Barceló Hotel Pool  Jandía Playa
map

Map and location

Sancho Panza, s/n. Urbanización Playa del Jable   35625 Jandía, Pájara (Fuerteventura) , Islas Canarias   España  


Places of Interest

84 km Fuerteventura

400 m Jandía beach

45 km Las Playitas Golf Course

1 km Jandía Golf

Premios y Reconocimientos

Prizes and awards

Guest reviews.

There is no better expert than a traveller.

Occidental Jandía Playa

4.0/5 Round Indicators
| 6920 Reviews

TOTAL EVALUATION

Round Indicators

DETAILED EVALUATION

Round Indicators

Quality/price ratio

Round Indicators

Location

Round Indicators

Quality of sleep

Round Indicators

Rooms

Round Indicators

Cleaning

Round Indicators

Service


Comments

Excellent

34% Complete

2368

Very good

40% Complete

2800

Average

16% Complete

1112

Poor

5% Complete

404

Very poor

3% Complete

236

Filter by

Sort by

    Round Indicators
    jdjarchard 10/14/2018 Family

    “Wonderful stay at Occidental Jandia Playa”

    Had a absolutely wonderful time here, would highly recommend. The staff, facilities, service and rooms were all of a high standard. Lots of space in the hotel buildings and grounds to enjoy and not too far from the beach.
    Round Indicators
    lime18 upnorth. 10/14/2018 Couples

    “The good, the bad and the ugly!”

    If you haven't booked yet, don't, if you have I shall give an honest review. Two weeks prior to the holiday I hurt my foot and requested a room near to the facilities as I had read that the hotel was large. On arrival the room was 7003, quite a trudge to the restaurant etc and on the ground floor, about 2ft off a busy pathway, with no privacy what so ever. I requested a room change, which was quite a palaver to say the least and you'd have thought I'd committed a crime for daring to ask! Any way, ended up in block 6 after the rep helped out, which was a bit more private, but no nearer as this room was further down the building. The whole process took 2 days and wasted the best part of a day hanging around waiting for the room and luggage. All rooms are not equal, this room had no kettle, no English TV channel, the fan was useless and the furniture tatty. Air- con in both rooms was inefficient and I spent 2 weeks sweating buckets all night. We had 3 cleaners during our stay, one was ok, one was lovely, making a real effort with flowers and towel creations, the last one was terrible. I made my own bed, swapping the sheets round and I left a sweaty pillow case at the end of the bed hoping for a clean one, and she kindly put it back on the pillow. Had to wash it my self, seriously 4 star?? The floor was filthy and by the end of our stay, there was something scary going on under the glass of the desk! So, new room, new day, off we go to breakfast, you have to walk round the pool to get to the restaurant, and bang! I'm on the deck, how I didn't break my hip or wrist I'll never know. ( was lucky to get away with a lovely bruise ) The yellow caution sign was in the bushes, very useful, and I'd slipped on suntan oil and a wet tile. ( note to previous reviewer, I'm not THAT old! ) The pool area in general wasn't the best, it sounded like a Drs Surgery with all the coughing and sneezing ( air con virus I expect, we were both ill too, there's a good pharmacy in town ) if you wanted a shady sun bed then get up at the crack of dawn and put you towel down because everyone else has. Animation team....... I appreciate they have a job to do, but the Aqua Zumba/ aerobics twice a day was a nightmare, you can actually hear it on the beach and we met a couple from the sister hotel who could hear it too. I reckon 65% of the clientele round the pool were middle aged and over, so maybe they could rethink the music and volume accordingly. The food was good and there was plenty to choose from. Good selection of drinks. All the staff here were pleasant and hard working, no problems on that score. Ate out last two nights for a change, there's some lovely places in town and Morro Jable. Bar drinks were alright, the cocktails are not the nicest, pre- made in ice buckets. Not all bar staff were pleasant, some were downright ignorant. Don't eat the bar snacks, my husband saw the young barman in the reception bar putting left over peanuts back in the jar, nice! Snack bar was a lovely place to sit, food is the same everyday but it was pleasant. However, don't go at lunch time or 5 ish if you don't want to be deafened by the Aqua Zumba and the chap on the microphone........ The gardens were pretty and well kept. Had a nice day at the spa. Lovely day out at the Zoo. Fab trip to Gran Canaria, well worth getting up at 4.30 for, definitely recommend that. 15 minute slow walk to the start of Jandia town, some shops and bar in front of hotel. 15 minute walk to beach, but the nicest areas are a further walk either way, Morro Jable is lovely, treat yourself to a cab there if you can't manage the walk. Didn't go to the entertainment so can't comment on that. Requested a late checkout and of course it wasn't available, what a surprise! So had a 4 hour wait to be picked up for the airport. Now, other people have mentioned that they felt like second class's citizens, and sadly we felt that too. Apart from asking politely for a different room, we didn't complain about anything ( and there was plenty we could have done! ) we are just normal 50 lala folk, we have never experienced this on any other holiday. So, to sum up, wrong choice of hotel, big disappointment, was so looking forward to our holiday 😕 Pay a bit more and go to Magic life, it's lovely there !
    Round Indicators
    E1450BPandrewd Derby, United Kingdom. 10/13/2018 Couples

    “Disappointed”

    We booked royal level and felt second class. Royal level desk closed for our check in and only manned for parts of the day. Adult only balcony bar closed for 3 hours at midday day but family areas have a help yourself option available all day. Big choice of food in Atlantic restaurant but usually cold. Despite late check out being advertised as an option we booked the day before but asked to confirm on departure day only to be told it was not available and freshen up room fully booked so use the spa shower was the only option . Any staff below management very friendly and helpful. If you book royal level expecting a good experience then expect to be disappointed. Thomas Cook has lost themselves a loyal customer with this experience we will try other options for our next holiday

    Barcelo_Canarias, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Playa, responded to this review
     Dear Guest, Although we sincerely regret your disappointment with your stay in our Occidental Jandia Royal Level, we would like to thank you for sharing your comments as it will help us to identify areas of concern and act immediately so as to enhance our future guests' experience among us. We were most concerned to read your remarks on the service at midday you experienced whilst staying among us, mostly because your comments do not reflect the usual standard of service we strive to ensure for our guests, nevertheless please rest assured that your review will be shared with our head of departments for information and further revision, anyway all Royal Level Guests have the option to use also Occidental Jandia Playa facilities. We lament hearing that the service provided at reception fell short of your expectations as the entire team put a lot of effort to maintain the highest standards of service for our guests to fully enjoy their expérience among us. We would like to take the opportunity to explain that due to the high occupancy of our hotel during your stay, we were not able to guarantee a late check out of your room on this occasion, bearing in mind that we always ensure the possibility to use our spa for our guests having late flights back home so that they can take advantage of our hotel's facilities and freshen up before departing to the airport. We would also like to inform you that all trays of our buffets are being constantly checked by our kitchen staff to ensure that the temperature of the food is adequate and that all options are being replenished throughout all services, nevertheless please rest assured that your comments will be shared with the team so as to avoid receiving this kind of feedback in the future. Finally, we would like to express our sincerest gratitude for your kind words toward our waiting staff in restaurant and bars as they strive to deliver an excellent service at all times to ensure our guests fully enjoy their dining expériences among us. Please be assured that your comments will be taken into serious consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. Once again, thank you for your time and despite the issues you have raised following your stay, we hope that Barceló will remain an option for your next holiday and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future. Kind Regards, Guest Experience Manager Occidental Jandia Royal Level**** Occidental Jandia Playa****

    Round Indicators
    judy g Lincoln, United Kingdom. 10/11/2018 Couples

    “Fab holiday. Can't wait to go back.”

    Had 7 lovely days at the jardia playa. Lovely staff. Lovely room. Just lovely lovely. Next time 2 week. Can highly recommend.dosnt matter what time of day. You will always get a sunbed. (NEVER SEEN SO MANY) and there is no leaving towels on them. Great food. Lot and lots to drink. Never been so relaxed.

    Barcelo_Canarias, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Playa, responded to this review
     Dear Judy, Thank you very much for leaving these wonderful comments and recommendation on Tripadvisor, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay among us. We are glad you enjoyed the beauty of our relaxing areas as well as the comfort of our sunbeds. Last but not least, it fills us with pride that you could enjoy the gastronomical efforts of our chefs as we strive to satisfy the many culinary wishes of our guests offering the most delicious international and local dishes. Thank you again for this heartwarming review of your stay with us, we look forward to your next visit. Kind Regards, Guest Experience Manager Occidental Jandia Playa****

    Round Indicators
    Gemma D Derby, United Kingdom. 10/11/2018 Family

    “Amazing holiday ”

    Our family of 12 have just returned from a weeks stay at Occidental Jandia Playa and it was so good, I had to write a review. Our party consisted of 4 children ages ranging from 10 months to 6 years and 8 adults. The hotel rooms were lovely and big, very clean and comfortable. The staff at the hotel were amazing and always made the effort by talking with the children and nothing was too much trouble. We spent a lot of time by the pool where the animation team played games and held aqua classes several times a day. Alcoholic / fizzy drinks and coffee were available throughout the day from the pool bar and there were slushy drinks machines for the kids, which they loved. There was always plenty to chose food wise from the buffet restaurant and snack bar. They also cater for food intolerances by offering alternatives which was a nice surprise for one of our party who is lactose intolerant. There is a 10 minute walk down the hill to the beach and shops, I had read a lot of reviews saying how steep it was but we had two push chairs and we didn’t find this an issue at all. The paths are all clear and a lift is available to take you to the lower level for the shops. Beautiful weather and stunning beach - extremely clean! It’s very difficult booking a holiday for such a large group but we really had an amazing time and would definitely recommend.

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • october 14 2018
    • Family

    jdjarchard

    “Wonderful stay at Occidental Jandia Playa”


    Had a absolutely wonderful time here, would highly recommend. The staff, facilities, service and rooms were all of a high standard. Lots of space in the hotel buildings and grounds to enjoy and not too far from the beach.


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • october 14 2018
    • upnorth
    • Couples

    lime18

    “The good, the bad and the ugly!”


    If you haven't booked yet, don't, if you have I shall give an honest review. Two weeks prior to the holiday I hurt my foot and requested a room near to the facilities as I had read that the hotel was large. On arrival the room was 7003, quite a trudge to the restaurant etc and on the ground floor, about 2ft off a busy pathway, with no privacy what so ever. I requested a room change, which was quite a palaver to say the least and you'd have thought I'd committed a crime for daring to ask! Any way, ended up in block 6 after the rep helped out, which was a bit more private, but no nearer as this room was further down the building. The whole process took 2 days and wasted the best part of a day hanging around waiting for the room and luggage. All rooms are not equal, this room had no kettle, no English TV channel, the fan was useless and the furniture tatty. Air- con in both rooms was inefficient and I spent 2 weeks sweating buckets all night. We had 3 cleaners during our stay, one was ok, one was lovely, making a real effort with flowers and towel creations, the last one was terrible. I made my own bed, swapping the sheets round and I left a sweaty pillow case at the end of the bed hoping for a clean one, and she kindly put it back on the pillow. Had to wash it my self, seriously 4 star?? The floor was filthy and by the end of our stay, there was something scary going on under the glass of the desk! So, new room, new day, off we go to breakfast, you have to walk round the pool to get to the restaurant, and bang! I'm on the deck, how I didn't break my hip or wrist I'll never know. ( was lucky to get away with a lovely bruise ) The yellow caution sign was in the bushes, very useful, and I'd slipped on suntan oil and a wet tile. ( note to previous reviewer, I'm not THAT old! ) The pool area in general wasn't the best, it sounded like a Drs Surgery with all the coughing and sneezing ( air con virus I expect, we were both ill too, there's a good pharmacy in town ) if you wanted a shady sun bed then get up at the crack of dawn and put you towel down because everyone else has. Animation team....... I appreciate they have a job to do, but the Aqua Zumba/ aerobics twice a day was a nightmare, you can actually hear it on the beach and we met a couple from the sister hotel who could hear it too. I reckon 65% of the clientele round the pool were middle aged and over, so maybe they could rethink the music and volume accordingly. The food was good and there was plenty to choose from. Good selection of drinks. All the staff here were pleasant and hard working, no problems on that score. Ate out last two nights for a change, there's some lovely places in town and Morro Jable. Bar drinks were alright, the cocktails are not the nicest, pre- made in ice buckets. Not all bar staff were pleasant, some were downright ignorant. Don't eat the bar snacks, my husband saw the young barman in the reception bar putting left over peanuts back in the jar, nice! Snack bar was a lovely place to sit, food is the same everyday but it was pleasant. However, don't go at lunch time or 5 ish if you don't want to be deafened by the Aqua Zumba and the chap on the microphone........ The gardens were pretty and well kept. Had a nice day at the spa. Lovely day out at the Zoo. Fab trip to Gran Canaria, well worth getting up at 4.30 for, definitely recommend that. 15 minute slow walk to the start of Jandia town, some shops and bar in front of hotel. 15 minute walk to beach, but the nicest areas are a further walk either way, Morro Jable is lovely, treat yourself to a cab there if you can't manage the walk. Didn't go to the entertainment so can't comment on that. Requested a late checkout and of course it wasn't available, what a surprise! So had a 4 hour wait to be picked up for the airport. Now, other people have mentioned that they felt like second class's citizens, and sadly we felt that too. Apart from asking politely for a different room, we didn't complain about anything ( and there was plenty we could have done! ) we are just normal 50 lala folk, we have never experienced this on any other holiday. So, to sum up, wrong choice of hotel, big disappointment, was so looking forward to our holiday 😕 Pay a bit more and go to Magic life, it's lovely there !


    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • october 13 2018
    • Derby, United Kingdom
    • Couples

    E1450BPandrewd

    “Disappointed”


    We booked royal level and felt second class. Royal level desk closed for our check in and only manned for parts of the day. Adult only balcony bar closed for 3 hours at midday day but family areas have a help yourself option available all day. Big choice of food in Atlantic restaurant but usually cold. Despite late check out being advertised as an option we booked the day before but asked to confirm on departure day only to be told it was not available and freshen up room fully booked so use the spa shower was the only option . Any staff below management very friendly and helpful. If you book royal level expecting a good experience then expect to be disappointed. Thomas Cook has lost themselves a loyal customer with this experience we will try other options for our next holiday


    Barcelo_Canarias, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Playa, responded to this review
    Dear Guest, Although we sincerely regret your disappointment with your stay in our Occidental Jandia Royal Level, we would like to thank you for sharing your comments as it will help us to identify areas of concern and act immediately so as to enhance our future guests' experience among us. We were most concerned to read your remarks on the service at midday you experienced whilst staying among us, mostly because your comments do not reflect the usual standard of service we strive to ensure for our guests, nevertheless please rest assured that your review will be shared with our head of departments for information and further revision, anyway all Royal Level Guests have the option to use also Occidental Jandia Playa facilities. We lament hearing that the service provided at reception fell short of your expectations as the entire team put a lot of effort to maintain the highest standards of service for our guests to fully enjoy their expérience among us. We would like to take the opportunity to explain that due to the high occupancy of our hotel during your stay, we were not able to guarantee a late check out of your room on this occasion, bearing in mind that we always ensure the possibility to use our spa for our guests having late flights back home so that they can take advantage of our hotel's facilities and freshen up before departing to the airport. We would also like to inform you that all trays of our buffets are being constantly checked by our kitchen staff to ensure that the temperature of the food is adequate and that all options are being replenished throughout all services, nevertheless please rest assured that your comments will be shared with the team so as to avoid receiving this kind of feedback in the future. Finally, we would like to express our sincerest gratitude for your kind words toward our waiting staff in restaurant and bars as they strive to deliver an excellent service at all times to ensure our guests fully enjoy their dining expériences among us. Please be assured that your comments will be taken into serious consideration and that they will help us to improve our services. Once again, thank you for your time and despite the issues you have raised following your stay, we hope that Barceló will remain an option for your next holiday and that we will have the opportunity to restore your faith in our company in the near future. Kind Regards, Guest Experience Manager Occidental Jandia Royal Level**** Occidental Jandia Playa****

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • october 11 2018
    • Lincoln, United Kingdom
    • Couples

    judy g

    “Fab holiday. Can't wait to go back.”


    Had 7 lovely days at the jardia playa. Lovely staff. Lovely room. Just lovely lovely. Next time 2 week. Can highly recommend.dosnt matter what time of day. You will always get a sunbed. (NEVER SEEN SO MANY) and there is no leaving towels on them. Great food. Lot and lots to drink. Never been so relaxed.


    Barcelo_Canarias, Guest Relations Manager at Occidental Jandia Playa, responded to this review
    Dear Judy, Thank you very much for leaving these wonderful comments and recommendation on Tripadvisor, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay among us. We are glad you enjoyed the beauty of our relaxing areas as well as the comfort of our sunbeds. Last but not least, it fills us with pride that you could enjoy the gastronomical efforts of our chefs as we strive to satisfy the many culinary wishes of our guests offering the most delicious international and local dishes. Thank you again for this heartwarming review of your stay with us, we look forward to your next visit. Kind Regards, Guest Experience Manager Occidental Jandia Playa****

    EVALUATION

    Round Indicators

    • october 11 2018
    • Derby, United Kingdom
    • Family

    Gemma D

    “Amazing holiday ”


    Our family of 12 have just returned from a weeks stay at Occidental Jandia Playa and it was so good, I had to write a review. Our party consisted of 4 children ages ranging from 10 months to 6 years and 8 adults. The hotel rooms were lovely and big, very clean and comfortable. The staff at the hotel were amazing and always made the effort by talking with the children and nothing was too much trouble. We spent a lot of time by the pool where the animation team played games and held aqua classes several times a day. Alcoholic / fizzy drinks and coffee were available throughout the day from the pool bar and there were slushy drinks machines for the kids, which they loved. There was always plenty to chose food wise from the buffet restaurant and snack bar. They also cater for food intolerances by offering alternatives which was a nice surprise for one of our party who is lactose intolerant. There is a 10 minute walk down the hill to the beach and shops, I had read a lot of reviews saying how steep it was but we had two push chairs and we didn’t find this an issue at all. The paths are all clear and a lift is available to take you to the lower level for the shops. Beautiful weather and stunning beach - extremely clean! It’s very difficult booking a holiday for such a large group but we really had an amazing time and would definitely recommend.


    Barceló Hotel Pool  Jandía Playa

    Quality and comfort with a Canary Island soul

    Close 

    Back Find a hotel

    Hotels in El Salvador

    Select El Salvador

    Hotels in Costa Rica

    Select Costa Rica

    Hotels in Ecuador

    Select Ecuador

    Hotels in Guatemala

    Select Guatemala

    Hotels in Nicaragua

    Select Nicaragua

    Hotels in Mexico

    Select Mexico

    Hotels in Aruba

    Select Aruba

    Hotels in Spain

    Select Spain

    Hotels in Germany

    Select Germany

    Hotels in Bulgaria

    Select Bulgaria

    Hotels in Italy

    Select Italy

    Hotels in Greece

    Select Greece

    Hotels in Portugal

    Select Portugal

    Hotels in Morocco

    Select Morocco

    Hotels in Egypt

    Select Egypt

    Take me from

    ALL A B C D E F G H I J K L M N Ñ O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z