Arena y mar en Occidental Grand Punta Cana Resort
map

Royal Level at Occidental Punta Cana

Avenida España   2300 La Altagracia , Bávaro   República Domincana  


Places of Interest

24.2 km Punta Cana International Airport

Right on the beachfront Beach

Premios y Reconocimientos Prizes and awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Royal Level at Occidental Punta Cana

4.0/5 Round Indicators
| 2889 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


GUESTS’ SCORE

Excellent

48% Complete

1392

Very good

25% Complete

740

Average

11% Complete

334

Poor

6% Complete

194

Very poor

7% Complete

229

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    kwit555 Canada. 05/24/2018 Friends getaway

    “Enjoyable Stay”

    Enjoyed my stay I Occidental Punta Cana. Went for a small bachelorette party in April. Clean resort, good food, fun entertainment (nightly shows at the theatre, fitness on the beach, music in certain areas). We spent most of our days at the gorgeous beach and the pool. The beach was not too crowded. I recommend you go reserve your chairs early if you are planning on staying at the pool. Downer with the beach: you have to walk to the buffet area to get a drink. There are no bars on the beach unless you are VIP. Staff was nice and welcoming. Our favourite staff member was Nordi at the lobby bar!!! Nord's service was amazing! I recommend this resort - great spot at a good price.

    gpcsm, Public Relations Manager at Occidental Punta Cana, responded to this review
     Dear guest, Thank you very much for choosing Occidental Punta Cana to spend your vacations and to value your stay. Knowing that we can fulfill their expectations to the fullest, we feel truly satisfied and motivated to continue providing an excellent service. We would be happy to welcome you again. It was a sincere pleasure to serve him.   Best regards,   Luz Salcé Public Relations Manager

    Round Indicators
    MelaninTravels684 London, United Kingdom. 05/22/2018 Friends getaway

    “Seeing is believing....DO NOT BELIEVE THE NEGATIVE HYPE”

    Me and my friends (all in our early 30's) enjoyed a 10 night holiday at the Occidental Punta Cana between 10-20 May. As we had booked our holiday since last year, after a lot of research and review reading, we settled on the Occidental. I am always on Tripadvisor reading reviews as it gives me a good representation of what to expect on arrival. The reviews during the lead up to my trip were very mixed...almost to the point of worry. I can honestly say the negative reviews were unwarranted unless you a bougie fuss-pot. We arrived at 5pm local time. Check in with the lovely Victoria (last name I did not catch) was effortless despite the language barrier. ALOT of reviews specified upgrading to the Royal Club. I even called British Airways (who i booked the trip with) for a quote. Victoria kindly stated that upgrading would cost an additional $35 dollars per person per night. (not the $400 dollars for the whole group as quoted) When you have paid in excess of $1100 per person for an all inclusive holiday, this additional extra is out of the question. We politely declined the upgrade. We paid $60 per person for unlimited WIFI for the duration of our trip. We had no issues with it. Yes - in particular locations around the resort it does drop off and you will need to re-add your details but no biggy. Our room was in block 25 on the second floor. The room was spacious and clean. The maid service could've been a bit better as they tend to come to clean around 3pm in the afternoon (although we were out by the pool or beach most of the time, we do love a mid afternoon nap after all that sun!). They do tend to let themselves in if you don't answer or get to the door in time which on occasion was awkward. They speak little english but are helpful if you point out what you want. The resort is medium sized. Beautifully kept grounds, with gardeners constantly ensuring its up keep. A few will offer you coconuts...these ARE NOT FREE. You will be charged (i paid $3 dollars for one on the beach!) You have been warned. The main pool is beautiful with to shallow ends and one deep section in the middle with two Jacuzzi sections. The pools outside block 25 could be classed as kids pools but were excellent in cooling off in the heat. There is another pool close to beach/directly outside of the seafood restaurant. Pools were well maintained. Sun loungers - Many people will wake up early to lay down their towels for the prime shaded areas of the main/'kids' pool. This can be a pain in the a** but you gotta be in it to win it so they say. Time share staff - We avoided these individuals like the plague. We were meant to have a welcome meeting which we avoided thanks to kind reviewers here on Tripadvisor! You will get a lot of staff asking you for a quick 'chat'. Politely say no and go about your business. They will continue to harass you but it will get better over time...I promise lol Resturants We dined at all 5 restaurants. Please ensure you wake up early enough (booking starts at 8am) to book. The a la cartes are worth your time. You can only book three restaurants at a time. My personal favourites were in order: - Mexican (although it is two courses you will not leave feeling hungry! Salad bar has the best variety - this could be considered as a starter but not documented in the menu) - Seafood (this is the only a la carte that provides a 4 course meal - they did not give us a welcome drink but gave drinks to the couple who came after us - petty (i know) but still an observation) - Steak house - Two courses again. Steak was well cooked but the salad bar lacked considerably - Italian was just ok - we were left hungry and went to have tacos and nachos after..totally underwelmed WORST - Oriental was by far the worst a la carte I have ever had in my life. The starter of beef was two small cold slices with some garnish and ginger on the side. The main and dessert were no better - again we had to go to the buffet to eat something more filling. Snack bar above the main pool services fries, nachos with various fillings, burgers, hot dogs, salad and pasta. The ice cream machine was a welcomed treat also and we used it regularly. We ate here as an alternative to the main buffet as it was convenient. Main Buffet - The buffet had a vast selection of foods. From personalised omelettes for breakfast to themed (esk) dinners. There was something for everyone...even the fussiest eater could survive! They iced doughnuts are better than Krsipy Cremes! We also loved the fresh pizza and taco place which serves from 6pm-6am DAILY! Shout out to Santos at the pool bar and the lovely lady at the snack bar who make the best cocktails - Miami vice and Boom Boom's :) Tipping - Where service warranted a tip I tipped. If it didn't I didn't. Didn't feel pressured into tipping or quilted into it either. yes - most are on a lower wage, however they are still getting paid the same way. The bell boys who drive you to and from your block with your luggage are expectant and sometimes reliant on these tips. In some cases, I can roll my case a short walk to the lobby without any issue. Its your prerogative. Entertainment - the daily evening shows and the live cabaret singing in the main lobby were awful in my opinion. I only watched 10 minutes of one show in my whole time there. The singers made me fall asleep at one point. I'm sure others would enjoy it but it was not my cup of tea at all. Overall, I had a wonderful time at this resort and would definitely recommend it to others. You will feel safe (as there was a security presence around at all times - not overwhelming though), drinks (although watered down) will flow, you will eat to your hearts content (and probably gain 10 pounds like me) but you will not be disappointed.
    Round Indicators
    jorn t Cork, Ireland. 05/22/2018 Couples

    “Good Resort.”

    My wife and me stayed at this hotel from May 9-17 and booked the Ocean Front room with First Club access. On Arrival we were taken with a golf-car to the First Club check in, but were taken back to main reception to check in again, as we only received our room number at the First Club desk (A bit pointless if you ask me). We had room 13305, the room was perfect, very nice ocean view and right on the beach. The beach with the First Club was really nice with the first club bar were you're drinks were made within a couple of minutes. Wilton was fantastic at the first club bar, after two days he knew what we wanted to drink and greeted us every morning. We have tried the Mexican, Italian, Oriental and Steakhouse, we only liked the oriental and the steakhouse. Staff at the Mexican was very rude and food at the Italian was not warm. The buffet is perfect for breakfast and we had lunch at the restaurant near the beach, were the made fresh pasta and burgers. I did like the USB charging ports in the room, two on each side of the bed, it was also nice that the mini bar in the room was filled up everyday with two beers, two coke's, two sprite and two bottles of water. Overall our stay was very nice and I would come back, however maybe for a shorter period of time.

    gpcsm, Public Relations Manager at Occidental Punta Cana, responded to this review
     Dear Jorn, We thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Occidental Punta Cana with us. We are glad that in general we were able to have satisfied your expectations. That said, we are constantly refreshing and renewing our services and facilities to ensure that our guest want to return year after year, which is why we guarantee your next visit will be far better than your last. It was our pleasure to serve you. Best regards, Luz Salcé Guest Service Manager.

    Round Indicators
    Marrero_JE Miami, Florida. 05/21/2018 Family

    “Beautiful resort! but dirty rooms and poor pool maintenance.”

    We went for 4 days, the check-in day was awful, slow, unprofessional staff, we change our rooms 3 times because were infected with cockroaches, when we complaint one of the staff said that was a tropical city but he did not know we live in tropical place also and we dont have that problem. We where a group of 13 people and 3 months early I requested room near each other when I did my reservation, our 5 rooms where in differents buildings, first day was a nightmare. But I got to say this resort is beautiful, we loved the buffet nice staff in there, also the rooms where cute except for CLEANLINESS, sheet looked dirty, the daily clean was not good, and the Pool we think they do not do to much maintenance on it, sad because is beautiful, about shows and disco you better go to sleep, the worse music at the disco, and quite small area, bored shows and steak restaurant not good, steak were overcooked (May 20th) and no tasty but the supervisor was really nice. Mexican restaurant was the best, delicious food and great staff, we were at May 19th. Beaches of course nice.

    gpcsm, Public Relations Manager at Occidental Punta Cana, responded to this review
     Dear Marrero, Thank you for rating your experience with us. Needless to say, it is disappointing to know that we failed to meet your expectations. Negative comments, however, are a good way to identify the areas in which we need to improve. I have forwarded your review so our management can address these issues directly. It was our pleasure to serve you. Sincerely, Luz Salcé Guest Service Manager

    Round Indicators
    Allie A 05/21/2018 Friends getaway

    “Great facility, a step up from my last all-inclusive”

    This was my seventh all-inclusive vacation, however my first in Punta Cana! Traveled with a group of 23 young adults this trip, and the hotel/Air Transat representative (Ramon) handled our group amazing. Food: You cannot go in to these places expecting HIGH quality food, buffets in Ontario (HOME) are not great either! Buffet foods are RARELY good quality anywhere! So the food was the same all-inclusive buffet style as all resorts. However I did find the steaks to be great! If you try to order a pizza from the upper level bar you will probably wait an hour but it is yummy!!! Hours (6-6am) kind of weird but REALLY the best thing I ate all week. Decor/Facilities: The bathrooms were always clean, restaurant tables were quickly bussed and clean as well. Our room was cleaned OKAY, could have been better could have been worse. The decor was a lot more modern and appealing than what I had seen from previous resorts however still has that all-inclusive feel in areas. Our room was very modern looking and the beds were comfy and clean. Staff: Limited English spoke from staff in our experience, I was not expecting them to have the best English however I do feel it could be improved a bit for some key positions. Staff were all friendly and made their best effort to understand what we were saying if their English was not great. My partner lost their phone during the stay and security helped for almost an hour straight looking for it. We had front desk call us almost everyday to ensure our rooms were cleaned properly and mini fridge was restocked which was great and showed us they really cared. Bars: The drinks were great! Made stiff and exactly as ordered in most cases. My only complaint here was the lack of bars! From my experience there are typically a lot more options to go for drinks. The bars here has somewhat bizarre hours and I wish they would have been open for longer. Beach: BEAUTIFUL, the water was gorgeous and the sand was clean. Absolutely stunning water. Excursions: Catamaran was AWESOME. Scuba Diving was unreal. Parasailing amazing as it always is. Overall I had an amazing time at the Occidental Punta Cana, I would recommend this resort and would return if the opportunity arose again. Thank you to everyone at the Occidental for making our stay a memorable one :)

    gpcsm, Public Relations Manager at Occidental Punta Cana, responded to this review
     Dear Allie, We thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Occidental Punta Cana with us. We are thrilled that you were pleased with our Service and renovated facilities. We would also like to thank you for recognizing the hard work of our team members. Rest assured that I will share your comments with them. We are definitely looking forward to host you on your next visit to the Dominican Republic to continue creating unforgettable memories together. It was our pleasure to serve you. Best regards, Luz Salcé Guest Service Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • may 24 2018
    • Canada
    • Friends getaway

    kwit555

    “Enjoyable Stay”


    Enjoyed my stay I Occidental Punta Cana. Went for a small bachelorette party in April. Clean resort, good food, fun entertainment (nightly shows at the theatre, fitness on the beach, music in certain areas). We spent most of our days at the gorgeous beach and the pool. The beach was not too crowded. I recommend you go reserve your chairs early if you are planning on staying at the pool. Downer with the beach: you have to walk to the buffet area to get a drink. There are no bars on the beach unless you are VIP. Staff was nice and welcoming. Our favourite staff member was Nordi at the lobby bar!!! Nord's service was amazing! I recommend this resort - great spot at a good price.


    gpcsm, Public Relations Manager at Occidental Punta Cana, responded to this review
    Dear guest, Thank you very much for choosing Occidental Punta Cana to spend your vacations and to value your stay. Knowing that we can fulfill their expectations to the fullest, we feel truly satisfied and motivated to continue providing an excellent service. We would be happy to welcome you again. It was a sincere pleasure to serve him.   Best regards,   Luz Salcé Public Relations Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • may 22 2018
    • London, United Kingdom
    • Friends getaway

    MelaninTravels684

    “Seeing is believing....DO NOT BELIEVE THE NEGATIVE HYPE”


    Me and my friends (all in our early 30's) enjoyed a 10 night holiday at the Occidental Punta Cana between 10-20 May. As we had booked our holiday since last year, after a lot of research and review reading, we settled on the Occidental. I am always on Tripadvisor reading reviews as it gives me a good representation of what to expect on arrival. The reviews during the lead up to my trip were very mixed...almost to the point of worry. I can honestly say the negative reviews were unwarranted unless you a bougie fuss-pot. We arrived at 5pm local time. Check in with the lovely Victoria (last name I did not catch) was effortless despite the language barrier. ALOT of reviews specified upgrading to the Royal Club. I even called British Airways (who i booked the trip with) for a quote. Victoria kindly stated that upgrading would cost an additional $35 dollars per person per night. (not the $400 dollars for the whole group as quoted) When you have paid in excess of $1100 per person for an all inclusive holiday, this additional extra is out of the question. We politely declined the upgrade. We paid $60 per person for unlimited WIFI for the duration of our trip. We had no issues with it. Yes - in particular locations around the resort it does drop off and you will need to re-add your details but no biggy. Our room was in block 25 on the second floor. The room was spacious and clean. The maid service could've been a bit better as they tend to come to clean around 3pm in the afternoon (although we were out by the pool or beach most of the time, we do love a mid afternoon nap after all that sun!). They do tend to let themselves in if you don't answer or get to the door in time which on occasion was awkward. They speak little english but are helpful if you point out what you want. The resort is medium sized. Beautifully kept grounds, with gardeners constantly ensuring its up keep. A few will offer you coconuts...these ARE NOT FREE. You will be charged (i paid $3 dollars for one on the beach!) You have been warned. The main pool is beautiful with to shallow ends and one deep section in the middle with two Jacuzzi sections. The pools outside block 25 could be classed as kids pools but were excellent in cooling off in the heat. There is another pool close to beach/directly outside of the seafood restaurant. Pools were well maintained. Sun loungers - Many people will wake up early to lay down their towels for the prime shaded areas of the main/'kids' pool. This can be a pain in the a** but you gotta be in it to win it so they say. Time share staff - We avoided these individuals like the plague. We were meant to have a welcome meeting which we avoided thanks to kind reviewers here on Tripadvisor! You will get a lot of staff asking you for a quick 'chat'. Politely say no and go about your business. They will continue to harass you but it will get better over time...I promise lol Resturants We dined at all 5 restaurants. Please ensure you wake up early enough (booking starts at 8am) to book. The a la cartes are worth your time. You can only book three restaurants at a time. My personal favourites were in order: - Mexican (although it is two courses you will not leave feeling hungry! Salad bar has the best variety - this could be considered as a starter but not documented in the menu) - Seafood (this is the only a la carte that provides a 4 course meal - they did not give us a welcome drink but gave drinks to the couple who came after us - petty (i know) but still an observation) - Steak house - Two courses again. Steak was well cooked but the salad bar lacked considerably - Italian was just ok - we were left hungry and went to have tacos and nachos after..totally underwelmed WORST - Oriental was by far the worst a la carte I have ever had in my life. The starter of beef was two small cold slices with some garnish and ginger on the side. The main and dessert were no better - again we had to go to the buffet to eat something more filling. Snack bar above the main pool services fries, nachos with various fillings, burgers, hot dogs, salad and pasta. The ice cream machine was a welcomed treat also and we used it regularly. We ate here as an alternative to the main buffet as it was convenient. Main Buffet - The buffet had a vast selection of foods. From personalised omelettes for breakfast to themed (esk) dinners. There was something for everyone...even the fussiest eater could survive! They iced doughnuts are better than Krsipy Cremes! We also loved the fresh pizza and taco place which serves from 6pm-6am DAILY! Shout out to Santos at the pool bar and the lovely lady at the snack bar who make the best cocktails - Miami vice and Boom Boom's :) Tipping - Where service warranted a tip I tipped. If it didn't I didn't. Didn't feel pressured into tipping or quilted into it either. yes - most are on a lower wage, however they are still getting paid the same way. The bell boys who drive you to and from your block with your luggage are expectant and sometimes reliant on these tips. In some cases, I can roll my case a short walk to the lobby without any issue. Its your prerogative. Entertainment - the daily evening shows and the live cabaret singing in the main lobby were awful in my opinion. I only watched 10 minutes of one show in my whole time there. The singers made me fall asleep at one point. I'm sure others would enjoy it but it was not my cup of tea at all. Overall, I had a wonderful time at this resort and would definitely recommend it to others. You will feel safe (as there was a security presence around at all times - not overwhelming though), drinks (although watered down) will flow, you will eat to your hearts content (and probably gain 10 pounds like me) but you will not be disappointed.


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • may 22 2018
    • Cork, Ireland
    • Couples

    jorn t

    “Good Resort.”


    My wife and me stayed at this hotel from May 9-17 and booked the Ocean Front room with First Club access. On Arrival we were taken with a golf-car to the First Club check in, but were taken back to main reception to check in again, as we only received our room number at the First Club desk (A bit pointless if you ask me). We had room 13305, the room was perfect, very nice ocean view and right on the beach. The beach with the First Club was really nice with the first club bar were you're drinks were made within a couple of minutes. Wilton was fantastic at the first club bar, after two days he knew what we wanted to drink and greeted us every morning. We have tried the Mexican, Italian, Oriental and Steakhouse, we only liked the oriental and the steakhouse. Staff at the Mexican was very rude and food at the Italian was not warm. The buffet is perfect for breakfast and we had lunch at the restaurant near the beach, were the made fresh pasta and burgers. I did like the USB charging ports in the room, two on each side of the bed, it was also nice that the mini bar in the room was filled up everyday with two beers, two coke's, two sprite and two bottles of water. Overall our stay was very nice and I would come back, however maybe for a shorter period of time.


    gpcsm, Public Relations Manager at Occidental Punta Cana, responded to this review
    Dear Jorn, We thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Occidental Punta Cana with us. We are glad that in general we were able to have satisfied your expectations. That said, we are constantly refreshing and renewing our services and facilities to ensure that our guest want to return year after year, which is why we guarantee your next visit will be far better than your last. It was our pleasure to serve you. Best regards, Luz Salcé Guest Service Manager.

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • may 21 2018
    • Miami, Florida
    • Family

    Marrero_JE

    “Beautiful resort! but dirty rooms and poor pool maintenance.”


    We went for 4 days, the check-in day was awful, slow, unprofessional staff, we change our rooms 3 times because were infected with cockroaches, when we complaint one of the staff said that was a tropical city but he did not know we live in tropical place also and we dont have that problem. We where a group of 13 people and 3 months early I requested room near each other when I did my reservation, our 5 rooms where in differents buildings, first day was a nightmare. But I got to say this resort is beautiful, we loved the buffet nice staff in there, also the rooms where cute except for CLEANLINESS, sheet looked dirty, the daily clean was not good, and the Pool we think they do not do to much maintenance on it, sad because is beautiful, about shows and disco you better go to sleep, the worse music at the disco, and quite small area, bored shows and steak restaurant not good, steak were overcooked (May 20th) and no tasty but the supervisor was really nice. Mexican restaurant was the best, delicious food and great staff, we were at May 19th. Beaches of course nice.


    gpcsm, Public Relations Manager at Occidental Punta Cana, responded to this review
    Dear Marrero, Thank you for rating your experience with us. Needless to say, it is disappointing to know that we failed to meet your expectations. Negative comments, however, are a good way to identify the areas in which we need to improve. I have forwarded your review so our management can address these issues directly. It was our pleasure to serve you. Sincerely, Luz Salcé Guest Service Manager

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • may 21 2018
    • Friends getaway

    Allie A

    “Great facility, a step up from my last all-inclusive”


    This was my seventh all-inclusive vacation, however my first in Punta Cana! Traveled with a group of 23 young adults this trip, and the hotel/Air Transat representative (Ramon) handled our group amazing. Food: You cannot go in to these places expecting HIGH quality food, buffets in Ontario (HOME) are not great either! Buffet foods are RARELY good quality anywhere! So the food was the same all-inclusive buffet style as all resorts. However I did find the steaks to be great! If you try to order a pizza from the upper level bar you will probably wait an hour but it is yummy!!! Hours (6-6am) kind of weird but REALLY the best thing I ate all week. Decor/Facilities: The bathrooms were always clean, restaurant tables were quickly bussed and clean as well. Our room was cleaned OKAY, could have been better could have been worse. The decor was a lot more modern and appealing than what I had seen from previous resorts however still has that all-inclusive feel in areas. Our room was very modern looking and the beds were comfy and clean. Staff: Limited English spoke from staff in our experience, I was not expecting them to have the best English however I do feel it could be improved a bit for some key positions. Staff were all friendly and made their best effort to understand what we were saying if their English was not great. My partner lost their phone during the stay and security helped for almost an hour straight looking for it. We had front desk call us almost everyday to ensure our rooms were cleaned properly and mini fridge was restocked which was great and showed us they really cared. Bars: The drinks were great! Made stiff and exactly as ordered in most cases. My only complaint here was the lack of bars! From my experience there are typically a lot more options to go for drinks. The bars here has somewhat bizarre hours and I wish they would have been open for longer. Beach: BEAUTIFUL, the water was gorgeous and the sand was clean. Absolutely stunning water. Excursions: Catamaran was AWESOME. Scuba Diving was unreal. Parasailing amazing as it always is. Overall I had an amazing time at the Occidental Punta Cana, I would recommend this resort and would return if the opportunity arose again. Thank you to everyone at the Occidental for making our stay a memorable one :)


    gpcsm, Public Relations Manager at Occidental Punta Cana, responded to this review
    Dear Allie, We thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Occidental Punta Cana with us. We are thrilled that you were pleased with our Service and renovated facilities. We would also like to thank you for recognizing the hard work of our team members. Rest assured that I will share your comments with them. We are definitely looking forward to host you on your next visit to the Dominican Republic to continue creating unforgettable memories together. It was our pleasure to serve you. Best regards, Luz Salcé Guest Service Manager