Barceló Montelimar Beach Hotel Interiors

Barceló Montelimar

Texto: 40261 One-of-a-kind, All Inclusive hotel located amidst the beautiful scenery of Montelimar, Nicaragua. Carretera a Masachapa, Km. 65 | 01262 Municipio San Rafael del Sur, Managua
+505 2 2649310 +505 2 2697757
Barceló Montelimar Texto: 40261 4 out of 5 based on 1670 ratings. 1670 user reviews.
Barceló Montelimar reviewed by David M on . Great place to pick up some E. coli So, I will keep this short and leave out the loose and chunky details, but we went on two separate days, one day apart. First trip with family, second with friends. EVERYONE who went with us, both... Rating: 1
map

Barceló Montelimar

Carretera a Masachapa, Km. 65   01262 Municipio San Rafael del Sur, Managua  


Points of Interest

46.5 mi Augusto C. Sandino International Airport

328 yards Montelimar Beach

68.5 mi Colonial city of Granada

10.5 mi Gran Pacífica golf course

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Barceló Montelimar

4.0/5 Round Indicators
| 1701 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


GUESTS’ SCORE

Excellent

46% Complete

789

Very good

26% Complete

445

Average

14% Complete

247

Poor

6% Complete

114

Very poor

6% Complete

106

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    rvwlk Stratford, Canada. 02/20/2017 Couples

    “Undiscovered Gem”

    Had a fantastic time travelling with three other couples. Marcos (Transat Rep) and his crew were fantastic. Anything desired ..speak to him! Rigo (entertainment) was also unbelievably accommodating to any request. Hope son Gael is feeling better. Food selection at buffet was great, a la carte restaurants very good as well. Wish entertainment had a larger budget to provide more varied shows. Lobby bar should be open later, perhaps 24/7? and perhaps snacks after hours. Grounds immaculate, rooms very comfortable, easy access to shower :) Hope to return next year!!
    Round Indicators
    MZaidi227 New Haven, Connecticut. 02/19/2017 Family

    “Mediocre food, hard-working staff, comfortable bed. Entertainment needs improvement”

    Check-in was complicated. Guests have to print then sign their name on a registration card, and show their passport or cedula. Some Nicaraguans (who are not used to hotels) forgot to bring the identification card for the children. We paid for an additional bed, but the small bed with wheels was not as comfortable as the larger stationary beds in the room. It did not have enough padding or a thick mattress, nor did it have plush blankets like in the regular beds. The water in the bathroom is lukewarm, but served our needs. Remember to return all bath towels to the washroom; house keeping was confused when some guests had placed it in the closet. I want to specifically mention the hard-working female waitresses/cleaning staff at the Restaurant Oceano and men and women who ran entertainment activities at the pool and at La Casona. I liked some events by the pool, especially timed physical events such as jump rope and tumbling. I spent three consecutive days at Montelimar and quickly realized that the staff potentially work 12 hours; I saw them in the morning as well as late at night. I hope that the hotel offers them shift work. The majority of the food at Oceano was bland; however I was glad that there were some healthy options such as salad available. I would request that the chefs not mix sausage with vegetables for exclusive vegetarians. Also I managed to enjoy hot tea with my dinner after requesting one from a waitress. Some children from the US had difficulty requesting eggs in a specific way. I suggest that the manager create pictures or a translation to help guests who do not know Spanish as a primary language (example: revuelto-scrambled, entero-sunny side up, volteado-flipped, cocido-poached, hervido-boiled). Be aware that a lot of the food produces gas. Some of the members in our group of 12 would eat medium amounts but had distended bellies, flatulence throughout the day, and occasionally vomited. We did not eat anywhere else during our stay but the resort (Oceano, and the restaurant by the pool). I recommend the roasted chicken and fries by the pool area. I also enjoyed the croissants and pastries with nuts. Please do not add water to the cold ice tea -- foreigners do not like tea with that much sugar. Although there were bees by the soda dispenser, I did not see other insects. As for as entertainment, the dancers and host were fantastic. The variety show was the most fun. The costumes were a bit outdated. The international show was quite boring and I left after 15 minutes. I did enjoy an 8pm show that had the traditional dances from different parts of Nicaragua; I hope that the announcers can talk a little bit about each dance before they start to give the tourists more context into the origin (place where the dance is popular, meaning behind the dance, etc). I do not like how the competition to crown Ms Montelimar was different that the competition for men. Why do women need kiss the most random strangers to win the competition, yet men do not? The men's competition was about physical acts like push-ups; they didn't necessarily involve the audience in this way. My group had a tranquil walk by the beach. We wished that the disco opened earlier than 11pm -- far too late for many members of our party. We also enjoyed El Ranchon, which was closer to the beach and did not have blaring music. The 18 hole mini golf course did not have any machinery but was located between the main entertainment area and El Ranchon. I also wish the shuttle ran after midnight to accommodate people who went to the disco, which was open until 3am.
    Round Indicators
    baraman1 Brantford, Canada. 02/18/2017 Couples

    “great resort”

    We really enjoyed our stay for 2 weeks in a tropical paradise. Marco (transat rep) was very knowlegable and helpful as was Rigo (barcelo staff) they are the "go to guys" for anything they can provide, eg. we had asked if we could watch the superbowl, and they arranged for a conference room with big screen projection and the bar to stay open until the end of the game!! The buffet is very good with a large selection and plentiful , everyday there is something new to try along with standards(fruit, eggs sausage ,breads, etc.). The a la cart restaurants should not be missed as they are wonderful , my personal favorite was the oriental (the wonton soup is outstanding) as is the rest of the menu, the Italian and seafood restaurants are also topnotch with a wide variety of appetizers and mains . The pool snack bar is great for pollo es papas fritas (chicken and fries) and burgers pizza etc. The grounds are constantly groomed by very courteous staff and the beach is huge and hot , we could walk for miles with the pacific on one side and the treeline on the other and a huge beach in between. We stayed in an oceanview bungalow in the 300's . I don't recommend the 100's just because of the "people traffic" going to and from the buffet and pool etc. The 200's and up provide privacy and easy access to main pathways and shuttles if your mobility is limited. In all this was a great trip and adventure, from the jungle and rain forest on a day trip, to seeing a dormant volcano, to shopping and site seeing in Granada and Leon, to walking hand in hand on an endless beach with the surf lapping at your feet.

    montelimar_rrpp, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Montelimar, responded to this review
     Dear Baraman1, Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent holiday experience among us, our main goal being to ensure we keep on delivering unforgettable holiday experiences to our guests, your comments are crucial in this process therefore we highly value your time. We also appreciate your kind words for our staff, their kindness and helpfulness being undoubtedly one of our hotel's main assets we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us. Again we thank you for this wonderful review, it has been a pleasure for us to read and we look forward to serving you again soon Best regards, Barceló Montelimar

    Round Indicators
    Jennipher-FP Belleville, Canada. 02/18/2017 Friends getaway

    “Nicaragua is beautiful ”

    Great place for relaxation! We stayed for a week and were pleased with the overall atmosphere of the resort. The grounds, rooms, restaurants, pool and beach were extremely clean and maintained. The resort staff were always working hard and/or available to help if needed. The people working were incredibly friendly despite a language barrier (my Spanish is limited). My husband ended up with an injury and the pharmacy and medical personal were efficient and caring. The entertainment staff and nightly shows were ok, not because they didn't try to engage the travelers but because they truly had limited resources. They just need to have more funds allocated to their development. We did really enjoy the nights we went down there. All the tour guides were kind and seemed to really want you to enjoy your time in Nicaragua. I can't say enough about the people! Food was good, mini bar always had water and drinks, a la cartes were good (especially the Oriental), and the bars were always stocked. The only thing that kinda sucked was that the bars closest to the rooms/cottages closed at 7 and you had to walk up the big hill to the bar near the entertainment stage/casino. The main pool was amazing! We didn't use or need the other pools. We didn't swim in the ocean due to waves and reported stingrays in the water. We did walk it, go for a horseback ride on it, etc. We would definitely return to this resort and to Nicaragua! Safe, friendly and beautiful!

    montelimar_rrpp, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Montelimar, responded to this review
     Dear Jennipher-FP Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay in our hotel. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience. We are delighted to see that you really enjoyed the beauty of our installations and pool. It is our intention to offer pleasing and clean accommodations so that our guests can still enjoy their vacation memories once they are back home. Thank you again for this heartwarming review of your stay with us, we look forward to your next visit. Best regards, Barceló Montelimar

    Round Indicators
    explorer1950 02/17/2017

    “Great Place to Relax”

    Interesting property. Probably can see the ocean better from the hotel balconies as bungalows are in a lush setting blocking the view of the ocean. Great beach to walk. Buffet restaurant usually had a decent variety of foods but could be hectic on weekends when a lot of Managuan families seem to come for a getaway. Good wait staff but very limited English. A la carte restaurants were good. (Go to the Italian when it is on its own -when it's lumped in with the seafood restaurant, you don't get the ambience of the central courtyard or the choice in appetizers, soup and desserts.) Need a bar that's open after 7 p.m. other than the one up top! It's too noisy and hot up there with the kids' entertainment. Keep the lobby bar open so solo travellers and non-Spanish speakers have a place to meet and talk. Nice pool and spa areas. Waiter service would have been nice. Enjoyed side trips to Granada and Masaya. Was disappointed nothing was available for Managua or Leon. Take a ciclotaxi to Masachappa! Just be sure to let the driver know the kinds of things you want to see. They only speak Spanish and French. Take U.S. dollars.

    montelimar_rrpp, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Montelimar, responded to this review
     Dear Explorer1950 Thank you for your insights following your recent visit. We always look for ways to improve and your comments are crucial to our future success. We have taken good note of your remarks related to the service you received, we will do our utmost to improve on those aspects of our services, we always doing our best to give the best service to our appreciable guests. Once more we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and very much look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Best reagards, Barceló Montelimar

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 20 2017
    • Stratford, Canada
    • Couples

    rvwlk

    “Undiscovered Gem”


    Had a fantastic time travelling with three other couples. Marcos (Transat Rep) and his crew were fantastic. Anything desired ..speak to him! Rigo (entertainment) was also unbelievably accommodating to any request. Hope son Gael is feeling better. Food selection at buffet was great, a la carte restaurants very good as well. Wish entertainment had a larger budget to provide more varied shows. Lobby bar should be open later, perhaps 24/7? and perhaps snacks after hours. Grounds immaculate, rooms very comfortable, easy access to shower :) Hope to return next year!!


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 19 2017
    • New Haven, Connecticut
    • Family

    MZaidi227

    “Mediocre food, hard-working staff, comfortable bed. Entertainment needs improvement”


    Check-in was complicated. Guests have to print then sign their name on a registration card, and show their passport or cedula. Some Nicaraguans (who are not used to hotels) forgot to bring the identification card for the children. We paid for an additional bed, but the small bed with wheels was not as comfortable as the larger stationary beds in the room. It did not have enough padding or a thick mattress, nor did it have plush blankets like in the regular beds. The water in the bathroom is lukewarm, but served our needs. Remember to return all bath towels to the washroom; house keeping was confused when some guests had placed it in the closet. I want to specifically mention the hard-working female waitresses/cleaning staff at the Restaurant Oceano and men and women who ran entertainment activities at the pool and at La Casona. I liked some events by the pool, especially timed physical events such as jump rope and tumbling. I spent three consecutive days at Montelimar and quickly realized that the staff potentially work 12 hours; I saw them in the morning as well as late at night. I hope that the hotel offers them shift work. The majority of the food at Oceano was bland; however I was glad that there were some healthy options such as salad available. I would request that the chefs not mix sausage with vegetables for exclusive vegetarians. Also I managed to enjoy hot tea with my dinner after requesting one from a waitress. Some children from the US had difficulty requesting eggs in a specific way. I suggest that the manager create pictures or a translation to help guests who do not know Spanish as a primary language (example: revuelto-scrambled, entero-sunny side up, volteado-flipped, cocido-poached, hervido-boiled). Be aware that a lot of the food produces gas. Some of the members in our group of 12 would eat medium amounts but had distended bellies, flatulence throughout the day, and occasionally vomited. We did not eat anywhere else during our stay but the resort (Oceano, and the restaurant by the pool). I recommend the roasted chicken and fries by the pool area. I also enjoyed the croissants and pastries with nuts. Please do not add water to the cold ice tea -- foreigners do not like tea with that much sugar. Although there were bees by the soda dispenser, I did not see other insects. As for as entertainment, the dancers and host were fantastic. The variety show was the most fun. The costumes were a bit outdated. The international show was quite boring and I left after 15 minutes. I did enjoy an 8pm show that had the traditional dances from different parts of Nicaragua; I hope that the announcers can talk a little bit about each dance before they start to give the tourists more context into the origin (place where the dance is popular, meaning behind the dance, etc). I do not like how the competition to crown Ms Montelimar was different that the competition for men. Why do women need kiss the most random strangers to win the competition, yet men do not? The men's competition was about physical acts like push-ups; they didn't necessarily involve the audience in this way. My group had a tranquil walk by the beach. We wished that the disco opened earlier than 11pm -- far too late for many members of our party. We also enjoyed El Ranchon, which was closer to the beach and did not have blaring music. The 18 hole mini golf course did not have any machinery but was located between the main entertainment area and El Ranchon. I also wish the shuttle ran after midnight to accommodate people who went to the disco, which was open until 3am.


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 18 2017
    • Brantford, Canada
    • Couples

    baraman1

    “great resort”


    We really enjoyed our stay for 2 weeks in a tropical paradise. Marco (transat rep) was very knowlegable and helpful as was Rigo (barcelo staff) they are the "go to guys" for anything they can provide, eg. we had asked if we could watch the superbowl, and they arranged for a conference room with big screen projection and the bar to stay open until the end of the game!! The buffet is very good with a large selection and plentiful , everyday there is something new to try along with standards(fruit, eggs sausage ,breads, etc.). The a la cart restaurants should not be missed as they are wonderful , my personal favorite was the oriental (the wonton soup is outstanding) as is the rest of the menu, the Italian and seafood restaurants are also topnotch with a wide variety of appetizers and mains . The pool snack bar is great for pollo es papas fritas (chicken and fries) and burgers pizza etc. The grounds are constantly groomed by very courteous staff and the beach is huge and hot , we could walk for miles with the pacific on one side and the treeline on the other and a huge beach in between. We stayed in an oceanview bungalow in the 300's . I don't recommend the 100's just because of the "people traffic" going to and from the buffet and pool etc. The 200's and up provide privacy and easy access to main pathways and shuttles if your mobility is limited. In all this was a great trip and adventure, from the jungle and rain forest on a day trip, to seeing a dormant volcano, to shopping and site seeing in Granada and Leon, to walking hand in hand on an endless beach with the surf lapping at your feet.


    montelimar_rrpp, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Montelimar, responded to this review
     Dear Baraman1, Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent holiday experience among us, our main goal being to ensure we keep on delivering unforgettable holiday experiences to our guests, your comments are crucial in this process therefore we highly value your time. We also appreciate your kind words for our staff, their kindness and helpfulness being undoubtedly one of our hotel's main assets we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us. Again we thank you for this wonderful review, it has been a pleasure for us to read and we look forward to serving you again soon Best regards, Barceló Montelimar

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 18 2017
    • Belleville, Canada
    • Friends getaway

    Jennipher-FP

    “Nicaragua is beautiful ”


    Great place for relaxation! We stayed for a week and were pleased with the overall atmosphere of the resort. The grounds, rooms, restaurants, pool and beach were extremely clean and maintained. The resort staff were always working hard and/or available to help if needed. The people working were incredibly friendly despite a language barrier (my Spanish is limited). My husband ended up with an injury and the pharmacy and medical personal were efficient and caring. The entertainment staff and nightly shows were ok, not because they didn't try to engage the travelers but because they truly had limited resources. They just need to have more funds allocated to their development. We did really enjoy the nights we went down there. All the tour guides were kind and seemed to really want you to enjoy your time in Nicaragua. I can't say enough about the people! Food was good, mini bar always had water and drinks, a la cartes were good (especially the Oriental), and the bars were always stocked. The only thing that kinda sucked was that the bars closest to the rooms/cottages closed at 7 and you had to walk up the big hill to the bar near the entertainment stage/casino. The main pool was amazing! We didn't use or need the other pools. We didn't swim in the ocean due to waves and reported stingrays in the water. We did walk it, go for a horseback ride on it, etc. We would definitely return to this resort and to Nicaragua! Safe, friendly and beautiful!


    montelimar_rrpp, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Montelimar, responded to this review
    Dear Jennipher-FP Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay in our hotel. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience. We are delighted to see that you really enjoyed the beauty of our installations and pool. It is our intention to offer pleasing and clean accommodations so that our guests can still enjoy their vacation memories once they are back home. Thank you again for this heartwarming review of your stay with us, we look forward to your next visit. Best regards, Barceló Montelimar

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 17 2017

    explorer1950

    “Great Place to Relax”


    Interesting property. Probably can see the ocean better from the hotel balconies as bungalows are in a lush setting blocking the view of the ocean. Great beach to walk. Buffet restaurant usually had a decent variety of foods but could be hectic on weekends when a lot of Managuan families seem to come for a getaway. Good wait staff but very limited English. A la carte restaurants were good. (Go to the Italian when it is on its own -when it's lumped in with the seafood restaurant, you don't get the ambience of the central courtyard or the choice in appetizers, soup and desserts.) Need a bar that's open after 7 p.m. other than the one up top! It's too noisy and hot up there with the kids' entertainment. Keep the lobby bar open so solo travellers and non-Spanish speakers have a place to meet and talk. Nice pool and spa areas. Waiter service would have been nice. Enjoyed side trips to Granada and Masaya. Was disappointed nothing was available for Managua or Leon. Take a ciclotaxi to Masachappa! Just be sure to let the driver know the kinds of things you want to see. They only speak Spanish and French. Take U.S. dollars.


    montelimar_rrpp, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Montelimar, responded to this review
    Dear Explorer1950 Thank you for your insights following your recent visit. We always look for ways to improve and your comments are crucial to our future success. We have taken good note of your remarks related to the service you received, we will do our utmost to improve on those aspects of our services, we always doing our best to give the best service to our appreciable guests. Once more we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and very much look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Best reagards, Barceló Montelimar

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

    to

      Incorrect dates
      Please enter valid dates

    NIGHTS

    (Optional dates)

    A discount or promotional code is a combination of letters and/or numbers that gives a discount on the normal rate. You can receive discount codes through special campaigns by being a my Barceló member, following us on social media or booking through Barcelo.com. 

    If you have a discount code, enter it when booking and you will receive a discount on your booking. The discount does not apply to the cost of extras. The maximum amount of the accumulated discount will be 25% off the rate (except for last rooms); it is possible to combine a discount code and special discounts. Only one discount code per booking is permitted.

    Loading rates...
    The hotel does not have any rates allocated to it

    Best online price guaranteed

    If you find a better rate, we will top it.

    We will return the difference and we will also apply an additional 10% discount to the cost of the final booking. For more information...