Barceló Hotel Gastronomy Costa Vasca
map

Avenida Pio Baroja, 15   20008 San Sebastián , País Vasco   España  


Places of Interest

23.1 km San Sebastián Airport

2.11 km San Sebastian Railway Station

22.6 km Bidasoa Fairgrounds

550 m Ondarreta beach

Premios y Reconocimientos

Prizes and awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Barceló Costa Vasca

4.0/5 Round Indicators
| 2271 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


Excellent

39% Complete

893

Very good

40% Complete

913

Average

13% Complete

309

Poor

4% Complete

110

Very poor

2% Complete

46

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    barryeisman Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. 09/19/2018 Couples

    “Nice staff, dirty room”

    After a long day of travel, we really only stayed at this hotel for a matter of 12 hours (dinner & sleep). The hotel bar was a little to be desired, while the restaurant was quite nice.The biggest disappointment was the cleanliness of our room (or lack of)! The sheets and pillow cases had stains on them and the shower had hairs that were clearly not our own in them prior to our usage.Overall I would not recommend this hotel, and I strongly disagree with its 4 star rating. Our experience was equivalent to what we’d expect from a 2 star establishment.
    Round Indicators
    George A 09/17/2018 Business

    “A nice hotel located at the most beautiful city”

    A nice hotel at a quiet and beautiful place. The service always helpful and friendly. As for the breakfast, I believe that was not only rich but also very tasty. From the salads and pintxos to the coffee and fruits everything was freshy and juicy. In addition the rooms were rather comfortable and cosy. I loved the many pillows on the bed. Due to its proximity to the sea as well to two main bus lines (16 &18), hotel's location is rather convenient.
    Round Indicators
    russ-the-rover Accrington, United Kingdom. 09/15/2018 Couples

    “Nothing too special ”

    The hotel is reasonably modern, without much Spanish atmosphere, you could be in France or Germany. The reception staff are reasonably helpful and the reception area is large and uncluttered. The rooms are clean and reasonable size, but if you have a balcony it offers no privacy from other balconies. The bed is large and good pillows, and the bathroom is to a reasonable standard also. A word of caution, the hotel is on a hill, so easy walking to the town, but can be a drag on the way back. My normal test is would I say again, well not sure, I may depending on the price...

    -XperienceManager-, Manager at Barcelo Costa Vasca, responded to this review
     Dear Guest, We greatly appreciate the time you spent to review your recent experience in our hotel, at Barceló we always strive to exceed guests' expectations and your comments will help our teams reaching that goal. Thank you for your very nice compliments for our team, they do work very hard every day to make sure our guests feel well attended and definitely are an asset to our hotel. We will certainly relay your praising comments to all of them and we are sure they will be pleased to know their efforts have been appreciated. Thank you for your comments related to our spacious and clean rooms. On the other hand, we are sorry to hear that our location was not very convenient for you this time but as you know, during summer season, we provide a shuttle service for free to the centre of the city to make it easier to all our guests. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certainly look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future. Best Regards, Management Team Barcelo Costa Vasca

    Round Indicators
    Crcb Williamsburg, Virginia. 09/14/2018 Couples

    “Showing its age”

    This is a large hotel about a 20-minute walk from the old town area. It seems to be popular with tour groups as well as having a large car park. Our room had a balcony, which was nice, but there was no view. The bed and bathroom were pretty average, though there was plenty of hot water. The a/c worked well but was noisy. Breakfast was typical for this type of hotel. It seemed clean.

    -XperienceManager-, Manager at Barcelo Costa Vasca, responded to this review
     Dear Guest, Thank you for your insights following your recent visit. We always look for ways to improve and your comments are crucial to our future success. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the room you were allocated and that our location was convenient for you during your stay with us. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certainly look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed your expectations in a not too distant future. Best Regards, Management Team Barcelo Costa Vasca

    Round Indicators
    Seregar58 Los Angeles, California. 09/13/2018 Friends getaway

    “Heck your rate BEFORE you sign and get your keys”

    Booked thru Prestigia agency found on Kayak. Best price. Choose the rate and room and booked. No confirmation email ever came. Called hotel they told me that they have confirmation and email will come shortly. Never happened. Upon check in ask for the rate - was told you will pay thru the agency. Upon check out real deal started. Instead of $912 for 4 nights bill come to $1060. Prestigia have no help and! asked for “ screenshots to prove the rate”. Even front desk stated that we need to pay agency upon check in now they demanded payment and threatened to call police. Employee at the front was very rude and bossy. I felt like a boot in front of drill sergeant even I’m twice his age. Spoiled whole deal.

    -XperienceManager-, Manager at Barcelo Costa Vasca, responded to this review
     Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your comments. Although we are quite surprised and dismayed by the content of your review regarding your holiday at our hotel , please rest assured that your comments have been taken onboard and revised by the entire Management Team, however we would like to take this opportunity to clarify certain aspects of your review as a simple matter of exactness of the information reported. During check out, we offered you the bill and confirmation received by the agency you made the booking with. You did not agree to pay the room rate shown in the email we had as a confirmation from the agency and reported us you had another price confirmed. You did not have the confirmation email from the agency and so you could not show us the price you were sure you had to pay. We offered you the possibility to pay full amount we had confirmed and keep in touch to refund in case of misunderstanding between you and the agency. Please, feel free to contact us again if you need further assistance and we will be pleased to help you. Thank you again for your visit and constructive critics, our primary goal being to assure our guests feel comfortable and fully enjoy their visits, we are eager to regain your confidence during another occasion if you gave us that chance. Best Regards, Management Team Hotel Barceló Costa Vasca

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • september 19 2018
    • Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
    • Couples

    barryeisman

    “Nice staff, dirty room”


    After a long day of travel, we really only stayed at this hotel for a matter of 12 hours (dinner & sleep). The hotel bar was a little to be desired, while the restaurant was quite nice.The biggest disappointment was the cleanliness of our room (or lack of)! The sheets and pillow cases had stains on them and the shower had hairs that were clearly not our own in them prior to our usage.Overall I would not recommend this hotel, and I strongly disagree with its 4 star rating. Our experience was equivalent to what we’d expect from a 2 star establishment.


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • september 17 2018
    • Business

    George A

    “A nice hotel located at the most beautiful city”


    A nice hotel at a quiet and beautiful place. The service always helpful and friendly. As for the breakfast, I believe that was not only rich but also very tasty. From the salads and pintxos to the coffee and fruits everything was freshy and juicy. In addition the rooms were rather comfortable and cosy. I loved the many pillows on the bed. Due to its proximity to the sea as well to two main bus lines (16 &18), hotel's location is rather convenient.


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • september 15 2018
    • Accrington, United Kingdom
    • Couples

    russ-the-rover

    “Nothing too special ”


    The hotel is reasonably modern, without much Spanish atmosphere, you could be in France or Germany. The reception staff are reasonably helpful and the reception area is large and uncluttered. The rooms are clean and reasonable size, but if you have a balcony it offers no privacy from other balconies. The bed is large and good pillows, and the bathroom is to a reasonable standard also. A word of caution, the hotel is on a hill, so easy walking to the town, but can be a drag on the way back. My normal test is would I say again, well not sure, I may depending on the price...


    -XperienceManager-, Manager at Barcelo Costa Vasca, responded to this review
    Dear Guest, We greatly appreciate the time you spent to review your recent experience in our hotel, at Barceló we always strive to exceed guests' expectations and your comments will help our teams reaching that goal. Thank you for your very nice compliments for our team, they do work very hard every day to make sure our guests feel well attended and definitely are an asset to our hotel. We will certainly relay your praising comments to all of them and we are sure they will be pleased to know their efforts have been appreciated. Thank you for your comments related to our spacious and clean rooms. On the other hand, we are sorry to hear that our location was not very convenient for you this time but as you know, during summer season, we provide a shuttle service for free to the centre of the city to make it easier to all our guests. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certainly look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future. Best Regards, Management Team Barcelo Costa Vasca

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • september 14 2018
    • Williamsburg, Virginia
    • Couples

    Crcb

    “Showing its age”


    This is a large hotel about a 20-minute walk from the old town area. It seems to be popular with tour groups as well as having a large car park. Our room had a balcony, which was nice, but there was no view. The bed and bathroom were pretty average, though there was plenty of hot water. The a/c worked well but was noisy. Breakfast was typical for this type of hotel. It seemed clean.


    -XperienceManager-, Manager at Barcelo Costa Vasca, responded to this review
    Dear Guest, Thank you for your insights following your recent visit. We always look for ways to improve and your comments are crucial to our future success. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the room you were allocated and that our location was convenient for you during your stay with us. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certainly look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed your expectations in a not too distant future. Best Regards, Management Team Barcelo Costa Vasca

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • september 13 2018
    • Los Angeles, California
    • Friends getaway

    Seregar58

    “Heck your rate BEFORE you sign and get your keys”


    Booked thru Prestigia agency found on Kayak. Best price. Choose the rate and room and booked. No confirmation email ever came. Called hotel they told me that they have confirmation and email will come shortly. Never happened. Upon check in ask for the rate - was told you will pay thru the agency. Upon check out real deal started. Instead of $912 for 4 nights bill come to $1060. Prestigia have no help and! asked for “ screenshots to prove the rate”. Even front desk stated that we need to pay agency upon check in now they demanded payment and threatened to call police. Employee at the front was very rude and bossy. I felt like a boot in front of drill sergeant even I’m twice his age. Spoiled whole deal.


    -XperienceManager-, Manager at Barcelo Costa Vasca, responded to this review
    Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your comments. Although we are quite surprised and dismayed by the content of your review regarding your holiday at our hotel , please rest assured that your comments have been taken onboard and revised by the entire Management Team, however we would like to take this opportunity to clarify certain aspects of your review as a simple matter of exactness of the information reported. During check out, we offered you the bill and confirmation received by the agency you made the booking with. You did not agree to pay the room rate shown in the email we had as a confirmation from the agency and reported us you had another price confirmed. You did not have the confirmation email from the agency and so you could not show us the price you were sure you had to pay. We offered you the possibility to pay full amount we had confirmed and keep in touch to refund in case of misunderstanding between you and the agency. Please, feel free to contact us again if you need further assistance and we will be pleased to help you. Thank you again for your visit and constructive critics, our primary goal being to assure our guests feel comfortable and fully enjoy their visits, we are eager to regain your confidence during another occasion if you gave us that chance. Best Regards, Management Team Hotel Barceló Costa Vasca

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in Costa Rica

    Select Costa Rica

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Panamá

    Select Panamá

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Hotels in Germany

    Select Germany

    Hotels in Turkey

    Select Turkey

    Hotels in Italy

    Select Italy

    Hotels in Portugal

    Select Portugal

    Hotels in Morocco

    Select Morocco

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

    to

      Incorrect dates
      Please enter valid dates

    NIGHTS

    (Optional dates)

    0 nights Selected