Occidental Grand Papagayo Resort Hotel Beach

Occidental Papagayo - Adults only

Texto: 44146 Luxurious, all inclusive resort, reserved exclusively for adults, surrounded by the magnificent natural beauty of the Gulf of Papagayo. Blvd. Playa Hermosa 800mts al norte | 48-5000 | Golfo de Papagayo | Guanacaste | Costa Rica
+ 50 626 908 000 + 50 626 720 057
Occidental Papagayo - Adults only Texto: 44146 4 out of 5 based on 3527 ratings. 3527 user reviews.
Occidental Papagayo - Adults only reviewed by rickschick927 on . Beautiful Resort, but both pools were cloudy. I wouldn't step into either one. All restaurants where small, small verity of food. Pools were cloudy and I wouldn't step into either one. I traveled in a group of 7 and when it was time to return to the airport, 2 people in our... Rating: 3
map

Occidental Papagayo - Adults only

Blvd. Playa Hermosa 800mts al norte   48-5000   Golfo de Papagayo   Guanacaste   Costa Rica  


Points of Interest

14 mi Daniel Oduber Quirós International Airport

19 mi Gulf of Papagayo

6 mi Coco Beach

2 mi Hermosa Beach

Premios y Reconocimientos Prizes and Awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Occidental Papagayo - Adults only

4.0/5 Round Indicators
| 3528 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


GUESTS’ SCORE

Excellent

37% Complete

1311

Very good

33% Complete

1173

Average

15% Complete

549

Poor

8% Complete

293

Very poor

5% Complete

202

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    rickschick927 Phoenix, Arizona. 02/20/2018 Friends getaway

    “Beautiful Resort, but both pools were cloudy. I wouldn't step into either one.”

    All restaurants where small, small verity of food. Pools were cloudy and I wouldn't step into either one. I traveled in a group of 7 and when it was time to return to the airport, 2 people in our group, there luggage was missing. It was taken by a different taxi and we where very lucky to have the employees help us with this matter.

    Jean Marie P, Gerente at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this review
     Dear Rick We greatly appreciate the time you spent to review your recent experience in our hotel, at Occidental Papagayuo we always strive to exceed guests' expectations and your comments will help our teams reaching that goal. Moreover, we lament reading that our buffet offer did not live up to your expectations as our professional Chefs strive to surprise our guests with a high standard gastronomy and the possibility to savor the best of the local cuisine as well as the finest international delights, however as we receive guests of all nationalities and ages, we do not over spice the dishes in order to please all palates, nevertheless there is a wide spice station in our buffet for our guests to help themselves and season their dishes to their liking. We are thrilled to read your praising comments about our staff as we strive to provide our guests with a caring and personalized service and we lay high value on our personnel being guest orientated and welcoming at all times. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certaily look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future. Kind regards Jean Marie Prudencio General Manager

    Round Indicators
    kimandmike Mosinee, Wisconsin. 02/20/2018 Couples

    “Fantastic vacation at a beautiful resort”

    My husband and I vacationed here with 2 other couples last week. I have to admit I was a little concerned after reading some of the negative reviews but I have to say we had an absolute wonderful time! The only glitch we had was our air conditioning went out 2 days after we were there. They moved us to a different room while it was fixed and then we were able to move back, it was a hassle but they handled the problem well. From check in to check out we met the most helpful, friendly people, we had great customer service! I have to give a shout out Mario at the check in desk, so helpful in locating a room on the second floor when we checked in and always had a smile when I ran into him in the lobby! Also Juan Carlos, the pool bar person, who took care of us at the pool bringing us our margaritas every day, what an asset to your hotel, we miss you already! Brian at the disco also great, we requested some music for us "older" people and he played what we asked and also turned down the music for our listening ears! The evenings were spent on their beautiful patio overlooking the bay listening to violin, guitar, and other instruments. We didn't miss the big production shows that we have seen at other resorts, we enjoyed each others company and visiting. The shuttle buses were greatly appreciated, especially since we were in building 14, up a hill. No problem catching a shuttle to our room, lobby, pool, or beach. The resort is beautiful and clean with lots of wildlife raccoons, monkeys, iguanas, birds, etc. They kept us entertained. Didn't spend too much time at the beach, very windy while we there but did swim in the ocean a couple of times. We booked two tours with Roberto and Neryas at the beach and they were absolutely perfect. The food was wonderful. Loved the omelets in the morning and the food throughout the day was good, especially enjoyed the Italian restaurant!! It was one of the best vacations we had and we would definitely go back and recommend to others looking for a relaxing vacation in beautiful Costa Rica!

    Jean Marie P, Gerente at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this review
     Dear Kim and Mike Thank you for the great feedback of your recent holiday experience at our Occidental Papagayo; guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that, we are happy our hotel and staff were able to meet all your needs during your stay. Thank you for your very nice compliments for our team, they do work very hard every day to make sure our guests feel well attended to at all times and definitely are an asset to our hotel. We will certainly relay your praising comments to all of them and we are sure they will be pleased to know their efforts have been appreciated. We also greatly appreciate your comments on the quality and variety of our buffets because our talented team of Chefs strive to ensure a wide variety of both local and international delicacies for each service to please all palates, it is indeed very rewarding to read that we were able to conquer yours. Again we thank you for this wonderful review, it has been a pleasure for us to read and we look forward to serving you again soon Kind regards Jean Marie Prudencio General Manager

    Round Indicators
    GallopingMajor46 Toronto. 02/20/2018 Couples

    “Lovely spot with one big disappointment”

    I wish I could rate this hotel with 5 stars, but their handling of our situation was disappointing. The amenities of the hotel are well-described in other reviews and I agree with the good ones. We booked 8 days at $3088, which was charged at check-in on Feb 7. The charge was processed immediately. Late on Feb. 8, we were informed that a close family member had died back home. We managed to get new flight arrangements (with the great help of Alex of the hotel staff) to fly home 2 days early on Feb 13 for the funeral. On the morning of Feb 9, we informed the front desk we'd be leaving 2 days early. Upon check-out on the 13th, they said they had no record of being informed of this. However, they would credit us with one night's stay. I thought it should be two nights but, under the stressful circumstances, I didn't complain. They took my credit card and I signed a form for the refund. Now, one week later, I find that not even the one night refund has been processed. Not acceptable.

    Jean Marie P, Gerente at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this review
     Dear Guest We first would like to thank you for choosing our Occidental Papagayo for your holidays in February and for letting us know your concerns relating to your time in our hotel as it gives us an opportunity to look at areas which may have for improvement and for that we are grateful. Occidental has a policy for the reimbursement system, which has a time limit and approximately 20 days to apply it, your case was informed by the partner of Premium level and together with the head of reserves and accounting are working in the reimbursement process for your days of lodging that were not used. At the same time we apologize for the inconveniences, it was a pleasure to serve you during your stay. Once more we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and very much look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Kind regards Jean Marie Prudencio General Manager

    Round Indicators
    lanseeuw Winnipeg, Canada. 02/18/2018 Friends getaway

    “nice hotel”

    nice hotel, but lots of stairs. Food was okay. Staff very nice. Pools were okay. Beach was nice but windy at the time we stayed. Specialty restaurants were very good. Service was adequate. mixed alcohol drinks were good.

    Jean Marie P, Gerente at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this review
     Dear Guest Thank you very much for leaving these wonderful comments on Tripadvisor, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay among us. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding the service you received from our team members, we will make sure to share your kind words as we know it will mean a great deal to them. Last but not least, it fills us with pride that you could enjoy the gastronomical efforts of our chefs as we strive to satisfy the many culinary wishes of our guests offering the most delicious international and local dishes. Thank you again for this heartwarming review of your stay with us, we look forward to your next visit. Kind regards Jean Marie Prudencio General Manager

    Round Indicators
    Angela F Dawson Creek, Canada. 02/16/2018 Couples

    “Romantic Getaway on the Beach”

    My husband and I spent 6 days at this resort for our anniversary. This was our first experience with an all-inclusive vacation and we were very pleased with the service we received, the food (we mostly ate at the buffet which offered a good selection of fresh food), and the amenities. Our room was clean and very private, well maintained throughout our stay. We had the premium level vacation which meant we had access to the premium lounge with a concierge who took care of arranging our dinner reservations at the restaurants, tours in the region and any questions we had. The hotel offers a busy activity schedule which we didn't take advantage of, so I can't speak for the activities. The concierge arranged a tour for us and we were very happy with the tour company and activities that were arranged. The beach along the resort is a public beach and we met another guide there that arranged another tour for us. We were very happy with that one as well. While the beach is public, it feels very safe and there always seemed to be someone from the hotel security nearby keeping an eye on things, as well as beach chairs for guest use during the day, kayaks and snorkels to use free of charge. We loved the beautiful view off our room in building 8, and how seldom we had to stand in line or wait a long time for drinks or food. I would stay here again.

    Jean Marie P, Gerente at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this review
     Dear Angela We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories and we are very grateful for the time and effort you spent to share your personal experience at our Occidental Papagayo hotel with us and Tripadvisor readers. Our staff welcomes each guest with the Occidental spirit and strives to assist in any possible way to ensure everyone has a pleasant stay, it is indeed very rewarding to read that you have appreciated their genuine helpfulness throughout your holidays among us. Once more we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and very much look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Kind regards Jean Marie Prudencio General Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 20 2018
    • Phoenix, Arizona
    • Friends getaway

    rickschick927

    “Beautiful Resort, but both pools were cloudy. I wouldn't step into either one.”


    All restaurants where small, small verity of food. Pools were cloudy and I wouldn't step into either one. I traveled in a group of 7 and when it was time to return to the airport, 2 people in our group, there luggage was missing. It was taken by a different taxi and we where very lucky to have the employees help us with this matter.


    Jean Marie P, Gerente at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this review
    Dear Rick We greatly appreciate the time you spent to review your recent experience in our hotel, at Occidental Papagayuo we always strive to exceed guests' expectations and your comments will help our teams reaching that goal. Moreover, we lament reading that our buffet offer did not live up to your expectations as our professional Chefs strive to surprise our guests with a high standard gastronomy and the possibility to savor the best of the local cuisine as well as the finest international delights, however as we receive guests of all nationalities and ages, we do not over spice the dishes in order to please all palates, nevertheless there is a wide spice station in our buffet for our guests to help themselves and season their dishes to their liking. We are thrilled to read your praising comments about our staff as we strive to provide our guests with a caring and personalized service and we lay high value on our personnel being guest orientated and welcoming at all times. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certaily look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future. Kind regards Jean Marie Prudencio General Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 20 2018
    • Mosinee, Wisconsin
    • Couples

    kimandmike

    “Fantastic vacation at a beautiful resort”


    My husband and I vacationed here with 2 other couples last week. I have to admit I was a little concerned after reading some of the negative reviews but I have to say we had an absolute wonderful time! The only glitch we had was our air conditioning went out 2 days after we were there. They moved us to a different room while it was fixed and then we were able to move back, it was a hassle but they handled the problem well. From check in to check out we met the most helpful, friendly people, we had great customer service! I have to give a shout out Mario at the check in desk, so helpful in locating a room on the second floor when we checked in and always had a smile when I ran into him in the lobby! Also Juan Carlos, the pool bar person, who took care of us at the pool bringing us our margaritas every day, what an asset to your hotel, we miss you already! Brian at the disco also great, we requested some music for us "older" people and he played what we asked and also turned down the music for our listening ears! The evenings were spent on their beautiful patio overlooking the bay listening to violin, guitar, and other instruments. We didn't miss the big production shows that we have seen at other resorts, we enjoyed each others company and visiting. The shuttle buses were greatly appreciated, especially since we were in building 14, up a hill. No problem catching a shuttle to our room, lobby, pool, or beach. The resort is beautiful and clean with lots of wildlife raccoons, monkeys, iguanas, birds, etc. They kept us entertained. Didn't spend too much time at the beach, very windy while we there but did swim in the ocean a couple of times. We booked two tours with Roberto and Neryas at the beach and they were absolutely perfect. The food was wonderful. Loved the omelets in the morning and the food throughout the day was good, especially enjoyed the Italian restaurant!! It was one of the best vacations we had and we would definitely go back and recommend to others looking for a relaxing vacation in beautiful Costa Rica!


    Jean Marie P, Gerente at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this review
    Dear Kim and Mike Thank you for the great feedback of your recent holiday experience at our Occidental Papagayo; guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that, we are happy our hotel and staff were able to meet all your needs during your stay. Thank you for your very nice compliments for our team, they do work very hard every day to make sure our guests feel well attended to at all times and definitely are an asset to our hotel. We will certainly relay your praising comments to all of them and we are sure they will be pleased to know their efforts have been appreciated. We also greatly appreciate your comments on the quality and variety of our buffets because our talented team of Chefs strive to ensure a wide variety of both local and international delicacies for each service to please all palates, it is indeed very rewarding to read that we were able to conquer yours. Again we thank you for this wonderful review, it has been a pleasure for us to read and we look forward to serving you again soon Kind regards Jean Marie Prudencio General Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 20 2018
    • Toronto
    • Couples

    GallopingMajor46

    “Lovely spot with one big disappointment”


    I wish I could rate this hotel with 5 stars, but their handling of our situation was disappointing. The amenities of the hotel are well-described in other reviews and I agree with the good ones. We booked 8 days at $3088, which was charged at check-in on Feb 7. The charge was processed immediately. Late on Feb. 8, we were informed that a close family member had died back home. We managed to get new flight arrangements (with the great help of Alex of the hotel staff) to fly home 2 days early on Feb 13 for the funeral. On the morning of Feb 9, we informed the front desk we'd be leaving 2 days early. Upon check-out on the 13th, they said they had no record of being informed of this. However, they would credit us with one night's stay. I thought it should be two nights but, under the stressful circumstances, I didn't complain. They took my credit card and I signed a form for the refund. Now, one week later, I find that not even the one night refund has been processed. Not acceptable.


    Jean Marie P, Gerente at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this review
    Dear Guest We first would like to thank you for choosing our Occidental Papagayo for your holidays in February and for letting us know your concerns relating to your time in our hotel as it gives us an opportunity to look at areas which may have for improvement and for that we are grateful. Occidental has a policy for the reimbursement system, which has a time limit and approximately 20 days to apply it, your case was informed by the partner of Premium level and together with the head of reserves and accounting are working in the reimbursement process for your days of lodging that were not used. At the same time we apologize for the inconveniences, it was a pleasure to serve you during your stay. Once more we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and very much look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Kind regards Jean Marie Prudencio General Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 18 2018
    • Winnipeg, Canada
    • Friends getaway

    lanseeuw

    “nice hotel”


    nice hotel, but lots of stairs. Food was okay. Staff very nice. Pools were okay. Beach was nice but windy at the time we stayed. Specialty restaurants were very good. Service was adequate. mixed alcohol drinks were good.


    Jean Marie P, Gerente at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this review
    Dear Guest Thank you very much for leaving these wonderful comments on Tripadvisor, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay among us. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding the service you received from our team members, we will make sure to share your kind words as we know it will mean a great deal to them. Last but not least, it fills us with pride that you could enjoy the gastronomical efforts of our chefs as we strive to satisfy the many culinary wishes of our guests offering the most delicious international and local dishes. Thank you again for this heartwarming review of your stay with us, we look forward to your next visit. Kind regards Jean Marie Prudencio General Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 16 2018
    • Dawson Creek, Canada
    • Couples

    Angela F

    “Romantic Getaway on the Beach”


    My husband and I spent 6 days at this resort for our anniversary. This was our first experience with an all-inclusive vacation and we were very pleased with the service we received, the food (we mostly ate at the buffet which offered a good selection of fresh food), and the amenities. Our room was clean and very private, well maintained throughout our stay. We had the premium level vacation which meant we had access to the premium lounge with a concierge who took care of arranging our dinner reservations at the restaurants, tours in the region and any questions we had. The hotel offers a busy activity schedule which we didn't take advantage of, so I can't speak for the activities. The concierge arranged a tour for us and we were very happy with the tour company and activities that were arranged. The beach along the resort is a public beach and we met another guide there that arranged another tour for us. We were very happy with that one as well. While the beach is public, it feels very safe and there always seemed to be someone from the hotel security nearby keeping an eye on things, as well as beach chairs for guest use during the day, kayaks and snorkels to use free of charge. We loved the beautiful view off our room in building 8, and how seldom we had to stand in line or wait a long time for drinks or food. I would stay here again.


    Jean Marie P, Gerente at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this review
    Dear Angela We always find it nice to read that our guests went home with great holiday memories and we are very grateful for the time and effort you spent to share your personal experience at our Occidental Papagayo hotel with us and Tripadvisor readers. Our staff welcomes each guest with the Occidental spirit and strives to assist in any possible way to ensure everyone has a pleasant stay, it is indeed very rewarding to read that you have appreciated their genuine helpfulness throughout your holidays among us. Once more we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and very much look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Kind regards Jean Marie Prudencio General Manager

    Occidental Grand Papagayo Resort Hotel Restaurant

    Dreaming of a holiday in this idyllic hotel?

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z