t stop us going again): • The room - clean, sheets changed every few days, comfy bed but typical Spanish style with dark wood headboard, wardrobes so a bit dated as was the bathroom although the rainhead shower over the bath was great. • The food - although I always found something to eat, in my view it isn’t high quality and there is limited variety compared to other all inclusives we have been to. The fresh fish was good & some other things were really tasty but lots of pork or chicken so got a bit boring for me after about 5 days. My husband however thought the choices were really good. • Some maintenance needed - cracked tiles around the pool area for example. • The photographers were a bit of a pain. We were approached a few times & although we politely declined they were persistent! Some other tips: • The safe is €3 a day & the pool towels were €10 euros each refundable deposit. • Spar supermarket underneath the hotel is well stocked & reasonably priced. Overall we thought if the food was improved and the bedrooms / bathrooms were updated this would have been a 4.5 star review. For what we paid we felt it was fantastic value for money & we would definitely return if price was right!


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • march 11 2019
    • Friends getaway

    GrahamB1780

    “Dated hotel with poor maintainance”


    We have just returned from 7 Day Holiday at this hotel. Not very happy with the location and the general maintenance. The tiles around the steps had parts missing and their was a lot of loose tiles around the complex. Our room was at the bottom of the complex and at night the path ways lights was not working in places. We booked a sea view but when going onto the seating area looking out towards the sea their was a large sign obstructing the view. The restaurant let the hotel down a lot of the hot food was cold, the Toasters for breakfast toast you had to put the bread through 4 times to get it to brown. The bacon was swimming in its on oil after being cooked in the same tray. The main and evening meals seemed to be the poor quality meats. Their was only one place to get a hot/cold drink through the day has the pool bar was not open and their was no facilities in the main hotel. All in all I don't think we will be going back to this hotel again.


    Barcelo_Canarias, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Playa, responded to this review
    Dear Guest, We are really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the experience in our hotel to the fullest as we strive to make each stay with us an unforgettable one. Discussions involving the respective team members and management have taken place to review your comments, and we would like to assure you that all of your concerns will be addressed and attended to. We are sorry that you found certain imperfections resulting from wear and tear in the Hotel. Our maintenance staff work hard to keep the facilities in good condition, so guests feel comfortable. We are very sorry to read that you were dissatisfied with the view of your room but would like to point out that we allocate our rooms according to the room category, whose detailed description you will find on our website. However, we do not find any reports showing that our employees have been informed during your stay with us, otherwise we would have given you another room immediately. Moreover, we lament reading that our buffet offer did not live up to your expectations as our professional Chefs strive to surprise our guests with a high standard gastronomy and the possibility to savor the best of the local cuisine as well as the finest international delights, however as we receive guests of all nationalities and ages, we do not over spice the dishes in order to please all palates, nevertheless there is a wide spice station in our buffet for our guests to help themselves and season their dishes to their liking. As a close-knit team, we are collectively committed to providing our guests with a superb experience. Our reputation and high return guest ratio attest that we usually get it right, so it is distressing not to have been able to in your case, for which we again apologize. Kind regards Guest experience Manager Occidental Jandia Playa****

    Barceló Hotel Pool  Jandía Playa

    Quality and comfort with a Canary Island soul

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in El Salvador

    Select El Salvador

    Hotels in Costa Rica

    Select Costa Rica

    Hotels in Ecuador

    Select Ecuador

    Hotels in Guatemala

    Select Guatemala

    Hotels in Nicaragua

    Select Nicaragua

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Aruba

    Select Aruba

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Hotels in Germany

    Select Germany

    Hotels in Bulgaria

    Select Bulgaria

    Hotels in Italy

    Select Italy

    Hotels in Greece

    Select Greece

    Hotels in Portugal

    Select Portugal

    Hotels in Morocco

    Select Morocco

    Hotels in Egypt

    Select Egypt

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

    to

      Incorrect dates
      Please enter valid dates

    NIGHTS

    (Optional dates)

    0 nights Selected
    1 night Selected

    A discount* or promotional code (also appears as “promo code”) is a combination of letters and/or numbers that can be used to add a discount to the normal rate. If you have a discount code, enter it when booking and you will receive a discount. Once you have entered this code, the prices shown in step 1 of the booking process will take into account the discount. 

    The discount does not apply to supplements and/or additional services, nor to prices on last available rooms. You can only apply one discount code per booking, which will only be valid at the time of booking.** 

    The maximum amount of accumulated discount may be up to 20% off the booking rate. It is possible to combine a discount code with a special discount** (for example multiple room, senior, resident, millennials,or large family bookings) and your my Barceló discount. 

    *Barceló reserves the right to accept the application of advertised discounts. 

    **The discount code is not valid on arrival at the hotel, only at the time of booking. 

    ***At check-in, the hotel will request valid official documents in order to verify compliance with the terms and conditions of the discount codes and special discounts. In the event of a failure to provide such documents or meet the conditions, the hotel reserves the right to charge for the amounts that were deducted at time of booking.