Barceló Hotel Pool  Jandía Playa
map

Map and location

Sancho Panza, s/n. Urbanización Playa del Jable   35625 Jandía, Pájara (Fuerteventura) , Islas Canarias   España  


Places of Interest

84 km Fuerteventura

400 m Jandía beach

45 km Las Playitas Golf Course

1 km Jandía Golf

Premios y Reconocimientos

Prizes and awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Occidental Jandía Playa

4.0/5 Round Indicators
| 6928 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


Comments

Excellent

34% Complete

2372

Very good

40% Complete

2804

Average

16% Complete

1112

Poor

5% Complete

404

Very poor

3% Complete

236

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    egidijamaks Kaunas, Lithuania. 10/15/2018 Family

    “ecellent holidays”

    good place, wonderfull view, waterpools, beatiful ocean's coasttasty food, excellent animationweather was superno food making, no making bedspleasant staff, very comfortable car rents inside hotelbeautilul trees and flowerswe will be back :)only photograph dissapointed us
    Round Indicators
    MOOMOO54 Southampton, United Kingdom. 10/15/2018 Couples

    “Pleasant but large resort, perhaps better suited for families”

    In general we had a good time. Resort is very large, attracts mainly Germans and families. Clean, food plentiful (no a la carte unless in Royal Level). Probably one of best buffets we have experienced in Europe. Pools are clean, deep enough for a decent swim. Grounds pretty and well kept. Room clean and comfortablet. We were in block 9 which is a steep walk to and from amenities. We had a sea view but be warned this is over the shopping centre and busy road. There is not a great deal to do in this part of the island but if you want a beach/pool holiday this is a good option. Staff are great..polite and helpful.Lots of beds around pool ..a bit cramped. Pool bar and snack bar only use what appear to be non-recycled cups. Would be interesed in their recycling policy. It's nearly a 2 hour drive/drop off from airport.
    Round Indicators
    jdjarchard 10/14/2018 Family

    “Wonderful stay at Occidental Jandia Playa”

    Had a absolutely wonderful time here, would highly recommend. The staff, facilities, service and rooms were all of a high standard. Lots of space in the hotel buildings and grounds to enjoy and not too far from the beach.
    Round Indicators
    lime18 upnorth. 10/14/2018 Couples

    “The good, the bad and the ugly!”

    If you haven't booked yet, don't, if you have I shall give an honest review. Two weeks prior to the holiday I hurt my foot and requested a room near to the facilities as I had read that the hotel was large. On arrival the room was 7003, quite a trudge to the restaurant etc and on the ground floor, about 2ft off a busy pathway, with no privacy what so ever. I requested a room change, which was quite a palaver to say the least and you'd have thought I'd committed a crime for daring to ask! Any way, ended up in block 6 after the rep helped out, which was a bit more private, but no nearer as this room was further down the building. The whole process took 2 days and wasted the best part of a day hanging around waiting for the room and luggage. All rooms are not equal, this room had no kettle, no English TV channel, the fan was useless and the furniture tatty. Air- con in both rooms was inefficient and I spent 2 weeks sweating buckets all night. We had 3 cleaners during our stay, one was ok, one was lovely, making a real effort with flowers and towel creations, the last one was terrible. I made my own bed, swapping the sheets round and I left a sweaty pillow case at the end of the bed hoping for a clean one, and she kindly put it back on the pillow. Had to wash it my self, seriously 4 star?? The floor was filthy and by the end of our stay, there was something scary going on under the glass of the desk! So, new room, new day, off we go to breakfast, you have to walk round the pool to get to the restaurant, and bang! I'm on the deck, how I didn't break my hip or wrist I'll never know. ( was lucky to get away with a lovely bruise ) The yellow caution sign was in the bushes, very useful, and I'd slipped on suntan oil and a wet tile. ( note to previous reviewer, I'm not THAT old! ) The pool area in general wasn't the best, it sounded like a Drs Surgery with all the coughing and sneezing ( air con virus I expect, we were both ill too, there's a good pharmacy in town ) if you wanted a shady sun bed then get up at the crack of dawn and put you towel down because everyone else has. Animation team....... I appreciate they have a job to do, but the Aqua Zumba/ aerobics twice a day was a nightmare, you can actually hear it on the beach and we met a couple from the sister hotel who could hear it too. I reckon 65% of the clientele round the pool were middle aged and over, so maybe they could rethink the music and volume accordingly. The food was good and there was plenty to choose from. Good selection of drinks. All the staff here were pleasant and hard working, no problems on that score. Ate out last two nights for a change, there's some lovely places in town and Morro Jable. Bar drinks were alright, the cocktails are not the nicest, pre- made in ice buckets. Not all bar staff were pleasant, some were downright ignorant. Don't eat the bar snacks, my husband saw the young barman in the reception bar putting left over peanuts back in the jar, nice! Snack bar was a lovely place to sit, food is the same everyday but it was pleasant. However, don't go at lunch time or 5 ish if you don't want to be deafened by the Aqua Zumba and the chap on the microphone........ The gardens were pretty and well kept. Had a nice day at the spa. Lovely day out at the Zoo. Fab trip to Gran Canaria, well worth getting up at 4.30 for, definitely recommend that. 15 minute slow walk to the start of Jandia town, some shops and bar in front of hotel. 15 minute walk to beach, but the nicest areas are a further walk either way, Morro Jable is lovely, treat yourself to a cab there if you can't manage the walk. Didn't go to the entertainment so can't comment on that. Requested a late checkout and of course it wasn't available, what a surprise! So had a 4 hour wait to be picked up for the airport. Now, other people have mentioned that they felt like second class's citizens, and sadly we felt that too. Apart from asking politely for a different room, we didn't complain about anything ( and there was plenty we could have done! ) we are just normal 50 lala folk, we have never experienced this on any other holiday. So, to sum up, wrong choice of hotel, big disappointment, was so looking forward to our holiday 😕 Pay a bit more and go to Magic life, it's lovely there !

    Barcelo_Canarias, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Playa, responded to this review
     Dear Guest, We are really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the experience in our hotel to the fullest as we strive to make each stay with us an unforgettable one. Discussions involving the respective team members and management have taken place to review your comments, and we would like to assure you that all of your concerns will be addressed and attended to. I am very sorry that we weren´t able to make your room request come true and would like to take the opportunity to explain that we always allocate our rooms in accordance with the room category reserved as they are decisive to the cost of your stay. Nevertheless it is our goal to achieve maximum customer satisfaction, and when we can we always try to make special wishes come true. For a future occasion we strongly recommend you to visit our website or to contact our call center from where our agents will be able to give you all the relevant information on the hotel of your choice to make sure that you book the accommodation type that best meets your holiday needs and wishes. We do apologize for the technical problems you encountered in your room; there are absolutely no excuses for details to be overlooked as all rooms and areas should be thoroughly checked on a daily basis. We will make sure that the procedure is being reinforced. However, we do not seem to find records that our staff had been made aware of that while staying with us; naturally we would have send our maintenance department to solve all issues. We are sincerely sorry to read your dissatisfaction with the cleaning of your room, we strive to provide total confidence in this area being fully aware that hygiene and cleanliness are aspects of major importance for our guests to feel 100% comfortable in our hotels, for a future ocasion please do not hesitate to contact our réception desk to point out any service imperfection, the team will be swift in addressing the issue and correct any situation that is not in accordance with our established standards. We are deeply sorry to read that you fall during your stay in our pool area and that we have received no information about this as we could have call a doctor and help you in anything you may need. We lament hearing that the service provided at reception fell short of your expectations as the entire team put a lot of effort to maintain the highest standards of service for our guests to fully enjoy their expérience among us. We were most concerned to read your remarks on the service you experienced whilst staying among us, mostly because your comments do not reflect the usual standard of service we strive to ensure for our guests, nevertheless please rest assured that your review will be shared with our head of departments for information and further revision. On the other hand It is good to know that you enjoyed the many culinary delights prepared by our professional Chefs who always strive to offer a wide variety of typical delights in order to please all palates and we thank you for letting us know that we could conquer yours. We grateful for your compliments towards our staff, whose kindness and helpfulness is one of our hotel's greatest strengths and we promise to congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst in our hotel. Please be assured that your comments will be taken into serious consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. Once again, thank you for your time and despite the issues you have raised following your stay, we hope that Barceló will remain an option for your next holiday and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future. Kind Regards, Guest Experience Manager Occidental Jandia Playa****

    Round Indicators
    E1450BPandrewd Derby, United Kingdom. 10/13/2018 Couples

    “Disappointed”

    We booked royal level and felt second class. Royal level desk closed for our check in and only manned for parts of the day. Adult only balcony bar closed for 3 hours at midday day but family areas have a help yourself option available all day. Big choice of food in Atlantic restaurant but usually cold. Despite late check out being advertised as an option we booked the day before but asked to confirm on departure day only to be told it was not available and freshen up room fully booked so use the spa shower was the only option . Any staff below management very friendly and helpful. If you book royal level expecting a good experience then expect to be disappointed. Thomas Cook has lost themselves a loyal customer with this experience we will try other options for our next holiday

    Barcelo_Canarias, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Playa, responded to this review
     Dear Guest, Although we sincerely regret your disappointment with your stay in our Occidental Jandia Royal Level, we would like to thank you for sharing your comments as it will help us to identify areas of concern and act immediately so as to enhance our future guests' experience among us. We were most concerned to read your remarks on the service at midday you experienced whilst staying among us, mostly because your comments do not reflect the usual standard of service we strive to ensure for our guests, nevertheless please rest assured that your review will be shared with our head of departments for information and further revision, anyway all Royal Level Guests have the option to use also Occidental Jandia Playa facilities. We lament hearing that the service provided at reception fell short of your expectations as the entire team put a lot of effort to maintain the highest standards of service for our guests to fully enjoy their expérience among us. We would like to take the opportunity to explain that due to the high occupancy of our hotel during your stay, we were not able to guarantee a late check out of your room on this occasion, bearing in mind that we always ensure the possibility to use our spa for our guests having late flights back home so that they can take advantage of our hotel's facilities and freshen up before departing to the airport. We would also like to inform you that all trays of our buffets are being constantly checked by our kitchen staff to ensure that the temperature of the food is adequate and that all options are being replenished throughout all services, nevertheless please rest assured that your comments will be shared with the team so as to avoid receiving this kind of feedback in the future. Finally, we would like to express our sincerest gratitude for your kind words toward our waiting staff in restaurant and bars as they strive to deliver an excellent service at all times to ensure our guests fully enjoy their dining expériences among us. Please be assured that your comments will be taken into serious consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. Once again, thank you for your time and despite the issues you have raised following your stay, we hope that Barceló will remain an option for your next holiday and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future. Kind Regards, Guest Experience Manager Occidental Jandia Royal Level**** Occidental Jandia Playa****

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • october 15 2018
    • Kaunas, Lithuania
    • Family

    egidijamaks

    “ecellent holidays”


    good place, wonderfull view, waterpools, beatiful ocean's coasttasty food, excellent animationweather was superno food making, no making bedspleasant staff, very comfortable car rents inside hotelbeautilul trees and flowerswe will be back :)only photograph dissapointed us


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • october 15 2018
    • Southampton, United Kingdom
    • Couples

    MOOMOO54

    “Pleasant but large resort, perhaps better suited for families”


    In general we had a good time. Resort is very large, attracts mainly Germans and families. Clean, food plentiful (no a la carte unless in Royal Level). Probably one of best buffets we have experienced in Europe. Pools are clean, deep enough for a decent swim. Grounds pretty and well kept. Room clean and comfortablet. We were in block 9 which is a steep walk to and from amenities. We had a sea view but be warned this is over the shopping centre and busy road. There is not a great deal to do in this part of the island but if you want a beach/pool holiday this is a good option. Staff are great..polite and helpful.Lots of beds around pool ..a bit cramped. Pool bar and snack bar only use what appear to be non-recycled cups. Would be interesed in their recycling policy. It's nearly a 2 hour drive/drop off from airport.


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • october 14 2018
    • Family

    jdjarchard

    “Wonderful stay at Occidental Jandia Playa”


    Had a absolutely wonderful time here, would highly recommend. The staff, facilities, service and rooms were all of a high standard. Lots of space in the hotel buildings and grounds to enjoy and not too far from the beach.


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • october 14 2018
    • upnorth
    • Couples

    lime18

    “The good, the bad and the ugly!”


    If you haven't booked yet, don't, if you have I shall give an honest review. Two weeks prior to the holiday I hurt my foot and requested a room near to the facilities as I had read that the hotel was large. On arrival the room was 7003, quite a trudge to the restaurant etc and on the ground floor, about 2ft off a busy pathway, with no privacy what so ever. I requested a room change, which was quite a palaver to say the least and you'd have thought I'd committed a crime for daring to ask! Any way, ended up in block 6 after the rep helped out, which was a bit more private, but no nearer as this room was further down the building. The whole process took 2 days and wasted the best part of a day hanging around waiting for the room and luggage. All rooms are not equal, this room had no kettle, no English TV channel, the fan was useless and the furniture tatty. Air- con in both rooms was inefficient and I spent 2 weeks sweating buckets all night. We had 3 cleaners during our stay, one was ok, one was lovely, making a real effort with flowers and towel creations, the last one was terrible. I made my own bed, swapping the sheets round and I left a sweaty pillow case at the end of the bed hoping for a clean one, and she kindly put it back on the pillow. Had to wash it my self, seriously 4 star?? The floor was filthy and by the end of our stay, there was something scary going on under the glass of the desk! So, new room, new day, off we go to breakfast, you have to walk round the pool to get to the restaurant, and bang! I'm on the deck, how I didn't break my hip or wrist I'll never know. ( was lucky to get away with a lovely bruise ) The yellow caution sign was in the bushes, very useful, and I'd slipped on suntan oil and a wet tile. ( note to previous reviewer, I'm not THAT old! ) The pool area in general wasn't the best, it sounded like a Drs Surgery with all the coughing and sneezing ( air con virus I expect, we were both ill too, there's a good pharmacy in town ) if you wanted a shady sun bed then get up at the crack of dawn and put you towel down because everyone else has. Animation team....... I appreciate they have a job to do, but the Aqua Zumba/ aerobics twice a day was a nightmare, you can actually hear it on the beach and we met a couple from the sister hotel who could hear it too. I reckon 65% of the clientele round the pool were middle aged and over, so maybe they could rethink the music and volume accordingly. The food was good and there was plenty to choose from. Good selection of drinks. All the staff here were pleasant and hard working, no problems on that score. Ate out last two nights for a change, there's some lovely places in town and Morro Jable. Bar drinks were alright, the cocktails are not the nicest, pre- made in ice buckets. Not all bar staff were pleasant, some were downright ignorant. Don't eat the bar snacks, my husband saw the young barman in the reception bar putting left over peanuts back in the jar, nice! Snack bar was a lovely place to sit, food is the same everyday but it was pleasant. However, don't go at lunch time or 5 ish if you don't want to be deafened by the Aqua Zumba and the chap on the microphone........ The gardens were pretty and well kept. Had a nice day at the spa. Lovely day out at the Zoo. Fab trip to Gran Canaria, well worth getting up at 4.30 for, definitely recommend that. 15 minute slow walk to the start of Jandia town, some shops and bar in front of hotel. 15 minute walk to beach, but the nicest areas are a further walk either way, Morro Jable is lovely, treat yourself to a cab there if you can't manage the walk. Didn't go to the entertainment so can't comment on that. Requested a late checkout and of course it wasn't available, what a surprise! So had a 4 hour wait to be picked up for the airport. Now, other people have mentioned that they felt like second class's citizens, and sadly we felt that too. Apart from asking politely for a different room, we didn't complain about anything ( and there was plenty we could have done! ) we are just normal 50 lala folk, we have never experienced this on any other holiday. So, to sum up, wrong choice of hotel, big disappointment, was so looking forward to our holiday 😕 Pay a bit more and go to Magic life, it's lovely there !


    Barcelo_Canarias, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Playa, responded to this review
    Dear Guest, We are really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the experience in our hotel to the fullest as we strive to make each stay with us an unforgettable one. Discussions involving the respective team members and management have taken place to review your comments, and we would like to assure you that all of your concerns will be addressed and attended to. I am very sorry that we weren´t able to make your room request come true and would like to take the opportunity to explain that we always allocate our rooms in accordance with the room category reserved as they are decisive to the cost of your stay. Nevertheless it is our goal to achieve maximum customer satisfaction, and when we can we always try to make special wishes come true. For a future occasion we strongly recommend you to visit our website or to contact our call center from where our agents will be able to give you all the relevant information on the hotel of your choice to make sure that you book the accommodation type that best meets your holiday needs and wishes. We do apologize for the technical problems you encountered in your room; there are absolutely no excuses for details to be overlooked as all rooms and areas should be thoroughly checked on a daily basis. We will make sure that the procedure is being reinforced. However, we do not seem to find records that our staff had been made aware of that while staying with us; naturally we would have send our maintenance department to solve all issues. We are sincerely sorry to read your dissatisfaction with the cleaning of your room, we strive to provide total confidence in this area being fully aware that hygiene and cleanliness are aspects of major importance for our guests to feel 100% comfortable in our hotels, for a future ocasion please do not hesitate to contact our réception desk to point out any service imperfection, the team will be swift in addressing the issue and correct any situation that is not in accordance with our established standards. We are deeply sorry to read that you fall during your stay in our pool area and that we have received no information about this as we could have call a doctor and help you in anything you may need. We lament hearing that the service provided at reception fell short of your expectations as the entire team put a lot of effort to maintain the highest standards of service for our guests to fully enjoy their expérience among us. We were most concerned to read your remarks on the service you experienced whilst staying among us, mostly because your comments do not reflect the usual standard of service we strive to ensure for our guests, nevertheless please rest assured that your review will be shared with our head of departments for information and further revision. On the other hand It is good to know that you enjoyed the many culinary delights prepared by our professional Chefs who always strive to offer a wide variety of typical delights in order to please all palates and we thank you for letting us know that we could conquer yours. We grateful for your compliments towards our staff, whose kindness and helpfulness is one of our hotel's greatest strengths and we promise to congratulate them all on your behalf for their contribution to your wellbeing whilst in our hotel. Please be assured that your comments will be taken into serious consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. Once again, thank you for your time and despite the issues you have raised following your stay, we hope that Barceló will remain an option for your next holiday and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future. Kind Regards, Guest Experience Manager Occidental Jandia Playa****

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • october 13 2018
    • Derby, United Kingdom
    • Couples

    E1450BPandrewd

    “Disappointed”


    We booked royal level and felt second class. Royal level desk closed for our check in and only manned for parts of the day. Adult only balcony bar closed for 3 hours at midday day but family areas have a help yourself option available all day. Big choice of food in Atlantic restaurant but usually cold. Despite late check out being advertised as an option we booked the day before but asked to confirm on departure day only to be told it was not available and freshen up room fully booked so use the spa shower was the only option . Any staff below management very friendly and helpful. If you book royal level expecting a good experience then expect to be disappointed. Thomas Cook has lost themselves a loyal customer with this experience we will try other options for our next holiday


    Barcelo_Canarias, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Playa, responded to this review
    Dear Guest, Although we sincerely regret your disappointment with your stay in our Occidental Jandia Royal Level, we would like to thank you for sharing your comments as it will help us to identify areas of concern and act immediately so as to enhance our future guests' experience among us. We were most concerned to read your remarks on the service at midday you experienced whilst staying among us, mostly because your comments do not reflect the usual standard of service we strive to ensure for our guests, nevertheless please rest assured that your review will be shared with our head of departments for information and further revision, anyway all Royal Level Guests have the option to use also Occidental Jandia Playa facilities. We lament hearing that the service provided at reception fell short of your expectations as the entire team put a lot of effort to maintain the highest standards of service for our guests to fully enjoy their expérience among us. We would like to take the opportunity to explain that due to the high occupancy of our hotel during your stay, we were not able to guarantee a late check out of your room on this occasion, bearing in mind that we always ensure the possibility to use our spa for our guests having late flights back home so that they can take advantage of our hotel's facilities and freshen up before departing to the airport. We would also like to inform you that all trays of our buffets are being constantly checked by our kitchen staff to ensure that the temperature of the food is adequate and that all options are being replenished throughout all services, nevertheless please rest assured that your comments will be shared with the team so as to avoid receiving this kind of feedback in the future. Finally, we would like to express our sincerest gratitude for your kind words toward our waiting staff in restaurant and bars as they strive to deliver an excellent service at all times to ensure our guests fully enjoy their dining expériences among us. Please be assured that your comments will be taken into serious consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. Once again, thank you for your time and despite the issues you have raised following your stay, we hope that Barceló will remain an option for your next holiday and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future. Kind Regards, Guest Experience Manager Occidental Jandia Royal Level**** Occidental Jandia Playa****

    Barceló Hotel Pool  Jandía Playa

    Quality and comfort with a Canary Island soul

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in El Salvador

    Select El Salvador

    Hotels in Costa Rica

    Select Costa Rica

    Hotels in Ecuador

    Select Ecuador

    Hotels in Guatemala

    Select Guatemala

    Hotels in Nicaragua

    Select Nicaragua

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Aruba

    Select Aruba

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Hotels in Germany

    Select Germany

    Hotels in Bulgaria

    Select Bulgaria

    Hotels in Italy

    Select Italy

    Hotels in Greece

    Select Greece

    Hotels in Portugal

    Select Portugal

    Hotels in Morocco

    Select Morocco

    Hotels in Egypt

    Select Egypt

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z