Barceló Montelimar Beach Hotel Interiors
;
map

Map and location

Carretera a Masachapa, Km. 65   01262 Municipio San Rafael del Sur, Managua ,   Nicaragua  


Places of Interest

75.1 km Augusto C. Sandino International Airport

300 m Montelimar beach

110 km Colonial city of Granada

17 km Gran Pacífica Golf Course

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Barceló Montelimar

4.0/5 Round Indicators
| 2065 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


Comments

Excellent

45% Complete

930

Very good

27% Complete

572

Average

14% Complete

299

Poor

6% Complete

134

Very poor

6% Complete

130

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    Danny-Oh Toronto, Canada. 12/04/2018 Couples

    “Just Beautiful And Will Return”

    I was worried that the problems in Nicaragua may have reduced the quality of service and food at the resort and was hesitant to go. But bit the bullet and went anyway. I have to say...what a beautiful peaceful resort with an absolutely gorgeous beach. We stayed in an ocean view cabin suite for one week in November, and just loved it. The room was comfortable with great televisions. The bed was comfortable with great pillows and good quality bedding. The bathrooms were beautiful and with hot water if you wanted it. The main pool is huge, (there are several pools at the resort) clean and all day long the bar is open and food available. The staff are beautiful, all of them. We enjoyed the horseback riding along the beach, and the girls at the spa are absolutely excellent! (I'll mention one thing personal. The country has been hurting for months now, and the locals are hurting. Please remember that when tipping! Every little bit helps these beautiful people.) That being said, the food was great. I actually had the best roast beef dinner I've ever had while there! I read a review that said the wasn't great. But they were from the U.S. and obviously haven't had a vacation in Cuba. If you want food that is lousy, go there! But the "Ocean's" main buffet restaurant had a really nice selection of food every meal, every day. Although it was a buffet the tables were always set fully with cloth napkins, cutlery, water and wine glasses. The staff took care of you like you were in a restaurant, not at a buffet. Even though the a-la-cart restaurants were closed for repairs, the resort still made arrangements for you to make reservations and order from the menu at the buffet restaurant to accommodate. They could have just said they weren't available, but they went the extra mile to make sure you could have it if you wanted it. Why can't I give it 5 stars? There are certain things I like at a true 5 star. Although the bar fridge had pop and beer stocked in the room, It would be nice to have liquor dispensers on the wall for your evening in the rooms, because the bars aren't open late and they are far from the cottages. (Especially for the suites! ) As well, All ice machines are in the tower (hotel) only. For the cabins, at least a couple of ice machines down in that area are necessary to avoid the walk to the tower. As well, although I said the food was good (and it was) a small step up to more seafood variety would really top it off nicely. The gardens and grounds are beautiful and well taken care of. An extremely clean resort and as I said, the beach is huge, clean, and you can walk way out into the surf. It's not a party resort if that's what you're looking for. It has a casino and some shows that really didn't interest us at all. But if you want peace, quiet, rest and beautiful surroundings, then it's a great place to be. Like I said, we tried it for a week to see if we liked it. We did. Thanks for a great vacation. We're already making arrangements for 2 weeks next year!

    montelimar_rrpp, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Montelimar, responded to this review
     Dear Mr. Danny Oh, Thank you for making our Barceló Montelimar your choice hotel on this occasion and for your very kind recommendation to the travel community, this positive feedback keeps us motivated to encounter the compliance of our demanding quality standards. We are also grateful for your highlight on the efforts of our staff to keep our installations and accommodations spotless at all times in order to guarantee our high standards related to hygiene and cleanliness which is one of the most important aspects for Barceló. Again we thank you for this wonderful review, it has been a pleasure for us to read and we look forward to serving you again soon. Best regards, Barceló Montelimar.

    Round Indicators
    Vacation64773062875 Miami, Florida. 11/24/2018 Family

    “My mini vacation”

    I didn’t like the food is the only complain the rest was a good experience. It will be good to review the menu at dinner time...the less pleasant time was dinner the food wasn’t good no good quality...breakfast is good and lunch can be improved too

    montelimar_rrpp, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Montelimar, responded to this review
     Dear Guest, Thank you for your insights following your recent visit. We always look for ways to improve and your comments are crucial to our future success We were very saddened to read your disappointment with the dining experiences, at Barceló we know that meals are an important aspect of our guest's overall holiday experience therefore we will make sure to take your comments into account to improve in this aspect of our services. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certaily look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future. Best regards, Barceló Montelimar.

    Round Indicators
    SciMW Managua, Nicaragua. 11/23/2018 Family

    “Standards really do seem to be slipping”

    Like many reviewers here who seem to have noticed considerable decline in this hotel, having visited Montelimar on three separate occasions (the first about five years ago), I am disappointed to see just how much standards have been allowed to slip. There are a number of positives. Nice grounds, lovely beach, good swimming pools, but there are so many areas where it is just not good enough. The check-in process was peculiar. When the receptionist had finished staring into space, she noticed I was waiting to check-in. I was astonished to find-out that because I had not registered with mybarcelo.com when making the booking we would not have access to free wifi (I made the booking via the hotel's website, there was no prompt to register an account, so I found this very strange). Cleanliness is sub-standard, especially around the pool area, rubbish is left lying around for hours, so multiple birds sweep down to pick up the remains, and the public bathrooms are all absolutely disgusting. A young man who clearly found the rather peculiar tasting pre-made cocktails a bit too enjoyable was sick by the side of the pool. I was amazed that the area was left unattended and people were allowed to carrying on swimming there without it being properly cleaned and sanitized. The culinary experience is fairly poor. The restaurant food is adequate at best and is fairly sloppily presented (think rice pudding in a tray that you have to scoop out - as opposed to serving it in individual glasses which most hotels tend to do). The wait stuff are scruffily turned out and most seem annoyed to be there. They give the impression of being under paid and under trained. They insist in you only sitting on one side of the restaurant so everyone is always packed together, and there is always something missing at the buffet (be it plates, coffee cups, spoons, it is never quite all there). It is a shame, it could be such a nice way to spend a weekend break from Managua but they really need to up the game to make it the experience it should and used to be. I have noticed a number of comments mentioning something similar so I really do hope they take note and find a way of returning to former standards. I would go back if they make some of very necessary changes.

    montelimar_rrpp, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Montelimar, responded to this review
     Dear Guest, Firstly we would like to thank you for the review you shared following your recent visit to our Barceló Montelimar hotel. We are really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the experience in our hotel to the fullest as we strive to make each stay with us an unforgettable one. Discussions involving the respective team members and management have taken place to review your comments, and we would like to assure you that all of your concerns will be addressed and attended to. Please be assured that your comments will be taken into serious consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. Once again, thank you for your time and despite the issues you have raised following your stay, we hope that Barceló will remain an option for your next holiday and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future. Best regards, Barceló Montelimar.

    Round Indicators
    AleDiaz089 Managua, Nicaragua. 11/12/2018 Couples

    “Needs maintenance...”

    The beach at Montelimar is beautiful, the pool is great, the food is ok. It's a really big resort and they have managed to take care of it even though we are going through a crisis... We stayed in a bungalow, the bathroom looked like it needed some maintenance, towels were very used and old. I woke up the next morning and had a lot of redness on my legs and they were itchy and I think it's because there were bed bugs underneath the sheets.. Even though the place is really pretty they need to clean more often and do some maintenance on the bungalows.

    montelimar_rrpp, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Montelimar, responded to this review
     Dear AleDiaz, Thanks for coming to our hotel and leaving us some kind remarks. Make sure we are going to take the correct measures to give our forthcoming customers a better attention. We will hope, you will be back soon. We will be a pleasure for us if you would like to host her. Best regards, Barceló Montelimar.

    Round Indicators
    Compass794251 Buffalo, New York. 10/25/2018

    “Amazing beaches ”

    Spent a week here with my 15 year old son. The resort is lovely, with great vegetation and lovely renovated villas. The food was ok, nothing spectacular but this is how it goes at an all-inclusive in Central America. The staff was lovely. Drinks were good, and tipping helped. The beach was by far one of the best ever. They had boogie boards and surfboards for your use and the beach went on forever. The excursions were pricy, and all involved a lot of time in a bus. We opted to do a 3 day 2 night tour with golocal- it was awesome. It was our pace, private vehicle, and it picked us up and dropped us back at the resort. Wonderful. We spent less for three days off resort than the excursions would have cost from the resort. The vacation is always what you make of it. We had an awesome time. Resort was lovely. Yes there were Costa Ricans and Nicaraguans there. So what. This is Central America. It’s nice that they are able to afford this kind of vacation. All in all, a really nice place.

    montelimar_rrpp, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Montelimar, responded to this review
     Dear customer, Once more we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and very much look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future. best regards, Barceló Montelimar.

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • december 4 2018
    • Toronto, Canada
    • Couples

    Danny-Oh

    “Just Beautiful And Will Return”


    I was worried that the problems in Nicaragua may have reduced the quality of service and food at the resort and was hesitant to go. But bit the bullet and went anyway. I have to say...what a beautiful peaceful resort with an absolutely gorgeous beach. We stayed in an ocean view cabin suite for one week in November, and just loved it. The room was comfortable with great televisions. The bed was comfortable with great pillows and good quality bedding. The bathrooms were beautiful and with hot water if you wanted it. The main pool is huge, (there are several pools at the resort) clean and all day long the bar is open and food available. The staff are beautiful, all of them. We enjoyed the horseback riding along the beach, and the girls at the spa are absolutely excellent! (I'll mention one thing personal. The country has been hurting for months now, and the locals are hurting. Please remember that when tipping! Every little bit helps these beautiful people.) That being said, the food was great. I actually had the best roast beef dinner I've ever had while there! I read a review that said the wasn't great. But they were from the U.S. and obviously haven't had a vacation in Cuba. If you want food that is lousy, go there! But the "Ocean's" main buffet restaurant had a really nice selection of food every meal, every day. Although it was a buffet the tables were always set fully with cloth napkins, cutlery, water and wine glasses. The staff took care of you like you were in a restaurant, not at a buffet. Even though the a-la-cart restaurants were closed for repairs, the resort still made arrangements for you to make reservations and order from the menu at the buffet restaurant to accommodate. They could have just said they weren't available, but they went the extra mile to make sure you could have it if you wanted it. Why can't I give it 5 stars? There are certain things I like at a true 5 star. Although the bar fridge had pop and beer stocked in the room, It would be nice to have liquor dispensers on the wall for your evening in the rooms, because the bars aren't open late and they are far from the cottages. (Especially for the suites! ) As well, All ice machines are in the tower (hotel) only. For the cabins, at least a couple of ice machines down in that area are necessary to avoid the walk to the tower. As well, although I said the food was good (and it was) a small step up to more seafood variety would really top it off nicely. The gardens and grounds are beautiful and well taken care of. An extremely clean resort and as I said, the beach is huge, clean, and you can walk way out into the surf. It's not a party resort if that's what you're looking for. It has a casino and some shows that really didn't interest us at all. But if you want peace, quiet, rest and beautiful surroundings, then it's a great place to be. Like I said, we tried it for a week to see if we liked it. We did. Thanks for a great vacation. We're already making arrangements for 2 weeks next year!


    montelimar_rrpp, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Montelimar, responded to this review
    Dear Mr. Danny Oh, Thank you for making our Barceló Montelimar your choice hotel on this occasion and for your very kind recommendation to the travel community, this positive feedback keeps us motivated to encounter the compliance of our demanding quality standards. We are also grateful for your highlight on the efforts of our staff to keep our installations and accommodations spotless at all times in order to guarantee our high standards related to hygiene and cleanliness which is one of the most important aspects for Barceló. Again we thank you for this wonderful review, it has been a pleasure for us to read and we look forward to serving you again soon. Best regards, Barceló Montelimar.

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • november 24 2018
    • Miami, Florida
    • Family

    Vacation64773062875

    “My mini vacation”


    I didn’t like the food is the only complain the rest was a good experience. It will be good to review the menu at dinner time...the less pleasant time was dinner the food wasn’t good no good quality...breakfast is good and lunch can be improved too


    montelimar_rrpp, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Montelimar, responded to this review
    Dear Guest, Thank you for your insights following your recent visit. We always look for ways to improve and your comments are crucial to our future success We were very saddened to read your disappointment with the dining experiences, at Barceló we know that meals are an important aspect of our guest's overall holiday experience therefore we will make sure to take your comments into account to improve in this aspect of our services. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certaily look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future. Best regards, Barceló Montelimar.

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • november 23 2018
    • Managua, Nicaragua
    • Family

    SciMW

    “Standards really do seem to be slipping”


    Like many reviewers here who seem to have noticed considerable decline in this hotel, having visited Montelimar on three separate occasions (the first about five years ago), I am disappointed to see just how much standards have been allowed to slip. There are a number of positives. Nice grounds, lovely beach, good swimming pools, but there are so many areas where it is just not good enough. The check-in process was peculiar. When the receptionist had finished staring into space, she noticed I was waiting to check-in. I was astonished to find-out that because I had not registered with mybarcelo.com when making the booking we would not have access to free wifi (I made the booking via the hotel's website, there was no prompt to register an account, so I found this very strange). Cleanliness is sub-standard, especially around the pool area, rubbish is left lying around for hours, so multiple birds sweep down to pick up the remains, and the public bathrooms are all absolutely disgusting. A young man who clearly found the rather peculiar tasting pre-made cocktails a bit too enjoyable was sick by the side of the pool. I was amazed that the area was left unattended and people were allowed to carrying on swimming there without it being properly cleaned and sanitized. The culinary experience is fairly poor. The restaurant food is adequate at best and is fairly sloppily presented (think rice pudding in a tray that you have to scoop out - as opposed to serving it in individual glasses which most hotels tend to do). The wait stuff are scruffily turned out and most seem annoyed to be there. They give the impression of being under paid and under trained. They insist in you only sitting on one side of the restaurant so everyone is always packed together, and there is always something missing at the buffet (be it plates, coffee cups, spoons, it is never quite all there). It is a shame, it could be such a nice way to spend a weekend break from Managua but they really need to up the game to make it the experience it should and used to be. I have noticed a number of comments mentioning something similar so I really do hope they take note and find a way of returning to former standards. I would go back if they make some of very necessary changes.


    montelimar_rrpp, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Montelimar, responded to this review
    Dear Guest, Firstly we would like to thank you for the review you shared following your recent visit to our Barceló Montelimar hotel. We are really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the experience in our hotel to the fullest as we strive to make each stay with us an unforgettable one. Discussions involving the respective team members and management have taken place to review your comments, and we would like to assure you that all of your concerns will be addressed and attended to. Please be assured that your comments will be taken into serious consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. Once again, thank you for your time and despite the issues you have raised following your stay, we hope that Barceló will remain an option for your next holiday and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future. Best regards, Barceló Montelimar.

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • november 12 2018
    • Managua, Nicaragua
    • Couples

    AleDiaz089

    “Needs maintenance...”


    The beach at Montelimar is beautiful, the pool is great, the food is ok. It's a really big resort and they have managed to take care of it even though we are going through a crisis... We stayed in a bungalow, the bathroom looked like it needed some maintenance, towels were very used and old. I woke up the next morning and had a lot of redness on my legs and they were itchy and I think it's because there were bed bugs underneath the sheets.. Even though the place is really pretty they need to clean more often and do some maintenance on the bungalows.


    montelimar_rrpp, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Montelimar, responded to this review
    Dear AleDiaz, Thanks for coming to our hotel and leaving us some kind remarks. Make sure we are going to take the correct measures to give our forthcoming customers a better attention. We will hope, you will be back soon. We will be a pleasure for us if you would like to host her. Best regards, Barceló Montelimar.

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • october 25 2018
    • Buffalo, New York

    Compass794251

    “Amazing beaches ”


    Spent a week here with my 15 year old son. The resort is lovely, with great vegetation and lovely renovated villas. The food was ok, nothing spectacular but this is how it goes at an all-inclusive in Central America. The staff was lovely. Drinks were good, and tipping helped. The beach was by far one of the best ever. They had boogie boards and surfboards for your use and the beach went on forever. The excursions were pricy, and all involved a lot of time in a bus. We opted to do a 3 day 2 night tour with golocal- it was awesome. It was our pace, private vehicle, and it picked us up and dropped us back at the resort. Wonderful. We spent less for three days off resort than the excursions would have cost from the resort. The vacation is always what you make of it. We had an awesome time. Resort was lovely. Yes there were Costa Ricans and Nicaraguans there. So what. This is Central America. It’s nice that they are able to afford this kind of vacation. All in all, a really nice place.


    montelimar_rrpp, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Barcelo Montelimar, responded to this review
    Dear customer, Once more we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and very much look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the future. best regards, Barceló Montelimar.

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in Costa Rica

    Select Costa Rica

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Panamá

    Select Panamá

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Hotels in Germany

    Select Germany

    Hotels in Czech Republic

    Select Czech Republic

    Hotels in Portugal

    Select Portugal

    Hotels in Morocco

    Select Morocco

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

    to

      Incorrect dates
      Please enter valid dates

    NIGHTS

    (Optional dates)

    0 nights Selected
    1 night Selected

    A discount* or promotional code (also appears as “promo code”) is a combination of letters and/or numbers that gives a discount on the normal rate. If you have a discount code, enter it when booking and you will receive a discount on your booking. Once you have entered this code, the prices shown in step 1 of the booking process will already include the relevant discount. 

    The discount does not apply to prices on extras and/or extra services, neither does it apply to prices on last available rooms. You can only apply one discount code per booking which will only be valid at the time of making your booking.** 

    The maximum amount of accumulated discount will be at most 25% off the rate for hotels in Latin America and at most 20% off the rate for European and Mediterranean hotels. It is possible to combine a discount code with a special discount*** (discounts when you book multiple rooms, senior, resident, millennials, large families, etc.) and the discount for being a my Barceló client. 

    *Barceló reserves the right to accept the application of advertised discounts. 

    **The application of the discount code is not valid upon arrival at the hotel; the discount is only applicable at the time of booking. 

    ***The hotel will request to see valid official documents to verify compliance with the conditions for the discount codes and special discounts. In the event of not providing valid official documents or non-compliance, the hotel reserves the right to charge the amounts that were deducted from the original reservation.

    Loading rates...
    The hotel does not have any rates allocated to it

    Best rate
    guaranteed
    Plus

    Our double guarantee:

    If you find a better rate outside Barcelo.com, we’ll match it.

    The same applies even if you find a better rate on Barcelo.com after placing your booking.

    We’ll also give you an additional discount of up to 10%. For more information