Barceló Hotel Pool  Maya Colonial

Barceló Maya Colonial

Texto: 35639 All Inclusive resort with a spa, kids club, 4 restaurants and much more! Ideal for families and couples Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juárez Km. 266,3 XPUHA Q | 77750 Riviera Maya, Quintana Roo
+52 984 875 1500 52 984 875 1636
Barceló Maya Colonial Texto: 35639 4.5 out of 5 based on 6057 ratings. 6057 user reviews.
Barceló Maya Colonial reviewed by Mary J on . Good for people with kids, not good for others I stayed here in October 2017 at Jalisco 6219. I didn’t like it. Although my Sister, her hubby and 2 kids did. As she explained to me it’s because she doesn’t have to cook and break her head how to... Rating: 3
map

Barceló Maya Colonial

Carretera Chetumal Puerto Juárez Km. 266,3 XPUHA Q   77750 Riviera Maya, Quintana Roo  


Points of Interest

49 mi  Cancun International Airport 

0 m Chac Halal Beach

22 mi Tulum archeological site

18.5 mi Xel-Ha

Premios y Reconocimientos Prizes and Awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Barceló Maya Colonial

4.5/5 Round Indicators
| 6188 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


GUESTS’ SCORE

Excellent

63% Complete

3917

Very good

23% Complete

1476

Average

7% Complete

469

Poor

3% Complete

197

Very poor

2% Complete

130

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    stevecai 12/13/2017 Couples

    “Awesome time in bar puebla”

    Luis Castro..osca tigo..gildardo.....incredible hosts..the best..we are telling all our friends..we're coming back with ten couples...what a place..these guys make it so enjoyable!!!!!...we advise anyone to experience what we did..extraordinary vacation you

    BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this review
     Dear: stevecai Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at Barceló Maya. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience.  We would also like to thank you for pointing out the professionalism of our team, which in fact have a great impact on the overall culinary experience of our customers and we are delighted to read that your attentive service contributed to your well-being during meals. Once more we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and very much look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Best Regards. La Gerencia Jeferecepcolonial@barcelomaya.com

    Round Indicators
    Bernard10Gatineau Gatineau, Canada. 12/12/2017 Couples

    “two weeks in paradise”

    We just arrived from a 2 week holiday at the Barcello maya Colonial. This resort is very big and is very beautiful and luxurious. We ate at 11 restaurants and they were all more than excellent except the Tokyo Japanese. The beach sand is like a white powder but there is a little bit of rocks (coral) on the sea floor. Our room was not very clean and a bit small for this type of resort. We asked for a garden view but they gave us a theater view with LOUD music until 11 PM. We wanted a calm and quiet room and they could not find another room even though the resort was more than half empty. The halls in this resort are very echo and a lot of screaming at 2 AM. The diner buffet are not very good and very repetitive. Their red wine is always served ice cold !!!! If you go at the mexican restaurant, ask for the Cocollan tequila, it is by far the best tequila (175$ USA a bottle) and it is included (no charge) The bar service in the lobby hall at night is very poor and the tables are always dirty, not very pleasant. One thing that I do NOT understand is that there is NO WIFI in the hotel lobby Overall it is still a nice place to go for a holiday

    BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this review
     Dear: Bernard10Gatineau We greatly appreciate the time you spent to review your recent experience in our hotel, at Barceló we always strive to exceed guests' expectations and your comments will help our teams reaching that goal. We are sincerely grateful for the time you spent to share your comments on your recent stay in our Barceló MaYA hotel, your detailed review will certainly assist in order to keep on improving the quality of our services for our valued guests. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certaily look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future. Best Regards. La Gerencia Jeferecepcolonial@barcelomaya.com

    Round Indicators
    Natalie D 12/11/2017 Friends getaway

    “DO NOT STAY HERE!”

    DO NOT STAY AT THE MAYA COLONIAL! Terrible food - very "american-ized" and none of it tasted good. (everyone in our group had stomach problems at least once) So bad that we all joked we were losing weight because we wouldn't want to eat until the restaurants. The only good food was at the actual restaurants, which you couldn't eat at for every meal. You also had to make your reservations a whole DAY in advance or else you couldn't get in, no matter if there was space. How does that make sense?? Terrible drinks - all flavoring was from very sugary syrup, no real fruit was used. The pools were really nice but you couldn't eat poolside, only the one bar and then when you wanted to go eat you had to put all of your clothes on to go in. You also had to walk what felt like a mile to even get to the pool or other areas. Our room was super damp and moldy smelling, no dehumidifier. We had some tums out one night and by morning they were swollen and crumbled on touch. Plus no free wifi anywhere?? We ended up leaving earlier than booked and the whole refund process took about 3 weeks, after having been told it'd take one day. Countless calls and emails which were never replied to for me to understand what was going on; I only received an answer from the GM after complaining on the main hotel chain's website. He did refund us and offered us an upgrade to premium next time..but why would we come back? Overall it was a beautiful location but not somewhere we would EVER go back to.

    BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this review
     Dear. Natalie D. First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing Barceló Maya Colonial as your vacation resort and the comments you kindly share with the Tripadvisor users. I understand your frustration, and I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience we have caused you. It is my goal to restore your confidence in our company by solving this problem and preventing it from happening again. It is important to mention that we work not only with the Mexican Government and their “Distintivo H” program but also with an independent British/Mexican consultant “Cristal” that rigorously audits our food and hygiene standards every month from reception to storage, preparation, cooking and presentation. I am happy to inform you that our certification scores are always above the 95th percentile. Please let me explain about taking the food out of the Restaurants, as I mention , we are certified with Cristal and Distinctive H institutions which seek month to month that we are accomplishing all hygiene standards in food and beverages, all type of food need to be at the right temperature as it is known that a poor measurement or inefficient temperature control in food, entails major hygienic risks and quality of it. In order to keep our guests health at the best we can, it is not allowed to serve food out of the Restaurants. It is important to mention that we also do it in order to maintain well cleaned all the pool areas, and prevent any type of accident. We regret reading that you found humidity and maintenance issues in your room. We would like to offer our sincere apologies as clearly we were not performing to our usual standards on this occasion and would like to inform you that since receiving your review a meeting has been held with our entire house keeping department with your review being used as the example to guarantee nothing like this ever happens again at our hotel and we thank you for bringing them to our attention as we have taken them extremely seriously and have learned from them. Regarding Wi fi I would like to clarify that we have the service in all areas of the hotel, however this has an extra cost. Only in our Premium Level package this service is already included so you do not have to pay anything extra. The service that you mention is a courtesy service that we provide to all our guests from 10:00 -13: 00 Hrs in Plaza Mexicana or Maya Mall. We will be honored if you decide to visit us again, and I can guarantee we can meet your expectations not only about the property but the Customer Service too. Best Regards Management. gtealojamientocol@barcelomaya.com

    Round Indicators
    David G 12/11/2017 Couples

    “NO MORE KENNY G ! Please”

    I like to start with compliments before highlighting my concerns. But, they are slim. The resort, gym, beach, and spa were top notch. Simply beautiful and well maintained. Our stay, with 4 couples however, started off with an immediate disappointment. It's important to note we paid for premium level because the resort claims it includes many wonderful upgrades. 1. We paid for king beds at an upper level. Upon check in at 330 they said we only have 1 room with a king and only 1 off the ground floor. We had to fight to get what we paid for. To top it off, 2 of the rooms weren't ready until after 6 PM. They were supposed to include a complimentary bottle of champagne. Only 2 of the 4 couples received this welcome package 2. We asked the resort every day where the welcome package was. Every day they told us tomorrow. By the end of our 7th night there was still no bottle of champagne. Incompetence 3. Here's what we didn't get for premium level upgrade. It's supposed to include a better liquor selection. The best tequila at most bars was Jose Cuervo. Don Juio available at some bars, but not many. At many bars they were out of it. When we'd ask if they could call for another bottle we were told NO. That should never happen. We pay more for better quality and get rude service. Including their manager Don at the Mariachi pool bar. 4. No wine? The wine selection was red and white. Otherwise it was an up charge. Even at dinner at the Santa Fe steakhouse they ran out if the house wine. And didn't even try to find another bottle. 5. The Tequila Bar. Yes, that's the name of the bar and they had a selection of 2 tequilas. Seriously? We're in Mexico, not Dublin. 6. Buffet breakfast...always cold food. 7. Room amenities....cold water for 3 straight days. We reported it all 3 days. They were attentive and came up quickly to attempt a fix. But we didn't pay for trying. It took 3 days to correct the issue 8. 3 of our 4 rooms were missing wash cloths and robes on a daily basis. 9. Lastly..Kenny G. His xmas special was on loop 24/7. It was driving people mad. I spoke to one dude who said he's been coming to Barcelo for 17 years. And this year may be his last. He said he'd rather stab is eyeballs repeatedly with a dull fork than have to listen to the same 8 Kenny G Christmas songs one more time. We're on vacation in Mexico folks....people want exciting and energetic music. Not Kenny G. Your staff was clearly going crazy because of it. Certain forms of torture include playing the same song over and over and over. This was a subtle form of that. Some of your employees were actually wearing ear buds to drown it out. You should have handed them out to guests too. We were at a comparably priced Secrets in Akumal just 3 weeks prior. I can seriously tell you Barcelo is in a far inferior league. Sincerely disappointed and was hoping for more.

    BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this review
     Dear: David G Thank you for sharing a review of Barceló Matya. It does indeed sound from what you describe that some aspects of your stay did not meet our usual standards of service; please accept our sincerest apologies for failing to make your stay with us a perfect moment of relaxation, we sincerely appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention. Please be assured that your comments will be taken into serious consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. Once again, thank you for your time and despite the issues you have raised following your stay, we hope that Barceló will remain an option for your next holiday and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future. Best Regards. La Gerencia Jeferecepcolonial@barcelomaya.com

    Round Indicators
    Tai B Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates. 12/10/2017 Couples

    “Paradise escape ”

    We escaped the hustle and bustle of thanksgiving and freezing cold weather from NYC for a piece of paradise. Barcelo did not disappoint at all. Exceptional friendly service from all the staff in an immaculate relaxing gorgeous setting. Each staff member went above and beyond to make sure our stay was enjoyable. The dining experiences at the Palace were truly special and intimate. Manager of France restaurant at the Palace and Jesus at the steakhouse at the Palace were notable standouts. If there was a disappointment was that the Pina Colada was not made the same way in all the bars. We can't wait to return and soon.....

    BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this review
     Dear Tai: Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at Barceló Maya Colonial. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience.  Happy Holidays Warmest Regards La Gerencia jeferecepcolonial@barcelomaya.com

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • december 13 2017
    • Couples

    stevecai

    “Awesome time in bar puebla”


    Luis Castro..osca tigo..gildardo.....incredible hosts..the best..we are telling all our friends..we're coming back with ten couples...what a place..these guys make it so enjoyable!!!!!...we advise anyone to experience what we did..extraordinary vacation you


    BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this review
    Dear: stevecai Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at Barceló Maya. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience.  We would also like to thank you for pointing out the professionalism of our team, which in fact have a great impact on the overall culinary experience of our customers and we are delighted to read that your attentive service contributed to your well-being during meals. Once more we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and very much look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Best Regards. La Gerencia Jeferecepcolonial@barcelomaya.com

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • december 12 2017
    • Gatineau, Canada
    • Couples

    Bernard10Gatineau

    “two weeks in paradise”


    We just arrived from a 2 week holiday at the Barcello maya Colonial. This resort is very big and is very beautiful and luxurious. We ate at 11 restaurants and they were all more than excellent except the Tokyo Japanese. The beach sand is like a white powder but there is a little bit of rocks (coral) on the sea floor. Our room was not very clean and a bit small for this type of resort. We asked for a garden view but they gave us a theater view with LOUD music until 11 PM. We wanted a calm and quiet room and they could not find another room even though the resort was more than half empty. The halls in this resort are very echo and a lot of screaming at 2 AM. The diner buffet are not very good and very repetitive. Their red wine is always served ice cold !!!! If you go at the mexican restaurant, ask for the Cocollan tequila, it is by far the best tequila (175$ USA a bottle) and it is included (no charge) The bar service in the lobby hall at night is very poor and the tables are always dirty, not very pleasant. One thing that I do NOT understand is that there is NO WIFI in the hotel lobby Overall it is still a nice place to go for a holiday


    BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this review
    Dear: Bernard10Gatineau We greatly appreciate the time you spent to review your recent experience in our hotel, at Barceló we always strive to exceed guests' expectations and your comments will help our teams reaching that goal. We are sincerely grateful for the time you spent to share your comments on your recent stay in our Barceló MaYA hotel, your detailed review will certainly assist in order to keep on improving the quality of our services for our valued guests. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certaily look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future. Best Regards. La Gerencia Jeferecepcolonial@barcelomaya.com

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • december 11 2017
    • Friends getaway

    Natalie D

    “DO NOT STAY HERE!”


    DO NOT STAY AT THE MAYA COLONIAL! Terrible food - very "american-ized" and none of it tasted good. (everyone in our group had stomach problems at least once) So bad that we all joked we were losing weight because we wouldn't want to eat until the restaurants. The only good food was at the actual restaurants, which you couldn't eat at for every meal. You also had to make your reservations a whole DAY in advance or else you couldn't get in, no matter if there was space. How does that make sense?? Terrible drinks - all flavoring was from very sugary syrup, no real fruit was used. The pools were really nice but you couldn't eat poolside, only the one bar and then when you wanted to go eat you had to put all of your clothes on to go in. You also had to walk what felt like a mile to even get to the pool or other areas. Our room was super damp and moldy smelling, no dehumidifier. We had some tums out one night and by morning they were swollen and crumbled on touch. Plus no free wifi anywhere?? We ended up leaving earlier than booked and the whole refund process took about 3 weeks, after having been told it'd take one day. Countless calls and emails which were never replied to for me to understand what was going on; I only received an answer from the GM after complaining on the main hotel chain's website. He did refund us and offered us an upgrade to premium next time..but why would we come back? Overall it was a beautiful location but not somewhere we would EVER go back to.


    BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this review
    Dear. Natalie D. First of all, I would like to thank you for choosing Barceló Maya Colonial as your vacation resort and the comments you kindly share with the Tripadvisor users. I understand your frustration, and I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience we have caused you. It is my goal to restore your confidence in our company by solving this problem and preventing it from happening again. It is important to mention that we work not only with the Mexican Government and their “Distintivo H” program but also with an independent British/Mexican consultant “Cristal” that rigorously audits our food and hygiene standards every month from reception to storage, preparation, cooking and presentation. I am happy to inform you that our certification scores are always above the 95th percentile. Please let me explain about taking the food out of the Restaurants, as I mention , we are certified with Cristal and Distinctive H institutions which seek month to month that we are accomplishing all hygiene standards in food and beverages, all type of food need to be at the right temperature as it is known that a poor measurement or inefficient temperature control in food, entails major hygienic risks and quality of it. In order to keep our guests health at the best we can, it is not allowed to serve food out of the Restaurants. It is important to mention that we also do it in order to maintain well cleaned all the pool areas, and prevent any type of accident. We regret reading that you found humidity and maintenance issues in your room. We would like to offer our sincere apologies as clearly we were not performing to our usual standards on this occasion and would like to inform you that since receiving your review a meeting has been held with our entire house keeping department with your review being used as the example to guarantee nothing like this ever happens again at our hotel and we thank you for bringing them to our attention as we have taken them extremely seriously and have learned from them. Regarding Wi fi I would like to clarify that we have the service in all areas of the hotel, however this has an extra cost. Only in our Premium Level package this service is already included so you do not have to pay anything extra. The service that you mention is a courtesy service that we provide to all our guests from 10:00 -13: 00 Hrs in Plaza Mexicana or Maya Mall. We will be honored if you decide to visit us again, and I can guarantee we can meet your expectations not only about the property but the Customer Service too. Best Regards Management. gtealojamientocol@barcelomaya.com

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • december 11 2017
    • Couples

    David G

    “NO MORE KENNY G ! Please”


    I like to start with compliments before highlighting my concerns. But, they are slim. The resort, gym, beach, and spa were top notch. Simply beautiful and well maintained. Our stay, with 4 couples however, started off with an immediate disappointment. It's important to note we paid for premium level because the resort claims it includes many wonderful upgrades. 1. We paid for king beds at an upper level. Upon check in at 330 they said we only have 1 room with a king and only 1 off the ground floor. We had to fight to get what we paid for. To top it off, 2 of the rooms weren't ready until after 6 PM. They were supposed to include a complimentary bottle of champagne. Only 2 of the 4 couples received this welcome package 2. We asked the resort every day where the welcome package was. Every day they told us tomorrow. By the end of our 7th night there was still no bottle of champagne. Incompetence 3. Here's what we didn't get for premium level upgrade. It's supposed to include a better liquor selection. The best tequila at most bars was Jose Cuervo. Don Juio available at some bars, but not many. At many bars they were out of it. When we'd ask if they could call for another bottle we were told NO. That should never happen. We pay more for better quality and get rude service. Including their manager Don at the Mariachi pool bar. 4. No wine? The wine selection was red and white. Otherwise it was an up charge. Even at dinner at the Santa Fe steakhouse they ran out if the house wine. And didn't even try to find another bottle. 5. The Tequila Bar. Yes, that's the name of the bar and they had a selection of 2 tequilas. Seriously? We're in Mexico, not Dublin. 6. Buffet breakfast...always cold food. 7. Room amenities....cold water for 3 straight days. We reported it all 3 days. They were attentive and came up quickly to attempt a fix. But we didn't pay for trying. It took 3 days to correct the issue 8. 3 of our 4 rooms were missing wash cloths and robes on a daily basis. 9. Lastly..Kenny G. His xmas special was on loop 24/7. It was driving people mad. I spoke to one dude who said he's been coming to Barcelo for 17 years. And this year may be his last. He said he'd rather stab is eyeballs repeatedly with a dull fork than have to listen to the same 8 Kenny G Christmas songs one more time. We're on vacation in Mexico folks....people want exciting and energetic music. Not Kenny G. Your staff was clearly going crazy because of it. Certain forms of torture include playing the same song over and over and over. This was a subtle form of that. Some of your employees were actually wearing ear buds to drown it out. You should have handed them out to guests too. We were at a comparably priced Secrets in Akumal just 3 weeks prior. I can seriously tell you Barcelo is in a far inferior league. Sincerely disappointed and was hoping for more.


    BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this review
    Dear: David G Thank you for sharing a review of Barceló Matya. It does indeed sound from what you describe that some aspects of your stay did not meet our usual standards of service; please accept our sincerest apologies for failing to make your stay with us a perfect moment of relaxation, we sincerely appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention. Please be assured that your comments will be taken into serious consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. Once again, thank you for your time and despite the issues you have raised following your stay, we hope that Barceló will remain an option for your next holiday and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future. Best Regards. La Gerencia Jeferecepcolonial@barcelomaya.com

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • december 10 2017
    • Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
    • Couples

    Tai B

    “Paradise escape ”


    We escaped the hustle and bustle of thanksgiving and freezing cold weather from NYC for a piece of paradise. Barcelo did not disappoint at all. Exceptional friendly service from all the staff in an immaculate relaxing gorgeous setting. Each staff member went above and beyond to make sure our stay was enjoyable. The dining experiences at the Palace were truly special and intimate. Manager of France restaurant at the Palace and Jesus at the steakhouse at the Palace were notable standouts. If there was a disappointment was that the Pina Colada was not made the same way in all the bars. We can't wait to return and soon.....


    BMAYAFASEII, Gerente at Barcelo Maya Colonial, responded to this review
    Dear Tai: Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at Barceló Maya Colonial. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience.  Happy Holidays Warmest Regards La Gerencia jeferecepcolonial@barcelomaya.com

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

    to

      Incorrect dates
      Please enter valid dates

    NIGHTS

    (Optional dates)

    0 nights Selected

    A discount* or promotional code (also appears as “promo code”) is a combination of letters and/or numbers that gives a discount on the normal rate. If you have a discount code, enter it when booking and you will receive a discount on your booking. Once you have entered this code, the prices shown in step 1 of the booking process will already include the relevant discount. 

    The discount does not apply to prices on extras and/or extra services, neither does it apply to prices on last available rooms. You can only apply one discount code per booking which will only be valid at the time of making your booking.** 

    The maximum amount of accumulated discount will be at most 25% off the rate for hotels in Latin America and at most 20% off the rate for European and Mediterranean hotels. It is possible to combine a discount code with a special discount*** (discounts when you book multiple rooms, senior, resident, millennials, large families, etc.) and the discount for being a my Barceló client. 

    *Barceló reserves the right to accept the application of advertised discounts. 

    **The application of the discount code is not valid upon arrival at the hotel; the discount is only applicable at the time of booking. 

    ***The hotel will request to see valid official documents to verify compliance with the conditions for the discount codes and special discounts. In the event of not providing valid official documents or non-compliance, the hotel reserves the right to charge the amounts that were deducted from the original reservation.

    Loading rates...
    The hotel does not have any rates allocated to it

    Best online price guaranteed

    If you find a better rate, we will top it.

    We will return the difference and we will also apply an additional 10% discount to the cost of the final booking. For more information...