Barceló Montelimar Beach Hotel Interiors

Barceló Montelimar

Texto: 40257 One-of-a-kind, All Inclusive hotel located amidst the beautiful scenery of Montelimar, Nicaragua. Carretera a Masachapa, Km. 65 | 01262 Municipio San Rafael del Sur, Managua
+505 2 2649310 +505 2 2697757
Barceló Montelimar Texto: 40257 4 out of 5 based on 1818 ratings. 1818 user reviews.
Barceló Montelimar reviewed by Linda S on . all you eat/drink All inclusive hotel! Place was very tropical and nice. They have the buffet for all you can eat and drink. The alcohol is not top shelf but the drinks were decent. We brought our own bottle and... Rating: 4
map

Barceló Montelimar

Carretera a Masachapa, Km. 65   01262 Municipio San Rafael del Sur, Managua  


Points of Interest

46.5 mi Augusto C. Sandino International Airport

328 yards Montelimar Beach

68.5 mi Colonial city of Granada

10.5 mi Gran Pacífica golf course

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Barceló Montelimar

4.0/5 Round Indicators
| 1847 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


GUESTS’ SCORE

Excellent

45% Complete

845

Very good

27% Complete

500

Average

14% Complete

264

Poor

6% Complete

120

Very poor

6% Complete

118

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    lmbetanco Managua, Nicaragua. 11/10/2017 Couples

    “Worst Customer Service ever”

    During my stay I experienced the worst customer service, it seemed that no one was trained properly on how to treat guests. They were rude and ignoring requests. Not willing to help in anything that was being requested. This happened in the Ocean Restaurant and in the pool.

    montelimar_rrpp, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Montelimar, responded to this review
     Dear Mr(s). Betanco, Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay with us. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to improve upon the service that we provide to our guests. Please accept our sincerest apologies for do not do your stay with us a perfect moment of relaxation and for not serving you as you deserve it. We would be very pleased to welcome you again in the future, ensuring you in advance of our utmost commitment to make your next Barceló holiday experience an unforgettable one. Best regards, Barceló Montelimar.

    Round Indicators
    M7790BHbenjaminp New York City, New York. 11/07/2017 Couples

    “Best resort in Nicaragua”

    Safe wonderful beach, excellent staff, food and facilities. Beautiful grounds, sunset and plenty things to do, from sunbathing, horseback riding, night entertainment and casino. Conveniently located near other beaches and nightlife in case you seek to change scenery.

    montelimar_rrpp, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Montelimar, responded to this review
     Dear Mr. Benjamin, Thank you very much for sharing this great review and lovely comments of your recent vacations at Barceló Montelimar. We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay, our beach and natural environment. Certainly we agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience. We will be happy to welcome you again. Best regards, Barceló Montelimar.

    Round Indicators
    DanielleL1510 Toronto, Canada. 11/01/2017 Friends getaway

    “The grounds used to be a zoo......”

    Ok so let's start with "The grounds used to be a zoo". Now this is not a bad thing. It was actually quite cool, and I appreciate that Nicaragua has made zoos illegal BUT......there were animals everywhere. They were cool to see, but not to be chased by a peacock, or open your fridge to find a scorpion crawling out, or to have a lemur who just wanted to play hanging outside of your door. This all happened. My friend almost had a heart attack at the scorpion. I almost had a heart attack because of the peacock, and the lemur was just plain funny. We stayed in the bungalows, which was ok. The wifi sucked and only worked when we were sitting on the patio. We had an infestation of ants in the bathroom on the first night. Maintenance came right away and cleared it up and caulked the shower again (we got high from the fumes). We had another ant infestation on the second night because the ants now found another way to get it. Again maintenance came right away and cleaned up and sprayed and did whatever they needed to do. Then for the rest of the time it was just random ants crawling around. Now keep in mind that these bungalows are in the middle of a thousand trees, so there are bugs everywhere! There is a huge language barrier. Most staff didn't speak English. Luckily I travel enough to know the Spanish basics and good get by. The food was meh. Nothing too special. Lots of pork (yuck!). Drinks were good, rum was ample. The food at the snack bar was fantastic. The chicken wings were seasoned nicely, and once you tipped the chef, you got double and triple of what everyone else was getting on their plates. There were LOTS of locals there -- they actually took over the resort on the weekend. Most of the people that we came across were rather rude - but they were even ruder to the staff. This was not ok. We witness one local get robbed by another local, and the security wouldn't call the police because they knew the robbers father - this was not ok. The bus ride to and from the airport was incredibly long. About 2 hours, on a cramped bus. The check in was very easy. They gave you your room keys and everything right at the airport while you were boarding the bus, so once you got to the hotel you could just go straight to your room/bungalow, and your luggage would get delivered to you. The beach was pretty, but you couldn't swim in the ocean because of sting rays and high tides. There were also crabs all over the beach. There is a little stand on the beach (about 10 minute walk) where you could buy souvenirs for cheap -- and the kids were cute! Bring candy for them and they'll treat you like superstars. Don't get a massage. They aren't trained and they're just rubbing and applying pressure. I felt worse after it was over, and I get massages once a month at home. Overall for the price we paid it was worth it, but I would not return.

    montelimar_rrpp, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Montelimar, responded to this review
     Dear Mr(s). Danielle, We sincerely appreciate the time you spent to share your comments following your visit to our Barceló Montelimar hotel, our guests' feedback is of utmost importance to ensure our demanding standards of service at all times, please accept our sincere apologies for any inconsistency you may have experienced during your stay. One of the attractions our hotel is the direct contact our guests with the flora and fauna (plants and animals). We hope to have the opportunity to provide you a better service and to exceed your expectations. Kind regards, Barceló Montelimar.

    Round Indicators
    aznstuart Jinotega, Nicaragua. 10/01/2017 Family

    “Terrible customer service”

    We stayed last year in Montelimar. I made my reservation online with a credit card but when we arrived I forgot to bring that credit card. I ended up paying with a different one which was fine. A year later I get a charge on my credit card saying I was a no show. The person at the desk never cancelled our original reservation. Multiple calls and visits in person got me nowhere. They kept saying it was charged by the parent company in Spain. Just tried to book a new reservation over the phone today. The guy at the reservations obviously doesn't care about his job. He kept hanging up on me in the middle of the conversation. I finally gave up after three times. Barcelo you lost another customer because of terrible customer service. I even gave you a second chance.

    montelimar_rrpp, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Montelimar, responded to this review
     Dear Mr. aznstuart, We sincerely appreciate the time you spent to share your comments following your visit to our Barceló Montelimar hotel, our guests' feedback is of utmost importance to ensure our demanding standards of service at all times, please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenient with your credit card. Unfortunately we were not able to follow up on your case due to the lack of specific information on your reservation (full name, entry and departure´s date). We hope you give us another opportunity to serve you as you deserve. Kind regards,

    Round Indicators
    Linda S 09/17/2017 Family

    “all you eat/drink”

    All inclusive hotel! Place was very tropical and nice. They have the buffet for all you can eat and drink. The alcohol is not top shelf but the drinks were decent. We brought our own bottle and enjoyed it at the pool. The rooms were decent. Pool was clean and the staff kept the guests entertained with songs.

    montelimar_rrpp, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Montelimar, responded to this review
     Dear Linda, Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at Barceló Montelimar. We know that meals are an important aspect of our guests' overall holiday experience in our hotels, this is why our team of Chefs prepare for each service a wide variety of delicacies to cater for all diet requirements and please the most demanding palates, we are therefore very pleased that we could satisfy yours. We hope to serve you soon. Kind regards, Barceló Montelimar.

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • november 10 2017
    • Managua, Nicaragua
    • Couples

    lmbetanco

    “Worst Customer Service ever”


    During my stay I experienced the worst customer service, it seemed that no one was trained properly on how to treat guests. They were rude and ignoring requests. Not willing to help in anything that was being requested. This happened in the Ocean Restaurant and in the pool.


    montelimar_rrpp, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Montelimar, responded to this review
    Dear Mr(s). Betanco, Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay with us. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to improve upon the service that we provide to our guests. Please accept our sincerest apologies for do not do your stay with us a perfect moment of relaxation and for not serving you as you deserve it. We would be very pleased to welcome you again in the future, ensuring you in advance of our utmost commitment to make your next Barceló holiday experience an unforgettable one. Best regards, Barceló Montelimar.

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • november 7 2017
    • New York City, New York
    • Couples

    M7790BHbenjaminp

    “Best resort in Nicaragua”


    Safe wonderful beach, excellent staff, food and facilities. Beautiful grounds, sunset and plenty things to do, from sunbathing, horseback riding, night entertainment and casino. Conveniently located near other beaches and nightlife in case you seek to change scenery.


    montelimar_rrpp, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Montelimar, responded to this review
    Dear Mr. Benjamin, Thank you very much for sharing this great review and lovely comments of your recent vacations at Barceló Montelimar. We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay, our beach and natural environment. Certainly we agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience. We will be happy to welcome you again. Best regards, Barceló Montelimar.

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • november 1 2017
    • Toronto, Canada
    • Friends getaway

    DanielleL1510

    “The grounds used to be a zoo......”


    Ok so let's start with "The grounds used to be a zoo". Now this is not a bad thing. It was actually quite cool, and I appreciate that Nicaragua has made zoos illegal BUT......there were animals everywhere. They were cool to see, but not to be chased by a peacock, or open your fridge to find a scorpion crawling out, or to have a lemur who just wanted to play hanging outside of your door. This all happened. My friend almost had a heart attack at the scorpion. I almost had a heart attack because of the peacock, and the lemur was just plain funny. We stayed in the bungalows, which was ok. The wifi sucked and only worked when we were sitting on the patio. We had an infestation of ants in the bathroom on the first night. Maintenance came right away and cleared it up and caulked the shower again (we got high from the fumes). We had another ant infestation on the second night because the ants now found another way to get it. Again maintenance came right away and cleaned up and sprayed and did whatever they needed to do. Then for the rest of the time it was just random ants crawling around. Now keep in mind that these bungalows are in the middle of a thousand trees, so there are bugs everywhere! There is a huge language barrier. Most staff didn't speak English. Luckily I travel enough to know the Spanish basics and good get by. The food was meh. Nothing too special. Lots of pork (yuck!). Drinks were good, rum was ample. The food at the snack bar was fantastic. The chicken wings were seasoned nicely, and once you tipped the chef, you got double and triple of what everyone else was getting on their plates. There were LOTS of locals there -- they actually took over the resort on the weekend. Most of the people that we came across were rather rude - but they were even ruder to the staff. This was not ok. We witness one local get robbed by another local, and the security wouldn't call the police because they knew the robbers father - this was not ok. The bus ride to and from the airport was incredibly long. About 2 hours, on a cramped bus. The check in was very easy. They gave you your room keys and everything right at the airport while you were boarding the bus, so once you got to the hotel you could just go straight to your room/bungalow, and your luggage would get delivered to you. The beach was pretty, but you couldn't swim in the ocean because of sting rays and high tides. There were also crabs all over the beach. There is a little stand on the beach (about 10 minute walk) where you could buy souvenirs for cheap -- and the kids were cute! Bring candy for them and they'll treat you like superstars. Don't get a massage. They aren't trained and they're just rubbing and applying pressure. I felt worse after it was over, and I get massages once a month at home. Overall for the price we paid it was worth it, but I would not return.


    montelimar_rrpp, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Montelimar, responded to this review
    Dear Mr(s). Danielle, We sincerely appreciate the time you spent to share your comments following your visit to our Barceló Montelimar hotel, our guests' feedback is of utmost importance to ensure our demanding standards of service at all times, please accept our sincere apologies for any inconsistency you may have experienced during your stay. One of the attractions our hotel is the direct contact our guests with the flora and fauna (plants and animals). We hope to have the opportunity to provide you a better service and to exceed your expectations. Kind regards, Barceló Montelimar.

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • october 1 2017
    • Jinotega, Nicaragua
    • Family

    aznstuart

    “Terrible customer service”


    We stayed last year in Montelimar. I made my reservation online with a credit card but when we arrived I forgot to bring that credit card. I ended up paying with a different one which was fine. A year later I get a charge on my credit card saying I was a no show. The person at the desk never cancelled our original reservation. Multiple calls and visits in person got me nowhere. They kept saying it was charged by the parent company in Spain. Just tried to book a new reservation over the phone today. The guy at the reservations obviously doesn't care about his job. He kept hanging up on me in the middle of the conversation. I finally gave up after three times. Barcelo you lost another customer because of terrible customer service. I even gave you a second chance.


    montelimar_rrpp, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Montelimar, responded to this review
    Dear Mr. aznstuart, We sincerely appreciate the time you spent to share your comments following your visit to our Barceló Montelimar hotel, our guests' feedback is of utmost importance to ensure our demanding standards of service at all times, please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenient with your credit card. Unfortunately we were not able to follow up on your case due to the lack of specific information on your reservation (full name, entry and departure´s date). We hope you give us another opportunity to serve you as you deserve. Kind regards,

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • september 17 2017
    • Family

    Linda S

    “all you eat/drink”


    All inclusive hotel! Place was very tropical and nice. They have the buffet for all you can eat and drink. The alcohol is not top shelf but the drinks were decent. We brought our own bottle and enjoyed it at the pool. The rooms were decent. Pool was clean and the staff kept the guests entertained with songs.


    montelimar_rrpp, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Montelimar, responded to this review
    Dear Linda, Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at Barceló Montelimar. We know that meals are an important aspect of our guests' overall holiday experience in our hotels, this is why our team of Chefs prepare for each service a wide variety of delicacies to cater for all diet requirements and please the most demanding palates, we are therefore very pleased that we could satisfy yours. We hope to serve you soon. Kind regards, Barceló Montelimar.

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

    to

      Incorrect dates
      Please enter valid dates

    NIGHTS

    (Optional dates)

    0 nights Selected

    A discount* or promotional code (also appears as “promo code”) is a combination of letters and/or numbers that gives a discount on the normal rate. If you have a discount code, enter it when booking and you will receive a discount on your booking. Once you have entered this code, the prices shown in step 1 of the booking process will already include the relevant discount. 

    The discount does not apply to prices on extras and/or extra services, neither does it apply to prices on last available rooms. You can only apply one discount code per booking which will only be valid at the time of making your booking.** 

    The maximum amount of accumulated discount will be at most 25% off the rate for hotels in Latin America and at most 20% off the rate for European and Mediterranean hotels. It is possible to combine a discount code with a special discount*** (discounts when you book multiple rooms, senior, resident, millennials, large families, etc.) and the discount for being a my Barceló client. 

    *Barceló reserves the right to accept the application of advertised discounts. 

    **The application of the discount code is not valid upon arrival at the hotel; the discount is only applicable at the time of booking. 

    ***The hotel will request to see valid official documents to verify compliance with the conditions for the discount codes and special discounts. In the event of not providing valid official documents or non-compliance, the hotel reserves the right to charge the amounts that were deducted from the original reservation.

    Loading rates...
    The hotel does not have any rates allocated to it

    Best online price guaranteed

    If you find a better rate, we will top it.

    We will return the difference and we will also apply an additional 10% discount to the cost of the final booking. For more information...