Amplia piscina del hotel Occidental Grand Papagayo Resort
map

Blvd. Playa Hermosa 800mts al norte   48-5000 Golfo de Papagayo , Guanacaste   Costa Rica  


Points of Interest

14 mi Daniel Oduber Quirós International Airport

19 mi Gulf of Papagayo

6 mi Coco Beach

2 mi Hermosa Beach

Premios y Reconocimientos

Prizes and Awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Occidental Papagayo - Adults only

4.0/5 Round Indicators
| 3836 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


Excellent

38% Complete

1465

Very good

32% Complete

1254

Average

15% Complete

587

Poor

8% Complete

317

Very poor

5% Complete

214

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    Eddie D Houston. 09/15/2018 Couples

    “Excellent Relaxation - If you like low key”

    Ok, where to begin. We stayed in a Master Suite (will be important later) at the end of August (rainy season, but not a problem...seriously, it rained twice, for 5 mins). We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. So much so, during the middle of it, we started figuring out if when we could come back...but this place isn't for everyone. Getting there: First off, fly Southwest Airlines into Liberia. If you plan to stay here, and you fly into San Jose, you are doing it wrong. Liberia is 15 mins away...San Jose is hours away. Be smart. Now, the hotel will arrange transportation for you. If you are a couple, you will overpay. If you are a large group, its perfect ($80 each way for a private van). The up side is you are met as you leave customs by a driver with your name and they will take you right to the lobby. If you hire a local taxi, they will drop you off at the security gate, and you will have to walk up ~50m (150ft) hill to the lobby. Up to you whether the few extra bucks is worth it. We did it and it was nice not to have to worry about it, although I acknowledge it was overpriced. But if you are pinching pennies on $160, you probably shouldn't be vacationing. Premium Level: So Occidental Papagayo (O.P.) has multiple levels of service. If you're read other reviews, you know this. I believe there is regular, deluxe, and Premium. If you can afford Premium, do it. If you can't, don't waste your time trying to go here...you wont enjoy yourself as much. You get what you pay for. The main benefits to Premium Level are you get a separate check in (Alex and Omar are awesome), which is contained on the second level, with its own bar and lounge area with A/C, a bar, and snacks. We loved hanging out here, b/c it had an awesome view of Culebra Bay. Next time we stay here, we will plan to spend more time here. The staff is great (tip them and you wont be sorry), and there are snacks all day. Contrary to what others have said, the check in is super quick and while they do go over all the rules, I think we spent all of 15 mins here, if even that. Room: We got a holiday deal on the Master Suite (50% off) via the Barcelo website (tip: you get extra perks if you sign up for Barcelo's loyalty program before you book...do it, it's free). The Master Suite is where it's at. Why? Four Reasons: 1) It's isolated...there are only 3 Master Suites on property, and they are all elevated and separated by themselves. 2) You get a golf cart. This place is on a hill, and it's not bad...but if you want to relax, you get a golf cart with the MS room. Do it!!!! Everyone you meet will be jealous. And it is very convenient. 3) You get a lot of space and your own balcony. The balcony has its own issues (later), but the separate sitting room is awesome when one person can't sleep. 4) There are perks included with the MS that you otherwise would have to pay for (Room Service, one laundry event, certain mini bar items, etc). Issues with the room: -as others have said, water pressure is hit or miss. Our shower pressure sucked, but we survived. We were at the top of a hill, so that's probably the main reason. - Wifi in the room was a total loss. However, I actually had better cell and data connection here in Costa Rica than I do at home, so just make sure your provide has a deal (I have Sprint, and they offer 1Gb of Int'l roaming data...more than enough for the 4 days we were there) - Hot tub/Ants - So the MS comes with a patio hot tub. Romantic, yes....but remember you are in a jungle environment. First day, I decided to test out the patio hot tub before use, and I was smart enough to fill it and test it before getting in...glad I did, or else this would have been a one star review :) Carpenter ants had infested the jets, so as soon as I turned them on, about 200 ants spewed out. Yup, it was 'awesome'. We had maintenance address it, but they were not able to get rid of them while we were there. However, it wasn't a deal breaker. Pace: This place is a low-key, adults only, limited night-life resort. If you dont understand this, or like it, don't come here. We loved it. It was quiet enough we were never bothered or bored. If you want to relax, come here. If you want to party, go to Mexico. Alcohol: Several reviews mention weak drinks or slow service. First off, it is Costa Rica, where the national motto is "Pura Vida"....(hakuna mattata)...relax people. You are at an all inclusive...your drink is weak? Order a double. Order two. Chill. Also, if you are paying All-Inclusive prices just to get drunk...guess what, YOU ARE DOING IT WRONG. A bottle of cheap booze costs $20. Stay at home and buy 5 and dont waste everyone's time. That being said...for folks who like to explore other cultures, the local vodka/rum is 'guaro'. Its nice. They make a shot of it called a 'chile guaro'...it's downright tasty. Try it. Food: If you've studied up on the O.P.'s reviews, you know that food comes across as a love hate item, and that Jean Marie is very protective of it. First off, no matter how stock Jean Marie's answers are (sorry, J.M., they are pretty stock....:) ) the food here exceeds expectations. I read enough reviews here to be skeptical when we went, but man, did we love what they were serving at the buffet. Sure they have rice and beans at every meal, but it's F***ing Costa Rica...the national dish is rice and beans. They really do have a word class chef team. The one exception are the specialty restaurants. It is literally a Costa Rican take on Italian and Asian cuisine....my Kung Pao chicken was served in a tortilla bowl -_-. Don't waste your time on them...the buffet is so far in the awesome realm, you wont be disappointed. Staff: All of them are awesome. Thanks Alex, Omar, Danny, Olman, and everyone else. A few are average, but most of them rock it. Also, tip your bartenders. You would be surprised how are a $10 or $20 goes. If you don't understand this, then you never will. Overall: The O.P. is a mid-range resort. And you get what you pay for here. But you can find an awesome deal if you look for it. The staff is awesome and laid back, the grounds are gorgeous, it is easy to get to, and it is relaxing. Thanks everyone, for an enjoyable stay!

    Papagayo O, Gerente at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this review
     Dear Eddie Thank you for taking the time to share your recent vacation experience at Occidental Papagayo. We are so pleased to read that you had a great time and appreciate all of your feedback. We would also like to say how grateful we are to you for your extensive and descriptive review, highlighting important features of the resort and providing our future guests with useful tips and suggestions that will enhance their vacation experience and you have highlighted some great points. We are thrilled to read your praising comments about our staff as we strive to provide our guests with a caring and personalized service and we lay high value on our personnel being guest orientated and welcoming at all times, will be a great source of motivation, we will certainly not fail to convey your very kind compliments to all of them. Again we thank you for this review on TripAdvisor, it has been a pleasure for us to read and very much look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Kind Regards. Jean Marie Prudencio General Manager Occidental Papagayo

    Round Indicators
    Natalia C Alajuela, Costa Rica. 09/15/2018 Couples

    “There are better options”

    Considering the price and service, there are other hotels better than this one. Service needs to be improved. There is no need to pay extra for the premium experience if you are thinking about it.There is a walk to the beach, there is a cart that take you around but not the best service.

    Papagayo O, Gerente at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this review
     Dear Natalia C Thank you for choosing Occidental Papagayo as your holiday destination. Our goal is to serve all our guests with the highest level of service and satisfaction. We are always concerned about guest’s wellbeing and strive to make their holiday an unforgettable experience. We always strive to give the best value to our guests studying the prices in accordance with hotels of the same category in our area. Also, our Guests can opt to pay for our Royal Club package. Apart from the difference in rooms and suites, some of the VIP facilities and amenities offered in this package include Complimentary WIFI in room, Room Service, Reserved Pool Seating and Exclusive Pool Bar, Eco Mountain Bike Tour, exclusive Royal Club Lounge and Bar, personal concierge service with preferential dinner and spa reservations, premium bath amenities, pillow menu, aromatics menu, turndown service and whirlpool bath preparation etc.Rest assured that we are continually working to improve our facilities and services to all our guests. We truly value your comments and we hope to have the opportunity to host you in the future to not only meet but exceed your expectations and to demonstrate the high quality service of our brand. Kind Regards, Mr. Jean Marie P General Manager Occidental Papagayo

    Round Indicators
    Minal S 09/09/2018 Couples

    “Great Adults-only property”

    If you want a laidback decent property with great grounds, nice buildings, great views, and good food, then this is the property for you. No kids running around, and no screaming teenagers in the pool: big plus for us. The beach is private and safe as well. If you opt for the Premier package the bartenders are top notch. In fact, at every bar, the bartenders are super cool. However, I did notice an older crowd, and weekends were primarily honeymooners. Maybe it was the off season, but the resort seemed empty. The staff, especially in the restaurants couldn't be nicer. They are well trained, and very pleasing. All in all, very little to complain about. I didn't care for the included resort activities, but if you are going out for sightseeing, it should not matter much. We came back very happy.

    Papagayo O, Gerente at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this review
     Dear Minal S Thank you for taking the time to share your recent vacation experience at Occidental Papagayo. We are so pleased to read that you had a great time and appreciate all of your feedback. We would also like to say how grateful we are to you for your descriptive review about our facilities and services, highlighting important features of the resort and providing our future guests with useful tips and suggestions that will enhance their vacation experience. We are thrilled to read your praising comments about our staff as we strive to provide our guests with a caring and personalized service and we lay high value on our personnel being guest orientated and welcoming at all times. It was our pleasure to attend you throughout your stay and we do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back here in the not too distant future. Kind Regards, Jean Marie Prudencio General Manager Occidental Papagayo

    Round Indicators
    HisLovelyWife New York City, New York. 09/06/2018 Friends getaway

    “I can't describe it!”

    Pros: The Views are BEAUTIFUL! The wait staff are friendly and professional, especially Luis in the restaurant. The manager is doing the best that he can with what the owners give him. Sometimes you get the truth. The al la cart restaurants are WONDERFUL! Cons: Poor liquor selection, even with the upgrade, at least in the Members Club there was good AC. The bartenders would say that they don't have a particular option, then reach under the counter and tell you that they can only give you a single shot. The television service was down for 24 hours straight. You constantly have to call for hand towels, and mini bar. You only get 1 bottle of water per day. The hotel ground transportation is difficult to get on and off, and you have to hold on tight! The pools are not cleaned daily, as we saw the leaves every day. There is no bar service on the beach, which is a public beach. Many people bring their dogs to the beach with them. This is definitely a public, family beach. (There is hotel security at the beach and they are diligent with keeping a watchful eye on you: PRO) The buffets leave so much left to be desired , if it were not for the fried chicken, one could go hungry. They do not keep the grill clean and the soups are flavored, colored water. (BUT the ice-cream is good!: PRO) This felt like a low budget hotel that caters more to local residents than tourist. I hope that Barcelo gives the manager the budget that he needs to improve this hotel, so he can: expand the buffets options and offer bacon, hot pancakes or waffles, seafood (no shrimp were available) open the Steak House and figure out the AC situation in the lobby bar. Overall some of the activities were fun but very inconsistent. Also the entertainment staff needs a consistent uniform. Oh and...someone needs to clean up the animal feces.. The hotel appears to have very dedicated staff members who are customer service oriented, they should be commended for their dedication to the service industry.

    Papagayo O, Gerente at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this review
     Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to share your recent vacation experience at Occidental Papagayo hotel. We thank you for all your valuable feedback which provides us with an excellent tool in order to improve our facilities and services to all our guests. We are thrilled to read your praising comments about our staff as we strive to provide our guests with a caring and personalized service and we lay high value on our personnel being guest orientated and welcoming at all times. It is also good to know that you enjoyed the many culinary delights prepared by our professional Chefs in our A la Carte Restaurants who always strive to offer a wide variety of international delights in order to please all palates and we thank you for letting us know that we could conquer yours, it is also good to read that you enjoyed the views from the different sites of the hotel. With regard to the other issues you mentioned I would like to point out the following: Daily in the mini fridge in the rooms there are two bottles of water, two beers and two sodas or if you like you can fill it with only water if you request it, also we have water stations positioned throughout the resort in order to replenish the bottles. We also regret that our buffet could not meet your expectations, mainly because the quality and the diversity of our culinary offer counts to our strengths, this is why our chefs have created a varied assortment of options to please every type of palate. Although I would like to take the opportunity to point out that our Executive Chefs follow a two weeks menu rotation including a wide array of both local and international delicacies to cater for all diet requirements and please the most demanding palates, this is why we are sorry to read that we were not able to conquer yours and will make sure to discuss your critics with our team. We appreciate all your suggestions regarding pool area, although we follow a daily cleaning plan we will sure to take your comments on board. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the difficulties you had with our T.V service, unfortunately our internet provider could not restore the service as swiftly as we would have liked. Once again we thank you for sharing this valuable feedback with us, please rest assured that the information you have provided will be used accordingly to enhance our future guests' experiences among us and we hope you will visit us again in the future. Kind Regards, Jean Marie Prudencio General Manager Occidental Papagayo

    Round Indicators
    holtgreven3 09/02/2018 Couples

    “Honeymoon gone bad.”

    Upon arrival we were greeted by no one. We had to wait around to figure out what desk to go to. Once we ended up sitting down somewhere we finally got checked in, but our room was not ready. We decided to try and go get a bite to eat while our room was getting ready. Nobody took our luggage, so it had to sit in the wide open lobby where any one else can access it and easily steal our belongings. As we walked to the “snack bar” or more like the grossest buffet I’ve ever seen, there was flies all over the food and birds everywhere that were ready to attack if you dropped something. We immediately decided we would not eat at the resort and go else where because the food looked so disgusting. We thought maybe the drinks would be better, so we walked next to the bar. My husband asked for two margaritas. The bartender cuts opens a lime to use to make the rims of our glass wet for the salt. He then takes the same lime he used for our glasses and put it back in the pile of limes for the next person. How unsanitary can it get? We still had another two hours until check in time. At this point we decided to walk down to the beach and see about the kayak rentals, for the front desk told us we needed 24 hours in advance reservations. We get to the rental table and they say, no you do not need reservations at all. It’s first come first serve, so now we notice miscommunication between the front desk and the aquatic workers. We stayed there until our check in time, but quickly realized this was not a private beach. There was locals everywhere with their families and dogs next to us. How did we know our belongings were safe on the beach? As we arrived back in the lobby there was nobody there for twenty minutes at the taxi booth or at the adventure desk to book anything for the following day. We were hoping that our room wouldn’t be too terrible at this point compared to everything else we had seen. However, as the front desk worker handed us our room keys he said if we lose them, or if they get deactivated due to being close to our cell phones they would not be able to provide us with new ones. How is that for customer service?? We hopped on the shuttle to take us to our room and the two ladies next to us tell us how they just had to pay for a taxi to get back to the resort because the shuttle service through the resort never came to pick them up even though they each paid them for a “round trip” Another huge turnoff. As we walk into our room five hours after we got there (our luggage sat in the lobby for five hours) we arrived at our “motel” room were we see spider webs in the corners of the room, hair all over the floor and sheets, a melted hair dryer, the toilet paper dispenser hanging off of the wall, dirt on the shower door, and no paper towels in the bathrooms. It was worse than a super 8 motel off the highway in the Midwest. We walked to our deck and could immediately hear loud music and people screaming. There was no privacy by our room, pool, spa, and no where to just relax.

    Papagayo O, Gerente at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this review
     Dear Guest Thank you for choosing Occidental Papagayo as your holiday destination. Our goal is to serve all our guests with the highest level of service and satisfaction; however we are always concerned about guest's well being and strives to make their holiday an unforgettable experience. Rest assured that we are continually working to improve our facilities and services to all our guests. It is also with great concern that we have read your comments on our réception team as it is renowned in the hospitality industry that the first 10 minutes at the réception and the last 10 upon check out contribute greatly to the reputation of a hotel; please be assured that your comments have been shared with the concerned managers so they can make the appropriate adjustments in the areas you mentioned. We regret that you felt the quality or variety of our culinary options did not meet your expectations. Apart from our specialty restaurants, we strive to offer a broad selection of international dishes in order to suit all tastes and to provide our guests with an enjoyable dining experience. We take your comments regarding our cuisine very seriously, because we wish that our gastronomy remains a very special treat for our guests. We take the opportunity to tell you that we have surveillance cameras and security officers throughout our hotel, to ensure that our visitors feel the tranquility of leaving their bags in our reception area, guarded by our employees; it is also important to mention that the kayak activity that we offer at the hotel must be previously reserved. We do apologize for the technical problems you encountered; there are absolutely no excuses for details to be overlooked as all rooms should be thoroughly checked on a daily basis. We will make sure that the procedure is being reinforced. Please be assured that your comments will be taken into serious consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. Once again, thank you for your time and despite the issues you have raised following your stay, we hope that Barceló will remain an option for your next holiday and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future. Kind Regards, Jean Marie Prudencio General Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • september 15 2018
    • Houston
    • Couples

    Eddie D

    “Excellent Relaxation - If you like low key”


    Ok, where to begin. We stayed in a Master Suite (will be important later) at the end of August (rainy season, but not a problem...seriously, it rained twice, for 5 mins). We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. So much so, during the middle of it, we started figuring out if when we could come back...but this place isn't for everyone. Getting there: First off, fly Southwest Airlines into Liberia. If you plan to stay here, and you fly into San Jose, you are doing it wrong. Liberia is 15 mins away...San Jose is hours away. Be smart. Now, the hotel will arrange transportation for you. If you are a couple, you will overpay. If you are a large group, its perfect ($80 each way for a private van). The up side is you are met as you leave customs by a driver with your name and they will take you right to the lobby. If you hire a local taxi, they will drop you off at the security gate, and you will have to walk up ~50m (150ft) hill to the lobby. Up to you whether the few extra bucks is worth it. We did it and it was nice not to have to worry about it, although I acknowledge it was overpriced. But if you are pinching pennies on $160, you probably shouldn't be vacationing. Premium Level: So Occidental Papagayo (O.P.) has multiple levels of service. If you're read other reviews, you know this. I believe there is regular, deluxe, and Premium. If you can afford Premium, do it. If you can't, don't waste your time trying to go here...you wont enjoy yourself as much. You get what you pay for. The main benefits to Premium Level are you get a separate check in (Alex and Omar are awesome), which is contained on the second level, with its own bar and lounge area with A/C, a bar, and snacks. We loved hanging out here, b/c it had an awesome view of Culebra Bay. Next time we stay here, we will plan to spend more time here. The staff is great (tip them and you wont be sorry), and there are snacks all day. Contrary to what others have said, the check in is super quick and while they do go over all the rules, I think we spent all of 15 mins here, if even that. Room: We got a holiday deal on the Master Suite (50% off) via the Barcelo website (tip: you get extra perks if you sign up for Barcelo's loyalty program before you book...do it, it's free). The Master Suite is where it's at. Why? Four Reasons: 1) It's isolated...there are only 3 Master Suites on property, and they are all elevated and separated by themselves. 2) You get a golf cart. This place is on a hill, and it's not bad...but if you want to relax, you get a golf cart with the MS room. Do it!!!! Everyone you meet will be jealous. And it is very convenient. 3) You get a lot of space and your own balcony. The balcony has its own issues (later), but the separate sitting room is awesome when one person can't sleep. 4) There are perks included with the MS that you otherwise would have to pay for (Room Service, one laundry event, certain mini bar items, etc). Issues with the room: -as others have said, water pressure is hit or miss. Our shower pressure sucked, but we survived. We were at the top of a hill, so that's probably the main reason. - Wifi in the room was a total loss. However, I actually had better cell and data connection here in Costa Rica than I do at home, so just make sure your provide has a deal (I have Sprint, and they offer 1Gb of Int'l roaming data...more than enough for the 4 days we were there) - Hot tub/Ants - So the MS comes with a patio hot tub. Romantic, yes....but remember you are in a jungle environment. First day, I decided to test out the patio hot tub before use, and I was smart enough to fill it and test it before getting in...glad I did, or else this would have been a one star review :) Carpenter ants had infested the jets, so as soon as I turned them on, about 200 ants spewed out. Yup, it was 'awesome'. We had maintenance address it, but they were not able to get rid of them while we were there. However, it wasn't a deal breaker. Pace: This place is a low-key, adults only, limited night-life resort. If you dont understand this, or like it, don't come here. We loved it. It was quiet enough we were never bothered or bored. If you want to relax, come here. If you want to party, go to Mexico. Alcohol: Several reviews mention weak drinks or slow service. First off, it is Costa Rica, where the national motto is "Pura Vida"....(hakuna mattata)...relax people. You are at an all inclusive...your drink is weak? Order a double. Order two. Chill. Also, if you are paying All-Inclusive prices just to get drunk...guess what, YOU ARE DOING IT WRONG. A bottle of cheap booze costs $20. Stay at home and buy 5 and dont waste everyone's time. That being said...for folks who like to explore other cultures, the local vodka/rum is 'guaro'. Its nice. They make a shot of it called a 'chile guaro'...it's downright tasty. Try it. Food: If you've studied up on the O.P.'s reviews, you know that food comes across as a love hate item, and that Jean Marie is very protective of it. First off, no matter how stock Jean Marie's answers are (sorry, J.M., they are pretty stock....:) ) the food here exceeds expectations. I read enough reviews here to be skeptical when we went, but man, did we love what they were serving at the buffet. Sure they have rice and beans at every meal, but it's F***ing Costa Rica...the national dish is rice and beans. They really do have a word class chef team. The one exception are the specialty restaurants. It is literally a Costa Rican take on Italian and Asian cuisine....my Kung Pao chicken was served in a tortilla bowl -_-. Don't waste your time on them...the buffet is so far in the awesome realm, you wont be disappointed. Staff: All of them are awesome. Thanks Alex, Omar, Danny, Olman, and everyone else. A few are average, but most of them rock it. Also, tip your bartenders. You would be surprised how are a $10 or $20 goes. If you don't understand this, then you never will. Overall: The O.P. is a mid-range resort. And you get what you pay for here. But you can find an awesome deal if you look for it. The staff is awesome and laid back, the grounds are gorgeous, it is easy to get to, and it is relaxing. Thanks everyone, for an enjoyable stay!


    Papagayo O, Gerente at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this review
    Dear Eddie Thank you for taking the time to share your recent vacation experience at Occidental Papagayo. We are so pleased to read that you had a great time and appreciate all of your feedback. We would also like to say how grateful we are to you for your extensive and descriptive review, highlighting important features of the resort and providing our future guests with useful tips and suggestions that will enhance their vacation experience and you have highlighted some great points. We are thrilled to read your praising comments about our staff as we strive to provide our guests with a caring and personalized service and we lay high value on our personnel being guest orientated and welcoming at all times, will be a great source of motivation, we will certainly not fail to convey your very kind compliments to all of them. Again we thank you for this review on TripAdvisor, it has been a pleasure for us to read and very much look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Kind Regards. Jean Marie Prudencio General Manager Occidental Papagayo

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • september 15 2018
    • Alajuela, Costa Rica
    • Couples

    Natalia C

    “There are better options”


    Considering the price and service, there are other hotels better than this one. Service needs to be improved. There is no need to pay extra for the premium experience if you are thinking about it.There is a walk to the beach, there is a cart that take you around but not the best service.


    Papagayo O, Gerente at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this review
    Dear Natalia C Thank you for choosing Occidental Papagayo as your holiday destination. Our goal is to serve all our guests with the highest level of service and satisfaction. We are always concerned about guest’s wellbeing and strive to make their holiday an unforgettable experience. We always strive to give the best value to our guests studying the prices in accordance with hotels of the same category in our area. Also, our Guests can opt to pay for our Royal Club package. Apart from the difference in rooms and suites, some of the VIP facilities and amenities offered in this package include Complimentary WIFI in room, Room Service, Reserved Pool Seating and Exclusive Pool Bar, Eco Mountain Bike Tour, exclusive Royal Club Lounge and Bar, personal concierge service with preferential dinner and spa reservations, premium bath amenities, pillow menu, aromatics menu, turndown service and whirlpool bath preparation etc.Rest assured that we are continually working to improve our facilities and services to all our guests. We truly value your comments and we hope to have the opportunity to host you in the future to not only meet but exceed your expectations and to demonstrate the high quality service of our brand. Kind Regards, Mr. Jean Marie P General Manager Occidental Papagayo

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • september 9 2018
    • Couples

    Minal S

    “Great Adults-only property”


    If you want a laidback decent property with great grounds, nice buildings, great views, and good food, then this is the property for you. No kids running around, and no screaming teenagers in the pool: big plus for us. The beach is private and safe as well. If you opt for the Premier package the bartenders are top notch. In fact, at every bar, the bartenders are super cool. However, I did notice an older crowd, and weekends were primarily honeymooners. Maybe it was the off season, but the resort seemed empty. The staff, especially in the restaurants couldn't be nicer. They are well trained, and very pleasing. All in all, very little to complain about. I didn't care for the included resort activities, but if you are going out for sightseeing, it should not matter much. We came back very happy.


    Papagayo O, Gerente at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this review
    Dear Minal S Thank you for taking the time to share your recent vacation experience at Occidental Papagayo. We are so pleased to read that you had a great time and appreciate all of your feedback. We would also like to say how grateful we are to you for your descriptive review about our facilities and services, highlighting important features of the resort and providing our future guests with useful tips and suggestions that will enhance their vacation experience. We are thrilled to read your praising comments about our staff as we strive to provide our guests with a caring and personalized service and we lay high value on our personnel being guest orientated and welcoming at all times. It was our pleasure to attend you throughout your stay and we do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back here in the not too distant future. Kind Regards, Jean Marie Prudencio General Manager Occidental Papagayo

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • september 6 2018
    • New York City, New York
    • Friends getaway

    HisLovelyWife

    “I can't describe it!”


    Pros: The Views are BEAUTIFUL! The wait staff are friendly and professional, especially Luis in the restaurant. The manager is doing the best that he can with what the owners give him. Sometimes you get the truth. The al la cart restaurants are WONDERFUL! Cons: Poor liquor selection, even with the upgrade, at least in the Members Club there was good AC. The bartenders would say that they don't have a particular option, then reach under the counter and tell you that they can only give you a single shot. The television service was down for 24 hours straight. You constantly have to call for hand towels, and mini bar. You only get 1 bottle of water per day. The hotel ground transportation is difficult to get on and off, and you have to hold on tight! The pools are not cleaned daily, as we saw the leaves every day. There is no bar service on the beach, which is a public beach. Many people bring their dogs to the beach with them. This is definitely a public, family beach. (There is hotel security at the beach and they are diligent with keeping a watchful eye on you: PRO) The buffets leave so much left to be desired , if it were not for the fried chicken, one could go hungry. They do not keep the grill clean and the soups are flavored, colored water. (BUT the ice-cream is good!: PRO) This felt like a low budget hotel that caters more to local residents than tourist. I hope that Barcelo gives the manager the budget that he needs to improve this hotel, so he can: expand the buffets options and offer bacon, hot pancakes or waffles, seafood (no shrimp were available) open the Steak House and figure out the AC situation in the lobby bar. Overall some of the activities were fun but very inconsistent. Also the entertainment staff needs a consistent uniform. Oh and...someone needs to clean up the animal feces.. The hotel appears to have very dedicated staff members who are customer service oriented, they should be commended for their dedication to the service industry.


    Papagayo O, Gerente at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this review
    Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to share your recent vacation experience at Occidental Papagayo hotel. We thank you for all your valuable feedback which provides us with an excellent tool in order to improve our facilities and services to all our guests. We are thrilled to read your praising comments about our staff as we strive to provide our guests with a caring and personalized service and we lay high value on our personnel being guest orientated and welcoming at all times. It is also good to know that you enjoyed the many culinary delights prepared by our professional Chefs in our A la Carte Restaurants who always strive to offer a wide variety of international delights in order to please all palates and we thank you for letting us know that we could conquer yours, it is also good to read that you enjoyed the views from the different sites of the hotel. With regard to the other issues you mentioned I would like to point out the following: Daily in the mini fridge in the rooms there are two bottles of water, two beers and two sodas or if you like you can fill it with only water if you request it, also we have water stations positioned throughout the resort in order to replenish the bottles. We also regret that our buffet could not meet your expectations, mainly because the quality and the diversity of our culinary offer counts to our strengths, this is why our chefs have created a varied assortment of options to please every type of palate. Although I would like to take the opportunity to point out that our Executive Chefs follow a two weeks menu rotation including a wide array of both local and international delicacies to cater for all diet requirements and please the most demanding palates, this is why we are sorry to read that we were not able to conquer yours and will make sure to discuss your critics with our team. We appreciate all your suggestions regarding pool area, although we follow a daily cleaning plan we will sure to take your comments on board. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the difficulties you had with our T.V service, unfortunately our internet provider could not restore the service as swiftly as we would have liked. Once again we thank you for sharing this valuable feedback with us, please rest assured that the information you have provided will be used accordingly to enhance our future guests' experiences among us and we hope you will visit us again in the future. Kind Regards, Jean Marie Prudencio General Manager Occidental Papagayo

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • september 2 2018
    • Couples

    holtgreven3

    “Honeymoon gone bad.”


    Upon arrival we were greeted by no one. We had to wait around to figure out what desk to go to. Once we ended up sitting down somewhere we finally got checked in, but our room was not ready. We decided to try and go get a bite to eat while our room was getting ready. Nobody took our luggage, so it had to sit in the wide open lobby where any one else can access it and easily steal our belongings. As we walked to the “snack bar” or more like the grossest buffet I’ve ever seen, there was flies all over the food and birds everywhere that were ready to attack if you dropped something. We immediately decided we would not eat at the resort and go else where because the food looked so disgusting. We thought maybe the drinks would be better, so we walked next to the bar. My husband asked for two margaritas. The bartender cuts opens a lime to use to make the rims of our glass wet for the salt. He then takes the same lime he used for our glasses and put it back in the pile of limes for the next person. How unsanitary can it get? We still had another two hours until check in time. At this point we decided to walk down to the beach and see about the kayak rentals, for the front desk told us we needed 24 hours in advance reservations. We get to the rental table and they say, no you do not need reservations at all. It’s first come first serve, so now we notice miscommunication between the front desk and the aquatic workers. We stayed there until our check in time, but quickly realized this was not a private beach. There was locals everywhere with their families and dogs next to us. How did we know our belongings were safe on the beach? As we arrived back in the lobby there was nobody there for twenty minutes at the taxi booth or at the adventure desk to book anything for the following day. We were hoping that our room wouldn’t be too terrible at this point compared to everything else we had seen. However, as the front desk worker handed us our room keys he said if we lose them, or if they get deactivated due to being close to our cell phones they would not be able to provide us with new ones. How is that for customer service?? We hopped on the shuttle to take us to our room and the two ladies next to us tell us how they just had to pay for a taxi to get back to the resort because the shuttle service through the resort never came to pick them up even though they each paid them for a “round trip” Another huge turnoff. As we walk into our room five hours after we got there (our luggage sat in the lobby for five hours) we arrived at our “motel” room were we see spider webs in the corners of the room, hair all over the floor and sheets, a melted hair dryer, the toilet paper dispenser hanging off of the wall, dirt on the shower door, and no paper towels in the bathrooms. It was worse than a super 8 motel off the highway in the Midwest. We walked to our deck and could immediately hear loud music and people screaming. There was no privacy by our room, pool, spa, and no where to just relax.


    Papagayo O, Gerente at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this review
    Dear Guest Thank you for choosing Occidental Papagayo as your holiday destination. Our goal is to serve all our guests with the highest level of service and satisfaction; however we are always concerned about guest's well being and strives to make their holiday an unforgettable experience. Rest assured that we are continually working to improve our facilities and services to all our guests. It is also with great concern that we have read your comments on our réception team as it is renowned in the hospitality industry that the first 10 minutes at the réception and the last 10 upon check out contribute greatly to the reputation of a hotel; please be assured that your comments have been shared with the concerned managers so they can make the appropriate adjustments in the areas you mentioned. We regret that you felt the quality or variety of our culinary options did not meet your expectations. Apart from our specialty restaurants, we strive to offer a broad selection of international dishes in order to suit all tastes and to provide our guests with an enjoyable dining experience. We take your comments regarding our cuisine very seriously, because we wish that our gastronomy remains a very special treat for our guests. We take the opportunity to tell you that we have surveillance cameras and security officers throughout our hotel, to ensure that our visitors feel the tranquility of leaving their bags in our reception area, guarded by our employees; it is also important to mention that the kayak activity that we offer at the hotel must be previously reserved. We do apologize for the technical problems you encountered; there are absolutely no excuses for details to be overlooked as all rooms should be thoroughly checked on a daily basis. We will make sure that the procedure is being reinforced. Please be assured that your comments will be taken into serious consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. Once again, thank you for your time and despite the issues you have raised following your stay, we hope that Barceló will remain an option for your next holiday and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future. Kind Regards, Jean Marie Prudencio General Manager

    Occidental Grand Papagayo Resort Hotel Restaurant

    Dreaming of a holiday in this idyllic hotel?

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in El Salvador

    Select El Salvador

    Hotels in Costa Rica

    Select Costa Rica

    Hotels in Ecuador

    Select Ecuador

    Hotels in Guatemala

    Select Guatemala

    Hotels in Nicaragua

    Select Nicaragua

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Aruba

    Select Aruba

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Hotels in Germany

    Select Germany

    Hotels in Bulgaria

    Select Bulgaria

    Hotels in Czech Republic

    Select Czech Republic

    Hotels in Italy

    Select Italy

    Hotels in Greece

    Select Greece

    Hotels in Portugal

    Select Portugal

    Hotels in Morocco

    Select Morocco

    Hotels in Egypt

    Select Egypt