Occidental Grand Papagayo Resort Hotel Beach

Occidental Papagayo - Adults only

Texto: 44146 Luxurious, all inclusive resort, reserved exclusively for adults, surrounded by the magnificent natural beauty of the Gulf of Papagayo. Blvd. Playa Hermosa 800mts al norte | 48-5000 Golfo de Papagayo | Guanacaste | Costa Rica
+ 50 626 908 000 + 50 626 720 057
Occidental Papagayo - Adults only Texto: 44146 4 out of 5 based on 3343 ratings. 3343 user reviews.
Occidental Papagayo - Adults only reviewed by johnlC4493NL on . Trip to Occidental Papagayo during Tropical Storm Nate The resort is beautiful with plenty to do. The food was amazing, including the buffet, the Oriental and Italian Restaurants. The most impressive part of the resort was the staff. Costa Rica... Rating: 5
map

Occidental Papagayo - Adults only

Blvd. Playa Hermosa 800mts al norte   48-5000 Golfo de Papagayo   Guanacaste   Costa Rica  


Points of Interest

14 mi Daniel Oduber Quirós International Airport

19 mi Gulf of Papagayo

6 mi Coco Beach

2 mi Hermosa Beach

Premios y Reconocimientos Prizes and Awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Occidental Papagayo - Adults only

4.0/5 Round Indicators
| 3343 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


GUESTS’ SCORE

Excellent

36% Complete

1222

Very good

33% Complete

1110

Average

15% Complete

530

Poor

8% Complete

282

Very poor

5% Complete

199

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    johnlC4493NL 10/16/2017 Couples

    “Trip to Occidental Papagayo during Tropical Storm Nate”

    The resort is beautiful with plenty to do. The food was amazing, including the buffet, the Oriental and Italian Restaurants. The most impressive part of the resort was the staff. Costa Rica experienced 27" of rain in one day from Tropical Storm Nate, the country suffered catastrophic flooding never seen before in the country. The staff worked short handed due to the flooding to keep the guest comfortable, fed and provided great service in the main lounge. The resort stayed up and running on generator power for 3 days after the storm until power was restored. We always had amazing food, A/C when needed and plenty to drink. We tip our hats to the amazing staff, who waited on guest with a smile even during adversity.
    Round Indicators
    Corin M Montrose. 10/11/2017 Couples

    “Anniversary trip”

    Resort is absolutely beautiful with well kept grounds. Main pool was under construction but the pool by beach was fabulous and fun. Friendly staff and attentive. Not a lot of options for food but good. Rooms clean. No nightly entertainment, lounge and disco only. Able to see lots of different animals. High tide most of our stay on beach, so not a lot of time spent there.

    Jean Marie P, Director General at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this review
     Dear Corin; First and foremost we would like to thank you for the praising review you shared following your recent visit to our Occidental Papagayo hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your expectations. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience.  It`s fantastic that you enjoyed and experienced so much of the resident wildlife we have to offer in our naturally beautiful surroundings. Thank you again for this heartwarming review of your stay with us, we look forward to your next visit. Kind Regards!! J. Marie Prudencio General Manager

    Round Indicators
    876debbie 10/11/2017 Couples

    “Great place”

    Great place to relax, we went during off season. Not much to do. Main pool closed for renovations, no wild life. We could hear monkeys but never saw any. Only real neg is that you could only eat at the restaurant 2 times in a week. And the only option was buffet. If the hotel had more restaurants and day time entertainment it would be perfect.

    Jean Marie P, Director General at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this review
     Dear Guest; Thank you for reviewing your recent stay in our Occidental Papagayo. It is wonderful to hear we were able to make your stay special from the moment you arrived until the moment you departed. We have also taken good note of your remarks on the dining experiences and sincerely lament reading that we fell short of your culinary expectations on this occasion. We sincerely regret reading your disappointment with our entertainment program mostly because our team strives to provide our guests with a varied assortment of activities throughout the day and live music in the evening, nevertheless we will make sure to discuss your comments with the head of entertainment for information and improvement. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certainly look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future. Kind Regards!! J. Marie Prudencio General Manager

    Round Indicators
    johnsI724CJ Joshua, Texas. 10/09/2017 Couples

    “Great value.”

    Great value for an all inclusive stay. The staff was very friendly and attentive. I think my stay could have better if some updating had taken place in the rooms. The premium lounge could benefit from some decorating as well. The beach was great but could really use a bar service to keep up with other properties.

    Jean Marie P, Director General at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this review
     Dear johnsI724CJ Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at Occidental Papagayo. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience.  Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certainly look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future. Kind Regards; J. Marie Prudencio General Manager

    Round Indicators
    John O Hopewell Jct.. 10/06/2017 Couples

    “Not what I expected.”

    We visited this place 3 times, and this last time was disappointing. It feels as if short cuts have been made in service and supplies ( no more people asking you if you like a drink when you sit by the pool ), entertainment was so so. The big pool was being fixed, so not useable, although there was a much smaller wading pool. The Asian restaurant's food was very salty.

    Jean Marie P, Director General at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this review
     Dear John O; Thank you for sharing a review of Occidental Papagayo. It does indeed sound from what you describe that some aspects of your stay did not meet our usual standards of service; please accept our sincerest apologies for failing to make your stay with us a perfect moment of relaxation, we sincerely appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention. As you mention we are renovating our swimming pool; hopefully is going to be open on November. However as you also mention we do have available a new swimming pool with wet bar. Thank you for your constructive critics regarding our Oriental food, we are going to share your comments with our chef in order to improve. Best Regards; Mr. J. Marie Prudencio General Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • october 16 2017
    • Couples

    johnlC4493NL

    “Trip to Occidental Papagayo during Tropical Storm Nate”


    The resort is beautiful with plenty to do. The food was amazing, including the buffet, the Oriental and Italian Restaurants. The most impressive part of the resort was the staff. Costa Rica experienced 27" of rain in one day from Tropical Storm Nate, the country suffered catastrophic flooding never seen before in the country. The staff worked short handed due to the flooding to keep the guest comfortable, fed and provided great service in the main lounge. The resort stayed up and running on generator power for 3 days after the storm until power was restored. We always had amazing food, A/C when needed and plenty to drink. We tip our hats to the amazing staff, who waited on guest with a smile even during adversity.


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • october 11 2017
    • Montrose
    • Couples

    Corin M

    “Anniversary trip”


    Resort is absolutely beautiful with well kept grounds. Main pool was under construction but the pool by beach was fabulous and fun. Friendly staff and attentive. Not a lot of options for food but good. Rooms clean. No nightly entertainment, lounge and disco only. Able to see lots of different animals. High tide most of our stay on beach, so not a lot of time spent there.


    Jean Marie P, Director General at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this review
    Dear Corin; First and foremost we would like to thank you for the praising review you shared following your recent visit to our Occidental Papagayo hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your expectations. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience.  It`s fantastic that you enjoyed and experienced so much of the resident wildlife we have to offer in our naturally beautiful surroundings. Thank you again for this heartwarming review of your stay with us, we look forward to your next visit. Kind Regards!! J. Marie Prudencio General Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • october 11 2017
    • Couples

    876debbie

    “Great place”


    Great place to relax, we went during off season. Not much to do. Main pool closed for renovations, no wild life. We could hear monkeys but never saw any. Only real neg is that you could only eat at the restaurant 2 times in a week. And the only option was buffet. If the hotel had more restaurants and day time entertainment it would be perfect.


    Jean Marie P, Director General at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this review
    Dear Guest; Thank you for reviewing your recent stay in our Occidental Papagayo. It is wonderful to hear we were able to make your stay special from the moment you arrived until the moment you departed. We have also taken good note of your remarks on the dining experiences and sincerely lament reading that we fell short of your culinary expectations on this occasion. We sincerely regret reading your disappointment with our entertainment program mostly because our team strives to provide our guests with a varied assortment of activities throughout the day and live music in the evening, nevertheless we will make sure to discuss your comments with the head of entertainment for information and improvement. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certainly look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future. Kind Regards!! J. Marie Prudencio General Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • october 9 2017
    • Joshua, Texas
    • Couples

    johnsI724CJ

    “Great value.”


    Great value for an all inclusive stay. The staff was very friendly and attentive. I think my stay could have better if some updating had taken place in the rooms. The premium lounge could benefit from some decorating as well. The beach was great but could really use a bar service to keep up with other properties.


    Jean Marie P, Director General at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this review
    Dear johnsI724CJ Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at Occidental Papagayo. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service and a warm, memorable experience.  Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certainly look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future. Kind Regards; J. Marie Prudencio General Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • october 6 2017
    • Hopewell Jct.
    • Couples

    John O

    “Not what I expected.”


    We visited this place 3 times, and this last time was disappointing. It feels as if short cuts have been made in service and supplies ( no more people asking you if you like a drink when you sit by the pool ), entertainment was so so. The big pool was being fixed, so not useable, although there was a much smaller wading pool. The Asian restaurant's food was very salty.


    Jean Marie P, Director General at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this review
    Dear John O; Thank you for sharing a review of Occidental Papagayo. It does indeed sound from what you describe that some aspects of your stay did not meet our usual standards of service; please accept our sincerest apologies for failing to make your stay with us a perfect moment of relaxation, we sincerely appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention. As you mention we are renovating our swimming pool; hopefully is going to be open on November. However as you also mention we do have available a new swimming pool with wet bar. Thank you for your constructive critics regarding our Oriental food, we are going to share your comments with our chef in order to improve. Best Regards; Mr. J. Marie Prudencio General Manager

    Occidental Grand Papagayo Resort Hotel Restaurant

    Dreaming of a holiday in this idyllic hotel?

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

    to

      Incorrect dates
      Please enter valid dates

    NIGHTS

    (Optional dates)

    0 nights Selected