Occidental Grand Papagayo Resort Hotel Beach

Occidental Papagayo - Adults only

Texto: 44146 Luxurious, All Inclusive resort, reserved exclusively for adults, surrounded by the magnificent natural beauty of the Gulf of Papagayo. Blvd. Playa Hermosa 800mts al norte | 48-5000 Golfo de Papagayo | Guanacaste | Costa Rica
+ 50 626 908 000 + 50 626 720 057
Occidental Papagayo - Adults only Texto: 44146 4 out of 5 based on 3146 ratings. 3146 user reviews.
Occidental Papagayo - Adults only reviewed by Isa J on . Beautiful Surroundings The hotel is spread across a property too big to walk, but they have a very efficient open air shuttle bus to get you back and forth. The hotel seem freshly done, everything is clean and in good... Rating: 3
map

Occidental Papagayo - Adults only

Blvd. Playa Hermosa 800mts al norte   48-5000 Golfo de Papagayo   Guanacaste   Costa Rica  


Points of Interest

14 mi Daniel Oduber Quirós International Airport

19 mi Gulf of Papagayo

6 mi Coco Beach

2 mi Hermosa Beach

Premios y Reconocimientos Prizes and Awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Occidental Papagayo - Adults only

4.0/5 Round Indicators
| 3152 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


GUESTS’ SCORE

Excellent

35% Complete

1119

Very good

33% Complete

1047

Average

16% Complete

518

Poor

8% Complete

274

Very poor

6% Complete

195

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    D2460RYjohnw Williamsburg, United States. 06/26/2017 Couples

    “Honeymoon Couple”

    This hotel was our first experience at an all-inclusive resort and in Costa Rica. We enjoyed the variety of drink available and the friendliness of the staff! We were on our honeymoon, however we didn't receive any thing extra or special. Not that we expected anything elaborate, but maybe a bottle of wine or complimentary spa service would have made us feel very special. The hotel was clean and comfortable. Although, we did have some ants in the bathroom sink. There isn't much to do in the evening other than go to the disco or hang out at the lobby bar. It would have been nice if there was a game room with pool or ping pong, maybe even an indoor pool. Felt like everything died down at about 7pm. Food was good. There is really one restaurant open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Then a snack bar at near the pool. Also a sit down restaurant you can make reservations for. We regretted the fact that we didn't go to the sit down restaurant because we heard great things about the food. The beach is nice. The tide is pretty extreme so sometimes there isn't even really a beach because the water is so high. We did enjoy the lounge chairs available there though. Take advantage of the snorkeling and kayak tours. We waited too and they booked up fast, but and they looked awesome. \ Overall, a nice place to stay in Costa Rica. I would recommend booking lots of excursions to see the country and going to see Playas de Cocoa as well!
    Round Indicators
    suken1414 Houston, Texas. 06/26/2017 Family

    “Do not go to the VIP lounge”

    Great views, rooms have different views depending on where you are housed. Do not go to the VIP lounge for customer service or to book excursions. There is no consistency on how much they charge per person and I am pretty sure they pocket some of the money they charge their "VIP" customers. Asking for cash up front and then you pay the excursions later by credit card. Book your excursions in the front office or directly through the company. When we tried to tell them we were charged $50 dollars more per person than everyone else that was on the same tour we were told we could not talk to a manager and Omar and Alonso told us they were done talking with us. Also, the $50 per person that we had to pay VIP in cash up front was the exact amount more per person that we paid then everyone else on our same excursion. All the other people we dealt with were great. Especially Bryan the bartender. He should be the customer service rep.
    Round Indicators
    John S Quincy, Illinois. 06/25/2017 Solo travel

    “If you like cold showers ”

    I asked 4 times in person and once by email that the hot water in the shower be turned on. Never did it or followed up. The sink was fine. I think it's an energy saving thing since people at other resorts mentioned same. They could have at least told me "that how we roll here in CR". Food was plentiful but bland. Nice pool beach area and grounds. Free shuttle around grounds helps. Taxi shuttle to town did show ip 30 minutes late but hope that isn't normal. They have 2 specialty food dinners Italian (which was poor) and Oriental which I didn't try. Spa is on site but separate from hotel. Fitness center closes at 7pm. From walking around I'd say rm 2303 has best location view

    Jean Marie P, Director General at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this review
     Dear John S; We greatly appreciate the time you spent to review your recent experience in our hotel, Occidental Papagayo, we always strive to exceed guests' expectations and your comments will help our teams reaching that goal. We have taken good note of your comments and are truly sorry you did not feel attended enough on this occasion, we work daily to provide the best possible service. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certainly look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future. Kind Regards! Mr. Jean Marie P General Manager

    Round Indicators
    Roeby93 Baltimore, Maryland. 06/23/2017 Family

    “Family Vacation”

    Had a great time!!! No children is a great idea. Variety of food is good and tastes great!!! 2 bedrooms suites were a great addition and nice layout and beautifully decorated. Insect control was greatly appreciated. The rooms should have umbrellas especially in the rainy season.

    Jean Marie P, Director General at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this review
     Dear Roeby93; Your feedback is important to us. We are striving to not only meet but exceed our guest expectations when they visit us. Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Thank you for your suggestions regarding umbrellas in the room we are going to follow up this matter. We hope to see you here with us at Occidental Hotel Papagayo soon. Kind regards. Mr. Jean Marie P. General Manager

    Round Indicators
    Isa J Kingston, Jamaica. 06/21/2017 Couples

    “Beautiful Surroundings”

    The hotel is spread across a property too big to walk, but they have a very efficient open air shuttle bus to get you back and forth. The hotel seem freshly done, everything is clean and in good condition. The staff are all very pleasant and there is a very comfortable feeling about the place. The rooms are in good condition (though a leaky toilet was never addressed). For a hotel of this size I thought the dining options a little limited - especially considering you're in the middle of nowhere and have no choice but to dine in. The Oriental and Italian restaurants were quite good (food and service) but the buffet is all that hotel buffets are notorious for. Not much good to say about it. The snack bar which is open between breakfast and dinner, is the only option when buffet is closed - and it is not great. A better job could be done making sure the offerings are hot and neatly presented. My wife was not pleased with the quality of her manicure and pedicure at the spa. We enjoyed the stay, and I expect you will too. Just don't be on the hunt for night life as it's in a pretty out of the way location. Nearest action is a 25 minute drive away at Coco Beach, which is a bit of a tourist trap. Just go to enjoy your companion. The place is beautiful and the view from the rooms is beautiful.

    Jean Marie P, Director General at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this review
     Dear Isa J; We greatly appreciate the time you spent to review your recent experience in our hotel, at Occidental Papagayo, we always strive to exceed guests' expectations and your comments will help our teams reaching that goal. We also appreciate your kind words for our staff, their kindness and helpfulness being undoubtedly one of our hotel's main assets. We also regret to read that our spa could n´t meet your expectations, we will share your comments with the management in order to take actions. Please apologized for any situation you had have with this services. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certainly look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future. Kind Regards; Mr. Jean Marie P General Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • june 26 2017
    • Williamsburg, United States
    • Couples

    D2460RYjohnw

    “Honeymoon Couple”


    This hotel was our first experience at an all-inclusive resort and in Costa Rica. We enjoyed the variety of drink available and the friendliness of the staff! We were on our honeymoon, however we didn't receive any thing extra or special. Not that we expected anything elaborate, but maybe a bottle of wine or complimentary spa service would have made us feel very special. The hotel was clean and comfortable. Although, we did have some ants in the bathroom sink. There isn't much to do in the evening other than go to the disco or hang out at the lobby bar. It would have been nice if there was a game room with pool or ping pong, maybe even an indoor pool. Felt like everything died down at about 7pm. Food was good. There is really one restaurant open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Then a snack bar at near the pool. Also a sit down restaurant you can make reservations for. We regretted the fact that we didn't go to the sit down restaurant because we heard great things about the food. The beach is nice. The tide is pretty extreme so sometimes there isn't even really a beach because the water is so high. We did enjoy the lounge chairs available there though. Take advantage of the snorkeling and kayak tours. We waited too and they booked up fast, but and they looked awesome. \ Overall, a nice place to stay in Costa Rica. I would recommend booking lots of excursions to see the country and going to see Playas de Cocoa as well!


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • june 26 2017
    • Houston, Texas
    • Family

    suken1414

    “Do not go to the VIP lounge”


    Great views, rooms have different views depending on where you are housed. Do not go to the VIP lounge for customer service or to book excursions. There is no consistency on how much they charge per person and I am pretty sure they pocket some of the money they charge their "VIP" customers. Asking for cash up front and then you pay the excursions later by credit card. Book your excursions in the front office or directly through the company. When we tried to tell them we were charged $50 dollars more per person than everyone else that was on the same tour we were told we could not talk to a manager and Omar and Alonso told us they were done talking with us. Also, the $50 per person that we had to pay VIP in cash up front was the exact amount more per person that we paid then everyone else on our same excursion. All the other people we dealt with were great. Especially Bryan the bartender. He should be the customer service rep.


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • june 25 2017
    • Quincy, Illinois
    • Solo travel

    John S

    “If you like cold showers ”


    I asked 4 times in person and once by email that the hot water in the shower be turned on. Never did it or followed up. The sink was fine. I think it's an energy saving thing since people at other resorts mentioned same. They could have at least told me "that how we roll here in CR". Food was plentiful but bland. Nice pool beach area and grounds. Free shuttle around grounds helps. Taxi shuttle to town did show ip 30 minutes late but hope that isn't normal. They have 2 specialty food dinners Italian (which was poor) and Oriental which I didn't try. Spa is on site but separate from hotel. Fitness center closes at 7pm. From walking around I'd say rm 2303 has best location view


    Jean Marie P, Director General at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this review
    Dear John S; We greatly appreciate the time you spent to review your recent experience in our hotel, Occidental Papagayo, we always strive to exceed guests' expectations and your comments will help our teams reaching that goal. We have taken good note of your comments and are truly sorry you did not feel attended enough on this occasion, we work daily to provide the best possible service. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certainly look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future. Kind Regards! Mr. Jean Marie P General Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • june 23 2017
    • Baltimore, Maryland
    • Family

    Roeby93

    “Family Vacation”


    Had a great time!!! No children is a great idea. Variety of food is good and tastes great!!! 2 bedrooms suites were a great addition and nice layout and beautifully decorated. Insect control was greatly appreciated. The rooms should have umbrellas especially in the rainy season.


    Jean Marie P, Director General at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this review
    Dear Roeby93; Your feedback is important to us. We are striving to not only meet but exceed our guest expectations when they visit us. Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Thank you for your suggestions regarding umbrellas in the room we are going to follow up this matter. We hope to see you here with us at Occidental Hotel Papagayo soon. Kind regards. Mr. Jean Marie P. General Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • june 21 2017
    • Kingston, Jamaica
    • Couples

    Isa J

    “Beautiful Surroundings”


    The hotel is spread across a property too big to walk, but they have a very efficient open air shuttle bus to get you back and forth. The hotel seem freshly done, everything is clean and in good condition. The staff are all very pleasant and there is a very comfortable feeling about the place. The rooms are in good condition (though a leaky toilet was never addressed). For a hotel of this size I thought the dining options a little limited - especially considering you're in the middle of nowhere and have no choice but to dine in. The Oriental and Italian restaurants were quite good (food and service) but the buffet is all that hotel buffets are notorious for. Not much good to say about it. The snack bar which is open between breakfast and dinner, is the only option when buffet is closed - and it is not great. A better job could be done making sure the offerings are hot and neatly presented. My wife was not pleased with the quality of her manicure and pedicure at the spa. We enjoyed the stay, and I expect you will too. Just don't be on the hunt for night life as it's in a pretty out of the way location. Nearest action is a 25 minute drive away at Coco Beach, which is a bit of a tourist trap. Just go to enjoy your companion. The place is beautiful and the view from the rooms is beautiful.


    Jean Marie P, Director General at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this review
    Dear Isa J; We greatly appreciate the time you spent to review your recent experience in our hotel, at Occidental Papagayo, we always strive to exceed guests' expectations and your comments will help our teams reaching that goal. We also appreciate your kind words for our staff, their kindness and helpfulness being undoubtedly one of our hotel's main assets. We also regret to read that our spa could n´t meet your expectations, we will share your comments with the management in order to take actions. Please apologized for any situation you had have with this services. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certainly look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future. Kind Regards; Mr. Jean Marie P General Manager

    Occidental Grand Papagayo Resort Hotel Restaurant

    Dreaming of a holiday in this idyllic hotel?

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z