Amplia piscina del hotel Occidental Grand Papagayo Resort
;
map

Map and location

Blvd. Playa Hermosa 800mts al norte   48-5000 Golfo de Papagayo , Guanacaste   Costa Rica  


Points of Interest

14 mi Daniel Oduber Quirós International Airport

19 mi Gulf of Papagayo

6 mi Coco Beach

2 mi Hermosa Beach

Premios y Reconocimientos

Prizes and Awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Occidental Papagayo - Adults only

4.0/5 Round Indicators
| 4317 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


Comments

Excellent

39% Complete

1709

Very good

31% Complete

1375

Average

15% Complete

651

Poor

7% Complete

343

Very poor

5% Complete

239

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    Myra R Omaha, Nebraska, United States. 05/23/2019 Family

    “Beautiful property, but has declined in last 5 years :-(”

    The grounds of the Grand Papagayo are awesome - truly paradise. However, the amenities have declined since we were there in 2014. While the Italian and Oriental restaurants were excellent, the buffet has drastically limited their food selection. Also, the grill at the restaurant by the pool is not open all the time - really have to get your schedule to match theirs if you want a cheeseburger. The other disappointment we encountered was NO POOL TOWELS!!! How can you run a resort with 2 pools, know the # of guests, and not have an adequate # of towels? On a positive note, the staff at the First Club were fantastic. They even arranged for a boxed breakfast t be brought to our room for the morning we were leaving because our transportation to the airport was earlier than the restaurants opened. Speaking of transportation - they were 45 minutes late picking us up! It took both of on the phones with the resort management and the transportation company to get results. In my book, that is unacceptable, and certainly not the level of service we had 5 years ago.

    Jean Marie P, Manager at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this review
     Dear Myra R Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent holiday experience among us, our main goal being to ensure we keep on delivering unforgettable holiday experiences to our guests, your comments are crucial in this process therefore we highly value your time and constructive critics. We regret that our buffet could not meet your expectations in this occassion, mainly because the quality and the diversity of our culinary offer counts to our strengths. We take your comments regarding our cuisine very seriously, because we wish that our gastronomy remains a very special treat for our guests. We have our Snack Bar where our visitors can enjoy cheeseburgers with grilled meat. We have taken the actions corresponding to your comment about Pool Towels availability. Regarding the transportation, it is an external service to the hotel, however, we work together with them, it is for us of utmost importance to ensure good service, therefore, we will pass your comment to the company involved. On the other hand we thank you for pointing out the kindness and enthusiasm of our staff, their friendliness and helpfulness being our hotels’ main strength we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us. Once more we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and very much look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Kind regards, Jean Marie Prudencio General Manager Occidental Papagayo

    Round Indicators
    Kelsey L 05/22/2019 Couples

    “BEST RESORT EVER!!!!!”

    The staff at OP went ABOVE AND BEYOND to make our honeymoon unforgettable! The VIEWS, the staff, the drinks/bartenders, and the service were truly second to none. And the price is RIGHT!!! We scream our recommendation from the rooftops!

    Jean Marie P, Manager at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this review
     Dear Kelsey L First of all, we congratulate you with your Silver Wedding Anniversary and we thank you for choosing our Occidental Papagayo hotel for such a special occasion.We take a lot of pleasure in making each of our guests' visits "fantastic", especially when it comes to special occasions. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guest´s overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience.  Again we thank you for this wonderful review and we thank you for your kind recommendation to Tripadvisor’s readers. It has been a pleasure for us to read and we look forward to serving you again soon. Kind regards, Jean Marie Prudencio General Manager Occidental Papagayo

    Round Indicators
    charlieo122 Haleiwa, Hawaii. 05/22/2019 Couples

    “Nice Property”

    We booked the Premium Level Luxury Bayview room for seven nights. Online reservation was easy and hassle free. Changes to our reservation was also easy to make- we added airport transfer to our booking. The property is clean and well maintained. There are two swimming pools, a large main pool and a smalled one with a swim up bar. The main dining room serves buffet, all meals. The specialty restaurant serves Italian and Asian dinners only on alternate days. Reservations are required for this restaurant. Seating is limited, reserve early. Guests are allowed a limited number of reservations per stay. There is a casual restaurant that serves pizza, chicken wings and burgers during the day. Overall, food was ok. The buffet has different food themes daily. Food quality is ok, considering the price point for this all inclusive resort. The beach is not wide and can get very narrow during high tide. They offer snorkeling, paddle boarding and kayaking. Our room has a nice view of the bay. The room size is comfortable. There is an outside patio with seating- enjoy the view while having breakfast. The room needs updating. Bathroom is showing wear and tear- fixtures don't work well. Pillows and bed were comfortable. Premium level guests get turn down service, free room service and access to the premium lounge. Turn down service is limited to bed service and replenishing beverages. It does not include towels and bathroom refresh. The hotel offers shuttle service within the property. We walked from our room to the main building without a problem. Walkways are safe and well maintained. Service was excellent. Staff were pleasant and accommodating. Overall an ok place to stay, have fun and relax.

    Jean Marie P, Manager at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this review
     Dear Charlie Thank you very much for the time you spent to share your personal impressions of your stay at our Occidental Papagayo. We always welcome feedback, as it allows us to continually improve the experience we create for our guests. We are very grateful for all the resort features you highlight in your extensive review and for the information and great tips you have provided our future guests. Your descriptive comments will prove helpful to many. It was our pleasure to attend you throughout your stay and we do hope we will have an opportunity in the future to welcome you back here with us. Kind regards, Jean Marie Prudencio General Manager Occidental Papagayo

    Round Indicators
    Voyage44434719022 New Port Richey, Florida. 05/20/2019 Solo travel

    “Beautiful”

    It was a very relaxing trip. The scenery is beautiful. The food is excellent. Had no trouble finding something that I liked. The room are very spacious and very clean. Checking out the countryside was no problem with a shuttle available most anytime.

    Jean Marie P, Manager at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this review
     Dear Guest Thank you for the great feedback of your recent holiday experience at our Occidental Papagayo; guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that, we are happy our hotel and staff were able to meet all your needs during your stay. Again we thank you for this wonderful review, it has been a pleasure for us to read and we look forward to serving you again soon. Kind regards, Jean Marie Prudencio General Manager Occidental Papagayo

    Round Indicators
    P8390VOelizabethc perth amboy, United States. 05/19/2019 Couples

    “Not VIP membership friendly”

    25th wedding anniversary the hotel is a mess the food is mediocre t best the entertainment is minimal the rooms are old the towels are worn it needs a serious upgrade. VIP membership is non existent Won't return

    Jean Marie P, Manager at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this review
     Dear Elizabeth We appreciate you reaching out on Tripadvisor to notify us of your concerns related to your recent stay at our Occidental Papagayo hotel and apologize if you experienced any inconsistency in our service, we have read your review with our utmost attention and will take note of your constructive remarks. We also regret that our culinary offer could not meet your expectations, mainly because the quality and the diversity of our culinary offer counts to our strengths. We take your comments regarding our cuisine very seriously, because we wish that our gastronomy remains a very special treat for our guests. Thank you again for your visit and constructuve critics, our primary goal being to assure our guests feel comfortable and fully enjoy their visits, we are eager to regain your confidence during another occasion if you gave us that chance. Kind regards, Jean Marie Prudencio General Manager Occidental Papagayo

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • may 23 2019
    • Omaha, Nebraska, United States
    • Family

    Myra R

    “Beautiful property, but has declined in last 5 years :-(”


    The grounds of the Grand Papagayo are awesome - truly paradise. However, the amenities have declined since we were there in 2014. While the Italian and Oriental restaurants were excellent, the buffet has drastically limited their food selection. Also, the grill at the restaurant by the pool is not open all the time - really have to get your schedule to match theirs if you want a cheeseburger. The other disappointment we encountered was NO POOL TOWELS!!! How can you run a resort with 2 pools, know the # of guests, and not have an adequate # of towels? On a positive note, the staff at the First Club were fantastic. They even arranged for a boxed breakfast t be brought to our room for the morning we were leaving because our transportation to the airport was earlier than the restaurants opened. Speaking of transportation - they were 45 minutes late picking us up! It took both of on the phones with the resort management and the transportation company to get results. In my book, that is unacceptable, and certainly not the level of service we had 5 years ago.


    Jean Marie P, Manager at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this review
    Dear Myra R Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent holiday experience among us, our main goal being to ensure we keep on delivering unforgettable holiday experiences to our guests, your comments are crucial in this process therefore we highly value your time and constructive critics. We regret that our buffet could not meet your expectations in this occassion, mainly because the quality and the diversity of our culinary offer counts to our strengths. We take your comments regarding our cuisine very seriously, because we wish that our gastronomy remains a very special treat for our guests. We have our Snack Bar where our visitors can enjoy cheeseburgers with grilled meat. We have taken the actions corresponding to your comment about Pool Towels availability. Regarding the transportation, it is an external service to the hotel, however, we work together with them, it is for us of utmost importance to ensure good service, therefore, we will pass your comment to the company involved. On the other hand we thank you for pointing out the kindness and enthusiasm of our staff, their friendliness and helpfulness being our hotels’ main strength we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us. Once more we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and very much look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Kind regards, Jean Marie Prudencio General Manager Occidental Papagayo

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • may 22 2019
    • Couples

    Kelsey L

    “BEST RESORT EVER!!!!!”


    The staff at OP went ABOVE AND BEYOND to make our honeymoon unforgettable! The VIEWS, the staff, the drinks/bartenders, and the service were truly second to none. And the price is RIGHT!!! We scream our recommendation from the rooftops!


    Jean Marie P, Manager at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this review
    Dear Kelsey L First of all, we congratulate you with your Silver Wedding Anniversary and we thank you for choosing our Occidental Papagayo hotel for such a special occasion.We take a lot of pleasure in making each of our guests' visits "fantastic", especially when it comes to special occasions. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guest´s overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience.  Again we thank you for this wonderful review and we thank you for your kind recommendation to Tripadvisor’s readers. It has been a pleasure for us to read and we look forward to serving you again soon. Kind regards, Jean Marie Prudencio General Manager Occidental Papagayo

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • may 22 2019
    • Haleiwa, Hawaii
    • Couples

    charlieo122

    “Nice Property”


    We booked the Premium Level Luxury Bayview room for seven nights. Online reservation was easy and hassle free. Changes to our reservation was also easy to make- we added airport transfer to our booking. The property is clean and well maintained. There are two swimming pools, a large main pool and a smalled one with a swim up bar. The main dining room serves buffet, all meals. The specialty restaurant serves Italian and Asian dinners only on alternate days. Reservations are required for this restaurant. Seating is limited, reserve early. Guests are allowed a limited number of reservations per stay. There is a casual restaurant that serves pizza, chicken wings and burgers during the day. Overall, food was ok. The buffet has different food themes daily. Food quality is ok, considering the price point for this all inclusive resort. The beach is not wide and can get very narrow during high tide. They offer snorkeling, paddle boarding and kayaking. Our room has a nice view of the bay. The room size is comfortable. There is an outside patio with seating- enjoy the view while having breakfast. The room needs updating. Bathroom is showing wear and tear- fixtures don't work well. Pillows and bed were comfortable. Premium level guests get turn down service, free room service and access to the premium lounge. Turn down service is limited to bed service and replenishing beverages. It does not include towels and bathroom refresh. The hotel offers shuttle service within the property. We walked from our room to the main building without a problem. Walkways are safe and well maintained. Service was excellent. Staff were pleasant and accommodating. Overall an ok place to stay, have fun and relax.


    Jean Marie P, Manager at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this review
    Dear Charlie Thank you very much for the time you spent to share your personal impressions of your stay at our Occidental Papagayo. We always welcome feedback, as it allows us to continually improve the experience we create for our guests. We are very grateful for all the resort features you highlight in your extensive review and for the information and great tips you have provided our future guests. Your descriptive comments will prove helpful to many. It was our pleasure to attend you throughout your stay and we do hope we will have an opportunity in the future to welcome you back here with us. Kind regards, Jean Marie Prudencio General Manager Occidental Papagayo

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • may 20 2019
    • New Port Richey, Florida
    • Solo travel

    Voyage44434719022

    “Beautiful”


    It was a very relaxing trip. The scenery is beautiful. The food is excellent. Had no trouble finding something that I liked. The room are very spacious and very clean. Checking out the countryside was no problem with a shuttle available most anytime.


    Jean Marie P, Manager at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this review
    Dear Guest Thank you for the great feedback of your recent holiday experience at our Occidental Papagayo; guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that, we are happy our hotel and staff were able to meet all your needs during your stay. Again we thank you for this wonderful review, it has been a pleasure for us to read and we look forward to serving you again soon. Kind regards, Jean Marie Prudencio General Manager Occidental Papagayo

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • may 19 2019
    • perth amboy, United States
    • Couples

    P8390VOelizabethc

    “Not VIP membership friendly”


    25th wedding anniversary the hotel is a mess the food is mediocre t best the entertainment is minimal the rooms are old the towels are worn it needs a serious upgrade. VIP membership is non existent Won't return


    Jean Marie P, Manager at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this review
    Dear Elizabeth We appreciate you reaching out on Tripadvisor to notify us of your concerns related to your recent stay at our Occidental Papagayo hotel and apologize if you experienced any inconsistency in our service, we have read your review with our utmost attention and will take note of your constructive remarks. We also regret that our culinary offer could not meet your expectations, mainly because the quality and the diversity of our culinary offer counts to our strengths. We take your comments regarding our cuisine very seriously, because we wish that our gastronomy remains a very special treat for our guests. Thank you again for your visit and constructuve critics, our primary goal being to assure our guests feel comfortable and fully enjoy their visits, we are eager to regain your confidence during another occasion if you gave us that chance. Kind regards, Jean Marie Prudencio General Manager Occidental Papagayo

    Occidental Grand Papagayo Resort Hotel Restaurant

    Dreaming of a holiday in this idyllic hotel?

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in El Salvador

    Select El Salvador

    Hotels in Costa Rica

    Select Costa Rica

    Hotels in Ecuador

    Select Ecuador

    Hotels in Guatemala

    Select Guatemala

    Hotels in Nicaragua

    Select Nicaragua

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Aruba

    Select Aruba

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Hotels in Germany

    Select Germany

    Hotels in Bulgaria

    Select Bulgaria

    Hotels in Italy

    Select Italy

    Hotels in Greece

    Select Greece

    Hotels in Portugal

    Select Portugal

    Hotels in Hungria

    Select Hungria

    Hotels in Morocco

    Select Morocco

    Hotels in Egypt

    Select Egypt

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z