Barceló Hotel Gastronomy Costa Vasca

Barceló Costa Vasca

Texto: 34124 Next to the legendary Ondarreta Beach, this hotel has a pool and wellness room for business travellers and leisure travellers. Avenida Pio Baroja, 15 | 20008 San Sebastián
+34 94 331 79 50 34 943 212 428
Barceló Costa Vasca Texto: 34124 4 out of 5 based on 1439 ratings. 1439 user reviews.
Barceló Costa Vasca reviewed by Bridie O on . Great breakfast..... and bar! We're a same sex couple and found the staff to be very warm and welcoming. They were helpful and good with English for the moments where we struggled with Spanish. They even surprised us with a... Rating: 5
map

Barceló Costa Vasca

Avenida Pio Baroja, 15   20008 San Sebastián  


Places of Interest

23.1 km San Sebastián Airport

2.11 km San Sebastian Railway Station

22.6 km Bidasoa Fairgrounds

300 m Ondarreta beach

Premios y Reconocimientos Prizes and awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Barceló Costa Vasca

4.0/5 Round Indicators
| 1495 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


GUESTS’ SCORE

Excellent

35% Complete

534

Very good

41% Complete

625

Average

15% Complete

228

Poor

5% Complete

83

Very poor

1% Complete

25

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    Juan Antonio D 03/22/2017 Business

    “Good hotel, could be excellent...”

    I enjoyed the excellent bedding and the hydro-massage shower. The breakfast is good with a lot of variety. The location is good in a calm neighborhood not too far from Playa de la Concha. The service (front desk and restaurant) is not bad but they could give at least a smile if they are trying to exceed customer's expectations.

    -XperienceManager-, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Barcelo Costa Vasca, responded to this review
     Dear Sir. Juan Antonio, Firstly we would like to thank you for choosing our Barceló Costa Vasca hotel for your stay in San Sebastian and for the review you shared on TripAdvisor, all of your kind words about your visit are great to hear. Concerning your comments, we take note about the treatment you have received by our staff, that will help us to improve. On the other hand, it is a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed our facilities. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding the variety of our breakfast and the location of the hotel. Once more we thank you for this kind review of our hotel and we look forward to serving you again in the future. Carefully, Barceló Costa Vasca

    Round Indicators
    Teresa P 03/12/2017 Couples

    “Far from the old town”

    We spent 4 days at this Hotel. Lobby and rooms ara ok. Specially good are the beds where you can sleep perfect. Breakfast is very good with a great variety. Staff in the Restaurant had no professionalism, specially the manager during breakfast. She asked us about the room number twice saying that we didn't have the room number that we had. She was unfriendly. The hotel is far from old town and you have a 30 m walking distance. There is a bus stop just in front of the hotel. We will not repeat it if ever come back to SS.

    -XperienceManager-, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Barcelo Costa Vasca, responded to this review
     Dear Mrs. Teresa, We first would like to thank you for choosing our Barceló Costa Vasca for your stay in San Sebastian and for letting us know your concerns relating to your time in our hotel as it gives us an opportunity to look at areas which may have for improvement and for that we are grateful. It is with great concern that we read your comments about our staff, mostly because your comments do not reflect the usual standard of service we strive to ensure for our guests. Nevertheless please rest assured that your review will be shared with our head of departments for information and further revision. On the other hand, we are very pleased to read that you found our beds specially good and also that you liked the variety and quality of our breakfast. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certaily look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future. Carefully, Barceló Costa Vasca

    Round Indicators
    jirawatsathits Bangkok, Thailand. 02/12/2017 Business

    “My Second time in Barcelo Costa Vasca hotel”

    it is a nice hotel. A little bit far from San Sebastian old town. With 25 minutes walk to old town isn't a bad experience. Nice view walking along the beach to old town. Room is clean. Recommend for anyone who would like to have a nice stay in San Sebastian

    -XperienceManager-, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Barcelo Costa Vasca, responded to this review
     Dear guest, We really appreciate the time you spent to share your recent experience at our Barceló Costa Vasca hotel and we thank you for your kind recommendation to Tripadvisor’s readers. We are very pleased to read that you did like the room we accommodated you in and that you found it clean and comfortable at all times. Even our hotel is 25 minutes from the city centre, it is true that it is a nice walk by the bay to get to the old town and we are glad to hear that you could enjoy it. Once more we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and it will be a pleasure for us to welcome you on your next visit. Carefully, Barceló Costa Vasca

    Round Indicators
    Angela K Cornelius, North Carolina. 02/08/2017 Family

    “Not as nice as the Barcelo in Oviedo”

    Overall, I did have a great experience at the Barcelo Costa Vasca, unfortunately, I had just stayed at the Barcelo Oviedo which was a much nicer hotel and room for about the same price. Location It has a good location in a nice and safe area, however it is not located in the historic old part of town. Walking there takes about 30 minutes which was very enjoyable, as you can take the Paseo de la Concha, which runs along the bay by the water. Parking There is parking right on the premises of the hotel but you have to pay for parking. Service The lady and the two gentlemen that were at the counter when we checked in were friendly and helpful. The hotel offers complimentary cava at check in; however, they didn't offer it to us, we had to request it. Room 116 The room is spacious, open and with enough daylight; however you can make it dark to sleep, which is what you want. The decor is modern and cool. It is CLEAN and airy. NO carpet which is much sanitary for a hotel room. It has a view to the outside through a large full window. There is enough artificial lighting and enough outlets to plug your devices, which sometimes it's a problem in some hotels. There is a desk and one chair, a desk lamp, and desk supplies (a pencil, note pad and stationary, which you don't find in many hotels anymore). It has a TV. There is a full body mirror in the room, however it was in a dark area. A mirror in the room is good as you can use it while somebody is in the bathroom, There is also a trash can in the room aside from the one in the bathroom (this sounds basic but it is so useful yet many hotels only supply a trash can in the bathroom). The closet is spacious enough with room to hang your clothes or to place them folded. It provides an iron and an ironing board. There is a safe. There is no luggage rack, however there is a long bench/ottoman where you can place your suitcases. It offers a coffee station. There is a minibar that you pay for what you take out. I specify the payment part, because I have stayed at other hotels of similar category where you have free access to the items in the mini fridge. They don't welcome you with complimentary water in your room, which doesn't really cost much to a hotel, but it's a nice touch to make your guests feel special, and very useful when you are walking and come to the hotel so thirsty. Especially for a hotel at this level. The bed is large (two double beds put together) and comfortable. There are two night tables and two night table/reading lights. There is a phone on one of the night tables, but no alarm clock/radio (which is no big deal these days when we use our mobile phones for that, however it is convenient to have those big numbers for the time). There is a large nook for the third bed with a comfortable sofa chair next to it. All the bed linens are all white, including the double sheet system to cover the duvet, which leaves no dirt to hide. Bathroom The bathroom is medium sized, comfortable and cleaned properly. There is a hair dryer and a wall mounted magnifying mirror. They provide you with Toiletries (bath gel, shampoo, bar soap, shower cap, dental kit, shaving kit, vanity kit, comb, but no lotion) and facial tissue (so necessary yet many hotels forego them). There are no bathrobes nor slippers (the Barcelo Oviedo had them). There is a rack for the folded towels and two hooks to hang your towels close to the shower. The shower has a rain style head and a handheld hose plus 6 massaging jets. There is a soap holder inside the shower, which sounds basic, but some hotels do not have one. They offer sanitary bags by the toilet.

    Bcostavasca, General Manager at Barcelo Costa Vasca, responded to this review
     Dear Angela K, We greatly appreciate the time you spent to share your recent holiday experience at our Barceló Costa Vasca hotel and we thank you for your kind recommendation to Tripadvisor’s readers . We also appreciate your kind words for our staff, their kindness and helpfulness being undoubtedly one of our hotel's main assets we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us. We are also very pleased to read your complete satisfaction with the comfort of the room we accommodated you in and are grateful for your highlight on the beauty of our accommodations aimed at guaranteeing a memorable stay in our hotel. Please be assured that your comments will be taken into serious consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. Once more we thank you for sharing your experience with us and look forward to serving you again soon. Best Regard, Management Department Barceló Costa Vasca

    Round Indicators
    Bridie O 01/28/2017 Couples

    “Great breakfast..... and bar!”

    We're a same sex couple and found the staff to be very warm and welcoming. They were helpful and good with English for the moments where we struggled with Spanish. They even surprised us with a bottle of champagne on the house, as it was our honeymoon. Lovely concierge and clean, modern room with reasonable room service prices. Best thing about this place is the breakfast buffet. Wowsers - best experience of hotel breakfast options in my traveling life. Honestly spoilt for choice, all fresh, all delicious, totally vast - it's a wonderful spread to start the day. What ever you eat, trust me, it is there in the breakfast buffet. I can't let it go, it's just so great. 10 min walk to beach, 15 to old town. Scenic walk. Nice.

    -XperienceManager-, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Barcelo Costa Vasca, responded to this review
     Dear Mrs. Bridie, We would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Barceló Costa Vasca hotel for your holidays in San Sebastián, as well as for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience among us. We also appreciate your kind words for our staff, their kindness and helpfulness being undoubtedly one of our hotel's main assets we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us. Again we thank you for this very kind review of our hotel and we look forward to serving you again in the future. Best Regards, Barceló Costa Vasca

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • march 22 2017
    • Business

    Juan Antonio D

    “Good hotel, could be excellent...”


    I enjoyed the excellent bedding and the hydro-massage shower. The breakfast is good with a lot of variety. The location is good in a calm neighborhood not too far from Playa de la Concha. The service (front desk and restaurant) is not bad but they could give at least a smile if they are trying to exceed customer's expectations.


    -XperienceManager-, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Barcelo Costa Vasca, responded to this review
    Dear Sir. Juan Antonio, Firstly we would like to thank you for choosing our Barceló Costa Vasca hotel for your stay in San Sebastian and for the review you shared on TripAdvisor, all of your kind words about your visit are great to hear. Concerning your comments, we take note about the treatment you have received by our staff, that will help us to improve. On the other hand, it is a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed our facilities. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding the variety of our breakfast and the location of the hotel. Once more we thank you for this kind review of our hotel and we look forward to serving you again in the future. Carefully, Barceló Costa Vasca

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • march 12 2017
    • Couples

    Teresa P

    “Far from the old town”


    We spent 4 days at this Hotel. Lobby and rooms ara ok. Specially good are the beds where you can sleep perfect. Breakfast is very good with a great variety. Staff in the Restaurant had no professionalism, specially the manager during breakfast. She asked us about the room number twice saying that we didn't have the room number that we had. She was unfriendly. The hotel is far from old town and you have a 30 m walking distance. There is a bus stop just in front of the hotel. We will not repeat it if ever come back to SS.


    -XperienceManager-, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Barcelo Costa Vasca, responded to this review
    Dear Mrs. Teresa, We first would like to thank you for choosing our Barceló Costa Vasca for your stay in San Sebastian and for letting us know your concerns relating to your time in our hotel as it gives us an opportunity to look at areas which may have for improvement and for that we are grateful. It is with great concern that we read your comments about our staff, mostly because your comments do not reflect the usual standard of service we strive to ensure for our guests. Nevertheless please rest assured that your review will be shared with our head of departments for information and further revision. On the other hand, we are very pleased to read that you found our beds specially good and also that you liked the variety and quality of our breakfast. Thank you once again for making us your choice hotel and for your constructive critics, we certaily look forward to serving you again and to have the opportunity to exceed you expectations in a not too distant future. Carefully, Barceló Costa Vasca

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 12 2017
    • Bangkok, Thailand
    • Business

    jirawatsathits

    “My Second time in Barcelo Costa Vasca hotel”


    it is a nice hotel. A little bit far from San Sebastian old town. With 25 minutes walk to old town isn't a bad experience. Nice view walking along the beach to old town. Room is clean. Recommend for anyone who would like to have a nice stay in San Sebastian


    -XperienceManager-, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Barcelo Costa Vasca, responded to this review
    Dear guest, We really appreciate the time you spent to share your recent experience at our Barceló Costa Vasca hotel and we thank you for your kind recommendation to Tripadvisor’s readers. We are very pleased to read that you did like the room we accommodated you in and that you found it clean and comfortable at all times. Even our hotel is 25 minutes from the city centre, it is true that it is a nice walk by the bay to get to the old town and we are glad to hear that you could enjoy it. Once more we thank you for choosing our hotel for your holiday and it will be a pleasure for us to welcome you on your next visit. Carefully, Barceló Costa Vasca

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • february 8 2017
    • Cornelius, North Carolina
    • Family

    Angela K

    “Not as nice as the Barcelo in Oviedo”


    Overall, I did have a great experience at the Barcelo Costa Vasca, unfortunately, I had just stayed at the Barcelo Oviedo which was a much nicer hotel and room for about the same price. Location It has a good location in a nice and safe area, however it is not located in the historic old part of town. Walking there takes about 30 minutes which was very enjoyable, as you can take the Paseo de la Concha, which runs along the bay by the water. Parking There is parking right on the premises of the hotel but you have to pay for parking. Service The lady and the two gentlemen that were at the counter when we checked in were friendly and helpful. The hotel offers complimentary cava at check in; however, they didn't offer it to us, we had to request it. Room 116 The room is spacious, open and with enough daylight; however you can make it dark to sleep, which is what you want. The decor is modern and cool. It is CLEAN and airy. NO carpet which is much sanitary for a hotel room. It has a view to the outside through a large full window. There is enough artificial lighting and enough outlets to plug your devices, which sometimes it's a problem in some hotels. There is a desk and one chair, a desk lamp, and desk supplies (a pencil, note pad and stationary, which you don't find in many hotels anymore). It has a TV. There is a full body mirror in the room, however it was in a dark area. A mirror in the room is good as you can use it while somebody is in the bathroom, There is also a trash can in the room aside from the one in the bathroom (this sounds basic but it is so useful yet many hotels only supply a trash can in the bathroom). The closet is spacious enough with room to hang your clothes or to place them folded. It provides an iron and an ironing board. There is a safe. There is no luggage rack, however there is a long bench/ottoman where you can place your suitcases. It offers a coffee station. There is a minibar that you pay for what you take out. I specify the payment part, because I have stayed at other hotels of similar category where you have free access to the items in the mini fridge. They don't welcome you with complimentary water in your room, which doesn't really cost much to a hotel, but it's a nice touch to make your guests feel special, and very useful when you are walking and come to the hotel so thirsty. Especially for a hotel at this level. The bed is large (two double beds put together) and comfortable. There are two night tables and two night table/reading lights. There is a phone on one of the night tables, but no alarm clock/radio (which is no big deal these days when we use our mobile phones for that, however it is convenient to have those big numbers for the time). There is a large nook for the third bed with a comfortable sofa chair next to it. All the bed linens are all white, including the double sheet system to cover the duvet, which leaves no dirt to hide. Bathroom The bathroom is medium sized, comfortable and cleaned properly. There is a hair dryer and a wall mounted magnifying mirror. They provide you with Toiletries (bath gel, shampoo, bar soap, shower cap, dental kit, shaving kit, vanity kit, comb, but no lotion) and facial tissue (so necessary yet many hotels forego them). There are no bathrobes nor slippers (the Barcelo Oviedo had them). There is a rack for the folded towels and two hooks to hang your towels close to the shower. The shower has a rain style head and a handheld hose plus 6 massaging jets. There is a soap holder inside the shower, which sounds basic, but some hotels do not have one. They offer sanitary bags by the toilet.


    Bcostavasca, General Manager at Barcelo Costa Vasca, responded to this review
    Dear Angela K, We greatly appreciate the time you spent to share your recent holiday experience at our Barceló Costa Vasca hotel and we thank you for your kind recommendation to Tripadvisor’s readers . We also appreciate your kind words for our staff, their kindness and helpfulness being undoubtedly one of our hotel's main assets we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us. We are also very pleased to read your complete satisfaction with the comfort of the room we accommodated you in and are grateful for your highlight on the beauty of our accommodations aimed at guaranteeing a memorable stay in our hotel. Please be assured that your comments will be taken into serious consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. Once more we thank you for sharing your experience with us and look forward to serving you again soon. Best Regard, Management Department Barceló Costa Vasca

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • january 28 2017
    • Couples

    Bridie O

    “Great breakfast..... and bar!”


    We're a same sex couple and found the staff to be very warm and welcoming. They were helpful and good with English for the moments where we struggled with Spanish. They even surprised us with a bottle of champagne on the house, as it was our honeymoon. Lovely concierge and clean, modern room with reasonable room service prices. Best thing about this place is the breakfast buffet. Wowsers - best experience of hotel breakfast options in my traveling life. Honestly spoilt for choice, all fresh, all delicious, totally vast - it's a wonderful spread to start the day. What ever you eat, trust me, it is there in the breakfast buffet. I can't let it go, it's just so great. 10 min walk to beach, 15 to old town. Scenic walk. Nice.


    -XperienceManager-, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Barcelo Costa Vasca, responded to this review
    Dear Mrs. Bridie, We would like to thank you for your preference in selecting our Barceló Costa Vasca hotel for your holidays in San Sebastián, as well as for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience among us. We also appreciate your kind words for our staff, their kindness and helpfulness being undoubtedly one of our hotel's main assets we will definitely congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst staying among us. Again we thank you for this very kind review of our hotel and we look forward to serving you again in the future. Best Regards, Barceló Costa Vasca

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

    to

      Incorrect dates
      Please enter valid dates

    NIGHTS

    (Optional dates)

    A discount or promotional code is a combination of letters and/or numbers that gives a discount on the normal rate. You can receive discount codes through special campaigns by being a my Barceló member, following us on social media or booking through Barcelo.com. 

    If you have a discount code, enter it when booking and you will receive a discount on your booking. The discount does not apply to the cost of extras. The maximum amount of the accumulated discount will be 25% off the rate (except for last rooms); it is possible to combine a discount code and special discounts. Only one discount code per booking is permitted.

    Loading rates...
    The hotel does not have any rates allocated to it

    Best online price guaranteed

    If you find a better rate, we will top it.

    We will return the difference and we will also apply an additional 10% discount to the cost of the final booking. For more information...