Barceló Hotel Interiors  Bilbao Nervión

Barceló Bilbao Nervión

Texto: 31601 Next to the Guggenheim in Bilbao, this hotel offers the best cuisine and is recommended for business meetings. Paseo Campo Volantín, 11 | 48007 Bilbao
+34 94 445 4700 +34 94 445 5608
Barceló Bilbao Nervión Texto: 31601 4.5 out of 5 based on 2373 ratings. 2373 user reviews.
Barceló Bilbao Nervión reviewed by Markus W on . Good one-night stay Great location, but large-scaled hotel. Room was comfy, could be cleaner though. I didn't like the open bathroom too much. Check-in swift and friendly. Breakfast was very average in an over-crowded... Rating: 4
map

Barceló Bilbao Nervión

Paseo Campo Volantín, 11    48007 Bilbao  


Places of Interest

9 km Bilbao

200 m RENFE Abando, Metro Station

15 km Puerto

200 m Guggenheim Museum

Premios y Reconocimientos Prizes and awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Barceló Bilbao Nervión

4.5/5 Round Indicators
| 2376 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


GUESTS’ SCORE

Excellent

43% Complete

1043

Very good

43% Complete

1037

Average

9% Complete

224

Poor

2% Complete

52

Very poor

0% Complete

21

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    Ruaolmos Oleiros, Spain. 09/16/2017 Business

    “Excellent hotel & spot on location ”

    Excellent hotel and spot on location, right on the River in a very central location with the Guggenheim & old town but s short walk. Rooms, service and breakfast are all of a high standard. Highly recomendable as a business hotel.

    BilbaoNervion, Manager at Barcelo Bilbao Nervion, responded to this review
     Dear Guest, First and foremost thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Bilbao. Your recommendation to our TripAdvisor readers is well appreciated. We remain at your disposal for a future stay at the Barceló Bilbao Nervión. Best of regards,

    Round Indicators
    Markus W Austria. 09/11/2017 Family

    “Good one-night stay”

    Great location, but large-scaled hotel. Room was comfy, could be cleaner though. I didn't like the open bathroom too much. Check-in swift and friendly. Breakfast was very average in an over-crowded, noisy room. Good for a one-night stop.

    BilbaoNervion, General Manager at Barcelo Bilbao Nervion, responded to this review
     Dear Markus, Thank you very much for your words in TripAdvisor’s traveler’s community. Indeed, August and September are one of the busiest months in Bilbao. Our breakfast is one of the most appreciated services of our hotel due to variety of fresh foods and drinks. Once more we thank you for sharing your experience with us and look forward to serving you again soon. Best wishes,

    Round Indicators
    nelsonjj San Francisco, California. 09/10/2017 Family

    “There are other, better places to stay.....”

    We stayed at the Barcelo Bilbao Nervion for 2 nights in September with our 1-year-old in a suite. Overall, I would not recommend this hotel. Location - Very good location along the river, within walking distance of everything. The location is the best thing going for this hotel. Service - Pretty much non-existent. There is nobody to help with bags, and the front desk was pretty much unhelpful with anything we asked. I would have given the hotel 4 stars, had they not screwed up our early-morning ride to the airport the day we checked out. They day before we were leaving I went to the front desk in person to ask for recommendations on a car service to get to the airport for a 6:50AM flight with a baby and large suitcases, adding that the driver needed to supply a car seat because we were not traveling with one. I was first told that the hotel doesn’t provide this service. I clarified that I was looking for the hotel’s help in booking this service and didn’t expect the hotel to provide themselves. Then, it was suggested we take the bus. I reminded him that it’s an early morning departure, we have a baby, and we have large suitcases, hence we need a car. Finally, the one guy consulted with a colleague and made a call to reserve us a taxi. He repeated back to me that we needed a baby seat. At 5AM the next morning the taxi was waiting, but surprise surprise, no baby seat. Getting a taxi or other car service with a baby seat was no problem elsewhere in Spain, but somehow that was too difficult for this hotel to handle. The Room - We stayed in a suite on the 4th floor that looked like the pictures on the website. It’s a shotgun style room, where you enter into a small sitting room, then pass through the bathroom area, then into the bedroom. The bedroom is the only room with a window, and there are sliding doors that can be closed between the sitting room and the bathroom and between the bedroom and the bathroom. The bed was reasonably comfortable, but that’s about all we can say for the room. There is a really annoying sound that accompanies the HVAC that almost sounds like a compressor or a power drill that cycles on and off as long as the HVAC is on (it’s not the fan, it’s something else). The shower and bathtub do not have thermostatic valves to regulate water temperature, which means that the water will fluctuate from warm to HOT and back to warm without you touching the valve in any way - this was especially horrible with a 1-year-old baby who nearly got burned from bath water that unexpectedly jumped in temperature. The toilet is in its own room, but it’s light is on a sensor and goes off on its own, which means there is no option for you to turn it off, which may result in unwanted light that could disturb a sleeping baby in the bedroom. The drapes do not close completely, which allows light to still enter the room, which is not helpful when trying to put a 1-year-old to sleep. There was a minibar (with the most expensive bottled water we’ve seen in Spain), but there was no bottle opener in the room. The rooms have vinyl flooring (that looks like wood), which means you can hear people walking around in the rooms above and beside you (there’s a reason most hotels install carpet). About that vinyl floor - there were dirty stains on it. Finally, we had to pay extra to have a bathrobe and slippers in our room, though after the first night housekeeping took one of the robes and didn’t replace it. Hotel Cleanliness: While waiting to check in, our 1-year-old was crawling around an area of the lobby that was away from the main path of travel. The floor looked relatively clean, but when he got up, his knees and hands were black from the floor. Absolutely disgusting. Also, there was a slight odor to the hallways, not sure what it was. Atmosphere: Large and impersonal. Nothing about this hotel feels local. It’s kind of soul-zapping.

    BilbaoNervion, General Manager at Barcelo Bilbao Nervion, responded to this review
     Dear Nelson, Although we are quite surprised and dismayed by the content of your review regarding your holiday at our Barceló Bilbao Nervión, please rest assured that your comments have been taken onboard and revised by the entire Management team, however we would like to take this opportunity to clarify certain aspects of your review as a simple matter of exactness of the information reported. The Hotel unfortunately does not offer and bellboy and concierge service. After reaptingly calling many times the taxi company for a baby seat this option could not be delivered by the company nevertheless we are happy to acknowledge that you have arrived safely home with the taxi we organized for you. Thank you again for your visit and critics, our primary goal being to assure our guests feel comfortable and fully enjoy their visits, we are eager to regain your confidence during another occasion if you gave us that chance Best of regards,

    Round Indicators
    EmotionsTraveler Netherlands. 09/09/2017 Couples

    “DO NOT GO”

    This hotels offers a good downtown location, but you are unable to get out of your car and check in. They have an underground parking which you can not reserve in advance and refer to a nearby garage, five minutes away, which offers secured parking. Due to bad signposting, as almost everywhere in Bilbao, you are not able to find this parking and end up near the Iberdrola building which is a mere 30 minutes walking away. We were very much annoyed by it especially if you booked directly throug Barceló hotels and receive, upon checking in, a form with benefits which mention you will receive a welcome and farewell service. I had to carry myself two big suit cases and a big bag to my room. Upon entering the room I thought I entered a mini Ikea store. We booked a mini suite which was comfortable but lacks atmosphere. Terrible lightning, comfortable beds, good bathroom. Room was not cleaned thoroughly as we found hair here and there. We like to sleep with a window open and had a bad night due to much traffic and shouting and singing tourists all night. As we arrived in the second half of the afternoon we wanted to have a coffee with some apple cake, but were beeing told that the kitchen closed at 16h00 and the kitchen staff was unable to help us. Although it was 15h58 they refused and were offered old pinxtos. This for a hotel with more than 350 rooms! Breakfast next morning was good in an Ikea ambiance. I know they offer space for a fair rate and we are maybe spoiled, but we will not come back here and will never stay in a Barceló hotel again.

    BilbaoNervion, General Manager at Barcelo Bilbao Nervion, responded to this review
     Dear Guest., Although we sincerely regret reading that your stay at our Barceló Bilbao Nervión fell short of your expectations, we are grateful for the time you spent to share this feedback of your overall holiday experience among us as we certainly believe that there is always room for improvement and your feedback is very much appreciated. Please rest assured that we have no relation whatsoever with the idea Brand. As to the parking is concerned we have limited spaces however we offer a 400-m alternative with a discount being a Barceló Bilbao Nervión guest. As we always explain this close by address to our guest we are sorry to understand that this explanation took you 30 minutes away from the hotel as this was never our goal. Please be assured that all your comments will be taken into serious consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. Once again, thank you for your time and despite the issues you have raised following your stay, we hope that Barceló will remain an option for your next holiday and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company soon. Best regards

    Round Indicators
    goldencurl Colchester, United Kingdom. 09/04/2017 Family

    “Blissfully Smooth”

    Second stay didn't disappoint - great parking, rooms, beds, staff & food. I have used for business & teenage family stopovers as all amenities & position suit. Chocolate fountain for breakfast goes down particularly well.

    BilbaoNervion, General Manager at Barcelo Bilbao Nervion, responded to this review
     Dear Guest , Firstly, we would like to thank you for choosing our Barceló Bilbao Nervión hotel once again for your family stay and for sharing this wonderful feedback of your recent stay among us, it is indeed very rewarding to read that we keep on meeting all your holiday needs and wishes year after year. We look forward receiving you soon. Kind regards,

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • september 16 2017
    • Oleiros, Spain
    • Business

    Ruaolmos

    “Excellent hotel & spot on location ”


    Excellent hotel and spot on location, right on the River in a very central location with the Guggenheim & old town but s short walk. Rooms, service and breakfast are all of a high standard. Highly recomendable as a business hotel.


    BilbaoNervion, Manager at Barcelo Bilbao Nervion, responded to this review
    Dear Guest, First and foremost thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Bilbao. Your recommendation to our TripAdvisor readers is well appreciated. We remain at your disposal for a future stay at the Barceló Bilbao Nervión. Best of regards,

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • september 11 2017
    • Austria
    • Family

    Markus W

    “Good one-night stay”


    Great location, but large-scaled hotel. Room was comfy, could be cleaner though. I didn't like the open bathroom too much. Check-in swift and friendly. Breakfast was very average in an over-crowded, noisy room. Good for a one-night stop.


    BilbaoNervion, General Manager at Barcelo Bilbao Nervion, responded to this review
    Dear Markus, Thank you very much for your words in TripAdvisor’s traveler’s community. Indeed, August and September are one of the busiest months in Bilbao. Our breakfast is one of the most appreciated services of our hotel due to variety of fresh foods and drinks. Once more we thank you for sharing your experience with us and look forward to serving you again soon. Best wishes,

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • september 10 2017
    • San Francisco, California
    • Family

    nelsonjj

    “There are other, better places to stay.....”


    We stayed at the Barcelo Bilbao Nervion for 2 nights in September with our 1-year-old in a suite. Overall, I would not recommend this hotel. Location - Very good location along the river, within walking distance of everything. The location is the best thing going for this hotel. Service - Pretty much non-existent. There is nobody to help with bags, and the front desk was pretty much unhelpful with anything we asked. I would have given the hotel 4 stars, had they not screwed up our early-morning ride to the airport the day we checked out. They day before we were leaving I went to the front desk in person to ask for recommendations on a car service to get to the airport for a 6:50AM flight with a baby and large suitcases, adding that the driver needed to supply a car seat because we were not traveling with one. I was first told that the hotel doesn’t provide this service. I clarified that I was looking for the hotel’s help in booking this service and didn’t expect the hotel to provide themselves. Then, it was suggested we take the bus. I reminded him that it’s an early morning departure, we have a baby, and we have large suitcases, hence we need a car. Finally, the one guy consulted with a colleague and made a call to reserve us a taxi. He repeated back to me that we needed a baby seat. At 5AM the next morning the taxi was waiting, but surprise surprise, no baby seat. Getting a taxi or other car service with a baby seat was no problem elsewhere in Spain, but somehow that was too difficult for this hotel to handle. The Room - We stayed in a suite on the 4th floor that looked like the pictures on the website. It’s a shotgun style room, where you enter into a small sitting room, then pass through the bathroom area, then into the bedroom. The bedroom is the only room with a window, and there are sliding doors that can be closed between the sitting room and the bathroom and between the bedroom and the bathroom. The bed was reasonably comfortable, but that’s about all we can say for the room. There is a really annoying sound that accompanies the HVAC that almost sounds like a compressor or a power drill that cycles on and off as long as the HVAC is on (it’s not the fan, it’s something else). The shower and bathtub do not have thermostatic valves to regulate water temperature, which means that the water will fluctuate from warm to HOT and back to warm without you touching the valve in any way - this was especially horrible with a 1-year-old baby who nearly got burned from bath water that unexpectedly jumped in temperature. The toilet is in its own room, but it’s light is on a sensor and goes off on its own, which means there is no option for you to turn it off, which may result in unwanted light that could disturb a sleeping baby in the bedroom. The drapes do not close completely, which allows light to still enter the room, which is not helpful when trying to put a 1-year-old to sleep. There was a minibar (with the most expensive bottled water we’ve seen in Spain), but there was no bottle opener in the room. The rooms have vinyl flooring (that looks like wood), which means you can hear people walking around in the rooms above and beside you (there’s a reason most hotels install carpet). About that vinyl floor - there were dirty stains on it. Finally, we had to pay extra to have a bathrobe and slippers in our room, though after the first night housekeeping took one of the robes and didn’t replace it. Hotel Cleanliness: While waiting to check in, our 1-year-old was crawling around an area of the lobby that was away from the main path of travel. The floor looked relatively clean, but when he got up, his knees and hands were black from the floor. Absolutely disgusting. Also, there was a slight odor to the hallways, not sure what it was. Atmosphere: Large and impersonal. Nothing about this hotel feels local. It’s kind of soul-zapping.


    BilbaoNervion, General Manager at Barcelo Bilbao Nervion, responded to this review
    Dear Nelson, Although we are quite surprised and dismayed by the content of your review regarding your holiday at our Barceló Bilbao Nervión, please rest assured that your comments have been taken onboard and revised by the entire Management team, however we would like to take this opportunity to clarify certain aspects of your review as a simple matter of exactness of the information reported. The Hotel unfortunately does not offer and bellboy and concierge service. After reaptingly calling many times the taxi company for a baby seat this option could not be delivered by the company nevertheless we are happy to acknowledge that you have arrived safely home with the taxi we organized for you. Thank you again for your visit and critics, our primary goal being to assure our guests feel comfortable and fully enjoy their visits, we are eager to regain your confidence during another occasion if you gave us that chance Best of regards,

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • september 9 2017
    • Netherlands
    • Couples

    EmotionsTraveler

    “DO NOT GO”


    This hotels offers a good downtown location, but you are unable to get out of your car and check in. They have an underground parking which you can not reserve in advance and refer to a nearby garage, five minutes away, which offers secured parking. Due to bad signposting, as almost everywhere in Bilbao, you are not able to find this parking and end up near the Iberdrola building which is a mere 30 minutes walking away. We were very much annoyed by it especially if you booked directly throug Barceló hotels and receive, upon checking in, a form with benefits which mention you will receive a welcome and farewell service. I had to carry myself two big suit cases and a big bag to my room. Upon entering the room I thought I entered a mini Ikea store. We booked a mini suite which was comfortable but lacks atmosphere. Terrible lightning, comfortable beds, good bathroom. Room was not cleaned thoroughly as we found hair here and there. We like to sleep with a window open and had a bad night due to much traffic and shouting and singing tourists all night. As we arrived in the second half of the afternoon we wanted to have a coffee with some apple cake, but were beeing told that the kitchen closed at 16h00 and the kitchen staff was unable to help us. Although it was 15h58 they refused and were offered old pinxtos. This for a hotel with more than 350 rooms! Breakfast next morning was good in an Ikea ambiance. I know they offer space for a fair rate and we are maybe spoiled, but we will not come back here and will never stay in a Barceló hotel again.


    BilbaoNervion, General Manager at Barcelo Bilbao Nervion, responded to this review
    Dear Guest., Although we sincerely regret reading that your stay at our Barceló Bilbao Nervión fell short of your expectations, we are grateful for the time you spent to share this feedback of your overall holiday experience among us as we certainly believe that there is always room for improvement and your feedback is very much appreciated. Please rest assured that we have no relation whatsoever with the idea Brand. As to the parking is concerned we have limited spaces however we offer a 400-m alternative with a discount being a Barceló Bilbao Nervión guest. As we always explain this close by address to our guest we are sorry to understand that this explanation took you 30 minutes away from the hotel as this was never our goal. Please be assured that all your comments will be taken into serious consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. Once again, thank you for your time and despite the issues you have raised following your stay, we hope that Barceló will remain an option for your next holiday and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company soon. Best regards

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • september 4 2017
    • Colchester, United Kingdom
    • Family

    goldencurl

    “Blissfully Smooth”


    Second stay didn't disappoint - great parking, rooms, beds, staff & food. I have used for business & teenage family stopovers as all amenities & position suit. Chocolate fountain for breakfast goes down particularly well.


    BilbaoNervion, General Manager at Barcelo Bilbao Nervion, responded to this review
    Dear Guest , Firstly, we would like to thank you for choosing our Barceló Bilbao Nervión hotel once again for your family stay and for sharing this wonderful feedback of your recent stay among us, it is indeed very rewarding to read that we keep on meeting all your holiday needs and wishes year after year. We look forward receiving you soon. Kind regards,

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

    to

      Incorrect dates
      Please enter valid dates

    NIGHTS

    (Optional dates)

    A discount* or promotional code (also appears as “promo code”) is a combination of letters and/or numbers that gives a discount on the normal rate. If you have a discount code, enter it when booking and you will receive a discount on your booking. Once you have entered this code, the prices shown in step 1 of the booking process will already include the relevant discount. 

    The discount does not apply to prices on extras and/or extra services, neither does it apply to prices on last available rooms. You can only apply one discount code per booking which will only be valid at the time of making your booking.** 

    The maximum amount of accumulated discount will be at most 25% off the rate for hotels in Latin America and at most 20% off the rate for European and Mediterranean hotels. It is possible to combine a discount code with a special discount*** (discounts when you book multiple rooms, senior, resident, millennials, large families, etc.) and the discount for being a my Barceló client. 

    *Barceló reserves the right to accept the application of advertised discounts. 

    **The application of the discount code is not valid upon arrival at the hotel; the discount is only applicable at the time of booking. 

    ***The hotel will request to see valid official documents to verify compliance with the conditions for the discount codes and special discounts. In the event of not providing valid official documents or non-compliance, the hotel reserves the right to charge the amounts that were deducted from the original reservation.

    Loading rates...
    The hotel does not have any rates allocated to it

    Best online price guaranteed

    If you find a better rate, we will top it.

    We will return the difference and we will also apply an additional 10% discount to the cost of the final booking. For more information...