Aerial View of Barceló Hotel Punta Cana
;
map

Map and location

Carretera Macao, S/N, Playa Arena Gorda   23301 Punta Cana La Altagracia ,   República Dominicana  


Points of Interest

18 mi Punta Cana International Airport

9 mi Macao Beach

Premios y Reconocimientos

Prizes and Awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Occidental Caribe

4.0/5 Round Indicators
| 11966 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


Comments

Excellent

38% Complete

4650

Very good

28% Complete

3390

Average

15% Complete

1891

Poor

8% Complete

1057

Very poor

8% Complete

978

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    Pinkie H 06/15/2019 Couples

    “VACATION HORROR! PLEASE DON'T HERE!!”

    We made the best of our vacation. The pools and beach were really nice. We have been to DR before and the Occidental Caribe All Inclusive is the worst place we have every stayed. There is no way they are maintaining 798 rooms well. Our furniture was falling apart. The sheets were stained, the robes were not NEW or in plastic bags. They were being washed and re-used....TERRIBLE. AND IF YOU NEED TOWELS BE PREPARED TO WAIT AT LEAST 40 MINUTES. THE FOOD AT THE BUFFET WAS JUST AWFUL. NOT SURE WHAT MORE THAT HALF THE ITEMS WERE. All we ate was chicken, fries, burgers, fruit, and omelets. THEY NEED A SERIOUS PROFESSIONAL CHEF AND FAST. Even the table cloths had stains and were wrinkled. YOU WON'T ENJOY ANY OF THE BAR DRINKS. EVERYTHING IS SOOOOOOO WATERED DOWN!!! NO REAL ORANGE JUICE OR CRANBERRY JUICE. The French and Japanese restaurants were the best. AND ABSOLUTELY NO FREE WIFI! YES, THAT'S RIGHT if you don't have a Premium Room no WIFI for you. WE HAVE NEVER STAYED AT ANY RESORT THAT DIDN'T OFFER FREE WIFI. THEY COULD AT LEAST MAKE IT AVAILABLE IN THE LOBBY AND GIVE THE GUESTS THE PASSWORD. We couldn't even text message our families to let them know we arrived safely. THIS RESORT IS ABSOLUTELY THE WORST!! We will NEVER RECOMMENDED the Occidental Caribe All Inclusive. I think it needs to be closed and remodeled. Please don't stay here!

    Marcos C, Director General at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review
     Dear guest, We are really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the experience in our hotel to the fullest as we strive to make each stay with us an unforgettable one. Discussions involving the respective team members and management have taken place to review your comments, and we would like to assure you that all of your concerns will be addressed and attended to. We were most concerned to read your remarks on the service you experienced whilst staying among us, mostly because your comments do not reflect the usual standard of service we strive to ensure for our guests, nevertheless please rest assured that your review will be shared with our head of departments for information and further revision. Please be assured that your comments will be taken into serious consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. Once again, thank you for your time and despite the issues you have raised following your stay, we hope that Occidental Caribe will remain an option for your next holiday and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future. Regards, Director Occidental Caribe

    Round Indicators
    amandamG9234WM Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. 06/15/2019 Family

    “Beautiful Family Vacation ”

    We stayed at the Occidental Caribe from 6/8 to 6/13. Check In was a breeze (but we did check in at 11:00 PM) Started out in a family room which was outdated and did smell musty. Had an issue with a leak in the bathroom. Once we spoke with the manager I believe his name was Juan he was quick to move us to adjoining rooms which were much more updated. Food was good in all the restaurants we tried. If you can’t find something you like then you must be super picky. Pools were clean and comfortable. Resort is large enough to feel not crowded anywhere. Staff was always kind especially the waiters in the Pizzeria. We speak very little to no Spanish and never had an issues with communication. We will definitely be back! Thanks for the awesome vacation!

    Marcos C, Director General at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review
     Dear guest, Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our Occidental Caribe hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations. We also greatly appreciate your comments on the quality and variety of our buffets because our talented team of Chefs strive to ensure a wide variety of both local and international delicacies for each service to please all palates, it is indeed very rewarding to read that we were able to conquer yours. Once more we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and very much look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Regards, Director Occidental Caribe

    Round Indicators
    mariaaC3588EG Streamwood, Illinois. 06/15/2019 Couples

    “Don’t go here..”

    I have been to many resorts in the Caribbean and Pacific and this is by far the worst place I have ever been to... The staff is not welcoming at all, they are rude and very disrespectful. One member asked me my nationality, then started to mock me - Not cool. My husband had to tell him to stop being disrespectful. Housekeeping very slow, rooms get half clean and don’t re-stock the fridge unless you call multiple times. Food is blah... very mediocre I will never go back...

    Marcos C, Director General at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review
     Dear guest, We are sincerely grateful for the time you spent to share your comments on your recent stay in our Occidental Caribe hotel, your detailed review will certainly assist in order to keep on improving the quality of our services for our valued guests. We were most concerned to read your remarks on the service you expérienced whilst staying among us, mostly because your comments do not reflect the usual standard of service we strive to ensure for our guests, nevertheless please rest assured that your review will be shared with our head of departments for information and further revision. Please be assured that your comments will be taken into serious consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. Once again, thank you for your time and despite the issues you have raised following your stay, we hope that Occidental Caribe will remain an option for your next holiday and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future. Regards, Director Occidental Caribe

    Round Indicators
    Adventure25085744137 06/15/2019 Family

    “DONT STAY HERE!!”

    This place sucks!!! Let's start with the service which is the main component when traveling to punta cana, there's no good service at all, people are very rude! specifically at the buffets if you dont get up a million times to grab something to drink for your family and your self then you wont drink anything, to top it off the drinks are awful including the alcohol drinks also the food is the same thing every night dont expect to eat something new i recommend if you do stay drink bottle water only my family and i got aick the second day of being there. Now let's jump to the room, WOW! nasty and filthy, AC dosen't work, bathroom's are dirty and all clogged the door was not secure since it had holes and was covered with bandages 🤣 YES I SAID BANDAGES. I don't recommend this hotel for your stay at allll if you see good reviews here is because they buy the customers offering them free wifi. FIND SOMEWHERE ELSE TO STAY IF YOU ARE LOOKING TO HAVE A GREAT TIME BECAUSE THEY BARELY ACTIVITIES. I will never every stay at Occidental caribe or any of their establishments since we travel to the other Occidental locations looking to change hotels but the other one was even worse.

    Marcos C, Director General at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review
     Dear guest, We are really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the experience in our hotel to the fullest as we strive to make each stay with us an unforgettable one. Discussions involving the respective team members and management have taken place to review your comments, and we would like to assure you that all of your concerns will be addressed and attended to. We were most concerned to read your remarks on the service you experienced whilst staying among us, mostly because your comments do not reflect the usual standard of service we strive to ensure for our guests, nevertheless please rest assured that your review will be shared with our head of departments for information and further revision. Please be assured that your comments will be taken into serious consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. Once again, thank you for your time and despite the issues you have raised following your stay, we hope that Occidental Caribe will remain an option for your next holiday and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future. Regards, Director Occidental Caribe

    Round Indicators
    Felisha007 Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. 06/14/2019 Family

    “Won’t be back ”

    PROS The scenery The beach The pool The ammenities Japanese and Italian restaurants are the best on site Minibar CONS The food I survived on bread all week The entertainment The drinks There is nothing to do here but go swimming in the pool or the beach The layout is very confusing I seen roaches Nobody speaks English luckily I know Spanish a little Flies everywhere Birds flying over your food and will take your food Pools close early Drinks are so weak that at this point I would HAVE PAID for a real drink anywhere

    Marcos C, Director General at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review
     Dear guest, We are sincerely grateful for the time you spent to share your comments on your recent stay in our Occidental Caribe hotel, your detailed review will certainly assist in order to keep on improving the quality of our services for our valued guests. At Occidental Caribe we understand that food and drinks are important aspects of our guests’ overall expérience, this is why our chefs have created a varied assortment of options to please every type of palate. Reading that you were satisfied with the quality but at times a little bit disappointed with the variety, makes us feel that we are doing a good job but with possibilities to do even better, and therefore we will revise why during your stay we didn´t seem to achieve our goal to offer a wide choice in each and every meal. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certainly look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future. Regards, Director Occidental Caribe

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • june 15 2019
    • Couples

    Pinkie H

    “VACATION HORROR! PLEASE DON'T HERE!!”


    We made the best of our vacation. The pools and beach were really nice. We have been to DR before and the Occidental Caribe All Inclusive is the worst place we have every stayed. There is no way they are maintaining 798 rooms well. Our furniture was falling apart. The sheets were stained, the robes were not NEW or in plastic bags. They were being washed and re-used....TERRIBLE. AND IF YOU NEED TOWELS BE PREPARED TO WAIT AT LEAST 40 MINUTES. THE FOOD AT THE BUFFET WAS JUST AWFUL. NOT SURE WHAT MORE THAT HALF THE ITEMS WERE. All we ate was chicken, fries, burgers, fruit, and omelets. THEY NEED A SERIOUS PROFESSIONAL CHEF AND FAST. Even the table cloths had stains and were wrinkled. YOU WON'T ENJOY ANY OF THE BAR DRINKS. EVERYTHING IS SOOOOOOO WATERED DOWN!!! NO REAL ORANGE JUICE OR CRANBERRY JUICE. The French and Japanese restaurants were the best. AND ABSOLUTELY NO FREE WIFI! YES, THAT'S RIGHT if you don't have a Premium Room no WIFI for you. WE HAVE NEVER STAYED AT ANY RESORT THAT DIDN'T OFFER FREE WIFI. THEY COULD AT LEAST MAKE IT AVAILABLE IN THE LOBBY AND GIVE THE GUESTS THE PASSWORD. We couldn't even text message our families to let them know we arrived safely. THIS RESORT IS ABSOLUTELY THE WORST!! We will NEVER RECOMMENDED the Occidental Caribe All Inclusive. I think it needs to be closed and remodeled. Please don't stay here!


    Marcos C, Director General at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review
    Dear guest, We are really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the experience in our hotel to the fullest as we strive to make each stay with us an unforgettable one. Discussions involving the respective team members and management have taken place to review your comments, and we would like to assure you that all of your concerns will be addressed and attended to. We were most concerned to read your remarks on the service you experienced whilst staying among us, mostly because your comments do not reflect the usual standard of service we strive to ensure for our guests, nevertheless please rest assured that your review will be shared with our head of departments for information and further revision. Please be assured that your comments will be taken into serious consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. Once again, thank you for your time and despite the issues you have raised following your stay, we hope that Occidental Caribe will remain an option for your next holiday and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future. Regards, Director Occidental Caribe

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • june 15 2019
    • Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
    • Family

    amandamG9234WM

    “Beautiful Family Vacation ”


    We stayed at the Occidental Caribe from 6/8 to 6/13. Check In was a breeze (but we did check in at 11:00 PM) Started out in a family room which was outdated and did smell musty. Had an issue with a leak in the bathroom. Once we spoke with the manager I believe his name was Juan he was quick to move us to adjoining rooms which were much more updated. Food was good in all the restaurants we tried. If you can’t find something you like then you must be super picky. Pools were clean and comfortable. Resort is large enough to feel not crowded anywhere. Staff was always kind especially the waiters in the Pizzeria. We speak very little to no Spanish and never had an issues with communication. We will definitely be back! Thanks for the awesome vacation!


    Marcos C, Director General at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review
    Dear guest, Firstly we would like to thank you for the lovely review you shared following your recent visit to our Occidental Caribe hotel and are delighted to read that we were able to match your holiday expectations. We also greatly appreciate your comments on the quality and variety of our buffets because our talented team of Chefs strive to ensure a wide variety of both local and international delicacies for each service to please all palates, it is indeed very rewarding to read that we were able to conquer yours. Once more we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and very much look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Regards, Director Occidental Caribe

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • june 15 2019
    • Streamwood, Illinois
    • Couples

    mariaaC3588EG

    “Don’t go here..”


    I have been to many resorts in the Caribbean and Pacific and this is by far the worst place I have ever been to... The staff is not welcoming at all, they are rude and very disrespectful. One member asked me my nationality, then started to mock me - Not cool. My husband had to tell him to stop being disrespectful. Housekeeping very slow, rooms get half clean and don’t re-stock the fridge unless you call multiple times. Food is blah... very mediocre I will never go back...


    Marcos C, Director General at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review
    Dear guest, We are sincerely grateful for the time you spent to share your comments on your recent stay in our Occidental Caribe hotel, your detailed review will certainly assist in order to keep on improving the quality of our services for our valued guests. We were most concerned to read your remarks on the service you expérienced whilst staying among us, mostly because your comments do not reflect the usual standard of service we strive to ensure for our guests, nevertheless please rest assured that your review will be shared with our head of departments for information and further revision. Please be assured that your comments will be taken into serious consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. Once again, thank you for your time and despite the issues you have raised following your stay, we hope that Occidental Caribe will remain an option for your next holiday and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future. Regards, Director Occidental Caribe

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • june 15 2019
    • Family

    Adventure25085744137

    “DONT STAY HERE!!”


    This place sucks!!! Let's start with the service which is the main component when traveling to punta cana, there's no good service at all, people are very rude! specifically at the buffets if you dont get up a million times to grab something to drink for your family and your self then you wont drink anything, to top it off the drinks are awful including the alcohol drinks also the food is the same thing every night dont expect to eat something new i recommend if you do stay drink bottle water only my family and i got aick the second day of being there. Now let's jump to the room, WOW! nasty and filthy, AC dosen't work, bathroom's are dirty and all clogged the door was not secure since it had holes and was covered with bandages 🤣 YES I SAID BANDAGES. I don't recommend this hotel for your stay at allll if you see good reviews here is because they buy the customers offering them free wifi. FIND SOMEWHERE ELSE TO STAY IF YOU ARE LOOKING TO HAVE A GREAT TIME BECAUSE THEY BARELY ACTIVITIES. I will never every stay at Occidental caribe or any of their establishments since we travel to the other Occidental locations looking to change hotels but the other one was even worse.


    Marcos C, Director General at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review
    Dear guest, We are really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the experience in our hotel to the fullest as we strive to make each stay with us an unforgettable one. Discussions involving the respective team members and management have taken place to review your comments, and we would like to assure you that all of your concerns will be addressed and attended to. We were most concerned to read your remarks on the service you experienced whilst staying among us, mostly because your comments do not reflect the usual standard of service we strive to ensure for our guests, nevertheless please rest assured that your review will be shared with our head of departments for information and further revision. Please be assured that your comments will be taken into serious consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. Once again, thank you for your time and despite the issues you have raised following your stay, we hope that Occidental Caribe will remain an option for your next holiday and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future. Regards, Director Occidental Caribe

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • june 14 2019
    • Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
    • Family

    Felisha007

    “Won’t be back ”


    PROS The scenery The beach The pool The ammenities Japanese and Italian restaurants are the best on site Minibar CONS The food I survived on bread all week The entertainment The drinks There is nothing to do here but go swimming in the pool or the beach The layout is very confusing I seen roaches Nobody speaks English luckily I know Spanish a little Flies everywhere Birds flying over your food and will take your food Pools close early Drinks are so weak that at this point I would HAVE PAID for a real drink anywhere


    Marcos C, Director General at Occidental Caribe, responded to this review
    Dear guest, We are sincerely grateful for the time you spent to share your comments on your recent stay in our Occidental Caribe hotel, your detailed review will certainly assist in order to keep on improving the quality of our services for our valued guests. At Occidental Caribe we understand that food and drinks are important aspects of our guests’ overall expérience, this is why our chefs have created a varied assortment of options to please every type of palate. Reading that you were satisfied with the quality but at times a little bit disappointed with the variety, makes us feel that we are doing a good job but with possibilities to do even better, and therefore we will revise why during your stay we didn´t seem to achieve our goal to offer a wide choice in each and every meal. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certainly look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future. Regards, Director Occidental Caribe

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in El Salvador

    Select El Salvador

    Hotels in Costa Rica

    Select Costa Rica

    Hotels in Ecuador

    Select Ecuador

    Hotels in Guatemala

    Select Guatemala

    Hotels in Nicaragua

    Select Nicaragua

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Aruba

    Select Aruba

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Hotels in Germany

    Select Germany

    Hotels in Bulgaria

    Select Bulgaria

    Hotels in Italy

    Select Italy

    Hotels in Greece

    Select Greece

    Hotels in Portugal

    Select Portugal

    Hotels in Hungria

    Select Hungria

    Hotels in Morocco

    Select Morocco

    Hotels in Egypt

    Select Egypt

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z